130x130_sq_1370019618689-belvoir

Fort Belvoir Officers Club

Fort Belvoir , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Fort Belvoir, VA US 22060 (map)

PHONE

703-780-0930

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Built in 1935 on a majestic cliff over the Potomac River, the Officers' Club represents a proud military heritage at Fort Belvoir. Designed in the first true American architectural... Read more
Built in 1935 on a majestic cliff over the Potomac River, the Officers' Club represents a proud military heritage at Fort Belvoir. Designed in the first true American architectural style, the Georgian Colonial Revival Style, the Officers' Club elegantly showcases brick facades, strict symmetry, and pedimented central pavilions. As a popular wedding venue, the Fort Belvoir Officers' Club is nestled in a quiet neighborhood and picturesque park-like setting.

Over the past 75 years, the Fort Belvoir Officers' Club has been visited by many Presidents, Cabinet Officers, Senators, Congressmen, and Foreign Diplomats. Consider joining the ranks of this proud tradition and apply for Membership at Fort Belvoir today!

Unique Venue Rich with Beauty & History

With eleven rooms ranging in capacity from 20 people to 1,000 people, the Fort Belvoir Officers’ Club is a welcoming and efficient host to countless small seminars, luncheons, large dinner parties, and cocktail buffets. Recognized for its achievements, the Officers’ Club has won many prestigious awards including the James A. Carroll Jr. Award for Excellence in Club Management as well as the Army Communities of Excellence Program Award. As a wedding venue, the Officers’ Club has been showcased in Premier Bride Magazine as well as The Knot Best of Weddings Vendor Review.

Amazing Staff

Ultimately true of all award-winning facilities: it’s the people, not the place that make the Fort Belvoir Officers’ Club great. Trained around the world, over 75 staff members offer their talents to serve in the Membership Desk, the Catering Office, the Maintenance Team, the Kitchen Crew, and Administration Office. This knowledgeable team takes pride in the utmost attention to details and a sincere desire to make your experience at the Officers’ Club a complete success.

Create the Perfect Event

Consider hosting your next function at this extraordinary venue. Every visit to the Fort Belvoir Officers’ Club is where delicious food, fascinating history, and unique spaces meet. Connect online by “liking” the DFMWR Facebook page or call the Membership Desk at (703) 780-0930 to learn about upcoming special events open to Members and Non-Members.

Save 10% on your Next Event

If you book your Wedding reception on Friday night or Saturday morning; you can save 10%!

Call the Events Staff at 703-780-0930 ext. 609 or ext. 610 or email us xenia.chapman@us.army.mil Read less
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We signed a contract several months before the ceremony / reception and found Trinetta and the catering staff very professional, helpful in answering any questions and willing to assist us or offer advice whenever necessary. The ceremony and reception were in the Belvoir Room and the appetizer hour in the Castle Room. We were delighted with the room set-up and that our input was followed, the delicious food (entrees and sides were chosen at an earlier food-tasting) and the excellent service
the day of. The staff went beyond what we expected in making us and our guests feel 'at home' and well cared for with excellent service and many extra touches. Of course, the location on and the daytime view of the Potomac River added a special touch to the occasion. Altogether, Fort Belvoir Officers' Club provided us with a beautiful, tasty and efficient but very personal day to celebrate our daughter's wedding. We and our guests were delighted with every aspect of the day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We held our ceremony at the the Officer's Club gazebo and it was perfect. Our reception was held in the Valley Forge room in the Officer's Club. The staff at the club were very professional, responsive, and organized. The service during the reception was fantastic. Ms. Chapman was very helpful in the planning process and seemed to make it her personal goal to make sure everything was perfect. Overall the venue was a great value!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The team at the O Club helped us pull off a beautiful event, with good service, good food and all the special extras we had discussed. The only thing I would recommend to other brides is to make sure they get all the information they need up front -- the list of partner vendors (the ones who are included in the packages), the latest description of the packages, and an explanation of which requests will be free and which will cost extra.

Note that the club's definition of "standard bar" is well drinks -- if you want name brands, you have to upgrade to a more expensive package or pay a premium, which we opted not to do. It wasn't a problem since most people drank wine or beer anyway. Also, if you want a menu tasting, you will have to pay for it, even after you have signed a contract. Otherwise, the staff was pretty flexible about including some options in our package -- we were able to negotiate some extras and decide whether we wanted to pay extra for others.

I very much appreciated that they set up the riverside terrace at the Potomac Room with high-top bar tables along with the standard low tables at no extra charge -- the guests really enjoyed hanging out on the terrace during cocktail hour. Overall we're very happy with our choice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
The view from the club is stunning. The staff is very accommodating and will go above and beyond to help create your vision. I would definitely recommend having your wedding reception here.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1324858190938-img0809
Stacy
Wedding:
6/1/2013
3.9/5.0
The officers' club is a very beautiful location and that is why we picked them for our reception. The packages are a good deal because they include open bar and it is one of the best values I found in Northern Virginia. That being said, I had several problems with the officers' club. They never contacted us about anything. We had to initiate any and all conversations. This includes payments, food selection, floor plan, everything. They do not care and will not contact you for anything, you must contact them. The worst thing the officers' club did though that I cannot look past is that they sent our DJ to the wrong room! They sent our wedding planners and parents into a panic because our DJ was not at the reception for cocktail hour. We thought he didn't show up. It turned out that the Officers' Club told him to set up in the wrong room. That is absolutely unacceptable. This venue is pretty, but I'm not sure that I'd recommend it to anyone after the service I received.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I hosted a rehearsal dinner at the club. It was wonderful. The staff were wonderfully helpful during the planning process with the nervous mother of the groom, the room was beautifully prepared and the staff on the evening of the dinner were absolutely the best! Thank you
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Col. and Mrs. Slick
Wedding:
4/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter was married at the gazebo outside of the Officers Club and it was picture perfect. Edwin and his staff did everything they had promised! The gazebo was beautiful, the chairs were set up, the table for the blessing of the wine and the signing of the ketubah was exactly as I had asked. My husband and I had gotten there earlier than planned just in case but it was all done before 9AM!!! The food was delicious and the staff at the club went over and above in making us feel warm and welcome. Kudos go out to anyone and everyone involved!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The staff was wonderful! So helpful and had great ideas! They helped my mom and I plan out the reception and gave lots of helpful suggestions. Everyone raved about the food and the view (Belvoir Room). Service was great! I have absolutely no complaints! So happy we had our wedding here!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony at the gazebo, followed by the reception inside the Officers Club. All of the staff, particularly Trinetta, made everything so easy. They were extremely responsive, and offered many suggestions of ways to make both events all that more special. Everything went smoothly on our wedding day, and we couldn't have asked for better service.

The location cannot be beat. The views are gorgeous, and our guests really enjoyed their cocktails out on the patio overlooking the river. We also received many compliments on the variety and quality of the food. Overall, the club is a great value, and I would highly recommend it to future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1344195666899-wwimg2049
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We had a lovely event and Trinetta and Edwin were very responsive, particularly close to our wedding date. The staff were excellent during the event as well, the bartender and servers. There is no doubt regarding the value of having a reception here: they do not charge tax and gratuities are included. The cake is also included. We were confused re: the cost of upgrading the bar, so be clear on the cost when comparing with another venue. If you are having an event in the Potomac Room, be aware that they are not able to do stations there - now have buffet lines built in.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.8/5.0
The venue is a great value, but the Catering Office was very slow in responding to any emails. There was a lot of miscommunication leading right up to the wedding and I was very frustrated when I was receiving calls asking questions about our reception the morning of our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittanie
Wedding:
12/29/2012
4.8/5.0
The Officers Club was a perfect venue for the wedding. The food was great, and they held a little example wedding for prospective brides before our wedding, so we could taste all the food and make our selections from experience. Trinetta was very easy to work with, and helped us make all sorts of flexible decisions about the wedding. She even gave us some things not included in the package to help the wedding day. The reason I gave one less star for responsiveness, was because two weeks before the wedding we could not get responses from anyone at the Club. When we did receive a response, it was from someone other than Trinetta who claimed we had not made catering selections, which we had done with Trinetta a month earlier. When Trinetta came back, everything was fine, but make sure you work with her and confirm everything along the way.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracey
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My review is for using the O-Club for a wedding reception. I have to say off the bat that the Club is only available to book for weddings if you're military (and there's specific requirements) or if you have a sponsor, so keep that in mind if you just happen to stumble on this review while looking for wedding venues in general.

There are some great pros to using the O-Club, namely the spectacular view, the wide assortment of food available to you and the price. It was also great that we were able to get a nice, bundled package. Of the cake vendors they worked with, we selected (and highly recommend) Sweet Peas. They had a wedding vendor night though, in which all their contracted vendors came and had samples available, etc, so I highly recommend going to that to get a better idea of what's available.

keep in mind that it is a military installation, so you risk your contact person being reassigned and being passed along to various other staff members in the process, as it was for us.

Overall, they really helped make our wedding day spectacular, so I can't complain!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue with very attentive staff. Trinetta was really fantastic to work with and was extremely flexible with all of my requests for last minute changes. I was thrilled with how my reception turned out, and received a lot of compliments on the venue from my guests. The Officer's Club provides a great value for the amount you pay - I highly recommend to future brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
10/13/2012
3.6/5.0
The location, view, inclusive services and vendors associated with Ft. Belvoir were excellent. I can't say enough about the venue and how gorgeous the setting is for a wedding or event.

To echo a previous reviewer, definitely stay in touch with the catering staff because it's not exactly clear cut what they need and when. I also agree with the previous reviewer about getting costs and commitments in writing - we had to go back and forth quite a bit to ensure the "extras" that were promised to us were inclusive in the contract.

Finally, I'm saddened to have a bad taste in my mouth. My mother-in-law left a beautiful pashmina and unfortunately our wedding favors never made it out. However, even though the next morning the room was cleared out - we were never able to obtain the misplaced items. When you're paying this much for an event, one would hope to get complete customer service.

However, that being said, the venue and catering staff was very flexible with us, our guest numbers, our menu choices and really ensured the overall event was a success. We enjoyed it very much and, again, it is a beautiful setting for a special event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was an outstanding event. Fort Belvoir Officer's Club has a scenic location and their staff is expert at decorating and catering. The food was outstanding; perfectly made and delicious. The waitstaff was very responsive to our requests. The gazebo setting for the ceremony was idyllic. My daughter and new son-in-law were very happy with their special day thanks to Fort Belvoir. They even found a laptop cord that was left behind and it was returned to us. I would highy recommend this vendor to anyone.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanya
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
The Fort Belvior Officer's Club is the perfect venue for a wedding. Not only does it sit right off the Potomac River providing a goreous view. It also provides great pictures.

Trinetta and the staff were wonderful to work with and they provide a sheet with local vendors they usually work with. Everyone was so helpful.

The food was great and the everything went off without a glitch.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grateful2012
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about this venue. The catering staff were amazing to work with. Trinetta and Edwin executed things perfectly. Being a planner I know how difficult brides can be. They can be mean and hateful to you and you can't say anything back. So I want to commend them, because I know I was difficult and demanding and Trinetta was always pleasant and smiling. Edwin was polite and helpful as well. I just want to say thanks for all you hard work and dedication to a difficult bride.
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue
Bg11
Army_wife2012
Wedding:
1/14/2012
3.0/5.0
There were four amazing things about the Officers Club: the view, the food, the beauty of the room, and the staff that actually worked at our reception did a magnificant job-they made sure everyone's glass was full, they also kept the food filled on the buffett, they provided the cake cutting services we had asked for, and they set up the room with our handmade centerpieces and name cards perfectly.

The organizer we had that worked on our wedding contract was extremely hard to get ahold of and needed to be reminded multiple times of things that we had agreed on in the contract. It took forever to get her to e-mail me back until I sent a very firm and agitated e-mail in which I cc'd both of her bosses, because she had ignored several phone calls and e-mails. With Trinetta, you have to make sure you show her that you are not a push over and that you mean business. Make sure you get EVERYTHING you want in writing. And follow up with everything you want done. She had not told the staffers all of the things we had asked them to do during the reception, such as when we had planned on having presents/centerpieces gathered up and packed into my parents car. It was frustrating to have spent a lot of time doing this planning with Trinetta and making sure she understood everything that we wanted, and for her to essentially ignore some of the things we had asked for. She also was not at the event, which she had said she would be at. I don't know if something came up, but she had contact info for us on the big day, and it would have been nice to know she wasn't going to be there. Communication was seriously lacking with the catering staff that were in charge of organizing and being in charge of the event.

The menus were overpriced and their flexibility, or lack thereof, about a bar was ridiculous. It was either open bar, or no bar. While the food tasted great, and the club was probably the best priced we looked at in our search, it still felt like an arm and a leg. Tastings were outrageous; $25 per person and one entree/side per person.

Overall, I would have probably chosen the Officer's Club again because I loved the physical building. And if someone wanted to use the club, I would make sure they knew to stay on top of everything and constantly follow up with them on the details.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311087282667-bridepicture2
Pamela
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.5/5.0
I am so happy that I selected the Fort Belvoir Officer's Club for both my wedding and reception venue. The wedding was held outside at the Club's gazebo and was beautiful. The reception room had a balcony that overlooked the Potomac which everyone loved. We selected a "premium" package which covered the gazebo+chairs, cake, flower arrangements, linens, 2 option seated dinner and open bar. All of my guests commented on how delicious the food was, how fun the bar tender was and how they had no idea it would be such a pretty location! I looked at tons of websites and venue reviews before selecting the club as one of my top choices to make an appointment with and I am so glad that I did! I am sure that their inclusive package option was probably one of the best deals in the DC/MD/VA area for a wedding. Edwin was the coordinator that I worked with and he was always helpful and responsive. (In fact, everyone in the catering office was very helpful.) The only "negative" aspect was that the club coordinates a lot of events, so you have to take the initiative to make appointments or be on top of due dates for certain details. I would recommend this venue to anyone in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chrystal
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Ft. Belvoir Officers Club. The Ceremony and reception were in the Belvoir Room, which had a beautiful view of the potomac. The Ceremony and reception were absolutely amazing and would not have been possible without Trinetta, the lead organizer. She was very responsive to all questions and provided additional information for day of details. Great place for a wedding and great value!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
For anyone in a military family the O'Club at Ft. Belvoir is a stunning place for a wedding and/or reception, especially the Belvoir room which over looks the Potomac!!! Trinetta, chief of catering, and Tracey are exceptionally professional, helpful and knowledgeable about weddings!!!! Plus, they have a list of the best vendors {flowers,cake, photography} in the area. They know these vendors that they recommend. We used all of their suggestions; it was wonderful ! Trinetta makes planning a wedding as easy and stress free as possible; she's amazing, every detail from menus, to room set up, table decorations, to suggestions for any other vendors you may need, she knows. Both Trinetta and Tracey are so very helpful, always there to answer questions, calm nerves, make suggestions. They understand!!! The catering [serving] staff are the best ! They are quick, attentive, soooo nice, yet unobtrusive, very professional ! The reception packages offer many options, and the food is absolutely fantastic, all of our guests complimented the club, it's staff and the food all evening long!!! Thanks so very much!! Chris {mom of the bride}
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathalie
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.5/5.0
The officer's club is such a great venue. Everyone told us that our wedding was the most beautiful and fun wedding that they have been to. You really cant beat the floor to ceiling view of the potomac. Food was great as well. We had a sit down dinner with the chicken scallopini, oven roasted potatoes, and green beans. The bartender was super sweet and a really great bartender, she made drinks sooo fast. Would definitely recommend using the officers club for view, ambiance, and etc. You can really beat their all inclusive package either.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.6/5.0
Fantastic room and beautiful views. Trinetta was a fantastic coordinator. The day-of set up was great. The food was delicious. Trinetta made sure everything was taken care of and made sure the wedding party was taken care of. Only one complaint on one waiter, but Trinetta took care of it. She took care of everything we had to take home and made sure the vehicle was loaded and ready to go.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joycecubed
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.9/5.0
The Fort Belvoir Officer's Club has 3 beautiful ballrooms, for which we used the Belvoir Room. It was BY FAR the best value for service that I could find in the MD/DC area, after having visited 14 other wedding reception sites (including Baltimore, Frederick, Annapolis, the Eastern shore, DC, and cities in between). We definitely stayed on budget! Trinetta was an amazing day-of coordinator who helped make everything look gorgeous and put all the details into place. We used the Castle room for cocktails and rented their piano. Though we found out it needed tuning just 2 weeks before the wedding, it sounded great the day of after being serviced. For the reception, the chocolate fountain was a hit!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1248459375945-profilepic
Lindsey
Wedding:
5/22/2010
3.4/5.0
We had our reception in the Mt. Vernon room and the view of the Potomac River was amazing. The packages at the Officer's Club are a bit expensive and the added flowers aren't worth much of anything. We did a la carte and brought in our own flowers and cake. They do not charge a cake cutting fee if you bring in your own cake which is nice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1258258026628-avatar
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
You can't beat the view, that is what made us choose to have our wedding and reception here. We didn't even look anywhere else.

The food was pretty good but let me just advise you to document everything and keep it in a file. You will most likely need to confirm and reiterate details and it's good to have the documentation. You might also need to send second emails if the first goes unanswered for too long. I was disappointed that they decided to do renovations in our reception room about 2wks prior to our wedding. I understand that they need to be done at some point but right at the start of the wedding season? Come on! I felt like the room was incomplete and/or hastily finished. They were working on the air conditioning so the ceremony room was uncomfortably hot (I was sweating under my dress, I can't imagine how people in suits and long sleeves were) and the reception room was also stuffy. Again, probably not a good time to work on air conditioning unless it was working then broke suddenly (I don't know if it was).

I will say that I was getting really stressed and Trinetta brought me and my husband a glass of champagne, I thought that was nice. She also called the cake vendor and made them come back because the cake was tipping (I never saw it), it was nice of her to make them respond again. She was also pleasant and friendly in person and email.

Again, you can't beat the view but if you decide to have your function here, keep track of things and stay on top of it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My wedding was PERFECT- even when it wasn't! Trinetta and Tracy put up with my indecisiveness, my crazy family, and all the chaos that goes with a wedding, and neither one of them broke a sweat. They worked tirelessly to make my wedding day one for the books. My guests were so impressed with the location, the view, the food, the staff, the decor...I've had SO many compliments!! With my hubby in Afghanistan, I was planning a wedding with just me and my mom, and Trinetta and Tracy became like family.They were always anticipating my needs and were always thinking one step ahead of me!! I can't say enough good about these two incredibly talented and caring women! The O-Club gets an A+++++ from me and my family and guests!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
Trinetta was amazing! They really pulled through to make my wedding amazing! They did make a few small mistakes along the way but everyone raved about how beautiful everything was. The food was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1233189684187-200809170006
Chrissytina119
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.5/5.0
The Fort Belvoirs Officer's Club was overall a GREAT value for the money. The catering coordinator Trinetta was willing to work with us to change the menu last minute. She even gave us an upgraded room, full length table clothes and other extras without even asking. The food was not exactly the quality that we were expecting from the officer's club but it could have been that we chose poorly. Definetly go to the food menu tasting with some friends, order all diferent dishes and decide what you like before hand. We had the chicken florentine (pretty boring), asparagus (WAY overdone) and garlic whipped mashed potatoes (tasted like they were from a box).

The chapel coordinator, Jackie was hard to get a ahold of since she only works four hours a day (12 -4). Due to car trouble (yea right), the day before our wedding, she was fifteen minutes late to open up the chapel for our wedding rehearsal and we were left waiting in the cold for her. She did however go out to the gate to convince the guard to allow my 90 year old grandmother on base when she forgot her driver's license. She was very proffesional and all business when we were able to get ahold of her.

Overall a very positive experience! My wife and I would choose it again if we had to without thinking for a second.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1264714373882-untitled
Mary
Wedding:
11/21/2009
3.1/5.0
I honestly have always loved this place because of how beautiful the view is of the Potomac River. I never once in my life would think it would be this difficult to plan a wedding just because the staff WHO IS GETTING PAID FOR THIS would be so unhelpful. I literrally had to go to their office multiple times to get things done because I could NEVER get a hold of anyone at that place. I was truly unhappy about how much stress they caused me when it came to getting my things in order for the wedding reception. I loved the food and the champange was great but their staff is TERRIBLE. I honestly want people to read all these reviews before putting this place on their list of possibilities. Yes the view is totally worth it, but the stress from the unresponsiveness and rudeness of the staff isn't. My family has been going their for Sunday brunches almost every Sunday for as long as I know and still can't believe how hard it was to plan with them. I always dreamed about having my reception here and honestly...if I had to go back in time...I may have choosen another venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kassi
Wedding:
10/25/2009
3.7/5.0
Ft. Belvoir Officer's Club has one major thing going for it...the view. The people that work at Ft. Belvoir are not very friendly, and many things were said and taken back. Make sure you get every little detail in writing, and hold them to it. Many spelling errors in paperwork, just not professional looking. Over all worth it, but a lot of hassle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rahn
Wedding:
10/17/2009
3.4/5.0
The staff was friendly enough when you got them on the phone but the follow-up and attention to detail was lacking. The rooms are great and the views are terrific, but more focus is needed by the event staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The best venue, price, food and service for the area hands down. All I can say is call Trinetta - she is simply amazing! We did a heavy hor d'oeuvre reception. It was perfect because it was plenty of food for less money and kept the reception from being stuffy. Trinetta had such a great vision, listened to our ideas and ran with it. The room overlooked the Potomac River and during our cocktail hour our guests got a kick out of watching the deer in the forest and a bald eagle! There is no other place I would go to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kandb
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.3/5.0
The Fort Belvior Officer's Club is some beautiful! We looked at other places, but I just couldn't find anything to compare to the view and the Mount Vernon room. We received so many compliments. There were a few glitches (aren't there always), but Trinetta did help us out on our wedding day. Overall we could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding. If you are getting married in the Chapel on base, it is very difficult to get in touch with the wedding coordinator as she has very restrictive hours. I suggest you call frequently and double (and triple check) the time and duration of the rehearsal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EilersA
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.9/5.0
The officers' club was great!!! The food was really really good and the new "white glove" service was amazing! One of the wait staff made a plate for my husband and I during the cocktail hour so that we were able to eat! We also ended up having the ceremony at the gazabo outside the officers' club since the chapel's AC broke the week of my wedding, they worked with us and re-assured me that everything would be fine (I was about to loose it when I found out about the chapel)! I can't say enough good things about this Venue, the view of the Potomac made for amazing pictures and during our first dance a bald eagal flew accross the window. It was truely a magical wedding and was better than I ever thought it could be. I was told that something would go wrong the day of the wedding but with the staff of the O club's help, nothing at all was wrong or went wrong, it was amazing!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
6/13/2009
1.8/5.0
The Fort Belvoir Officer's Club has the most fantastic view of the Potomac River, and perhaps this in the end became the only saving grace of the club. Our wedding in the end was beutififul. However, the months leading up to the wedding were fraught with headaches.

The old add age "you get what you pay for" definitely rings true when dealing with the Officer's Club. The club itself is a bit outdated, the staff is comfortable providing the minimum they can get away with, and the manager was very difficult to work with. I think the club forgets that they are dealing with customers who are members of the military. These customers have made sacrifices to serve their country and therefore on their wedding day those who chose the path of service should be treated with respect befitting those who keep the rest of us safe.

Some highlights of the the difficulties we faced included the following:

- Our deposit money was never ran through the credit machine, however, this was not discovered by the staff until two weeks before the wedding
- The literature the club provides is riddled with typos, which for a club trying to set themselves as a "premier" vendor reflects poorly on their attention to detail
- the club wanted to serve drinks in plastic cups during the cocktail hour, to which we spent a long time haggling with them to get them to use glass
- We had to go through three different wedding coordinators at the club to get this wedding off the ground. The first, basically was not interested in helping us personalize our wedding and basically told us how he wanted things set up. The second was actually the club manager and she was big on making all kinds of promises but not following through on anything. Finally, the third lady was the only one interested in really meeting our needs and working to get things done
- On several meetings that we had appointments the wedding banquet manager either showed up late, or told us WE had the wrong appointment time and then didn't meet with us at all and instead sent in her assistant
- The bar menu became a headache as there isn't anyone in the club that seems to understand alchohol, in fact it was a matter of pride for them to tell us they don't drink and therefore they don't care to educate themselves of the different brands hard liquor and vintors of wine
- Once the contract was signed, this vendor attempted to ratify it stating that they felt they would lose money on the negotiated open bar and therefore since they hadn't cashed the check for the services it was in their ability to change the contract

EVERYONE BEWARE: MY LEGAL ADVICE: Once you pen a contract the terms are AS stated. Cashing of the check is not the legal point when which a contract is formed. From a contract law perspective, all you need is an agreement between the parties which can be verbal or reduced to writing, money given in consideration for the services/performance to be rendered, and acceptance by both parties of the agreed upon terms. Don't let anyone else tell you otherwise.

So in the end was it worth it? Yes and No. Don't let yourself be manipulated. In the end we DID get what we wanted, but we had to fight them every step of the way. When you meet with these folks, be sure to immediately go home and send them an email to make sure you are documenting every step of the process. For example say something like:

Thank you for meeting us today on (mm/dd/yyyy) to discuss (fill in what was discussed). We understand that we will (state what you will be doing). Further it is our understanding that you will (fill in what they promised to do). We look forward to meeting again on (mm/dd/yyyy) at (give time). Thanks in advance for all your efforts. Jane Doe.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
Elena
Wedding:
5/9/2009
4.8/5.0
Fort Belvoir Officer's Club is the most beautiful venue for a wedding reception! We had a wonderful time there and the backdrop of the view of the Potomac River was wonderful! All our guests were speechless when the doors opened from the cocktail room to the reception room! I still get comments about how beautiful the room and view were! There were even some sitings of deer from the windows. Trinetta and Jadana were wonderful in helping organize the reception and tables. They even let us bring in homemade meatballs and cannoli to put the final lovely touches to our wedding! Trinetta even brought my husband and I a tray of appetizers and drinks since we arrived at the cocktail hour late and were starving! I will always remember that - it was so sweet!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BAArmyBride
Wedding:
2/20/2009
1.7/5.0
This place is far less costly than most other venues, but what you save in dollars, you make up for in headaches with their staff.

- They are difficult and even somewhat rude, all the way up to the woman who runs the O Club, often forgetting that they are supposed to be in a customer service function.

- In the two weeks leading up to the wedding, my contact person did not return emails or phone calls. She didn't bother to let me know that she wasn't in the office, or have another one of the catering staff personnel cover my event while she was out.

- They did not follow what was in the contract: We paid extra to upgrade several of the hors d'oeuvres, but they didn't serve some of the upgrades and didn't even offer an excuse or to refund us the difference.

- Their recommended DJ was beyond outdated. Find someone else. We requested he play a certain song to announce the bridal party (and even after repeating someone's last name to him 5 or 6 times, he still butchered it) and he just decided to disregard and play the Star Wars Imperial March REMIX instead! It was horrifying! We have to look back now and laugh. Side note: Find a DJ who runs their system on a computer instead of with CDs. If your DJ is still carrying CDs to each event, that should tip you off right away! I only wish I had known that going into the whole thing.



I will say the only thing I was pleased with was the food itself and one of the bakeries they recommended for the wedding cake, Patisserie Lille in Herndon. They were fantastic - the grooms cake and the wedding cake were really spectacular and they tasted even better than they looked.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Imiller
Wedding:
12/6/2008
4.9/5.0
Great Venue, and the staff were very flexible to work with.
I reccomend this venue for best venue and best value.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bnewsch
Wedding:
11/23/2008
4.5/5.0
Ft. Belvoir is beautiful and you get an amazing deal for the cost. The food was wonderful and the room was gorgeous. I had a hard time communicating with the staff at Ft. Belvoir and they were bad at calling me back. They provide no assistance the day of the wedding, so I hired a day of coordinator which was the best thing I could have done. My day of coordinator took care of everything and saved me from being stressed out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
8/16/2008
4.6/5.0
I was very happy with how things turned out. The only complaint was that the event coordinator who we had originally worked with to sign the contract and work out details left, we were not notified. We found out that someone else had taken over about 2 weeks before the wedding. The new person who took over did a good job, but the lack of communication in the final weeks left me a little bit worried heading into the event. As it turned out though, my worries were unfounded and everything was perfect.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Bg22
The Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
7/26/2008
3.2/5.0
Great Value for Cost is the way to describe Ft. Belvoir.

While "centerpieces" are included in their package, a bud vase and 2 roses worth a credit of $1.35 is not much when you basically have to upgrade once you meet with a florist. Why bother representing you include "centerpieces" at all for a wedding!

We selected New York Strip Steaks and their chef excelled here. Not only were they all grilled perfectly (no easy feat for 150 steaks), they were hot when they came out, and not dry or overcooked! Since we didn't make the minimum guests for the room, they happily served "several hungry guys" a second steak!!!

We included additional upgraded hors d'oeuvres during the cocktail hour. I asked several guests how these special hors d'oeuvres were, and no one seemed to even see them. When I asked our banquet manager the next day what happened, she said they had not been fit for service, so they substituted MORE of a different item. I applaud Ft. Belvoir for this action! However, it would have been nice if they had told our coordinator so she was not left wondering where the various menu items we selected were. Substitutions are fine, and expected, but let the coordinator know so if it came up, she'd be aware of it.

We had the ceremony in the Gazebo, which was beautiful! Plenty of time to put up the decorations, all the chairs were arranged perfectly and their "Plan B" in case of rain was never needed. HOWEVER! The agreed upon Plan B was supposed to divide the Mt. Vernon Room so the ceremony would be in 1/3 and the reception in 2/3. ON their recommendation, we changed the ceremony time to later in the day to assure this was possible based on a mid-day rental of hte same room. When it got closer to the event, and we were finalizing details, we came to find out that their Plan B was "wedding on the dance floor" in one big room. They claimed it was not possible for them to rearrange the room as we requested in the time they had between events. Double check the details with them so everyone is on the same page.

When we asked if cars would be held/stopped from driving around the circular entry drive during the bridal procession, we were told "oh, no, thats not possible, but you know, most cars will stop when they see a bridal party procession". This response and way to handle the situation needs some thinking on the part of Ft. Belvoir. Not the right way to answer the question. Permitting a coordinator or staff person to at least hold up cars until the bridal party walks out of the O Club towards the Gazebo would not be that much to ask.

No event goes off without a hitch. In spite of my thoughts here, Ft. Belvoir really is a wonderful venue for your special event. The rooms are beautiful, the view of the Potomac can't be beat and they are very tuned into large formal events. A few rough edges, but nothing to turn you away from considering this for your wedding. Just be prepared to work thru the details.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/19/2008
4.1/5.0
When you walk into the Officer's Club, the room we used for the cocktail hour room is the room that's straight ahead: a beautiful parlor with a fireplace, couches, piano... Then the doors open on the other side of that, and you're in the Mount Vernon Room for the reception. There is a GORGEOUS view of the Potomac River, as the entire wall opposite the entrance is windows. You can even see Mount Vernon if you look across the river (hence the name of the "Mount Vernon Room"). The room holds 150 - 300 people. However the only downside to that room is that there is a room minimum of 150, so even though we ended up with 140, we still had to pay for 150 heads. No outside caterers were allowed at Ft. Belvoir, and the food was good (what you would expect wedding food to be) but not fabulous.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lilian
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.3/5.0
The Potomac Room was beautiful, the buffet was beautiful, and the tables were set up wonderfully. The only downside was that one hour before we had to leave (we were to end at 8pm), the told us it was time to wrap it up because they had to clean up so at 7pm we had to stop the reception right when we were just getting started! So basically, we paid the extra hour for them to clean up the place instead of us using the room so that was a downside. The food was delicious and the carving stations were great. The extra hour though they talked us into (instead of the regular 3 hours) was actually a paid clean up time so that was quite dishonest of them and we will not be using them for further large events if we need to.
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
2929 Connecticut Ave
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
I LOVED having my wedding at Fort Belvoir. Everything was executed perfectly and everyone was so helpful. I got tons of compliments on the venue from my guests over the service of the staff and the gorgeous view over the potomac. Their rates are so reasonable and worth every penny. We were able to get married outside at the gazebo which was so beautiful and then the reception followed inside.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
4/5/2008
3.8/5.0
We had our reception in the Potomac Room of the Ft. Belvoir Officers' Club. We chose that room because it has one wall made entirely of windows that overlook the Potomac River. It was beautiful!! Once the flowers and table settings had been set out, it was the room of my dreams. I loved it.
We initially worked with a gentleman named Edwin in the catering department. He was not so pleasant. He was rather inflexible and his general vibe was one of disinterest. However, further into the planning process, we began working with a woman named Lori, and she was a delight! She gave the impression of being just as interested in my wedding as I was, and she was flexible with table placement, table settings, etc. We liked her very much, and thought she did a good job.
For the money, this was an excellent value. When you have your reception at Ft. Belvoir, the cake, champagne toast, table settings, and centerpieces (although only a certain kind) are included in the cost of the meal. I could not have had as nice of a reception anywhere else for as little as it cost us to have it at the Officers' Club. Although I didn't enjoy working with Edwin at the beginning, I would recommend the venue to anyone who qualifies.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenniferAR
Wedding:
10/11/2007
5.0/5.0
I booked 18m before our wedding date and they worked with me on everything from changing the menu to bringing in my own wine!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/3/2007
4.4/5.0
The view from the main ball room (Mt. Vernon) is why I chose to hold my reception here. On top of that, everything (cake, flowers, tables, linens, champagne, bar) is included in the price making it very easy to plan a reception. The catering staff is very helpful and understanding. Even when I dropped the ball, they were very friendly and put things to right immediately.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
3/17/2007
4.9/5.0
Absolutly outstanding. I was nervous in the beginning as things seemed very etherial but I walked into my dream wedding reception.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
8/12/2006
4.6/5.0
We were thrilled with our choice of Fort Belvoir for our reception. The food was good, service was excellent, decor was simple, but very pretty! The reception room has a beautiful view of the Potomac and the surrounding areas, which made for some excellent photo opportunities. The staff at the Officer's Club was great to work with and helped us very step of the way. I would highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
4/22/2006
4.7/5.0
The club is located right off the Potomac and has a beautiful view of this historic river. Its not too far from George and Martha's house making it a great area for the colonial feel. The room was perfect and intimate for my small party of 40. Everything lok crisp and clean and the food was delicious.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
2/25/2006
4.5/5.0
The food and prices were GREAT! We worked with Edwin and he was very responsible and flexible. I was very happy with this choice.

The only issue I ran into happened the morning after the wedding. I went back to retrieve my wedding shoes (which I accidentally forgot since I changed into flip flips) and they couldn't find them. Lesson learned: Anything you leave behind is fair game for the cleaning crew.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/28/2004
4.9/5.0
Everything was wonderful, it went better than I expected. The wedding coordinator at the chapel, Michelle Burton was fantastic. She kept things on pace at the begging of the processional, cued the musicians and was great at answering our questions.

The cocktail hour began and 6:00 p.m. and we were still taking pictures so I don?t know how things went. The catering staff at Ft. Belvoir was very easy to work with, both Edwin and Xenia were prompt to our phone calls, emails and requests. We were even able to bring in some spring rolls for the cocktail hour. The reception site was just gorgeous, guests were commenting on the great view. The club has a banquet manager that keeps things going during the reception. Paradiso was great to work with, he cued the tables for the buffet, and the wait staff was good but sometimes a little too quick. Maybe it was just because we were chatting so much that we never got to eat our cake. They did wrap up the leftover cake and cake topper.

TIPS: If you decide to decorate the reception site yourself, make sure your family/friends know where everything goes. I made lists and diagrams for everything, but it would have been helpful if I had a master list of everything that needed to get done.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorraine
Wedding:
10/25/2003
4.8/5.0
This venue is absolutly amazing for its appearence and value, I cannot say nice enough things. The view of the Potomac is stunning, and the inclusive packages are a great deal. See my review of the (included) Hollin Hall Cake for further raves about the includes!
We had a miscommunication (totally my fault) about the open bar, basically I thought they automatically closed it during dinner and they didn't - so they extended our open bar for 30 minutes at the end of the night with no complaints and they didnt' even charge us, this kind of professional service coupled with a beautiful location and great food really sets Fort Belvoir ahead of the pack.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Delain
Wedding:
10/4/2003
5.0/5.0
Great price, very helpful staff and beautiful ballroom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Fort Belvoir, VA 22060 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Fort Belvoir Officers Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1370019618689-belvoir