130x130_sq_1265818770771-fivegraineventsweblogo

Five Grain Events

Chicago , IL

LOCATION

Chicago, IL US 60647 (map)

PHONE

773-359-3106

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I would love to assist you in planning a stress-free celebration of the most exciting day of your life! From coming in a few weeks before the wedding and taking care of last minute... Read more
I would love to assist you in planning a stress-free celebration of the most exciting day of your life! From coming in a few weeks before the wedding and taking care of last minute details and day-of coordination, to making the journey with you from soon after your engagement, I'm excited to help with anything you need! Contact me to discuss your dream wedding and how Five Grain Events can help make that a reality. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1403030081657-ravenswood-event-center1k6a3370
130x130_sq_1403030088920-ravenswood-event-center1k6a4665
130x130_sq_1403030092324-ravenswood-event-center1k6a5086
130x130_sq_1403029928102-galleria-marchetticarolynandkarl-5
130x130_sq_1403029931146-galleria-marchetticarolynandkarl-103
130x130_sq_1403029934241-galleria-marchetticarolynandkarl-131
130x130_sq_1403029815109-deer-park-country-club-bnbp-18
130x130_sq_1403029818632-deer-park-country-club-bnbp-172
130x130_sq_1403029822163-deer-park-country-club-nbrec-26
130x130_sq_1403029636382-pavilion-at-orchard-ridge1375134101516464864580211
130x130_sq_1403029640837-pavilion-at-orchard-ridge1376484101516464847230211
130x130_sq_1403029644974-pavilion-at-orchard-ridge1381807101516464846080211
130x130_sq_1403029586190-newberry-libraryi0644
130x130_sq_1403029589139-newberry-libraryi0702
130x130_sq_1403029592094-newberry-libraryi0839
130x130_sq_1403029499748-morton-arboretumjujocer-149
130x130_sq_1403029502705-morton-arboretumjujogr-42
130x130_sq_1403029506388-morton-arboretumjujorec-9
130x130_sq_1403029449790-artrevolutioncake-closeup
130x130_sq_1403029452756-artrevolutionemily-bouqut-pic
130x130_sq_1403029455955-artrevolutionemily-bridesmaids-on-bridge
130x130_sq_1403029392692-palmer-housevialyormark-11
130x130_sq_1403029393989-palmer-housevialyormark-39
130x130_sq_1403029395159-palmer-housevialyormark-46
130x130_sq_1403029310880-smart-museumcaroline-tyler-0005
130x130_sq_1403029314019-smart-museumcaroline-tyler-0031
130x130_sq_1403029316804-smart-museumcaroline-tyler-0055
130x130_sq_1403029250512-ignitesaramickey0116
130x130_sq_1403029256813-ignitesaramickey0604
130x130_sq_1403029262682-ignitesaramickey0641
130x130_sq_1403029176846-greenhouse-loft9701429239d4ea5d808eb
130x130_sq_1403029180424-greenhouse-loft9704414064f76c4f136ab
130x130_sq_1403029183162-greenhouse-loft9704657680f66b222d5ab
130x130_sq_1403029085405-cuneo-mansionkelly-andrew-0528
130x130_sq_1403029082572-cuneo-mansionkelly-andrew-0002
130x130_sq_1403029087983-cuneo-mansionkelly-andrew-highlight-reel-photograp
130x130_sq_1403021321007-backyard-weddingcg1320
130x130_sq_1403021325115-backyard-weddingcg1831
130x130_sq_1403021329861-backyard-weddingcg2153
130x130_sq_1384740818496-cafe-brauerngbp-20
130x130_sq_1384740826469-cafe-brauerngbp-24
130x130_sq_1384740839781-cafe-brauerngrec-8
130x130_sq_1381518957188-morton-arboretum0015
130x130_sq_1381518959577-morton-arboretum0064
130x130_sq_1381518962961-morton-arboretum0587
130x130_sq_1381518929861-adler-planetarium0050
130x130_sq_1381518934590-adler-planetarium0092
130x130_sq_1381518937426-adler-planetarium0115
130x130_sq_1403030110971-salvageonefivegrain-23
130x130_sq_1403030100188-salvageonefivegrain-10
130x130_sq_1403030105486-salvageonefivegrain-13
130x130_sq_1360295563204-fultonsontheriver1
130x130_sq_1360295564870-fultonsontheriver10
130x130_sq_1360295566237-fultonsontheriver18
130x130_sq_1360295952531-quadrangleclubmichaelsurgitdawneroscoephotographydsc6142
130x130_sq_1360295956034-quadrangleclubmichaelsurgitdawneroscoephotographyimg4796fsgreen
130x130_sq_1360295953992-quadrangleclubmichaelsurgitdawneroscoephotographyimg4150
130x130_sq_1360296235341-ivyroommettlefloch056
130x130_sq_1360296237591-ivyroommettlefloch409
130x130_sq_1360296241394-ivyroommettlefloch780
130x130_sq_1360296658298-haroldwashingtonlibraryaj0144
130x130_sq_1360296659739-haroldwashingtonlibraryaj0567
130x130_sq_1360296661645-haroldwashingtonlibraryaj0737
130x130_sq_1360297056687-adlerplanetariumfivegrain11
130x130_sq_1360297058583-adlerplanetariumfivegrain15
130x130_sq_1360297059986-adlerplanetariumfivegrain17
130x130_sq_1360297298321-southshoreculturalcenter095bradypendleywedding
130x130_sq_1360297300307-southshoreculturalcenter378bradypendleywedding
130x130_sq_1360297302174-southshoreculturalcenter586bradypendleywedding
130x130_sq_1360297605107-ritzcarltonaacer1014
130x130_sq_1360297606895-ritzcarltonaapt20412
130x130_sq_1360297608559-ritzcarltonaarec118
130x130_sq_1360297860058-modernwing235am1921511537o
130x130_sq_1360297861833-modernwing681am1921724006o
130x130_sq_1360297863156-modernwing709am1921393068o
130x130_sq_1360298263739-kenilworthclub17612d0657
130x130_sq_1360298265481-kenilworthclubf2312d072
130x130_sq_1360298266887-kenilworthclubf2312d268
130x130_sq_1360423975107-peninsulahotelashleyrhettswedding1190119119
130x130_sq_1360423976781-peninsulahotelashleyrhettswedding3100310310
130x130_sq_1360423978271-peninsulahotelashleyrhettswedding3990399399
130x130_sq_1360424235540-loyolafitzwedding073
130x130_sq_1360424236768-loyolafitzwedding180
130x130_sq_1360424238046-loyolafitzwedding222
130x130_sq_1360424408307-cafebrauerecbp479
130x130_sq_1360424409675-cafebrauereccer14616
130x130_sq_1360424411247-cafebrauerecrec32530
130x130_sq_1360424576029-misericordiamncer14119
130x130_sq_1360424578185-misericordiamngirls362
130x130_sq_1360424579710-misericordiamnguys97
130x130_sq_1360424806537-hyattlodge0341
130x130_sq_1360424807955-hyattlodge0586
130x130_sq_1360424810222-hyattlodge0677
130x130_sq_1360425069739-greenhouseloftmorganbrady0001
130x130_sq_1360425071577-greenhouseloftmorganbrady0008
130x130_sq_1360425073487-greenhouseloftmorganbrady0011
130x130_sq_1373567858734-fultons0050
130x130_sq_1373567822555-fultons0036
130x130_sq_1360425018145-img7265
130x130_sq_1360425019693-img7972
130x130_sq_1360425020964-img88032
130x130_sq_1373567862208-fultons0095
130x130_sq_1373566234128-trump-hotel20121006-0030ac-tcd
130x130_sq_1373566868762-trump-hotel20121006-0938ac-mcp
130x130_sq_1373566883658-trump-hotel20121006-1679ac-mco
130x130_sq_1373568426684-firehouse-chicagogord0848
130x130_sq_1373568417358-firehouse-chicagogord1032
130x130_sq_1373568421344-firehouse-chicagogord0865
130x130_sq_1373569157605-ravenswood-event-centergoodryan-41
130x130_sq_1373569165856-ravenswood-event-centergoodryan-12
130x130_sq_1373569161717-ravenswood-event-centergoodryan-33
130x130_sq_1346276556283-genevanational23.2.3
130x130_sq_1346276555057-genevanational21.2.1
130x130_sq_1346276557397-genevanational57.1.2
130x130_sq_1346208829681-salvageonelillyphotography29of30
130x130_sq_1346208825850-salvageonelillyphotography3of30
130x130_sq_1346208827960-salvageonelillyphotography15of30
130x130_sq_1346207881497-brookfieldzoo100911angelamark2275
130x130_sq_1346207889763-brookfieldzoo100911angelamark3581
130x130_sq_1346207909738-brookfieldzoo100911angelamark4238
130x130_sq_1346207334362-mesonsabikacinque0234
130x130_sq_1346207327814-mesonsabikacinque0131
130x130_sq_1346207337536-mesonsabikacinque0729
130x130_sq_1346205626594-salvageone0070
130x130_sq_1346205627953-salvageone0335
130x130_sq_1346205629348-salvageone0725
130x130_sq_1346205075433-metropolitanclublaurenstu0024
130x130_sq_1346205077156-metropolitanclublaurenstu0204
130x130_sq_1346205078582-metropolitanclublaurenstu1211
130x130_sq_1346200960013-galleriamarchetti0323
130x130_sq_1346200961667-galleriamarchetti0858
130x130_sq_1346200962953-galleriamarchetti1109
130x130_sq_1330483438293-stanmansion22511d0219
130x130_sq_1330483478823-stanmansion22511d0362
130x130_sq_1330483496294-stanmansion22511d0837
130x130_sq_1330482106702-peninsula110806norgaardvenkatesh0828
130x130_sq_1330482120153-peninsula110806norgaardvenkatesh0218
130x130_sq_1330482132633-peninsula110806norgaardvenkatesh0942
130x130_sq_1330481272085-hyattregency0038
130x130_sq_1330481291533-hyattregency0077
130x130_sq_1330481322149-hyattregencyfreidmanpecklerphotobooth135
130x130_sq_1326233601259-navypierasp5846
130x130_sq_1326233611922-navypierasp6264
130x130_sq_1326233635291-navypierasp7359
130x130_sq_1330475308724-rollinggreencc012mariatim
130x130_sq_1330475346117-rollinggreencc244mariatim
130x130_sq_1330475372731-rollinggreencc506mariatim
130x130_sq_1330477479321-peninsula0276bw
130x130_sq_1325790404608-elysian085ebkirachad0566
130x130_sq_1325790429209-elysian203rrkirachad3708
130x130_sq_1325790439486-elysian251ebkirachad1634
130x130_sq_1325790212150-galleriamarchettii0240
130x130_sq_1330477501457-peninsula0389
130x130_sq_1330477633016-peninsula0429
130x130_sq_1325790198404-galleriamarchettii0170
130x130_sq_1325790225924-galleriamarchettii1079
130x130_sq_1322751542926-salvageonebridalparty145
130x130_sq_1322751578551-salvageoneceremony93
130x130_sq_1322751610833-salvageonereception124
130x130_sq_1322750556145-maggianosweddings17
130x130_sq_1322750570817-maggianosweddings87
130x130_sq_1322750584770-maggianosweddings700
130x130_sq_1322749572489-millenniumknickerbockerimg0291
130x130_sq_1322749589067-millenniumknickerbockerimg1434
130x130_sq_1322749601208-millenniumknickerbockerimg1716
130x130_sq_1321478186306-weeburnbeachclubjdm0095b
130x130_sq_1321478212857-weeburnbeachclubjdm9414b
130x130_sq_1321478227864-weeburnbeachclubjdm9625b
130x130_sq_1321476314895-chicagohistorymuseum0003
130x130_sq_1321476376687-chicagohistorymuseum0020
130x130_sq_1321476388325-chicagohistorymuseum0025
130x130_sq_1321475419610-heritageprairiefarm20011
130x130_sq_1321475436801-heritageprairiefarm20015
130x130_sq_1321475449453-heritageprairiefarm017
130x130_sq_1321473529869-danadahouse003
130x130_sq_1321474246613-danadahouse0013
130x130_sq_1321474266737-danadahouse0015
130x130_sq_1307317949875-te0038
130x130_sq_1307317499919-te0151
130x130_sq_1307317625812-te0425
130x130_sq_1301512703545-cer1
130x130_sq_1301512798654-dtl7
130x130_sq_1301512854264-rec14
130x130_sq_1280684914857-witherow5
130x130_sq_1265863225968-6
130x130_sq_1266904372501-1927
130x130_sq_1265863225905-8
130x130_sq_1266904410781-1929
130x130_sq_1266904380532-1347
130x130_sq_1280685286264-witherow4
130x130_sq_1280685435139-witherow12
130x130_sq_1280685318201-witherow6
130x130_sq_1266886115726-nat00771
130x130_sq_1280685342373-witherow7
130x130_sq_1265863226811-10
130x130_sq_1280685363342-witherow8
130x130_sq_1266886115133-4
130x130_sq_1266886116164-1
130x130_sq_1266886116476-15
130x130_sq_1266886117258-12
130x130_sq_1266886117664-7
130x130_sq_1280685379404-witherow9
130x130_sq_1266886118757-5
130x130_sq_1266886119117-nat00651
130x130_sq_1266886119492-2
130x130_sq_1266886120257-16
130x130_sq_1266886120570-13
130x130_sq_1266886121961-11
130x130_sq_1280685402748-witherow10
130x130_sq_1266904360674-1172
130x130_sq_1268707250678-emilybrad0359
130x130_sq_1268707245193-emilybrad0108
130x130_sq_1266904375267-1867
130x130_sq_1266904379876-0845
130x130_sq_1266904392860-1891
130x130_sq_1266904406219-1023
130x130_sq_1266904409750-1536
130x130_sq_1268707245411-emilybrad0204
130x130_sq_1268707247709-emilybrad0207
130x130_sq_1268707248037-emilybrad0223
130x130_sq_1268707249693-emilybrad0292
130x130_sq_1268707251865-emilybrad0464
130x130_sq_1268707252303-emilybrad0779
130x130_sq_1268707253303-emilybrad0844
130x130_sq_1268707265101-emilybrad0979
130x130_sq_1268707310965-emilybrad1057
130x130_sq_1268707327919-emilybrad0982
130x130_sq_1268707331420-emilybrad1287
130x130_sq_1268707348953-emilybrad1253
130x130_sq_1268707355516-emilybrad1552

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellie
Wedding:
7/27/2014
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with Shannon Gonzalez. She is warm, friendly, SUPER organized, and willing to do anything to make the bride's day perfect. My family is not that easy to handle, and she was able to win them over and make everybody happy.
I was on more of a budget than the typical person hiring a planner, but we were able to work out something that was manageable for us. She created the timelines for the groomsmen, bridesmaids, vendors, etc. This eliminated so much stress the last couple weeks. I wouldn't trust anyone else with such an important day in my life. SO WORTH IT!
I had a great experience with Shannon Gonzalez. She is warm, friendly, SUPER organized, and willing to do anything to make Read more...
I had a great experience with Shannon Gonzalez. She is warm, friendly, SUPER organized, and willing to do anything to make the bride's day perfect. My family is not that easy to handle, and she was able to win them over and make everybody happy.
I was on more of a budget than the typical person hiring a planner, but we were able to work out something that was manageable for us. She created the timelines for the groomsmen, bridesmaids, vendors, etc. This eliminated so much stress the last couple weeks. I wouldn't trust anyone else with such an important day in my life. SO WORTH IT! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vincent and Whitney
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
We knew within the first few minutes of meeting with Joan, owner of Five Grain Events, that she was the one we wanted planning and overseeing the most important day of our lives. She made it a top priority to learn about us, our relationship, and what we wanted from a planner. The personal relationship we developed with her over the 15 months leading up to the wedding allowed her to provide top-notch service. In no way could one describe her brand of wedding planning as a "one-size-fits-all" approach. Joan can best be described as a master of her craft. From suggesting vendors that were perfectly suited to our personalities and the style/look that we were attempting to achieve; to calming my nerves when had my mini freak-outs along the way; to dotting every single i and crossing all of the t's; to ensuring that everything ran smoothly on wedding day...Joan does all of this with a smile on her lips and love in her heart. Many times over, we have heard from our guests that ours was the best wedding they've ever attended, and we have no doubt that all credit belongs to Joan. We've said over and over that besides deciding to get married to one another, hiring Joan was the best decision we've ever made. Our day was absolutely perfect, and if you decide to hire Five Grain Events, yours will be too.
We knew within the first few minutes of meeting with Joan, owner of Five Grain Events, that she was the one we wanted Read more...
We knew within the first few minutes of meeting with Joan, owner of Five Grain Events, that she was the one we wanted planning and overseeing the most important day of our lives. She made it a top priority to learn about us, our relationship, and what we wanted from a planner. The personal relationship we developed with her over the 15 months leading up to the wedding allowed her to provide top-notch service. In no way could one describe her brand of wedding planning as a "one-size-fits-all" approach. Joan can best be described as a master of her craft. From suggesting vendors that were perfectly suited to our personalities and the style/look that we were attempting to achieve; to calming my nerves when had my mini freak-outs along the way; to dotting every single i and crossing all of the t's; to ensuring that everything ran smoothly on wedding day...Joan does all of this with a smile on her lips and love in her heart. Many times over, we have heard from our guests that ours was the best wedding they've ever attended, and we have no doubt that all credit belongs to Joan. We've said over and over that besides deciding to get married to one another, hiring Joan was the best decision we've ever made. Our day was absolutely perfect, and if you decide to hire Five Grain Events, yours will be too. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1330300402129-lukescamera32209125
Kelly
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Joan (and the rest of the gals at Five Grain Events) are seriously the BEST. They are easy to work with, fun to be around and far more organized and efficient than even my type-A, list-making self could ever be. From the moment I woke up on my wedding day...to the moment I left the reception in our getaway...I didn't worry about a thing. They had every moment under control and orchestrated perfectly. I can't recommend FGE enough - best money you will spend on your wedding!!
Joan (and the rest of the gals at Five Grain Events) are seriously the BEST. They are easy to work with, fun to be around Read more...
Joan (and the rest of the gals at Five Grain Events) are seriously the BEST. They are easy to work with, fun to be around and far more organized and efficient than even my type-A, list-making self could ever be. From the moment I woke up on my wedding day...to the moment I left the reception in our getaway...I didn't worry about a thing. They had every moment under control and orchestrated perfectly. I can't recommend FGE enough - best money you will spend on your wedding!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Hiring Five Grain Events to plan our wedding was the best decision we ever made. The planning process was super easy and fun. Joan would suggest a few vendors to meet with according to our price point and personal tastes. She would arrange all the meetings and accompany us to each one to offer guidance. She was always available via email within minutes and when we needed to meet in person she was flexible and eager to arrange time for us as soon as possible. The wedding day was perfect. I didn't have to think about what time it was or where I needed to be or when we needed to do anything because Joan took care of all of it. On the day of the wedding she brought a suitcase full of anything you could ever possibly need on your wedding day. For example; My dress was really wrinkled and had a small stain on it after two hours of outside pictures-- Joan fixed both of those things immediately; I wasn't happy with one element of the decorations-- Joan cut it down; When the reception was ending I asked Joan if we needed to go get taxi's to the next location. Her response was, "There are six taxi's waiting outside." Little things like that happened throughout the evening. Joan was always several steps ahead of everyone else. She put us at ease so we could enjoy every moment of our wedding.
Needless to say, Five Grain Events is absolutely fantastic!

Our wedding was featured on Style Me Pretty here:

http://www.stylemepretty.com/illinois-weddings/2012/10/03/lincoln-park-zoo-wedding-from-shane-welch-photography/
Hiring Five Grain Events to plan our wedding was the best decision we ever made. The planning process was super easy and Read more...
Hiring Five Grain Events to plan our wedding was the best decision we ever made. The planning process was super easy and fun. Joan would suggest a few vendors to meet with according to our price point and personal tastes. She would arrange all the meetings and accompany us to each one to offer guidance. She was always available via email within minutes and when we needed to meet in person she was flexible and eager to arrange time for us as soon as possible. The wedding day was perfect. I didn't have to think about what time it was or where I needed to be or when we needed to do anything because Joan took care of all of it. On the day of the wedding she brought a suitcase full of anything you could ever possibly need on your wedding day. For example; My dress was really wrinkled and had a small stain on it after two hours of outside pictures-- Joan fixed both of those things immediately; I wasn't happy with one element of the decorations-- Joan cut it down; When the reception was ending I asked Joan if we needed to go get taxi's to the next location. Her response was, "There are six taxi's waiting outside." Little things like that happened throughout the evening. Joan was always several steps ahead of everyone else. She put us at ease so we could enjoy every moment of our wedding.
Needless to say, Five Grain Events is absolutely fantastic!

Our wedding was featured on Style Me Pretty here:

http://www.stylemepretty.com/illinois-weddings/2012/10/03/lincoln-park-zoo-wedding-from-shane-welch-photography/ Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Joan was, in a word, incredible. Organized, responsive, professional... Joan time and again impressed my now husband and I with how she helped us realize our vision for our wedding. She handled every detail, put out every fire, was there to talk me off every ledge or speak to my mother when I just couldn't do it anymore. And she did it all flawlessly with a reassuring smile, delivering us our perfect day while helping us keep our sanity. Oh…did I mention that this woman HAD A BABY in the middle of all of this? She had one of the most important personal milestones in her life, and never once did we feel like the ball dropped for our wedding. Hire her. I’m going to say it again…HIRE HER. You can thank me later.
Joan was, in a word, incredible. Organized, responsive, professional... Joan time and again impressed my now husband and I Read more...
Joan was, in a word, incredible. Organized, responsive, professional... Joan time and again impressed my now husband and I with how she helped us realize our vision for our wedding. She handled every detail, put out every fire, was there to talk me off every ledge or speak to my mother when I just couldn't do it anymore. And she did it all flawlessly with a reassuring smile, delivering us our perfect day while helping us keep our sanity. Oh…did I mention that this woman HAD A BABY in the middle of all of this? She had one of the most important personal milestones in her life, and never once did we feel like the ball dropped for our wedding. Hire her. I’m going to say it again…HIRE HER. You can thank me later. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1287370888266-pawspic
Angela
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Deciding to use a wedding coordinator for the day of our wedding was one of the best decisions we made during the planning process. I wasn't sure, at first, that we would need one since our venue had a coordinator assigned to our event, but after talking with Joan (a trusted friend) she was able to help us see all of the little details that you just don't think about when you first start planning. We had two meetings before the big day where we went through a 6-7 page list of all of the things she needed from us to make sure everything went off without a hitch. It seemed like a lot at the time, but being able to give her all of the info ahead of time left me free to enjoy the day instead of fretting over all of the little things that sneak up on you in the last couple of weeks. Joan was very prompt, organized, calm, and collected throughout the whole day and I literally didn't have to worry about a thing. At the end of the night she packed up everything and made sure it got sent home with me and my family so we were able to say goodbye to all of our guests instead of rushing around. I would hire her again in a heartbeat!
Deciding to use a wedding coordinator for the day of our wedding was one of the best decisions we made during the planning Read more...
Deciding to use a wedding coordinator for the day of our wedding was one of the best decisions we made during the planning process. I wasn't sure, at first, that we would need one since our venue had a coordinator assigned to our event, but after talking with Joan (a trusted friend) she was able to help us see all of the little details that you just don't think about when you first start planning. We had two meetings before the big day where we went through a 6-7 page list of all of the things she needed from us to make sure everything went off without a hitch. It seemed like a lot at the time, but being able to give her all of the info ahead of time left me free to enjoy the day instead of fretting over all of the little things that sneak up on you in the last couple of weeks. Joan was very prompt, organized, calm, and collected throughout the whole day and I literally didn't have to worry about a thing. At the end of the night she packed up everything and made sure it got sent home with me and my family so we were able to say goodbye to all of our guests instead of rushing around. I would hire her again in a heartbeat! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
f you are looking for an extremely capable wedding planner with a fantastic personality, your search will most definitely end with Joan of Five Grain Events.

We hired Joan as our day-of coordinator for our wedding last July, and we could not be happier with our choice. Joan is well organized, knowledgeable, proactive, funny and sweet as can be. I stood up in many weddings before my own, and I've seen firsthand just how difficult some planners can be to work with. Joan was just the opposite. She certainly crossed all of her T's and dotted her I's, but she was also funny, warm and a pleasure to be around. For a bride, a wedding day can be quite stressful, but because of Joan's hard work behind the scenes, the day was perfect!

Joan's services are also quite reasonably priced. We only used her "day-of" services, but that included so much more than getting everything set the day of the wedding. She suggested vendors, met with us a couple times before the wedding, as well as answered many phone calls and emails. She also contacted the entire bridal party a couple weeks before the wedding, to let them know how everything would be playing out during the wedding weekend. She ran our rehearsal, and coordinated all of our vendors to make the actual wedding day seamless.

Joan is AMAZING, and you would be lucky to have her with you on (and before) your special day!
f you are looking for an extremely capable wedding planner with a fantastic personality, your search will most definitely Read more...
f you are looking for an extremely capable wedding planner with a fantastic personality, your search will most definitely end with Joan of Five Grain Events.

We hired Joan as our day-of coordinator for our wedding last July, and we could not be happier with our choice. Joan is well organized, knowledgeable, proactive, funny and sweet as can be. I stood up in many weddings before my own, and I've seen firsthand just how difficult some planners can be to work with. Joan was just the opposite. She certainly crossed all of her T's and dotted her I's, but she was also funny, warm and a pleasure to be around. For a bride, a wedding day can be quite stressful, but because of Joan's hard work behind the scenes, the day was perfect!

Joan's services are also quite reasonably priced. We only used her "day-of" services, but that included so much more than getting everything set the day of the wedding. She suggested vendors, met with us a couple times before the wedding, as well as answered many phone calls and emails. She also contacted the entire bridal party a couple weeks before the wedding, to let them know how everything would be playing out during the wedding weekend. She ran our rehearsal, and coordinated all of our vendors to make the actual wedding day seamless.

Joan is AMAZING, and you would be lucky to have her with you on (and before) your special day! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amw
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Joan at Five Grains was the absolute best. Through all the planning she was calm, encouraging, funny, helpful, attentive, and organized. She also took on extra little projects for us whenever we needed something on an a la carte basis. On the weekend of the wedding she coordinated all the players and the details so beautifully that the event felt absolutely seamless and perfect. An example of her attention: We had two entrances to our reception hall. Expecting guests to arrive at the front entrance, we placed the escort cards along with a card box and menu stand where we thought they'd arrive. Surprisingly, the guests used the back entrance to our hall and when Joan saw them approaching, she and her assistant Sarah quickly moved the whole escort card tableau to the other side before there was any confusion! Both my husband and I had total confidence in her abilities and we give her our highest recommendation.
Joan at Five Grains was the absolute best. Through all the planning she was calm, encouraging, funny, helpful, attentive, Read more...
Joan at Five Grains was the absolute best. Through all the planning she was calm, encouraging, funny, helpful, attentive, and organized. She also took on extra little projects for us whenever we needed something on an a la carte basis. On the weekend of the wedding she coordinated all the players and the details so beautifully that the event felt absolutely seamless and perfect. An example of her attention: We had two entrances to our reception hall. Expecting guests to arrive at the front entrance, we placed the escort cards along with a card box and menu stand where we thought they'd arrive. Surprisingly, the guests used the back entrance to our hall and when Joan saw them approaching, she and her assistant Sarah quickly moved the whole escort card tableau to the other side before there was any confusion! Both my husband and I had total confidence in her abilities and we give her our highest recommendation. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caborojo10
Wedding:
4/23/2011
4.8/5.0
We had a fabulous experience with Joan, Sarah, and Five Grain Events. Sarah was our coordinator and she made mt feel so comfortable and relaxed teh day of our wedding. We had an evening ceremony (6:30pm) and the reception immediately following so I was very nervous about time. Sarah just ran everything and if something went a little off I had no idea! She worked very well with our other vendors, she was respectful and professional and I felt good about her representing us and our families.

I would highly recommend Five Grain Events!
We had a fabulous experience with Joan, Sarah, and Five Grain Events. Sarah was our coordinator and she made mt feel so Read more...
We had a fabulous experience with Joan, Sarah, and Five Grain Events. Sarah was our coordinator and she made mt feel so comfortable and relaxed teh day of our wedding. We had an evening ceremony (6:30pm) and the reception immediately following so I was very nervous about time. Sarah just ran everything and if something went a little off I had no idea! She worked very well with our other vendors, she was respectful and professional and I felt good about her representing us and our families.

I would highly recommend Five Grain Events! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brook
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Joan is absolutely awesome! Initially, I (Husband) was pretty skeptical about hiring a wedding planner. I mean, we have the internet, right? Ohhh boy, was I wrong. Joan is probably the best thing that happened besides actually getting married. Her professionalism, is top flight. She made the whole process so much more enjoyable...and kept us sane. Joan's in-depth knowledge of planning/vendors/venues/etc. helped us not only remain on track time-wise, but also aided in focusing what WE actually wanted out of our wedding. She is easy to work with and super-flexible. Joan is pretty much a wedding-planning ninja. I mean, she is on top of EVERYTHING! Change in venue? No problem. What? No Guinness on draft? Fixed. Power outage? Fixed (we didn't even know about this one until after the wedding). Joan made our wedding memorable for all the right reasons. We unreservedly recommend her.
Joan is absolutely awesome! Initially, I (Husband) was pretty skeptical about hiring a wedding planner. I mean, we have Read more...
Joan is absolutely awesome! Initially, I (Husband) was pretty skeptical about hiring a wedding planner. I mean, we have the internet, right? Ohhh boy, was I wrong. Joan is probably the best thing that happened besides actually getting married. Her professionalism, is top flight. She made the whole process so much more enjoyable...and kept us sane. Joan's in-depth knowledge of planning/vendors/venues/etc. helped us not only remain on track time-wise, but also aided in focusing what WE actually wanted out of our wedding. She is easy to work with and super-flexible. Joan is pretty much a wedding-planning ninja. I mean, she is on top of EVERYTHING! Change in venue? No problem. What? No Guinness on draft? Fixed. Power outage? Fixed (we didn't even know about this one until after the wedding). Joan made our wedding memorable for all the right reasons. We unreservedly recommend her. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
paulacolletti
Wedding:
2/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I honestly could not have made it through my wedding planning and wedding day without Joan and her amazing team! Joan was extremely professional and also down to earth. She was so organized from start to finish and made the planning process so easy. We worked with her for about 2 month before the wedding and she made sure that we were all set for the big day. She attended our rehearsal to make sure everyone was on track, which really helped! On the day of the wedding, Joan or one of her staff was with me the entire time. It was like having my own private damage control team! From start to finish, Joan and her team were taking care of every small detail, which made the wedding day very easy for us, our family, and our friends. My other vendors were extremely impressed with Joan and plan to refer her to future brides. If you are looking for a full out coordinator or just a day of coordinator, Five Grain Events is the way to go!
I honestly could not have made it through my wedding planning and wedding day without Joan and her amazing team! Joan was Read more...
I honestly could not have made it through my wedding planning and wedding day without Joan and her amazing team! Joan was extremely professional and also down to earth. She was so organized from start to finish and made the planning process so easy. We worked with her for about 2 month before the wedding and she made sure that we were all set for the big day. She attended our rehearsal to make sure everyone was on track, which really helped! On the day of the wedding, Joan or one of her staff was with me the entire time. It was like having my own private damage control team! From start to finish, Joan and her team were taking care of every small detail, which made the wedding day very easy for us, our family, and our friends. My other vendors were extremely impressed with Joan and plan to refer her to future brides. If you are looking for a full out coordinator or just a day of coordinator, Five Grain Events is the way to go! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SHeller
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
We were really pleased with Joan's services for our wedding. We hired her to coordinate all the day-of stuff. We met with Joan three times before the day of the event. I really felt she had a great handle on everything that needed to be done. She made great suggestions when necessary, but also listened to everything that I had to say. All of my friends and family were really impressed by her services too. She really made it so that my mom, my husband, and I did not need to worry about anything that day. We knew she had it all under control.
We were really pleased with Joan's services for our wedding. We hired her to coordinate all the day-of stuff. We met with Read more...
We were really pleased with Joan's services for our wedding. We hired her to coordinate all the day-of stuff. We met with Joan three times before the day of the event. I really felt she had a great handle on everything that needed to be done. She made great suggestions when necessary, but also listened to everything that I had to say. All of my friends and family were really impressed by her services too. She really made it so that my mom, my husband, and I did not need to worry about anything that day. We knew she had it all under control. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BStrubbe1023
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Joan to ANYONE. She is so organized, consistent, responsive and professional. She was a joy to work with and was calm, cool and collected on the day of the wedding. She handled any problems that arose immediately and without me even knowing. She made sure everything went smoothly which is not a small feat for a wedding of just under 400 people! Joan is building a great reputation in the industry and is truly an asset to anyone looking for assistance for Day of Planning or full service. She exceeded our expectations over and over again!
I would recommend Joan to ANYONE. She is so organized, consistent, responsive and professional. She was a joy to work with Read more...
I would recommend Joan to ANYONE. She is so organized, consistent, responsive and professional. She was a joy to work with and was calm, cool and collected on the day of the wedding. She handled any problems that arose immediately and without me even knowing. She made sure everything went smoothly which is not a small feat for a wedding of just under 400 people! Joan is building a great reputation in the industry and is truly an asset to anyone looking for assistance for Day of Planning or full service. She exceeded our expectations over and over again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ljfloyd
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Our florist (Fleur) recommended Five Grain Events, and I can't thank Kelly Marie enough! Leading up to the wedding, Sara took on all communication with our vendors, and even helped negotiate a couple issues with our site that came up - resolving them in our favor! She was great about keeping us on task and organized, and helped us think about little details that hadn't even crossed my mind. Her help the day of the wedding was most valuable to us, though. Being able to just enjoy the day without worrying about how everything was being handled was priceless. Knowing I had an "advocate" of sorts to help make quick decisions on the fly, keeping our best interests in mind and the stress away from us, helped all of us just relax and enjoy the day. Would highly recommend these lovely ladies in a heartbeat - they're fantastic!
Our florist (Fleur) recommended Five Grain Events, and I can't thank Kelly Marie enough! Leading up to the wedding, Sara Read more...
Our florist (Fleur) recommended Five Grain Events, and I can't thank Kelly Marie enough! Leading up to the wedding, Sara took on all communication with our vendors, and even helped negotiate a couple issues with our site that came up - resolving them in our favor! She was great about keeping us on task and organized, and helped us think about little details that hadn't even crossed my mind. Her help the day of the wedding was most valuable to us, though. Being able to just enjoy the day without worrying about how everything was being handled was priceless. Knowing I had an "advocate" of sorts to help make quick decisions on the fly, keeping our best interests in mind and the stress away from us, helped all of us just relax and enjoy the day. Would highly recommend these lovely ladies in a heartbeat - they're fantastic! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1281447999701-wedding2
IShare2
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
If there was ONE thing I would suggest to any bride after my experience, it would be HIRE A COORDINATOR! It wasn't until about 3 months until our wedding when my florist suggest that we hire a Day-of-Event Coordinator and pointed me in the direction of Five Grain Events. Thank you, god, for this nugget of wisdom and irreplaceable help! My husband and I got married at a venue which was not connected to a hotel or banquet hall--we had to bring everything in--so this was even more absolutely necessary. But I had never been married before and could not have predicted that I would benefit greatly from the services of a polished, detail-oriented coordinator. So this is when Five Grain Events brought Sara Balsom into my life. She was incredible. She jumped right in. She handled EVERYTHING. She was available to me all the time. She took over when I couldn't, when I felt overwhelmed, she just picked up everything off of my shoulders and HANDLED it. I don't know what I would have done without her. She was very professional, detail-oriented, insightful, inquisitive, and did not miss a beat. If I could give her and Five Grain 10 stars, I would! The money for this service was very well-worth it. I am not kidding. The day of my wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing.

What did she do specifically, you ask??? Well...

Coordinated communication with all vendors
Developed wedding weekend and day-of timelines for groomsmen, bridesmaids, me, and all vendors (individually)
Met with me in person to go over her and my questions
Emailed with me back and forth constantly
Attended walk-thru meetings at the venue
Facilitated the rehearsal
Handled questions I had for vendors
Coordinated and developed the Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, and Reception timeline with every detail covered (i.e. speeches, certain songs, special requests, when desserts would come out, and on and on)
Developed Plan B if it was raining and we couldn't do the ceremony outside
Set up all the decorations for the Reception (including gift table, favor table, candles, lights, etc.)
Took home the things we couldn't fit in my parents' car after the wedding and held it until after we got home from our honeymoon
And much more...I could be here for days writing it all...

I mean, Sara was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I consider myself extremely lucky to have found her and Five Grain Events. FANTASTIC SERVICE and EXTREMELY VALUABLE!!!
If there was ONE thing I would suggest to any bride after my experience, it would be HIRE A COORDINATOR! It wasn't until Read more...
If there was ONE thing I would suggest to any bride after my experience, it would be HIRE A COORDINATOR! It wasn't until about 3 months until our wedding when my florist suggest that we hire a Day-of-Event Coordinator and pointed me in the direction of Five Grain Events. Thank you, god, for this nugget of wisdom and irreplaceable help! My husband and I got married at a venue which was not connected to a hotel or banquet hall--we had to bring everything in--so this was even more absolutely necessary. But I had never been married before and could not have predicted that I would benefit greatly from the services of a polished, detail-oriented coordinator. So this is when Five Grain Events brought Sara Balsom into my life. She was incredible. She jumped right in. She handled EVERYTHING. She was available to me all the time. She took over when I couldn't, when I felt overwhelmed, she just picked up everything off of my shoulders and HANDLED it. I don't know what I would have done without her. She was very professional, detail-oriented, insightful, inquisitive, and did not miss a beat. If I could give her and Five Grain 10 stars, I would! The money for this service was very well-worth it. I am not kidding. The day of my wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing.

What did she do specifically, you ask??? Well...

Coordinated communication with all vendors
Developed wedding weekend and day-of timelines for groomsmen, bridesmaids, me, and all vendors (individually)
Met with me in person to go over her and my questions
Emailed with me back and forth constantly
Attended walk-thru meetings at the venue
Facilitated the rehearsal
Handled questions I had for vendors
Coordinated and developed the Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, and Reception timeline with every detail covered (i.e. speeches, certain songs, special requests, when desserts would come out, and on and on)
Developed Plan B if it was raining and we couldn't do the ceremony outside
Set up all the decorations for the Reception (including gift table, favor table, candles, lights, etc.)
Took home the things we couldn't fit in my parents' car after the wedding and held it until after we got home from our honeymoon
And much more...I could be here for days writing it all...

I mean, Sara was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I consider myself extremely lucky to have found her and Five Grain Events. FANTASTIC SERVICE and EXTREMELY VALUABLE!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ecastner
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Five Grain Events was MORE than helpful throughout the whole planning process. They were so organized in the begining when we were sorting out which vendors to look at. They always made sure to keep what we wanted on our special day in mind.

We were more than happy with the service we received on the day of. Everyone knew where to be and when and if there were any changes they were communicated clearly to all parties. Our day remained stress free the entire time which allowed us to have an amazing time.

Five Grain is very passionate about what they do and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a stress free wedding day. You will be in good hands!!
Five Grain Events was MORE than helpful throughout the whole planning process. They were so organized in the begining when Read more...
Five Grain Events was MORE than helpful throughout the whole planning process. They were so organized in the begining when we were sorting out which vendors to look at. They always made sure to keep what we wanted on our special day in mind.

We were more than happy with the service we received on the day of. Everyone knew where to be and when and if there were any changes they were communicated clearly to all parties. Our day remained stress free the entire time which allowed us to have an amazing time.

Five Grain is very passionate about what they do and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a stress free wedding day. You will be in good hands!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Weddings can be some of the most joyous and stressful times in life. Truly, having someone that is highly organized, directive yet still has a warm personality, and someone who will find the often overlooked details, like Joan, from Five Grain Events can make all the difference. I couldn't recommend her or her company more.
Weddings can be some of the most joyous and stressful times in life. Truly, having someone that is highly organized, Read more...
Weddings can be some of the most joyous and stressful times in life. Truly, having someone that is highly organized, directive yet still has a warm personality, and someone who will find the often overlooked details, like Joan, from Five Grain Events can make all the difference. I couldn't recommend her or her company more. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning

MAP

 
Chicago, IL 60647 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Five Grain Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1265818770771-fivegraineventsweblogo