130x130 sq 1277244818239 1

Gabriel's Desserts

Marietta , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

800 WHITLOCK AVE NW , Suite 135
Marietta, GA 30064 US (map)

PHONE

770-427-9007

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Since 1989, Johnnie Gabriel has been in the business of baking. It could be said that Johnnie’s talent for cooking and baking is genetic, with one of America’s favorite cooks, Paula... Read more
Since 1989, Johnnie Gabriel has been in the business of baking. It could be said that Johnnie’s talent for cooking and baking is genetic, with one of America’s favorite cooks, Paula Deen, as her cousin. But Johnnie’s baking career did not begin as a conscious choice.

She along with husband, Ed, began baking on nights and weekends to supplement their income during the tough times, a recession and college tuition bills can bring. Johnnie had watched her mother and grandmother bake desserts and cook meals for their family, and reasoned that she too could make enough cakes to make a difference.

In 1996, seven years after their baking venture began, Johnnie and Ed made the decision for Johnnie to leave her day job and open “Gabriel’s Desserts”. They started with 2 bakers, along with the talented team of Johnnie and Ed. Growth each year led Gabriel's to hire professionally trained pastry cooks, cake decorators, bakers, a pastry chef and customer service personnel to meet demands for a made-to-order quality ingredient, freshly baked from scratch, homemade cake just like your grandmother used to have time to bake.

Since 2003, Gabriels has tripled their space and expanded their list of desserts and savory foods, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner six days a week. Today, a customer can dine in or take home gabriel's freshly prepared food all from quality ingredients! It's a family tradition!

Melding an American family tradition of homemade desserts and professionally trained staff has brought forth wedding and special occasion cakes, originally designed for each customer, and desserts for all occasions filling the bake list each week. Holiday bake lists overflow with home style, made from scratch cakes and pies that Johnnie and Ed used to bake at home. Cakes are shipped weekly to various parts of the USA and daily during the Holiday Seasons.

Chosen best of Atlanta 7 times by Atlanta magazine, Gabriels has been called “The Little Shop of Wonders.” You can also find some of our dessert recipes in cousin Paula Deen's Desserts cookbook, "Cooking With Paula" magazine and on The Food Network's web site found links to Paula's various television shows. Also, you can enjoy some of Paula's recipes when you dine in or pick up at Gabriels.


From Johnnie and Ed and the talented staff at Gabriel’s Desserts, ‘Thank You’ for your continued business and loyalty – you have made Gabriel’s a local favorite! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1276033521951 p10100742
130x130 sq 1276033777436 img37752
130x130 sq 1276033777561 fondant.ribbons.gardenias2
130x130 sq 1276033784826 img38472

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Gabriel's Desserts made my husband's groom cake and it turned out AMAZING! I asked for an Auburn football helmet and I was blown away by the realism of the cake and not to mention it was super delicious!
Gabriel's Desserts made my husband's groom cake and it turned out AMAZING! I asked for an Auburn football helmet and I was Read more...
Gabriel's Desserts made my husband's groom cake and it turned out AMAZING! I asked for an Auburn football helmet and I was blown away by the realism of the cake and not to mention it was super delicious! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Megan
Wedding:
1/17/2015
5.0/5.0
Our guest's raved about the cupcakes we had at our wedding! We got so many compliments, and many told us they had more than one! They were great to work with, and were accomodating with the design we had for our cake. They are very creative, and can do just about anything!
Our guest's raved about the cupcakes we had at our wedding! We got so many compliments, and many told us they had more Read more...
Our guest's raved about the cupcakes we had at our wedding! We got so many compliments, and many told us they had more than one! They were great to work with, and were accomodating with the design we had for our cake. They are very creative, and can do just about anything! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Ariane
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
I happened across Gabriel's at a wedding show that I didn't even want to go to, and I'm so glad I did. My cake (Italian cream) tasted AMAZING, and looked beautiful. I was especially impressed by the time Pam spent with me determining layer size combinations and frosting style. The three full size sample cakes were definitely not necessary, but we thoroughly enjoyed eating them all!
I happened across Gabriel's at a wedding show that I didn't even want to go to, and I'm so glad I did. My cake (Italian Read more...
I happened across Gabriel's at a wedding show that I didn't even want to go to, and I'm so glad I did. My cake (Italian cream) tasted AMAZING, and looked beautiful. I was especially impressed by the time Pam spent with me determining layer size combinations and frosting style. The three full size sample cakes were definitely not necessary, but we thoroughly enjoyed eating them all! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/27/2014
4.7/5.0
We really loved working with Johnnie. She was great! We were very suprised that they let us take come 3 small cakes for the cake tasting. They were huge! We had to take them to work and give them away because it was way too much for us but its a great way to fully taste the cake with the different layers. We picked a slab of bacon as the design and although the groom liked his cake and guests thought it was cute it didn't quite look like the picture we had gave them but it was still a hit and tasted amazing. We also go to Gabriel's to eat every time we are in the area because their food and other desserts are amazing!!!!!
We really loved working with Johnnie. She was great! We were very suprised that they let us take come 3 small cakes for Read more...
We really loved working with Johnnie. She was great! We were very suprised that they let us take come 3 small cakes for the cake tasting. They were huge! We had to take them to work and give them away because it was way too much for us but its a great way to fully taste the cake with the different layers. We picked a slab of bacon as the design and although the groom liked his cake and guests thought it was cute it didn't quite look like the picture we had gave them but it was still a hit and tasted amazing. We also go to Gabriel's to eat every time we are in the area because their food and other desserts are amazing!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Kitty
Wedding:
5/23/2014
4.4/5.0
The cake was beautiful, looked better than I could have imagined. The cake tasted wonderful, for which I received many complements from guests. They have an abundance of flavors to choose from of which you can sample so you will not be disappointed. It was the finishing touch to a perfect day. Thank you gabriel's.
The cake was beautiful, looked better than I could have imagined. The cake tasted wonderful, for which I received many Read more...
The cake was beautiful, looked better than I could have imagined. The cake tasted wonderful, for which I received many complements from guests. They have an abundance of flavors to choose from of which you can sample so you will not be disappointed. It was the finishing touch to a perfect day. Thank you gabriel's. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Aly
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
We love the team at Gabriel's Desserts, Johnnie is so easy to work with. They did a fantastic job on my bridal cake as well as my husbands grooms cake. We can't wait to eat our anniversary cake in 2015. I highly recommend them if your wanting a the perfect cake, you won't be disappointed.
We love the team at Gabriel's Desserts, Johnnie is so easy to work with. They did a fantastic job on my bridal cake as Read more...
We love the team at Gabriel's Desserts, Johnnie is so easy to work with. They did a fantastic job on my bridal cake as well as my husbands grooms cake. We can't wait to eat our anniversary cake in 2015. I highly recommend them if your wanting a the perfect cake, you won't be disappointed. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1375808937350 avatar
Heather
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.1/5.0
I was not impressed with the cakes at the tasting my venue had, but that's the cake they use and not everything do I have to be over the moon about. I was shocked that they gave us three large rounds for our personal tasting, it was too much cake. Too much to carry, and too much for people trying to lose weight for a wedding, but some people might like that. Our cake was very small due to the size of our wedding. It needed to be put on a stand or it just looked sad. I think $35 for a banged up, tarnished stand is a bit much, but the venue had no other advice. We had to bring the stand back as well. The decor on the cake was lovely, we picked it out of a previous photo and they recreated exactly. The colors went well with our theme. We paid an extra $10 for two ribbons (really the fondant beneath the ribbon). Everything tasted like buttercream to us. That's all we took away from the flavor, buttercream buttercream buttercream. It was good buttercream though, but, a little cake flavor would be nice. I have the entire cakes to bring to the office after the tasting, and my coworkers devoured them, but had lack luster reviews. I think it's typical wedding cake so I still say go for it. I was disappointed with the confusion over my order when i called 20 minutes after my invoice was emailed to me to pay. The caterers had already left for the day, and the young man had no idea about my cake. he listed off 20 names of cakes for that Friday, which of course will make a bride panic. I insisted the cake would be under no other name. No seriously kid, no one else is involved in planning this wedding. No, it's not under my mom's name, she lives in another state. We came here, we ordered it, we are paying for it, stop reading random names off to see if i recognize one. He charged me anyway based on what i said the invoice said (an extra fee for the stand and ribbon) but I still received a call the day of my wedding to pay for my cake, which no bride wants.
I was not impressed with the cakes at the tasting my venue had, but that's the cake they use and not everything do I have Read more...
I was not impressed with the cakes at the tasting my venue had, but that's the cake they use and not everything do I have to be over the moon about. I was shocked that they gave us three large rounds for our personal tasting, it was too much cake. Too much to carry, and too much for people trying to lose weight for a wedding, but some people might like that. Our cake was very small due to the size of our wedding. It needed to be put on a stand or it just looked sad. I think $35 for a banged up, tarnished stand is a bit much, but the venue had no other advice. We had to bring the stand back as well. The decor on the cake was lovely, we picked it out of a previous photo and they recreated exactly. The colors went well with our theme. We paid an extra $10 for two ribbons (really the fondant beneath the ribbon). Everything tasted like buttercream to us. That's all we took away from the flavor, buttercream buttercream buttercream. It was good buttercream though, but, a little cake flavor would be nice. I have the entire cakes to bring to the office after the tasting, and my coworkers devoured them, but had lack luster reviews. I think it's typical wedding cake so I still say go for it. I was disappointed with the confusion over my order when i called 20 minutes after my invoice was emailed to me to pay. The caterers had already left for the day, and the young man had no idea about my cake. he listed off 20 names of cakes for that Friday, which of course will make a bride panic. I insisted the cake would be under no other name. No seriously kid, no one else is involved in planning this wedding. No, it's not under my mom's name, she lives in another state. We came here, we ordered it, we are paying for it, stop reading random names off to see if i recognize one. He charged me anyway based on what i said the invoice said (an extra fee for the stand and ribbon) but I still received a call the day of my wedding to pay for my cake, which no bride wants. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Annmarie
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son in law were married on Sept. 7 2013. Gabriel's desserts created the most beautiful (and delicious ) wedding cake for them. I would highly recommend Gabriel's bakery. We thank them very much.
My daughter and son in law were married on Sept. 7 2013. Gabriel's desserts created the most beautiful (and delicious ) Read more...
My daughter and son in law were married on Sept. 7 2013. Gabriel's desserts created the most beautiful (and delicious ) wedding cake for them. I would highly recommend Gabriel's bakery. We thank them very much. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Monique
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
LOVED LOVED LOVED the wedding cake!!!! Gabriels cakes are awesome!!!! If you want a cake that is gorgeous on the outside....done just the way you want it per your design ideas...........AND SO YUMMY on the inside...RUN to Gabriel's for your cake.

If you want a wedding cake that isn't just a regular cake on the inside...use Gabriels. Our guests RAVED about the cake.

We did a really fun pre party cake tasting first. Gabriels baked us four cakes for a lunch group to sample and we made a party out of this and held a "Vote". We tried Strawberry, Hummingbird, Italian Creme and Raspberry Pound. Oh my word, they are all so delicious and moist. Make an event out of your cake choice process. Loads of fun!

Our wedding cake choice was half Hummingbird and half Strawberry. The cake looked spectacular and guests ate it all up. We did a five layer round cake and also did two kitchen cakes to have sliced and ready to serve our guests. (we had 185 guests) This worked out perfectly.

Pam was a joy to work with all along. The cake was delivered on time and their service could not have been better. Her calculations for cake size and serving were accurate.

Stop by and pick up one of their cakes to try and you will fall in love with Gabriel's.
LOVED LOVED LOVED the wedding cake!!!! Gabriels cakes are awesome!!!! If you want a cake that is gorgeous on the Read more...
LOVED LOVED LOVED the wedding cake!!!! Gabriels cakes are awesome!!!! If you want a cake that is gorgeous on the outside....done just the way you want it per your design ideas...........AND SO YUMMY on the inside...RUN to Gabriel's for your cake.

If you want a wedding cake that isn't just a regular cake on the inside...use Gabriels. Our guests RAVED about the cake.

We did a really fun pre party cake tasting first. Gabriels baked us four cakes for a lunch group to sample and we made a party out of this and held a "Vote". We tried Strawberry, Hummingbird, Italian Creme and Raspberry Pound. Oh my word, they are all so delicious and moist. Make an event out of your cake choice process. Loads of fun!

Our wedding cake choice was half Hummingbird and half Strawberry. The cake looked spectacular and guests ate it all up. We did a five layer round cake and also did two kitchen cakes to have sliced and ready to serve our guests. (we had 185 guests) This worked out perfectly.

Pam was a joy to work with all along. The cake was delivered on time and their service could not have been better. Her calculations for cake size and serving were accurate.

Stop by and pick up one of their cakes to try and you will fall in love with Gabriel's. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1360611907991 2070301015014971386019465961519369002538370788n
Micachoo
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake came out exactly like I dreamed it would. Johnnie and Pam were great. My cake was delicious. Tiers of strawberry and lemon, was the best thing I ever tasted. Seriously, whenever I have an occasion to celebrate, or I just want some cake, I'm going there.

Also, they give you three small 7in cakes for your tasting. You can take them home and share with family and friends, or hoard for yourself. But honestly, all of their cakes are great. You can't go wrong here.
My cake came out exactly like I dreamed it would. Johnnie and Pam were great. My cake was delicious. Tiers of strawberry Read more...
My cake came out exactly like I dreamed it would. Johnnie and Pam were great. My cake was delicious. Tiers of strawberry and lemon, was the best thing I ever tasted. Seriously, whenever I have an occasion to celebrate, or I just want some cake, I'm going there.

Also, they give you three small 7in cakes for your tasting. You can take them home and share with family and friends, or hoard for yourself. But honestly, all of their cakes are great. You can't go wrong here. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
800 WHITLOCK AVE NW , Suite 135, Marietta, GA 30064 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gabriel's Desserts
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1277244818239 1