130x130_sq_1342810190295-20120428mariawaynewedding0071

Flowers by Sher

Centreville , VA

LOCATION

General Johnston Place
Centreville, VA US 20120 (map)

PHONE

703-216-0346

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your personal floral designer for your wedding, event or corporate flower needs.
We use the highest quality flowers to make our custom designs and when possible will work with ... Read more
Your personal floral designer for your wedding, event or corporate flower needs.
We use the highest quality flowers to make our custom designs and when possible will work with
local organic growers to make those unique arrangements.

Customer Service: We believe in providing personal service to each client to create
custom designs for those special occasions.


Visit the website for sample of floral designs to give you ideas and help you
decide on color schemes and style. www.flowersbysher.com


Look forward to hearing from you!!!.

Servicing Centreville, Virginia and surrounding areas. Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1263330647667-38
130x130_sq_1342541888363-bp0007
130x130_sq_1342541924676-bp0008
130x130_sq_1342810830872-20120428mariawaynewedding0514
130x130_sq_1342810870203-bp0004
130x130_sq_1342810939228-miscellaneous10.1.2011042
130x130_sq_1342811029041-kelli.orchidssubmergedintallvasescenterpiece
130x130_sq_1342811152502-mt.gileadsign.fall086
130x130_sq_1342811199960-mt.gileadsign.fall026
130x130_sq_1342811316109-mt.gileadsign.fall123
130x130_sq_1342811707949-mt.gileadsign.fall137

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
For Charge
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Delivery, Setup
What type of decor (if any) do you offer?
Yes, we can provide archways, candelabras for sale or rent.
Do you provide non-floral additions to floral arrangements?
We can customize any flower arrangement with jewels and/or feathers.
Do you offer full-services, such as wedding day setup, for an additional fee?
Yes, at a hourly rate for set up and wedding coordinator services.
If you have not worked at the ceremony or reception sites previously, would you be willing to visit the sites before the event?
Most definitely, I prefer to meet at the venue site.
Do you offer flower preservation services?
No. I can refer to a excellant company to provide this service.
Do you offer any other specializations that have not been covered?
One on One service to my clients.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Sher is the best! Her ability to provide unique and beautiful flowers is unmatched! The flowers last forever and you will get endless compliments! HIGLY RECOMMEND!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.3/5.0
Sher was very professional and quick to respond to any of our requests. She provided great service and everything that was asked of her. Everything went smoothly on our wedding day. The only reason why we gave a 3.5% for the value was due to the quality of the flowers. While the flower arrangements and the look came out great, some of the flowers did not look fresh. Some of the guest also witnessed this. I also wanted some high urns for our ceremony and was told they were going to be 5' tall, but it turned out to be 5' with the flowers and not the urn itself, so that was a little bit disappointing. She is really great but try to be really specific with what you want and tell her to be careful with the flower growers since flower freshness is not really her fault.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/18/2013
3.7/5.0
We were initially anxious about hiring Sher because she does not provide an exact quote in advance. However, she ultimately provided us beautiful arrangements at what was probably the lowest price we could get. She worked within our budget limitations and suggested a creative way for us to have "wreath centerpieces" that complemented our theme at a lower rate. She was extremely responsive to emails.

Sher was not flexible when we had special requests (e.g., a 1-hour early drop-off time for bouts/corsages at our hotel). Her business is also not insured. This was a problem for us because we found out one week before our wedding that the venue required ALL vendors, including the florist, to have insurance or else we would be liable for damages. Although I doubt this is a requirement at most venues, we were surprised to find out that she did not have basic coverage. We ended up getting a special event insurance policy (at our expense) that protected us from liability.

In the end, the final product was beautiful. But the process of working with her was difficult at points.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.9/5.0
Flowers By Sher did an AMAZING job with my wedding flowers. I had a complex color scheme that they had no trouble accommodating, and Sher was able to come up with wonderful designs for me even when I couldn't explain what I wanted very well. The ladies who wore corsages from Flowers By Sher found the "slap-bracelet" style of fastener very easy and comfortable to put on and wear. The bouquets all had a beautiful french-style wrap, and were fairly lightweight to carry around for the ceremony. Everyone I communicated with was friendly and helpful!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I was SO very impressed by Sher Opal and the flowers that she provided for my ceremony and reception. I have to admit I was kind of a difficult bride when it came to my flower displays. I probably changed my mind 5 or 6 time and every time Sher was there to guide and help me through everything. She was more than happy to work with me, no matter how many times I changed my mind. I would definitely recommend Flowers by Sher for your wedding.
Services Used: Flowers
Flowers by Sher responded with the following comments:

Kelli, thank you for the kind review. So appreciated. Hope your wedding was marvelous!
Hope you keep me mind for any further events or if you have friends that could use a florist.
Love to see picrtures! Take care, Sher
B5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
We really enjoyed working with Sher!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1344027321890-sarahmakeup
Sarah
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.9/5.0
I highly recommend Flowers by Sher. She does beautiful work, but what sets her apart is the personal service she will give you. Sher spent 90 minutes walking through our reception venue with us to determine the best layout for centerpieces and decor, and spent another afternoon doing the same at our church/ceremony venue. She even made me a bouquet for our first meeting to be sure she was capturing the look and feel I wanted, and she brought a lovely card when she came by our hotel to drop off the bridal party bouquets.

Sher also goes out of her way to be sure she knows what you do and do not want, from asking you detailed questions to reviewing photos and samples to be sure you are on the exact same page stylistically.

She even helped us work around a hiccup - the flower I wanted to use bloomed unseasonably early and became unavailable just before our wedding. She planned ahead and had a substitute ready, and everything turned out beautifully.

I know I am biased, but I must say that my bridal bouquet was the most beautiful I have ever seen. Our bouquets, centerpieces, pew flowers, and alter pieces were great.

Any florist can give you beautiful flowers - but they won't be able to give you the personal attention that Sher can - she was absolutely wonderful.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1343844967947-20120428mariawaynewedding0419
Maria
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
You must use Sher for your wedding! I am very serious. For me, flowers were at the bottom of my wedding list. I like flowers but did not want to spend alot of money. I contacted several florists and did not receive a response from any except for Sher. I guess my budget was too small to receive a response. LOL! Anyway, I met with Sher and she gave me this beautiful green and white bouquet as a sample of her work because she knew that those were my wedding colors. I liked the bouquet so much that I asked her to recreate it for my wedding day. She worked with me after I changed my mind several times and did not hesitate responding to my various requests for changes. She worked with my budget which I eventually realized I had to increase but I still stayed underneath my flower expense limit.

The day of the wedding, my ceremony room looked just as I imagined it. It was gorgeous. The reception centerpieces were so beautiful that guests were actually arguing about who would take them home. I had to give guests our equally beautiful but much smaller cocktail hour centerpieces as consolation gifts. My bouqet was so beautiful and so were the bouts and a special flowered wreath for the flowergirl. Everyone, even other vendors, complimented me on the flowers. Sher is truly amazing and if I ever need flowers for any event, I will contact her.

FYI: Once we returned from the honeymoon, we were told by our family members that received the reception centerpieces that the flower arrangements lasted for nearly 3 weeks!!!!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ewatkins83
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Sher was absolutely wonderful and I HIGHLY recommend her to any bride to be. We had only some general ideas about what we wanted for flowers, and Sher took the time to sit down with us, hear us out, and help us develop those ideas into concrete designs, which turned out PERFECTLY. Her flowers were incredibly high quality and we had not a single snag on the day of the wedding. We had many of our guests compliment the flower arrangements and ask us for Sher's contact information. She was quick to respond throughout the planning stages and completely professional. She had great creative suggestions for us, and also had many tips and tricks to help us stay within our budget. Hands down, Sher was one of the best vendor selections we made!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shirl
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Love Sher! She was so receptive to our ideas. She went out of her way to accommodate. She also took time to meet with us at the venue to help with the planning. She coordinated with the venue to deliver the flowers on the day of the event. Made me completely relaxed about the flowers and set up.
And of course- the flowers were BEAUTIFUL!!!
they also lasted for a LONG time. In fact, we had two large accent bouquets made for the church. Red and white long stem roses. I broke them down after two weeks and put the still-fresh roses into a separate vase. The white ones are still looking pretty good (a month later)- the reds have dried out but still look nice.
Services Used: Flowers
Bg2
Barbara
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I had sent inquiries to a few florists and Sher was the one who responded right away and asked, what I thought, were all of the right questions. After several emails and a couple of months, we met up at the venue of our wedding and I found her to be very nice and easy to talk with. The fact that she had done weddings at our venue before was a big plus too! Our flower budget was small and she was able to work with us to keep it right where it needed to be. She also found a close substitute for the Scottish thistle we needed for my husband's bout. since they can't be imported!
When the day came, the flowers looked perfect! My bridesmaids (and bridesman) had yellow gerber daisies, big & small. My bouquet had my favorite flower, carnations, in red, red and yellow gerber daisies and sea holly. It was beautiful and she used my husband's tartan to wrap my bouquet! Both of our mother's held small bouquets of white gerbers and the groomsmen had daisy bouts. to match the bridal party and the FotB bout was slightly different.
She also brought and decorated the arbor for the outdoor ceremony and for the table centerpieces. It all came together so nicely! We were really happy we found Sher and needed to look no further. I would definitely recommend her services!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Sher did a beautiful job on my flowers and wedding decor! I would suggest her to any future bride who wants a stress-free experience working with a florist who is creative and detail oriented. I wasn't quite sure the types of flowers/decor I wanted for my ceremony/reception, but Sher provided me with ideas I never would have thought of on my own. Sher really got a feel for the style I wanted and familiarized herself with my ceremony/reception site. I felt like her ideas were unique to my wedding. I could imagine Sher's vision and it all came to life on my wedding day. It was comforting to know that Sher coordinated with my other vendors prior to my wedding day just to make sure they were all on the same page. Also, since my ceremony was outdoors and weather is unpredictable, Sher had back up ceremony decor just incase it had to be moved inside. Sher and her team showed up early the day of the wedding to make sure they had ample amount of time to decorate. It was so comforting to work with someone who truly cared about every aspect of my big day. I am so lucky to have worked with Sher. She helped make my wedding day perfect!!!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1250984806409-jamieandikissingwithcake
Jami
Wedding:
7/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Sher did an absolutely AMAZING job on my flowers for my wedding on July 26th!! I was so impressed with Sher from our initial meeting, so much so that she is the only florist that I met with for our wedding. She totally understand my vision for the wedding right away and had some wonderful suggestions on the table linens, the presentation of the centerpieces, on my bouquet preservation, and how to use our flowers in multiple ways. She is very professional, but also so sincere and genuine that I just felt like she was a long time friend or a family member! Sher was very responsive to emails and was organized. She puts the contract of what flowers you would like in a nice excel spreadsheet so you know exactly what you are getting. Her prices are VERY reasonable for NOVA/DC weddings as I felt like I was getting a lot of flowers for the price I was paying. Less than 2 weeks before the wedding, Sher called and said she could get me pink peonies for my bouquet despite them being out of season. I was so impressed that she could get them for me in July and that she even thought to ask if her distributor had them. On the day of the wedding, Sher and her assistants arrived to the wedding location on time and immediately started setting up the flowers. When I walked into the wedding reception area and saw how BEAUTIFUL the centerpieces were I was soooo happy! My bouquet was PERFECT and exactly what I had wanted for my wedding day! The bridesmaids bouquets were also beautiful and matched perfectly with our very bright bridesmaids dresses. EVERYONE loved their flowers! I was equally happy with the wristlets and the bouts! AND the cake flowers were amazing as well! Sher provided the largest and most beautiful pink roses for my cake (and the bouquets and centerpieces) that I have ever seen! Even my baker was highly impressed with the roses that she provided. I am so happy that I went with Sher for my wedding flowers!! Her work is amazing and she is so wonderful to work with!! THANK YOU so much Sher for making my wedding look so beautiful. Your flowers just made everything come together perfectly!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HPomy
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Sher was an absolute delight to work with. Always professional, responsive, and most importantly, her work was amazing! She really made it a huge focus to make sure I had exactly the image I wanted for my wedding day. I have had nothing but compliments with how beautiful the arrangements and centerpieces were for our big day. I would highly recommend Sher to any bride looking for a florist in the DC area!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike Bissell
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
She was very professional and went far beyond her expectations. She provided me with helpful services that were not originally part of the description and was quite helpful in any way she could. this was very appreciated.
Services Used: Flowers

DEALS

Book your Wedding or Event for 10% Discount ($2,500.00 Min.)
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
When you book your wedding, event or set up a corporate account within 30 days of the Free Consultation and we will take 10% off your total flower order. Does not include tax or delivery/set up charges.
Deal #WWce635d92a4adfcbf
220x220_1342810190295-20120428mariawaynewedding0071

MAP

 
General Johnston Place, Centreville, VA 20120 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Flowers by Sher
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo