130x130_sq_1330454122981-08282004gale7.ashx

Gale Woods Farm

Minnetrista , MN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7210 County Road 110 W.
Minnetrista, MN US 55364 (map)

PHONE

952-472-9203

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2002
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn
Describe the style of your venue
Country
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
320
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/13/2013
4.7/5.0
A very beautiful and unique location that everyone enjoyed so much! Our contact at Gale Woods was very friendly, helpful and upbeat. It was easy working with her! The only downside were all the rules and restrictions they have, which IS understandable since it is part of the park district. Make sure you read through all the rules/restrictions and make sure they don't conflict with anything you want to do before committing so you don't end up frustrated. The rules weren't that bad for me since I knew ahead of time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
Beautiful venue loved that we are facing whale tail lake and the red barn. I didn't like all the restrictions but we made it work. They were accommodating in some areas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.7/5.0
This was the perfect place for us! I wanted a barn wedding and this was perfect. Beautiful outdoor ceremony spot and pavilion was perfect set up. Had so many guest comment on what a great place for a wedding. Yes, you do have to choose from their list of approved caterers but this was not an issue because the caterer I would have picked was on their list (Divine Swine). Would have liked to have been able to provide own beverages but their options for vendors made it so much more hassle-free. The hosts were all very friendly and helpful and we had a very low key group so we could have done without the security guard in addition to a host on duty but I suppose we made up for the nights he actually has to work hard for his money :). Biggest downfalls of this venue are not being able to get access to the pavilion until 10am the day of your event, makes for a scramble to pull it all together for a mid-afternoon ceremony and the lack of nearby accommodations (minimum 20 minute drive to nearest hotel) . Book early if you want a Saturday wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Very limited on what we could or couldn't do in regards to food, decorations, etc. did make it a little more challenging: however they were great to work with. Biggest complaint is they need to offer electric options at the ceremony site. I would even had paid! We had a big event maybe 250 so we really needed the speakers at the ceremony site and we had to coordinate with a rental company that ended up being awful to work with and setting up it all was such a pain. Gale woods did not recommend the rental company that was something I had found. Otherwise beautiful location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
First, the site is absolutely beautiful. The barn is perfect for receptions (clean, spacious, plenty of counter space, bathrooms, coat hangers, etc.), and the ceremony site is gorgeous. We even had sheep in the paddock at the front of our ceremony! As far as rules go, they may seem intimidating at first, but there are plenty of people to help understand them/make sure they are followed, and a lot of them are common sense for maintenance of the site. Rebecca and Tim were always available throughout the planning process, offering updates and advice when necessary. All the barn assistants during the event were ready to help with setup, cleanup, and questions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309930562677-paulandi
brittany
Wedding:
9/30/2011
3.6/5.0
The only issues I had with having my wedding at Gale Woods was all of the restrictions and rules they had. It is rather extensive... You can only have beer and wine. Now you must have the beverages catered. They have an "approved" catering list. You cannot bring in rented chairs for the outdoor ceremony site. You must rent theirs. You cannot have anything but recyclable and compostable paper goods. That means you cant bring in your own glasses..you must buy compostable ones from them. They also have several decorating restrinctions. You must shut the wedding down at 11pm. Plus MANY more restrictions.... It was a beautiful place to have my wedding, but I would have probably choosen another venue if i hadnt been so far into the planning. There are not many hotels around Gale woods also... kinda of a pain to coordinate where to get ready before the wedding as well. Just things to keep in mind when looking at this place. Hopefully this is helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trica
Wedding:
9/23/2011
4.4/5.0
This was a gorgeous place fora wedding. The staff was helpful.
A bit on the pricey side, but worth it in the end- the views are breath taking and how many people can say a herd of sheep were part of their ceremony?!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mm.woll
Wedding:
5/28/2011
3.9/5.0
Going green is great, except for when a venue tells you 5 months before the wedding that you have to use compostables, not disposables after you've bought them! The facility itself was absolutely perfect and everything I wanted. The one thing that bugged me was that the pavilion is not open during your rehearsal time, which was a problem since it was supposed to rain for our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aubrey
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.4/5.0
Beautiful setting! Overlooking WhaleTail lake, you feel as though you are out in the middle of nowhere, but in reality is only 20-30 minutes west of the cities. Three Rivers employee's definitely knew their information, and answered all my questions when I called.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
septemberbride
Wedding:
9/26/2008
4.8/5.0
We loved Gale Woods Farm. We had a pig roast, lawn games and s'mores. We had SO many comments (especially from my husbands friends) that this was the most fun reception that they had ever been to. A lot of our friends were very happy that it was such a kid friendly venue as well. The people at Three Rivers Park District were very knowledgeable and helpful. The only thing that I would ping them on is that our wedding was 5 months ago and we still haven't gotten our refundable deposit back yet.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennm
Wedding:
9/27/2007
4.8/5.0
Gale Woods staff was very willing to work with us and answer any question we had. Their staff was on-hand the day of the event. We chose this site because of the gorgeous ceremony overlook and the fact that the entire event could be held at one site (we had a lot of out-of-town guests and we didn't want to have them get lost between ceremony and reception!). It was hard to beat the cost, especially once we compared it to other locations. I gave four stars for flexibility simply because right around the time of booking Three Rivers Park District selected their list of caterers. We got in just before the deadline and got to choose our own caterer, but after looking over the lists, prices, and menus of the chosen caterers I was disappointed. We have had previous negative experiences with some of those caterers and none would use the food actually grown at Gale Woods. I love the site, but if I was to do it over again and was restricted to those caterers, I might look at other options!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BMG
Wedding:
6/29/2007
4.9/5.0
The only bad thing was that a police came and patroled the parking lot, and one of our guests had expired tabs. They impounded his car and he had to stay at our home for sunday (impound lot closed) until he could get his car back and drive back to Alabama.Not really the place's fault.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kalli
Wedding:
6/1/2007
4.2/5.0
My husband and I were interested in a laid-pack, fun and relaxing venue for our wedding reception. We decided to go with a park and found Three Rivers Park District, and from there found the perfect location of Gale Woods Historic Farms. The picnic pavilion is a newly renovated barn overlooking a beautiful lake with acres of land to give it a very old-time farm-y look! Gale Woods offers a complete package of picnic pavilion rental, game rental (such as horseshoes and volleyball), table and linen rental, and hours of outdoor exploring! Many of our guests commented on the beauty of the land, especially with the sun setting over the lake and barn. Gale Woods Historic Farm is the place for a couple looking for a fun and interactive environment!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
7210 County Road 110 W., Minnetrista, MN 55364 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gale Woods Farm
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo