130x130_sq_1277244818239-1

Gabriel's Desserts

Marietta , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

800 WHITLOCK AVE NW , Suite 135
Marietta, GA US 30064 (map)

PHONE

770-427-9007

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Since 1989, Johnnie Gabriel has been in the business of baking. It could be said that Johnnie’s talent for cooking and baking is genetic, with one of America’s favorite cooks, Paula... Read more
Since 1989, Johnnie Gabriel has been in the business of baking. It could be said that Johnnie’s talent for cooking and baking is genetic, with one of America’s favorite cooks, Paula Deen, as her cousin. But Johnnie’s baking career did not begin as a conscious choice.

She along with husband, Ed, began baking on nights and weekends to supplement their income during the tough times, a recession and college tuition bills can bring. Johnnie had watched her mother and grandmother bake desserts and cook meals for their family, and reasoned that she too could make enough cakes to make a difference.

In 1996, seven years after their baking venture began, Johnnie and Ed made the decision for Johnnie to leave her day job and open “Gabriel’s Desserts”. They started with 2 bakers, along with the talented team of Johnnie and Ed. Growth each year led Gabriel's to hire professionally trained pastry cooks, cake decorators, bakers, a pastry chef and customer service personnel to meet demands for a made-to-order quality ingredient, freshly baked from scratch, homemade cake just like your grandmother used to have time to bake.

Since 2003, Gabriels has tripled their space and expanded their list of desserts and savory foods, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner six days a week. Today, a customer can dine in or take home gabriel's freshly prepared food all from quality ingredients! It's a family tradition!

Melding an American family tradition of homemade desserts and professionally trained staff has brought forth wedding and special occasion cakes, originally designed for each customer, and desserts for all occasions filling the bake list each week. Holiday bake lists overflow with home style, made from scratch cakes and pies that Johnnie and Ed used to bake at home. Cakes are shipped weekly to various parts of the USA and daily during the Holiday Seasons.

Chosen best of Atlanta 7 times by Atlanta magazine, Gabriels has been called “The Little Shop of Wonders.” You can also find some of our dessert recipes in cousin Paula Deen's Desserts cookbook, "Cooking With Paula" magazine and on The Food Network's web site found links to Paula's various television shows. Also, you can enjoy some of Paula's recipes when you dine in or pick up at Gabriels.


From Johnnie and Ed and the talented staff at Gabriel’s Desserts, ‘Thank You’ for your continued business and loyalty – you have made Gabriel’s a local favorite! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1276033521951-p10100742
130x130_sq_1276033777436-img37752
130x130_sq_1276033777561-fondant.ribbons.gardenias2
130x130_sq_1276033784826-img38472

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1375808937350-avatar
Heather
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.1/5.0
I was not impressed with the cakes at the tasting my venue had, but that's the cake they use and not everything do I have to be over the moon about. I was shocked that they gave us three large rounds for our personal tasting, it was too much cake. Too much to carry, and too much for people trying to lose weight for a wedding, but some people might like that. Our cake was very small due to the size of our wedding. It needed to be put on a stand or it just looked sad. I think $35 for a banged up, tarnished stand is a bit much, but the venue had no other advice. We had to bring the stand back as well. The decor on the cake was lovely, we picked it out of a previous photo and they recreated exactly. The colors went well with our theme. We paid an extra $10 for two ribbons (really the fondant beneath the ribbon). Everything tasted like buttercream to us. That's all we took away from the flavor, buttercream buttercream buttercream. It was good buttercream though, but, a little cake flavor would be nice. I have the entire cakes to bring to the office after the tasting, and my coworkers devoured them, but had lack luster reviews. I think it's typical wedding cake so I still say go for it. I was disappointed with the confusion over my order when i called 20 minutes after my invoice was emailed to me to pay. The caterers had already left for the day, and the young man had no idea about my cake. he listed off 20 names of cakes for that Friday, which of course will make a bride panic. I insisted the cake would be under no other name. No seriously kid, no one else is involved in planning this wedding. No, it's not under my mom's name, she lives in another state. We came here, we ordered it, we are paying for it, stop reading random names off to see if i recognize one. He charged me anyway based on what i said the invoice said (an extra fee for the stand and ribbon) but I still received a call the day of my wedding to pay for my cake, which no bride wants.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annmarie
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son in law were married on Sept. 7 2013. Gabriel's desserts created the most beautiful (and delicious ) wedding cake for them. I would highly recommend Gabriel's bakery. We thank them very much.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monique
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
LOVED LOVED LOVED the wedding cake!!!! Gabriels cakes are awesome!!!! If you want a cake that is gorgeous on the outside....done just the way you want it per your design ideas...........AND SO YUMMY on the inside...RUN to Gabriel's for your cake.

If you want a wedding cake that isn't just a regular cake on the inside...use Gabriels. Our guests RAVED about the cake.

We did a really fun pre party cake tasting first. Gabriels baked us four cakes for a lunch group to sample and we made a party out of this and held a "Vote". We tried Strawberry, Hummingbird, Italian Creme and Raspberry Pound. Oh my word, they are all so delicious and moist. Make an event out of your cake choice process. Loads of fun!

Our wedding cake choice was half Hummingbird and half Strawberry. The cake looked spectacular and guests ate it all up. We did a five layer round cake and also did two kitchen cakes to have sliced and ready to serve our guests. (we had 185 guests) This worked out perfectly.

Pam was a joy to work with all along. The cake was delivered on time and their service could not have been better. Her calculations for cake size and serving were accurate.

Stop by and pick up one of their cakes to try and you will fall in love with Gabriel's.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1360611907991-2070301015014971386019465961519369002538370788n
Micachoo
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake came out exactly like I dreamed it would. Johnnie and Pam were great. My cake was delicious. Tiers of strawberry and lemon, was the best thing I ever tasted. Seriously, whenever I have an occasion to celebrate, or I just want some cake, I'm going there.

Also, they give you three small 7in cakes for your tasting. You can take them home and share with family and friends, or hoard for yourself. But honestly, all of their cakes are great. You can't go wrong here.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Gabriel's cake was amazing! Pam was so helpful and attentive. They were so nice and easy to work with. Our actual wedding cake was DELICOUS and beautiful!!! We received so many compliments on our wedding cake! We definitely recommend you to use Gabriel's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1342396987717-img0636
Cheri
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Gabriel's designed a wonderful dessert station for us in lieu of a wedding cake. The desserts wow'd our guest and coordinated beautifully with the decor. Our wedding decor was an elegant navy, red and beige since we married on 7/7 to coordinate with Independence day colors. Gabriel's designed mini red velvet trifles with cream cheese filling, blueberries and raspberries between layers. They also prepared mini apple pies and cherry pies with raffia ribbon and mini spoons attached. We also served mini carrot cupcakes and vanilla cupcakes with fudge frosting. We offered "to-go boxes" that allowed guests to choose to eat the dessert at the wedding or take one home.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the second time I have used Gabriel's Desserts in Marietta for wedding cakes. The first time was 8 years ago at my oldest daughter's wedding. We loved that Johnnie Gabriel was open to trying anything we suggested and pulled it off to perfection. The cake was so yummy that we knew we had to use her for my youngest daughter's wedding. Delicious and a delight to work with! My only regret was that there was not enought left for me to take home!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Pam was wonderful to work with at Gabriel's Desserts. Choosing a cake flavor was harder than I had ever imagined and Pam walked me through all of my options and was very patient with me. Of course, the cake was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/7/2011
3.4/5.0
We did a cupcake wedding cake for our wedding. Gabriel's made us about 225 cupcakes in several different flavors. All were delicious!! They were totally flexible in accomdating our flavor preferences and gave us so many samples! They created several cupcakes from us that they do not typically offer - all you have to do is ask and they will try (and let you taste) whatever combination you want. We did chocolate mint, peanut butter banana, and pumpkin spice :)

That said, they didn't quite decorate the cupcakes as I had specified (e.g., added chocolate drizzle and sprinkles when I wanted totally plain icing). They also told me prior to pick-up that the cupcakes were fine without refridgeration, but told my sister (who picked them up) that they absolutely had to be refridgerated. Not sure about the communication mishap there, but all went well, they were delicious, and generally looked great (some inconsistency with amount of icing/size of cupcake, but nothing too extreme). I would use them again, and, in fact, have already ordered more cupcakes for an upcoming party.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1286604314864-img4589
Kristel
Wedding:
8/5/2011
4.8/5.0
Our Cake was amazing. We couldn't afford custom gum paste flowers, but she worked with my idea and found other flowers that would look pretty similar to the white orchid look we were going for.

My only comment was that perhaps the cake was just a tad too sweet for us. We were trying to see if it was possible to lessen the sugar by just a bit, and I feel like they reacted a bit offended. Told us they would never do that kind of thing because the recipe's were set in stone. My husband is a tad hypoglycemic so he couldn't eat much.

After all that's said and done though, we'd definitely go back. The cake tasted great and it looked absolutely lovely during our reception.

p.s. Make sure to drop by their store and have a sandwich.. they're all really tasty!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daisy12
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Both our wedding cake and the "bride's cake" (gluten-free chocolate cake for me) were fabulous. Most guests had both! The cakes looked beautiful and tasted just as great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emily
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
One wedding I went to had the world's best cake, so I did a tasting myself. We loved a lot of the cakes but decided on an almond pound cake with buttercream frosting. Very classic, but extremely delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
We got both the wedding and grooms cake from Gabriel's and they were amazing!! Cannot say enough good things about this bakery! We still buy birthday cakes from there even now. Delicious!

The only negative comment about them I have is that during our initial consultation, our consultant made the mistake of addressing me almost solely as the person who would make the decision regarding the wedding cake. This peeved off both my now husband and myself as he is the one who really cared about having a quality wedding cake. It almost cost them our business, he was son annoyed at being treated that way. However, I'm glad we stuck with them - the cakes were fabulous!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.7/5.0
Pam at Gabriel's Desserts was incredible to work with! She took all the time we needed and sat down with us to design two cakes that my husband and I absolutely loved. I'm not an artistic person at all, but Pam helped me look through all kinds of pictures, pick what I liked about them, and combine them all together into a design that I loved. The same thing for our Groom's cake. We got to pick different shapes and flavors in the layers, too! This was because I had a hard time picking from the delicious options! We used chocolate, which was amazing, as well as strawberry and lemon curd. I was pleased with all of them. The best part, besides the amazing service and stunning results, was that we were able to sample three different cakes and take them home to share with friends and family to get their opinions as well. I was incredibly pleased with Gabriel's Desserts and would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ENelson715
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake and groom's cake were Awesome! The cakes looked exactly as we had designed. I wanted a swirl design on the side of the cake that matched my wedding invitation and the finished product was perfect! The cakes looked and tasted great! The groom's cake was such a hit that there were only a few crumbs left at the end of the night. Johnnie was also fun to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1231112753748-garden
Michelle
Wedding:
7/18/2009
3.6/5.0
I loved working with Johnnie, but I sometimes felt the others in the shop were not always on the same page. The cake was delicious, but the presentation was poor. I had a simple 4 tiered cake, with ribbons on each tier with swiss dots. The ribbons were completed in fondant and were not straight and did not connect.

The groom's cake was also done by Gabriel's. It was a cupcake tower and I asked that the cupcakes be swirled and I even provided a picture, this was not done. By no means did this ruin my wedding day, but it really frustrated me that I paid over $800 and what I requested was not done.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FutureMMS
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Gabriel's was amazing. Great talent, very easy to work with and best of all- delicious! I highly recommend Johnnie- and the strawberry cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
k2008
Wedding:
7/26/2008
4.9/5.0
This wasn't a custom made cake but I must say it sure felt like it was. The cake was delicious and very elegant. I would highly recommend Gabriel's to anyone looking for a delicious cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/25/2008
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was completely gone as soon at it was cut - that's how tasty it was. The staff at Gabriel's made my cake exactly as I wanted it, and I had different flavors for each layer. I described exactly how I wanted it designed, and it turned out better than I ever imagined. Gabriel's not only made my wedding cake gorgeous, but also delicious (and that is the whole point of a cake). Without a doubt, I would recommend Gabriel's for anyone looking for a beautiful and tasty wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karensan
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Johnny is wonderful and her cakes are even better. We had four different type of cupcakes at our wedding! We simply couldn't decide on which delicious flavor to go with. So alas, we went with cupcakes. They were wonderful and our guests simply loved them. Use Johnny. She is the best!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joan
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Johnny Gabriel is an icon in the Marietta, GA, community. Her desserts are surpassed by none in the area - that I know of. We did a red velvet cake with white icing for my occasion. It was decorated with fresh flowers. I have never tasted anything so good. My guests raved about the cake for weeks. I made one mistake. I should have listened to Johnny about how much cake I needed for the number of people. I insisted that the size she suggested was not enough. I was terrified of not having enough. So I went with the larger size - - and had tons of cake left over!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosa
Wedding:
8/10/2007
4.9/5.0
You cannot go wrong with Gabriel's! My husband has enjoyed their strawberry cake for years, and could not wait to share it with all of our friends and family on our wedding night. Johnny, the owner, spent over an hour with us one after noon brainstorming our perfect cake. She has a wealth of knowledge and shared it freely. When we selected three options to sample, we were given three 7" cakes to bring home and share with the decision makers. Every morsel was delicious, but strawberry won--hands down. The cake was gorgeous, and the shop was willing to work with any material we wanted to incorporate. We dropped off ribbon and a topper the day before the wedding, and it was perfect when we arrived at the reception. Presentation was beautiful, and taste cannot be beat!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenée
Wedding:
1/6/2007
5.0/5.0
What a beautifyl cake I had!

Johnnie sat down with me one-on-one and we planned the cake of my dreams, including hand-rolled flowers cascading down the side of my cake (that way my first anniversary included the top of our wedding cake with flowers intact!), my husband and my initials monogrammed on the front, and details from the lace on my wedding dress covering the remainder of the cake. She was wonderful at thinking this up with me!

In addition--you're going to LOVE this!--Johnnie had us pick out three cake flavors that we wanted to test. We came back two or three days later to pick up our 'samples'--and they turned out to be three huge samples at that! Each individual sample cake was the size of the top layer of our wedding cake! None of my friends have had such luck...they've all been stuck trying to taste miniature squares of cake that leave you less than satisfied. At my house, however, the challenge was not picking out an amazing flavor (they were ALL amazing), but trying not to eat three cakes before the wedding!

Gabriel's was wonderful...I couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tewing
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
Johnnie (the owner) was AMAZING! A huge help! My wedding cake was made to look exactly like my dress, and it turned out absolutely breathtaking...she also made the most unique Groom's cake! I STILL get compliments on it to this day. It was a three tiered chocolate cake covered in all kinds of Little Debbie's snacks!!! Gabriels is not only talented beyond belief- they are so kind and they work with you on every single detail to make it perfect for you! I would recommend them to ANYONE AND EVERYONE!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
800 WHITLOCK AVE NW , Suite 135, Marietta, GA 30064 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gabriel's Desserts
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo