130x130_sq_1375390950582-lrb1303144815

Food in Bloom Catering

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2701 NW Vaughn , Suite 210
Portland, OR US 97210 (map)

PHONE

503-944-6820

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

For over thirty years Food in Bloom has brought a beautifully creative spirit to gatherings of virtually every description. With exceptional cuisine, an exacting caliber of service and... Read more
For over thirty years Food in Bloom has brought a beautifully creative spirit to gatherings of virtually every description. With exceptional cuisine, an exacting caliber of service and an innate sense of what is appropriate for the occasion, we take pride in doing what is important: bringing our client’s concepts to life.

Here, in the culinary epicenter of the Pacific Northwest, we draw upon abundant local crops — from cherries to hazelnuts to wild mushrooms — and source superior beef, lamb and pork from local ranchers. Ours is a world-class cuisine with regional roots. Food in Bloom Catering is committed to serving local, organic & sustainable products whenever possible.

Please contact Food in Bloom if you would like to receive a customized proposal based on the needs of your upcoming event.

Give us a call at: 503.944.6820 or you can email us at: info@foodinbloom.com

Website: www.foodinbloom.com Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1314656587961-574c
130x130_sq_1349203984596-sarikaandrew2012232
130x130_sq_1349207022225-eb167
130x130_sq_1375391178671-chilled-soup-trio-close-up
130x130_sq_1349205205917-nedeliskyzeman071710cathedralridgefibicoz428
130x130_sq_1314656272669-photosfromcarolynschirmacher003
130x130_sq_1314656294259-photosfromcarolynschirmacher010
130x130_sq_1375391215268-cupcake-station
130x130_sq_1314656509493-img1691
130x130_sq_1375391511896-nordstrom-2010
130x130_sq_1349205154935-nedeliskyzeman071710cathedralridgefibicoz563
130x130_sq_1349205804288-622c
130x130_sq_1349204605573-937eventantipasti210.13.11billbarry
130x130_sq_1349204782514-bellaviaopening0311atelier0157
130x130_sq_1349204671499-fibshoot042711sgrayfibowns156
130x130_sq_1314656319718-photosfromcarolynschirmacher028
130x130_sq_1349204384462-048
130x130_sq_1349204737562-fibtabletopphoto
130x130_sq_1349205057171-nedeliskyzeman071710cathedralridgefibicoz419
130x130_sq_1349206518773-photosfromcarolynschirmacher012
130x130_sq_1349206568794-photosfromcarolynschirmacher022
130x130_sq_1349206759114-fibshoot042711sgrayfibowns069
130x130_sq_1375391346364-fib-pastries.-paul-rich-studio-2
130x130_sq_1375391351909-fib-pastries.-paul-rich-studio-1
130x130_sq_1375391361232-lan-su-oh---062112---jessicahill-001058
130x130_sq_1375391375254-vallsfoodinbloom-588

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, Ethiopian, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1905
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
225
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Food in Bloom got rave reviews at our recent summer wedding in Portland! We had several amazing appetizers, and for dinner the braised beef, pan-seared cod and portobello mushroom steak - all were delicious! Bar service was top-notch as well. The staff were lovely to work with both before and during the wedding day. Thank you F.I.B.!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
I would HIGHLY recommend Food in Bloom.

Having never hired a catering company for anything, I was a complete novice for the whole process--searching for one, interviewing with one (what to look for??), creating a menu with enough food and beverage but also within budget, and then the biggie--execution. At my first meeting with Krystal, my coordinator, and every meeting, conversation, & email after I was struck by her thoroughness to detail, promptness, and competency. I never once had a doubt that all plans would executed as we discussed and trusted her opinion and experience with my decision making. My venue, Leach Botanical Garden, needed a weather alternative set up on premise and in our first meeting she was confidently prepared with floor plans for both in-door and out-door spaces. She is the tops in my book!

The food was delicious, a real high note, to a wonderful wedding. Plus the day-of staff of chef, servers, bartender, and coordinator brought a warmth to our event with their positive attitudes and kind smiles as they served. They set up, they broke down, and I (and my mom) didn't worry about a thing. Truly wonderful!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marci
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding planner, EJP Events, recommended Food In Bloom and I am so glad that we hired them. Kris Kremer is amazing! From the very first time we met with her, we knew we were in good hands. When we described what we were looking for in catering, she came up with a wonderful, delicious menu that our guests are still talking about. I would highly recommend Food In Bloom for any memorable event. I will certainly request their services in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I worked with Kris Kremer for my wedding at the Lan Su Chinese Garden and I can say that she and the people at Food In Bloom not only met but categorically exceeded in every avenue of food quality, service, friendliness of staff and even acted on my behalf to make using the garden easy. I would use them for any event or occasion as my guest raved about the food they made and the interactiveness of the staff. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give Kris and the folks at Food in Bloom a 15!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Imagine: fresh, colorful, decadent, delicious, piece of art, flavorful, in season… Food In Bloom’s food is delicious. They go the extra mile to make sure your needs/wants are met. Food allergies? No problem. Krystal Kelch worked with us to make sure not only the food was what we wanted, but that our vision for our wedding, and our personalities were incorporated into the dishes. We had passed hors d'oeuvres during our cocktail hour, a buffet style dinner, dessert bar with ice cream macaroons and cupcakes, and popcorn for late night snacks. Anything we wanted, Food in Bloom made sure we had as long as it was in season. Portland is known for it’s great foodie culture, and Food in Bloom was our choice so that our guests could have a feel for Portland at our wedding. At our tasting Krystal made sure if we wanted something tweaked that we could do that and get to taste it to see if we liked it. We knew we wanted a specialty cocktail and had a hard time deciding on one. Krystal helped us create our own - and brought us a sample right then and there! The organization, efficiency and professionalism from Krystal Kelch, and our day of event manager Tom, was flawless! Our guests are still telling us 3 weeks later that the food was great! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ami
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Food in Bloom is amazing. Our guests are still talking about the best wedding food that they've ever had! Food in Bloom’s commitment to fresh, local and in-season food was the perfect match for our eco-friendly wedding at the Ecotrust building. From the first meeting, Krystal Kelch made the planning process easy; she helped us create the perfect menu that included all of our dietary needs, including delicious vegan and gluten-free options. On the day of the wedding, Krystal and her team did their magic and executed a flawless event with beautiful presentation, exceptional food and the most professional service. Food in Bloom made our wedding visions come to life, and we were able to just sit back and enjoy our day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow - from the very beginning Food in Bloom, and in particular Kris Kremers, was all I could have hoped for. The first draft of the menu was EXACTLY what I had described, she was so helpful in organizing needs for rentals and lighting and decor for the vibe I wanted, and I am still getting compliments on how great the food and drinks were. The bartender was even perfect and gracious - everything was just PERFECT!!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We are so happy we selected Food in Bloom as our catering team for our wedding. They did a fantastic job and stayed with us every step of the way and helped with ideas and suggestions that really guided our vision. We have since received so many compliments on both the food and service. Thanks Food in Bloom!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SHARON
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
What a fantastic job Food in Bloom did for my daughter's wedding on January 26th! Our guests felt so pampered by all of the very professional service staff as they passed hors doeurves for the cocktail hour and then again for dinner. The signature cocktail was so pretty and refreshing and Kris had great ideas for adding in simple but fun touches, such as striped straws for the drinks. From our first meeting, Food in Bloom really listened to my daughter's vision and they made it a reality. Even though Food in Bloom is a prestigious caterer, they never brushed off any of our questions or requests. Everything was done in a timely manner, and we were put at ease. The food was amazing ... the chef was fantastic! ... plenty to go around for all of our guests and absolutely piping hot and delicious. The presentation was beautiful and the servers were so attentive to all of our requests and genuinely took the time to make sure everything was going smoothly. Kris put together a classy candy buffet in silvers, whites and pinks which was enjoyed by all. Tom (the event manager) was so great to work with and answered all of my questions in a timely manner (as did Kris). Our guests all felt so special as Food in Bloom pampered them. Love Food in Bloom and only wish we had another wedding to do so we could contract with them all over again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
It was such a pleasure to work with Food in Bloom and especially Kris, our event planner. Kris is a wonderful communicator, checking in, telling us when she would be more and less available, and constantly making sure our needs/wants were being met. Kris just also has a wonderful, sunny attitude, that makes everything easier and more fun. The day of the wedding could not have been better. They were able to adjust when the timing for things was a little sooner than we planned. The staff was incredibly friendly. I was treated with such great care by every single member of the team. And let's not forget, the food! Food and Bloom and Kris listened to our vision, helped us shape that vision, and made it happen. Everything was absolutely delicious. I can't say enough good things.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Beautiful presentation and delicious food! We received many compliments from our guests who told us this was, by far, the tastiest wedding food they had ever had. Leading up to the wedding, Food in Bloom was prompt, receptive, and thorough. They seamlessly integrated the pan-Asian influences we desired into the menu. At the reception, we were impressed not only by the food itself but by their staff, who were of the highest quality. With so many people to see and thank, it is easy for the bride and groom to miss out on the food, but our wonderful servers made sure this didn't happen!
Services Used: Catering
Food in Bloom Catering responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed working with you and we're so happy you had a lovely wedding. FIB
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acemendoza
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
The food at our daughter's wedding reception was amazing -- our guests were so impressed! The guests had a choice from 3 entrees -- steak, salmon, or vegetarian -- and everyone raved about the food! We had a tasting during the planning process and that was a lot of fun! They were also very accommodating with our requests for some of our guests who had allergies to certain foods. Their staff was also very professional and the service was impeccable. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
7/31/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so surprised that Food in Bloom is not the most popular caterer in Portland. Kris Kremers worked with me and was absolutely fantastic. She was always very prompt to respond to me, always made me feel like everything was under control, and super super helpful in the days leading up to my wedding. During those last few days, I ended up asking her so many questions, and having her take care of so many unexpected details. She was really helpful and so flexible.

Food in Bloom did a fantastic job with my food. I wanted everything to be fresh, seasonal, local, etc., and they accommodated that with no problem at all. The food was amazing! They also took care of some of the decor, all of the rentals, even the supplies for my off-site ceremony. The fact that they did all of this so smoothly definitely reduced my stress and work by 80%.

On top of that, they were about 25% cheaper than my estimates from other vendors with comparable menus (and much more flexible)!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.9/5.0
My favorite thing about Food In Bloom Catering is that they are associated with a great venue space as well...Montgomery Park in NW Portland. The venue location in and of itself was amazing! Great natural light and plenty of space to move around. We had a large number of compliments on how fantastic the venue was -- modern and sophisticated look and feel. The architecture makes for fun photos too! Even from the beginning of our planning with Food in Bloom it was like we were the only clients they were working with. They gave us a dedicated event coordinator (Erin Hight) that met with us as often as we needed. She was AMAZING. Had a ton of great ideas and thoughts on how to make our wedding unique and fun. She was VERY detailed orientated and made sure that we got exactly what we wanted. The catering aspect was amazing as well. The food options were abundant but easy to narrow down in relation to our preferences. We did tastings before final decisions and were cautious of how the food would actually taste at the buffet on the wedding night. Shouldn't have even worried...the food was exactly the same even in the large quantity. Every single food item that we ordered had an awesome taste and looked very upscale. The meat (steak and pork) was cooked perfectly! All guests were talking even couple weeks later about the food. Food in Bloom also made it very easy to get the right event rentals - tables, dinnerware, linens, etc. Reasonable price and something we didnt have to worry about. Food in Bloom is very professional; what you receive in service, product, food, etc. far outweighs the amount paid. It was a pleasure to work with Erin and Food in Bloom -- I didn't need to worry about anything!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/11/2013
4.9/5.0
Krystal Kelch is absolutely fantastic! Not only did she help create the perfect customized wedding menu for my husband and I within our price point but she went above and beyond helping with the entire planning process. The food was excellent, the service extremely professional and the flexibility to really create what we wanted was incredible! Honestly, working with Krystal was one of the best decisions we made!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I am so thankful to Kris at Food in Bloom. The caterers that we booked went out of business only a few months before our wedding. Food in Bloom was awesome enough to step in and even let us wait to pay the deposit until we received a refund from the other caterers. They remade the menu from the other caterers perfectly (ALL vegetarian - appetizers, the meal (the country-fried tofu was a HIT even among our carnivore friends and family), and desserts)! I can't tell you how good the food was - if you need vegetarian food, I highly recommend FIB (I'm sure the meat is good too). Kris was very helpful and kind. There was a few emails that took a week or two to get a response and we ended up having to pay a significant amount after the wedding for extra alcohol (we explained that our friends and family will take full advantage of the open bar so I wished they had given us a better estimate for the alcohol) but otherwise no complaints!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pattie
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.6/5.0
Food In Bloom did an amazing job with our wedding. The beverages, hors dourves, dinner and cupcakes tasted incredible. The service was great, in fact, I hardly noticed they were there, yet everything was done when it needed to be. I worked with Food in Bloom to keep the budget down and they had plenty of suggestions for how to do this. My only complaint is that sometimes my emails and phone calls weren't responded to as quickly as I anticipated. Also, I wish they offered an hor dourves display in addition to the passed hor dourves because there is always someone who misses the servers and gets nothing to eat before dinner. Overall, though, I was impressed!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tam
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.3/5.0
The event staff was wonderful on the day of the wedding. They were very friendly, professional and accomadating for a wedding of 210 guests. The food tasted just as good for 210 guests as it did on the day of the tasting. Event planners were very professional and accomodating leading up to the event, but were so busy at times that it would be difficult to schedule meetings or replys were delayed.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
2701 NW Vaughn , Suite 210, Portland, OR 97210 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Food in Bloom Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1375390950582-lrb1303144815