130x130_sq_1323450646508-020320jerry

Gerard Tomko Photography

Hatboro , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

107 Quince Dr
Hatboro, PA US 19040

PHONE

215-674-1898

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Recently I have experienced some thing in my life that have made me look at life—my life and others—with different eyes. I have gained a renewed and exciting appreciation for the style... Read more
Recently I have experienced some thing in my life that have made me look at life—my life and others—with different eyes. I have gained a renewed and exciting appreciation for the style of photography that I do. With me you are getting a guy with over 30 years experience photographing weddings; a person who loves to have fun, make people laugh, and will pour his heart and my own personal style into each image I capture. THAT is The Gerard Tomko Experience! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1324617635435-142weidhaaseproof3
130x130_sq_1324617638841-2523balashproof1
130x130_sq_1324617688373-gerardtomko335canepariwfinal
130x130_sq_1324617642404-298celottowfinal
130x130_sq_1324617648873-331celottowfinal
130x130_sq_1324617652435-376stricklingwproof2
130x130_sq_1324617654138-410groesbeckwproof1
130x130_sq_1324617656373-gerardtomko0099comp8x10
130x130_sq_1324617661669-gerardtomko0320comptest1
130x130_sq_1324617665826-gerardtomko0332comp8x10
130x130_sq_1324617670763-gerardtomko1693lombardowfinal
130x130_sq_1324617677232-gerardtomko179smithwfinal
130x130_sq_1324617682701-gerardtomko331canepariwfinal
130x130_sq_1324617692279-gerardtomko4502compproof2
130x130_sq_1324617693513-gerardtomko8633proof1
130x130_sq_1324617694388-jerrytomko0897test
130x130_sq_1324617899326-10marinoss
130x130_sq_1324617900498-13marinoss
130x130_sq_1324617901857-17marinoss
130x130_sq_1324617902966-19marinoss
130x130_sq_1324617904076-20marinoss

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very professional, very personable....really gets to know his couples. Will listen and adjust to what the bride and groom really want. Veryyyy responsive, will return calls very quickly! Lovesss what he does and it shows in his work! We left our reception was Jerry even there, he did not intrude in anyway and got us nearly 850 proofs to look at it! Knows many of the best vendors around Philly so he knows how many people and place work, he really helped everything run really smoothly the day of!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaime
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko Photography captured our wedding day more beautifully than we ever could have imagined! Jerry made our day stress free and is a true artist - he has a vision like no other! The pictures were absolutely amazing and we highly recommend him to ANYONE seeking a photographer for anything - he can do all!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I couldn't have been happier choosing Gerard Tomko as our photographer. He was very professional, organized, and very calming throughout the process. His pictures are unlike any others, and not only does Jerry not take the typical wedding photos, but he takes you and your fiance's/husbands thoughts, concerns, and ideas into consideration to make a beautiful piece of art.

Not only is Jerry very talented, but he is very efficient with his work. We received our proofs within 1 month of the wedding, and we are currently working with Jerry to create our album. He leads you in the right direction and points out things that Matt and I would have never considered.

I would recommend Jerry in a heart beat, and we will definitely be using him again for family portraits or other larger family events.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
5/17/2013
4.9/5.0
When we began planning the wedding, I (the groom) mandated one thing - I did not want to have to micro manage our vendors. That meant the band, the photographer, the video team and the venue. Jerry Tomko is a photographer you absolutely must consider if you value this as well.

From the moment we met him, we knew that we had made the right decision. He talked us through what his approach would be on the wedding day well in advance so we knew what to expect. One of my favorite things about working with Jerry is that for much of the night, it's almost like you didn't even know he was there. But boy do the pictures tell a different story.

Jerry is the epitome of class and we felt he truly enjoyed being with us on our wedding day. Whether that's the case or not is totally inconsequential. He did an amazing job and the photos came out amazing.


Also, we had our proofs in roughly a month, which is quicker than I had anticipated.

Again, we can't overstate how happy we were with our choice to use Jerry for our wedding. We will undoubtedly return as our family grows.

thanks, Jerry!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with our choice in wedding photography! Jerry is incredible to work with, always developing new looks and has left us with beautiful memories from our wedding day. We have gotten endless comments on how beautiful our photos and I look at them on a daily basis.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
My first introduction to Gerard Tomko and his photography was through my wife's best friend. Her wedding photos were amazing, and my wife and I told ourselves that he would be the photographer at our wedding. The big day arrived only to find the "once in a lifetime" storm had knocked the power out at the resort where the reception was to take place. Enter Jerry Tomko. Jerry was not only a calming influence on the bride, but also the whole bridal party. His experience and expertise were invaluable in making the day go smoothly. Both him and his assistant were extremely professional and easy to work with. Per Jerry's suggestion, the bride and I went offsite to the Atlantic City boardwalk and Steel Pier where he took some of the most amazing photos I've seen.

Working with Jerry was a magical experience and I highly recommend him to be the photographer for your next event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.8/5.0
Jerry's pictures are absolutely AMAZING! You see online pictures online or in a magazine of brides and grooms looking flawless, and you always wish that was you in the pictures..well, my wish came true thats for sure! I couldn't believe how beautiful I looked and how handsome Joe looked! Looking at my wedding pictures for the first time is a moment I'll never forget, and I'll always have Jerry to thank for that. Jerry is such a nice guy, willing to work with you and cater to your needs/wants..He definitely made the day less stressful with his easy-going personality..but also, the man knows what he's doing!! Everything just flowed smoothly and Joe & I couldn't be happier. If you want a good photographer with pictures that will take your breath away..Pick Gerard Tomko!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jerry exceeded our expectations as he captured our wedding day! He is both professional and extremely talented at what he does. His hard work really shows and you would be in good hands if you chose him for your special occasion :) Thanks Jerry!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlotte
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
As VERY recent clients of Jerry's, we have to say, we were more than pleased with Jerry & his photography. Jerry has a true gift and passion for what he does and it's obvious in all that he does for his bride & groom on the day of their wedding. From his punctuality to his efficiency, despite a LONG list of family photos, Jerry was prompt, courteous and proactive. Even when we suggested shooting at FDR Park in South Philly, Jerry took it upon himself to scout the park weeks in advance in order to determine the best locations for our wedding shoot! Overall, we were more than pleased and impressed by our photos and have even joked about hiring Jerry to do random photo shoots for us throughout the years! He's a true talent with a big heart; work with him and he'll work with you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
3/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I cant say enough good things about Jerry Tomko!! Our wedding was afew weeks ago and my husband and I are thrilled with our pictures and our experience with Gerard Tomko photography! Our pictures came out AMAZING and Jerry made the whole picture taking experience fun, easy and made the day go so smoothly!! I have gotten a TON of compliments on my pics already, and Jerry sent us our proofs so quickly after the wedding!! He is ao artistic and Italented- i cant wait to see how our album comes out!! I would recommend Jerry a hundred times over!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ASPhilly
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Jerry did an amazing job at capturing our wedding in a way that will make our special day last forever. I got married on January 14th at the Curtis Center and during our reception Jerry already created a picture slideshow of the images he had taken during the day which was such a treat for our guests. The next day Jerry had already made a video of our images to music which was a wonderful send off to have prior to our honeymoon. On January 27th, we were shocked when Jerry sent us an email that our proofs were waiting for us to view. We scheduled with Jerry for the pickup and couldn’t believe that he had all our proofs printed and waiting for us in a beautiful photo box with an image of us on the top along with our names and the date of our wedding. We are in the process of creating our album and can’t wait to see the finished product. My husband and I do not enjoy getting our pictures taken but Jerry made us feel so comfortable while giving great direction on how to pose to make the pictures look beautiful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aab0302
Wedding:
1/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Jerry was the photographer of two of my good friend's weddings prior to mine and so this is a review based on my experience as a wedding guest, maid of honor, and a bride.

His #1 concern is what his client wants, and he makes sure he gets every possible photo he "sees" and that you want. Regardless of your role in the wedding, Jerry was professional and comforting a pleasure to work with. His ideas for photographs are innovative and original. In considering all three sets of photographs (mine, and my two friends), I can honestly say that while all of them were exceptional, they were also unique in their own way. If you are looking for something artistic, memorable, and of exceptional quality, look no further than Jerry!

Thank you, Jerry, for making our wedding day so special and for capturing memories that will last a lifetime!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
R
Wedding:
12/1/2011
0.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko stands out as the only negative part of our entire wedding process. He will charm you upfront and once you have signed on the dotted line and have given all your money upfront to secure that 10% discount (which you'll need because his 'service' costs a pretty penny), it will become obvious that he is really a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Some of our experiences included:

1) Being contacted two days before our wedding to extract more money out of us or threatening not to show.
2) Seeing our photographer skip out on most of the reception.
3) Being completely MIA for months after the wedding. I left polite emails, voicemails, messages for months after the wedding to ask about the status of our album. I heard nothing, except a vicious, rude response months later.

4) Needing to engage outside legal resources to finally resolve the issue and received our album, nearly 2 years after the wedding.
5) Finally, my favorite, consistently using a very serious illness like cancer as an excuse or justification for being just plain rude and taking people's hard earned money under false pretense.

Bottom line -- DO NOT BOOK WITH GERARD TOMKO. I tell every friend/acquaintance I know because I can't bear the thought of another bride going through that experience.
Services Used: Photography
Gerard Tomko Photography responded with the following comments:

This review is fictitious - the person states the wedding was held on 12/1/2011 and that was a Thursday!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dalbright23
Wedding:
11/25/2011
4.8/5.0
When we started planning our wedding, I expressed to my husband to be how important good photographer was to me. I wanted photos that were more than just a bunch of people standing and smiling. I then found Jerry! I spoke with him on the phone and expressed that all of his brides not only look beautiful but also look like they are glowing. Each photo I saw made me think I knew the bride and groom in the photos. I then met with a few other photographers because Jerry was our of our range. When another photographer told me she would leave at 9:30 and our reception didn't end until 11 and I told her I would pay extra to have her stay she said' no the cake will be cut and we are leaving' That same day Jerry called to ask about what we were thinking. I honestly told him that I couldn't afford him and he asked what I could and said he would call me back. When he called back he told me he would give me what I wanted for the price we agreed upon; I just started to cry because I knew it was going to be amazing. Jerry delivered! We have some amazing photos of us from engagement photos to wedding day. We got married on November 25, 2011 and he worked some magic to have our proofs back to us by December 21st in time for Christmas. It was such a treat to be able to share our images with our friends and family over the holidays.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
My experience with Jerry and his team was absolutely the best ever. I could not have asked for a better photographer on my wedding day. I am extremely ciritcal of myself in pictures and I loved the final product. I could not believe how wonderful they turned out-he is truly a creative genius and was so much fun to work with. I would highly recommend him and guarantee that any bride would love his work. He is attentive and professional; I appreciated his expertise and organization which always had me assured that my wedding day was in the best possible hands!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lbaccari1118
Wedding:
11/18/2011
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!!!! I really wish I could adopt Jerry and have him come with me to every event and take pictures..lol..He is an incredible photographer. I've never seen work like his before in my life. No lie two weeks after the wedding Jerry had my proofs ready for me. I couldn't wait to see them and I was so so so happy with the outcome. Not only was I happy but everyone that attended my wedding was also. His work is so unique and incredible. He captured a picture of me and my father and i got chills when i saw it. Only Jerry's pictures can do that. I can't wait to make my album with him. I just hope that we stay in touch after the album is finished. He became a really good friend and not many people can say that about their vendors, but I bet whoever had Jerry as their photographer can. Please trust me when I say you HAVE to meet with Jerry when you are choosing a photographer. I put my life on it that you will not be disappointed. He is one of a kind and the best there is!!!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.8/5.0
I recently got married and used Gerard Tomko photography as our wedding photographer. Both my husband and I, are intensely glad that we did. We recently got our proofs back (only 3 weeks after the wedding!) and our families can't stop commenting on beautiful and stunning our wedding pictures are.
My experience wasn't just about the pictures though. Jerry was truly professional the day of the wedding, but more so he helped to calm my nerves by having fun during the pre-ceremony photo session. He knows how to help a bride relax and enjoy her wedding day and still get to the church and cocktail hour on time.
My husband wasn't looking forward to the photography. He had a very bad experience a couple of years ago at a friends wedding where he was a groomsman and the photographer was not professional and took hours to take a few posed pictures while all the guests waited to start dinner. But he was very pleased with Jerry and I might even say enjoyed himself during the picture portion of the day. Gerard Tomko is by far one of the greatest Wedding Photographers I've seen and we could not be more happy with the end result.
At the end of the day what Jerry really provides you with is not mere photographs but art. Honest, original art with you and your loved ones as the subjects. The best advice I can give when talking about Jerry is this: trust him! Jerry helped us to have an awesome day and captured the amazing moments so we can cherish them forever. There's nothing better than that in a wedding photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
re12becca
Wedding:
11/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I was the MOH in my best friend's wedding in 2007. Jerry Tomko was her photographer and family friend. The pics he took were amazing, as well as the surprise slide show at the reception. I told him if I ever got married, he was my photographer.

Well, 4 years later, I was engaged. I called Jerry, and he remembered me immediately! Josh and I met with him, and booked him right away. We planned a destination wedding for the Keys and he, along with his wife, came along. Jerry took amazing pictures that blew us and our guests away! He even managed to capture a shot with my deceased brother's dogtag in the background that was so gorgeous it made me cry! You can see some previews on his blog at www.gerardtomko.com. See for yourself the products he creates.

No, Jerry is not cheap. But you get what you pay for. He is not only a photographer, he is an artist. If you are looking for unique and artistic, as well as a friendly person, he is the guy for you.

Since my wedding was only 3 weeks ago, I obviously have not gotten my pictures yet. However, I did receive multiple emails from Jerry or his staff since I arrived home. He has always responded to me by email, phone, or text within a couple of hours, at the most a day. Jerry has always been a professional with us. He even calmed me after ripping my dress while putting it on before pictures (I had to be sewed into it!).

Please take Jerry's negative reviews with a grain of salt. Meet with him, see his work, then decide for yourself. He will not disappoint.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jcas
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Jerry was amazing! The whole prosses was wonderful. You feel like you had known him forever. He made my wedding day run so smoothly. My pictures are amazing and I could not ask for more.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
Jerry and his second photographer (Laura) were both such a pleasure to work with. On our wedding day, they were extremely professional, arrived on time, and did everything they could to help me (the bride) remain calm and collected!
The pictures from our wedding day are absolutely amazing and far exceeded our expectations. The slideshow at the reception was a big hit, there were pictures posted online the next day, and our proofs are already in for review! We've received so many compliments on Jerry's work and I would totally recommend him to friends... in fact, I already have and two friends are using them in their weddings next year.
Jerry surely went above and beyond for me and I truly appreciate it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko Photography was GREAT to work with. Jerry is professional, fun, nice, responsive, responsible, and extremely talented. His photos are truly a work of art, and we couldn't be happer. Despite Hurricane Irene, our wedding day was perfect, and now we have the pictures to prove it!
Services Used: Photography
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We originally booked Jerry because, after seeing the quality of his albums, no other photographer compared. His photos are the perfect mix of traditional, and beautifully artistic. Plus, we really hit it off! Jerry makes any bride feel super confident - he will do ANYTHING for his brides to capture the perfect photo. He is incredibly organized and also has such passion for what he does! Jerry's even a HUGE help in the wedding planning process - he recommended our florist, and our Day of Coordinator too!

We did 2 engagement shoots with Jerry and had the time of our lives. We enlarged and framed one of the photos and displayed it at our wedding and everyone thought it looked like a painting - such a work of art!

Our wedding day proofs are beautiful. He had a preview online the VERY NEXT MORNING and our gorgeous proof box was ready just 3 weeks later! We can't wait to see the finished album. Thank you Jerry for perfectly capturing the love that we felt for each other that day. If you have the chance to book Jerry - DO IT!
Services Used: Photography
Bg17
Sarah
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Have you seen Jerry's work?? If you haven't go look because it's all amazing! To be honest I was nervous that our pictures wouldn't come out as beautiful as the ones on his website! But yup they did! My husband and I are just thrilled with the whole experience with Jerry thus far. We just got our proofs and have been sharing them with friends and family and all they do is rave about them! They say how he really did capture everything in a classic, artistic way. Jerry has a great eye and he is so creative and gets amazing shots throughout your whole day!
Now the whole wedding planning thing can be stressful and overwhelming, but honestly Jerry brings it down for you!! He is so fun and down to earth and he really does get it!! My whole wedding party loved him! He got along great with everyone and was just so easy to work with!
People told us to that we should my husband and I should see each other before the wedding to get the pictures done so we could get to the cocktails and enjoy! We didn't want to do that and were willing to risk it! Guess what?! Jerry got all the pictures and plus with family shots and bride and groom annnd we got to the cocktails on time! He is awesome!!! We can't rave about him enough!
All I can say is.... If you want absolutely beautiful wedding photos to capture your day in a stress free and fun way....Jerry is your guy!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happyweddingirl
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Jerry will create amazing and unforgettable images for your wedding!
We just got back from creating our album and I fell in love with the pictures all over again...it was so hard to pick what to put in the album b/c all the images were so amazing. Jerry is very professional and laid back and he will do his best to calm down any stressed bride.
Our wedding day was very hectic and included a trip to Jersey City. We were running late and only had an hour to shoot pictures in there but the pictures turned out AMAZING!!!! Jerry really has a beautiful and creative eye.
Even my fiance enjoyed having his picture taken that day and he HATES being in pictures.
All in all you will be more than happy with your wedding day pictures if you go with this photographer. One word of advice: leave yourself ample time for "Jerry Time"...it's where you get the best shots :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.8/5.0
Terrible. Unresponsive. Its been 2 years and I still do not have my album. Please take this seriously, I would not take the time to post if I didn't feel so strongly. You will get your proofs within a few months but there are blogs, complaints, and horrible stories because he never gets albums complete. BUT, he will take your money.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd
Wedding:
12/31/2010
0.0/5.0
The worst service I have EVER received......I was married on 12/31/2010 and have yet to receive the very expensive albums we paid for. 2 and a half years later and still nothing....Do NOT use him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JessV
Wedding:
12/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Jerry is an easy going, humorous, accommodating & very talented photographer. My husband and I are not models (shockingly) and we felt a little uncomfortable about posing to have our photos taken and having them turn out nicely. Jerry walked us through the entire photo taking experience, not only on the day of our wedding but during our pre-wedding photo session right on through designing the wedding album. He told us where to look, helped with posing hints and having a naturally relaxed smile. Our wedding photos look down right amazing and all of our family and friends are so impressed! My husband and I are so glad that we chose Jerry because we always felt relaxed with him and the quality of his work blew us away. I would recommend Gerard Tomko Photography to anyone looking for a photographer that will make you feel comfortable with having your pictures professionally taken and looking for absolute confidence in the end product. Your money is well spent with Jerry!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DMBrennan
Wedding:
12/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Jerry was accommodating from the first time we met him. I was very concerned about having enough time to take great pictures with a very limited one hour window between our ceremony and reception. From day one Gerry assured me that he was up to the challenge and the results would not disappoint.

True to his word, Gerry was able to take amazing pictures and get us to the reception with 5 minutes to spare. I've gotten so many compliments about my proofs, especially regarding the pictures taken in this 55 minute window (which included a 10 minute commute to the reception).

Gerry has been very responsive to my questions and has met all of our deadlines. I'm looking forward to a fabulous album! I highly recommend Gerry for anyone in the process of planning a wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We love, love, LOVE our wedding photos! We originally met Jerry when we saw him in action photographing a friend’s wedding while my husband and I were in the bridal party. Despite some unfortunate incidents related to traffic, timing, limitations on daylight, etc. Jerry managed to keep everything moving and capture some of the most amazing shots you can imagine. We booked him for our wedding shortly thereafter and couldn’t have made a better decision.

Jerry has been so honest and great to work with through the entire process, even being willing to help out with some general planning questions as we went along. We are thrilled with our images and are able to truly relive our wedding day every time we look through them. I knew photography was one of the most (if not THE most) important investments when it came to the wedding, and we couldn’t be happier with our decision to choose Jerry. Everyone who has looked through the proofs from the wedding day is amazed and I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been asked who my wedding photographer was. We can’t wait to get our album (and yes… we’re expecting to wait quite awhile… good things take time!). We will surely cherish our photos for many years to come! A million times over, THANK YOU, Jerry!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rossella
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Jerry has been wonderful since the very first phone call made to him. He always returned phone calls as soon as he could and even gave us advice on other vendors when we asked. He recommended an amazing florist and videographer, which was extremely helpful during the very stressful time of planning a wedding. It has now been a little over a month since my wedding, and we have already met to look at proofs and have already set up an appointment to work on picking out the pictures for our album.

Even though, as I mentioned above, he was extremely professional through out the entire process, he went above and beyond today for me and my family. My grandfather became sick the week before my wedding and was not able to be there with us on my wedding day, because he was stuck in the hospital. This was devasting for me and for my family. Although the day went on as planned, I really wanted my grandfather there to share in that special day and also to have pictures with me in my wedding dress and him in his tux. We will never be able to go back and have him there on that day, but Jerry made the pictures possible. He was so kind and nice when my mom called him and asked him if we could set something up so that I could have my pictures with my grandfather. Jerry came over the following week and took the pictures for my family. Although we can never go back and have my grandfather there with me on my wedding day, I WILL have pictures of the two of us in my wedding album and I have Jerry to thank for that. For the last month I couldn't even think about my grandfather not being there for my wedding without breaking down and crying, but Jerry has made it easier to deal with by taking the picture I wanted with my grandfather. Thank you, Jerry!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Personally I am floored by so many of the comments that I have seen posted below due to the fact that I had an UNBELIEVABLE experience with Jerry. I am sorry that others were not as pleased with their experiences, but from the second I saw his photography (in a friend's wedding album - she rightfully highly recommended him) the clear superiority of his work was evident. I have heard so many horror stories about photographers that are pushy and literally take over a wedding because they think the day is all about finding the perfect photo (which some apparently think only happens if about 10,000 shots are taken), but Jerry was actually a calming, joyful and entertaining element of our day! My husband and I truly enjoyed the time we spent with him - his photos are so unconventional, so each scene he chose and the way he worked with us to get each shot made the time with him so FUN!! Our photography session is actually a fabulous memory rather than a cringe-inducing memory of numerous grueling hours that tested everyone's patience - a very different experience than what both of my sisters had with their photographers!! In addition, that night Jerry put together an impromptu slideshow of the photos he had just taken so the guests could enjoy them at the event and everyone was FLOORED by the photos!! All of our family and friends were glued to the monitor and couldn't stop remarking on how different the photos were than the usual wedding photography. I like to say that Jerry is a gifted photographer who just happens to take photos at weddings rather than being a "wedding photographer" who takes your typical planned shots of family members lined up in a row (but he'll take those, too, if you'd like!). I HIGHLY recommend him and cannot imagine what our wedding day would have been like without him!! Check out our album on his website: Caroline and Rob 9/18/10!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.5/5.0
Please make sure you do a THOROUGH review of Mr. Tomko.

We unfortunately went through a TOTAL nightmare with him, along with MANY other clients. It took us 3 years to receive our album and that was AFTER 1 YEAR of him giving us the run around. We paid everything in FULL by our wedding date and he kept telling us "The binding company has your album".

Gerard takes money/deposits from new clients and pays for the albums of previous clients. 3 years is COMPLETELY unacceptable and EXTREMELY unprofessional. We had to get attorneys involved for him to give us our album.

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH PEOPLE LIKE THIS! If I can deter just ONE couple from using this guy, my job is done. He does not deserve to be in business.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
The moment my husband and I met with Jerry and viewed his work we immediately knew he was our photographer! After hanging out with him for an hour, he felt like a member of our family, which was exactly the kind of connection we wanted in a photographer! I arrived with a list of 40 questions and Jerry was very patient and went through each and every one with me. He also allowed us to view entire sets of proofs from different weddings, which is something no other photographer shared with us. After looking through these weddings, I could immediately see that he would never just put together a portfolio of his best work like many other photographers do, because all of his images from every wedding are amazing and everyone receives outstanding quality work! Throughout the entire process, he was very responsive through both email and telephone which was a great help. The day of the wedding my hair and makeup ran over, but Jerry got us right back on schedule with pictures - putting me and my family at ease. We took amazing pictures throughout Philadelphia after our ceremony, and we all had an amazing time doing it - including our bridal party! I even made him take an extra 15 minutes of pictures because I was having so much fun I didn't want to stop and leave for the reception! Even after all of that, my husband and I made it to our ENTIRE COCKTAIL HOUR!!!

Now, you want to talk about going above and beyond...I called Jerry 2 days before my wedding to let him know that my husband's brother and best man received orders from the Navy, which unexpectedly would not allow him to return home for our wedding. Jerry worked with our band and our reception site to coordinate a speech via Skype! He was able to hook up his equipment and my husband was able to have a speech, with sound and video, from his brother over seas at our wedding! It was truly amazing and we would have never been able to do it without him.

If you want truly amazing images, excellent service and a photographer who truly cares about his clients, you want JERRY TOMKO. NO QUESTION!!! Jerry has a big heart and big talent, and when those two things collide you will be thrilled with what you see! Any bride would be extremely lucky to have him at their big day!

(Check his site for our pics - Jess and Vince married on 9/11/10)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MariaG
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko Photography is absolutely wonderful. He captured the style of photography that I wanted and also added his own creativity! He was very professional and fun to work with. He handled everything well and was able to navigate through all of the people in my very large wedding party quickly. From our engagement pictures to the wedding rehearsal and through the entire wedding, "excellence" was how he operated. The first time I saw our online gallery, I teared up remembering our wonderful wedding day. He managed to capture every emotion and detail. Words cannot adequately describe how thankful I am for Jerry! My husband and I thank you again for capturing the magic of our day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeni12481
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I don’t even know where to begin with this review. I read the others on here and my jaw dropped a few times, I cannot believe they are talking about the same Jerry that I worked with. Jerry is the only photographer that we met with, my mom found him on-line and made the appointment. I feel so lucky and blessed that we found him; I cannot imagine my wedding day without him. Your photographer is with you through all of the stressful parts of the day, and it is important that they can take the photos but also that they have a great personality.

When we did our “Get to know you” session with him, to become familiar with his directions and shoot the photos for our guest book, my husband and I were nervous. Though Jerry did everything he could to get us to relax we didn’t, he wasn’t happy with the photos we took that day. He decided that we needed to re-shoot the guest book photos, that’s right HE DECIDED they were not good enough and re-shot them FOR FREE. This time he drove us from his studio into Philly, during the drive down we talked and joked so when it came time for the pictures we were relaxed and comfortable. Our guests raved about the guestbook during and after the wedding, yes the guestbook was raved about – how often does that happen!?!

On the day of the wedding Jerry was WONDERFUL!!!! He was part of my entourage, right there to help with anything he could and make sure that we were running on time. He was not pushy or demanding but nor was he passive, he was there to help. He made the pictures fun and relaxed. On the day of our wedding it was over 100 degrees before the heat index, Jerry got us out of the 80 degree church quickly without it feeling rushed and getting all the pictures I asked for. Once at the reception he asked if I wanted to make the bridal party go outside for pictures, of course I said “yes” (once you see his work you will understand why those shots were so important to me) he went with what I wanted and stood out in the heat directing everyone with patience.

Something I will never forget is on the way from the ceremony to the reception we got a call, from Jerry. He asked us to pull over when we saw his car on the side of the road, I trusted Jerry and we did what he said. When we got out of the car he was standing in someone's driveway pointing out to a field asking if we would be willing to walk through it. Again we went with it. He took a bunch of photos of us in the field and walking down the tree lined driveway. These pictures were not planned at all but they are some of our favorites of the entire day. We used these shots for our album cover and an entire spread inside the album.

During the reception he put up the slideshow of some of the pictures from earlier in the day, to give you an idea of how great the photos are four months after our wedding the slideshow link is still being passed from one person to the next and I am still getting e-mails and comments about it. In fact when I see people that were at the wedding it is the most brought up detail from the wedding. Here is an email my Aunt’s friend sent to her (I do not know her and she wasn’t at the wedding, my Aunt just sent her the slideshow link):

“omigod, Diane, these are the most incredible wedding photos I've ever seen. This man is amazing with a camera. I'm so glad that you found the link. … What incredible talent Gerard Tomko has...his photos are like art. The one photo of Jeni's face alone, where she is off to the side of the photo, is breathtaking.”

In closing:
Would I book Jerry again? YES, a hundred times yes
Is he worth the price? YES and then some
Is his work good? Good is an understatement, I had no idea that these images were possible or that I could look so good.
Is he a pleasure to work with? Jerry made my day better by being there even before he took one photo
Is he responsive when you contact him? Give him a call and he will get back to you no problem

We have ordered out album and are looking forward to receiving it, it was hard to narrow it down since all of the pictures were fantastic. Jerry is a joy to work with and his work is beyond wonderful!!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LMack
Wedding:
7/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko Photography = Amazing, Priceless, Unparalleled. Jerry, the owner and photographer is one in a million. His work is unrivaled and nothing can compare to the experience you have with him on your wedding day or with the images he delivers. Everyone who has seen our pictures gazes in awe. We always get the same reaction: "These pictures are amazing! Who was your photographer? He is so talented!" Jerry is personable, fun, and professional. In fact, for my wedding, he became the "unofficial" wedding planner - seriously. He eats, sleeps and breathes weddings. He knows weddings and wedding schedules like the back of his hand. His photography work is like no one's out there. He is the best, and as I tell anyone who is looking for a wedding photographer, "Look no further. If you do, I pity you." He is priceless, your wedding images will be unforgettable, and your happiness is guaranteed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sockerem
Wedding:
6/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Well it is 2010 and I am thinking that since these other reviews are very old that I would post my own !

I am a June 2010 Bride and had the honor to have Jerry take my pictures for our wedding ! I looked at many people but Jerry and I hit it off from the very first time we talked ! He was the only one who said to me ," I want to be apart of your special day". He was real about who he is as a person and why he can capture such great pictures ! He really makes art into your wedding Photo's .

I was a Bride with many questions and many ideas ! Jerry was willing to listen to all and then help me out with what would be the best for me and the groom when it came to talking about the big day.

My family and friends loved Jerry and his work and could not get over how great my pictures turned out. Pictures are and will always be special in my heart and Jerry made it that much better making the day fun for us but also the 22 people in my wedding party ! He handled everyone great and the wedding party had nothing but nice things to say about him !

I am very aware of the time it will take to get my album . Do other brides get there album sooner they might . BBBUTTTTTTTTTT it will never ever compare to what i will have and how great my pictures are. I would rather someone take there time and put there heart into it then just feel like another bride walking out the door. My opinion on what someone thinks about cost is you pay for what you get . With Jerry you get the best so as much as it cost your pictures will be with you and your family forever.

Thank you Jerry for being apart of the biggest day of my life . You will not remember everything about the day of your wedding but I will always remember the look my groom gave me as I walked down with my father in church and the man behind that magic was Jerry ! My pictures are a story and I could not have asked for anything better !
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
This man is a JOKE! I wish I can write out everything I have gone through in the 3+ years since my wedding, but there isn't enough space to get everything down.

I was married in 2010 and just now finally received my albums end of 2013. That is OVER 3 years, which is a disgrace. For 3 years, I would call and leave e-mails and then maybe after a month's time he would finally get back to me with some ridiculous excuse that I'm almost 100% positive they were always made up. We had a small balance left, as I refused to pay once I noticed it was taking longer than acceptable for things. Once everything was delivered, he did not hesitate to harass me through e-mail and my parent's phone for the payment. I'm talking within a week of the items being delivered. This man is crazy! He is lucky that I did not sue him when my husband and family were insisting that we do. I had faith and was always nice to him. I guess I'm the fool.

Considered yourself warned if you hire this arrogant, rude, pure excuse of a businessman!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joelle
Wedding:
12/12/2009
4.8/5.0
Gerard Tomko is an amazing and gifted photographer...after meeting at a friend's wedding, we knew we had to have him. Their engagement photos and ultimately the photos live streaming at their reception were incredible. From start to finish, everything we received from Jerry were beautiful, creative pieces that we will cherish forever. That goes from our engagement photos at the beach that became the most gorgeous guestbook and wedding picture (that he framed and is now hanging in our home) and even the box our proofs came in was out of this world, designed with our favorite picture, names and wedding date. Jerry added fun and excitement to our big day and was so into everything he did. Taking a spot that we'd think was nothing and turning into perfect photo opportunities. We were so glad we selected Jerry and recommend him to all our friends.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
momtoboth
Wedding:
10/31/2009
0.0/5.0
If the photos are nice but you never get the album, does it matter how nice the photos are? We paid upfront. Jerry shot the wedding two years ago. No album, doesn't return calls. I'm worried that we got taken by a crook. DON'T BOOK THIS GUY!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
andi
Wedding:
10/10/2009
0.0/5.0
I am the MOB froM 10/2009.
My daughter and son inlaw just got thier albums WHICH WERE NOTHING SO SPECIAL- 3 YEARS AFTER THIER WEDDING! THATS RIGHT -THREE WHOLE YEARS!. They paid up front and in full prior to the event.
could say a lot more, but will just keep it simple...... DO NOT USE HIM!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smallmcbride
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Photography was the #1 priority for me during my wedding planning process. After all is said and done, you are left with only memories and pictures, and I wanted my pictures to be stunning. I spent hours researching photographers and was somewhat afraid after reading some bad reviews. I have since realized that you can't please everyone, and that brides only seem to write reviews that are unfavorable. Being in the restaurant business for the past 15 years has taught me that people only take the time out of their busy schedules to complain, not to rave about excellent experiences.

I am thrilled that I chose Gerard Tomko Photography! My pictures are gorgeous! Jerry was very accommodating. I explained to him exactly what I wanted and he delivered, even meeting me for lunch to scout out picture locations and convincing the manager of the Continental (our first date spot) at 2nd and Market to allow us to take pictures inside on the day of the wedding. My bridal party loved him, even the guys, who could care less about getting pictures taken. I'm somewhat last minute and decided to add on special portraits to be taken the morning of the wedding and given to our parents at our reception. Although I decided this 5 days before the wedding and it meant that Jerry needed an additional assistant, he never once acted like it was a problem and was more than happy to do it. He had his assistant leave the art museum, upload, photoshop, mat, frame and giftwrap the portraits for our parents - all in time to present them as gifts during our reception. One of my favorite moments of my day was standing with my mother watching the amazing slideshow at my reception. The pictures told the story of our beautiful day and I have Jerry to thank for capturing it all.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
Thisan is very much a wolf in Sheep's clothing. He would talk badly about couples and brides. He never took our engagement photos. He instead just gave us an extra page in an album and manipulated us to Feel fine w that. He didn't help me fix my dress or my hair for our shots. He sold us a 'deal' for 800$ at our last visit of three 16x20s of pictures that aren't appealing to me. I look at m
This photo and just hate that we chose Tomko.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
Does he take amazing photographs? Absolutely! Is he an artist? Yes! Is he a pompous, arrogant man who flirts with woman at your wedding? Yep! Does he return phone calls our emails? No Did it take THREE YEARSto get a wedding album from him? Yes! You did not read wrong it was THREE! DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS MAN! He is a talented photographer with an attitude that you owe him the world. You want your pictures? Ha! You won't get them! For YEARS!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sleepingbecks123
Wedding:
4/11/2009
1.3/5.0
Consider yourself warned if you chose to book this photographer. My wedding was in the Spring of 2009 and we have yet to receive our wedding albums and frankly, we have stopped reaching out because he doesn't return calls or emails. I got a texted saying "at a funeral" once, I mean what adult communicates this way, especially after paying over 10K for your wedding photos/albums? He is a gifted photographer, but let's be honest, there are many gifted photographers out there who actually take pride in being an ethical business person and actually care about their clients. He definitely marked up our final bill by creating an album with more pictures than we paid for but like idiots, we paid. He'll also pull on your heart strings by discussing how he is a cancer survivor which I think is so dispicable. My husband even took him to a Yankee game - paid for the tickets and never got a "thank you." He also was talking about how he can get more business the day of our wedding..I can go on and on but really, I just want to make sure people out there are educated because your wedding day is special and you need to know what you would be getting yourself into.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.1/5.0
Initially I had a great review Jerry and his work. My opinion however has significantly changed as it has been 2 years and 5 months from our wedding date, in early 2009, and we still do not have our wedding albums which were supposed to be delivered in December 2009. When Jerry did respond to our inquiries about the extreme delay, we kept getting the runaround about how time consuming the work is and that there was a delay on the album production side and not his. For the past year however, he will not even return emails or phone calls to tell us what in the world is causing such a delay in our albums. Jerry may be a talented photographer but he is a very unprofessional businessman. Current brides-to-be should think very carefully before choosing this photographer, as his entire mentality does a complete turnaround once he is booked and paid.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
11/7/2008
0.7/5.0
Yes, you all correct Jerry tomkos photos are amazingly beautiful! However just celebrating my 4 year anniversary and my wedding album is no where to be found...maybe the joke is on me as we paid in full 6 months prior to our wedding. Here is a team we welcomed in to our lives to be with us on our special day and we still have nothing to show for it. I can not imagine anyone treating a customer like this. We are now seeking legal council as he has left us no other option as well publishing our experience as it turns out our vendor was upset to hear about this and has volunteered to assist us in our hopes to actually have an album to share with our son! Jerry tomko I don't know how you sleep at night after treating hardworking young couples starting out their lives with such deceit and thievery.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
1/5/2008
5.0/5.0
I can’t imagine what this writer is talking about! I feel compelled to tell MY story, being alerted about this by a friend of mine who just used jerry as her photographer!

Jerry not only did a magnificent job on our photos, he was incredibly responsive to our concerns. Yes, our photos did take over a year to be completed but the result was more than worth the wait. Jerry isn’t just another wedding photographer - he’s an artist. Our photos are worthy of an art gallery and would be standouts in any - and every - fashion magazine. Everyone who sees them is completely awed by them. The same is true of our framed photo, parent albums, and guest book. These are portraits of a once in a lifetime event and every image conveys all of the magic of our wedding day, our love for each other, and the dreams and hopes our families share with us. We know that our children, and their children, will treasure them as works of art beyond price.

One more thing, Jerry had just recovered from surgery and was in the middle of his treatments when he shot our wedding. Being in the medical field myself I know he was clearly suffering yet still made a point of taking care of all our needs. To imply that his illness wasn’t real says much more about the inhumanity of the writer than it does about Jerry’s talent and services. He is, without question, the best of the best and anyone who sees his work knows it instantly.

Bridget
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vesna
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
I am responding directly to the woman who actually had the nerve to state that Jerry used cancer as an excuse for “being just plain rude.....” are you kidding me?? I’ve never heard a more absurd statement, and you should be ashamed of yourself.

Gerard Tomko photographed my wedding November 2007. Everything about their service was impeccable, from the quality of the photographs to the professionalism of the entire staff. I have recommended him to several friends, who then hired him, and every one of them was equally as happy with his service and his product.

FYI, Jerry was just newly diagnosed with stomach cancer and starting treatment somewhere between contracting to shoot our wedding and the day of the event. While he felt it important that he disclose this info, he also assured me that it would not affect his service...and it did not. As a nurse, I am well aware of the hardship and toll that cancer has on an individual and their families. Yet Gerard Tomko Photography didn’t miss a beat. Clearly the selfish woman that wrote that comment is ignorant to the realities of cancer, and is in for a very rude awakening when she finds herself or someone she loves inflicted with the same diagnoses, as cancer does not discriminate, and we are all fair game. SHAME ON YOU.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bride07
Wedding:
8/31/2007
4.8/5.0
My husband and I wanted to book Jerry Tomko for our wedding but he was already booked for another event. Instead we were blessed with Amy, his daughter, who was wonderful! She certainly has been taught by the best and we believe Jerry is the best in the business. I would have rated complete five stars, but communication was a little challenging at some points (rightfully so as Jerry had a pretty severe illness at one point).

Anyhow, all of the other reviewers who scored so negatively should be ashamed of themselves. I just received my album, yes almost two years later, but let me tell you it was worth the wait! I cried when I saw it. All of our friends and family keep remarking how they have never seen anything like it. Jerry and Amy's work is truly art. The same goes for our framed photo, parent albums and guest book. I have no regrets working with Jerry. Yes, you could spend less and have something sooner but I guarantee the quality will not touch what you get from Jerry.

As for communication, if you follow the office hours, someone was usually able to return my calls or email within 48 hours.

I also want to mention that Jerry stands by his work 100%. One of our parent albums had a (very minor) mistake and he is recreating it for us. I have no regrets about using Jerry and Amy!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Gerard Tomko Photography was absolutley amazing. He was so professional, and the pictures he took really captured the most wonderful time in our lives. We also took engagement photos with Gerard Tomko and they, as well, were beautiful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sad bride
Wedding:
9/8/2006
0.6/5.0
Please do NOT use this photographer for anything. I also had a nightmare experience with Jerry Tomko. I still have never received my wedding album 6 yrs after my wedding!!! After spending hours correcting edits that he lost and stupidly giving him more money to finish the album then in the contract, I still have no album. He used the cancer excuse with me too. But he continued to do weddings during his sickness, so how sick was he really. He is a scam artist. I even tried legal action but his lawyer agreed to settle with me then disappeared and will not answer any calls and emails from me. So I am left without an album and out thousands of dollars. He stole my time, money, and memories!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mhoffman
Wedding:
6/24/2006
3.0/5.0
It took 3yrs to get our photo album. The photos were awsome but "THREE YEARS". Communication was challenging at best. Professionalism on the wedding day was excellent but the follow through after was terrible. I did not think we were going to actually see a finished product. But if you call and keep on the process then I guess you eventually see results. Very frustrating overall
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
1/28/2006
3.2/5.0
Overall, we were pleased with our package. Our friends rave over our album (we chose to go digital, rather than the traditional matted style) and the creativity of our photos. I love our album, but was unhappy that the album they had showed us upon contracting them as our photographer was upgraded. So when we received our proof of our album, naturally, it was also upgraded (approx. $2000 more in upgrades). I ended up paying extra to upgrade the album, but did reduce it from the original level they had it at. It was a fairly unpleasant situation, and ultimately they did give me a little bit of a price break.

Bottom line: our album and photos came out great. The quality was great; however, it ended up exceeding our original budget.
Services Used: Photography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gerard Tomko Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo