130x130_sq_1259762365581-boxtop1150x150

Gaia's Handfasting

Asheville , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Asheville, NC US 28806 (map)

PHONE

828-670-1768

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kindra designs custom handfasting cords for your wedding, handfasting,
union, bonding or tryst. The concept of a Handfasting is said to have
originated with the ancient... Read more
Kindra designs custom handfasting cords for your wedding, handfasting,
union, bonding or tryst. The concept of a Handfasting is said to have
originated with the ancient Celtic culture. With the peasant class, a
Handfasting was often used because the couple was not wealthy
enough to require one nor did they need one as there usually was
no dowry to arrange for. Conversely with the nobility class, a Handfasting
was used almost like a modern day prenuptial agreement. The Handfasting
was used to signify the betrothal of the couple before the business of the
dowry and entitlement was worked out.

Today a Handfasting can be used in many similar and dissimilar ways.
It can be used to signify an engagement or betrothal. Laws being as
they are today, a Handfasting is an excellent way for a gay or lesbian
couple to make their commitment known. Additionally a Handfasting
can be added to any wedding ceremony, regardless of religion, as
"tying the knot" is a universal wedding theme. Read less
Unique Services

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1259762801784-blackleatherbluegarnetchampgoldceltic33109
130x130_sq_1259763440643-whitegoldenlea92308f
130x130_sq_1259763440643-silkinfinityclose92108
130x130_sq_1259763482096-celestialbeauty62308
130x130_sq_1259763486065-satintriskeltreeoflifetourmaline82509
130x130_sq_1259763522706-blueceltictreeoflife92608
130x130_sq_1259763538878-6cordsetbluegreenredwhitesilvergold42009
130x130_sq_1259763577346-6cordseafoampurplegreenredblackbuttercream72209
130x130_sq_1259763582643-ivorysilveramethyst1709
130x130_sq_1259763678690-silverblackcelticmerigoldfernpurplewine53107
130x130_sq_1259763701534-ivorychampagn713108
130x130_sq_1259763717987-silverblackcelticsageburgandyivory22908
130x130_sq_1259763737346-leathertriskel51908
130x130_sq_1259763753253-whitemotherofpearl52908
130x130_sq_1259763767737-tartanguitarstring6308

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
My wife and I cannot be thankful enough for Kindra at Gaia's Handfasting. From our first contact with her she made herself completely available via phone, e-mail, facebook, and a face to face meeting with her to hand select everything about our handfasting from the order of the events to the vows and everything in between. She allowed us to make as many inclusions as we wished, all the while adding her knowledge and expertise to fine tune everything and make our day perfect! Never once did she say "no" or "I can't" or try to change our minds or influence us. To the contrary she was eager to help us customize our experience so that it was perfect FOR US! In addition to acting as our officiant she also handmade our unique, one of a kind handfasting cord. We were able to select the ribbon, the charms, everything; and it was gorgeous. We were able to select our date and time with no problems, and she was willing to travel to us, all for a price that was nearly half of what others were asking. Kindra could not have been more professional. Unbeknownst to us she had endured the tragic loss of her father just a couple of days before our ceremony. We did not find out until the ceremony was over. She put this personal tragedy aside and was smiling and super polite and accomodating to all our guests; not just during the ceremony but before and after as well. With all this said, it comes down to the simple fact that our Handfasting would not have been as special as it was without her. Any licensed minister can recite a wedding; it takes a truly special individual and a kind heart to provide the love, guidance, and overwhelming personal service that we got from Kindra; and Gaia's Handfasting is the only to have her. We absolutely recommend her to everyone.
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Kindra was the absolute best. I contacted her with short notice about the date of our handfasting/wedding. She made us the most perfect handfasting cords. In our initial contact, she asked me the colors and type and even allowed me to send her the charms we wanted to use in our cords. She had them finished very quickly, and made sure to forward them to use before we left for our trip. The cords were absolutely beautiful. When I saw the picture of the finished product, I cried. I am amazed at the outcome. She is a very, very talented individual, who cares about what her client wants. If you are considering a handfasting and need cords, you cannot go wrong with Gaia's handfasting.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
My handfasting cord from Kindra was breath taking , i received many compliments. The craftsmanship was wonderful. It added so much to my special day! Thank you!!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/14/2012
4.7/5.0
Beautiful cord. It was exactly what we had envisioned. There were some delays with delivery, but there was communication to let us know what was happening, which I really appreciated.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Kindra was an absolute delight to work with and created the most beautiful day we could have imagined!! I highly recommend her for anyone looking to have the most individually satisfying and completely unique wedding they could hope for!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ks
Wedding:
3/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Ladies! If you are planning a hand-fasting ceremony (even if you're not), Gaia's Handfasting is the vendor you want to use. Kindra makes beautiful cords, and you can tell they are made with love.

I'm thinking of buying some for friends who are in the planning stages as well.

Thank you Kindra! You're art will surely make our day special.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EcstaticAboutGaia'sHandfasting
Wedding:
3/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Our Handfasting Cord

We just received our chord today and I am astounded how beautifully intricate it is. Thank you so much for listening to our ideas and incorporating our wedding colors into this truly special piece of work.

Just FYI if you're thinking about having one made, we changed our minds twice about what we wanted and each time she sent a photo and responded quickly, working with our ideas and comments.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jhakewessell
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.4/5.0
The quality of our hand-fasting cord was wonderful! Gaia's wove a beautiful cord and shipped it in a timely manner! It was a truly magikal wedding, thanks to our custom hand-fasting cord!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SmlBsEnC2
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The custom cord that she created for my husband and I was beautiful! She took my ideas and ran with them to create a one of a kind cord. My husband and I used the pictures that the photographer took of it as a background picture in our wedding album since it came out so wonderful. We did not tell anyone that we were including a handfasting in our wedding so it was a nice surprise for our family and our mother's were the ones that tied the knot for us.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mickdano
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Kindra was amazing! She is truly a gifted woman. Our handfasting was very powerful and perfect! What an absolutely amazing ceremony. We can't express our appreciation enough. Kindra fit right in to what we had in mind and even added to it and kept with our intent. WONDERFUL! Thank you Kindra!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmccurdy
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
The handfasting cord was just beautiful and made it very special for us.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
podhopper
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are considering Kindra, no need to look any further--she excels as an officiant, planner, and friend! Her suggestions helped my husband and I shape our ideas into a memorable and unique ceremony and she did more than her share to make our celebration run smoothly. She also went out of her way to help us personally, which is something that we feel indebted and truly grateful for. 5 stars for the heart, with-it planning, and graceful delivery--
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was Friday, June 4th and I didn't find the Gaia's Handfasting website until Friday, May 28th. It said call for rush orders so I did. I described what I wanted and she had it finished and on a Fedex truck the next day. When it arrived it was even more beautiful than the pictures she sent.
Services Used: Unique Services
130x130_sq_1251940839330-may9th2009034
Lena
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Kindra is everything that you willl need in an officiant. She will absolutely do WHATEVER you want or need for your ceremony! She was 100% instrumental in making our wedding the MOST beautiful day of my life so far, hands down. Kindra really will take of your every ceremony need! Our ceremony had traditional elements as well as very unique, creative things that we just wanted to add in...also, she was great with including the two children into the ceremony. I hope your ceremony will be as amazing and beautiful to you as ours was for us!
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
5/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with our handfasting cord. When we saw the first photos, it wasn't quite what we were thinking, and Kindra made some suggestions and changes that made it absolutely perfect. We couldn't have been more pleased.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
AMAZING! Ordered the handfasting chord for my husband and me. We loved it and it was so beautiful in our wedding. Great material, charms, gems, etc. Would highly recommend to others!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
2/16/2010
5.0/5.0
I special ordered a handfasting cord. The design was beautiful, the quality exceptional. I received my cord on time and was more than exited with the final product. They took special care in making sure that everything was perfect.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jade
Wedding:
6/16/2008
5.0/5.0
I really enjoy the professional way the vender help my husband and I with our vows and the cermony.
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
Asheville, NC 28806 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gaia's Handfasting
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo