130x130_sq_1240846177125-logo

Giuliana Photography

Melrose , MA

LOCATION

Melrose, MA US 02176 (map)

PHONE

617-784-9769

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Dana Giuliana captures the love and energy of the day that is honest and pure without the hassle and stress of typical photographers. Photography packages are also uncomplicated - with... Read more
Dana Giuliana captures the love and energy of the day that is honest and pure without the hassle and stress of typical photographers. Photography packages are also uncomplicated - with upfront pricing and a carefully selected set of options that make the process easy and budget friendly. Spend money on only the items you want - from the basic photography coverage to a complete suite of products including bridal and parent albums, Wedding Story DVDs and custom enlargements. All couples receive their original digital files within weeks of the wedding plus an online photo gallery, online print ordering, and full color proof magazine. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1238077957531-003080524054
130x130_sq_1238077957625-001041016f323sm
130x130_sq_1238077958109-006060506img341
130x130_sq_1238077958281-009img2592sm
130x130_sq_1238077958468-010060811img234
130x130_sq_1238077959000-0110810120332
130x130_sq_1238077959156-024553sm
130x130_sq_1238077959562-099r002006asm

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
No
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I have been a photographer for twenty years - and trained as a cinematographer in film school. Good lighting is the foundation to my photography talents and lets me work in any condition.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot completely digital.
How many photographers do you work with?
I typically work by myself as I think its crucial that the subjects be unaware that they are being photographed and comfortable with my presence at such an intimate event. But I have three photographers that I shoot with each year when my clients request a second photographer. They are professionals in their own right and have a style and quality that matches well with mine.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
I have shot every single wedding since 2001. Probably about 200 weddings.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
No way.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes - but thankfully its never happened. It would be discussed in advance and the client would have the option to walk away with a full refund and use a different photographer.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring all professional camera bodies and the highest quality lenses that money can buy. I love my Canon equipment. I have backup cameras, flashes, batteries, memory cards - everything.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Duh! Yeah. I also bring a stomach full of butterflies to every wedding. I still get so excited about each shoot.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full Day rate which includes six hours but then clients can add hours and pay a per hour rate.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes up to ten hours (then I usually collapse on the floor). The current rate is $150 for each additional hour.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I require a meal break for fifteen minutes. Yes please feed me! Something warm and tasty. If I get a cupcake I will do the moonwalk for you.
Do you charge for travel?
No. That is lame.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
two weeks or less. no kidding
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
online and in a keepsake proof album
How long can the client keep the proofs?
uh - forever and ever? Yeah - its your wedding, why would I want them?
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
No - since its not MY wedding. Customers received the full rights of use for the photos as soon as I deliver them a couple weeks after the wedding.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes please unless the client requests that I keep it all top secret.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes and they are the high quality stuff - for printing poster sized prints or the typical 5x7 and 8x10
Will images be available for viewing online?
That is a silly question. Yes of course. I will even put a bunch on facebook and tag people if my clients will allow me to.
What kind of albums do you offer?
A variety of albums - though none from "Italy". These are made by hand by great people at two awesome album manufacturers who stand by their work. I offer albums both traditional and the latest contemporary styles. Some as little as $300 and fancier ones costing around $1100.
When will the client get the final album?
The client has to select the photos first. Once that is done I design it myself and present the design to the client for the approval of the book. Then it gets sent to the printers and the album arrived within 6-8 weeks from when the clients submitted the photo selections to me. This is in my contract and I stick to this.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lee Ann
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with Dana's pictures! They are above and beyond anything we could have imagined and have received tons of compliments! We are so grateful and amazed by his ability to capture every moment! Dana was exceptional at sneakily getting candid pictures too!
My husband and I could not stop talking about how we didn't even notice that he was around at certain times yet we have these amazing pictures that look like he was standing right next to us! We are so happy with Dana and highly recommend him!
We could not be happier with Dana's pictures! They are above and beyond anything we could have imagined and have received Read more...
We could not be happier with Dana's pictures! They are above and beyond anything we could have imagined and have received tons of compliments! We are so grateful and amazed by his ability to capture every moment! Dana was exceptional at sneakily getting candid pictures too!
My husband and I could not stop talking about how we didn't even notice that he was around at certain times yet we have these amazing pictures that look like he was standing right next to us! We are so happy with Dana and highly recommend him! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/16/2012
3.0/5.0
Dana is a very nice guy and he enjoys what he does. It was always pleasant working with him and he put in a long day with us. In my opinion, however, he was an adequate photographer - not great, but adequate. We got some good shots, but nothing amazing. Wish he had helped "direct" a bit more in our formal shots and done something more romantic/creative. Also would have liked more focus on the bride/dress. I worked very hard on my "look" that day and would have appreciated more details captured.

Overall, we got done what we needed, but nothing special.
Dana is a very nice guy and he enjoys what he does. It was always pleasant working with him and he put in a long day with Read more...
Dana is a very nice guy and he enjoys what he does. It was always pleasant working with him and he put in a long day with us. In my opinion, however, he was an adequate photographer - not great, but adequate. We got some good shots, but nothing amazing. Wish he had helped "direct" a bit more in our formal shots and done something more romantic/creative. Also would have liked more focus on the bride/dress. I worked very hard on my "look" that day and would have appreciated more details captured.

Overall, we got done what we needed, but nothing special. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1312768025754-amacad
Jay
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Planning our wedding from out of state, we chose Dana after lengthy phone interviews with several possible photographers and having looked through his online photo albums. We also met with him once in person. We also found our wedding venue because it was shown on his site.

We wanted a photo journalist more than a traditional wedding photographer. While we had some of the traditional formal photos with our families, we wanted Dana to capture a sense of the ceremony and the reception without making his presence too obvious. We rarely were aware that he was around, other than during the time-consuming family portraits. We also needed a photographer who could work with a camera-shy groom, and he managed to get some formal shots of both of us smiling and looking almost relaxed before the ceremony.

We didn’t want to have formal table pictures or for us to be in every photo, and we asked that he photograph as many of our guests as possible. He got just about every one of our 150 guests, without knowing any of them.
He arrived early and was able to photograph some pre-ceremony events, and he stayed until the last guests left, which was longer than we expected.

We also had special floral table arrangements – each table was different – and Dana managed to get almost all of them in interesting angles.

He was always pleasant to work with and we were pleased with the results. He also was great in dealing with our requests for privacy and the display of our photos and in negotiating terms in his standard contract.
Planning our wedding from out of state, we chose Dana after lengthy phone interviews with several possible photographers Read more...
Planning our wedding from out of state, we chose Dana after lengthy phone interviews with several possible photographers and having looked through his online photo albums. We also met with him once in person. We also found our wedding venue because it was shown on his site.

We wanted a photo journalist more than a traditional wedding photographer. While we had some of the traditional formal photos with our families, we wanted Dana to capture a sense of the ceremony and the reception without making his presence too obvious. We rarely were aware that he was around, other than during the time-consuming family portraits. We also needed a photographer who could work with a camera-shy groom, and he managed to get some formal shots of both of us smiling and looking almost relaxed before the ceremony.

We didn’t want to have formal table pictures or for us to be in every photo, and we asked that he photograph as many of our guests as possible. He got just about every one of our 150 guests, without knowing any of them.
He arrived early and was able to photograph some pre-ceremony events, and he stayed until the last guests left, which was longer than we expected.

We also had special floral table arrangements – each table was different – and Dana managed to get almost all of them in interesting angles.

He was always pleasant to work with and we were pleased with the results. He also was great in dealing with our requests for privacy and the display of our photos and in negotiating terms in his standard contract. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/10/2010
4.7/5.0
Great candid photographs. Some pictures weren't taken at the right angles or had other things in the way of the picture, but overall good value for the price.
Great candid photographs. Some pictures weren't taken at the right angles or had other things in the way of the picture, Read more...
Great candid photographs. Some pictures weren't taken at the right angles or had other things in the way of the picture, but overall good value for the price. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ZSR
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
First, we absolutely love our photos! Not only do they look great, but Dana took photos of all of our guests and "told the story of our wedding" through the photos. We were very excited to see this and it helped recreate the evening for us. In general, Dana was a pleasure to work with. He was very responsive, easy to talk to, friendly, and he unobtrusively took a ton of photos for us. He definitely was as big part in making our wedding so successful. We would highly recommend him..
First, we absolutely love our photos! Not only do they look great, but Dana took photos of all of our guests and "told the Read more...
First, we absolutely love our photos! Not only do they look great, but Dana took photos of all of our guests and "told the story of our wedding" through the photos. We were very excited to see this and it helped recreate the evening for us. In general, Dana was a pleasure to work with. He was very responsive, easy to talk to, friendly, and he unobtrusively took a ton of photos for us. He definitely was as big part in making our wedding so successful. We would highly recommend him.. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JEB
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Dana did wonderful work as our wedding photographer last July. He was low key, but clear and efficient when it came time to do our group shots. Dana has an eye for catching fun, sincere moments that we can now treasure for a lifetime. I liked that we could develop a package that blended so well with what we wanted and our budget. We loved having access to all of our wedding pictures less than two weeks after the wedding, too!
Dana did wonderful work as our wedding photographer last July. He was low key, but clear and efficient when it came time Read more...
Dana did wonderful work as our wedding photographer last July. He was low key, but clear and efficient when it came time to do our group shots. Dana has an eye for catching fun, sincere moments that we can now treasure for a lifetime. I liked that we could develop a package that blended so well with what we wanted and our budget. We loved having access to all of our wedding pictures less than two weeks after the wedding, too! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
etabs
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
We were very happy to have used Dana as our wedding photographer -- our photos were gorgeous. Having planned our wedding from afar, all communication was done by email and phone and Dana was very flexible and easy to work with. He spent a considerable amount of time talking with us about our shot list and time line and came very well prepared. He has a great sense of humor and helped us remain stress free and at ease before our ceremony (so important!). After the wedding, Dana very quickly got our photos up on the internet so that we, excitedly, could share them with our family and friends.
We were very happy to have used Dana as our wedding photographer -- our photos were gorgeous. Having planned our wedding Read more...
We were very happy to have used Dana as our wedding photographer -- our photos were gorgeous. Having planned our wedding from afar, all communication was done by email and phone and Dana was very flexible and easy to work with. He spent a considerable amount of time talking with us about our shot list and time line and came very well prepared. He has a great sense of humor and helped us remain stress free and at ease before our ceremony (so important!). After the wedding, Dana very quickly got our photos up on the internet so that we, excitedly, could share them with our family and friends. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathleens
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.8/5.0
We were very pleased with Dana's work at our wedding. He was professional, flexible to our needs, and unobtrusive. The pictures came out wonderful. He got so many great candids of so many of our guests, that we made copies and sent them out to our guests with their thank you notes. Everyone loved them. He has a way of capturing people in a natural way.
We were very pleased with Dana's work at our wedding. He was professional, flexible to our needs, and unobtrusive. The Read more...
We were very pleased with Dana's work at our wedding. He was professional, flexible to our needs, and unobtrusive. The pictures came out wonderful. He got so many great candids of so many of our guests, that we made copies and sent them out to our guests with their thank you notes. Everyone loved them. He has a way of capturing people in a natural way. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lfilhour
Wedding:
1/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Dana was EXCELLENT from start to finish! He made us feel very comfortable so that we could be relaxed and the photos therefore be very natural. That made them wonderful! He also took many photos so we had lots to choose from.
He has an excellent eye so he knows how to capture the right moments. His fun and warm personality also made it a great experience. And his value was the best I found in the Boston area!
Dana was EXCELLENT from start to finish! He made us feel very comfortable so that we could be relaxed and the photos Read more...
Dana was EXCELLENT from start to finish! He made us feel very comfortable so that we could be relaxed and the photos therefore be very natural. That made them wonderful! He also took many photos so we had lots to choose from.
He has an excellent eye so he knows how to capture the right moments. His fun and warm personality also made it a great experience. And his value was the best I found in the Boston area! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Dana is a fantastic photographer. My husband and I were thrilled with our wedding photos!
Dana is a fantastic photographer. My husband and I were thrilled with our wedding photos!
Dana is a fantastic photographer. My husband and I were thrilled with our wedding photos! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jblr
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
Dana was a pleasure to deal with at all phases of the process. He took great pictures and did an excellent job "fading into the background" during the ceremony and celebration. He also provided full resolution digital originals without additional cost to us. Highly recommended!
Dana was a pleasure to deal with at all phases of the process. He took great pictures and did an excellent job "fading Read more...
Dana was a pleasure to deal with at all phases of the process. He took great pictures and did an excellent job "fading into the background" during the ceremony and celebration. He also provided full resolution digital originals without additional cost to us. Highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaka
Wedding:
3/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Dana did an outstanding job photographing our wedding. He is unobtrusive, and was able to get some wonderful "action shots." For evidence, see http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2026170&id=1553343972&l=2c38cf8c2a
Dana did an outstanding job photographing our wedding. He is unobtrusive, and was able to get some wonderful "action Read more...
Dana did an outstanding job photographing our wedding. He is unobtrusive, and was able to get some wonderful "action shots." For evidence, see http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2026170&id=1553343972&l=2c38cf8c2a Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helen
Wedding:
8/20/2005
5.0/5.0
Dana did an excellent job shooting our wedding. We are very happy with his pictures and his service. I highly recommend his work.
Dana did an excellent job shooting our wedding. We are very happy with his pictures and his service. I highly recommend Read more...
Dana did an excellent job shooting our wedding. We are very happy with his pictures and his service. I highly recommend his work. Read less
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Military Discount - save $150
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
The men and women of our armed services deserve some thanks for serving our country. If the bride or groom are an active-duty or retired member of the military, you will save $150 off any package.
Deal #WWf18651aec1838c53
220x220_1240846177125-logo

MAP

 
Melrose, MA 02176 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Giuliana Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1240846177125-logo