You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1396313264901 8770 charcoa

Friar Tux

Costa Mesa , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2688 Canyon Springs Parkway
Riverside, CA 92507 US (map)

PHONE

714-751-4199
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Friar Tux Shop was founded in May of 1974 in Lakewood, California. In the beginning there was one energetic young man running the shop. From early on, however, there was plenty of family... Read more
Friar Tux Shop was founded in May of 1974 in Lakewood, California. In the beginning there was one energetic young man running the shop. From early on, however, there was plenty of family support: Mom provided the catchy name and Dad provided a vision. Brother joined in soon to help with the increase in business. The recipe was simple: stir in lots of selection and quality, then blend this with generous amounts of impeccable customer service and reasonable pricing. Friar Tux Shop was a success!

Today, more than three decades later, Friar Tux Shop is a leader in men's formalwear in Southern California as well as a respected national figure. We've grown to dozens of locations throughout Los Angeles, Orange County, and San Diego from our single store in Lakewood, and have one of the largest collections of tuxedos and accessories in the United States. Despite having more than 200 employees, we're still a family business (even if our family is a bit larger now!), and still operate under the same recipe for success as we did back in 1974.


As we look towards our 40th anniversary, we can also look back at more than a million customers who have trusted their special event clothing to Friar Tux Shop. Whether it's a wedding, a high school prom, a Quiñceanera, the Academy Awards or a fraternity dance, Friar Tux Shop has been and remains the authority in men's special event attire. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1419621286955 allure steel
130x130 sq 1419621305355 groomsmen in the lobby of commodore
130x130 sq 1419621277035 2455f charcoal walking
130x130 sq 1419621356859 slateallurefriartux
130x130 sq 1419621297350 couple2

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Groom, Groomsmen, Ring Bearers
Which of the following services do you provide??
Rentals
Which of the following items do you offer?
Shoes, Tuxedo Rentals, Tuxedos

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Marissa
Wedding:
7/21/2017
5.0/5.0
I wanted to write a review for a spectacular individual who deserves to be pointed out! Lauren Dorta, I could not have produced this styled shoot without you! Lauren was EXTREMELY helpful. I was forwarded to Lauren from another contact we had at Friar Tux and it was one positive experience after another. I reached out a month before our photoshoot with no idea who our models would be. Not only did she provide the best tux options for us, BUT ALSO PROVIDED INFO FOR MODELS SHE RECOMMENDED! I was blown away! She then explained that their system is so easy by keeping measurements on file, making the process so much easier!! This was all knew to me as I've never rented a tux before, so I was thrilled to hear that! After that, I made sure I secured groom + groomsmen models who have previously used Friar Tux, so they could avoid going the store and getting measured since we were in such a time crunch.

Fastforward a week before the photoshoot- I had switched the groom and had to cancel the original order placed. In addition, we secured 3 models for groomsmen. The new groom was not in the system and could not get fitted, so he sent his measurements. These were some big changes to make as Lauren was leaving for vacation in a few days. With timing, I got her all the info needed right before she left. Lauren took SUCH good care of us, literally answering me until the moment she stepped on the plane dealing with my last minute issues... The tuxes were perfect and organized just perfectly when I picked them up.

Lauren, thank you for your patience, kindness and ability to get everything figured out!

I'm overwhelmed by the kindness, helpfulness and ease Lauren provided. Thank you and thank you, Friar Tux!
I wanted to write a review for a spectacular individual who deserves to be pointed out! Lauren Dorta, I could not have Read more...
I wanted to write a review for a spectacular individual who deserves to be pointed out! Lauren Dorta, I could not have produced this styled shoot without you! Lauren was EXTREMELY helpful. I was forwarded to Lauren from another contact we had at Friar Tux and it was one positive experience after another. I reached out a month before our photoshoot with no idea who our models would be. Not only did she provide the best tux options for us, BUT ALSO PROVIDED INFO FOR MODELS SHE RECOMMENDED! I was blown away! She then explained that their system is so easy by keeping measurements on file, making the process so much easier!! This was all knew to me as I've never rented a tux before, so I was thrilled to hear that! After that, I made sure I secured groom + groomsmen models who have previously used Friar Tux, so they could avoid going the store and getting measured since we were in such a time crunch.

Fastforward a week before the photoshoot- I had switched the groom and had to cancel the original order placed. In addition, we secured 3 models for groomsmen. The new groom was not in the system and could not get fitted, so he sent his measurements. These were some big changes to make as Lauren was leaving for vacation in a few days. With timing, I got her all the info needed right before she left. Lauren took SUCH good care of us, literally answering me until the moment she stepped on the plane dealing with my last minute issues... The tuxes were perfect and organized just perfectly when I picked them up.

Lauren, thank you for your patience, kindness and ability to get everything figured out!

I'm overwhelmed by the kindness, helpfulness and ease Lauren provided. Thank you and thank you, Friar Tux! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130 sq 1485582414 7e37c39d9f289b58 possible save the date 2
Kashawn
Wedding:
3/12/2017
5.0/5.0
My husband rented his and his groomsmen's suit from here and they were very accommodating. Everyone looked stunning.
My husband rented his and his groomsmen's suit from here and they were very accommodating. Everyone looked stunning.
My husband rented his and his groomsmen's suit from here and they were very accommodating. Everyone looked stunning. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
3/10/2017
4.9/5.0
All the guys looked great!! They had our colors and worked well with the guys. Also, they were the best value and had a great selection
All the guys looked great!! They had our colors and worked well with the guys. Also, they were the best value and had a Read more...
All the guys looked great!! They had our colors and worked well with the guys. Also, they were the best value and had a great selection Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130 sq 1460847107 9edae20e2b369c3d dsc05423retweb50
Lisa
Wedding:
2/18/2017
2.5/5.0
Overall the suits looked good, but it was hard for the groomsmen to get them. One of them didn't get their ties and we had to scramble the day of to find a tie.
Overall the suits looked good, but it was hard for the groomsmen to get them. One of them didn't get their ties and we had Read more...
Overall the suits looked good, but it was hard for the groomsmen to get them. One of them didn't get their ties and we had to scramble the day of to find a tie. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Adriana
Wedding:
2/17/2017
2.4/5.0
The staff here were awesome in the beginning when we were planning. When the guys finally all went in to pick up their suits, 3 out of the 9 guys had the wrong sizes of suits delivered to them. The stress of that was not fun when you are working on getting a suit the day before your wedding. I would definitely make sure you get measured in a timely manner and pick it up two days before your wedding.
The staff here were awesome in the beginning when we were planning. When the guys finally all went in to pick up their Read more...
The staff here were awesome in the beginning when we were planning. When the guys finally all went in to pick up their suits, 3 out of the 9 guys had the wrong sizes of suits delivered to them. The stress of that was not fun when you are working on getting a suit the day before your wedding. I would definitely make sure you get measured in a timely manner and pick it up two days before your wedding. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Friar Tux responded with the following comments:

Hi Adriana,
We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and appreciate you reaching out. Our consultants go through an extensive measuring training program because having garments fit right the first time is very important to our company and we are disappointed to hear that we let you down. We would like to have a district manager follow up with you regarding your experience to learn more details and if there is anything we can do to improve your situation. If you could please email your contact information to contact@friartux.com and reference this conversation, I will have a district manager follow up with you directly. We also replied to you on yelp but wanted you to know that we are listening and available however you prefer to communicate.
Thank you, Kristy
130x130 sq 1454886706484 20150111183645
GabyJuly
Wedding:
1/7/2017
4.8/5.0
We scheduled the initial appointment for the beginning of August, not really knowing what to expect after all the searching for bridal gowns and bridesmaids dresses. Steven Christian took our appointment and was very helpful in explaining the process. I don’t know if it’s customary to give many discounts or because we were just shopping for my fiancé and my dad (no groomsmen). We ended up with a complete tuxedo package for both men; everything included as well as upgraded shoes for $150 each (rented). They were also willing to nudge the pick-up date a bit earlier so we wouldn’t have to fit the tuxedo pick-up into the last few days before the wedding. Overall, this was possibly the most relaxed, quick, and enjoyable attire vendor we encountered during the whole wedding planning process.

Groom and father of the bride both went in to get refitted in January, a week before the wedding, just to make sure their tuxes would not be baggy (after losing some weight since August). Steven was not there but the consultants present were helpful and pleasant. We went to pick-up the tuxedos Wednesday before Saturday wedding. Groom’s fit wonderfully. Dad had to go back for a larger jacket the next day but it worked out well. Both looked amazing at the wedding! As far as I know, the tuxedos return the day after the wedding was no problem.
We scheduled the initial appointment for the beginning of August, not really knowing what to expect after all the Read more...
We scheduled the initial appointment for the beginning of August, not really knowing what to expect after all the searching for bridal gowns and bridesmaids dresses. Steven Christian took our appointment and was very helpful in explaining the process. I don’t know if it’s customary to give many discounts or because we were just shopping for my fiancé and my dad (no groomsmen). We ended up with a complete tuxedo package for both men; everything included as well as upgraded shoes for $150 each (rented). They were also willing to nudge the pick-up date a bit earlier so we wouldn’t have to fit the tuxedo pick-up into the last few days before the wedding. Overall, this was possibly the most relaxed, quick, and enjoyable attire vendor we encountered during the whole wedding planning process.

Groom and father of the bride both went in to get refitted in January, a week before the wedding, just to make sure their tuxes would not be baggy (after losing some weight since August). Steven was not there but the consultants present were helpful and pleasant. We went to pick-up the tuxedos Wednesday before Saturday wedding. Groom’s fit wonderfully. Dad had to go back for a larger jacket the next day but it worked out well. Both looked amazing at the wedding! As far as I know, the tuxedos return the day after the wedding was no problem. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Beautiful suits! I loved how they looked, and Friar Tux had more variety than other places I looked at. They were also the most reasonably priced, but wow suits are expensive!!
Beautiful suits! I loved how they looked, and Friar Tux had more variety than other places I looked at. They were also the Read more...
Beautiful suits! I loved how they looked, and Friar Tux had more variety than other places I looked at. They were also the most reasonably priced, but wow suits are expensive!! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
12/16/2016
5.0/5.0
my review is for the Temecula location. We had an extremely personable experience that really stood out to us! The guys here knew each time we called who was on the phone without even asking our names. They really helped out with start to finish and accommodated our groomsmen from out of state. We got a great deal and the suits looked amazing!
my review is for the Temecula location. We had an extremely personable experience that really stood out to us! The guys Read more...
my review is for the Temecula location. We had an extremely personable experience that really stood out to us! The guys here knew each time we called who was on the phone without even asking our names. They really helped out with start to finish and accommodated our groomsmen from out of state. We got a great deal and the suits looked amazing! Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/5/2016
3.3/5.0
The girls at this shop are very friendly, but unfortunately when we ordered our grooms suits we were a little disappointed. Two of the groomsmen got different ties from what we ordered, the ring bearer pants did not come in a slim fit (we were not made aware of this until pickup), and my husband did not get cuff links in his order.
Other than these few hiccups, everything else was good. They are accommodating and tried to fix things quickly for us.
The girls at this shop are very friendly, but unfortunately when we ordered our grooms suits we were a little Read more...
The girls at this shop are very friendly, but unfortunately when we ordered our grooms suits we were a little disappointed. Two of the groomsmen got different ties from what we ordered, the ring bearer pants did not come in a slim fit (we were not made aware of this until pickup), and my husband did not get cuff links in his order.
Other than these few hiccups, everything else was good. They are accommodating and tried to fix things quickly for us. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Friar Tux responded with the following comments:

Hi Lisa,
We are sorry to hear about the mix ups that happened and would like to have a district manager speak to you to make sure we have helped as much as possible and also understand more details. Getting things right is very important to us and we did not live up to our goals with your group. If you could please email contact@friartux.com referencing this review when you have a moment, we will follow up with you personally. Thank you, Kristy
130x130 sq 1434330669914 2015 05 18 09.05.52
Caylin
Wedding:
10/15/2016
3.2/5.0
I really liked the rental options for tuxedos at Friar Tux, definitely better than Men's Wearhouse. The staff at the location in Temecula as well as San Diego were helpful and friendly. But unfortunately, when my husband and the groomsmen went in to pick up their tuxedos, they have my husband a regular vest when he needed a tall. They insisted it was a tall and while he should have checked for himself, he didn't find out until the morning of the wedding. As someone who formerly worked in a tux shop, my husband is very well versed in how a tuxedo should look and fit - this small mistake is a bigger deal to him as he notices it in our pictures now. A little more attention to detail and double checking sizes would go a long way in customer satisfaction. Other than that issue, we were very happy with Friar Tux.
I really liked the rental options for tuxedos at Friar Tux, definitely better than Men's Wearhouse. The staff at the Read more...
I really liked the rental options for tuxedos at Friar Tux, definitely better than Men's Wearhouse. The staff at the location in Temecula as well as San Diego were helpful and friendly. But unfortunately, when my husband and the groomsmen went in to pick up their tuxedos, they have my husband a regular vest when he needed a tall. They insisted it was a tall and while he should have checked for himself, he didn't find out until the morning of the wedding. As someone who formerly worked in a tux shop, my husband is very well versed in how a tuxedo should look and fit - this small mistake is a bigger deal to him as he notices it in our pictures now. A little more attention to detail and double checking sizes would go a long way in customer satisfaction. Other than that issue, we were very happy with Friar Tux. Read less
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Friar Tux responded with the following comments:

Hi Caylin, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry for the mistake with the vest size and hope you've had a chance to talk to the district manager about it. If you haven't, please email contact@friartux.com referencing your review so that we can have someone follow up with you and see if there is anything we can do to improve your experience with us and we will talk to our staff about the situation. We appreciate your business! Best, Kristy

MAP

 
3333 Bristol St., Costa Mesa, CA 92626 See On Map
 
8621 Wilshire Blvd., Beverly Hills, CA 90211 See On Map
 
1000 S. Baldwin Ave., Arcadia, CA 91007 See On Map
 
600 Coffee Rd., Bakersfield, CA 93309 See On Map
 
12225 Foothill Blvd. #100, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91739 See On Map
 
2688 Canyon Springs Parkway, Riverside, CA 92507 See On Map
 
120 N. Tustin St., Orange, CA 92867 See On Map
 
1831 E. Ventura Blvd., Oxnard, CA 93036 See On Map
 
40705 Winchester Rd., Temecula, CA 92591 See On Map
 
532 N. Azusa Ave., West Covina, CA 91791 See On Map
 
125 N. San Gabriel Blvd., San Gabriel, CA 91775 See On Map
 
1711 S. Claudina Way, Anaheim, CA 92805 See On Map
 
355 S. Bristol, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 See On Map
 
134 N. Maryland Ave., Glendale, CA 91206 See On Map
 
9240 Clairemont Mesa Blvd., Kearny Mesa, CA 92123 See On Map
 
280 S. State College Blvd., Brea, CA 92821 See On Map
 
535 Telegraph Canyon Rd., Chula Vista, CA 91910 See On Map
 
9064 Tampa Ave., Northridge, CA 91324 See On Map
 
27981-A Greenfield Dr., Laguna Niguel, CA 92677 See On Map
 
22421-F El Toro Rd., Lake Forest, CA 92630 See On Map
 
5255 Jackson Drive, La Mesa, CA 91942 See On Map
 
1028 West Valley Parkway, Escondido, CA 92025 See On Map
 
860 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91362 See On Map
 
1978 Hacienda Drive, Vista, CA 92083 See On Map
 
10333 Lakewood Blvd., Downey, CA 90241 See On Map
 
5518 E. Del Amo Blvd, Lakewood, CA 90713 See On Map
 
9053 Central Avenue, Montclair, CA 91763 See On Map
 
7151 Warner Ave., Huntington Beach, CA 92647 See On Map
 
2535 Pacific Coast Highway, Torrance, CA 90505 See On Map
 
340 McKinley St. #101, Corona, CA 92879 See On Map
 
12435 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90025 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Friar Tux
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1396313264901 8770 charcoa