Nophoto-130

Gayle's Bakery

Capitola , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

504 Bay Avenue
Capitola, CA US 95010 (map)

PHONE

831-462-1200

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Bb7
Diana
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Never have I seen a more beautiful wedding cake that tasted so incredible than the cake Gayle's created for our wedding! It was not only beautiful, it was absolutely delicious. So much so, that we had 3 different flavored tiers, and I ate a slice from each! We shared the top tier with our guests because we decided early on, we will order our 1st anniversary cake fresh.

From the beginning, I have said I really want a great photographer and a delicious cake... I got BOTH!

Thank you Gayle's Bakery for making my dream cake a reality!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Everybody that came to our wedding could not stop raving about the cake! I was a little unsure if it would make it thought the hot five hours that it had to sit on the table before it was cut, but it somehow made it. It looked perfect from the time I laid eyes on it after the ceremony until the time we cut the first slice.

The wedding cake sales representative Irene was very helpful during our cake tasting. She brought out five huge slices of cake and gave us time to taste (and re-taste!) each one. She patiently helped me go through cake designs and looked at some pictures I had on my phone to help create exactly the wedding cake I had in mind. The fresh flowers were absolutely beautiful!

Since my husband didn't have much of an opinion on the design, I made sure to let him decide on the flavor. Except we couldn't because they were all so delicious! So we went with a three tiered cake with two tiers with lemon cake and raspberry jam and a third tier with chocolate. So delicious. We had ordered a bigger cake than we needed because we had expected more people so we were afraid that there would be a lot of cake left over. We didn't have to worry though because people went for seconds until there wasn't any cake left. I highly recommend Gayle's Bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Esperanza
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.8/5.0
The staff at Gayle's was easy to work with. Not only was our cake beautiful but it was delicious as well. The bakery worked with my florist to design a wonderful cake and the flowers were even included in the price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1301936943974-img0568
Airlie
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
We chose the most delicious and cute princess cakes for my wedding. They were affordable and we were able to reserve them just a couple weeks before the wedding. Easy and perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Renee
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.0/5.0
The cake is tasty and seemed pretty affordable -- however -- we did not shop around. We had a destination wedding and only met with Gayle's, so I'm not sure if it was the best price or the best tasting, but it did taste good. :)

We did hit a snag along the way... Our second (custom tasting & to go over designs) appointment didn't go so smoothly... I called a few weeks in advance to schedule & was told they couldn't meet with me because it was the week before Mother's Day & they were too busy. I was so upset! We had the trip planned & it was the last before the actual event! After a third try, I was told I would be able to meet with someone on the night we arrived... So we rushed to get there & unfortunately, it was not a designer, so the meeting was kind of pointless... We basically could of exchanged the info via email & phone. =/

After that, everything was fine... Until confirming everything a few weeks before the wedding -- we realized there was a miscommunication regarding timing and how long the cakes could be unrefrigerated... Thankfully, Irene (one of the sales managers) offered to have the cakes delivered to fix the issue -- which we were very happy about!

The cakes were tasty and pretty close to the design we were looking for... The white chocolate flowers weren't quite the same as the design I had requested & the fresh flowers on two of the side cakes weren't really what we asked for...But overall, they were pretty & everyone enjoyed it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
9/27/2009
5.0/5.0
Gayles bakery is top notcha and provided the best tasting most talked about wedding cake ever for our wedding! People kept coming back for more and it was completely gone, except for the covetted cake top! Kathy the manager there really came through for us and we would highly recommend Gayles Bakery to everyone we know!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
monet
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Gayles made the best wedding cake I've ever tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KGranzow
Wedding:
5/1/2009
4.6/5.0
Our guest all said it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted. Our cake looked amazing and tasted even better. We also got our grooms cake there. We gave them full creative reins on the grooms cake. They blew us away, making a cake with a chocolate tank blasting out of it. (My husbands in the army.) It was so much fun to go cake tasting there and I would highly recommend them for weddings, parties, and tasty treats.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
The flavor and moisture of our cake was unbelievable. The BEST. The cake tasting was fantastic, they have so much to choose from. The designer did a perfect job giving us the exact cake we asked for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Soooo Yummy and sooo beautiful, absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beb1379
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
We went with Gayle's initially because their cakes were literally hundreds less than many of the others in the area. We really didn't expect to have it taste as good as the higher priced cakes since we would be paying less, and that would have been fine. The cake was excellent though. Guests are still telling us how much they liked it, and rumor has it that many people were asking for third and fourth slices! The cake was simple yet elegant and colors matched perfectly with everything else. We would highly recommend Gayle's for affordable, beautiful and tasty cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gaboo
Wedding:
7/5/2008
3.8/5.0
The cake looked and tasted great! It was perfect! This bakery is not a wedding cake bakery, so it isn't their specialty, but I was really impressed. Kind of expensive though.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
First off, they give you HUUUUGE pieces of cake to sample FOR FREE. Everywhere else we went they wanted a down payment first. They also do white chocolate shell instead of that yucky fondant stuff which tastes like chalk. They're different in a good way, using different flavors. They're willing to try new things. Our cake was totally custom, I brought in a picture of what I wanted and they did it perfectly. They even help out with ideas. The cake is to die for, not dry just heaven! Prices are really reasonable too. We actually have a ton of cake (besides the top) left over in our freezer too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1199928287767-sk10
Karen
Wedding:
9/23/2007
5.0/5.0
Gayle's Bakery is simply the best! Once we selected our wedding location in the Santa Cruz Mountains, friends told us we had to go to Gayle's for our wedding cake. They were married in San Francisco and had almost given up on finding a quality wedding cake, until they were referred to Gayle's. On our first visit to Gayle's we had lunch and made our appointment with the wedding cake consultant. The place was packed and the lunch was fantastic. From then on, each time we visited the area, we stopped by Gayle's for something, anything. Working with Irene at Gayle's was a delight. At our first appointment, she had several samples of cakes, icings, and fillings for us to try. We spent the afternoon enjoying them and there was no doubt they would be making our cake. Once we were booked, they created two more samples for us based on what we wanted to see combined. It was all delicious and we ended up going with the carrot cake - too yummy. Irene kept great notes and each time I spoke with her she was able to pick up our conversation right where we'd left off the time before. Personal service on top of great cake at a reasonable price - who could beat that? She even referred us to the florist we used. As for decorating the cake, Irene showed us notebooks of photos of previous cakes, we viewed those going out for the day, and she was completely open to do anything we could show her. On our wedding day, a bakery person delivered and setup the cake right on schedule. It looked beautiful and tasted great. Everyone expects wedding cake just not to be fantastic - this one was. Even our wedding photographer said it was the best wedding cake she had ever eaten - and she eats wedding cake a couple of times a week! I thought she was being nice, until I saw that she'd made the same comment on her MySpace page and included a link to Gayle's, saying that all her Bay Area brides should give Gayle's a try.

As all of our guests traveled to attend our wedding, we had events the day before and a brunch the day after. Gayle's provided the food for the brunch and we referred our guests to visit Gayle's for other meals during their visit to the area. Everyone absolutely loved the food from Gayle's Bakery, from the wedding cake to the quiche to the sandwiches and more. You can not go wrong by going to Gayle's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
The staff at Gayle's made our experience so easy and fun, especially when we initially cake-tasted the samples for free. It was incredibly yummy...and difficult for us to make a decision! My husband and I were very happy with the result. Our cake was simple, yet elegant. It was exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlisonGara
Wedding:
6/23/2007
4.5/5.0
The cake here is incredible! So moist and delicious, my mom and I had the best time sampling cakes and could barely narrow it down to three for the layers! They worked with us to figure out exactly when and where to deliver it so that it would be at its peak for the reception. Wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taniya
Wedding:
8/20/2006
3.6/5.0
Gayle's bakery has excellent food. Their cakes are also to die for. They were very friendly during our cake tasting. There were so many cakes to taste from. We chose three different cakes...one for each layer of cake. It was very good. Unfortunately, they did make a mistake and didn't add tiers to my cake as requested. My florist wasn't sure how to work around this, but I wasn't too upset about it. It still looked beautiful. Gayle's felt so bad, they refunded our entire cake. Wow! What great customer service. We continue to go there for all our catering and bakery needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
130x130_sq_1320017518109-thethreeofus
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake and did not pay a crazy amount. We tried 5 different cake places and thought Gayle's was the best overall. They did a perfect job designing it and even put together a beautiful flower arrangement for the top of our cake. I love cake, so I made sure to have both the chocolate and lemon pieces the night of the wedding. Yummy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
504 Bay Avenue, Capitola, CA 95010 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gayle's Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220