130x130_sq_1326914447994-logoforpictage

Gerald Carvalho Photography

San Mateo , CA

LOCATION

1175 Park Place
San Mateo, CA US 94403 (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hello there!
This is Gerald Carvalho, I’m a San Jose based Wedding & Lifestyle photographer, presently serving the San Francisco Bay area, Chicago and beyond. I discovered a... Read more
Hello there!
This is Gerald Carvalho, I’m a San Jose based Wedding & Lifestyle photographer, presently serving the San Francisco Bay area, Chicago and beyond. I discovered a passion for design, majored in it, and made it my career – as a User Experience designer for the past 10 years.

My passion for pictures
My love for photography started off as a hobby. Something I played around with when I wasn’t designing. But soon, click after click, I realized I’d found my true calling. And since I’d majored in design, I understood the nuances of color, light and how to bring a picture to life through creative compositions.

This helped me create my unique style that I’d like to define as clean, contemporary, creative and edgy.

My passion for life
I’m happy by nature and come from a very close-knit family, which is one of the reasons I enjoy photographing weddings. They give me a warm fuzzy feeling. Because every one of these once-in-a-lifetime events come loaded with love, happiness, dreams and all those positive vibes that only weddings can bring.

And even though I’ve covered quite a few of these occasions, I am in awe every time. Especially when I come across wedding photos of grandparents and parents of the newlyweds displayed at their homes. It makes me realize that every moment I capture in time will also be seen, shown and cherished for generations to come. More than anything, knowing this fills me with pride and honor and inspires me to do the best I can, time after time.

Things I like
Hefeweizen, Cosmopolitan, Guacamole, Biryani, Bachata, Monchy Y Alexandra, Illayaraja, traveling and fishing.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look. I hope you enjoy my work! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1285026848890-gcpmeredithethan79img3604
130x130_sq_1285026518374-gcpmeredithethan4img1326
130x130_sq_1285026702225-gcpmeredithethan14img3331
130x130_sq_1285026504671-gcpmeredithethan15img1691
130x130_sq_1285026850906-gcpmeredithethan5img1352
130x130_sq_1285026853078-gcpmeredithethan18img1750
130x130_sq_1285026506046-gcpmeredithethan19img1771
130x130_sq_1285026759926-gcpmeredithethan41img1991
130x130_sq_1285026503421-gcpmeredithethan10img1556
130x130_sq_1285026507093-gcpmeredithethan11rs100605meredithethan0119
130x130_sq_1285026508796-gcpmeredithethan28img4273
130x130_sq_1285026510687-gcpmeredithethan21img4243
130x130_sq_1285026512718-gcpmeredithethan24img4257
130x130_sq_1285026541123-gcpmeredithethan8img1477
130x130_sq_1285026529905-gcpmeredithethan66img3433
130x130_sq_1285026515108-gcpmeredithethan36img1921
130x130_sq_1285026513593-gcpmeredithethan33img4319
130x130_sq_1285027012008-gcpmeredithethan46img2181
130x130_sq_1285026533936-gcpmeredithethan71img3527
130x130_sq_1285026517936-gcpmeredithethan48img2256
130x130_sq_1285026516421-gcpmeredithethan49img2267
130x130_sq_1285026520296-gcpmeredithethan57img2488
130x130_sq_1285026533436-gcpmeredithethan75img3570
130x130_sq_1285026521405-gcpmeredithethan58img2520
130x130_sq_1285026524108-gcpmeredithethan60img2537
130x130_sq_1285026523514-gcpmeredithethan61img2540
130x130_sq_1285026528311-gcpmeredithethan59img2531
130x130_sq_1285026526514-gcpmeredithethan62img2565
130x130_sq_1285026528780-gcpmeredithethan64img2593
130x130_sq_1285026531405-gcpmeredithethan63img2571
130x130_sq_1285026944620-gcpmeredithethan23img4249
130x130_sq_1285026511202-gcpmeredithethan30img4304
130x130_sq_1285026942417-gcpmeredithethan22img4244
130x130_sq_1285026941996-gcpmeredithethan26img4266
130x130_sq_1285026535592-gcpmeredithethan78img2854
130x130_sq_1285026539701-gcpmeredithethan87img3080
130x130_sq_1285026848859-gcpmeredithethan82img2946
130x130_sq_1285026538889-gcpmeredithethan84img3026
130x130_sq_1285026537029-gcpmeredithethan88img3088
130x130_sq_1285027308088-gcpjenniferchristopher12img9535
130x130_sq_1285027291761-gcpjenniferchristopher14img9540
130x130_sq_1285027322791-gcpjenniferchristopher6img9170
130x130_sq_1285027326885-gcpjenniferchristopher7img9179
130x130_sq_1285027291714-gcpjenniferchristopher17img9578
130x130_sq_1285027313338-gcpjenniferchristopher36img2256
130x130_sq_1285027294011-gcpjenniferchristopher19img9617
130x130_sq_1285027302995-gcpjenniferchristopher20img2099
130x130_sq_1285027303011-gcpjenniferchristopher24img2119
130x130_sq_1285027308620-gcpjenniferchristopher16img9559
130x130_sq_1285027310635-gcpjenniferchristopher29img2142
130x130_sq_1285027313760-gcpjenniferchristopher38img0053
130x130_sq_1285027318151-gcpjenniferchristopher49img2517
130x130_sq_1285027315588-gcpjenniferchristopher40img0069
130x130_sq_1285027317885-gcpjenniferchristopher53img2531
130x130_sq_1285027320338-gcpjenniferchristopher51img2522
130x130_sq_1285027310979-gcpjenniferchristopher34img9842
130x130_sq_1285027324869-gcpjenniferchristopher68img0680
130x130_sq_1285027321885-gcpjenniferchristopher56img2704

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Gerald did a wonderful job! He was flexible and very easy to work with. He adjusted his packages to get exactly what we wanted. Also he was on time and stayed late for our new years eve wedding. Our slide show was beautiful!
Gerald did a wonderful job! He was flexible and very easy to work with. He adjusted his packages to get exactly what we Read more...
Gerald did a wonderful job! He was flexible and very easy to work with. He adjusted his packages to get exactly what we wanted. Also he was on time and stayed late for our new years eve wedding. Our slide show was beautiful! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fiona
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.3/5.0
Before the event, Gerald met with us to show us his work and explain the process of the photography packages and such. He was extremely easy to talk to and professional. We chose him because a friend of mine had used him and I absolutely loved her pictures, and also because our experience with him when we met him was great.
Gerald helped us set up our timeline for the event and was very on top of everything to make sure that our wedding ran very smoothly.
On the actualy day, Gerald and his team was extremely creative and were willing to do pretty much anything to get the right shots. They made sure they had all of the pictures that we wanted, and more!
Our pictures took a little longer than expected to receive but I am confident that it is because he was in the middle of a crazy move to Chicago and had a lot on his plate at the time. Once we got the pictures they were definitely worth the wait! Each picture was fantastic. He caught so many moments at the wedding that were candid and real. He took some beautiful pictures of me (the bride) in my dress that I had no idea he was even taking! The quality of the pictures was outstanding. I definitely would recommend Gerald to anyone, and I have!
Before the event, Gerald met with us to show us his work and explain the process of the photography packages and such. He Read more...
Before the event, Gerald met with us to show us his work and explain the process of the photography packages and such. He was extremely easy to talk to and professional. We chose him because a friend of mine had used him and I absolutely loved her pictures, and also because our experience with him when we met him was great.
Gerald helped us set up our timeline for the event and was very on top of everything to make sure that our wedding ran very smoothly.
On the actualy day, Gerald and his team was extremely creative and were willing to do pretty much anything to get the right shots. They made sure they had all of the pictures that we wanted, and more!
Our pictures took a little longer than expected to receive but I am confident that it is because he was in the middle of a crazy move to Chicago and had a lot on his plate at the time. Once we got the pictures they were definitely worth the wait! Each picture was fantastic. He caught so many moments at the wedding that were candid and real. He took some beautiful pictures of me (the bride) in my dress that I had no idea he was even taking! The quality of the pictures was outstanding. I definitely would recommend Gerald to anyone, and I have! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Gerald and his team were simply amazing. The photos turned out so beautful, beyond what I could have ever imagined. Our wedding photographer was our highest priority during wedding planning, after all the photos you have from that day will be how you remember that day for the rest of your lives, and Gerald did not disappoint. We could not be happier with his services and would highly recommend him!
Gerald and his team were simply amazing. The photos turned out so beautful, beyond what I could have ever imagined. Our Read more...
Gerald and his team were simply amazing. The photos turned out so beautful, beyond what I could have ever imagined. Our wedding photographer was our highest priority during wedding planning, after all the photos you have from that day will be how you remember that day for the rest of your lives, and Gerald did not disappoint. We could not be happier with his services and would highly recommend him! Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1326683327822-whitneyryanw7257
Whitney
Wedding:
8/4/2011
5.0/5.0
When my fiance and I prioritized areas of concern having to do with our wedding, a photographer was absolutely at the top of the list. Of course our own memories as future husband and wife would serve as valuable "pictures" of that special day, however no one else can capture the events of a wedding day like a photographer. Every single shot depicts the special, silly, unforgettable moments that we hold dear for the rest of our lives. I had nervousness leading into our engagement shoot and thinking about our wedding day, however the second my husband and I met Gerald Carvalho, all of our concerns or hesitations immediately disappeared. Gerald put our needs, desires, and requests at the top of his to-do list and made our entire engagement, wedding day, and months following the wedding absolutely incredible. His attention to detail, promptness, dedication to our special day, and overall love for what he does makes Gerald a one-of-a-kind photographer. Gerald and his team worked tirelessly to capture every moment we requested, and then hundreds more. He far surpassed any of our expectations, and I had brides lining up to book him following our wedding! Gerald is the best. Period.
When my fiance and I prioritized areas of concern having to do with our wedding, a photographer was absolutely at the top Read more...
When my fiance and I prioritized areas of concern having to do with our wedding, a photographer was absolutely at the top of the list. Of course our own memories as future husband and wife would serve as valuable "pictures" of that special day, however no one else can capture the events of a wedding day like a photographer. Every single shot depicts the special, silly, unforgettable moments that we hold dear for the rest of our lives. I had nervousness leading into our engagement shoot and thinking about our wedding day, however the second my husband and I met Gerald Carvalho, all of our concerns or hesitations immediately disappeared. Gerald put our needs, desires, and requests at the top of his to-do list and made our entire engagement, wedding day, and months following the wedding absolutely incredible. His attention to detail, promptness, dedication to our special day, and overall love for what he does makes Gerald a one-of-a-kind photographer. Gerald and his team worked tirelessly to capture every moment we requested, and then hundreds more. He far surpassed any of our expectations, and I had brides lining up to book him following our wedding! Gerald is the best. Period. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KZ
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Gerald and his team went above and beyond our expectations to create beautiful wedding photos for us. Before the wedding, we had wanted to provide a slide show to our guests during the reception of the photo's taken getting ready, at the ceremony, etc. Due to limitations at our venue, we were told this was not a possibility. Gerald managed to find time to upload pictures to his computer and find a spot to display the pictures. It was truly special to have him take the time to fulfill this small request. Despite booking him for a specific number of hours, the team stayed well beyond in order to get all of the shots that we wanted. After the wedding, Gerald continued to exceed our expectations by creating a wonderful slide show and designing a stunning book of our favorite pictures - all within the time lines promised to us. We would wholeheartedly recommend Gerald to engaged couples!
Gerald and his team went above and beyond our expectations to create beautiful wedding photos for us. Before the wedding, Read more...
Gerald and his team went above and beyond our expectations to create beautiful wedding photos for us. Before the wedding, we had wanted to provide a slide show to our guests during the reception of the photo's taken getting ready, at the ceremony, etc. Due to limitations at our venue, we were told this was not a possibility. Gerald managed to find time to upload pictures to his computer and find a spot to display the pictures. It was truly special to have him take the time to fulfill this small request. Despite booking him for a specific number of hours, the team stayed well beyond in order to get all of the shots that we wanted. After the wedding, Gerald continued to exceed our expectations by creating a wonderful slide show and designing a stunning book of our favorite pictures - all within the time lines promised to us. We would wholeheartedly recommend Gerald to engaged couples! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lil j
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
We booked Gerald for our wedding in August 2010, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about Gerald. From the start, we loved the style of his photographs, and we were ready to sign by the end of our first meeting. Gerald is amazingly personable and took the time to get to know us and what we wanted. He was very prompt in returning any phone calls or emails. He was also very accommodating in coming up with a wedding package that worked for us.

During the actual wedding, Gerald and his assistants were extremely professional and amazing. He was very patient in working with out wedding party (which included 8 kids under 9 years old!) Everyone has complemented us on the photos, and I've gotten several requests to know who did our photographs.

I'd give more than 5 stars if possible! Gerald is awesome! We felt so confident and comfortable working with Gerald from start to finish. Thank you Gerald!!!!!!
We booked Gerald for our wedding in August 2010, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about Gerald. From the start, we Read more...
We booked Gerald for our wedding in August 2010, and I cannot say enough wonderful things about Gerald. From the start, we loved the style of his photographs, and we were ready to sign by the end of our first meeting. Gerald is amazingly personable and took the time to get to know us and what we wanted. He was very prompt in returning any phone calls or emails. He was also very accommodating in coming up with a wedding package that worked for us.

During the actual wedding, Gerald and his assistants were extremely professional and amazing. He was very patient in working with out wedding party (which included 8 kids under 9 years old!) Everyone has complemented us on the photos, and I've gotten several requests to know who did our photographs.

I'd give more than 5 stars if possible! Gerald is awesome! We felt so confident and comfortable working with Gerald from start to finish. Thank you Gerald!!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abhoffman84
Wedding:
7/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Gerald and his assistants were great! We used him for both our engagement session and our wedding day.

He was great even from the first moment we met him to sit down and talk to him about what we wanted. He made us feel comfortable, took TONS of shots, and didn't rush us! Our photos turned out amazing!

Aside from the awesome photos, Gerald was truely and genuine person. He was always very prompt at returning my phone calls/emails. He even took time on his lunch break a couple of days before the wedding to meet us at our location again and walk through the timeline for the wedding. We were so happy that we found an amazing wedding photographer! Everyone that has looked at the pics have told me how wonderful they are and our photographer was awesome!
Gerald and his assistants were great! We used him for both our engagement session and our wedding day.

He was Read more...
Gerald and his assistants were great! We used him for both our engagement session and our wedding day.

He was great even from the first moment we met him to sit down and talk to him about what we wanted. He made us feel comfortable, took TONS of shots, and didn't rush us! Our photos turned out amazing!

Aside from the awesome photos, Gerald was truely and genuine person. He was always very prompt at returning my phone calls/emails. He even took time on his lunch break a couple of days before the wedding to meet us at our location again and walk through the timeline for the wedding. We were so happy that we found an amazing wedding photographer! Everyone that has looked at the pics have told me how wonderful they are and our photographer was awesome! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
groom
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Gerald is very thorough, patient, flexible and captures great moments. He has a great eye for details and is very creative and artistic. His work is very special and he did a great job at my wedding. We have been getting lots of compliments on the photos.
Gerald is very thorough, patient, flexible and captures great moments. He has a great eye for details and is very creative Read more...
Gerald is very thorough, patient, flexible and captures great moments. He has a great eye for details and is very creative and artistic. His work is very special and he did a great job at my wedding. We have been getting lots of compliments on the photos. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1257112093126-6
Meredith_ann
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? On top of being extremely talented, Gerald is truly a pleasure to work with. We spent a wonderful afternoon taking our engagement pics and were delighted when he had no problem including our toy poodle! Gerald really takes the time to listen to what you want as well as include his creative input in every picture. Gerald is incredibly flexible, professional, and his prices are VERY reasonable. Our wedding pics turned out absolutely amazing, we could not be happier!!!! We highly recommend Gerald Carvalho Photography!
Where do I begin? On top of being extremely talented, Gerald is truly a pleasure to work with. We spent a wonderful Read more...
Where do I begin? On top of being extremely talented, Gerald is truly a pleasure to work with. We spent a wonderful afternoon taking our engagement pics and were delighted when he had no problem including our toy poodle! Gerald really takes the time to listen to what you want as well as include his creative input in every picture. Gerald is incredibly flexible, professional, and his prices are VERY reasonable. Our wedding pics turned out absolutely amazing, we could not be happier!!!! We highly recommend Gerald Carvalho Photography! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jic707
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
It was such a pleasure working with Gerald. We booked him for our wedding, and we couldn't have been happier with our photos. He comes with such great assistants, that he made sure every aspect of our event was captured. And let me tell you. . . they didn't miss a thing!!!

What I truly loved about his work is his attention to detail and the candid shots- none of that 'cheesy' posing stuff-if you know what I mean. From the first initial meeting, to the actual wedding day, to the viewing of the photos, the ordering of the album- he made the process so easy. If you're looking for someone with creativity, flexibility, and professionalism, you definitely want to call Gerald!! I know I will again. . .
It was such a pleasure working with Gerald. We booked him for our wedding, and we couldn't have been happier with our Read more...
It was such a pleasure working with Gerald. We booked him for our wedding, and we couldn't have been happier with our photos. He comes with such great assistants, that he made sure every aspect of our event was captured. And let me tell you. . . they didn't miss a thing!!!

What I truly loved about his work is his attention to detail and the candid shots- none of that 'cheesy' posing stuff-if you know what I mean. From the first initial meeting, to the actual wedding day, to the viewing of the photos, the ordering of the album- he made the process so easy. If you're looking for someone with creativity, flexibility, and professionalism, you definitely want to call Gerald!! I know I will again. . . Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1241383897765-p1010110
Adriana's and Aldo's Wedding
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
He is just such a pleasure to work with. The quality of the photographs were outstanding, from the engagement session before the wedding to the actual day. He was graceful managing all of our requests and demands. He was creative and suggested scenarious that we never in a million years we thought would look closely to what they ended up looking... just creativity, creativity!!! pleasant but above all the quality you can expect from him is superior!!!!!!!!!!
He is just such a pleasure to work with. The quality of the photographs were outstanding, from the engagement session Read more...
He is just such a pleasure to work with. The quality of the photographs were outstanding, from the engagement session before the wedding to the actual day. He was graceful managing all of our requests and demands. He was creative and suggested scenarious that we never in a million years we thought would look closely to what they ended up looking... just creativity, creativity!!! pleasant but above all the quality you can expect from him is superior!!!!!!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
1175 Park Place, San Mateo, CA 94403 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gerald Carvalho Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1326914447994-logoforpictage