130x130_sq_1256159540902-rockville

Glenview Mansion at Rockville Civic Center Park

Rockville , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Rockville Civic Center Park, 603 Edmonston Drive
Rockville, MD US 20851 (map)

PHONE

240-314-8660

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Surrounded by acres of manicured lawns, including a formal garden, Glenview Mansion is perfect for weddings, receptions and other social events. The first floor of the Mansion is fully... Read more
Surrounded by acres of manicured lawns, including a formal garden, Glenview Mansion is perfect for weddings, receptions and other social events. The first floor of the Mansion is fully furnished. The second floor is home to the Glenview Mansion Art Gallery.

The maximum capacity for the Mansion is 225 people. Furnishings in the social rooms of the Mansion include inviting chairs, couches and occasional tables. The Dining Room typically hosts your caterer’s buffet. The Conservatory most often accommodates ceremonies and dancing. The facility is perfect for stand-up buffet dining for any size group up to 225, but can only accommodate seated dining for a group of 50 or under.





Please call our main office at 240-314-8660.
Hours are Monday through Friday: 8:30am-4:30pm
Tours are available one Sunday morning each month prior to Art Gallery Openings.

Please call to confirm staff availability on these special Sundays.



For more information, email Rockville Civic Center Staff at the following addresses:

Susan Klise sklise@rockvillemd.gov or Nanette Belice nbelice@rockvillemd.gov Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1393533434692-224p092
130x130_sq_1393532073193-cbspring09-2
130x130_sq_1393532052624-224p090
130x130_sq_1393532033319-224p088
130x130_sq_1393532600431-garden-ceremony-pi
130x130_sq_1393532093515-img322
130x130_sq_1393532114665-img322
130x130_sq_1393532127681-img322
130x130_sq_1393532137937-img326
130x130_sq_1393532148059-img327
130x130_sq_1393532159535-img330
130x130_sq_1393532184111-img333
130x130_sq_1393532172093-img331
130x130_sq_1393532289692-img463
130x130_sq_1393532247248-img355
130x130_sq_1393532259300-img359
130x130_sq_1393532220587-img346
130x130_sq_1393532231659-img348
130x130_sq_1393532198753-img340
130x130_sq_1393532461697-img334
130x130_sq_1393532480875-img335

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1838
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
225
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
30
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Great venue and great staff. I am so glad I made the decision to book the Glenview Mansion as my venue. Everything turned out to be great. The price was very affordable and fit my budget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nathaniel
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
This location was beautiful. They are the perfect location right off the main drag but with how close it is to the highway it is set back in such away that the grounds feel like your are transported to a small manor house in the country. We had our ceremony in the formal gardens reception in the house and loved it. Be aware however that if you are planning a wedding with more than 50 attendees you will not be able to have a formal seated dinner and need to get creative. Nothing this venue is not familiar with and with our 70 person wedding not having formal seating actually worked well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1379687998810-avatar
Sophia
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Glenview Mansion was the perfect backdrop for our fall wedding. The beautiful gardens and unique stone work added a romantic touch to our wedding. Susan and her staff were extremely professional and great to work with. Susan always got back to me immediately about questions I had. She also was very helpful during the planning process.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Suzan at the Glenview Mansion. She was very friendly and easy to work with. We also loved having our reception here because it required very little decoration or preparation from our part.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with The Glenview Mansion. From our first meeting to discuss possible dates, to the follow up meetings with the caterer, the staff was professional, personable, and committed to making our day a happy one.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1345937722221-img0406
Clara
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Choosing to have our wedding at Glenview mansion was the best wedding decision we made. Glenview is like a dream – the house and gardens are unbelievably beautiful and make for an amazing backdrop for a wedding! There are so many nooks and crannies, and so many gorgeous photo opportunities. Our friends and family are still raving about how our wedding was the most unique and gorgeous they had ever been too. If you are looking for something different from the typical, boring hotel/ballroom set up, you will love Glenview! We had about 100 guests and a buffet set up and there was plenty of seating all over the house where people could disperse and mingle. Our guests loved exploring the art gallery upstairs and the gorgeous gardens. We worked with Susan Klise who is absolutely wonderful. The staff is polite, responsive, and extremely flexible – they even let us store our alcohol and other wedding supplies in the basement the day before our event. Any wedding at Glenview is a beautiful wedding by default!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our December wedding at Glenview Mansion and it could not have been more perfect. Many old mansions in the DC area have been converted to event venues; what makes Glenview difference is that it is still furnished like a home and our reception felt like we had invited 100 of our best friends to our house to celebrate the best day of our lives. Our guests loved milling around and talking with each other. Because it was December the house was decorated for Christmas and the twinkle lights from the trees gave our evening reception a delightful ambiance. We brought family photos that our wedding planner placed on tables throughout the house, giving it an even more personal feel. We were able to rent Glenview for a 10-hour time period, which was important to us because my parents are in the 80s and we didn't want our reception ending at midnight or later. Susan Klise was a delight to work with. She made recommendations for other vendors, many of which we went with. Susan can also help you plan a wonderful spring/summer/fall wedding to take advantage of the beautiful gardens and grounds at Glenview.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The team worked closely with me and my vendors (caterer, flowers, DJ) to ensure that everything was set up on time. The personal attention given to me and to my husband was outstanding - they escorted me downstairs via elevator from the dressing area to the location of the wedding ceremony but were not intrusive. The grounds and the interior are well maintained and served as a wonderful location for our ceremony and reception. We had a wonderful time at Glenview Mansion.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KCA
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Great location, close to hotels and public transport, great staff and very helpful. The staff blended with the crowd and were so helpfull all day and night. Flexible for time, space and alterante plans since we planned and succeed in having an outdoor ceremony. Great little cottage next to the masion and we hired 3 babysitters to come so we made the cottate a "wedding day care" so our guests could bring kids and have a place for the kids so everyone had fun.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
parastoo
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
This place is the most beautiful I've seen for a wedding. The gardens and the building exterior make the best backdrop for photos. The interior is classy, warm, and very cozy. I loved the flow of the house and the fact that it was furnished and even had pictures on the wall, china in the china cabinet, etc. It just had the home feeling. The upstairs room is perfect for the bride to get ready. It's perfect if you don't have a huge wedding. The staff, especially Susan, were extremely pleasant, kind, and accomodating. The value you get for the price is just amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Glenview Mansion is a beautiful place to get married. Susan and all the other staff were nice and kind and helped us a lot on so many levels (like let us store alcohols in the kitchen area, helped us make right decisions on so many things about wedding in gnenral, refered good vendors to work with and so many more).

There is also a trail right next to the mansion. We took bunch of pictures right before the wedding on that trail. It was a hugh plus for me since I wanted a photo shoot in the woods and with deers (well deers didn't show up on that day but we saw them on the other days. ;)). At least, it was so quite and beautiful.

We got married outside garden area and it was beautiful. The only minus is that the mansion is not allowed red wine but except that everything was perfect and beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tnt
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Wow! What a wonderful place to get married. The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating... from letting us store alcohol and other wedding items there after the rehearsal to letting us have dinner in an upstairs room immediately after the ceremony... it was literally the perfect place. I'm still getting rave reviews from family and friends.

When we were originally thinking about the style of wedding we wanted, I realized the sit down dinner wasn't for us. We wanted something that was more about people moving around and talking to each other. I also realized that as much as I enjoy flowers and decor, I'm not one to spend much time on those kinds of details. Glenview was perfect since the mansion is already so elegant... only a few touches of flowers (that I totally let the florist figure out) would be enough.

I'm a fan of the art deco era of the 1920's. The history of the mansion was an extra touch for me... and between the beautiful grounds and the art gallery upstairs, guests had an extra something to enjoy during the cocktail hour... perfect!

We also wanted to get married outside... and even though it was early Nov... we got really lucky with amazing weather. Their garden options (yes, plural) were fantastic. Can't imagine how pretty it is in the Spring. Having both the inside and outside option for the wedding was awesome; I never stressed about the weather even with such a rainy October.

I would say that my 165 guests were a bit tight in the conservatory for watching our first dance and the toasts. We've got a relaxed crew, so it made no difference, but I could see a high strung MOB being a little upset about it.

I also can't imagine how we would have figured out an indoor ceremony for that many if that's what it came down to. I suppose something on the order of 125 would be a perfect number. I just got lucky all things considered!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C Dub
Wedding:
9/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful landscape and mansion. The setting made the pictures wonderful. Slight issue with access but very minimal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kateizsak
Wedding:
2/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Glenview Mansion was an absolutely stunning place for a wedding! We received compliments the entire night, and guests were able to relax and enjoy themselves in different rooms, engaging in different activities, as they pleased. The staff was also great to work with--they accommodated incredibly unique requests, including allowing me to have my horse present outside the mansion!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1203955508703-picture934
April08bride
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding and reception there. The mansion is historic and the grounds are absolutely stunning. We had a gorgeous outdoor wedding there. The staff responded quickly to any questions and were courteous. Although the mansion doesn't allow you to move furniture or serve red wine, this wasn't a concern for us because we did not serve alcohol and had no desire to rearrange the furniture. It worked out perfect for us. Future brides couldn't pick a better location! 5 stars all around!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Alice
Wedding:
6/24/2007
5.0/5.0
I helped with coordinating a very low cost wedding for my cousin (total budget just under $3,000 for 60 guests). After extensive research, I discovered that the Glenview mansion will allow Rockville residents to hold a small ceremony (groups of 15 or less) there in lieu of the Rockville courthouse on weekdays. When I contacted the mansion, we were permitted to use the interior of the mansion for $50 an hour. We booked a Friday in May of 2010, and opted to use the bride's room for an additional $50 an hour. We could have used a grooms room for an additional $50 an hour, but we didn't. So for two hours we spent $200 total for a ceremony at this beautiful site. Luckily, the weather was perfect so the wedding party was able to take gorgeous photographs after the ceremony on the mansion grounds, which are just stunning. There is a lush garden behind the mansion. The groom asked a friend to officiate the wedding and the bride asked her cousin (my brother) to do the photography. I printed out all of the invitations, program, and favor labels using my home computer. We made the flower bouquets and boutineers using florist tape, scissors, ribbons and roses from Whole Foods Supermarket. A luncheon reception was held at a nearby Chinese restaurant. The only downside was that since the cost was so low, the couple could only invite close relatives to the ceremony. So, there were many guests at the reception that weren't invited to the ceremony. Also, since it was on a weekday, there were some guests that couldn't attend because of work reasons.

The staff at the Glenview mansion were incredibly gracious and accomodating. It was so nice that they offer this benefit to Rockville residents who otherwise would only be able to afford a courthouse wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1352485434939-060
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.9/5.0
Glenview Mansion is a wonderful space for a wedding. We worked with Susan and had a very good experience. The outdoor ceremony space is lovely! Our guests had a wonderful time during our reception as they were able to visit each room of the house as well as the art gallery on the second floor. The brides room and grooms room are great for getting ready prior to the ceremony, if you use Glenview for the ceremony as well. The only thing we had an issue with is that you have to pay to reserve a time for your rehearsal if you want to have a locked in time, otherwise you must plan around their schedule if they book events in the few days prior to your wedding. We unfortunately were not made aware of the option to pay to lock in the rehearsal date/time and lost our original date/time which was slightly inconvenient, but at least we knew early enough to move things around, though the grooms parents were unable to attend a middle of the day rehearsal so that wasn't so great. Other than that our wedding at Glenview was everything we hoped for and the staff on hand during our wedding were very nice and accommodating. They kept an eye on our rooms upstairs and kept the doors locked when we weren't up there -- we really appreciated that! Our guests even commented on how nice the staff was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Montanez2008
Wedding:
8/24/2008
4.9/5.0
My husband and I were so happy with our choice. It is a beautiful venue. We had our ceremony on the lawn in front of the Cottage, the chairs were set up into 4 sections to look like a circle and we were in the middle. I love this place, it gave us a great opportunity to have beautiful pictures, and Susan was extremely helpful and so kind!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ruthy
Wedding:
5/3/2008
4.9/5.0
I could not have chosen a better place for our wedding reception. This was the perfect venue for our smallish sized reception (around 90 people), but I've been to receptions there which were much larger. Susan was great and so friendly - she worked with us to fit our time schedule and make arrangements.

The mansion and the surrounding estate made a beautiful backdrop for our celebration and photography. We were even able to use the upstairs art gallery for our guests to tour, and there is a gorgeous balcony in the upper room that overlooks the front lawns, which we used in our photography. I thought the entire setting was just historic and romantic. The gardens are to die for and the stone archways in the terrace made the entire scene look like something out of Secret Garden.

Friendly staff, well-equipped kitchen, beautiful furniture and artwork. I don't know what else to say except that we absolutely loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/23/2014
4.8/5.0
Beautiful venue. We wanted to have our wedding outside but love that they had a great rain plan in case we needed it. We ended up having our reception cocktail style with all passed food and it worked perfectly in this space. There are some restrictions on where you can set up the bar and no red wine but at the end of the day we loved the space so those things didn't matter. Staff was all very friendly to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
Glenview Mansion is beautiful! We had an outdoor ceremony there with our reception inside in early October. Our wedding was about 75 people so we all couldn't sit in one room for dinner, but we did a sweetheart table in front of the fireplace with three food stations in the dining room area. We had three cocktail tables there with a few more outside and people ate there and in the living room area. The flow of things was probably the hardest, but our guests loved that they didn't necessarily need to be on the dance floor, but could chat with other guests in the various rooms. The location is great and there is plenty of parking. The staff is also very accommodating. The day before there wasn't an event and we and our caterer were able to drop off alcohol and dishes at the mansion, which helped ease day of hauling. The price isn't as cheap as some Montgomery County Park venues, but it wasn't too bad.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S&W
Wedding:
3/19/2011
4.8/5.0
The site was beautiful, the staff was helpful and available for all questions, and it was a dream driving up to the mansion. Everyone loved the atmosphere, decor, and flexability of enterainment from dancing, mingling in the various rooms, and walking in the garden areas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acamato
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.8/5.0
Glenview Mansion was the ideal location for our wedding ceremony and reception. Our guests are still raving about how beautiful the venue is. The mansion and its gardens are gorgeous, and their layouts lend themselves well to a relaxed and interactive cocktail party setting (vice a ballroom or a reception hall). The staff was incredibly helpful and responsive from the planning process to the end of the wedding day. Their onsite event coordinators are such a delight to work with. With regards to flexibility, there are some limitations as to what you can/cannot do when using the venue. Since Glenview Mansion is a historic property, they enforce strict rules in the interest of preserving it (ie not allowing red wine in the Mansion, not allowing furniture to be moved around).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
llbeans21
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.7/5.0
We got married here on a beautiful fall day and could not have asked for a better venue! We chose Glenview mostly for the grounds - with a beautiful terraced garden, lush lawns and glen, stone work and archways outside...amazing. The mansion has beautiful wrought iron balconies and french doors and is neo-classical, somewhat more modern and not at all stuffy. PLenty of parking and a great location and very reasonable venue rental price (with a discount for City of Rockville residents) made this a natural choice as soon as we went to visit!

We had an outdoor ceremony in the terraced garden out back, held the cocktail hour outside on the covered porch, the reception for 65 guests was inside with served dinner. The size of the venue was perfect for a smaller wedding - the dance floor, dining and living rooms and the whole space were perfect and very cozy, much more inviting than the stuffier mansions I've seen in the area. Glenview does have a lot of rules, including no red wine or cranberry juice, no moving the furniture around, and limits to how many guests can be seated in each room...but overall the venue staff, including Susan and Kathleen, were very pleasant, very responsive, and very easy to work with.

Only downside: There are volunteers who are there to help make sure things run smoothly during the events, and unfortunately the one we had was a bit of a headcase. She was a bit frantic, interrupted my big moment when I was about to walk out to see my husband before the ceremony for the first time by trying to understand why I was going out to see him, and was a little too visible during the whole thing. At the end when people were leaving anyway, she started flicking the lights on and off and asking people to leave before the venue rental time of midnight was up, which was the worst part! I am a nice person and was polite to her (and missed the light flicking incident since we had already left), but I will let Glenview know that their volunteers need to be more professional and know when to back off!

Other than that minor disruption, we had a beautiful and memorable wedding at Glenview and highly recommend it for smaller (under 100 person) weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
recently_married
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.7/5.0
Glenview Mansion is beautiful and we enjoyed having our wedding and reception there. I thought the staff was great and our day of contact was very helpful in the craziness before the ceremony. They are strict about "rules" such as no red wine and no tossing flower petals. I understand the red wine restriction and I only wish they had informed us about the petal restriction earlier. Our other concern was when we booked the venue, they told us they could seat 80 people for an inside wedding, but they then purchased wider chairs and can now only seat 64. We were fortunate with the weather and were married outside, but we would have had guests standing if that was not the case. Overall, I think they did a great job and we and our guests had a lovely time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
11/11/2007
4.7/5.0
Glenview Mansion was a fantastic venue for our wedding. The Mansion is absolutely stunning, and as Rockville residents, the price was perfect.

We were looking for a wedding location with personality, relaxing charm, a kitchen well equiped to support our caterer, and the ability to host not only the reception, but the ceremony as well. Oh, and yes, something that didn't cost an arm and a leg. The thought of having a wedding at a hotel was just out of the question for us. This is the closest thing to being able to host a wedding at your own beautiful estate. The art gallery upstairs was open for guest viewing during most of the wedding. We had a buffet dinner for @75 guests, and the mansion was a perfect size to support this. Lots of seating, and lots of little side tables everywhere to help with plates and glasses.

Although we kept our options open for an indoor/outdoor event, the weather was too chilly on our date to hold the ceremony outside, but the inside option was more than convenient and beautiful. I understand that many brides hope for the April weekend of Cherry Blossoms, which are abundant on the property. We opted for the natural beauty of autumn, and held ours on a crisp November day, and had a fire in the fireplace to keep everyone toasty. Honestly, I can't think of a bad time of year for this location. (I understand planning a wedding around Christmastime will save you a bundle on flowers, as it's already decorated for you!) Parking was excellent, even with a number of handicap spots required up close to the house. There is always a Maryland employee onsite to oversee any problems, but honestly, we never even saw them. I believe they hole up in a room and monitor remotely.

This site is not one for really huge weddings, it's just not large enough. But for smaller groups, it's perfect. One more drawback: no red wine. We ended up turning this into a benefit, by providing really excellent whites (and saving some money there), but initially it was a limitation we had to consider. There's a beautiful bride's room to change in, but if you have a large group of groom's attendants, you might consider where to get ready; the space provided is a small conference room.

Overall, I highly recommend Glenview. We loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I just had my wedding at Glenview and couldn't be happier with it. The location was truly awesome. I loved how the guests could mingle wherever they wanted. Everyone came up to me and said that was so much better than being glued to an assigned table. The venue was unique and elaborate inside, and I loved that only a few floral arrangements were needed. The scenery is breathtaking. We got married at 7:30pm in June in the gardens and with the sun just barely setting, the lush of the greenery, it was magical walking down the cobble steps. The pictures were amazing! The venue is a bit restrictive, however. A bit of an inconvenient renting times, and they do charge quite a bit for any extra hours. No red wine, cranberry juice, or anything that can stain. Some scheduling things were also a bit of a pain. Susan is fantastic to work with. She really is on top of it all. The best part of this venue also is the fact that you can bring in all your own vendors. We saved thousands bringing in our own liquor and working with the caterer of our choice. Great venue price also -- especially if you are a Rockville resident.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
csar
Wedding:
5/31/2008
4.4/5.0
The Glenview Mansion was an ideal location for our wedding and reception. The grounds are simply stunning and the mansion itself is maintained with the utmost care. The staff at Glenview were responsive to all our questions and concerns and did their best to accommodate us in every way. We could not more highly recommend a location, for a beautiful outdoor wedding ceremony.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.3/5.0
I had my wedding there early November 2012. It has been that place in my mind since I was a little girl to have my reception in. I was happy to have all of my guests (160?) there and even though it seemed like a lot of guests there was plenty of room. The only thing I was annoyed with was some of the lights bulbs were out, but with such a large venue these things are bound to happen. The staircase makes for a wonderful grand entrance and we were able to add all the little details and decorations throughout the house to make it even more beautiful. The staff was always great to me (prompt email responces/phone calls). Being a civic center it also has a lot of little things that you must be mindful (county restrictions of time and music) we would have paid for more hours at the end but midnight is be last call, no exceptions. Although there is no catering/ they have enough room to set up and serve for the caterer/bar tender. I am bias to this location because as I said I have dreamed of this place since childhood and it is looks amazing in pictures. You can even go back for anniversary pictures / baby pictures etc. as it has open hours for the house and grounds on weekdays. You wont be dissapointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diem
Wedding:
9/1/2013
4.2/5.0
We recently had our wedding at Glenview Mansion and it was beautiful. We fell in love with the property as soon as we saw it, and while it was a little pricy to rent (we got the Sunday rate so we could afford it), it was completely worth it. Our guests thought the venue was beautiful and it was perfect for our romantic outdoor wedding. The property space is so large that you can really do whatever you can imagine. We used a lot of the outdoor space and it turned out wonderfully. The staff was great to work with. They are efficient and completely on top of the ball. Whenever I had a question, which was often, Susan responded within 24 hours. The property does have a lot of rules, i.e. no red wine, no staking items, etc, which can become overwhelming as you try to plan your big day. However, the staff helps explain everything and makes sure your day occurs without a hitch. I absolutely LOVED this place. Also, they don't have prepared packages, this is simply renting the property for a set amount of hours.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
olivia5925
Wedding:
5/9/2009
3.8/5.0
Glenview is a gorgeous venue and the day of our wedding, the backdrop of the mansion and the park was stunning. I have to say though that it comes with its limitations (e.g., no red wine anywhere, no seated dining inside the mansion, no furniture can be moved at all, extra cost for using outdoor ceremony garden chairs). We had our ceremony and reception outdoors so the seated dining guideline was not too much of an issue. Favorite area of the house: the veranda on the second floor. My least favorite room: the conservatory, which is used for indoor ceremonies (I'm so glad it didn't rain!). Another plus is the plentiful parking and the beautiful lawns. The event coordinators on that day were very professional and helpful. It seemed like they were right there when you needed them. Overall Glenview is picturesque and relatively easy to work with for a historical mansion venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
6/14/2008
2.8/5.0
Glenview Mansion is a beautiful place to hold your wedding. I had only good experiences with our coordinator, Susan Klise. Even though it rained we still had a wonderful time inside the house. The house manager that night, Beverly, was apparently horrific to work with. She did not show up on time, she called the police when she thought he caterer stole her phone (it was on the piano), she read a book in her office all night, gave surly looks to the mother of the bride, and she attempted to make the caterer take the trash with them. Thankfully the caterer had a copy of the contract that clearly stated that they had access to the dumpsters. I would recommend this site to future brides, but I would go over the contract carefully and have it onsite with you at all times.

If it weren't for Beverly Glenview would have gotten five stars all the way through.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.5/5.0
Glenview might be a pretty venue, but I would be hesitant to recommend Glenview to future brides. I understand that my wedding day was unique because we had to use the mansion for our ceremony due to a passing rain storm/thunder. However, when Glenview's house manager for the night (Sandy) made the call at 5PM that we were not allowed to use the tent on the lawn for our reception because of the storm (which later passed) I was convinced that Glenview was a dishonest venue and was very dissatisfied. Glenview is not very straightforward with a lot of their policies and their contracts are very poorly written. I was never told that the Glenview staff would be making important calls on my wedding day about weather changes without my consent. I actually asked Susan Klise during my walk through what the policy was if it thundered and she said you wait 30 mins before returning to a tent. When it thundered at 5PM, Glenview made the call right then and there that they would restrict us from using our tent. The are NOT forthcoming at all with the fact that in the event it does thunderstorm on your wedding day (even if it's at 5PM and it passed) they can call of the use of a tent and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it. In the end Glenview felt the need to push all of the blame onto other vendors saying that they made the decision to not use our tent, but at the end of the day after speaking with all my vendors they all agreed that it was Sandy from Glenview who told them it was her decision, even though they thought we still could have had dinner under the tent.

On another note, Glenview has a lot of rules and red tape when it comes to holding events there (no staking of tents, Shepard hooks, etc, you cannot use sparklers for a send-off, no red wine). If you're looking for a venue where you can have any control over your own wedding day I would not advise you use Glenview.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Rockville Civic Center Park, 603 Edmonston Drive, Rockville, MD 20851 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Glenview Mansion at Rockville Civic Center Park
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1256159540902-rockville