130x130 sq 1413761689858 laura2012009

Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams

Wakefield , RI

LOCATION

50 High Street
Wakefield, RI 02879 US (map)

PHONE

401-212-6111

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Formal Hair and Makeup Design is a highly experienced professional team of hair and makeup artists.

Lynda has over 20 years involved in the Beauty Industry and currently... Read more
Formal Hair and Makeup Design is a highly experienced professional team of hair and makeup artists.

Lynda has over 20 years involved in the Beauty Industry and currently offers on location and in salon wedding services.

We speacialize in a clean, flawless and natural makeup application accentuating your best features. We offer traditional makeup application or Temptu Pro Airbrush Makeup. For our guests, makeup application is built for durability and longevity as we know you've got a long day ahead of you.

We are dedicated to the art of bridal hair design as well as editorial and engagement photo shoots. You start your wedding day with us... stress free and picture perfect. We travel to where you are getting ready to prepare you for one of the most spectacular occasions of your life. We love to offer temporary or tape in hair extensions and hair padding to enhance your natural hair for volume or length.

Please take a moment and visit our website to view our portfolio.

We look forward to making your day PERFECT!

Wedding Wire's Bride's Choice award recipient for 2010, 2011,2012, 2013, 2014. Best of The Knot, 2011, 2013.

We offer seasonal discounts for Winter weddings from December 1 through April 1.***Blackout dates... any Holidays.
Serving all of Rhode Island, Eastern Connecticut, and South Eastern Massachusetts or any destination wedding. Licensed and insured.

Booking now for 2015-2016. Don't wait until we are booked! Secure your date now, call or email us to check availability. Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1358182397736 laura2012012
130x130 sq 1358182229413 laura2012009
130x130 sq 1358182557546 sadowsky1109183998
130x130 sq 1358182072876 copyofmollyjohn198small
130x130 sq 1358184915484 sarahcrussana
130x130 sq 1358182162936 means0260
130x130 sq 1358185078017 carrie7660710151179013852804309555027n
130x130 sq 1358185445003 kellyo1
130x130 sq 1358182487390 rachelp417549101510105803669321023618432n
130x130 sq 1401968280402 whitney2
130x130 sq 1401968312541 whitney6
130x130 sq 1401968334261 whitney4
130x130 sq 1401968352366 whitney7
130x130 sq 1288927563494 042copy
130x130 sq 1288928060228 image325
130x130 sq 1288927344947 image040
130x130 sq 1288927420775 jessicapropics004
130x130 sq 1288927709603 nancypro4
130x130 sq 1288927999337 image027
130x130 sq 1401968683547 carrie1
130x130 sq 1401968869299 0070
130x130 sq 1401968880595 0244
130x130 sq 1401968961709 0674
130x130 sq 1351942437141 sarahgreen237490433455294989358511118476556373916421461175697806n
130x130 sq 1350604361103 erica5248633814216670284926566723n
130x130 sq 1350604666584 gracielou039
130x130 sq 1351942552295 07tarajoshzenobiastudios.com
130x130 sq 1401968770263 carrie2
130x130 sq 1351942526101 06tarajoshzenobiastudios.com
130x130 sq 1358181242441 bristolriweddingnewportlindenplace
130x130 sq 1358180963059 bquirk2740
130x130 sq 1358181207333 img0533crop
130x130 sq 1358180653818 0053
130x130 sq 1358180879081 20120810031
130x130 sq 1358180912364 bquirk2543
130x130 sq 1358181025743 i0042
130x130 sq 1358181159366 img0241
130x130 sq 1351943729368 kendra25103510151240157445090251420308n
130x130 sq 1351944201300 saj4543
130x130 sq 1351943935704 suz7safeimage.php
130x130 sq 1351943204534 391217101503847483967487776219674784196651439715009n
130x130 sq 1351943989626 vandahm0411
130x130 sq 1351943693561 katharynstarr4
130x130 sq 1351943432777 guestsoldanoarmormartel01882low
130x130 sq 1351943267617 carrie7660710151179013852804309555027n
130x130 sq 1351943133344 0674
130x130 sq 1351943052558 cidnewportc409fd19a1e2420d9a89459f47e60d5b
130x130 sq 1351943528487 dsc3989
130x130 sq 1351943887070 light5233044134720639878282209415n
130x130 sq 1351943583445 i0246
130x130 sq 1351943634943 jessieswedding018
130x130 sq 1351943776946 mattmarisawedding101
130x130 sq 1351943837609 melissajakejune20100336
130x130 sq 1351944368033 shiri3094799336626554011676708220n
130x130 sq 1315750416232 image386
130x130 sq 1267158887563 bridalphotoshoot046
130x130 sq 1315750085982 nancypro1
130x130 sq 1277896370872 bridalphotoshoot097
130x130 sq 1286592560502 jessicapropics012
130x130 sq 1251225313796 trialandannieswedding006
130x130 sq 1286592555893 jessicapropics006
130x130 sq 1267158747141 bridalphotoshoot022
130x130 sq 1260245436842 susansancombalyssa069
130x130 sq 1315749393185 lynda1259
130x130 sq 1260245641582 susansancombalyssa057
130x130 sq 1260245698900 susansancombalyssa061
130x130 sq 1315749117966 smellingbouquet
130x130 sq 1260244873035 snapbethleanneandkate073
130x130 sq 1278780981230 melissajakejune20100336
130x130 sq 1315749547794 karinpropics
130x130 sq 1286939738271 image325
130x130 sq 1315749888779 329
130x130 sq 1288927069494 084copy
130x130 sq 1251251937760 annieandsarah
130x130 sq 1267159142250 bridalphotoshoot076
130x130 sq 1315750313685 dsc3491
130x130 sq 1277896391419 jesicalakewayswedding004

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Hair, Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes
Do you charge for trials?
Yes. It is crucial to have a trial so we can get to know each other and decide if we are a good fit. Also a great time to explore different options for you. Finding the perfect look and style for your day will help you sleep better at night. Trust me.
Do you specialize in textured hair?
Yes, I am trained in all hair textures from fine to curly!
Do you provide any specialty services? (airbrushing, hair extensions, etc.)
Yes, I offer permanent or temporary Hair extensions and hair padding to add volume, length and bulk to natural hair. No one knows but you, and what a huge difference this makes! WOW!
Do you travel to the client on the day of the event? If yes, is there a fee?
I am an on location company only. I travel to where ever the wedding party is preparing the bridal party for the big day. Yes, I do charge for travel to some areas. The fee is based on how far away I have to travel, and the time of the year.
How many customers can you serve at one time if the bride were to book her entire bridal party? Are there discounts for doing so?
We can handle any size wedding party. No party is too small or large. We have no minimum requirement.
How far in advance should clients book your services?
As soon as possible. If you wait too long, your date may be taken. I would say 1 year in advance is a good choice. I book up quickly!
What is your cancellation policy?
My policy is a six month notice with a returned deposit .

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kylah
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Lynda and her crew were absolutely wonderful. She was so accommodating and everyone looked gorgeous!! I would recommend her to all future brides!
Lynda and her crew were absolutely wonderful. She was so accommodating and everyone looked gorgeous!! I would recommend Read more...
Lynda and her crew were absolutely wonderful. She was so accommodating and everyone looked gorgeous!! I would recommend her to all future brides! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Jen
Wedding:
9/28/2014
5.0/5.0
I found Lynda on a wedding website, she had very good reviews. Although she is an hour away from my house, she was minutes from my venue. She worked the 6 months before my wedding repairing what my other stylist did to me! lol It wasn't pretty. It was quite the process, but each time I left her salon I felt great!
By the time the wedding rolled around and I woke up that morning, I looked in the mirror and said, "Ugh! Good luck working with THIS, Lynda!!" Well, when she was finished and put that mirror in front of my face, I was shocked. I could not believe how BEAUTIFUL I looked!!! I really couldn't. The makeup was perfect, natural, with a touch of drama. My hair was gorgeous. It was THE look I had dreamed of. No exaggeration. My bridal party looked amazing, too! Everyone was happy. And people used the word "stunning" quite a bit that day. :) I take no credit for that. lol
It's every bride's dream to walk down the aisle feeling beautiful and confident. This was my gift from Lynda.
I found Lynda on a wedding website, she had very good reviews. Although she is an hour away from my house, she was minutes Read more...
I found Lynda on a wedding website, she had very good reviews. Although she is an hour away from my house, she was minutes from my venue. She worked the 6 months before my wedding repairing what my other stylist did to me! lol It wasn't pretty. It was quite the process, but each time I left her salon I felt great!
By the time the wedding rolled around and I woke up that morning, I looked in the mirror and said, "Ugh! Good luck working with THIS, Lynda!!" Well, when she was finished and put that mirror in front of my face, I was shocked. I could not believe how BEAUTIFUL I looked!!! I really couldn't. The makeup was perfect, natural, with a touch of drama. My hair was gorgeous. It was THE look I had dreamed of. No exaggeration. My bridal party looked amazing, too! Everyone was happy. And people used the word "stunning" quite a bit that day. :) I take no credit for that. lol
It's every bride's dream to walk down the aisle feeling beautiful and confident. This was my gift from Lynda. Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Jen,

You have been such a gift to me! I love that you felt so beautiful on your wedding day! That was my ultimate goal for you! I'm so thankful you reached out to me long ago. I also hope we remain friends and I still get to make you feel beautiful every 8 weeks! It was such a pleasure to work with you to create your perfect bridal look! All my best to you and Charlie! Xoxo
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lynda was lovely! She was professional, kind and really listened to me (being one that does not wear a ton of makeup). I would HIGHLY recommend her services - can't be beat in RI!
Lynda was lovely! She was professional, kind and really listened to me (being one that does not wear a ton of makeup). I Read more...
Lynda was lovely! She was professional, kind and really listened to me (being one that does not wear a ton of makeup). I would HIGHLY recommend her services - can't be beat in RI! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Dana
Wedding:
9/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Lynda. I did a hair trial with her for my wedding and she did an amazing job. She made me feel very comfortable and relaxed because I could tell she knew what she was doing and because she has a lot of experience. Lynda did everyone's hair for my sister's wedding a few years ago and after receiving numerous compliments on how good everyone's hair looked I knew I had a to hire Lynda for my wedding too. Lynda and her assistant were on time and professional. I cannot thank Lynda enough for making me and my bridal party look and feel great on my wedding day.
I highly recommend Lynda. I did a hair trial with her for my wedding and she did an amazing job. She made me feel very Read more...
I highly recommend Lynda. I did a hair trial with her for my wedding and she did an amazing job. She made me feel very comfortable and relaxed because I could tell she knew what she was doing and because she has a lot of experience. Lynda did everyone's hair for my sister's wedding a few years ago and after receiving numerous compliments on how good everyone's hair looked I knew I had a to hire Lynda for my wedding too. Lynda and her assistant were on time and professional. I cannot thank Lynda enough for making me and my bridal party look and feel great on my wedding day. Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Dana! I'm beyond thrilled that you all felt beautiful! What a treat to have been a part of your wedding day! Your so beautiful! I love your family! I'd love some pictures when you get some back. Much love to you both! Xo
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I am beyond thrilled that I had Lynda Williams for my wedding day. She is AMAZING! I had Lynda and her team do myself, my bridesmaids, and mothers hair and makeup. Everyone looked so beautiful and natural. The hair was flawless and lasted all night. The makeup looked so natural and beautiful, no one looked "over done". The makeup lasted all night, pictures look awesome! I loved everything about my hair and makeup. It was exactly what I wanted and I couldn't be happier. Her and her team bring a relaxing vibe, which was perfect for the day of the wedding with all the craziness going on around you. I HIGHLY recommend Lynda Williams for any event you may have. She is the best and you will not get the same quality of work with someone else.
I am beyond thrilled that I had Lynda Williams for my wedding day. She is AMAZING! I had Lynda and her team do myself, my Read more...
I am beyond thrilled that I had Lynda Williams for my wedding day. She is AMAZING! I had Lynda and her team do myself, my bridesmaids, and mothers hair and makeup. Everyone looked so beautiful and natural. The hair was flawless and lasted all night. The makeup looked so natural and beautiful, no one looked "over done". The makeup lasted all night, pictures look awesome! I loved everything about my hair and makeup. It was exactly what I wanted and I couldn't be happier. Her and her team bring a relaxing vibe, which was perfect for the day of the wedding with all the craziness going on around you. I HIGHLY recommend Lynda Williams for any event you may have. She is the best and you will not get the same quality of work with someone else. Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Thank you Sarah! It was our pleasure to spend your wedding morning with you all! Can't wait for some pictures! Wishing you love and happiness together always! Xo
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lynda was fantastic to work with for my wedding on Block Island. She was extremely responsive throughout the planning process and made sure that everyone was happy with all hair & make-up on the wedding day! I would highly recommend her services!
Lynda was fantastic to work with for my wedding on Block Island. She was extremely responsive throughout the planning Read more...
Lynda was fantastic to work with for my wedding on Block Island. She was extremely responsive throughout the planning process and made sure that everyone was happy with all hair & make-up on the wedding day! I would highly recommend her services! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Thank you Christine! You were a pleasure to work with! Xo
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Really lovely experience working with Lynda of Formal Hair Design. She is just the calming presence you need on your wedding day. She will work with you to create your hairstyle and is especially attentive towards other important wedding party members - moms, etc. Would highly recommend!
Really lovely experience working with Lynda of Formal Hair Design. She is just the calming presence you need on your Read more...
Really lovely experience working with Lynda of Formal Hair Design. She is just the calming presence you need on your wedding day. She will work with you to create your hairstyle and is especially attentive towards other important wedding party members - moms, etc. Would highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Whitney
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Lynda is amazing! I was so happy with with everything she did! She did my hair and makeup and also my maid of honors. Shes very versatile, natural look (what I wanted) and dramatic (what my maid of honor wanted) both came out beautifully and exactly what we both wanted! I felt very comfortable with her and that's very important when choosing someone for your big day, given how stressful the day is. She has a new salon in Wakefield and I loved her work so much I wish I lived there so I could go to her! She's so nice and talented! I can't say enough about her! I know It sounds like gushing and I am! I truly enjoyed and appreciated her being apart of my big day!
Lynda is amazing! I was so happy with with everything she did! She did my hair and makeup and also my maid of honors. Shes Read more...
Lynda is amazing! I was so happy with with everything she did! She did my hair and makeup and also my maid of honors. Shes very versatile, natural look (what I wanted) and dramatic (what my maid of honor wanted) both came out beautifully and exactly what we both wanted! I felt very comfortable with her and that's very important when choosing someone for your big day, given how stressful the day is. She has a new salon in Wakefield and I loved her work so much I wish I lived there so I could go to her! She's so nice and talented! I can't say enough about her! I know It sounds like gushing and I am! I truly enjoyed and appreciated her being apart of my big day! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Thank you Whitney! You were a complete pleasure to work with! I had an amazing day with you your friends and your dog! You looked so gorgeous in that dress! I loved you bridal style, it was perfect for you! I hope you stop in and say hello when you come to visit RI! Thank you! Xo
130x130 sq 1375232221610 img950256
Ashley
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Lynda and her assistants were punctual and efficient! They did an amazing job and met us at our hotel suite! I also did a trial with lynda during which she changed my hair when I was done so i could use the makeup and different hairstyle for my engagement photos! She responded very quickly to any questions I had and was very nice and friendly! She is doing my cousin-in laws wedding too and I can't wait to have her make me look amazing again! Highly recommend!
Lynda and her assistants were punctual and efficient! They did an amazing job and met us at our hotel suite! I also did a Read more...
Lynda and her assistants were punctual and efficient! They did an amazing job and met us at our hotel suite! I also did a trial with lynda during which she changed my hair when I was done so i could use the makeup and different hairstyle for my engagement photos! She responded very quickly to any questions I had and was very nice and friendly! She is doing my cousin-in laws wedding too and I can't wait to have her make me look amazing again! Highly recommend! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Preeti
Wedding:
4/18/2014
5.0/5.0
To start off I have to say Lynda is a very sweet and warm person. She made feel comfortable both before and on the wedding day. She is good company to have in your stressful moment. :) Getting ready for an Indian wedding can feel like you;re in the middle of a circus and that's when you need someone like Lynda to do your makeup.
Lynda is the best artist I could get! I knew I was going to be her first Indian bride, but I saw her work on her website and knew right away that I found the perfect artist. The trial was pleasant and helped us get familiar, to understand what I want and what Lynda had to offer. Its been four months and people are still telling me how beautiful my hair and make up was and how beautiful I looked. I like natural/neutral makeup and Lynda did the perfect job of making it look natural, yet glamorous and elegant all at the same time. I had my hair/makeup on for almost 10 hours and still looked fresh at the end of the day. I looked transformed yet just like myself.
I highly recommend Lynda for your special day! She is sweet, talented, professional, and very intuitive when it comes to your own unique style. :) 5 gold stars!
To start off I have to say Lynda is a very sweet and warm person. She made feel comfortable both before and on the wedding Read more...
To start off I have to say Lynda is a very sweet and warm person. She made feel comfortable both before and on the wedding day. She is good company to have in your stressful moment. :) Getting ready for an Indian wedding can feel like you;re in the middle of a circus and that's when you need someone like Lynda to do your makeup.
Lynda is the best artist I could get! I knew I was going to be her first Indian bride, but I saw her work on her website and knew right away that I found the perfect artist. The trial was pleasant and helped us get familiar, to understand what I want and what Lynda had to offer. Its been four months and people are still telling me how beautiful my hair and make up was and how beautiful I looked. I like natural/neutral makeup and Lynda did the perfect job of making it look natural, yet glamorous and elegant all at the same time. I had my hair/makeup on for almost 10 hours and still looked fresh at the end of the day. I looked transformed yet just like myself.
I highly recommend Lynda for your special day! She is sweet, talented, professional, and very intuitive when it comes to your own unique style. :) 5 gold stars! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams responded with the following comments:

Pretti I, you are so sweet to write this wonderful review for me! Thank you so much! I'm so pleased you were happy and felt beautiful on your wedding day!
Your Indian wedding was such an amazing day for me to spend with you and your beautiful family. Your Moms Chai tea was sooo delish! Tell her thank you for making me feel like part of your family for that day. I'm so grateful to have had you as one of my most unforgettable brides! Much love! X

DEALS

Bridal Savings Off Season
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $100 Value
If you book us in the months of November 1 through April 1, you will receive 10 % off your services. Must mention this Ad.

Offer Expires: 04/01/2015

Available to the first couple
Deal #WWfdc3adfebe946b88
220x220 1413761689858 laura2012009

MAP

 
50 High Street, Wakefield, RI 02879 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Formal Hair and Makeup Design by Lynda Williams
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1413761689858 laura2012009