130x130_sq_1366980439603-090216153344-9922-0029sq

Forbes Photographer

Kingston , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

118 Colborne Street
Kingston, ON CA K7K 1C9 (map)

PHONE

613-540-3700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I've been taking pictures since I was 12. I remember borrowing Kodak how-to photography books from the library and thinking those 70's hairdo's were pretty darn funny.

But... Read more
I've been taking pictures since I was 12. I remember borrowing Kodak how-to photography books from the library and thinking those 70's hairdo's were pretty darn funny.

But that didn't scare me away from wanting to take pictures. I wanted to be a photographer. Even as a kid I noticed light and colour and the thing I wanted most was a camera. I loved the feeling of waiting for a roll of film to be finished so I could see the pictures.

But oddly, I went to college to become a family therapist ... then quickly got distracted by being editor of the yearbook, flunked a bunch of courses ... and I now have half of a counselling degree. But don't get me wrong, on a wedding day this can come in handy. :)

Now I shoot weddings and portraits for a living and I'm based out of Kingston, Ontario but travel all over Canada.

I LOVE what I do. It feels good to know what I was put on earth to do, and actually be doing it. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1354569743229-120520174805kaminskywedding3309
130x130_sq_1354569846565-120728150704milevwedding1527
130x130_sq_1354569914764-120811130507dembiewedding0992
130x130_sq_1354570023988-120915173745homuthwedding4814
130x130_sq_1354569856654-120728165149milevwedding0524
130x130_sq_1354569697440-120428121159millingwedding0377
130x130_sq_1354569711945-120428153436millingwedding1656
130x130_sq_1354570064976-120921154104thyssenwedding0454
130x130_sq_1354569724084-120520131633kaminskywedding0745
130x130_sq_1354569732507-120520142905kaminskywedding0505
130x130_sq_1354569749409-120520221732kaminskywedding3082
130x130_sq_1354569756161-120615112358hurstwedding0246
130x130_sq_1354570080788-120921184319thyssenwedding5040
130x130_sq_1354569836354-120728143334milevwedding1417
130x130_sq_1354569768925-120615160500hurstwedding1546
130x130_sq_1354569785777-120615213425hurstwedding3665
130x130_sq_1354569791076-120623163743dunlopwedding1611
130x130_sq_1354569797263-120623192525dunlopwedding0112
130x130_sq_1354569805773-120629171836sarmientowedding5061
130x130_sq_1354569814517-120721172547deodatowedding1301
130x130_sq_1354569823192-120721172902deodatowedding1339
130x130_sq_1354569692728-120407163936newfoundland5007
130x130_sq_1354569687243-120407150142newfoundland3861
130x130_sq_1354569871413-120728180536milevwedding0946
130x130_sq_1354569703127-120428122820millingwedding0450
130x130_sq_1354569879536-120728185030milevwedding2260
130x130_sq_1354569892347-120728224030milevwedding3216
130x130_sq_1354569909227-120728224459milevwedding3296
130x130_sq_1354569919525-120811135920dembiewedding1097
130x130_sq_1354569931226-120811145904dembiewedding1199
130x130_sq_1354569943662-120811172215dembiewedding3262
130x130_sq_1354569953386-120908204108milnewedding1898
130x130_sq_1354569969088-120908222210milnewedding2321
130x130_sq_1354569981596-120915124100homuthwedding0107
130x130_sq_1354569991927-120915132641homuthwedding0340
130x130_sq_1354569999180-120915142442homuthwedding1942
130x130_sq_1354570011445-120915172535homuthwedding2772
130x130_sq_1354570032207-120915174418homuthwedding3370
130x130_sq_1354570043538-120915223554homuthwedding4485
130x130_sq_1354570070598-120921155801thyssenwedding4504
130x130_sq_1354570076072-120921181651thyssenwedding2001
130x130_sq_1354570087357-121006132714garnerwedding1944
130x130_sq_1354570096533-121006150259garnerwedding0026
130x130_sq_1354570107113-121006152659garnerwedding0461
130x130_sq_1354570112100-121006170212garnerwedding1581

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
I prefer to keep things real and make the images strong enough to stand on their own without any fancy Photoshop techniques.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Any and all ... I have a lens for any situation from dark candlelight to harsh sunlight. I know how to handle any lighting situation.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot mostly digital, but am increasingly interested in film.
How many photographers do you work with?
Often it is only me and an assistant, but I will hire a second photographer if you'd like. That said, I'm used to shooting alone, so my coverage will not suffer because there's not two photographers.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes ... I personally shoot all Forbes Photographer contracted events.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Only one wedding per day, and sometimes I'll shoot 2 weddings per weekend if the locations are close.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Absolutely. I have a network of photographers that I can call on should anything happen to me.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Multiple camera bodies, lenses and flashes. Also, a location lighting rig should the weather not cooperate. Also, I use this lighting to jazz up the reception photos, so I don't have to kill the ambience by having the house lights turned up.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, I have 2-3 of everything I own, in case something breaks.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
I have full-day coverage only, which includes 8 hours of coverage. But I will add hours if you'd like.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes. You can either pre-pay for overtime hours, or if things are running late, on your approval, I will add overtime on the day of the wedding to make sure I don't miss anything.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
None. I only stop when my meal is served, and even then I will be ready for anything fun that might happen.
Do you charge for travel?
It's included in my location-specific packages. Destination wedding coverage does not include travel charges.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
4 to 6 weeks after the wedding.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes. I retain Copyright on all photos, but you can be given permission for unlimited personal use.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, I need to be able to use the photos for marketing and promotional purposes, as well as to enter into contests.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes, if the couple purchases a Wedding Collection.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes, if the couple purchases a Wedding Collection ... that gallery can also be used by friends and family to order prints directly.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Fine Art albums, custom-designed by me, personally.
When will the client get the final album?
Up to 8 weeks after it is ordered.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Tim is exceptional. His style of photography is extrememly unique and very real, which is what grabbed my attention in the first place. I felt when I looked through his photos of other's weddings I actually got to know the people in the photos. Now when I see the work he did for us, he was able to protray exactly who we are so well through our photos. They feel like us. He captured such beautiful, real moments between us, my sister and I, our families and our wedding party. We could not be more thrilled with the lifelong memory he's given us.

On top of the quality of his work, Tim is just a great person. He's funny and approachable. He made posing in public, which is very awkward for us, fun and comfortable.

Tim is a true professional and takes such pride in his work. The package that he sent when our photos were done was beautifully presented. He was so easy to communicate with, always available and quick to respond.

Thank you Tim for helping make our day so special, so comfortable and so us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Tim was great to work with! Amazing photos that really captured the day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
5/20/2012
4.6/5.0
Tim shot my wedding this past May in downtown Toronto. If you are a fan of photojournalistic wedding photos, and lots of great candids, he is your guy.

His work is absolutely incredible. Everyone who has seen our wedding photos just raves about them. They truly captured the essence of the day so perfectly. Many of our other vendors (venue, decor, bakery, wedding planner) have asked to use some of his photos in their promo materials because they are such great shots.

He was also really nice and down-to-earth. He was honest and straight-up and was really easy to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Serena
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
We were so thrilled with the pictures Tim took of our wedding. They were absolutely beautiful. As much as we were warned to “take in the day” it still went by so quickly. Thankfully we have a wonderful collection of memories that will last forever. Special moments of us and our family and friends were beautifully captured in a unique way; some moments that we were well aware of and other moments we would have missed if not caught on film --when our attention was elsewhere at the time.
At the end of the day every bride and groom hope to love the pictures, and we did. They are amazing!!! However, we were also so impressed with Tim’s ability to adapt to last minute changes, poor weather and various personalities. He was a pleasure to interact with from start to finish.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thea
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Forbes photography was amazing! One of the best choices we made for our wedding was having Forbes. We wanted candid shots, and photos to capture the mood, emotions and the entire day and Forbes did just that. We can look through our amazing photo album and relive each and every moment - its like watching a video. You don't need a videographer with Forbes.

From a brides perspective - I never even knew Tim was there - he was descrete, professional and amazing. I look at the photos and can't beleive he took as many, and captured such amazing shots and I didn't even know he was there! Friends of mine have said that my photos are the best wedding photos they have ever seen! Our wedding was such a special time and having the best possible photographer capture it for us was so important - we are so thankful to Forbes for making the most important day in our lives last forever.

I would highly recommend Forbes photography - he is a photo journalist genius!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
7/9/2011
4.6/5.0
My husband and I decided to hire Tim Forbes to be the photographer at our wedding. We also lived on the other side of Canada and had to get in touch with our vendors mostly via e-mail and telephone which can sometimes be a problem given the circumstances. Firstly, we LOVED the photos and style of photography that Tim offers...no "posy" shots which is great and really captured the moments of your special day. Tim was very flexible in terms of getting back to us right away when we had questions and made it easy since most of our questions and answers were over e-mail which was great. On the day of, Tim and his assistant made everyone feel relaxed, told us not to worry about anything and took the most amazing photos of our wedding. So much so, we can not choose a favorite. Despite the price being a little bit more than the usual...you get what you pay for and provides lots of different options and packages (A la carte so to speak). I would recommend Tim to all friends, family and to any bride and groom who are looking for modern, photo-journalistic style photography. Simply put...AWESOME! Thanks Tim!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
If you want to be sure that you'll get great pictures of your wedding day, hire Tim Forbes!!
Before the wedding, Tim was very responsive to any questions I had. At the wedding, you barely noticed he was there. After the wedding, the photos were available very quickly.
I'm so happy with the service (and photos) I received from Forbes Photography and would highly recommend him to anyone. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Tim Forbes was great to work with for our wedding. His work is amazing and speaks for itself. Everone comments on what great wedding and engagement pictures we have. He was flexiable with picking dates and times to meet and always responded to emails within a few hours or less. I would highly recommend Tim to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.7/5.0
Forbes is a great photographer. I was absolutely pleased with the product he provided. He's easy to work with and very professional. I am very happy that I chose him to photograph my wedding
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A.
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
We would highly recommend Tim as a photographer for any occasion. We had him take our wedding pictures. He has a talent of being able to capture personal moments without being invasive. The pictures turn out really beautiful. It is nice not to have lots of pictures without everyone having a “say cheese” smile on their faces. His ability to capture genuine moments is amazing. Everyone should remember unlike food and dresses which last for one day, pictures last FOREVER so make sure you hire someone like Tim because you’ll actually want to look at them for the years to come.
The Willsons
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ali
Wedding:
6/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Tim is second to none. My husband and I decided on a small, intimate wedding, but we were sure that we wanted live music and an excellent photographer. Tim delivered. (Well, with the photographer part. I don't know anything about his musical skills. :) Many of our family and friends told us that wedding photos were the best they'd ever seen. The guests also commented on how quietly and unobtrusively Tim worked - people barely noticed he was there. And the final results were breathtaking. Thanks Tim!!! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa & Kevin
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Tim was an excellent photographer, he was patient, fun to be around and overall captured everything we asked for and more! We could not have asked for a better photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.9/5.0
Tim was friendly and professional on our wedding day and through out all of our dealings. I felt comfortable with him and did not worry one bit about whether he was capturing all of the important moments of the day. He produced gorgeous, artistic images, and lots of them!! We are so glad we chose him as our wedding photographer- this guy knows his stuff!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
daniellekoopman
Wedding:
3/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Loved all my photos! Really captured the day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aaron
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.6/5.0
Beautiful candid photographs that capture the moment perfectly.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
macross
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
We found Tim was excellent to work with on all points. His professionalism and photography style was perfect for our wedding. All our guests including us loved the pictures, really capturing what the day was about .... lots of love!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bobbi-Jo
Wedding:
7/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Tim was an amazing guy! He is funny, easy to get along with and there for me. He focused on me as the bride and I liked that!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Seb
Wedding:
2/23/2008
5.0/5.0
Tim is a professional photographer, you don't realize he is around, he takes pictures and the following day you see the pictures of your wedding. Our pictures were simply amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
I honestly can't say enough good things about my pictures. The pictures that Tim took capture the true feelings of the day. He was unobtrusive and let the true moments be captured, not your regular pose and smile. He got real shots that showed the real emotions, smiles, tears, memories and happiness of my wedding day. The pictures bring me back to that day and those memories. I couldn't be happier with the pictures. I highly recommend Forbes Creative.

I wish I could get married all over again just to see more of Tim's amazing pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
I rarely review services/items/hotels/whatever with full five stars since I'm usually pretty good at finding faults, but Tim Forbes' performance as my wedding photographer was absolutely perfect.

Of course, the most important thing about a wedding photographer is the quality of work. Tim Forbes has rare photojournalistic talent (as opposed to the typical bland, staged, cliched, and unmemorable wedding photos), and he has a fantastic eye for situations, emotions, interactions, and subtlety. As a discriminating photography enthusiast, I can say that Tim Forbes is one of the best photographers I've ever met.

Everything else -- value, flexibility, professionalism, etc. -- were fine. I have no complaints whatsoever. There was an issue with receiving the photos after the wedding (entirely the post office's fault), and Tim fixed the problem swiftly.

I enthusiastically recommend this photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.9/5.0
Tim was fantastic! He truly treated our wedding as if he had known us forever. Many of my guests commented on how well he captured our presonalities in his pictures, which was something that was really important to us. I would highly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Haven
Wedding:
9/1/2007
5.0/5.0
Tim did a great job and was very personable and made us feel comfortable and relaxed. We first did our engagement photos with him and they turned out great. He let us relax and have fun and took great shots. Our wedding photos turned out wonderfully and everyone has commented about what a great photographer we had. He did a great job at capturing meaningful moments, and I never even saw him during the wedding! He took great shots with the lighting and just really captured the beauty of the day. He was also very responsive to our needs. He takes a lot of pride in his work, and I would recommend him to anyone with confidence.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krixster
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.9/5.0
I really just can't even say enough good things about Tim and his work. Every time I look at our wedding pictures I am still amazed at how beautiful they are and I don't even know how he got some of the shots because he was so unobtrusive.

He was also very easy to work with and a really nice guy... which is really important if (like me) you aren't that comfortable with having a camera in your face all day.

He truly captured all of the excitement and emotions of our wedding day and I will be forever grateful to him for the excellent work that he did. Thanks to his wonderful pictures, our wedding memories will last a lifetime!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reagan
Wedding:
5/26/2007
4.8/5.0
Most wonderful photographer ever - fun, talented, and affordable. Amazing value for the product, as well. Pictures are perfect - a good mix of traditional and photojournalistic. In terms of photographers in Kingston & area, I wouldn't even think of hiring someone else. Tim is a master, an artist, and will help your day be even better than you'd imagine.
He certainly did for us!

Step out of the Taylor Studies/etc 'box' and get the best photos available in Ktown. No question.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steacy
Wedding:
9/2/2006
5.0/5.0
Tim has a friendly, casual yet very professional personality which made us feel very comfortable booking his services for our big day. He offered advice when asked but also listened carefully to what we wanted and worked hard to capture the kind of photos we were looking for. After our wedding when we received the photos from Tim we were blown away by not only the quality and beauty of the shots but also by how many intimate, meaningful moments he had managed to capture without us knowing it. There were moments I remembered about our day which, at the time, did not involve a camera but somehow Tim was there! His photos hold as much emotion as they do colour, quality, and beauty. I would highly recommend Tim Forbes to any bride looking for exceptional photography and photojournalism to capture one of the most important days of their lives.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
118 Colborne Street, Kingston, ON K7K 1C9 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Forbes Photographer
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo