130x130_sq_1319656233818-allie3

Gloss Salon and On-Location Hair and Makeup Service

Newark , DE
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

276 East Main Street, Suite 101
Newark, DE US 19711 (map)

PHONE

302-737-8080

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Gloss started as an "On-Location Hair and Makeup Service" and 3 years later, we opened a salon in Newark, DE. Gloss stylists and makeup artists are passionate about wedding day beauty.... Read more
Gloss started as an "On-Location Hair and Makeup Service" and 3 years later, we opened a salon in Newark, DE. Gloss stylists and makeup artists are passionate about wedding day beauty. We are dedicated to our brides because we know this is one of the most important days of their lives. Read less
Beauty & Health

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Hair, Makeup, Manicure / Pedicure
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
The girls who came to do mine and my bridesmaids' hair and makeup were amazing. They were friendly, flexible, and gave me exactly what I wanted. I couldn't believe how well my hair and makeup held up throughout the day. Pictures came out great, even up until the end of the night!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
7teth25
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
A slight disclaimer, I've been a client at Gloss for 13 years, so I know how great their work is. But on my wedding day I was hopping to amp it up a little, include make-up and get my 3 bridesmaids hair styled as well. I was beyond satisfied. Tateum knocked it out of the park! All of my ladies looked stunning, no typical "bridal" hair here, just gorgeous flowing layers and partial ups with style. For myself, a beautiful partial up, with wisps of soft hair flowing down and make-up that was just a little extra without making me look too over-done. It was exactly what I had wanted and the ladies raved about their hair all night. Compliments were not rare from others either! Fabulous salon service and something to treat you and your ladies to, well worth it!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Gloss was awesome! They arrived at the bed and breakfast where I was staying at 5:30AM sharp ready to start our hair and makeup. They finished all our makeup and hair in little over 2 hours. There were 5 of us who got our hair done and 4 of us who got makeup done. There was a head hair stylist, assistant hair stylist and makeup artist. They seemed to have a good assembly line where hair would be set first, than makeup done and than hair taken down and styled. They did a great job making me beautiful for my special day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Love, love, love this salon! I had booked at another salon but after a terrible trial run, I was so thankful Gloss was able to fit in my entire bridal party. They were incredibly accommodating and did an amazing job on everybody's hair and make-up. Thank you, Lauren, Emma, and the rest of the crew who helped make the day perfect!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaime
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Hired Gloss for onsite hair and makeup at my wedding. They had everything set up and ready to go by the time I arrived. We had four people getting their makeup done, and six getting hair, everyone was done with time to spare. I was really happy with how everyones hair and makeup turned out. They did a wonderful job.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lauren and Nicki were amazing. Hair and makeup for the girls, hair for the boys, and everyone ready 20 minutes ahead of schedule. I recommend them to any bride who doesn't want to spend the morning of her wedding in a salon. They will come to you so you can enjoy the morning of with your wedding party and relax instead of rushing around.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I just got married in November and Gloss did the make-up for me and my bridal party. They had a make-up artist come to my sister's house on the morning of. Kate, the make-up artist, was prompt, professional, and very talented. I had never had my make-up done before and she did an outstanding job. I think the entire group looked fabulous and not caked on or over done. I especially loved how she made my make-up look special enough for my big day but but natural enough that I still felt like myself. Also, Kate was very flexible on timing and was even able to fit in my two nieces unexpectedly. I'd definitely recommend them to brides in the area!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Let me start my review by saying that I had never heard of Gloss prior to planning my wedding and the reason I even contacted them at all was because of their reviews on weddingwire.... Lauren and Krystal did our hair and I cannot praise them enough. Every girl had long hair and wanted some type of curly updo; these two had everyone's hair curled, set and pinned in record time. I may be biased, but I have never seen a bridal party's hair look as fun & glamorous as mine. Not one girl had to "fix" their own hair after Lauren & Krystal left or repin falling hair later in the night. As for my hair, if I didn't just have my own make up done I probably would have teared up with how perfect and spot on Lauren pinned my hair- I wanted "BIG!" with this white feather/flower clip attached to the side and she made me look fantastic. My hair captured my personality and made me recieve countless compliments all night. I can't forget Emma in this review- all of my girls wanted the "sexy/smoky eye" look and Emma not only granted everyone's wish but also made everyone look like a celebrity. I've been to weddings where the bridal party looks good in pictures but looks "trashy" up close, this was not the case at my wedding. My girls wore hot orange, which could lead to clown-looking make up if the artist wasn't conscious of her color choices, but Emma made everyone look stunning. These ladies are without a doubt some of the best artists of their craft that I have ever had the pleasure of working with- the fact that they can do all of this on-location makes them the ultimate hair & make-up wedding vendor in my book.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Tateum and her team at Gloss! They traveled from their salon to take care of my HUGE group of ladies (15 in total, I think) for my wedding. Having worked in the beauty industry myself, I had pretty high expectations but couldn't have been more thrilled with how everyone's hair and make up turned out! The entire team was professional, friendly, and laid back (a big bonus for being able to handle neurotic brides like me!) - even through a power surge that blew out all of the electricity in our room! Having had two disastrous trials with other salons prior to booking Gloss, take my advice and just call them first. They're incredibly talented and made each and every one of my girls look and feel gorgeous. Thank you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1378171364335-avatar
DEBride
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely wonderful! Since I typically wear zero makeup and my current makeup collection consists of a single tube of mascara, I knew getting a professional would be money well spent.

I made all the arrangements over e-mail and they were very responsive to all my questions. On the day of the wedding, Kate, the MUA, arrived right on time and got to work. There was three of us (bride, MOH and MOB) getting makeup and we all have different skin tones. She did a fabulous job on all of us. Tateum then did my mom's hair and by the time she was done, my Mom was looking 10 years younger. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Gloss enough for wedding hair/makeup. Tateum did my hair and makeup for my wedding and it turned out amazing. I got married the day that tropical storm Andrea rolled into town, and it literally monsooned the entire day. I was so stressed because I had had my naturally curly hair blown out and was afraid the weather would leave me looking like a poodle by the time ceremony started, but, thanks to Tateum, my up-do and makeup stayed perfect all day and long into the night. The bridesmaids' hair was equally gorgeous, and Allison did an amazing job with their makeup and the makeup of my mom and mother-in-law. Everyone looked natural and beautiful. Both Tateum and Allison were very professional, nice and easy to work with from beginning to end. You won't be disappointed if you hire Gloss for your wedding.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1372426385505-avatar
Caroline
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Nickie was amazing as a stylist for my wedding day. I would advocate for a trial to be sure you get what you want and be sure to reserve in advance, because having a stylist come to you is a huge stress reliever on your wedding day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1313679907576-jimandiphotoshoot
Meredith
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about the service that Gloss offered on my wedding day! When I went in for my trial run, everyone was friendly and I immediately felt at ease with Emma. On the day of, Emma came to my mom's house and stayed well into the day, offering lip gloss touch ups whenever needed, right before we did photos, and right before we left. We were all able to purchase the lip color she used on my girls and me (if we wanted). To this day, almost a year later, when people look at my photos, they ask who did my makeup and I rave about Gloss! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1322926626426-guiliana7
Leah
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Jessica and Bethany from Gloss Salon were amazing! They answered all my questions and were extremely helpful during both my hair and makeup trials. On my wedding day, they were on time, personable and fun! They did my hair along with my bridesmaids, mom and future mother-in-law in record time. Everyone looked amazing and I couldn't thank them enough! I highly recommend this salon to any bride looking to have their hair and makeup done on location!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1327343220341-30260323863909087791520989314267383161591220n
Spicydeene
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I started wedding planning in Feb 2012 for my Oct 2012 wedding and GLOSS was the first vendor I booked!
I corresponded with Tateum (mgr) - who was very responsive and answered all of my questions. I filled out and sent in my information form and NO deposit was needed! They also INCLUDED their travel fee in their reasonable price. Granted my venue is only 20 miles from their shop but I will still impressed that travel was included!
I booked a hair trial a couple of months before my wedding and met Bethany, the owner. Bethany was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and we nailed my perfect updo in 2 takes. I also went back to Bethany for a complete color change a few weeks before my wedding!
On my wedding day - they totally knocked me out. They showed up EARLY and I mean EARLY 6:45 am and got myself, my 2 maids of honor (daughter) and my 12 year old "best chick" done in 1.5 hours. By 8:30 am we were DONE!
They did an awesome job with all four of us - we looked natural and gorgeous - with no airbrush needed! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to all my friends and loved ones! I'm so proud to say I hired the BEST!
I also plan to continue going to Gloss's Newark salon for my future styling needs!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1335887546957-imagesca25wfaw
Marie S. (aka Princess Leia)
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Team Bethany & Nickie from Gloss Salon were fabulous to work with. I contacted them on short notice to do my Hair & M/U along with 9 other members of the bridal party - not only did they accommodate but did an AMAZING job creating the 1950's pin up girl styles that we all wanted to have. When Bethany & Nicole were finished with us we looked like we could have been on the cover of Vogue in 1957

The ladies were on time and kept us on schedule for our pictures. All of our hair & makeup stayed in tact throughout the day, the wedding and right into our after party.

It truly was fun to work with them on our wedding day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I was recently in a wedding where Gloss came to the wedding venue to do hair and makeup. Lauren & Krystal did our hair and Liz did our makeup. There were 8 of us (bride, bridesmaid, mothers) and we all looked amazing. The team showed up on time and had everyone done in 5 hours. Everyone had really pretty hairstyles, no two were the same. The stylist had great ideas for those who didn't come up ideas. Liz also gave us the option to buy fake eyeslashes as well as lip gloss so that we could touch up our lips throughout the night. The price for hair and makeup was very reasonable, especially since they came to us. I personally felt like I looked like a million bucks. I will definitely recomment Gloss to everyone I know who is planning a wedding.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1344612358324-allure2011041
Wanda
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Gloss Salon was absolutely amazing from our original contact straight through to the wedding day. The entire staff at the salon was so easy to deal with and responded to our many e-mails right away. My daughter Pam got married this past Friday at Greenville Country Club. Having the ladies from Gloss do our hair and make up at the wedding venue was perfect. They were on time and worked non-stop to get hair done for 7 members of the bridal party and make up for 3 of us. Lauren is so talented! We all had different pictures of all different hairstyles - down, up, braided, curly and they were all PERFECT! Emma did our make-up and it was beautiful. All of us received so many compliments about how beautiful the hair and make up were. Choosing Gloss Salon is without a doubt one of the best decisions we made planning the wedding!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Gloss did an excellent job on our June 16, 2012 wedding. All of the girls were ecastic with their hair and makeup, and I absolutely loved mine as well! Everyone looked like a model that day, and we all got so many complements! Not only did they do an amazing job on the hair and makeup, but they were kind and personable, and helped me relax with their calm demeanor. They even stayed later to help touch up my makeup when I cried from the stress of my wedding day. I can not recommend them enough. They are FANTASTIC! Thank you Gloss!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Gloss Salon and On-Location Hair and Makeup Service responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, it means so much to us to hear you were happy on your wedding day:)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KellyAshton
Wedding:
11/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Bethany and her crew came in on time, set up and worked quickly and professionally. I was very pleased with my hair and make-up, and I was very happy with my bridesmaids, mother and mother-in-law hair/make-up. I liked that they worked well together and kept me calm on my day. They definately know what they're doing and would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenLaskowski
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
The ladies at gloss made hair and make-up convenient and did an amazing job! They came to the hotel the day of the wedding at no extra charge and provided their services on site. I was so happy with how my hair turned out and would recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alliedfloyd
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Nickie was wonderful. She worked with my super curly hair EXPERTLY. My makeup was lovely. I got a lot of compliments. She was so sweet and easy to work with. Gloss even travels to your wedding site, mine was 1 hr away from the salon. Awesome!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiffany.jester
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
I could not have been happier with my hair and make-up for my wedding day. Nickie was wonderful and knew what would work best for me. My wedding party and I felt beautiful!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Gloss Salon and On-Location Hair and Makeup Service responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!! We are happy to hear you had a great experience!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Tateum and Emma did the hair and makeup for my bridal party, and did a fabulous job!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1374503338830-100515710200423082119717878949953n
Jacqueline
Wedding:
6/28/2013
4.9/5.0
Gloss was such a success on my wedding day. They had a great system of having two girls at time getting their hair curled, and then calling them back two by two to do their updos, and left my style and makeup for last (which was a good thing especially with all the happy tears!). For me, the most important thing was that I still looked like me, and Gloss made me look beautiful in without being overly done up. Couldn't be happier with how I looked in pictures, and they were pretty competitive on price as well!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.8/5.0
Gloss Salon did AMAZING work on my 4/6/13 wedding. I originally booked the salon due to the make up artist, Emma and she did not disappoint. The owner was super helpful in calming me down regarding the hair and make up process. Jess did our hair and was professional, relaxed and very experienced. I can't thank their team enough-we had them come to the house which we loved!
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
276 East Main Street, Suite 101, Newark, DE 19711 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Gloss Salon and On-Location Hair and Makeup Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1319656233818-allie3