130x130_sq_1380217728913-glen-manor

Glen Manor House

Portsmouth , RI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Portsmouth, RI US 02871 (map)

PHONE

401-683-4177

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

PORTSMOUTH RHODE ISLAND WEDDINGS - GLEN MANOR HOUSE
Rhode Island Weddings. The Glen Manor House provides an idyllic waterfront setting for your wedding reception, corporate event... Read more
PORTSMOUTH RHODE ISLAND WEDDINGS - GLEN MANOR HOUSE
Rhode Island Weddings. The Glen Manor House provides an idyllic waterfront setting for your wedding reception, corporate event or social gathering, combining the elegant French chateau with its extensive terraces and formal gardens with the relaxed atmosphere of a country estate. The Glen Manor House offers everything you would expect from a top wedding facility, and the location is superb. This Portsmouth mansion is the perfect venue for an unforgettable wedding reception.

The Glen Manor House is located in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, minutes from Newport. Glen Manor House specializes in wedding receptions, corporate events and social gatherings in Portsmouth, RI. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1370741740097-glen-manor
130x130_sq_1370742457282-marketing-photos-2209-098
130x130_sq_1370742852523-marketing-photos-093
130x130_sq_1370742271891-hrw425
130x130_sq_1370743105560-peterkin101

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1923
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Vintage, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
WOW! Glen Manor was an amazing choice for my wedding. I am so glad we made the choice to hold our event here. Katie is a top notch coordinator; she's professional and very skilled at what she dooes. Come the day of my wedding, I had nothing to worry about and every detail was handled with care as I would have. The guests were all blown away by the venue and my photographer was in heaven. I could not be happier that we chose to say 'I do' at the Glen Manor! I would advice not to be put off my the layout, it totally works and facitiates this great flow and a feeling that it's your place for the evening. It was worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
The grounds and the manor itself were spectacular! If you want a storybook wedding, this is the place. While the Manor was the focal point for the guests, the best benefit for me was Katie, the venue coordinator. She made everything run like clockwork, and her great relationships with the local vendors ensured that the bride and I didn't have to think about any of the details on our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Celia
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Katie kindness, support, and hard work is unparallelled. Katie was wonderful throughout the planning process and we could not have pulled off the wedding without her. If I needed a vendor recommendation, she was there. If I needed her to facilitate something, she was there. On the day of the wedding, she was there to set up items that I could not do myself. I was worried that things would fall through the cracks without a wedding planner, but what I realized was that Katie was better than any wedding planner I could have ever hired. She is special for the little things she does - like placing cake in a box for my husband and me to take home at the end of the night. I don't think there is a wedding professional as patient and professional as Katie out there.

Our friends and family could not stop raving about the beauty of Glen Manor. Everyone, including us, was in awe. Glen Manor was breathtaking on the day of our wedding. The leaves were falling perfectly and the indoor atmosphere was phenomenal. Everything was perfect from the moment Katie greeted us with her warmth. There is no venue as beautiful as Glen Manor, not even the nearby Newport mansions can compete. While those are large and cold, Glen Manor feels like you are hosting a party in your own home. You cannot go wrong!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin with the Glen Manor? It was absolutely amazing and Katie was wonderful to work with. This place is breathtakingly beautiful and I am so happy that I chose this venue for my wedding. My guests were so impressed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irina
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
The space is picturesque, and Katie is just wonderful!!! She was so informative, helpful, and on top of every element! I don't know what I would have done without her - she was really an amazing person to work with and created a space that captured my every dream!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
The Glen Manor was absolutely a fabulous venue for our wedding day! I cannot say enough good things about this place, would need a whole book, but it was amazing! The place to begin with is gorgeous!!!!! If you look at photos online, it really is that beautiful. From inside the mansion to the gardens and the water, we got the most amazing photos and have the most beautiful memories. But, even on top of that, the management is exceptional! Katie was amazing to work with, she was always on top of things, amazingly flexible and extremely helpful. She always had great suggestions for what worked with the venue and your hopes and dreams. She was so nice and professional, but personable too. She helped coordinate the whole set up and every minute of the wedding. Always there if you needed her, but never in the way. I do not know what we would have done without Katie! She worked so well with all of our vendors and made sure she knew every detail so that you and your guests did not have to worry about a single thing. I honestly had not a care in the world on the wedding day and everything went exactly how we wanted! She helped make our day amazing, special and unforgettable. We love Katie and we love Glen Manor! THANK YOU!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything about our daughter's wedding at the Glen Manor was simply perfection. The beautiful grounds, the gorgeous Manor itself and the setting on the water made for a fairytale wedding. We loved the privacy of this elegant and grand venue and working with Katie Wilkson, who is the wedding coordinator, made the day flow seemlessly and beatuifully. Katie's helpful suggestions regarding caterers, florists, string quartets and DJs, videographers, etc. also led us to form great working relationsips with all vendors and each of them had a great deal of experience at the Glen Manor which also led to a well orchestrated and wonderful day. I can't say enough about the Glen. Many of our guests have told us that it was the most beautiful and elegant wedding they have ever attended. That says a lot since many of them are on the "wedding circuit" with their own children and friends. Another feature that many folks loved was the ease of movement around the rooms and outdoors. Elderly guests who did not wish to dance but wanted to converse without music drowning out their voices could sit at dining tables in adjancent dining rooms. We had the perfect weddinig size for the Glen at 125. No one was sitting outside or under the screened area. Don't be put off by the cost of renting the Glen for the day. We chose a Saturday which is more expensive during wedding season, but very affordable weddings can be held there on Sundays and Fridays. You will create a wedding of a lifetime if you have it here...so very glad we did from start to finish. Thanks to all. Judy
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
There is only one way to describe this venue, PERFECT. The setting inside and out is so elegant, the gardens, the river, the marble and chandeliers!
What really makes this the ideal venue thoughts Katie wilkinson and her husband Don. Katie is delightful, accommodating and accomplished. She has been the force behind this beautiful home for more than eighteen years and her reputation is outstanding. Each and every vendor we interviewed mentioned they are always delighted to work with Katie. High praise! Each of our vendors, some who had not been to Glen Manor where effusive in their descriptions of her treatment of them. Respectful and helpful.
Do not even think about the different dining rooms, it is truly not an issue. The comfort of your guests is always at the fore front.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I was told that my wedding was like a fairytale :)
That was one of the nicest comments that I got in regards of my wedding at the Glen Manor this during teh past Memorial weekend. The location was magnificent! The Glen Manor was the perfect location for my husband and I to get married. Katie at the Glen Manor is so knowledgeable that made my planning so easy and smooth. The venue was beautiful inside and out and everyone loved it! We got married outside overlooking the water. The view was unbelievalble and the garden was so well kept. I would highly recommend the Glen Manor for weddings. Such an amazing experience as we were able to tailor everything according to our preferences and likings and have privacy for our special day just to share with family and frineds.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
October Bride
Wedding:
10/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Glen Manor House or Katie - the event manager. Katie was a delight to work with; she was courteous, professional, organized, and very detail-oriented. She always responded promptly to my e-mails and phone calls - which is more than I can say for some of my other vendors. She made great suggestions about how to run the entire wedding day - from the time the wedding party arrived to the end of the wedding and packing up our belongings. The entire wedding was seamless; I never had to worry about a thing. Additionally, whenever I told one of my other vendors that we were having our wedding at the Glen, the first response from them was, "Oh, Katie is great to work with...." And of course I can't forget to mention how beautiful Glen Manor House, the grounds there, and its overall location were. I never had the opportunity to meet Don - Katie's husband and the person responsible for the grounds at the Glen. He really does a beautiful job; I have the pictures to prove it! So thank you to Katie, Don, and the Glen Manor House for our amazing wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Glen Manor is the perfect space for an elegant event- beautiful and intimate space and lovely garden/landscaping for outdoor ceremony. Although booking this space requires separately booking various vendors, my husband and I actually preferred having the freedom to choose each vendor. Importantly, Katie's knowledge and experience is priceless- she steers you to the perfect vendors and runs the ceremony and reception like clockwork- I really didn't worry on my wedding day! We also noted all our vendors raved about Glen Manor (and some even got married there themselves!).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tori
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I feel so incredibly lucky that I had my wedding at the Glen Manor. Katie, the event coordinator, is nothing short of exceptional. Every little detail-- including a couple of the ones that I had totally neglected!-- were taken care of. I can't tell you how much it meant to have such peace of mind on my wedding day. We had envisioned sunshine and butterflies on our wedding day, but we were instead greeted by overcast skies and rain. As I was maniacally checking the weather forecast, it was SUCH a comfort to know that we had such a beautiful place to take pictures, regardless of the weather. I would recommend the Glen to anyone- it was exceptional and I am so grateful that we decided to get married there!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1318956463978-aruba2
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at the Glen Manor was everything we dreamed with would be! Katie was so helpful with the planning prior to the wedding and did a great job coordinating behind the scenes the day of. Having a venue with both beautiful indoor and outdoor ceremony & reception options can be very difficult to find - Glen Manor has it all!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lia
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED having our wedding at Glen Manor. It is a fairy tale wedding location - totally secluded, breathtaking views and gardens and beautiful building. Katie Wilkinson, the on-site coordinator is just as amazing as the location. She is incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and organized. There was not one single detail that was missed or incorrect during the process or on the day of the wedding. She also made us feel like we were the only wedding she was dealing with which is quite amazing when you realize the venue was booked every day of every weekend. I really couldn't say enough good things about Katie OR the venue.

PS. don't be afraid of the multi-room aspect. We felt that it actually made our wedding more fun and kept people moving around.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Glen Manor is a beautiful venue and Katie is absolutely fantastic. It stormed during our wedding and we were so incredibly thankful that we were at the Glen and not in a tent somewhere. They moved the ceremony inside before guests arrived and most everyone thought it was always supposed to be inside. We loved the uniqueness of the manor, and particularly how far away we were from downtown.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This place is beautiful! Loved my wedding their! Dream come true! Only negative is the building doesn't have AC but the cool wind off the water helps out :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
7/21/2006
5.0/5.0
Katie was ended up being one of the most important parts of our event. She worked incredibly with all of the other vendors. She was pleasant and organized.
The Glen Manor is nicer than some of the mansions on Newport but FAR from the same exhorbitant pricing. A Gorgeous venue in wonderful condition. Right on the river with a beautiful bridge and pier for photos.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bwhite
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Katie. She is an angel for all brides - I honestly cannot say enough about her. The venue is stunning and she makes it that much more amazing. She is so patient, sincere, and helpful. I absolutely loved working with her. The venue is a great setting if you're having a small to medium size wedding (i.e. less than 200 people). You have the entire house and people are free to be inside, outside, on the dance floor, at a table. The only down side was I had fog on my wedding day so we didn't get great pictures by the water but even then, Katie told us we could come back to get our pictures by the water - AMAZING venue and staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Katie was wonderful to work with, very prompt with responses and extremely professional. Not to mention, the views are breathtaking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stef
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
We worked with Katie and Don throughout the past year and I have nothing but love for them both! Katie is quick to reply to emails and phone calls and is super organized. She walked us through the ceremony rehearsal and took detailed notes to make sure she had everything correct. On the day of, she was there to line us up and see that guests were seated properly and timely. She kept all of us on time and with a smile and gentle words. Her husband Don took over half way through the reception and was equally as sweet and helpful. The grounds of the Glen are breathtaking and Don takes care of every plant and flower. We splurged on the Glen and we wouldn’t have it any other way! Highly Recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
syracuse1996
Wedding:
9/20/2009
5.0/5.0
When longtime Rhode Islander's are taken back by the beauty of a place in RI, you know you've discovered a treasure. Glen Manor was our treasure! The venue alone provides for a variety of tastes and styles. If you get perfect weather on your special day (which we did) you will think you are in a fairy tale. The terraces, the garden the Sakonnet River, it is all absolutely perfect! Katie, the caretaker is wonderful. She is experienced, timely and sets the tone for what will be a perfect day for anyone who decides to have their wedding or function at Glen Manor!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bearlythere
Wedding:
8/28/2009
5.0/5.0
An exceptional site! Katie was fantastic making sure the wedding went off smoothly as planned even though she came in late in the process.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerianne
Wedding:
8/13/2009
5.0/5.0
The Glen Manor House is a perfect venue for the perfect wedding. The house is beautiful, the grounds are impressive. It is located on the Sakkonet River in Portsmouth, RI and you can have the wedding inside or outside in the garden. We had planned on having ours outdoors but when it rained, the ballroom made a great alternative. Katie Wilkinson was one of my favorite vendors. She responded immediately to almost every email, was flexible, helpful answering questions in a timely manner, and is a super sweet person on top of everything else. When we told our vendors where the wedding was they all responded "Oh Katie is great to work with" and they were right.

Tips and things to know about GMH:
1. Don't judge the pricing by the website. We had our wedding on a Thursday which saved us $3000 and without giving away too much, Katie gave us some other savings here and there.

2. You must bring in an outside caterer...which was our plan anyway.

3. There are 3 rooms that you use for the wedding, 2 dining rooms which are open to each other and a ballroom....don't be turned off to this....it promotes movement during the wedding rather than having your guests so stationary and bored at the wedding....along with the terraces, grounds, and beautiful hallway....this really makes the event.

4. The upstairs rooms allow for getting ready at the GMH and it is a great opportunity for photos, and family time.

5. Book your venue here if you can. It is worth EVERY PENNY!

For more info on GMH and pictures see our website at www.michaelandkeri.net.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1211323082999-img_0278
Leeny1231
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
The Glen was beautiful! All of our guests loved the venue! Katie was so easy to work with and helped through the planning process. She met with us 2 weeks before the wedding to finalize all details and we were confident she had control of our reception. That made it so easy when our day came because she knew our details and what we wanted. It is more affordable than Newport options but still expensive in my opinion - but definitely worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beebs
Wedding:
9/26/2008
5.0/5.0
The Glen was amazing! The woman who runs the events there...Katie is great! She made sure the reception went seamlessly and kept us on time for everything. She truely helped to make our dream come true. Also the Glen has amazing views, an awesome ballroom for dancing, and a covered veranda which is great for pictures if it rains.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
9/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Talk about customer service and "knowing your business." Katie Wilkinson--the caretaker and property manager for Glen Manor--is truly unbelievable. She makes even planning seem like an easy process. (She is so good that I actually got two unsolicited, positive reviews about my venue from other vendors that I was in discussions with.) She is no nonsense in the best sense of the moniker and was an incredible resource for me--given that I was planning my wedding from thousands of miles away and did all of my research/planning over the internet. Upon our first discussions, she sent me a CD-Rom showing the grounds and services that Glen Manor offered and a one-sheet of recommended vendors. All of our vendors--except for our piper and photographer--came from her recommended list. And, we were pleased with ALL of the vendors that we worked with. (A very rare sentiment when doing event planning.) We spoke at length by phone and e-mail leading up to the event. She wanted to make sure that she knew exactly what my vision was for the day and communicated all needs to all of the vendors--caterer, florist, A/V, DJ, etc. On the day of, she managed all of the details. ALL of them. My Mom had wanted to find a way to squeeze in a stop by Glen Manor before the ceremony. Katie said that she knew our schedule was tight and to please not create more stress--she had it all under control and that my Mom did not need to bother. My Mom and I are not typically ones to pass on double and triple-checking--especially for an important event like this. But, after all of the planning and communication, we both felt confident in Katie's promises. She made the day 100% stress-free. Neither my Mom nor myself fielded ONE call regarding the details. Katie handled everything flawlessly and if there had been any changes/adjustments, I didn't see or notice anything. I was able to enjoy my wedding day and relax with my guests because of the accountability on Katie's part. She is an invaluable asset to planning a wedding...not to mention, the grounds at Glen Manor are STUNNING and made for wonderful wedding portraits.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Beautiful place! We wanted to be married on or near the water & this was the most reasonably priced place compared to all the venues in Newport. Katie was also great to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
You cannot go wrong picking the Glen Manor House for your ceremony and/or reception location. The grounds are beautiful and the house has so many great details to work with. But what sets the Glen apart from other RI locations is the customer service. Katie and Don are a pleasure to work with and make you feel like you are the only bride they are working with from the time you look at the Glen until your wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.9/5.0
Glen Manor provided an absolutely perfect setting for our wedding. Katie was incredible, she helped put us at total ease and made the day run smoothly. Her attention to detail and warm attitude was just wonderful. Would highly recommend this venue to other couples.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
glenbride09
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.9/5.0
Amazing place, great service and there is nothing bad to say at all!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
This venue is a diamond in the rough. I quite literally had the wedding of my dreams and I truly believe that wouldn't have been the case if I chose a different spot. The beauty and elegance of Glen Manor speaks for itself. You don't need decorations, elaborate centerpieces, altar flowers, etc. it's all provided for you simply by the property itself. The location gives you the beauty of the Newport mansions without the busy traffic and craziness of downtown Newport in the summertime. And I absolutely cannot say enough about the event coordinator there, Katie. It was as if I had my very own wedding planner. She is kind and warm, but straight forward, businesslike, and gets the job done quickly and flawlessly. I emailed her constantly and she always got back to me right away. She met with us several times at our request and from the moment we visited the property 9 months before the wedding was, well...perfect! She was helpful, informative, a great adviser and friend during the most important event in our lives thus far. I wish I could hire her to help with our first baby! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/30/2013
4.6/5.0
The Glen Manor House is such a hidden gem! We wanted that New England mansion feel without the Newport price tag. Katie is so wonderful, organized, and experienced. I have 3 stars for flexibility because there are a few rules to abide by since the mansion is owned by the town and is a historical treasure, which is totally understandable. Our wedding turned at exactly how we dreamed and Katie was a big part of that happening. It is almost like you get a free planner with her, as she helps with vendor selection and vendor coordinating. Thank you so much Katie!

xo Megan
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Portsmouth, RI 02871 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Glen Manor House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1380217728913-glen-manor