Nophoto-130

Flowers by Chris

Baltimore , MD

LOCATION

Baltimore, MD US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Flowers

REVIEWS

3.1
out of 5.0
3.1/5.0
3.1/5.0
3.1/5.0
3.1/5.0
3.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
2/14/2013
0.5/5.0
This was by far the most rude service that I have received for a simple order of 3 red roses and 3 yellow roses...all individual. First I was quoted at $5 a piece. When I called back the next day to place my order I was told that they would call me back to confirm the price (via Kim) before placing the order. Well I called back 4 hrs later after waiting and asked what the deal was...total came out to be $60 something dollars. In short, each rose was $10 and they had charged my card prior to reviewing it with me. Talk about being unprofessional.

I then was put on the line with Chris, the owner, and she told me that she had no time to talk to me and abruptly hung up. THE OWNER DID THIS. please do not ever use this store for anything as it will just make you mad.
I do not like writing these reviews, but I am a new dentist in the Baltimore region, and will never ever recommend this place to anybody.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patrice
Wedding:
10/19/2012
0.8/5.0
My relationship with this vendor started out pretty promising. As my wedding date approached and I was finalizing details, I found myself having to reiterate things that I had already documented in writing. I was even asked to follow up my emails with a phone to notify the business of the email! I found this request to be absurd, especially after sending the same information on multiple occasions and having multiple conversations about what I wanted for my wedding. The vendor claimed not to have received my emails, but somehow they were found after a little effort. To make matters worse, the incorrect bouquet color was delivered on the day of my wedding as well as my husband’s boutonnière. I submitted yet another email, that an employee confirmed was received, and two follow-up phone calls to address my extreme displeasure with my incorrect bouquet, and the owner/operator has yet to return my email or calls. I am beyond upset that I was robbed of photo opportunities with my bouquet because it did not match the color scheme that was based around it. My bridesmaids dresses were the color of my requested bouquet, and my shoes were custom dyed to match the color of my requested bouquet, and Flowers by Chris did not deliver what I ordered, nor have they attempted to make amends. Chris is completely unprofessional, and needs to revisit business school as well as take a course in how to speak to people. I found her to be extremely rude, a liar and very unpleasant to deal with. I am furious with this vendor, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH HER! All of the following reviews describe my experiece to a tee! Horrible experience with this company, spare yourself the headache and stay away from this senile, unprofessional woman!
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
beautiful flowers and good help with making choices
Services Used: Flowers
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
Flowers by Chris is a rip off and provided less than quality products. The only reason I hired her was because of a Chuppah she said she did at the hotel I was getting married at. She said she could provide me with the same Chuppah. I emailed her the picture, showed it to her on her website and even brought the printed picture to her. Since the begining she had me worried, she forgot what we discussed, changed prices that she quoted and called me trying to set up things we already set up.

The Chuppah she provided is not what we asked for nor looked anything like the picture she advertised!! The Chuppah I paid $650 for looked like $25!!! It looked cheap and unstable! Most of all...it wasn't what we agreed upon! The flowers were overpriced, they were exteremely small and the guys were wrong.

She used the vases I told her I hated at the reception. We discussed she would use other vases and she still provided me with what I said I did not want!

She did not return my phone call or respond to my email! So I am warning all the future brides of this horrible expereince.

Also, she is NOT a preferred vendor of the Johns Hopkins! I work here and after the wedding I contacted some of my friends in high places and they told me she wasn't a preferred vendor, she constantly harasses the president's and VP's offices trying to gain business! I should have known she was lying because we have FLOWER CART right on our main campus, which would be a conflict of interest if we, as a hospital, used someone else. This makes me question the other well named companies she has on her list.

I wouldn't recommend this business to my worst enemy! I want to sue her but my husband says no, let it go. She messed up my day! Good thing I had good liquor!

Beware of FLOWERS BY CHRIS!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexis
Wedding:
6/8/2012
2.0/5.0
Flowers by Chris isnt exactly what i expected them to be. Fortunatly to be flowers were not a hug part of my wedding. The person i began working with ended up quitting out of nowhere and we started working with Chris. With her being the owner i thought that was going to be great. unfortunately it wasnt. We had been promised a few things such as orange orchids that were not provided. Chris said they didnt exist and i was ok that and just expected a quality replacement. I ended up getting pretty flowers that werent the right color. The bridal boquet was perfect, the bridemaids were ok, and the maid of honor bouquet was completley wrong.

In addditon to getting the wrong product we also got A LOT of attitude. Our floral budget wasnt huge and Chris made us feel second class becuase of this. If flowers and service arent important to you maybe you should work with this company, but otherwise i would suggest another company
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
georgec
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Flowers by Chris through a local hotel, The Baltimore Marriott Waterfront. I live out of state but stayed at the Marriott while in Balto. Flowers by Chris is the hotels preferred florist and does ALL the beautiful large flower arrangements in the lobby and throughout the property. After seeing their work it is understandable why they do the flowers at the Mattiott and left no doubt or question as to who we were going to use. Not only is their work THE BEST but Chris and her staff were exceedingly professional, courteous and just the right fit for my fiancee, our event planner and our event. We will not only recommend Flowers by Chris but also use them for any other needs. Any prospective clients simoly check out their work at the hotel and all your questiones will be answered. SC and LC
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Disappointed Bride
Wedding:
10/1/2011
0.5/5.0
Please, please, take a min. and read this review. We used Flowers By Chris for our wedding and we made the biggest mistake ever trusting Chris. We went with her because she was referred by our venue, Pier 5 Hotel. Before our first meeting with Chris, we went online to read reviews. We couldn't find one positive review. This raised a huge red flag but figured our venue would not be recommending someone who wasn't a good vendor. Come to find out, the event manager at Pier 5, Lee and Chris are best friends which is why Flowers By Chris is recommended. After our wedding, we found out Pier 5 has been getting several complaints about Flowers By Chris about the lack of quality, what they received wasn't at all what they paid for and the really high prices. These are just some of the same issues we experienced. We can sympathize with the other brides on here and my heart hurts that we all had the same horrible experience. Chris turned out in our opinion to be a fraud! As soon as she received full payment for our flowers, (90 days before our wedding) she turned into a completely mean & different person. The way she spoke to us was astonishing. It took us a month to receive a transaction receipt for our credit card after paying the balance. In our contract it states that Flowers By Chris only does one wedding a day to ensure proper quality and service. Not true, we know for a fact she contracted two weddings on our same day. It was important for us to have tulips. I understand this is a "off season" flower for October but I was assured by Chris that it wasn't a problem. Then when we went through our trial 60 days before our wedding, Chris said no way can we get tulips! When we asked for money back because we were no longer getting tulips, (which was a major part of our contract) Chris said absolutely not, she will "fill in" with a different flower. When we continued to express concern, Chris told us we needed to stop abscessing over the flowers, yelling at us like we were kids getting in trouble. This is not how customers should be treated paying a lot of money for flowers for a very special day. Then we were told that it was a 50/50 chance that we could get tulips and we would have to wait 10 days before the wedding to find out. A week before our wedding, and still not knowing what flowers we were getting and many un-returned calls from Chris, she finally told us "good news" we can have tulips. She acted like she did us a favor for getting us tulips, never mind that’s what we paid for and was promised. We contacted another florist a week before the wedding just to see if we could get tulips and they were able to get them for us with no questions asked. That just confirmed our opinion as Chris being a fraud! The day of our wedding was the worst of all. We didn't receive sets flowers that we paid for. The set up was horrible. We didn't have pedals down the aisle. Our cake flowers were wrong. Our arch for our ceremony was not set up. The quality of flowers were terrible and wilted. The centerpieces were suppose to have water and pebbles on the bottom covering the LED light, luckily my groom caught Chris's helper on the way out the door and made him come back and complete the set up for the centerpieces. BTW… Chris just happened to be sick on our wedding day, funny because we just saw her 12hrs before when we dropped off the LED lights and she was just fine. My guess is she was at the other wedding. Her only sickness was her attitude! Our bridal flowers were delivered late so most of our "before" pictures have no flowers. We could keep going on and on about all our issues. Please do not use Flowers By Chris. We never write blogs but we feel obligated to share our horrible experience. Do not have your wedding or special event ruined by Flowers By Chris. We hope we can save one person from going through what we did.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kiawah1
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.8/5.0
I have been using Flowers by Chris for over 10 years. My company only uses FBC for all corporate events as they are on their preffered vendor list. I recently got married and was fortunate and wise enough to use FBC for our wedding. The flowers as well as Chris's staff were exceptional. No they are not the cheapest guys in town but they are unequivocally the best. For that special day why risk it? You get what you pay for thats why some people drive a Mercedes and others do not. I normally do not comment however after using FBC and reading the other negative comment on this site I had to. Its only common sence that shows the person who posted a negative comment is obviously a competitor or a disgruntled employee. Their ramblings show that they are either mentally slow or have no self respect as if what they say were true why would they have continued to return??? Flowers by Chris, Chris and her staff take away all the guess work by simply making several arrangements according to a price per piece that we determined and then took a photogtaph and made 3 copies. 1 for me and my fiancee, 1 for the file, and a final 1 for Chris I would assume. Again the flowers were perfect. Have them do a sample. You owe it to yourself on such a stressfull time to make it easy. Also look at their client list. That speaks for itself. Not only do they exclusively service our company but also the other top companies, hotels and restaurants in the region. Feel free to call me at my office. I would also be willing to forward some pix of our wedding.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chantelle
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff created a last-minute bouquet and lapel flowers for my husband and I when we eloped last month. We stopped in in the morning and picked them up later on. Stunning work! Thanks for being so accommodating!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1272813036711-dsc01341
Victoria
Wedding:
10/8/2010
4.5/5.0
My wedding was on 10/8/10. I was so amazed by the beautiful flowers that they provided. The staff was very professional, easy to communicate with, and courteous. I didn't have any worries and Chris was very patient and flexible with me. Planning a wedding in Baltimore, MD and living in North Carolina was a bit difficult but Chris put me at ease. Although, it was a tad bit expensive... the service and cost didn't compare to the quotes I was given elsewhere. I made a great choice!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pennbride
Wedding:
8/14/2010
0.0/5.0
Stay away from this florist!!! Chris Psoras (the owner) was HORRIBLE to work with. She was not responsive and (1) started crying, (2) kicked me out of the shop, and (3) actually yelled at me and told me that there was something wrong with me all within 30 seconds. It was surreal. At our first meeting the way she described the arrangements was completely different from the sample she made. She then told me "well, that's what you ordered." This was 3 weeks before my wedding. Finally, for more money we were able to get something suitable and similar to what she originally described. What bothered me was that she lied to me about how the flowers would look then got mad when I told her it wasn't what I expected. If you do business with her make sure she sketches you what the arrangement will look like otherwise, she may take your money and "forget" what she originally told you like she did to me.

She is completely unprofessional and (1) had us waiting to view the sample arrangement, (2) had no photos of what the other flowers would look like and (3) didn't bring the most up to date contract to the meeting. So she was acting surprised at changes that were requested 5 months earlier.

Her staff, especially Mary and Gail are sweet and do good work. However, you will have to deal with Chris and that is not worth the stress. I had nightmares about my Chris ruining my wedding out of spite because she was so unprofessional in our meeting. Not what any bride wants to be worrying about.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
8/6/2010
3.8/5.0
Although the flowers at our wedding were beautiful, we were slightly disappointed with the size and the height of the centerpieces. Definitely not for the bride on a budget.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michaela
Wedding:
7/25/2010
1.4/5.0
I had the worst experience with Chris. I chose her, because she was recommended by Pier 5 Hotel where my wedding was held. Also, her initial proposal for me was within my budget and they had a special with the hotel as well. It seems as soon as she got my deposit for the flowers she became less helpful and made me feel guilty, if she had to revise my proposal. Sometimes, she would forget what she had promised and on couple of occasions tried to charge me more than what we had previously discussed. When it was time to show me samples for my wedding, she only showed me my center pieces (which looked plain) and no samples of my bouquet. Chris said they did not prepare bouquets beforehand and only showed me what it would look like off of a picture. When it was time to pay the final payment I had asked Chris to do another small change for me. She freaked out and called me her worst bride ever and how dare I change my mind (2-3times), she then tried to charge me a different amount on my flowers which was higher than previously quoted. I was so angry and didn't want to deal with her anymore, but it was only a few weeks before my wedding and I did not want to run the risk of not being able to find another florist. The worst part of the story comes on the day of the wedding. Chris comes to the hotel to deliver my flowers. When I see my bouquets I love my bridesmaid flowers, but when I see mine I see it’s so much smaller than my bridesmaids. I ask her why my bouquet is so much smaller than my bridesmaids. She says that is what you paid for (I paid around $100). Remind you she only showed me a picture and it looked a lot larger on there so that’s what I was expecting. Chris then got angry when me and my mother, mother in law and bridesmaids ask her if there is any way to make my bouquet larger. She then YELLS at me in front of all of my guests shouting there is nothing she can do that the flowers are glued and then proceeds to run out of the room slamming the door. Everyone was in shock at this point. To make things worse after the wedding my bridesmaid took her bouquet apart and the flowers were not glued after all. Not only did Chris lie to us, but her flower shop was literally down the street from the hotel where she could have easily went to get more flowers for the bouquet. I would not recommend Chris to anyone even if her price is right! Oh and she still owes me a refund which I have yet to see.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JAdrock8
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Love this florist!! Chris is a well established florist in Baltimore and she knows her stuff. She was extremely sweet, attentive and very considerate of my budget - she actually helped me cut costs which I don't think is a characteristic one finds often. I am so thankful that she wanted to work with us!

Because they only cater to one wedding a day, we had the full attention of everyone involved. Our flowers were delivered with such ease and friendliness to all of our locations (my Dad's house, the church, the reception site).

Our bouquets, boutounnieres and reception arrangements were beautiful and the quality of flower was fantastic for mid-July. I had to have peonies in my bouquet and they're a spring flower, but Chris found them for me (at a premium of course). She definitely got me what I wanted while adding her flare for arranging and design.

Our reception table arrangements were just stunning. Chris came up with a fabulous design concept that gave us the variety we wanted while not blowing our budget. We had one table with an amazing dendrobium orchid arrangement that people are still talking about. We rented cut glass votive holders from Chris as well and they added such magic to our tables.

We are SO pleased with the quality of service at Flowers By Chris!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jforstenzer
Wedding:
11/1/2009
5.0/5.0
The florist was recommended to us by the caterer at the Belvedere. We needed a chuppah as well as flowers and wanted to work with someone who was familiar with the space. Ron at Flowers by Chris was awesome to work with. He was efficient and professional, and helped us create the look we wanted within our budget. He worked brilliantly with the Belvedere staff and the chuppah, centerpieces and bouquets were gorgeous. We did black magic and ivory roses with matching ribbon - and he suggested using the flowers for the centerpieces to also line the aisle during the ceremony. It worked perfectly. Thanks Ron!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
The flowers and staging were beautiful. Ron and Gail were extremely helpful and responsive. I will use their services in the future without hesitation. Lori Wiersema
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Faridah
Wedding:
6/17/2006
4.4/5.0
The flowers were lovely, actually. A bit expensive though, and I felt they were not flexible enough in working with my budget so I only used them for the Church and wedding party and contracted the reception to a cheaper florist. I have to say though, that they have the most beautiful flowers I have ever seen. I still have my dried up bouquet.
Services Used: Flowers
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Flowers by Chris
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220