130x130_sq_1352460201401-phindystudios0095

Front Porch Farms

Charlotte (nashville) , TN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1188 Ben Collier Road
Charlotte (Nashville), TN US 37036 (map)

PHONE

615-394-1838

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

FrontPorch Farms is a wedding and reception site built to reflect the era and unforgettable charm of the Old South as a labor of love between a hopeless romantic from GA and her modern... Read more
FrontPorch Farms is a wedding and reception site built to reflect the era and unforgettable charm of the Old South as a labor of love between a hopeless romantic from GA and her modern day hero (Nashville firefighter). The three story antebellum-style house with multiple covered porches overlooks magnificent views of the countryside. It's 32-acres of rolling green pasture with main house, guesthouse, pool, pond, gazebos and rustic barn - perfect for weddings, receptions, parties, gatherings, picnics, reunions & vacations with overnight accomodations. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1274789356831-302791243016609282581230943210489922117094317889n
130x130_sq_1288117000109-920311814blakemirandakristynhogan009
130x130_sq_1274789823816-mg0042233
130x130_sq_1288114919078-ward2
130x130_sq_1288115983906-greatdsc9530proof
130x130_sq_1266523849007-sunsetcropped
130x130_sq_1288114924625-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0001
130x130_sq_1274789666925-mg038425
130x130_sq_1274789952206-mg01129
130x130_sq_1274789371144-mg021331
130x130_sq_1270103750120-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch300
130x130_sq_1266523368647-bestwedding2018
130x130_sq_1270103763120-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch076
130x130_sq_1270103757761-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch169
130x130_sq_1266523374647-briankathybret
130x130_sq_1270103743901-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch317
130x130_sq_1270103738011-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch304
130x130_sq_1288114943625-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0008
130x130_sq_1288114930000-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0002
130x130_sq_1270103756448-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch010
130x130_sq_1288114918859-ward1
130x130_sq_1270103745370-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch267
130x130_sq_1288116727453-img2176
130x130_sq_1270103737370-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch305
130x130_sq_1274789425300-dsc01105
130x130_sq_1270103762667-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch223
130x130_sq_1270103752714-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch277
130x130_sq_1288115952437-056relow
130x130_sq_1266523351288-frontporchhome4
130x130_sq_1266523650132-dsc0233
130x130_sq_1266523795319-briankathynaomilarry
130x130_sq_1288116725796-img1981
130x130_sq_1266523812413-bestwedding5004
130x130_sq_1266523857460-kathyprestonweddingcrop
130x130_sq_1288116725906-img2172
130x130_sq_1274789835753-294691288364071275901251794874932823172251804766n
130x130_sq_1266523373069-photo20
130x130_sq_1288114924921-ward3
130x130_sq_1288114929750-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0003
130x130_sq_1288114936406-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0006
130x130_sq_1270103827495-kristynhoganfrontporchfarmsmarch222
130x130_sq_1288114937359-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0004
130x130_sq_1288115974546-259relow
130x130_sq_1288115945812-024relow
130x130_sq_1288115982265-greatdsc9307proof
130x130_sq_1288115948328-031relow
130x130_sq_1288115948421-034relow
130x130_sq_1288115950609-090relow
130x130_sq_1288236332755-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms009
130x130_sq_1288115959109-104relow
130x130_sq_1288115959140-096relow
130x130_sq_1288116706812-01frontporchfarmswedding
130x130_sq_1288116706875-04theview
130x130_sq_1288117135578-920378650detailskristynhogan113
130x130_sq_1288115969546-216relow
130x130_sq_1288116721421-73nashvillereception
130x130_sq_1288115972046-258relow
130x130_sq_1288116095421-frontporch1
130x130_sq_1288116092234-frontporch2
130x130_sq_1288114943625-katherinehollyphotographylipseykiehlengagementblog0007
130x130_sq_1288116098906-frontporch4
130x130_sq_1288116098296-frontporch3
130x130_sq_1288117063859-920419695details173low
130x130_sq_1288116711968-05frontporchfarms
130x130_sq_1288116717734-57nashvilleweddingphotographer
130x130_sq_1288116942687-920319962blakemirandakristynhogan023
130x130_sq_1288117057546-920372085detailskristynhogan099
130x130_sq_1288236308224-6604616521600692141393389552317180044707906n
130x130_sq_1288236313380-6627816518703419711393389552317176026150226n
130x130_sq_1288236311912-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms001
130x130_sq_1288236315630-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms003
130x130_sq_1288236318396-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms002
130x130_sq_1288236317427-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms004
130x130_sq_1288236321365-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms005
130x130_sq_1288236321255-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms006
130x130_sq_1288236324224-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms007
130x130_sq_1288116722515-img1866
130x130_sq_1288236323771-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms008
130x130_sq_1288236327396-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms010
130x130_sq_1288236332130-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms011
130x130_sq_1288236335021-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms012
130x130_sq_1288236338474-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms013
130x130_sq_1288236337599-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms014
130x130_sq_1288236340927-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms016
130x130_sq_1288236340037-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms015
130x130_sq_1288236341568-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms017
130x130_sq_1288236346490-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms018
130x130_sq_1288236343912-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms019
130x130_sq_1288236346943-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms020
130x130_sq_1288236348333-nashvilleweddingphotographyfrontporchfarms021

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2004
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
6/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding and reception at FrontPorch Farms was more than we could have dreamed of. The venue was gorgeous and the staff went above and beyond for us. We chose Nashville as a destination wedding, with no one in our family living near FPF, so almost all of the wedding was planned from afar, with the help of the wonderfully-responsive staff. Kathy Best and the crew pay GREAT attention to detail, thinking of little things I would not have. I never worried about the wedding day because I knew they had triple checked everything ahead of time.

The crew worked as a well-oiled machine the day of, making the day stress-free and relaxing. If I didn't have time to take care of something, they had already done it for us. The staff were always around if anything was needed and kept everything on schedule and running smoothly.

FPF also offers a variety of options to fit a variety of budgets. Since we were from out of town, we weren't familiar with vendors in the area. The team sent us a list of caterers/photographers/bakers/etc with reviews that they have worked with in the past ... giving us trusted options in a variety of cost brackets. You can also choose to have as many (or as few) "props" and decorations as you'd like, allowing for a more expensive or more frugal of a wedding as you prefer.

The only thing I was concerned about with this venue was the drive for guests, who were all coming from out of town. But no one minded the drive to FPF or had a hard time finding it ... They loved it!

We highly recommend FPF and appreciate the hard work the workers put in to every event. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
I simply cannot say enough about this venue. As I was searching for Nashville venues this was one of the first ones I came across. My immediate response was, "This would be my DREAM venue." Little did I know, we would actually get married there!

I had fallen in love with the place online, and it was even more beautiful in person - and we had visited in the middle of winter! When we came back in the Spring, it was so much fun seeing the place come to life with flowers, greenery, and a breathtaking view.

Planning a wedding is one of the most stressful things I've ever done, even as a bride bent on keeping things simple. With that said, Kathy did a marvelous job keeping me on track and providing suggestions throughout the entire process.

For me, budget was important since I wasn't spending the $$. Having the budget talk with my parents came in handy to help set clear guidelines for myself and sisters as we selected accessories. Everything at FPF is straight from Pinterest, so you really don't have to spend a lot of time on crafts.

Tips to a successful wedding at FPF:

1. Treat Kathy's family like family - they're genuine, loving people and it's their home that they are sharing with you!
2. Pick a clear wedding style early on. I wish I did this sooner because wedding planning is hard enough - switching between styles on all of your vendors is an extra headache you don't need - and this will help when you go to select FPF accessories.
3. You can go as simple or as extravagant as you'd like, but remember this - no matter what happens including crafts you didn't finish or accessories not in your budget - you will have an absolutely beautiful wedding if you choose to have it at FPF.

Here is the link to our wedding video. We also had Jeb Wilson from Nashville photography group take ours photos (to-die-for) and the White Room in Lebanon is where I found my dress!

http://vimeo.com/98590221
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here in May 2014 and it was honestly like a fairy tale. Kathy and Brian Best and their staff were awesome! The property looks like a dream. We had our engagement pictures taken the year before at the farm and they turned out beautifully so we knew how wonderful the property looked in the spring and early summer. Kathy worked with me tirelessly for months on planning every detail to make sure that our day was perfect. She is very organized and if you use her services as a planner they are well worth it. Every vendor I used was through her recommendations. Her staff decorated everything so wonderfully and I did not have to worry about anything. They made it magical. If you are looking for a wonderful outdoor space with a view this is it. I can't thank them enough for really allowing us to have such a relaxing, beautiful and magical wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
11/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I enjoyed working w Kathy Her attention to detail assured me she had things under control and I was able to relax and enjoy the fabulous day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1364505319529-1210090099
Courtney
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at Front Porch Farms and it was truly the wedding of our dreams. Kathy and her amazing team at Front Porch Farms are incredible. As soon as we booked with Kathy, she sent vendor suggestions and a details sheet that made planning so much easier. Kathy was very attentive to each and every detail of the wedding from decor, deliveries, schedule and ceremony rehearsal. Take her vendor suggestions...they are the best in the business!

The venue is so unique and breathtakingly beautiful. Her home sits on top of hill and you can see the rolling hills of Tennessee and the cliffs by the river... gorgeous! Also, the pavilion and pool area are perfect for cocktails, dancing and the reception. Our wedding party got a little rowdy and jumped in the pool at the end of the night! It made for great photos...

Thank you Kathy and Brian for allowing us to host our wedding at your lovely home. Our flower girl told us it was "the best night of her life," and ours too! We wish you both the best!
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joscelyne
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew we wanted our setting to feel natural, intimate, and most importantly like a home away from home. When we arrived at Front Porch Farms, we were blown away. From the shabby chic guest house to the insanely beautiful hilltop views, and the randomly placed porch swings...we just couldn't imagine a better venue for the Party of our lives. Kathy is wonderful to work with and gives great advice on vendors & decor. The day of, Kathy and her staff are calm, cool, and collect, which is exactly what you need the day of your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Neely
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at Front Porch Farms was all we ever could have dreamed. As soon as we visited this place, we knew we wanted to be married here. The whole staff at Front Porch Farms work so hard to make this already beautiful venue even more spectacular. From the guest house, the main house, the pool, front yard and pavilion it really is a dream location for a wedding. Our wedding was on a Sunday, the day after a huge wedding the Saturday before and the venue looked perfect. Their crew and team really do everything they can to make the day go smoothly. Our guests mentioned time and again how their couldn't have been a more beautiful setting. Thank you Kathy and Brian for allowing us to have our wedding at your wonderful place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I am giving Front Porch Farms a 5 out of 5. Kathy and her crew are very helpful and want to make the day perfect. I didn't ever feel stressed out about the big day throughout the whole process. The vendors that they suggested were PERFECT for us! The obviously only recommend the best.

I could not have asked for a more perfect day. I am not the most organized person so thank goodness Kathy is so organized and got all the details in the schedule worked out. I literally could not have done it by myself. I just thought they were a lovely family to work with. Kathy's little daughter was absolutely precious! She kept saying that I looked like sleeping beauty! So sweet! Anyone looking to have a country chic wedding Front Porch Farms is definitely the place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Front Porch Farms is the perfect place to get married. It is a gorgeous, romantic outdoor setting with a view that will literally take your breath away. The Front Porch staff is incredibly friendly, organized and helpful. They did an amazing job and went above and beyond for us with the planning and execution of the wedding. From the minute we signed our contract with FPF until the last guest left at the reception, Kathy was on top of every detail. She and her staff are incredibly talented when it comes to event styling as well. It's nearly impossible to find a venue that has so many things included (chairs, decorations, etc.) and where you can have both your ceremony and reception. Our guests left saying it was the most beautiful and most fun wedding they have ever attended, thanks to FPF!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Kathy and Brian at Front Porch are unbelievable. They opened their home for our daughter's special day and it was awesome. The service and attention to detail was exceptional. Many guests commented on the attentiveness of the service. The day was crazy, we had rain, but it was so beautiful. Can't wait to go back!!

MOB
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Donna, You & Sam come back any time!! We have the guest house ready for you. All the best, Kathy & Brian
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathy, Brian, Katie and everyone at Front Porch made our day perfect. From the first moment that we met with Kathy she made me feel good about the whole process. Her laid back but efficient attitude ensures that everything will get done the way it should but you still get to enjoy the day. Every vendor we used at our wedding came from her recommendation and every single one of them performed above and beyond what we could hope. Being a couple who has only lived in TN the past two years, her expertise and guidance in picking the right people to do the job was critical to our day going off without a hitch.

Their home and everything about it is beautiful. Even though the weather did not cooperate as we would have liked and it was a bit chilly I would not have picked another venue. From the moment I saw the property I was sold and knew that nothing could compare to that feeling. We knew that was where we wanted to get married.

To have someone open up their home to you and make you feel a part of their family on such a big day like your wedding is an honor and it takes very special people like them to do it. Our wedding day was beautiful, laid back, relaxing, happy, fun and full of love and it is all thanks to the Front Porch family.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
We chose this venue from the very beginning and we couldn't of been happier! We loved every minute of it and Kathy was so accommodating and helpful. Her team did a wonderful job at ensuring that we all had the best day and that all loose ends were tied up before the wedding began. Kathy was very thoughtful and thorough with all of the details and would keep me in the loop with all the things going on. I LOVED this place and I know that anyone who has a wedding there will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erica418
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a more perfect venue for our wedding! So many of our guests told us it was the most beautiful wedding they have seen, and we definitely agree! Kathy, Brian, and their crew worked so hard to make sure everything was perfect, and they paid attention to every little detail. Kathy was so helpful throughout the planning process, and she recommended the best vendors!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendyl
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Front porch Farms was the perfect venue for us on our wedding day. The view alone is amazing. Kathy went above and beyond to make everything gorgeous and to make sure the day ran smoothly. I wouldnt have changed a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MarsFox
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved working with Kathy and her staff. We looked at other venues, but none compared to Front Porch Farms. The location was beyond beautiful, the staff was very responsive, thoughtful, and easy to work with. Kathy's attention to detail made the day flow very well. Our wedding and reception went perfectly and a large part of that was almost entirely due to Kathy and her staff and Front Porch Farms. The price may seem high at first, but is well worth everything included in the package (rentals, wedding coordination from Kathy, location, ease with vendors). Kathy and her team are well equipped, professional, and act like veterans in the wedding venue arena. We could not be happier! Sincerely, The Foxes
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kr
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
All of my guests traveled from out of town/state and they said it was the most refreshing wedding they had ever been to. The views from the venue were breathtaking. The layout was great, the services were fantastic and the atmosphere was just unbeatable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dori thornton waller
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
As a wedding planner, I deal with lots of venues and I have never encountered one more willing to accomodate, responsive and just all-in-all an excellent place with even better owners and staff. Front Porch Farms is a real find that will challenge other farm wedding venues to offer better service because of the great experience clients have at Front Porch Farms. Best venue I have ever dealt with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mandiallen05
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
When my now husband and I pulled up to Front Porch Farms last August we knew that we were done with our search. I truly couldn't believe how I could fall in love with a place so quick, what I couldn't believe even more is that Kyle was just as in love with it as I was. It is insane how you drive only 30 minutes outside of the bustling city but feel as though you are on a secluded mountain where it is only you and the ones that matter most. Kathy and Brian have made their home warm and welcoming and it is so beautiful that it will make you unbelievably jealous. Kathy was my wedding planner and day of coordinator and I truly wouldn't have done it any other way. Kathy immediately made up a spread sheet and timeline of everything wedding. She also helped us out with vendors that were best for our budget.
We were the first wedding of the season for most of our vendors and it was pretty exciting to get the season kicked off! The forecast was calling for rain which was such a bummer, but we had a rain plan and we were prepared for the worst. It rained. And it rained. Kathy came to me a couple hours before the wedding and asked about setting our rain plan up. I just could not do it. I'm so glad I didn't, the sun came out and we had the most gorgeous out door ceremony I could imagine.
As for our decor, I wanted to be the DIY bride. Most of my projects came out exactly as I wanted them to and I was very happy with the outcome. I brought all of our decor out three days before the wedding and when I stepped foot on to the property I was amazed. I expected a lot, I truly did, but when I walked out I couldn't believe all that I received. The smallest details were paid attention to.
Front Porch Farms is where our Happily Ever After began and I hope to be able to visit again. It will always have such a happy place in my heart and I am so happy to be able to say that I married the man of my dreams there. Thanks again Brian and Kathy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Mandi, Thank you so much for the sweet words! Come visit us anytime - especially for anniversary photos! Kathy
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
As the mother of the bride and living over 400 miles from Nashville, I was grateful for the guidance Kathy provided my daughter as she planned her wedding. With sensitivity to budget and the bride's vision for the day, Kathy made suggestions and maintained the all important timetable that resulted in a beautiful, relatively stress free day.
I was most impressed with the calm, accommodating manner Kathy, Brian, and all the Frontporch Farms team brought together last minute details which freed us up to fully enjoy the day.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KWG
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our daughters wedding at Front Porch Farms. Kathy and her husband Brian are amazing and very easy to work with. The venue is gorgeous and they have great ideas to make your day very special. I highly recommend having your wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Kathy and Brian went above and beyond to make my client's wedding such a one of a kind event. The rental items and inventory that Kathy has in unbelievable and a great value. I appreciate their dedication into making their venue one of the best and unique places in middle Tennessee!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gingerkmcpherson
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
When I read reviews online about this place, people said Kathy really knows what she's doing and goes above and beyond your expectations. This is 100% true. People also said that their friends and family raved about their wedding saying "it's the best wedding they've ever been too". We found this to also be true. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding day. We truely had our dream wedding at Front Porch Farms. We are very thankful to Kathy and Brian for everything they did and opening their home to us and all of our friends and family. Can't find a better place for the beauty, money, and service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to express how thankful I am to Kathy and Brian for their help in making our wedding day truly perfect. Time and time again, we were amazed at the things they were able to pull off while staying within budget. My dad commented that the venue is indeed breathtaking, but Kathy and Brian and their connections, hard work, and genuine desire to make couples happy is the real reason why this venue is an incredible one (definitely opt to have her do your planning!!) Our wedding wouldn't have looked half as beautiful without their help in the design, budgeting, and setup. Moving, working, and being in graduate school, I was so thankful that I was able to be as involved as I wanted to be, and she picked up slack when I just couldn't!

Our day could not have been better. We had guests tell us that it was the best wedding they'd ever gone to- the most beautiful, and the most fun. Our other vendors told us that they were fantastic to work with. Kathy and Brian Best's venue is the perfect bend of warmth and professionalism that you want to be part of your celebration. To say that they went bove and beyond is an understatement!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Tippy
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at Front Porch Farms just one week ago. It was a breathtaking and memorable weekend. Not only is the venue beautiful, but Kathy and her recommended vendors were great at creating the look and atmosphere that was my daughter's vision for the day. I travelled from L.A. for the wedding and so had not been very directly involved with the planning. I am so happy to say that when I arrived at Front Porch Farms the day before the wedding, I was treated like family or an old friend by Kathy and Brian. They were very accommodating, but at the same time let us know what they needed to accomplish. They were quick to meet our needs from parking for elderly guests to arranging babysitters for the youngest attendees.
I didn't come away with any negative feelings at all. The wedding was all we hoped it would be. If you want an elegant, country chic wedding that fits your budget, I would not hesitate to recommend Kathy and Front Porch Farms. I read that some people were surprised by "extra" fees. Some rentals are extra - but we knew about them up front. If you are clear about your expectations, I think Brian and Kathy will be fair and clear with you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cdsreed
Wedding:
9/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Brian and Kathy are the best. They made everyone that was in the wedding party, family and guests at eaase. We all had the best time, everything was beautiful. I still have people complementing thier place along the layed back wedding atmosphe that both Adrian and Brandi.
For some reason my family has just falling in love with the, me included!
I would highly recommed Brian and Kathy, almost makes you want to get married again!! ha
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cdsreed
Wedding:
9/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Brian and Kathy are the best!! with all the troubles my step-daughter was having before the wedding they made sure non of that happened on her day.i still have people telling me how it was a beautful wedding and how they made everyone there at ease and that is just want Brandi and Adrian wanted. My whole family just thinks the world of the, as do I!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Dress & Attire, Flowers, Invitations, Photography, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eivar
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure working w/ Kathy and Brian Best and the entire Front Porch Staff for making our wedding day extraordinary in all facets. Although the rain called for alternate measures, Kathy was instrumental in rapidly coordinating a secondary plan which resulted in a beautiful ceremony inside the pavilion. All of our family and friends ultimately enjoyed this special day and made lasting memories. We sincerely appreciate all the hard work and dedication from Front Porch Farms and highly recommend this venue for all future brides and grooms.

With all our thanks,

Eivar and Austin
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Halisha and Tim
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I both knew we wanted a country style wedding. We probably called and met with at least 15 different venues all over Middle Tennessee, and there was plenty to choose from. But after meeting Kathy and Bryan Best the first time in their living room of their beautiful country style farm house high atop the hills of Dickson County, we knew that there would be nothing better than getting married in the front yard overlooking the beautiful country side and the Harpeth River. The time and effort Bryan and Kathy put into making Front Porch Farms a top tier venue really shows from the time you cross the little bridge entering their driveway. Then it is a winding ride up the driveway to a beautiful hilltop with magnificent views of the country side while overlooking the Harpeth River. The yard is always carefully manicured with beautiful flowers and trees that served as a wonderful backdrop for our perfect day. When our wedding day finally came in May we were a little worried because of forecasted rain, but we knew it was our day regardless of weather. The big issue we had was the wind blowing some of our table cloths around in the pavillion, but Kathy was very quick to get on the phone with one of her rental companies and we were able to get sides for the pavilion and get them up before our guests started arriving.
Kathy was so easy to work with even with our “flip-flop” decision making skills; she would always have ideas and ways to calm our nerves. Kathy would always assure us that things would go off without a hitch. With everything that goes into planning a wedding, it was a lot to take on, but any questions or concerns we had Kathy and Bryan were always right there to help us, whether it was a catering decision, music, flowers, parking, etc. Kathy and Bryan were a pleasure to work with during our big day. We were concerned about not really having an officiant but Bryan was pleased to offer his services to marry us. It was a very nice semi-traditional ceremony and Bryan was kind enough to write a poem for us that just added to an already wonderful wedding ceremony. As nervous as we were, I find that most couples experience the same anxiety that we did, but Kathy and Bryan put us at ease and allowed us to have the wedding we thought was only available on TV. From the venue to all the little personal details our big day could not have been any better. Without Kathy and Bryan none of this would have been possible and I cannot think of a better place to start your lives together as newlyweds than Front Porch Farms!
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Front Porch Farms was amazing! There were so many personal touches from both Kathy and Brian that made us and our guest so comfortable on an unexpected cold day. Kathy even took blankets from her own house to cover some of our younger guests. It was such a pleaure to work with Kathy and Brian and they went above and beyond expectations to make our day a special one. We could not have found anyone who cared as much about making our day as memoriable as we did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Jessica
Wedding:
4/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had such an amazing wedding day. It was better than we could have anticipated. The caterer, florist, photographer, and musicians that Kathy connected us with were superb! Our guests could not stop raving about how it was the best wedding they had been to and the setting of Front Porch Farms is straight out of a storybook. Thank you helping us have such a special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1291784581548-img3768
Ashley
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We absolutely fell in love with Kathy and Brian as well as Front Porch Farms the first day we met them! They were the first people to not be shocked when we mentioned our large guest list, to encourage us to be a DIY wedding, and to allow us to let this be "our" day! Kathy and Brian were MORE than accommodating spending tons of time before the wedding and the day of to get things prepared! Brian spent many hours making farm tables and hanging lots of accessories! Together they added many special touches and surprises that we loved and would never have thought to do! The day of our wedding Kathy and Brian actually had to travel out of town for other work priorities, but they made sure to have someone perfect in their place! I am still surprised they made their plane that day because they kept pushing back their departure time to spend more time prepping our wedding! We feel blessed to have met Kathy and Brian and to be a part of the Front Porch Farms family!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Italia42
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Writing a review for Kathy and The Front Porch Farms is a piece of cake for me! My husband and I were married November 20, 2010 and I cannot reminisce enough about our perfect day. Kathy is beyond wonderful to work with on all levels, especially emails. She catered to my every need including always lending an ear to my frantic questions and supplying me with much needed details. She kept me within budget and literally made my eyes water when I saw the reception early on my wedding day. The decor was flawless and honestly more than I imagined. She and her team worked relentlessly as though it was their own special day. My colors were slate gray and cranberry red. These colors were radiant within the flowers, linens and table decor; her imagination and creativity were stellar in my book.

I would highly recommend Kathy and her team to anybody wanting a catered-to day. She met my every need to make our wedding personal and unique to our desires. I could not have dreamed of a more perfect day!! Thank you Kathy!!

Gianna and Josh Larson
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
As we walked the grounds of Front Porch Farms so many months ago, when the trees were bare and a large tent was to be the location for the reception, even then we knew that this was the place for our daughter’s vision to come alive. It was perfect. An outdoor wedding surrounded by the beautiful rolling hills of trees changing colors for the fall season. We had to use our imaginations a bit, but this was the place to bring alive the old-time family reunion atmosphere; the intimate family and friends event that Rachel so wanted for her special day. As the months marched by, Kathy and Brian made major improvements to the grounds and built a spectacular pavilion for the reception. No more tent.

The weather was perfect. What seemed impossible came together seamlessly with the help of Kathy, Brian and all the many vendors that listened to our ideas and brought them to life. Thank you to Beth for the most beautiful bouquets that I’ve ever seen. The reception tables were bragged on many times. The ceremony music that Keegan provided set the tone for what was described to us as the sweetest wedding ever. Mrs. J’s food was delicious thanks to Celeste Morris and her staff. Then there was the cake table, amazingly displayed with five cakes and three pies. I thought we would be eating on all these delights for months, but B. Jackson’s must have a straight line to heaven because there was hardly anything left. What few photos I’ve seen have beautifully captured special moments, thanks to Kristyn Hogan, and I can’t wait to see more.

We laughed, played, danced, talked, and before you could blink the bride and groom drove away to start what will be a blessed union. All of these things at the most lovely of locations. It truly was the perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Front Porch Farms is a WONDERFUL place to have your wedding & reception. The house & grounds are beautiful, & Kathy & Brian Best are the BEST! We were so pleased with everything I highly recommend this venue to anyone getting married. We had a very small budget & Kathy & Brian made sure we got everything we wanted & did not go over budget. I loved how everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindsayfox
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We chose Front Porch Farms for our wedding ceremony and reception and we could not of made a better choice! It was definitely my dream wedding! It was a perfect day. The Best's were very helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hugs511
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I am getting married at Front Porch Farms next June!
I was looking for a venue that symbolized southern charm, and something for a great value when I stumbled upon this new venue.
The moment my family and I arrived at the property we were sure this was the PERFECT venue for my wedding.
Kathy has been amazing and helpful for me, even though I still have some time to go. She has been working with me on great vendors for a great price, as well as some ideas for making my wedding more memorable.
My fiance and I are so excited to share our day with the Best's at their beautiful home.
I would recommend this venue to anyone searching for that hidden treasure off the beaten path.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JaimeS80
Wedding:
4/1/2010
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I are getting married at Front Porch Farms in June 2010 and we couldn't be more excited. From the first moment we spoke to Kathy and Brian and saw their amazing home, we knew we had found a hidden treasure! The setting itself is incredible....an absolutely charming vintage inspired home with multiple porches overlooking the most beautiful natural setting with rolling hills, trees, a pond, a barn, a lovely pool, a guest house....the list goes on and on! This place has everything you could ever want and we can't wait to be married in this fairytale setting!

On another note, Kathy and Brian have been an absolute joy to work with. They have welcomed us into their home on a number of occasions and always make us feel like our day is just as important to them as it is to us. They are genuine and sweet people who are willing to do anything they can to make your special day perfect!

Kathy is also working as my wedding planner and she has been an absolute blessing! Trying to plan a wedding in just a few months in no easy task and I don't know what I would have done without Kathy's help and suggestions. She has coordinated everything from the decoration ideas, florist, caterer, transportation, etc. There is nothing I have asked that she hasn't been able to accomplish. She is very professional and creative at any budget!

We can't wait to see everything pulled together in June! With this amazing home, incredible setting and Kathy and Brian's help, I know it will be a day we will never forget!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandon
Wedding:
5/10/2013
4.9/5.0
My wife and I were recently married at Front Porch Farms. We can't say enough good things about this place. The setting is absolutely beautiful and we had tons of guests tell us the same. Kathy and her staff are very professional and they pay incredible attention to detail. Also, on the day of our wedding we had rain just before the start of our ceremony. Kathy was in constant communication with us and was more than willing to delay our ceremony by 15 minutes while we were waiting on good weather. While we were worrying about the skies, she was busy attending to our guests and making minor adjustments to the schedule to keep them happy and entertained. Luckily, the skies cleared up and her staff ran out to dry off the chairs so we could get married under the tree. Everything else ran so smoothly and everyone said it was the "best wedding I've ever been to." If given the opportunity to do it over again, we would absolutely make Front Porch Farms our first choice for wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Thank you Brandon! I'm so glad it all worked out the way you both wanted. We do try to do our very best - just wish we could control the weather! Kathy
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.9/5.0
My husband and I got married here in April of last year. We could not have asked for a better wedding. It was amazing. Kathy and Brian have a home straight off of Pintrest! This venue can be dressed up for the finest black tie event or for a bride not wearing shoes. Steve and I are very casual, Kathy was able to pull all of our ideas and visions together to make that day beautiful. I never for one minute doubted FPF ability to pull it off. I still have people telling me that it was "the best wedding they had ever been to." Do yourselves a favor ladies.....Consider Front Porch Farms.

My 4.5 out of 5.0 is not a bad thing. If I learned one thing from planning a wedding it's this....You really do not want a wedding planner that treats you as a professional co-worker. This day is the most intimate day that you will share with your future spouse, best friend, family, and all those close to you. Kathy was very professional, but the moment we became friends was when she told me her honest opinion on a few things, I realized I had someone on my team. If they had "Star Ratings" for late night emails, heart, diligence, and honesty well then Front Porch Farms is a 10 in my book.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I would recommend Front Porch Farms to any bride/groom that is wanting to have the perfect outdoor, country, vintage, chic wedding in Tennessee. The staff are easy to work with and helpful in all areas. They helped plan the event down to the smallest detail and were easy to contact with any questions. The day of, even with a few hiccups in the day, we were able to sit back and they managed every detail, followed the timeline, and worked with all the vendors to make sure everything flowed perfect! We felt that our wedding was beautiful and perfect! We received multiple comments on the venue, the view, the decor, and that it was the "perfect wedding".
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Great venue, very flexible and accommodating. Kathy is wonderful, and our wedding was flawless!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
StyllBC
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.8/5.0
When meeting Kathy at Front Porch Farms for the first time we were relieved to find someone who was happy and excited about providing a wedding venue and helping us plan our wedding. I am not a bride that has had my wedding imagined since I was a little girl and was not quite sure where to start. Kathy helped suggest vendors and put us in contact with amazing photographers (Cheyenne Ward & Laci Wilson) and an amazing bakery (Mrs. J’s). As a very busy nursing student, I did not have much time in the months leading up to the wedding to do much planning and Kathy and Brian were able to help me get the last minute ideas/details/decorations nailed down.

On the day of the wedding we had a couple hiccups as a storm had come through and caused a tree to fall onto the road to the venue. I had no idea any of this had even gone on until the sun came out and it was time to walk down the aisle. Although nothing could have ruined my mood that day anyway, Kathy & Brian took care of any issues that came up that day and remained calm through everything.

I would highly recommend Front Porch Farms to anyone who wants an outdoor Tennessee wedding.
Thanks Kathy & Brian!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.7/5.0
Kathy and her staff did a wonderful job to make our wedding day not stressful and beautiful. She answered my e-mails and my millions of questions within a couple of days and allowed me to come out to the venue a couple of times as the date got closer. She worked with us to give us exactly what we wanted and took care of arranging deliveries with vendors. She was present on the wedding day to help out but did not interfere. All the furniture was set-up when we got there at 10am on the wedding day and she let us set the tables up how we wanted. Her staff was there to help with anything we needed and when a storm came in they moved everything under the pavilion for us and swept the floor to keep it safe for guests. Not a single thing went wrong and it was because Kathy made sure all the details were arranged before hand.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicki
Wedding:
4/13/2013
4.7/5.0
Working with Front Porch Farms through the entire wedding planning process was a joy. Kathy very clearly loves what she does and cares about her brides, and the setting in the Tennessee countryside is just breathtaking. I believe my wedding was one of the first, if not the first, of the season so sometimes communication was scattered and/or forgotten early on in the planning stages, but Kathy made up for everything as the day drew nearer. I had no questions or confusion on the day of the wedding and even if something went wrong, I still have no idea. I hope to attend a wedding at FPF one day just to relive the day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamara
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.7/5.0
This venue was awesome to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancie
Wedding:
5/22/2011
4.7/5.0
The wedding venue at Front Porch Farms was an absolutely beautiful place to have a sacred ceremony. It was perfect.
Thank you Front Porch Farms.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.7/5.0
We Really Really loved this location!! It fit our theme so well and had beautiful views!! Kathy and her husband Brian are super nice and willing to jump in and help. Kathy has everything you need to make your vision come to life! She is quick to answer emails and easy to work with! The day of was smooth and care free because everything was taken care of. It was beautiful and everything we wanted! Thank you Kathy!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happilyeverafter
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.6/5.0
Front Porch Farms was my daughter's dream location for an outdoor, country wedding--a stunning view from a hilltop location away from city crowds and traffic. Her fiance's 1 request was a country but classy wedding to which he could wear his boots; this was the perfect place to fulfill his request! The venue was affordable, and Kathy matched us with several outstanding vendors who fit our budget. Living out of state, having Kathy serve as the wedding planner was priceless.
I must absolutely mention Kathy's stylist, "Superwoman" Cynthia. She took a small decorating budget and literally worked wonders. Kathy also graciously allowed the use of existing tables and numerous other props from her farm, and Cynthia put them all to excellent use. She and Kathy were already hard at work at 9:30 am when the bride arrived, and they didn't stop til much, much later that evening. Cynthia personalized many of the decorations and added so many cute touches and even several sweet surprises for the bride and groom. Many, many thanks Cynthia for your kindness and generosity.
Most communication was by email and usually quick, but sometimes other business events prevented a timely response. Occasionally there were communication glitches and a bit of confusion because of other business and family demands. As always, however, love conquers all and eveything comes together beautifully in the end on such a happy and joyous occasion as a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/31/2010
4.6/5.0
Beautiful location, excellent personal service! Kathy and Brian will bend over backwards to make sure everything goes perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.4/5.0
Had our wedding here in April 2014. The place is absolutely gorgeous and they definitely make sure it is "what you want". They also did a great job pre-planning and were extremely organized. They are also very responsive/easy to get in touch with. There is a huge barn down the hill and you can use basically anything in there for decor, which helped us out a lot. It is also out in the boonies but it is such a gorgeous location it makes up for it! We had a few folks say ours was the best wedding they had been to in a while so that is always a plus. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vakessha
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.4/5.0
They were absolutely willing to work with our budget! The location was beautiful and all of our guests were impressed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1267923866387-img0052
Rachel
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.4/5.0
Front Porch Farms is a great new venue outside of Nashville,TN. A bride with a budget, Kathy and Brian were great at supplying vendor options and unique ideas to make my day memorable and not terribly expensive. Front Porch Farms has a lovely outdoor setting and very country chic atmosphere for a beautiful wedding at any time of year. I would recommend this location toashy bride looking for a unique outdoor wedding experience. Kathy can also provide a variety of planning services tailored to the level of assistance desired.
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/14/2012
4.0/5.0
As soon as we stepped foot on to Front Porch Farms, my husband and I knew we would be married there. The view is stellar and unmatched. We wanted a formal yet relaxed, classy, whimsical, and natural wedding---we met those desires 100% at this venue. I wish I could say the weather was perfect, but even with what felt like 80 mph winds and a slight mist of rain the morning of the wedding, we were still able to have the ceremony where we wanted and Kathy, Brian, and the team turned around and blew us away with the setup and flexibility on the day of the wedding! It was absolutely the most stunning event and I am so thankful for everything they did that day to insure our day would be perfect!!

As far as the planning, and the only reason I did not give a complete 5.0/5.0 was the months leading up to the wedding. Kathy is an absolute godsend in providing an organizational table to make sure everything comes together, but it did not go without a bit of stress and a bit of an unorganized manner. HOWEVER, this is only natural and I did not hire Kathy as a planner---she went above that. She excelled as our coordinator for the day and kept everyone on cue. If you marry here, I strongly advise you to hire an outside wedding planner that can do your vendor planning and solely utilize Kathy's endless resources on budget friendly and quality services. If you find yourself in stress or weary of the day, REMEMBER this is their home and they are opening it up to you, your bridal party, and your 100+ fun guests. They spend their days mulling over logistics and ways to improve their beautiful venue for YOUR sake...at this, they excel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cbansbach
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.0/5.0
Great for the laidback bride who loves the outdoors and a down-to-earth coordinator. Front Porch Farms is fairly new and growing a wedding business right now, so it has it's kinks, but overall a WONDERFUL choice for a wedding venue. I LOVED my wedding. I did most of the decor and design on my own, but Kathy put some last minute final touches on it that made it perfect. Just stay flexible and enjoy! If you have the money just pay Kathy to do it all! Love her style.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/7/2014
3.8/5.0
This venue is absolutely beautiful, but think twice on booking. They respond quickly at first but as time passes information gets lost in the cracks. I had to call my bank twice telling Kathy of specific check numbers so she had proof I paid for deposits, amount owed etc. There was a huge lack of organizational skills. Conversations were taken place between both Kathy and the assistant... and neither seemed to ever know what I was talking about like they were not in good communication themselves. I had to keep asking for the rental contract a week before my wedding. She even stated in an email she was dragging her feet. I am an understandable person, but I shouldn't have to be dealing with finances and details of the wedding 2 days before I say I do. A couple days before the actual wedding she emailed me saying we were allowed to have clear alcohol for getting ready but it had to be cans and have solo cups. The groomsmen got ready in the barn, while the bridesmaids got ready in the suite. Trash was put in trash cans and yes there might have been a few cans on the kitchen counter. We were told we left trash. I assumed after paying over $5,000 to rent the venue etc. taking a bag of trash out from where the party got ready was included. We also lost $500 security deposit bc people brought beer off of the bus and because people smoked cigarettes in non designated areas. It rained first off the day of my wedding. I am not for people breaking the rules, but I am sure most didn't know where to smoke since the cigar bar is not covered. Also, if I had been informed people were bringing alcohol of bus I would have told the bus drivers to lock the buses up to prevent the issue from even continuing. There were several things that were spoken of as far as design and décor that were not completed as planned, but do you get money back for that? No, you just loose your deposit if even one person breaks a rule. Better send your guests the entire contract so they know the rules.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1294864562088-img2607
*Makin' Plans*
Wedding:
3/26/2011
3.5/5.0
It seems that I had a different type of experience...
I would like to say that I fell in love with Front Porch Farms from the moment I saw it. From the first time my husband and I visited the venue I envisioned that our wedding would be there. Kathy was quick to respond to the emails I sent her too. There were some events occured that left me disappointed though.
Just to let you know that if it happens to rain on you wedding day(which it did on ours) you will be responsible for getting the siding for the pavilion and the groomsman (and any other men who are present) will be put to work hanging the siding (this happened the MORNING OF the wedding). The guests who arrived early the day of the wedding were asked to help decorate too (this was to be done by Kathy and her crew). Anything, and I DO mean anything, that you use will have a pricetag attached. Even though I had set up meetings with Kathy beforehand she always had her two year old present which interferred with the time and concentration of discussing the details of the wedding. All and all the wedding turned out perfect in the end I just wished I had known some of these things before I signed the contract.

Hope this information helps.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Bride S:
I felt so bad when the forecast called for rain. We discussed options a day or two before and the most economical plan was to get the sides. I agreed to pay half and arranged to get them and take them back to save money. You were responsible for 1/2 the rental (I believe less than $300 for all the sides but I'll have to check) much less than so many places that require a tent. Thank goodness we have the pavilion. We also offered our help in putting them up the day before to save money but you had no one who could help until the morning of the wedding. Again, we could have had the rental company do it but that would have cost more and I was trying my best to save you any money I could.

Regarding the decorations, I was never hired to decorate your wedding but I just did it for free because I wanted to help. You rented our venue at a certain rate but that rate (as we explained) did not include the tables, chairs and linens I had to rent. I set up everything myself and never sat down the entire day. The girls that came early with you that morning I assumed were there to help and with the rain being a factor, i decorated with 2 plans in mind, one if it didn't rain and you could use the front yard and another alter area in the pavilion in case you had to get married in there and I wanted it to be perfect for you despite the rain. I worked so so hard to make you happy! I even donated all of my candles to use because it was overcast and you wanted candles after you had opted not to buy any. I didn't charge for them and there were tons!

Regarding my children, you asked for meetings on specific days and at 5pm when you got off work and was in our area already. Brian is a fireman and is gone many days. On the days/times you requested (the two meetings you are referring to) that was the case. With enough notice i can get child care but I explained when you wanted to meet that my daughter would be with me and you said no problem. She was 2 at the time and not patient with long meetings. I felt like I accomplished a great deal for you, helped you stay in your budget with discounts and vendors and did many extras that day. I sincerely do care about your having a wonderful wedding day. Things happen and we have to deal with it the best we can and all I can say is despite the rain I did the best I could to make it beautiful for you. I'm very sorry that it wasn't. Kathy
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
11/2/2013
3.0/5.0
Front Porch Farms is a beautiful venue and our wedding day ended up looking beautiful. I would recommend using the venue. However, I had a very negative experience working with Kathy as my planner and I would NOT recommend hiring her as your planner. Originally, I was going to hire an outside planner, but after asking Kathy for recs she suggested just hiring herself as my planner since she knew all the vendors and would be cheaper. This sounded reasonable, but I regretted the decision within a couple months. I will say that Kathy is extremely busy and works her tail off, so it is not like she wasn't trying. But, I was very clear from the beginning what I needed from a planner and Kathy said she could do it. I told Kathy that I did not have the time to finish planning my wedding due to a new job, so the planner would have to finalize all details, design a decor plan, and execute decor. I had already hired all vendors except rentals. Kathy said she would do an inspiration board for the decor, come up with a plan, talk about details with me in person, and go through all of her props. None of that EVER happened. I actually had to keep reminding Kathy that I had hired her as my planner and asked her about the inspiration board, decor, etc. She kept saying she would do it but never did. She actually asked me 8 days before my wedding who was doing decor and setting it up. This was shocking, as we had multiple conversations that she was supposed to be doing that. She also didn't order any of my rentals until the week of the wedding and ended up not being able to order the heater b/c it wasn't available. She then asked my dad to find and rent a heater 5 days before the wedding! My rental order was incorrect (wrong #s and color tablecloth). The final straw was when she walked up to me the morning of my wedding asking if the bride had arrived yet (seriously).Her disorganization and lack of professionalism caused a lot of anxiety and basically ruined the entire process.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Dear Becca, I read the review & am little surprised. When we met on decor with the florist I recommended, she did the inspiration board. Then I set up a table & she did an actual arrangement with flowers at the house also. I did a 7 page schedule organizing all the details of your wedding & we followed it to the "T". I did a tentative rental order to Southern Events long before your wedding but I always do the final order the week of the wedding per their request. As for the wrong linens, the main tables were correct per the order but they sent linens too small for the tall bistro tables by the pool. I didn't want you to have tables with legs showing so I switched them out for my own neutral ones that were very close to the color you ordered so they would look better. I do believe your mom ok'd it. I didn't charge you for my linens & I believe Southern Events credited you for their mistake but I'll check again. The heaters were a different company & I emailed them as I normally do (I have the email confirmation) to place the order. However, I did ask your dad to handle payment. Brian spent a great deal of time that night trying to get one to work that wasn't working like it should & after the wedding we immediately reported it to Classic Party so they would credit you that. You are right, I did work my tail off as did the staff & I might have missed something but the vendors can vouch for me that they were well informed with all the details. There were no issues that came up & everyone seemed very happy so I am deeply sorry and surprised to hear this. I would love to talk to you more. Regarding when you arrived that morning, I had only seen you a few times and never without makeup. You looked so much younger without it & I thought you had to be a younger sister! I realized the mistake after I said it and apologized. I guess there are worse things to mistaken for but I am sorry. I would love to call you to talk further. KB
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/21/2011
1.2/5.0
This location is beautiful, however I learned a few things about this place that I hope will help any bride-to-be in planning her location. Initially, I was told that everything would be included in the $3500.00 fee (full access to the entire property all day and night of the wedding, chairs, tables, etc.). When I went to tour the property, once again I was assured that this would all be included, as well as some things she had on hand like an arch and decorations. I signed the contract with this pretense.
Once we started getting closer to the wedding, fees started popping up out of nowhere. As you may know or will soon find out, this is very scary when you are so close to the wedding and your budget has already been spent or alloted to be spent elsewhere. For instance, there was now a charge for the tables, chairs and decorations, as well as a $500.00 security deposit that was due before the wedding, which we understood would be returned after the wedding if no damages had been incurred. While this is often standard procedure, having it pop-up unexpectedly was annoying. After the wedding, even though we covered our tracks of ever being there and everything was left in great condition, they still ended up depositing the check!
Reading other reviews, I will agree that these people are friendly and fairly quick to respond to emails, although not as quick to give me the information I requested from them. They also did have the children present during meetings and the entire wedding day!!!
If it was only these things, I still would've cut them some slack and given them a better review, however, brides need to be warned about this property further. The beautiful home you see in the pictures is completely OFF-LIMITS. These people DO NOT want people in their home AT ALL! They kicked out my family and other guests and made them wait outside in the heat. While we got ready upstairs I was not allowed to bring a beverage in the room, but had to drink it in the kitchen. At the end of the night, they all but threw my stuff out on the front lawn. The day of the wedding, I had to have my wedding planner set up THIER equpiment (tables, chairs, decorations that I paid them for after they said I would get it included). All of these things are incredibly small in comparision to the kicker:
These people after all of the money they received (and more) continued to ask for MORE MONEY THE DAY OF THE WEDDING!!! When we declined, they ASKED OUR GUESTS FOR MONEY! I can't begin to say how terrible this made both them and us look. In addition to this, they made my mom and my wedding coordinator cry with all of the drama they were feeding us. Needless to say, this is the very last thing anyone would want to remember their wedding day being like. Granted, we still managed to have a beautiful wedding and reception and are so happy just to have each other and our families there. If I wasn't so even tempered it could've turned out to be the worst day of my life. Obviously, weddings are not meant to be perfect and something will inevitably go wrong, but if you don't want to deal with these antics on your wedding day, I would cross it off of your list.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Front Porch Farms responded with the following comments:

Dear Bride E,
I'd like to first tell you that I'm very sorry if your experience was not as great as you had hoped. I apologize for anything I might have done or not done that could have contributed. I'm amazed at this review after all the hard work I did that day to help your wedding planner pull this together when you called her in last minute. Despite your assurance you were handling there was no schedule, layout or plan. I was even asked to direct your ceremony on the fly and there were no processional details or music selected! I did it somehow. I'd like to point out other discrepancies of this review. Yes, your contract included tables and chairs and many items I included for free but I did point out and you agreed (i have the email) that there were some things that would cost extra - specialty items and farm tables. You could use the free tables and your own decorations or my standard free ones but you and your planner agreed to switch to the farm tables at the extra cost and asked to rent some of the decorations that were not included in your package. As for the $500 security deposit, this along with many policies in our contract were completely disregarded. It is evident that you never read it. The reason you lost this deposit was because I arranged (per your and your wedding planner's request) to rent pavilion sides needed due to rain and wind. I split the cost with you and handled pick up and return for you so you wouldn't have delivery charges and I was never reimbursed for that on my credit card nor some of the extra rentals you decided on last minute. Other policies that you disregarded (but your wedding planner backs me up on) is no guests allowed in the main house (they are free to go to the pavilion or guest house with ample bathrooms), no food or wine in the bridal suite but allowed downstairs (water or clear liquids allowed so as not to damage your dresses or our furniture) and the bridal suite is for pre-ceremony prep but not an all night hang out (your girls brought red wine and other guests up there, nursed babies and lounged while the reception was going on). It was your wedding planner (who was mortified) that gathered up everyone's things to encourage them to stay downstairs. I assume she gathered up your things for you sometime during the evening but it certainly wasn't me.

As for our children being present for meetings, when couples want to meet at our house during dinner and evening hours, I can not kick our children out. I am so happy to meet during the day here or at my office or even the guest house if my children were an issue. As for them being at our house for part of the evening (they were gone most of the day) they stayed inside (again the main house is primarily private residence not guests). However, your groom and even yourself asked us if were going to come out and get something to eat. Even after that invite, we kept ourselves and our children far outside the pavilion area by the pool.

As for the kicker: Your well meaning planner broke into tears over the stress of trying to handle things on your behalf including balances due. I won't speak for her on WHO exactly what made her cry but I will say it wasn't us and she will gladly back me up. She's quite a professional and has never dealt with such an ordeal. I never asked you nor your guests for money. I asked her to get it at the end of the night but when she tried she was refused. I applied your security deposit to the charge on my credit card. I'd be glad to show you that invoice, our contract and the extra rentals you requested to resolve things. I'd never in a million years want to be unfair or wrongly charge you for anything.

Again, I'm sincerely sorry you were not happy. It was an amazing reception despite the challenges and stress we all endured. Kathy

MAP

 
1188 Ben Collier Road, Charlotte (Nashville), TN 37036 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Front Porch Farms
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1352460201401-phindystudios0095