130x130 sq 1385058927959 cimg486

Four Rivers Environmental Education Center

Channahon , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Channahon, IL 60410 US

PHONE

815-722-9470

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Located within McKinley Woods-Kerry Sheridan Grove in Channahon, the Forest Preserve District of Will County's Four Rivers Environmental Education Center rests within a picturesque... Read more
Located within McKinley Woods-Kerry Sheridan Grove in Channahon, the Forest Preserve District of Will County's Four Rivers Environmental Education Center rests within a picturesque setting. Nestled among oak trees and positioned where the Des Plaines, Du Page, and Kankakee Rivers meet to form the Illinois River, the Center offers a stunning view of the outdoors and peaceful surroundings for conferences, banquets, and weddings.

The Forest Preserve District of Will County is dedicated to promoting and practicing environmental stewardship. Four Rivers was constructed using a number of green technologies and we promote green practices in the planning of all meetings and events held at this facility. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1343057100952 cimg2960
130x130 sq 1343057123447 cimg2964
130x130 sq 1343057492654 1001042
130x130 sq 1343057509831 1001048
130x130 sq 1343057536037 1001053
130x130 sq 1343057572553 1001067
130x130 sq 1343057602368 1001109
130x130 sq 1343057633157 1001125
130x130 sq 1343057664558 1001231
130x130 sq 1343057692770 1001234
130x130 sq 1343057721542 1001251
130x130 sq 1343057751914 1001253
130x130 sq 1343057779333 1001325
130x130 sq 1343057806917 1001328
130x130 sq 1343057834947 boltonlikovicwedding08010902
130x130 sq 1343057853224 boltonlikovicwedding08010904
130x130 sq 1343057871447 chapmanhoogstrawedding07250904
130x130 sq 1343057893446 cimg1745
130x130 sq 1343057905739 cimg1760
130x130 sq 1343057924383 cimg2397
130x130 sq 1343057942969 cimg2402
130x130 sq 1343057961670 cimg2403
130x130 sq 1343057980936 cimg2404
130x130 sq 1343058000675 cimg2405
130x130 sq 1343058019663 cimg2414
130x130 sq 1343058027571 cimg2416
130x130 sq 1343058035162 cimg2425
130x130 sq 1343058051058 cimg2716
130x130 sq 1343058083438 cimg3061
130x130 sq 1343058095816 cimg3068
130x130 sq 1343058104486 cimg3072
130x130 sq 1343058110249 cimg3076
130x130 sq 1343058125820 cimg3080
130x130 sq 1343058143936 cimg3090
130x130 sq 1343058156252 cimg3091
130x130 sq 1343058164587 cimg3101
130x130 sq 1343058176755 clarkwelshwedding07311001
130x130 sq 1343058203849 clarkwelshwedding07311022
130x130 sq 1343058230305 lowdenflanniganwedding05020904
130x130 sq 1343058249299 lowdenflanniganwedding05020905
130x130 sq 1343058261078 lucasjudd1007201113
130x130 sq 1343058275953 sheltonbane1022201101
130x130 sq 1343058290611 sheltonbane1022201110
130x130 sq 1343058307916 sheltonbane1022201112
130x130 sq 1343058327270 sheltonbane1022201118
130x130 sq 1343058347397 spikawhitewedding09171005
130x130 sq 1343058364553 spikawhitewedding09171009
130x130 sq 1343058381616 stublerurbancic1014201102
130x130 sq 1343058400079 stublerurbancic1014201109
130x130 sq 1343058067219 cimg2767
130x130 sq 1343058414237 vignacruver1029201112
130x130 sq 1343058431555 vignacruver1029201113
130x130 sq 1343058450255 vignacruver1029201116
130x130 sq 1343058469124 weigandnuttallwedding1003201108
130x130 sq 1343058487493 winterlewis1015201111
130x130 sq 1343058505770 winterlewis1015201140
130x130 sq 1343058524246 winterlewis1015201141
130x130 sq 1343058543776 winterlewis1015201156
130x130 sq 1343058578411 wisnieskiwagnerwedding10180811
130x130 sq 1343058882295 cimg2768
130x130 sq 1343058898446 cimg2770
130x130 sq 1343058916087 cimg2787
130x130 sq 1299515754848 001
130x130 sq 1299516081141 002
130x130 sq 1299516092329 003
130x130 sq 1299516101627 004
130x130 sq 1299516112440 005
130x130 sq 1299516124878 006
130x130 sq 1299516132425 007
130x130 sq 1299516138691 008
130x130 sq 1299516150113 009
130x130 sq 1299516160113 010
130x130 sq 1299516168754 011
130x130 sq 1299516177973 012
130x130 sq 1299516199599 014
130x130 sq 1320082892318 015
130x130 sq 1320082904673 017
130x130 sq 1320082914065 1000981
130x130 sq 1320082924860 1000994
130x130 sq 1320083047726 1001006
130x130 sq 1320083058427 1001007
130x130 sq 1320083071266 1001028
130x130 sq 1320083080626 1001040
130x130 sq 1320083091499 1001046
130x130 sq 1320083232336 1001051
130x130 sq 1320083241930 1001053
130x130 sq 1320083252398 1001065
130x130 sq 1320083266828 1001069
130x130 sq 1320083289323 1001071
130x130 sq 1320083427462 1001098
130x130 sq 1320083441923 1001101
130x130 sq 1320083453529 1001108
130x130 sq 1320083560265 1001111
130x130 sq 1320083570623 1001118
130x130 sq 1320083584023 1001119
130x130 sq 1320083594850 1001120
130x130 sq 1320083607658 1001126
130x130 sq 1320083702989 1001127
130x130 sq 1320083714019 1001155
130x130 sq 1320083717357 baiderajsterafterceremonyonpatio071610didntuse
130x130 sq 1320083734221 baiderajsterwedding07161004
130x130 sq 1320083742099 burdicksheikhwedding09190901
130x130 sq 1320083884199 cardellicupcakes080710
130x130 sq 1320083889066 cardellishelterreception080710
130x130 sq 1320083898863 chasesterlingwedding07021104
130x130 sq 1320083911296 chasesterlingwedding07021105
130x130 sq 1320083928862 chasesterlingwedding07021107
130x130 sq 1320084054598 clarkwelshwedding07311022
130x130 sq 1320084076438 everswalkerwedding06181106
130x130 sq 1320084100774 everswalkerwedding06181109
130x130 sq 1320084119588 everswalkerwedding06181111
130x130 sq 1320084224295 hodelbuterawedding07171004
130x130 sq 1320084247945 hodelbuterawedding07171005
130x130 sq 1320084262235 kuzmabrussalywedding12181003
130x130 sq 1320084277663 kuzmabrussalywedding12181008
130x130 sq 1320084289816 lauercruisewedding08221006
130x130 sq 1320084416004 ochoathreewittwedding07091106
130x130 sq 1320084434740 ochoathreewittwedding07091118
130x130 sq 1320084426238 ochoathreewittwedding07091115
130x130 sq 1320084438297 radkeshelianwedding05221005
130x130 sq 1320084445847 satoriuschadwickwedding06171117
130x130 sq 1320084573705 spikawhitewedding09171002
130x130 sq 1320084576388 taylorblairwedding4061910

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Cahryssa
Wedding:
11/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Everything about our experience was amazing! The staff are unbelievably nice and go above and beyond to make your day perfect! My guests were raving about the venue and how beautiful it was! If I could give 10 stars I would!
Everything about our experience was amazing! The staff are unbelievably nice and go above and beyond to make your day Read more...
Everything about our experience was amazing! The staff are unbelievably nice and go above and beyond to make your day perfect! My guests were raving about the venue and how beautiful it was! If I could give 10 stars I would! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/3/2014
5.0/5.0
This venue was absolutely perfect and everything I was looking for! I wanted an outdoor fall reception, but knew it was out of the question with our unpredictable Chicagoland weather. Then I found Four Rivers. The Grand Hall has gorgeous views of the river and forest preserve and we instantly knew this is where we wanted to have our wedding. Aside from the cold and windy outdoor ceremony (which I chose to keep outside instead of bringing it indoors), the day was everything I could have hoped for! The hall had a very cozy feel after sunset. A few of our recently married guests had said they wished they knew about this place when they were planning their wedding.

Mary Thomas is extremely helpful with any questions you may have. She offers a lot of suggestions for things if you get stuck on something in the planning process. She really knows what she's doing! When I stopped in to look at the flowers the day before the wedding, our florist said "You are the calmest bride I've ever seen!" A big part of that was because I felt very at ease after talking with Mary and our caterer earlier in the week to finalize all of the details.

I loved the privacy of the venue. A lot of places that we looked that had a comparable environment were overrun with people either visiting or part of multiple weddings taking place that day. The price to rent the hall, shelter, and bridal room (a classroom with a private bathroom) was very low compared to most venues in the area which was a huge plus! They also had very reasonably priced caterers on their approved caterer list.

If you are even slightly interested in this venue, go see it in person! I can't say enough how beautiful it is and how great the staff was!
This venue was absolutely perfect and everything I was looking for! I wanted an outdoor fall reception, but knew it was Read more...
This venue was absolutely perfect and everything I was looking for! I wanted an outdoor fall reception, but knew it was out of the question with our unpredictable Chicagoland weather. Then I found Four Rivers. The Grand Hall has gorgeous views of the river and forest preserve and we instantly knew this is where we wanted to have our wedding. Aside from the cold and windy outdoor ceremony (which I chose to keep outside instead of bringing it indoors), the day was everything I could have hoped for! The hall had a very cozy feel after sunset. A few of our recently married guests had said they wished they knew about this place when they were planning their wedding.

Mary Thomas is extremely helpful with any questions you may have. She offers a lot of suggestions for things if you get stuck on something in the planning process. She really knows what she's doing! When I stopped in to look at the flowers the day before the wedding, our florist said "You are the calmest bride I've ever seen!" A big part of that was because I felt very at ease after talking with Mary and our caterer earlier in the week to finalize all of the details.

I loved the privacy of the venue. A lot of places that we looked that had a comparable environment were overrun with people either visiting or part of multiple weddings taking place that day. The price to rent the hall, shelter, and bridal room (a classroom with a private bathroom) was very low compared to most venues in the area which was a huge plus! They also had very reasonably priced caterers on their approved caterer list.

If you are even slightly interested in this venue, go see it in person! I can't say enough how beautiful it is and how great the staff was! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Brianne
Wedding:
9/27/2014
5.0/5.0
I love everything about this venue! It helped that it was an absolutely beautiful fall day. 75 and Sunny! No humidity. But even if the weather was bad, it would still be a great facility. Everything was so easy. From the first point of contact, to the end of our wedding night, Mary was spectacular. She went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. We got married under the pavilion. It was perfect. The grounds are so well maintained. The building and hall are so clean and updated! I would HIGHLY recommend getting married here. It is so much better than having a wedding at a traditional banquet hall! Everything was perfect!!!!
I love everything about this venue! It helped that it was an absolutely beautiful fall day. 75 and Sunny! No humidity. But Read more...
I love everything about this venue! It helped that it was an absolutely beautiful fall day. 75 and Sunny! No humidity. But even if the weather was bad, it would still be a great facility. Everything was so easy. From the first point of contact, to the end of our wedding night, Mary was spectacular. She went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. We got married under the pavilion. It was perfect. The grounds are so well maintained. The building and hall are so clean and updated! I would HIGHLY recommend getting married here. It is so much better than having a wedding at a traditional banquet hall! Everything was perfect!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Claire
Wedding:
7/19/2014
4.9/5.0
Beautiful venue!!! Perfect place for my wedding :)
Beautiful venue!!! Perfect place for my wedding :)
Beautiful venue!!! Perfect place for my wedding :) Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Sheina
Wedding:
6/20/2014
4.9/5.0
My husband and I got married outside at the outdoor pavilion. We had our ceremony in the grass area looking at the river and I used the fireplace as my aisle. Then we had our reception under the pavilion. It was everything I could have imagined. When my husband and I looked at it the previous summer, I instantly knew this was the place for us. The venue was gorgeous, the weather was gorgeous, the scenery was amazing, and the staff was very accommodating.

Mary Thomas was great to deal with. She answered all of our questions right away through email or telephone. She never left us hanging in the dark about anything. She allowed us to rent out the classroom for a few hours the night of our ceremony (which we ended up not needing), but the classroom was very nice. If you definitely think you would use it, I would highly recommend the room. Very large bathroom (great for a big dress), lots of room for a huge bridal party, especially a good room to use if you are waiting for dinner to start and your introductions.

The only down fall about having the whole wedding and reception outside was the outdoor bathrooms. Some of my guests said the women's bathroom was pretty dirty, everyone started using the men's bathroom. If you aren't a fan of outhouses then having the reception outside might not be for you.

In the end, my husband and I, and all of our guests, were so happy with this place. It was the most beautiful wedding (I might be a little bias) I have been to in a long time. I love the beauty of the nature. Oh yeah, it was great for children; they had an amazing time running up and down the hill next to the pavilion.
My husband and I got married outside at the outdoor pavilion. We had our ceremony in the grass area looking at the river Read more...
My husband and I got married outside at the outdoor pavilion. We had our ceremony in the grass area looking at the river and I used the fireplace as my aisle. Then we had our reception under the pavilion. It was everything I could have imagined. When my husband and I looked at it the previous summer, I instantly knew this was the place for us. The venue was gorgeous, the weather was gorgeous, the scenery was amazing, and the staff was very accommodating.

Mary Thomas was great to deal with. She answered all of our questions right away through email or telephone. She never left us hanging in the dark about anything. She allowed us to rent out the classroom for a few hours the night of our ceremony (which we ended up not needing), but the classroom was very nice. If you definitely think you would use it, I would highly recommend the room. Very large bathroom (great for a big dress), lots of room for a huge bridal party, especially a good room to use if you are waiting for dinner to start and your introductions.

The only down fall about having the whole wedding and reception outside was the outdoor bathrooms. Some of my guests said the women's bathroom was pretty dirty, everyone started using the men's bathroom. If you aren't a fan of outhouses then having the reception outside might not be for you.

In the end, my husband and I, and all of our guests, were so happy with this place. It was the most beautiful wedding (I might be a little bias) I have been to in a long time. I love the beauty of the nature. Oh yeah, it was great for children; they had an amazing time running up and down the hill next to the pavilion. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Angela
Wedding:
6/14/2014
4.9/5.0
The moment we saw Four Rivers we knew it was the place for our wedding ceremony and reception (and we saw it in February in the dead of winter)! We had our ceremony under the Four Rivers Shelter overlooking the river. It was so beautiful it took my breathe away. The reception hall has the rustic, homey look that we wanted. The attached patio was perfect and everyone enjoyed the option to step outside for a few minutes to enjoy the fresh air and beautiful scenery. Our friends and family are still raving about how amazing the location was.

Mary was so helpful. Sometimes she may not be in the office to respond that day, but she always would respond as soon as she was able. Mary and Melissa were so helpful and they both really stepped up and helped when a few things went wrong. We are so grateful!

The rental fee is reasonable and makes Four Rivers unmatched in terms of how great the location and service is along with value. Because Four Rivers is not a banquet hall be prepared to have to piece together things separately (caterer, flowers, etc), but in my opinion it was totally worth it because it allowed us to make our wedding completely our own. If you are looking for a unique, but classy space that incorporates nature, please consider Four RIvers for your wedding and plan a visit- you will not regret it!
The moment we saw Four Rivers we knew it was the place for our wedding ceremony and reception (and we saw it in February Read more...
The moment we saw Four Rivers we knew it was the place for our wedding ceremony and reception (and we saw it in February in the dead of winter)! We had our ceremony under the Four Rivers Shelter overlooking the river. It was so beautiful it took my breathe away. The reception hall has the rustic, homey look that we wanted. The attached patio was perfect and everyone enjoyed the option to step outside for a few minutes to enjoy the fresh air and beautiful scenery. Our friends and family are still raving about how amazing the location was.

Mary was so helpful. Sometimes she may not be in the office to respond that day, but she always would respond as soon as she was able. Mary and Melissa were so helpful and they both really stepped up and helped when a few things went wrong. We are so grateful!

The rental fee is reasonable and makes Four Rivers unmatched in terms of how great the location and service is along with value. Because Four Rivers is not a banquet hall be prepared to have to piece together things separately (caterer, flowers, etc), but in my opinion it was totally worth it because it allowed us to make our wedding completely our own. If you are looking for a unique, but classy space that incorporates nature, please consider Four RIvers for your wedding and plan a visit- you will not regret it! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Deanna
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception was everything we had hoped for and more. The venue is so beautiful and unique, our guests are still commenting on how nice it was. We loved how the building is full of recycled materials it inspired us to create beautiful recycled and environmentally friendly decor and favors, saved us a lot of money and looked great. The pictures are breathtaking. The water and trees in the background are perfect for nature loving couples like ourselves. Our caterer was Uncle Bub's and they took such great care of us throughout the planning process as well, they gave great recommendations and made everything a breeze. The whole experience from the first meeting with Mary to the actual wedding day was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a better venue and better people to work with.
Our wedding reception was everything we had hoped for and more. The venue is so beautiful and unique, our guests are still Read more...
Our wedding reception was everything we had hoped for and more. The venue is so beautiful and unique, our guests are still commenting on how nice it was. We loved how the building is full of recycled materials it inspired us to create beautiful recycled and environmentally friendly decor and favors, saved us a lot of money and looked great. The pictures are breathtaking. The water and trees in the background are perfect for nature loving couples like ourselves. Our caterer was Uncle Bub's and they took such great care of us throughout the planning process as well, they gave great recommendations and made everything a breeze. The whole experience from the first meeting with Mary to the actual wedding day was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a better venue and better people to work with. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/2/2014
5.0/5.0
This place is AMAZING. I had my wedding there on 5/2/14. The place is absolutely gorgeous. I received so many compliments on my venue because its a hidden little gem that nobody knows about. My guests are still talking about it.The staff is extremely professional and helpful. Everything went extremely smoothly, no kinks, thanks to the dedicated staff.
This place is AMAZING. I had my wedding there on 5/2/14. The place is absolutely gorgeous. I received so many compliments Read more...
This place is AMAZING. I had my wedding there on 5/2/14. The place is absolutely gorgeous. I received so many compliments on my venue because its a hidden little gem that nobody knows about. My guests are still talking about it.The staff is extremely professional and helpful. Everything went extremely smoothly, no kinks, thanks to the dedicated staff. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Angela
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about this facility and the staff who run it. From the first phone call that I placed when I began planning until the time that the last of us left after my reception, their service was professional, pleasant, helpful and encouraging. I believe it to be one of the best if not the best value in the Chicago area. The facility itself is gorgeous, clean, and eco-friendly. We had our ceremony and reception in the Illinois River Grand Hall, but there is also an outdoor pavilion and a patio that we didn't utilize due to the weather. The possibilities are many. You can decorate as much or as little as you wish and the facility will be lovely no matter what you do. There is a lot of flexibility in terms of set-up because the Grand Hall is so large. You really should check it out before you sign on the dotted line with any other site.
I cannot say enough good things about this facility and the staff who run it. From the first phone call that I placed when Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about this facility and the staff who run it. From the first phone call that I placed when I began planning until the time that the last of us left after my reception, their service was professional, pleasant, helpful and encouraging. I believe it to be one of the best if not the best value in the Chicago area. The facility itself is gorgeous, clean, and eco-friendly. We had our ceremony and reception in the Illinois River Grand Hall, but there is also an outdoor pavilion and a patio that we didn't utilize due to the weather. The possibilities are many. You can decorate as much or as little as you wish and the facility will be lovely no matter what you do. There is a lot of flexibility in terms of set-up because the Grand Hall is so large. You really should check it out before you sign on the dotted line with any other site. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Dana
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just got married there on Friday night! We were so happy with all that Mary did for us! She was quick responding to all of my emails and calls, and they were so accommodating for anything we needed! It is the MOST BEAUTIFUL place to have a wedding and reception! So many people kept coming up to me saying, "How did you find this place? It's so gorgeous and tucked away!" The landscape is beautiful!!! I can't wait to see my wedding photos:) Perfect for a fall wedding!! Our wedding day was perfect!!! I wouldn't change a thing!!!!!
My husband and I just got married there on Friday night! We were so happy with all that Mary did for us! She was quick Read more...
My husband and I just got married there on Friday night! We were so happy with all that Mary did for us! She was quick responding to all of my emails and calls, and they were so accommodating for anything we needed! It is the MOST BEAUTIFUL place to have a wedding and reception! So many people kept coming up to me saying, "How did you find this place? It's so gorgeous and tucked away!" The landscape is beautiful!!! I can't wait to see my wedding photos:) Perfect for a fall wedding!! Our wedding day was perfect!!! I wouldn't change a thing!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Four Rivers Environmental Education Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1385058927959 cimg486