130x130_sq_1232736461078-ceremonypic

Friendly Hills Country Club

Whittier , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

8500 Villaverde Dr
Whittier, CA US 90605 (map)

PHONE

562-698-0331

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

This green oasis on Whittier’s north side is everything you expect in a traditional country club: a curving pine- and oleander-lined road whisks you up to its gate, and there’s a sea of... Read more
This green oasis on Whittier’s north side is everything you expect in a traditional country club: a curving pine- and oleander-lined road whisks you up to its gate, and there’s a sea of trees at the entrance and a feeling of leafy quiet once you arrive. When you do hear sounds, they’re the happy shouts and squeals of children romping around the club pool while their moms and dads laze about chatting and laughing.

The clubhouse exterior is creamy white stucco with wide chocolate-colored wood beams and trim. Its look is one of simple sophistication, with Craftsman-style good proportions. But the focus here is on the outdoors, where all wedding ceremonies are held (yes, the weather is that good). They take place on a tiled terrace whose backdrop, the golf course’s 1st and 18th holes, is easily the visual highlight of Friendly Hills. The fairways rise, side by side, up a commanding slope that disappears into the distance. Between them, a long cascade of water, with willows, firs and sycamores strung along its course, spills its way over large boulders to a small lake next to the terrace. The lake, populated with plump swans and ducks, can be reached via an elegant stone-faced bridge that makes a perfect photo-op site.

Friendly Hills has two excellent places to hold a post-ceremony party: a downstairs banquet room, and an upper reception area that can be used alone or in combination with an adjacent sleek bar. The downstairs space has a wall of tall windows facing the club’s signature first and last holes, and a full-service bar at the far end of room. Flattering indirect lighting along with natural light from outside keeps the place wonderfully well lit.

Click Here to View Photographs of Our Beautiful Weddings Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1288131423755-660w039gutierrez
130x130_sq_1288131435318-guitierrezwedding5large
130x130_sq_1288131474068-picture004small
130x130_sq_1288131493068-picture007medium
130x130_sq_1288131537958-picture008medium

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
The team at Friendly Hills Country Club helped make our day super special! Christine, the wedding coordinator guided us through the process of booking and setting up our ceremony and reception. Christine did a great job getting me ready to walk down the aisle and reminded me of all the important things you forget to do when you are nervously excited (like breathe...and smile). My husband and I as well as ALL of our guests raved about the perfectly cooked filet minon and beautifully seasoned prawns. Though I was in a bridal fog, I noticed as well as all of our guests how quick and tentative the wait staff was. They catered to all of our guests needs while quickly serving hot food. The entire experience at Friendly Hills Country Club was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ravyn
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
This was a great venue! The service was impeccable and Christine the coordinator was always responsive and flexible. You definitely get your monies worth here with a gorgeous view. I had the bottom room and all the guest raved about the view. They were happy to be able to enjoy the view from the patio.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
There are no words that can describe my amazing wedding experience this past weekend at Friendly Hills Country Club! I found this beautiful gem on http://WeddingWire.com and so very blessed that this was the one for me! I want to acknowledge Christine Bobadilla and her phenomenal staff for their hard work, professionalism and services in supporting us in creating our vision for our wedding. Christine is hands down the most amazing woman I've met as a coordinator. I never hired a wedding coordinator but she was very attentive, present, on point, supportive and most importantly understanding. My experience for the past 15 months of planning our wedding was a roller coaster of emotions while my husband was on deployment overseas with the Marine Corps. Christine was my rock and listened to my needs, created space, was patient and most of all supported me throughout this journey. She was there every time I called or emailed for the littlest details and answered immediately. She took time to meet with me and my girls in person to coordinate and offer feedback. She is very driven and passionate about her career as a catering director. Thank you Christine!
Friendly Hills Country Club gave me the most amazing experience I could ask for. Their tranquil and private setting accommodated our guests in every which way for an elegant evening filled with fun! The feedback that we received from our guests was that they found this to be absolutely breathtaking and beautiful. It was perfect and we highly recommend this venue to all soon to be brides! Heartfelt Thanks to all Staff! Deborah & Daniel Black
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roselyn
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
The venue and ceremony site was beautiful, the club house up-to-date and renovated with plenty of parking and a picturesque driveway leading to the club house (unlike a few country clubs we checked out). Christine and the rest of the staff were on it; very nice and accommodating, answering all our questions, letting my bridal party take pictures on the green and giving us use of the golf carts to reach the General Manager's suggested favorite location in the course so the hubby and I could be photographed there. Christine was very flexible with my vendors, letting them set up as early as they needed. The packages offered were reasonable with no fine prints of minimum requirement over the package prices and they didn't nickle and dime you on unnecessary add-ons (I'm looking at your Altadena Country Club and your requirements to hire a valet service and spend at least 40K!)
The food was delicious! Through several opportunities for menu tastings, there wasn't anything that wasn't good (making it surprisingly difficult to finalize our menu), and they met the same level of quality the day of our wedding. The alcohol flowed freely at the full size bar, offering a respectable liquor option for our open bar. And they didn't rush us out even when the party lasted a little longer than expected. Our wedding looked like it was on a higher scale than what our budget really was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
11/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved friendly hills !!! It got the best view for ceremony among all country clubs! The catering manager Christine was super helpful . I had tons of questions but Christine was super patient with me and willing to work through my concerns in which made my whole planning process so smooth. Every guests loved the food and gave great compliments on how good the food was and how amazing , great view it has for wedding. Everyone took alot of pictures here ! During cocktail hour I have specially ordered a mashed potatoe martini bar ; it is actually a mashed potato with assorted vegetables put in a martini glass and top with mini lamb chop! It was the best thing ever! It is not on the menu but I saw it during bridal show event one time that friendly hills hosted. It was too good and I didn't have to add alot of money to it. But I was so happy to hear how My guests love it even after the wedding ! For what friendly hills has to offer, I loved everything about this place- the view, the food, the service , the flexibility, and most importantly the price point was so affordable! It is definitely a place to go if you want the most out of your dollar and a great wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katrina
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
There are not enough words to express how impressed I am by this venue and its staff. The location is absolutely beautiful! The event coordinator, Christine, was straightforward and comfortable to work with...she definitely knows how to organize events! She was always responsive to my many concerns and showed much enthusiasm. We received many compliments on the food and the staff was extremely attentive. This was the BEST decision we could have made for our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B5
Emma
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Where shall I start…

This Venue is lovely…from the drive up to the beautiful view of the lake/pond. The inside of the club is warm and intimate – it’s Whittier’s hidden venue! I had no idea it existed.

We had been searching for a wedding venue for months before we visited FHCC. I had started to get a little frustrated (as you all brides know things can a little hectic when you first start planning a wedding). We made an appointment to visit the club and met with Christine Bobadilla. We were greeted by the friendly country club staff and had an extensive talk with Christine about the club, their rules, fees and menus. They were professional and helpful from the start. We decided to go with this venue for our wedding because it all seemed perfect (from the menu to the pricing).

Christine was awesome to work with. I received prompt responses to any and all questions I had (and trust me…I had a lot of questions throughout the year).

Our wedding day was perfect. We had a problem with another vendor (a vendor I hired) and Christine eased my nerves and contacted the vendor so I didn’t have to worry about it on “My Day”. The staff was seriously AMAZING and very attentive the evening/night of the wedding. The room looked perfect and all went just as planned. Our ceremony was held outside overlooking the lake and small waterfall (which made a great backdrop for pictures), and cocktail hour was moved inside the banquet room as it got dark at 5pm (I would have preferred my guests to hang out outside for that hour but it turned out well). The food was really good and best part is that no one complained about their food being cold.

We received tons of compliments for the venue choice, food and service. Christine and the staff took care of nearly every detail they had promised to handle.

5 Stars to Christine and the FHCC Staff!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
This place is gorgeous! When first looking for a venue, we had one other place in mind that we were actually favoring based on their website. After visiting both sites there was no comparison. The ceremony site it picturesque, the reception hall was more than spacious enough for our 140 guests, the food is delicious (one of our big key points), and there is an air of exclusivity to the entire location that makes you and your guests feel extra special. Another major selling point is the price. I feel like with the ambiance of the whole place, our wedding looked and felt like a million bucks for actually only a fraction of that.

The only negative (which would be true of any country club I'm sure) was that the course was supposed to close early enough for any lingering golfers to be gone by the time the ceremony started. This didn't end up being the case and there were actually quite a few golfers hanging out, even stopping to watch the ceremony. In the excitment of the day it didn't really matter and I'm not the kind of bride to fret about small stuff like this but just a heads up if you are, you might want to rethink getting married on a golf course.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
uclabebe77
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.8/5.0
This place is lovely...the prettiest setting for an outdoor wedding. I only found one other country club venue that compared to this place and it was double in price. it has the nicest backdrop for a wedding, with a lake, bridge, flowers, and green hilly grounds. i have no complaints about the ceremony site. it is absolutely beautiful. as for the reception, the room is a little bit elongated with a couple of load bearing pilars in the center, so it's not my ideal setup. guests had to get out of their seats to see the events happening on the dance floor. but other than that...the place is quite nice...new, modern-looking with high ceilings and a nice big fireplace with floor to ceiling windows where you can look down onto the golf course/lake area. you don't need to add much decor to make this place nice. the food is okay....not bad...but not the greatest...it's a little too saucy, which in my opinion makes it a little less fancy. but it's decent for the price you're paying. the prices here are unbeatable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GabrielaSalome
Wedding:
11/28/2009
3.4/5.0
Overall, I find this place a good place to hold a reception. The meals were very good - most of the people commented on how the food did not taste like the typical wedding meal.

However, our contact person went on vacation the weekend of our wedding (which we were aware of, going into the planning session), leaving her assistant to organize the seating arrangements. This assistant called my fiance on our wedding day, 10 minutes before he was set to leave for the church to ask for clarification on the seating arrangement. Since he was nowhere near the computer, he called me as I was finishing my make-up. I had to rush to email the seating arrangment to the assistant and when we arrived, our seating arrangment was nowhere like we had planned. My best friend and very good friends were seated in the farthest table from me!

Also, as we were planning the wedding, we saw the pricing list - and wrongly assumed that tax was already included in the price. It was not. We went in to make our final payment, only to be hit with a $3,000+ tax fee. Now, this may be standard practice, but I believe they should have been a bit more clear on this point.

Finally, once we figured out that the tax was going to dramatically deplete our funds, we decided to go one tier down in our meals and instead use some of our deposit towards wine during dinner. Initially, our contact person was ok with this but when my fiance called to confirm, she changed her tune leaving us scrambling to figure out a way to provide wine at our dinner. In the end, she relented and agreed to her initial agreement of using our deposit towards the wine, but this was after many calls.

So, you take the good with the bad I suppose. They do have a beautiful piano in the lounge area which was great! We hired a pianist and it was one of the highlights in our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
new couple
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
without a doubt . the absolute best venue for a outdoor wedding. the scenerary was beautiful....... Christine is by far the best you will ever find. She made everythgin go perfect. we were both so nervous that something would go wrong and she made sure that nothign did. The reception was fantastic. the meal was on par with 5 star restaurant. the staff took care of our every need. The best part is it was within our budget and no place we looked at came close the what they offered and the price
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Friendly Hills Country Club is the most amazing place for a wedding ceremony and reception!! The views of the waterfall and golf course as the backdrop for the event was breathtaking!!!! The food and service was by far outstanding. All of our guests were amazed at how gorgeous the wedding was and how delicious the food was. The vendor the country club used for the cake was fantastic!!!
Christine Bobadilla the catering director was kind, professional and made sure our wedding was all we dreamed of. She wasFANTASTIC!!!! I can not say enough wonderful things about her. Our wedding was amazing and elegant. Antonio the bartendar kept the drinks flowing and our guests happy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
Everything was beautiful! The coordinator was very professional and everything was put together very well. The staff was extremely friendly and also very professional. The grounds are beautiful and the food was delicious. I have no complaints!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
8500 Villaverde Dr, Whittier, CA 90605 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Friendly Hills Country Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo