130x130 sq 1414246628383 gold cake with fresh flowers

Fluffy Thoughts Cakes

Mc Lean , VA

LOCATION

1320 Old Chain Bridge Road
Mc Lean, VA 22101 US (map)

PHONE

703-942-5538

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Fluffy Thoughts Bakery was conceived in the year 2000, when a friend suggested that owner Lara Stuckey combine her two passions, art and baking, into a real business. Lara fell in love... Read more
Fluffy Thoughts Bakery was conceived in the year 2000, when a friend suggested that owner Lara Stuckey combine her two passions, art and baking, into a real business. Lara fell in love with baking at the tender age of five, producing her first creations from an EZ Bake Oven. She found the opportunity to bake at any occasion, experimenting with different flavors and textures. While in graduate school, Lara pursued a more structured baking experience, working part-time at DC based bakery Cakelove. While at Cakelove, Lara observed the bakery business first-hand, and attributes much of her training under local entrepreneur and baker Warren Brown.

With a talent and background in art, Lara infuses sculpture, color, and design into each cake, and customizes her creations based on customer requests. Having participated in several cake decorating courses, most recently with world- renowned cake designer Colette Peters of Colette’s Cakes in New York City, and a Fundamental Pastry Techniques Course at L’Academie de Cuisine, Lara continues to perfect her skills as a cake baker and decorator. She bakes all of her cakes in a licensed kitchen out of her home. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1205240390516 disc 1 wedding 138
130x130 sq 1350483892859 3tierroundhexdiamond
130x130 sq 1350483893819 3tiertexturizedbuttercream
130x130 sq 1350483895909 5tierwithinvitesugarribbon
130x130 sq 1350483907419 70astridphotographyinglesidevineyards94astridphotographyinglesidevineyardsimg1822
130x130 sq 1350483919315 449
130x130 sq 1350483924479 0455
130x130 sq 1350483925666 760
130x130 sq 1350483958471 0990
130x130 sq 1350483969523 2012.05.19ironsseemsweddingweb208
130x130 sq 1350483978405 3939852691261475254348402501n
130x130 sq 1350483979545 abstractribbon
130x130 sq 1350483980954 alternatingsizeswithtealribbon
130x130 sq 1350483983343 amp0817
130x130 sq 1350484005880 bemismooneylovelifeimages00770
130x130 sq 1350484017488 birdcake
130x130 sq 1350484052732 blakehwedding2
130x130 sq 1169134118419 img 5476 fluffythoughts w256
130x130 sq 1350484066852 blueribbonanddaisy
130x130 sq 1350484105947 branchesandblossomscake
130x130 sq 1350484142537 brownribbonwrap
130x130 sq 1205241129438 img 1610
130x130 sq 1350484153284 brownwithwhitepiping
130x130 sq 1350484153948 cake
130x130 sq 1350484154984 cherryblossoms3
130x130 sq 1350484155463 chocolatecoveredstrawberriesweddingcake275x412
130x130 sq 1350484160709 clover
130x130 sq 1226194581350 img 0697
130x130 sq 1169134048279 img 5349 fluffythoughts 256x256
130x130 sq 1350484165965 cupcaketower2
130x130 sq 1226194316256 img 1398
130x130 sq 1350484177204 everaftervisuals
130x130 sq 1350484180104 flowersanddragees
130x130 sq 1350484721884 raiwilliamsmichellelindsayphotographyraiwilliams290michellelindsayphotography0
130x130 sq 1205241353172 img 2451
130x130 sq 1205241207860 img 1991
130x130 sq 1169103046732 fluffythoughts img 6399 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1350484201737 fluffythoughts0012
130x130 sq 1205240487938 get attachment.aspx 1
130x130 sq 1226194662826 karen z resized fluffy thoughts
130x130 sq 1226193964079 roses dots
130x130 sq 1205241431438 img 2429
130x130 sq 1350484210588 fondantlace
130x130 sq 1350484222899 graduatedredtoyellowwithexplosionontop
130x130 sq 1350484250758 img0593
130x130 sq 1350484255229 ironsseemswedding12
130x130 sq 1350484308535 jm5001
130x130 sq 1350484320437 jessicaspadaccini
130x130 sq 1350484380916 karapetersoncake1
130x130 sq 1350484452821 karapetersoncake3
130x130 sq 1226194034730 hot pink
130x130 sq 1169099892685 fluffythoughts img 0091 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1226193898426 burgundy ribbon fluffythoughts
130x130 sq 1350484512019 katchergandhitheobservatorykatcher08150
130x130 sq 1350484571301 katchergandhitheobservatorykatcher08180
130x130 sq 1226194172455 img 1878
130x130 sq 1226194239935 img 1366
130x130 sq 1169101344700 fluffythoughts img 6026 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1226194402590 img 1187
130x130 sq 1226194480489 img 1122
130x130 sq 1169102163544 fluffythoughts img 6059 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1350484620228 klancerwedding179
130x130 sq 1350484639635 loresbunnyandrichardwedding087
130x130 sq 1350484679666 meganadamfluffythoughts002
130x130 sq 1205240846047 img 1210
130x130 sq 1226194102304 img 1926
130x130 sq 1350484691219 monicaanand1
130x130 sq 1350484691995 monicaanand2
130x130 sq 1205240974078 img 1357
130x130 sq 1169098732607 fluffythoughts img 0492 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1226193799549 gold roses
130x130 sq 1350484692705 monicaanand3
130x130 sq 1350484693549 palepinkseparatedwithgreen
130x130 sq 1350484695187 photo42
130x130 sq 1169098802247 fluffythoughts img 0518 edit 450x300 grey q85
130x130 sq 1350484704282 pm380
130x130 sq 1350484710114 professional330
130x130 sq 1350484721094 purpleribbonorchidcascade
130x130 sq 1350484729699 rajakarunaclarkconnorstudios11110504650low
130x130 sq 1350484740786 silverballcake2
130x130 sq 1350484775955 snowflake1
130x130 sq 1350484787611 steampunk
130x130 sq 1350484790788 sugarflowers2
130x130 sq 1350484801380 tiffanybluewhite

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

What types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Croquembouche, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What services do you provide?
Consultations, Delivery, Setup
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Vegan
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/18/2015
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful, delicious and reasonably priced. They also provided mini cupcakes for the place cards that were just perfect. The bride not only has a gluten alergies but also nuts. They made her special cupcakes so she could participate in the cake cutting.
Just terrific.
Cake was beautiful, delicious and reasonably priced. They also provided mini cupcakes for the place cards that were just Read more...
Cake was beautiful, delicious and reasonably priced. They also provided mini cupcakes for the place cards that were just perfect. The bride not only has a gluten alergies but also nuts. They made her special cupcakes so she could participate in the cake cutting.
Just terrific. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED my wedding cake! It was everything I wanted and more! Lara worked with me to created a beautiful casade of sugar flowers. It turned out beautiful and tasted delicious! They were very eager to make it work. They called me the week before the wedding concerned that if we used buttercream the flowers would fall off the cake (which had happened at a wedding the weekend before) and offered to use fondant instead at no extra cost. Their genuine concern for my cake was well received and much appreciated. All of my guest keep telling me how much they loved the cake.
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED my wedding cake! It was everything I wanted and more! Lara worked with me to created a beautiful casade Read more...
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED my wedding cake! It was everything I wanted and more! Lara worked with me to created a beautiful casade of sugar flowers. It turned out beautiful and tasted delicious! They were very eager to make it work. They called me the week before the wedding concerned that if we used buttercream the flowers would fall off the cake (which had happened at a wedding the weekend before) and offered to use fondant instead at no extra cost. Their genuine concern for my cake was well received and much appreciated. All of my guest keep telling me how much they loved the cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/4/2015
5.0/5.0
One of the best, worked with me and my budget and made the cake I wanted (The Kate Midelton Mini Cake). it was absolutely delicious.
One of the best, worked with me and my budget and made the cake I wanted (The Kate Midelton Mini Cake). it was absolutely Read more...
One of the best, worked with me and my budget and made the cake I wanted (The Kate Midelton Mini Cake). it was absolutely delicious. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thanks for the rave review! We were so happy to work with you and we're glad you loved the cake! If you have any pictures, we'd love to see them and even showcase them here on Wedding Wire with your permission!
Default vendor profile pic
Abigail
Wedding:
6/13/2015
5.0/5.0
Our cake was perfect! They worked with me to get exactly what I want (my entire cake covered with rainbow sprinkles!) and it turned out exactly as I envisioned. Guests are still talking about the cake! We are also excited to go back on our 1 year anniversary as they give you a free, fresh cake so you don't have to worry about freezing your top layer for a year.
Our cake was perfect! They worked with me to get exactly what I want (my entire cake covered with rainbow sprinkles!) and Read more...
Our cake was perfect! They worked with me to get exactly what I want (my entire cake covered with rainbow sprinkles!) and it turned out exactly as I envisioned. Guests are still talking about the cake! We are also excited to go back on our 1 year anniversary as they give you a free, fresh cake so you don't have to worry about freezing your top layer for a year. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes responded with the following comments:

We absolutely loved making your cake: what a fun and interesting concept to work with! It makes us so happy when clients love their cakes. We look forward to hearing from you in (less than) a year for your fresh and tasty anniversary cake!
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
What a wonderful cake! They cake they made for our wedding was simple yet elegant and absolutely delicious!!! They were easy to work with and as I'm writing this review, I can only wish I had more of that cake!! We highly recommend you use this company for all your cake needs!
What a wonderful cake! They cake they made for our wedding was simple yet elegant and absolutely delicious!!! They were Read more...
What a wonderful cake! They cake they made for our wedding was simple yet elegant and absolutely delicious!!! They were easy to work with and as I'm writing this review, I can only wish I had more of that cake!! We highly recommend you use this company for all your cake needs! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for your review! We love seeing our customers happy and hungry for more. We look forward to hearing from you in the future!
Default vendor profile pic
Christina
Wedding:
5/30/2015
5.0/5.0
I ordered a vegan wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts and was not disappointed. It was a vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream frosting on the outside. On the inside one tier had chocolate frosting added and the other tiers had lemon frosting added. It was delicious! I loved that the owner was willing to work with me to create whatever I wanted. I went simpler because that's more my style but she has the ability and talent to create some amazing cakes from what I saw in pictures and throughout the store. I will definitely be going back and I can't wait to order the complimentary one year anniversary cake they offer after you've purchased a wedding cake through them. What a fun perk!
I ordered a vegan wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts and was not disappointed. It was a vanilla cake with vanilla Read more...
I ordered a vegan wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts and was not disappointed. It was a vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream frosting on the outside. On the inside one tier had chocolate frosting added and the other tiers had lemon frosting added. It was delicious! I loved that the owner was willing to work with me to create whatever I wanted. I went simpler because that's more my style but she has the ability and talent to create some amazing cakes from what I saw in pictures and throughout the store. I will definitely be going back and I can't wait to order the complimentary one year anniversary cake they offer after you've purchased a wedding cake through them. What a fun perk! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review! We try our best to be accommodating of most dietary needs and we're so glad you were happy with the results. We hope to see you in the bakery very soon for more vegan sweets and treats!
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
This was hands down the best cake I had ever tasted! Lara and her team were wonderful to work with and provided a beautiful tiered wedding cake for us with two different flavors. She was flexible in working with us to fit out needs and our guests loved the cake. My only regret is that I didn't get to eat more of it during the actual reception!
This was hands down the best cake I had ever tasted! Lara and her team were wonderful to work with and provided a Read more...
This was hands down the best cake I had ever tasted! Lara and her team were wonderful to work with and provided a beautiful tiered wedding cake for us with two different flavors. She was flexible in working with us to fit out needs and our guests loved the cake. My only regret is that I didn't get to eat more of it during the actual reception! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Fluffy Thoughts Cakes responded with the following comments:

We're so glad that you enjoyed your cake! We look forward to hearing from you for your anniversary cake in a year...in the meantime, we hope you'll come by and try our daily cupcakes!
Default vendor profile pic
Julia
Wedding:
5/25/2015
5.0/5.0
We had two cakes made, bride and groom's cakes. The delivery was perfectly on time, and very affordable. Lara guided us during the cake tasting and provided great suggestions. The cakes were beautiful and so yummy!!!
We had two cakes made, bride and groom's cakes. The delivery was perfectly on time, and very affordable. Lara guided us Read more...
We had two cakes made, bride and groom's cakes. The delivery was perfectly on time, and very affordable. Lara guided us during the cake tasting and provided great suggestions. The cakes were beautiful and so yummy!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Jaclynn
Wedding:
5/24/2015
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and tasted great! Exactly like the tasting.
Cake was beautiful and tasted great! Exactly like the tasting.
Cake was beautiful and tasted great! Exactly like the tasting. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Vicki
Wedding:
5/24/2015
5.0/5.0
We ordered our wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts, after researching local bakeries (and realizing that we were planning a bit late)! Fortunately, Fluffy Thoughts was able to work in our order (Sunday reception), help us plan the perfect cake.

Granted, we didn't realize the going price for wedding cakes; however, we tasted a couple of other vendors' offerings, and thought that Fluffy Cakes' samples were tastier -- and they have cake design down to a fine art.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for any event -- look at their website and go in for a personal tasting before you make a decision. They're terrific!
We ordered our wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts, after researching local bakeries (and realizing that we were planning a Read more...
We ordered our wedding cake from Fluffy Thoughts, after researching local bakeries (and realizing that we were planning a bit late)! Fortunately, Fluffy Thoughts was able to work in our order (Sunday reception), help us plan the perfect cake.

Granted, we didn't realize the going price for wedding cakes; however, we tasted a couple of other vendors' offerings, and thought that Fluffy Cakes' samples were tastier -- and they have cake design down to a fine art.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for any event -- look at their website and go in for a personal tasting before you make a decision. They're terrific! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

DEALS

Free One Year Anniversary Cake!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Who wants to eat a disgusting frozen cake on their one year anniversary??? With every purchase of a Fluffy Thoughts Wedding Cake you will receive a free 6 inch cake on your one year anniversary!!
Deal #WW24b0dc08dfdbfcb9
220x220 1414246628383 gold cake with fresh flowers

MAP

 
1320 Old Chain Bridge Road, Mc Lean, VA 22101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Fluffy Thoughts Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1414246628383 gold cake with fresh flowers