130x130_sq_1361829027516-gamberdellalogosmall

Gamberdella Salon for Brides

Towson , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

30 W. Pennsylvania Avenue
Towson, MD US 21204 (map)

PHONE

410-828-7870

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

When mother and daughter, Rita and Mary Gamberdella started their bridal salon in 1978, little did they know that their company would touch the lives of so many brides and their families... Read more
When mother and daughter, Rita and Mary Gamberdella started their bridal salon in 1978, little did they know that their company would touch the lives of so many brides and their families for nearly 30 years. This legacy of elegant bridal fashions and highly personalized client service continues today under the leadership of Mary Gamberdella. Mary’s cousin, Sharon Tamberino, is the salon’s general manager and provides wedding planning expertise for their clientele. Together, Mary and Sharon have maintained the family tradition of providing beautiful dresses and beautiful memories for the bride-to-be.

The staff of 12 specializes in the personal touch with the goal of creating a beautiful and memorable experience for brides from start to finish—whether they are looking for that special wedding dress or need all of the accompanying accessories including headpieces, veils, shoes, jewelry and more.

In the Towson shop with its signature black and white awning, brides are finding their dream wedding gowns in an atmosphere that is caring, warm and highly personalized.

That’s the Gamberdella way. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1361828743341-gamberdellasintowson1
130x130_sq_1361828822760-gamberdellasintowson2
130x130_sq_1361828825494-gamberdellasintowson3

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Yes, please call 410-828-7870 to schedule. Appointments last about one hour.
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
Dresses take about 6-9 months to arrive in the store once ordered. Allow 1-2 months for alterations as well. For an additional fee, dresses ca be rushed. Bridesmaids and mother's take about 8-12 weeks to arrive.
Do you carry new or once worn gowns?
New.
How often do you receive new dresses?
We receive new sample gowns every fall and spring.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
Yes.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
In addition to wedding attire, we also sell cotillion and graduation dresses.

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
2/27/2015
5.0/5.0
My parents came to visit me so that we could go wedding dress shopping. Gambradella's was the first of 6 appointments I had scheduled. After meeting Mary and telling her what I was looking for, she started putting me in dresses. Through telling her what I liked and didn't like, she lead me to the perfect dress. I had the moment, where you know you're wearing your wedding dress and immediately said yes. because of her sincere care and honesty, I canceled all of my appointments and purchased the dress on the spot. Mary was kind enough to allow me to come the next day to show my soon to be mother-in-law the dress as she was supposed to shop with us the next day. This was a wonderful experience and I am so happy I decided to schedule Gambradellas as my first, and only, appointment,
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phylicia
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
The only place my mom was willing to take me wedding dress shopping was Gamberdella, and their reputation absolutely held true for me. I loved their selection and found my perfect gown! Mary was so helpful throughout the process, and Eve is the best seamstress around! They were very flexible and even hemmed my mom's dress that was bought outside of the boutique. I highly recommend Gamberdella to anyone looking for a wonderful dress buying experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I went to many other dress shops in the area, and ended up being very happy with Gamberdella's inventory. The staff was helpful and the alterations were beautifully done. I would work with them again!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I was very very pleased with buying my wedding dress from Gamberdella's. It was the third bridal salon that I tried. They have very large, clean, pleasant private rooms to try the dresses on. The girls that work there are very professional and knowledgeable. I never felt rushed or pressured. When I bought my dress, they were very responsive every time I called to check on it. I was also very pleased with the alterations. They were very flexible in when I wanted to pick up my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacy
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
They helped a semi-clueless bride find the perfect dress on the first attempt! Loved loved loved my lazaro gown. Fittings were smooth and everything delivered on time. Would highly recommend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Such a great bridal salon. Mary was so helpful and amazing in helping me find my perfect dress. The turn around on the fittings was so fast and their work was perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Made an appointment here to search for gowns after driving by for years admiring the windows. I was worried the store wouldn't have many dresses in my $1500 budget. I cannot tell you how THRILLED I was at the service, selection and overall experience. Emily and Mary made my family and I feel totally at home. They pulled the perfect dresses, letting me try on different styles until we found the right ones. They were not trying to sell me or pressure me into making a decision before I was ready. The store was lovely and allowed us to have a private experience. I cannot say enough about how great it was, and after spending the afternoon in another store I would not go anywhere else again!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff at Gamberdella's was extremely knowledgeable. They made me feel at ease and helped to find me my perfect dress! They added straps to the dress with no problem. The setting in their small Towson Bridal Salon was much more comfortable for me than a large warehouse setting would've been. I appreciated the privacy and quietness. Yet their prices and selection were unbeatable. Thanks, Gamberdella! Your dress made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Let me just put it out there that I was not the girl who dreamed of my wedding dress.... on the contrary I had little idea of what I wanted to wear on my wedding day (other than it being white.) That's why I was so fortunate to be recommended to Gamberdella's Salon.
They really worked with me to figure out not only what would make me look beautiful, but help me feel comfortable. They would bring out a couple of dresses and would really take the time to listen to what I liked and what I didn't like about the dress. They would then bring out other dresses that better suited my taste. They also didn't try to sell me the most expensive dress, but rather sold me the dress that made me feel beautiful... And I did feel absolutely beautiful in my dress.
I did try other bridal salon's but came back to buy my dress at Gamberdellas. They made me feel completely comfortable and had the best selection of dresses.
Their tailoring was amazing as well. The dress fit me perfectly
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Nophoto-130
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding gown, floral sash and veil were absolutely stunning! Mary, the owner helped me find the perfect dress and I was able to schedule as many fittings as I needed. The seamstress, Eve was delightful to work with and did such a great job teaching my mom how to tie the bustle! Gamberdella has been one of the premier bridal salons in Baltimore for 30+ years and it is because they offer excellent service and have a great selection of gowns to meet the needs of every bride that walks into the boutique.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
4/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Great shopping experience. Made it fun to try on the many gorgerous dresses in the shop. Found my dress after only 3 tries. Casablanca. Thanks ladies.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marley
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding dress was perfect! Gamberdella's made my wedding dress shopping such a memorable experience, they were honest and new exactly which dresses to bring out based on what I was looking for and my reaction to other dresses. They gave me time to myself and family to discuss my thoughts on each dress and didn't pressure me!

Then once my dress came in, they went above and beyond to make sure it fit just right. My dress came in early and they kept it there until my wedding week for me. They were easy to work with, very professional but personable at the same time. I highly recommend shopping at Gamberdella's for your wedding dress or bridal party :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
The shopping process at Gamerdella's was very easy. I described what I wanted and they brought me many gowns to match that. At other salons they forced me to try on lots of different styles so that I could be sure - which was super exhausting and annoying! Gamberdella's never pushed me to try anything I knew I didn't like. They also gave me dresses that were well below my budget, not just right at my budget - which helped me save a lot of money.

I bought my dress right before there was a fire in the office next to Gamberdella's. I was a little worried when I saw the fire on the news, but the owner went in and retrieved all the dresses before and smoke damage occurred - which was a HUGE relief.

The alterations process was very easy. The seamstress is such a friendly and funny lady. At first I thought she seemed pushy but then I realized it's her sense of humor. She was a lot of fun to work with as a bombarded her with requests and questions. She taught me how to carry and sit in my dress. She also taught my sister how to do the bustle and fluff my train.

Great family to work with and amazing service!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Gamberdella was the very first place I went to look for a dress (almost immediately after I got engaged), and thank goodness! I went in with a picture of the back of a dress (not very specific) and the 5th dress they brought out for me was my dream wedding dress! It was amazing how quickly the staff were able to pick up on exactly what I was looking for, based on my comments about what I liked/didn't like about each dress. They were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the entire process was a true joy. Mary, the owner, was great about offering her advice and helping to make the dress as affordable as it could be, so it could be mine! Alterations were done perfectly, and they were very quick to get things done. I could not have asked for a better place! On the day of my wedding, en route to the reception, we were almost in an accident, and my dress ripped when the limo driver slammed on his brakes. We called Gamberdella the next day and they could not have been better about helping us get my dressed fixed. If you are looking for the perfect dress at a great price with personal service, this is your place!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that I purchased my dress at Gamberdella. They were so helpful and were able to find the perfect dress in my price range. They also have a great selection of jewelry and veils! I was especially impressed with the alterations to my dress. I lost a significant amount of weight from when I first bought my dress to when it arrived and it was altered to look as if it was custom-made to fit me on my wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annette
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I would like to thank all the ladies at Gamberdella's for finding me the perfect wedding dress! Believe it or not, I ended up purchasing the first dress I tried on. Like they say, when you know, you know! I did go to two other bridal salons, but nothing there compared to the dress I found at Gamberdella's. The dress complimented me in every way and I received so many compliments on my wedding day. Everyone LOVED the dress! Thank you again for all your hard work and for helping me look beautiful on my wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Kelsey
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
I visited a ton of wedding dress stores and Gamberdella's was by far the most attentive and helpful. I had no idea what I was doing and really loved the fact that they brought out their suggestions of dresses for me and would tweek the next dress selection based on my comments on the last dress. It really was a very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend Gamberdella's.

Alterations went great and really loved the staff. Very personable and they really know what they are doing. It was a little sad to say goodbye when I picked up my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey929
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I only went to two bridal salons to try on dresses. I had my trusty binder when I arrived at Gamberdella's & Mary sat & looked at all the dress pictures but then looked at me & said, "we just a dress in & I think it would look perfect on you but it's not like the ones you are showing me." I said that's ok, I'll give it try! I'm glad I took her advice because it was perfect! She brought in a couple other dresses for me to try but nothing was better than the first one! Everyone that works there was so great & even accommodated me when I just wanted to come in & try on the sample while waiting for mine to arrive :) My only complaint was how long it took to come in. I ordered it in October (one year before the wedding) and it took nearly 9 months to arrive! I was just thankful that I ordered it so far in advance! All in all, great experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gosia
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful. Very flexible and able to satisfy your needs. If you need an inexpensive dress, or if you need a very expensive one - they have a wide variety of options. Mary is wonderful to work with and very helpful. Definitely recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B. Port
Wedding:
9/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I shopped for my wedding dress at multiple locations in both Baltimore and Harford counties, and no other shops could compare to my experience at Gamberdella's. This was the first shop that I visited, and I worked with Sara, who patiently took me through the search for the perfect dress. I started out not really knowing what I wanted, but she helped me narrow down my likes and dislikes in a matter of minutes so I could focus on finding the perfect gown. I actually found "the one" during that first visit, and I found myself going back after visiting other shops and realizing that they could not compare to the level of service and expertise I recieved at Gamberdella's. Despite being a boutique shop, they are willing to work across many budgets, and the in-house alterations are both skilled and efficient.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vitranoj
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Great to work with
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
The ladies at Gamberdella were so accomodating and genuinely nice! I was living and planning from Texas for a MD wedding and they worked around my schedule of when I was going to be in town. Eve, the seamstress, is wonderful to work with. Mary made me a beautiful bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnphillips
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Gamberdella is amazing. Mary makes you feel like family and Eve does a wonderful job.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnphillips
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I adored Gamberdella! I loved my dress and all the employees. It was so easy to make appointment, and the seamstress was so sweet and helpful. Mary makes you feel like family!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1268435544473-6453tmrweb
Tammi
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Mary and her team were amazing! As soon as I walked in the shop I fell in love. I loved the set up and how comfortable everyone was. It was nice to not be in a stuffy shop and feel overwhelmed. I had a great experience and everyone was fun, friendly and helpful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
I just got married this past summer and was extremely happy with Gamberdella's bridal salon. Ever since I was a little girl I imagined going to Gamberdella's for my wedding dress whenever I would drive by their store and see the beautiful wedding dresses in front of their bridal store, so it was no surprise that when it was time for me to get married that I would be going to Gamberdella's to look at wedding dresses. In search of my wedding dress I went to Gamberdella's and another local bridal store Betsy Robinson's. All I can say is that Gamberdella's selection and customer service can't be beat. There was no doubt in my mind I would be finding my dream dress at Gamberdella's. Everyone in the store was extremely helpful in helping me find my dress. It can get overwhelming looking at so many dresses but they are completely professional and will pull many dresses for you to look over even if they aren't in your price range just so that you can compare different style dresses. I tried on a couple of dresses and fell in love with one it turned out that the designer said she could take the pick ups out of it and then said she couldn't. At first I freaked out I loved this dress, but one of the bridal consultants took the time to go into the basement of the store and came back upstairs with the most beautiful amazing wedding dress I had ever seen I instantly fell in love with it, I loved it even more then the first one I had fallen in love with. All I have to say is come to Gamberdella's if you want a stunning beautiful wedding gown that will give everyone that wow factor at your wedding. Everyone that works there is fantastic from Mary the owner to the other bridal consultants and the seamstress Eve really knows her stuff as well and will alter and bustle your gown so that it looks flawless on your wedding day. Go to Gamberdella's for a personal shopping experience that won't leave you feeling like just another bride in the store.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
5/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved Gamberdellas!!!!! The staff members were always super friendly, squeezed me in to fit my crazy schedule, and even took me when I was running late. I never had trouble getting in for an appointment for my original shopping or my fittings. I loved the selection they offer there, and that they didn't try to push me over my budget. They will only show you dresses that are under what you are willing to spend, starting with the lowest and working up. My dress came in two months ahead of when they said it would and I had a great experience with alterations. Eve did a fabulous job on my dress and the cost for this service was incredibly reasonable.

I don't recommend them for veils. Their veil designer was not friendly at all and they are crazy overpriced.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenfox
Wedding:
1/10/2009
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience at Gamberdella!! The staff was wonderful to work with..was willing to work within any budget, and helped me find the perfect gown. The seamstress was persistent in making sure my gown was exactly what I wanted. I would recommend anyone to try this store!!! It is family owned, and you are treated like family.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Gamberdellas was such a good choice for me!!! I found my dress there very early but let's get real, I could have found that same dress elsewhere. The important thing was how they treated me - like family. Mary really knows what she is doing and really cares that her brides are happy. I found my bridesmaids dresses at Betsy Robinson who had snobby people working there, so I went to Gamberdella's and had them order the bridesmaids dresses for me. Eve, the seamstress, does fantastic work. She is a bit pricey but if you want it done right, it's worth it!! I couldn't say enough good things about them to let you know how truly great they are. Go see for yourself!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
allyson
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Gamberdella did an amazing job on my wedding dresses! I got my dress, my bridesmaids dresses, my flower girl dress and my moms dress there! Everything was so beautiful! I also got my veil, shoes and alterations there! Everything was perfect and I will definitely recommend them for any bridal (or formal) event! They were the best!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1198252951718-smallpatanddes
Desiree
Wedding:
9/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Mary at Gamberdella was a joy to work with. She was always friendly when we came in to the shop and she stopped at nothing to help me find the PERFECT wedding gown. My girls' dresses were purchased there, too and they were gorgeous!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara K.
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
If Princess Diana had lived in Baltimore, MD then she would have bought her wedding dress at Gamberdella’s. That is all I need to say about this place. Fabulous!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
Mary is an absolute dream to work with. She can pick the right dress for you in a heart beat. They were so easy to work with and I found a dress that I never saw at any other bridal salon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/27/2007
5.0/5.0
I had a baby 9 months before my wedding day and had gained 75 pounds with him.. I was determined to wait as long as possible before I picked out my wedding dress because I wanted to lose all the baby weight first. Well I waited until 3 months before the wedding and put myself in a real bind. Mary Gamberdella didn't flinch. I was crying when I went into her salon becasue I was so afraid I wouldn't find anything I liked in time. She and her cousin had me smiling and feeling beautiful before I left and they found me the perfect dress. I couldn't have found a more perfect dress if I had started looking 2 years prior. It came in and my fittings were fantastically easy. Eve is a great seamstress and she had everything done very quickly. I loved my shoes, my head piece and my veil too - everything in one store and all went so perfectly together. I thought the price for the dress and the alterations was very good, very fair and the service was wonderful. Everyone there is really nice and they made me feel like they truly cared how I looked on my wedding day. The salon itself is also beautiful and they have some amazing dresses to choose from. I wouldn't send my friend anywhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abby
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
Everyone is so nice and helped me find the perfect dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Isabella8218
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
I love Mary and the girls at Gamerdella's! They helped chose the perfect dress for me and gave me great customer services throughout the whole process.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
12/30/2006
5.0/5.0
They were able to get my dress and alter it within a month! It was amazing because they originally told me it would take 3 months for my dress to come in.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
7/15/2006
5.0/5.0
Gamberdella's was great. The staff was professional, yet laid back. I didn't feel pressured to buy from them, but they provided plenty of options - and all in my price range. I would definitely recommend someone to head there!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/7/2006
5.0/5.0
One of my favorite vendors was Mary Gamberdella. Mary put me at ease throughout the entire dress selection, fitting and purchasing. She was fabulous. She helped me pick out a Richard Glasgow dress which I think suited me, my form and my style perfectly. I wish I could buy all of my clothes from Mary.

Gamberdellas is at 30 W Pennsylvania Ave, Baltimore, MD 21204.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scootie
Wedding:
7/24/2004
5.0/5.0
Great experience, very friendly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
I had a very positive experience at Gamerdella and would definitely recommend that those in the Baltimore make a visit, especially if they are in need of accessories and excellent service. Gamberdella really helped me when I needed to make a last minute change of dress one week before my wedding. I was extremely stressed because just bought a second dress (both dresses purchased elsewhere) and needed accessories to make the new look work. The saleswoman/seemstress India helped me find exactly what I needed and was incredibly patient and kind. Equally important, she was clearly an expert and offered me complete cohesive looks so that I could see all of my options and choose a belt, shoes and a veil that elevated my look. I needed exactly this kind of experienced eye and compassionate communication. I am so grateful that I found Gamerdella. GREAT SERVICE and beautiful pieces to choose from!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
happybride
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.9/5.0
I found my dream dress at Gamberdella's & it was very reasonably priced! I went to two other places before here & found dresses I liked but didn't love. I thought I wouldn't like that they don't let you browse through the dresses yourself, but I told Mary what I liked & didn't like & she did perfect on the dresses she pulled. The dress I got (Diamond Collection by Casablanca) was also very reasonably priced! Other places I went to I couldn't find anything with beading for under $2000, but I did here. My husband told me my dress looked like a million dollar dress. I also got my bridesmaid dresses from here & they were soo pretty too. The same dress at a different store was priced $40 higher. It did take a while for my dress to come in (could be because I ordered it really early) & I had to call to find out it was there, but they did call me right away about the bridesmaid dresses. The alterations were also great. Luckily I didn't need much but the lady was able to add a belt to the inside to take it in a bit without having to take in the whole dress so the alterations were really cheap!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Thank you Gamberdella! My dress was perfect. I was looking for a dress that was not strapless, and Gamberdella had the largest selection within my budget. It arrived a month earlier than they said it would, and scheduled the fittings around my work schedule. Eve is wonderful, the alterations were perfect and they charged me less than the original estimate. Perfect!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kfrankenfield
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.9/5.0
I knew I wanted to start at Gamberdella b/c I wanted to look at Lazaro dresses and not that many places have the styles I like from that line. Plus my matron of honor got hers there and recommended it.

Well, that was the only store I went to!! I hate trying on clothes in general. I worked with Sarah and she made it so pleasurable. She pulled all the styles I asked for, plus a few others as well as less expensive other brands. I tried on 13 dresses and did end up with a Lazaro, but not one I thought I would like by looking online! Sarah pulled it for me. She was not pushy as I came back with different people 3 times before making the final decision. This was nice considering it was more expensive than I thought I wanted to pay. But that is a Lazaro issue not Gamberdella.

Sarah was also great in helping me find shoes. The grace shoes I liked with a dark beading were lighter in color in my size (different batch??) She went so far as to try to contact he company to help me out! Sarah answered my emails and always knew my name when I cam back for my veil and fittings. Unlike others on this review site, my dress was not late (that I remember) and everything worked great. They were accommodating in finding me appointments to fit my busy schedule as well.They even let us take pictures in the dress sample even though my girlfriends said most places will not!

Eve, while abrupt, did a fantastic job. My dress was way too big due to weight loss and she transformed it!!! I should have listened to her experienced wisdom of not losing any more weight the last week. i had a perfect fitting one week before, but the dress was a tad big on my wedding day. I guess Eve knew what she was talking about!! She custom fitted an undergarment for me as well when mine showed out the sides of the dress, sewing it down to hide it. Everything was awesome at Gamberdella.

It is almost sad I won't be visiting their charming storefront with the fireplace and boutique yet homey feel!!!

Kristin Frankenfield (9-26-09)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1287603599064-100224johnandmeatiota
Whitney
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.8/5.0
After encountering one too many snooty bridal boutiques, I was so thankful to find Gamberdellas! A friend at my yoga studio bought her dress there 10 years ago and recommended I call them. I'm so glad I did! I had wanted to try a Casablanca dress on and they tracked it down for me no problem and gave me no attitude.

My only issue was a bit of a communication problem with their amazing seamstress Eve. She did a fabulous job, but she could have done a better job managing my expectations and explaining what alterations were being done and why they were the price that she quoted. But even when she gave me decorative buttons when I wanted functional buttons (be sure to ask for loops!) and I was disappointed, they fixed it free of charge and shipped it to me so I had it in 2 days.

Thanks Gamberdellas!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
7/16/2010
4.8/5.0
I knew I wanted to get my dress from Gamberdella's. My mom got her wedding dress from Mary Gamberdella 26 years ago, and Mary actually came to her wedding to make sure her train was fluffed properly. I don't think she does that anymore! My mom's two sister's were also Gamberdella brides 20-some years ago, one bought her dress there, and the other wore her mother-in-law's vintage lace gown, which Mary Gamberdella steamed and altered.

My consultants were Emily and Theresa. I went with my mom and grandmom, it was great because the salon was pretty much empty for our appointment. They did an excellent job of staying within my price range, and didn't bring in anything more expensive than what I was willing to pay. We were seeing a lot of things I liked, but nothing I really loved on me, so after an hour I started getting a little discouraged, and thought I'd come back another day during the trunk sale. Theresa suggested that I just try on a few trunk sale dresses while I was still there.

Before I ever went dress shopping, I had fallen in love with Lazaro dresses, but I knew they were out of my price range. I did not even breathe a word about Lazaro in Gamberdella's, although I knew they carried the designer... they brought me 2 ballgowns in from the trunk sale collection. One fit almost like a glove, it was absolutely perfect. And it was a Lazaro. Sharon Gamberdella gave me an awesome deal... the dress would not have been in my price range had it not been from the trunk sale. Thank you, Gamberdella's, for giving me my dream dress!

My bridesmaids also ordered their dresses from Gamberdella's and they were Bill Levkoff. They were a little non-traditional, in that the dresses were diamond white with an indigo sash, and the staff were very helpful in assisting me to fine a designer who's ivory/white matched my not-white/not-ivory dress. It was nice to be able to hold the dresses up to each other in the store! They were very reasonable in price to other salons (within the same brand) and were cheaper for alterations for what I thought was better service. The only snafu was that I had an out-of-town bridesmaid who called several times to give her measurements and may for the dress so they could all be ordered at the same time. She left her measurements on the machine in a message (which they got) but did not want to leave her credit card information. I had been told the only thing they needed was her measurements to order the dresses, but got a call in April for my July wedding that they still had not ordered the dresses because they hadn't received the deposit for that bridesmaid's dress. Luckily we resolved the issue within 10 minutes (cia BM calling and paying) and the order was placed that day... the dresses were in at the beginning of June, plenty of time for alterations. They looked stunning on the wedding day!

Eve was great with my alterations, and she was SO patient with me... I was kind of fidgety in the fitting room! But my dress was perfect for my wedding day. I never wanted to take it off!

Thank you to Gamberdella's for a great experience in our family. I hope to send my daughter to Gamberdella's for her wedding gown.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/16/2010
4.8/5.0
I had a very positive experience at Gamberdella's! I originally went here because they carried Nicole Miller bridal dresses, which are somewhat hard to find. I met with Sarah for my first consultation and she was SO helpful and nice. I left the store with a good feeling, although I didn't find my dress. I ended up making another appointment to come in a few months later because I really felt like they understood what I was looking for and had a good selection. The second time was the charm because Sarah brought out a dress I immediately loved. I didn't order it on the spot but did come back in later to order it. In the meantime, I called around to a lot of other bridal stores that carried the same designer, and Gamberdella's price was the same, or lower, than many of these other stores.

I knew the dress would take awhile to come in so I didn't worry about it. It came in over a month before my wedding, which was enough time for me. I didn't feel like I had many alterations done, but my bill was higher than expected. I also felt like Eve, the seamstress, was very rushed and didn't give me much time to really look at the dress during my fittings.

Overall, it came out beautifully and I would highly recommend Gamberdella's. I had a low budget and they always worked with me on this. I never felt like Sarah was trying to up-sell me...in fact, she frequently said she would never bring dresses outside my budget so I wouldn't fall in love with an unattainable dress. They have a beautiful and very cute shop...what I always imagined a bridal boutique would be!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christielee17
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.8/5.0
My gown looked great! The staff is very responsive and friendly and the alterations were reasonably priced and of good quality.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sandilax08
Wedding:
5/30/2009
4.8/5.0
I went to a few other bridal shops, but Gamberdella's really got the dress I was looking for. I really liked every dress they pulled out for me to try on. Once I found the perfect dress, they were great with scheduling my fittings and the dress came out beautiful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1303501776710-fbavatar52203111
Niki
Wedding:
4/15/2012
4.7/5.0
I found my dress at a shop in Alexandria, but the service was horrible there so my mom and I decided to hunt down "The Dress". We already knew what we wanted so called Gamberdella and they said they could order it but didn't have it in the store. My mom and I made an appointment anyway to go in and get measured and order the dress. When we showed up..there was the dress waiting for me to put it on! I don't know if they had made a mistake or had gone out of their way to get it from another store, but it was a really nice surprise. We were the easiest customers for them, we came in knowing exactly what we wanted! My mom ended up buying a dress from them too for mother of the bride-They loved her, she ended up getting a really fun dress, not the usual mother of the bride dress! When we went in to get my moms dress, Gamberdella was so nice and allowed me to put on my dress to show my sister since she missed out on the shopping adventure! And the seamstress..omg! She was absolutely amazing and did everything by eye!! During the first fitting the seamstress was pulled away from us (we had an appointment mind you) to go measure a girl for her dress. I was a little disappointed in that because there were about 4 other people downstairs that could have taken the measurements for her. The only other thing that bothered me was that they never asked me if I wanted a veil or let me try one on. I ended up not getting a veil at all and I'm glad I didn't because of how windy it was on wedding day, but would have liked to have at least put one on to have that Bride moment! Other than those 2 things they were always very friendly and met us with a smile! I would recommend them to a friend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.7/5.0
Mary and the whole crew at Gamberdella's was amazing from the first time I walked in to the day I left with my dress. Eve (seamstress) works wonders- she may come off a little blunt but that's her job. I was worried my dress wasn't fitting just right- she promised me it would and she was right! I highly recommend the team at Gamberdella!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianna
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.7/5.0
Although we spent way more than what we originally budgeted for my wedding dress in the end I am glad that we went with Gamberdella's. I can honestly say that my mom and I were probably not the easiest bride and mother of the bride to deal with. Our dress took almost eight months to come in from the day that we ordered it, and we began to freak out as it got closer and closer to the wedding without me having a dress. From what we were told the designer of the dress had some set backs that caused the dress to take longer than usual to complete. Gamberdella's staff was patient with us and told us not to worry, I would have a gown, and I did. Once the dress came in (less than a month before the wedding) the seamstress and her crew worked very hard to get my fittings in as soon as they could to make sure that my dress fit perfectly, which it did. Although we had set backs with the dress Gamberdella's was always professional and understanding to us and did not let us down.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
quinn1309
Wedding:
1/3/2009
4.7/5.0
I loved several of the people that I worked with at Gamberdella's. I could have gotten the same dress for about $500 less at another bridal store, but decided to pay the extra money because I liked the staff at Gamberdella's so much more. Only complaints were that some of the girls who answer the phone seemed confused by my questions or gave me incorrect information, and my veil did not come until about a week before the wedding despite ordering it far in advance. When I called to check on the veil, I was told it "should be in before the wedding", which is kind of alarming to a bride in the final month. But, despite these concerns, I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a dress, especially if you are unsure what kind of dress you want.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/1/2010
4.6/5.0
The sales staff at Gamberdella are fantastic! The women who work on the sales floor are incredibly friendly and helpful! I purchased my dress during a sample sale, and got a great deal on it! My only complaint was that I ordered a veil that they assured me would be delivered by mid-September, but it didn't come in until two days before my wedding. This wasn't really their fault, but rather the manufacturer's fault (since the veil was custom made in Canada). However, they kept assuring me that they'd call me when they got news about the veil but I always had to follow up with them.

The seamstress at Gamberdella and I got off to a bit of a rocky start (she didn't seem to understand that I wanted my strapless gown to remain strapless), but once we got passed the initial conflict of straps versus no straps, we got along just fine. And my gown looked absolutely stunning on wedding day. It truly fit like a glove!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cameronleighpt
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.5/5.0
My overall experience with Gamberdella was wonderful. I had a pretty limited budget and my consultant respected that and was still able to show me many beautiful dresses. My dress came in on time and I was able to schedule my fittings easily. The seamstress is amazingly talented, although a bit on the expensive side. However in the end it was well worth it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1213129705272-b&w
Bridget
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.5/5.0
I didn't enjoy dress shopping at most places but TOTALLY did at Gamberdella. Huge selection of dresses. make you feel comfortable. Only one problem was that fitting appointments always were running late so factor in additional time. Ordered bridesmaid dresses here as well - very large selection. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danacarberry
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.4/5.0
Everyone at Gamberdella is very nice and I love my dress. The woman that did alterations was great as well. I love that it is family owned and operated and was so happy to do business with a local vendor. Our experience with the brides maid dresses was through Alfred Angelo and the experience was HORRID. I wish we would have done everything through Gamberdella.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1276876243960-img0234
teenybug2000
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.4/5.0
I did not buy my dress at Gamberdella, but I did look at dresses there and in the end I bought my veil there. They have beautiful dresses, but it is a bit frustrating that you can't look at them on the rack, you have to tell the consultant what you want, and then they bring some options to you. I had an open mind when it came to dresses, so it was hard for me to describe what I liked. In the end I came back after buying my dress elsewhere with the intention of having them make a custom veil for me. But when trying some veils on I fell in love with a Cheryl King veil and ordered it on the spot. It came in quickly, as described, picked it up, painless! One thing that did kind of leave a bad taste in my mouth though is that both times I visited them the consultants were always talking badly about brides or mothers in the other rooms. Not just one consultant, or one time. Multiple occasions. That was kind of weird. I wonder what they were saying about me?
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmc
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.4/5.0
Sharon and Mary were great when I tried on and purchased my wedding dress here--they seemed to quickly understand what I was and was not looking for. The dress was beautiful and it took about 5 months for it to come in. Unfortunately, I had a terrible first fitting experience with Eve, the seamstress. She is rather opinionated and quite brusque, and I felt horrible about the dress when I tried it on again for the first time--not sure if it was her manner or just wearing a dress that needed to be altered. Fortunately, I was prepared for her the second time I went, and the dress ended up looking fabulous--she obviously knows her stuff. Overall a positive experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
1217baltimore
Wedding:
2/15/2009
4.4/5.0
I bought both my wedding dress and my bridesmaid dresses from here and had a great experience overall. I noticed that the other brides often mentioned that the salon is expensive: it is, but I liked that I told them my budget and they did not try to show me more expensive options - they listened to my budget and respected it. And there were only limited dresses in my budget but every single one they showed me was super classy and beautiful. They were also very patient as I returned twice to try on the dress before ordering it.

Mary Gamberdella and her neice were both amazing - they know their stuff; they are professional and efficient and very patient. I will agree with some of the other reviewers that the support staff were not quite on top of their game. When I called and spoke with some of the younger employees asking about my bridesmaid dresses, they were often confused and gave me misinformation. I also once got a call from a younger woman asking for me to come in for my first fitting (although I had already been in for two fittings already). That being said, everything still ran smoothly and they gave a 10% discount for ordering the bridesmaid dresses from the salon as well as my wedding dress. I would recommend however, that if you need to reach them that you don't leave a message on the machine - instead, continue to call back until you reach someone; they are not that great at returning voicemails.

However, my dress ended up looking perfect and fitting perfect. Eve did my alterations and is a real pro. The price was definitely above what they quoted me, but worth it in the end. The store was flexible with scheduling my fittings. The store itself is really lovely looking and comfortable.

All of these little things aside, the most impotant thing (to me) is that everyone WAS SO NICE. I always felt welcome (as did my parents when they tagged along) and this is NOT a given at every wedding salon. I went to a few other local salons where I felt as though I was being a pain or judged for the amount of money I was (or wasn't) potentially spending. These women were always incredibly nice and friendly and never made me feel like they were looking down at me and for that, I would love to recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Working with the ladies at Gamberdellas was a pleasure. The prices catch you off guard for alterations but I would recommend them with a pricing disclaimer.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmk
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.4/5.0
Gamberdella's staff is very attentive and professional. They make you feel like you're the only customer in the store by sitting down and listening to your wedding story and your vision for your dress. They offer great ideas on dresses and accessories. I never felt pressured - even when I came back for my 3rd look at a particular dress (before I bought it). They were very accommodating. The seamstress was also very helpful and did a very excellent job - and as a seamstress myself, she did very great work.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/25/2009
4.2/5.0
I had tried on dresses in New Jersey with my mom and knew exactly what I wanted, but I decided to order the dress near Baltimore to make fittings easier, since I live here. I saw that Gamberdella's had good reviews and ordered my dress with them (which was very easy). My only complaint is that my dress was late -- which I know is not the shop's fault -- but I was told different things when I called to check on it, which really freaked me out. The dress was supposed to arrive mid to early May (for a July wedding), so I called the first week of May to check on it. They were with a client and said they'd call back later that day. The next day I called again because I hadn't heard from them and a different person answered the phone and told me she had no record of my order, but that she'd look into it and call me back. I spent that afternoon freaking out that there had been a mistake and my dress was never ordered. A few hours later, Mary called me and explained that my card had just been taken out of their file the day before (because I'd called) and that's why the other girl couldn't find it, which makes sense -- but I don't think you should tell a bride eight weeks before her wedding that you have no record of her order. I limited myself to calling once a week to check on the delivery status, but I felt like they were exasperated with me for calling at all.

My dress ended up being about six weeks later than expected, but I still had a month to get it fitted and everything turned out fine. I loved the dress and the seamstress they work with did a great job on the alterations. It was very helpful that they're open late on Thursdays so I could come in after work.

All in all, my dress turned out perfectly. I'd recommend the shop, but I think their customer service could be better. I've heard far worse stories about other bridal shops, so I think Gamberdella's is still a great choice if you're in the Baltimore area.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
7/17/2009
4.2/5.0
Overall everything worked out well and I got what I wanted. I would recommend (not just with Gamberdella's but any bridal shop) that you tell them your wedding is a month earlier than it really is. I did this and was glad I did, the dress came in with only minor alterations needed, but It was a little too close to the "fake date" I gave them when I actually got the dress. They are a little blunt at first, but I realize they probably deal with a lot of window shoppers that are trying to find a brand name and buy their dress online. Cost was a little high compared to some of the similar dresses I saw online, but I decided to pay extra so I could actually have a person to complain to if anything went wrong.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
8/5/2006
4.2/5.0
Other than the groom, my dress was the best part of the ceremony! I absolutely loved it! I went to Gamberdella even though I live more than 50 miles away because I had been dress shopping there with my sister. It's a lovely, family-owned shop with good personalized services. Sharon has a great eye and selected dresses for me. She picked the dress I ended up buying. Although I came in for a different dress, I was thrilled with the selection she has out for me to try "just in case". I bought everything there. Also, I the seamstress is extremely talented and did a perfect job fitting me. My strapless gown (silk and satin) didn't move. I was a bride who didn't have to fidget with her dress all night.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megano
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.0/5.0
I recently got married and both purchased my dress at Gamberdella and had it altered there. I had a bad experience at an "upscale bridal salon in Reisterstown" where they treated me horribly and didn't listen to anything that I said. At Gamberdella, this was not the case. My consultant, Sarah, listened to everything that I said and asked for. She was able to find me the dress of my dreams and within my price range. After I purchased the dress it took 10 months for it to come in which was 2 months over the 8 month estimate. Luckily I was still ahead of schedule. I found the alterations problem to be pleasant. My seamstress was very nice and listened to all of my requests. My only complaint is that the alterations rooms upstairs are tad uncomfortably warm in the summer even with the AC and a fan on...not so pleasant when standing in a heavy wedding dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.0/5.0
Gamberdella's provided me with the dress of my dreams. I asked them to get a dress from a designer they do not normally carry, and they did. They can be a little pushy at times, but overall I was quite pleased with their services and their seamstress is wonderful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
3/20/2009
4.0/5.0
I loved the selection at Gamberdella's bridal salon but I do think they need to work a little bit on their sensitivity level. I will start by saying they are very busy and they are good at what they do when they pick out dresses for your body type and event type so I understand their time is important but they do need to realize this is an important day for us ladies and we need to be treated gently especially about what weight we will or will not be on the wedding day. Like I said I understand but they need to understand too.
My dress was amazing though.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1200937314163-dsc00497
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/10/2008
4.0/5.0
My dress was beautiful, but I had seen it in a magazine and knew that it was for me. Mary was very helpful in picking out my veil. They told me it would take about 8 - 10 months for my dress to come in, and it took that full amount of time, which was a bit nerve racking! Once my dress came in, they were very flexible about scheduling my fittings. My veil was wrong the first time, but they corrected it and it was fine for the final fitting.

The seamstress pushed alterations that did not need to be done. My dress fit perfectly and I only need the strap to be taken in 1/8th of an inch.

I had all of my bridesmaid dresses ordered from there as well, Gamberdella's was not happy when none of them had their alterations done there. And I can see why, 2 of the girls dresses were 2 sizes to big so that would have been a lot of alterations leading to a lot of money!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/1/2010
3.9/5.0
I found my dress at Gambardella's during a sample sale. The prices are a bit steeper than I had wanted to pay, though the dress itself was beautifully constructed. I bought my dress 4 months before my wedding and got pregnant 7 weeks before the big day. The seamstress did an amazing job in taking the zipper out of my dress and changing it to a corset back; no one would have ever known that the dress was not originally designed to look like that. I was very pleased with the work that she did on my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1249995543513-p10407811
TheMrs
Wedding:
9/12/2009
3.9/5.0
I loved Sharon & Mary, I just became stressed when my dress was 2 months late and 2 months away from our wedding date! Other than that, everything was great. Sharon actually put together a simple dress & sash to create a beautifully unique dress which was just what I wanted. The priec was higher than I wanted to spend, but worth it :) Not to mention Eve who did my alterations is the absolute BEST! She is quick, but talented! The dress was perfect & I got so many compliments! I've heard that a lot of girls get stressed with the fact the dresses here seem to take a LONG time to arrive. My advice is just keep calling, don't be a jerk, but be persistant - they will get your dress here in time!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
I wanted to like this place. My issue is with the alterations woman. When I ordered the dress, I said I didnt want strapless, because I dont want to have to keep pulling it up. She said she could make it fit flush with my skin at the top so it would not be a problem. At my fitting, I stressed my concerns because I could see straight down the dress. She added a ribbon inside the waist of the dress with clasps that sinched very tight to "hold the dress up". Every additional fitting was the same thing "ill make it tighter." I had no issue with the dress staying up... I told her it was already too tight (and I am a size 2), but the top was not right. I actually passed out for half an hour during the reception because I couldnt breath and we had to cut the ribbon cinch out of the dress!!! Her next solution was to try and convince me to let her add these ugly straps. She also did an awful job when she originally took in the top and the lace overlay was bulging out. When I asked her to fix it she said no-one would notice but she fixed it anyway. In the end, I had 2 cups sewn into the dress, plus my sticky gel bra, and I still had to hold my shoulders forward so I wasnt exposed. I almost went somewhere else 5 days before my wedding to see if they could fix the alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1314021684622-2919231900661961263138310173716007471625216n
JRuthie61011
Wedding:
6/10/2011
3.8/5.0
Let me start by saying I absolutely loved loved loved my dress. It was a beautiful Marisa gown. It was beautiful. It was originally out of my budget but my mother fell in love with it and it was the gown she picked and loved. So we ended up getting it. One thing though is that my alterations cost my $650. This was not something I was prepared to pay for. I feel it was their duty to warn me of the alteration costs. I dont know if it was just me being naive but I felt blind sided and I ordered the dress in June of 2010 and it came in January of 2011 so by that time when I did the first fitting and they told me the price it was too late to get another dress in time for my wedding on 6.10.11. The seamstress Eve is a little instense but she knows that shes doing and she was great. I had also ordered a custom sash which was suppose to come for my last fitting and it was not there. My last fitting was 10 days before the wedding and I was getting worried. It did arrive 4 days before the wedding and was perfect. I loved the experience at Gamberdellas but I did not like the fact that I was not warned about potential alteration costs and the girls who helped me were young and had told me when I asked them about alterations when I picked the dress that it would probably be around 300. I chalked it up to the fact that girls that helped me were relativley young and were obviously not familiar with the work involved when it came to alterationes. SO please brides to be ask to meet with the seamstress and discuss possible alteration costs before your purchase.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pcollins
Wedding:
12/27/2008
3.6/5.0
My experience here was okay! I would put them well above any chain retailor like David's Bridal for sure, but you are also going to pay for it. Quality of there dresses is great, but the prices are high. At the start of the ordeal it seemed imperative that all the bridesmaids dressed were the same length from the ground, one of the bridesmaids dress ended up 3 inches off the ground! It came in like that! She is 5'9" and I guess her height was never taken into consideration, but this should have been thought of before because it looked a little ridiculous for a floor length $260 gown (before any alterations) was that short! Also, the top of her dress along with another girls was gaping open and the seamstress said it was fine, but it really wasn't, we asked to have the problem fixed. The service was good though and the gowns were beautiful, it was just a bit of a process getting everything right.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
10/27/2012
3.4/5.0
I gave the service a 5 because the seamstresses are amazing and make sure your dress is perfect!! Everyone else is sub par in this shop. Making an appointment was difficult even with my wedding coming up. At times I came in the shop and had to wait around for someone because no one was at the desk.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pat
Wedding:
8/29/2009
3.4/5.0
I was a little disappointed with them. We called to see if we needed to make an appointment to pick up the wedding dress and they said no. However, when we got there (1 week before the wedding) the dress was not ready, so we had to go back the next day. Also, the dress my daughter picked out, was a made to your length dress. When the dress came in we still needed to have a hem put it, costing us another $150.00.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joetta
Wedding:
4/2/2010
2.9/5.0
My dress from Gamberdella's was beautiful! My dress arrived very late though. No one at the salon seemed to have any idea where it was. They kept telling me that the designer needed more time, but I ordered my dress 1 year in advance. Once it did come in, the seamstress was incredible and easy to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MichelleB
Wedding:
9/19/2009
2.9/5.0
My dress from Gamberdella's was absolutely beautiful. However it did arrive about 2 months late, while this did not affect my wedding, for those 2 months no one at Gamberdella's could tell me where my dress actually was, I had to keep calling every week to see if anything had changed. It wasn't until I actually called the designer.. that Gamberdella's magically said my dress was on its way.
The seamstress at Gamberdella's was wonderful, very efficient, and did a great job.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cgoody
Wedding:
10/23/2010
2.8/5.0
My initial visit to Gamberdella's was wonderful and they helped me to find the perfect dress. Unfortunately as soon as I said 'yes to the dress' everything went downhill from there. I recommend you ask LOTS of questions before purchasing a dress about hem fees, rush shipment fees, how many bustles will you need and the cost. And unfortunately my bustles were so complicated that they didn't stay in for the reception and my dress got ruined. My dress was actually the biggest headache of my big day.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALewis
Wedding:
8/1/2009
2.6/5.0
I felt like when I walked in, they would only show me the most expensive dresses...make sure to say that you have a price range...even if you don't. They refused to show me more than three dresses, swearing nothing would work as well as what I had on, they were pushy, and short on time. I ordered the dress nine months before the wedding, and my dress came in a month before the wedding and seven inches too short. They reordered the dress, and after a couple of alterations, the dress was ready three days before the wedding. I was a bit stressed about that, especially for all the money we paid. In the end, the dress was beautiful, but it was not the ideal experience of dress shopping.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.5/5.0
I wish I could give a better review for Gamberdella. I got a great price on a sample there, and I adored my dress. I didn't care that I couldn't browse; the dresses that Sarah brought me were all beautiful, in my price range, and flattering. Eve, the seamstress did a wonderful job on the alternations, which were $500.

My major complaint with Gamberdella is that they ordered the wrong veil for me. When we discovered it, we were already out of town for the wedding, and Mary told my mother she understood which veil we'd intended to order but that she didn't have it. I have not since received an apology, a refund, or any contact at all. Now, the wrong veil will not ruin your wedding, but I adored the veil I ordered, and I would have expected better service from them. I handed the veil that I wanted to the woman at the counter when I ordered it, so if there was a mistake, it certainly wasn't mine. Customers don't order their own veils, so I have no idea how they could make such a mistake, but you would have thought that they would have at least sent a note to apologize.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.1/5.0
I was excited to make an appointment, called the store, and the girl who answered was so unfriendly, lacked personality, and sounded as though she could care less if I came in or not. Well, I'm planning on spending some serious money so why should I waste my time going to a place that treats their customers off the bat like they could care less? First impressions last!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Gamberdella Salon for Brides responded with the following comments:

Sorry for the seemingly lack of excitement when you called. We are always excited to meet a new bride and look forward to meeting you and changing your first impression. Please give us a call back and schedule an appointment. When you call ask for me and I will personally take care of you. Mary
Default-vendor-profile-pic
verookah
Wedding:
8/7/2010
2.0/5.0
I purchased my dress here only because I already knew the exact dress I wanted (which was being discontinued) and they happened to carry it. They were able to give me an extraordinary deal on the dress (over half off what another store had offered) but that is where the quality ended. The dress (a sample) had been altered and we were assured that it would be fixed back to the way it was originally. We were told that should there be any logistical problems with repairing the dress, the designer would be contacted directly. However, once we purchased the dress, things changed. We were told the dress "looked better" that way, "probably never was" (the way it had been when I'd tried it on before, in photos, on the designer's website, etc), and that the designer couldn't be contacted because of a language barrier. Essentially, we were told we were wrong over and over again. It took a lot of research, convincing, and persistence to get the dress back to the way it was supposed to be & we were charged for it. It was stressful (at one point I nearly took the dress as-is and left)& I wouldn't recommend this salon. On the other hand, I'm not sure of a salon that isn't stressful when you're making such a hefty purchase coupled with a major life event!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1200265257282-bryan&ginglacier
Genevieve
Wedding:
5/31/2008
1.9/5.0
When I first went into Gamberdellas, I was impressed with the great service, attention, and ability to help me find the dress that I was comfortable in and loved. And I did love my wedding dress--it was well fitted and exactly what I was looking for. The woman that helped me, Sharon, me had a lot to do with that, and she is the one that will be taking over the business when Mary retires. Both she and Mary were great about giving names of other vendors to me that day.

That was where the great service ended, however. I bought the dress where I was going to have the wedding, in Maryland, but I live in California. I flew back a month ahead of the wedding to have the dress fitted. I had even called ahead to ensure that they were aware of that, and that the dress would be there. When I got to BWI, I received a message saying that they didn't have the dress and wouldn't for another several weeks (the dress maker had hemmed the dress incorrectly and it had to be completely remade at the factory). This meant rushing the fitting in the final week before the wedding (which was particularly stressful since I had bought the wrong kind of bra and had to go scouring several stores to find the right one when I was supposed to be doing all the other last minute things, the seamstress had a baby granddaughter on the way and might not be able to be there, etc. etc.). There was no offer and no negotiation regarding the fact that I was there and the dress was not. This dress was expensive, and part of paying so much means that the service should be impeccable, not just on the sell, but also in the follow through.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
06282008Wedding
Wedding:
6/28/2008
1.7/5.0
Wedding dress shopping is supposed to be fun because you try on various styles, colors, etc.; this was not the case during my visit. There practice is to have you tell them what you envision, your proposed budget, and they go into the back and pick a handful of dresses. I wasn't allowed to look through the racks. I was only allowed to try on what they brought me (four dresses). The dresses I tried on were beautiful, but ranged from $3k - $7k, which was more then my budget ($2.5k - $3k).

Go to Betsy Robinsons in Pikesville! They have a tremendous selection of silk/satin dresses and the first thing out of my helper’s (Vera) mouth was, “Let’s go have some fun.” I know four other women who bought their wedding dress from Betsy Robinsons and had the same enjoyable experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shacora
Wedding:
6/14/2014
0.5/5.0
My experience with Gamberdellas has been terrible. I ordered a dress for my anniversary party, which I rushed just to ensure I would have it in plenty of time. I was told I could pay a $50 rush delivery fee and the dress would be delivered within 5 weeks as opposed to the normal 8 week delivery time. When the 5 weeks passed, I contacted the shop to locate my dress, to which the owner Mary responded, "you will have a dress in time why are you worried". I explained that I paid additional money to ensure that my dress would be here in plenty of time. She essentially called me a liar, so I had to retrieve receipts and contact my sister who was there with me the day I ordered. After all that she remembered I had paid the additional fee for a rush, but then changed her story to I never told you 5 weeks. This has been a terrible experience and I would certainly not recommend this shop if you want a stress free experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1335103450098-img4121
Erica
Wedding:
10/5/2012
0.5/5.0
RUN!! Gamberdella's ruined my wedding dress. I purchased my wedding dress here and they ended up ordering the wrong size. We kept telling the owner and the seamstress that it was too big, however, they kept assuring us that they " dealt with this all the time" and that they would make it fit like a glove. After 10 plus fittings, they made one final alteration the night before my wedding and destroyed my wedding dress. It was so bad that the owner admitted it was not fixable and that I would have to wear a sample gown that they had. I didn't get to wear my own wedding dress on my wedding day and I will never get the opportunity to. They ended up having to clean the sample dress and fit it to me the morning of my wedding. They STILL altered it wrong and I ended up not being able to wear a corset under my dress leaving it gaping in the chest area in my wedding photos. Please don't risk you wedding day here - go somewhere else!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.3/5.0
Don't go here!!!!! We ordered our bridesmaids dresses from here back in May and they just came in. Now that they are finally here we ALL have to have them completely reconstructed because the sizes try ordered us are about 5-6 sizes too big, for all 6 girls!!!! And they were the ones who measured us. We drive three hours to this shop just to get measured and that's it! It wasn't the bridal experience we were hoping for that's for sure! They wouldn't return our calls when we would call and ask about the dresses and even told one of our bridesmaids that the dresses had been shipped when in actuality they weren't even finished making the dresses yet. This shop has made our experience nothing but stressful and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elaine
Wedding:
11/14/2009
0.1/5.0
Horrible service, horrible attitude, over priced and poor quality gown. I don't think they care a thing about repeat business. My daughters brides maid gown zipper broke during the ceremony! We had to safety pin it together so it would stay on her. For over $300 you would think it would last at least through the reception. The manager tried to say my daughter must have insisted they alter it be too tight!!! The nerve!!!! She only wears a size zero and has no need to have them make the dress tight. I have never been more pissed off with a store ever.The manager was extremely nasty when she finally called me back after I left several messages. I took the dress back and all they would do was replace the zipper. That was the first week in Dec. It's now Feb. 24th and I haven't heard a word from them. The customer service sucks at this shop. Go some where else!!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
30 W. Pennsylvania Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gamberdella Salon for Brides
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo