130x130_sq_1221235309573-istock_000004173003small

Graceful Weddings

Washington , DC

LOCATION

Washington, DC US 20006 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your Dream Wedding Professionals

You have spent hour upon hour planning your dream wedding. Let us turn your dream into reality! Whether you've planned an intimate gathering... Read more
Your Dream Wedding Professionals

You have spent hour upon hour planning your dream wedding. Let us turn your dream into reality! Whether you've planned an intimate gathering for 50 or a large celebration for 400, Graceful Weddings will be there to ensure you have a beautiful, stress-free day. We look forward to providing you the peace of mind you deserve as you begin your new journey together.



OUR SERVICES:

Basic Day-Of Package
Complimentary consultation Up to two hours of face-to-face planning meetings, plus unlimited phone and e-mail communication during the month leading up to your wedding Complete walk-through of ceremony and reception sites at least two weeks prior to wedding datev Thorough review of vendor details Ceremony and reception set-up and decorating Ceremony and reception coordination Distribute flowers, bouquets, and pin corsages and boutonnières Assist guests and answer questions as needed Distribute remaining vendor balances and tips on bride and groom’s behalf at the end of the night Resolve any ceremony- or reception-related problems that arise After-event clean up including delivering gifts and remaining ceremony and reception items to designated location Bridal party emergency kit always on hand
Extended Day-Of Package

Includes everything in the Basic Package (above) plus the following:
Two additional hours (up to four hours) of face-to-face planning meetings, plus unlimited phone and e-mail communication during the three months leading up to your wedding Pre-wedding organization including personalized list of “yet-to-dos” for the bride and groom Assist with seating charts, timelines for family and bridal party, and other planning documents Rehearsal coordination in cooperation with officiant Assist with rehearsal as needed
À La Carte Services
Etiquette and alternative tradition advice Vendor referrals Assistance with wording of save-the-dates, invitations, programs, and vows Assembly and mailing of save-the-dates and invitations Design and assembly of wedding favors, guest books, and more Assistance with guest and bridal party transportation Bridal party jewelry design and creation Creation of guest bathroom amenity baskets Creation of out of town baskets or bags and delivery to hotels Coordination of ceremony rehearsal and rehearsal dinner (included with the Extended Package) Coordination of post-wedding brunch Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1218377610859-reception_three
130x130_sq_1218377802585-misono_reception
130x130_sq_1279821964266-ww2
130x130_sq_1279821963641-ww3
130x130_sq_1279821970813-ww5
130x130_sq_1279823113328-august
130x130_sq_1279823200094-placecards
130x130_sq_1279821971469-ww7
130x130_sq_1279821957531-ww11
130x130_sq_1279821973625-ww8
130x130_sq_1279822954250-chairs
130x130_sq_1279821960141-ww14
130x130_sq_1279821959828-ww13

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Anna and Lauren provided day-of coordination for our wedding. It was a comparatively small wedding, and my husband and I just wanted to be sure that everything would go smoothly and that we wouldn't have to handle any problems or complications. We met a few times beforehand to go over the details and the schedule. Everything went off without a hitch, and they handled everything from coordinating with other vendors, setting up the ceremony and reception, handling the music (we used our iPhones to DJ), arranging the schedule, etc. Can't thank them enough for making our wedding day go so smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.8/5.0
Hiring Graceful Weddings was the best money I spent on this wedding! Anna and Lauren worked around my schedule completely and set up the venue to the perfect detail, and helped me get a full refund from the limo company when our driver was an hour and a half late. Aside from the limo, the day went by flawlessly and helped my husband and I to relax and have fun.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg21
Amanda
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I used Graceful Weddings for my month and day of coordination. Anne and Lauren were AMAZING. They were very helpful throughout the entire process and were LIFESAVERS during the month prior to the event and especially on our wedding day. They also led our rehearsal for us and did an amazing job.

While they listened to everything I said, they also gave me some awesome ideas and I always came away from every meeting feeling more comfortable and less anxious about the wedding planning process. We held several meetings and had countless emails leading up to the wedding and they responded in a timely manner to every single one. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mollie.d.stephens
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Lauren was able to make our wedding day even more special than I ever believed it could be, and I could not imagine having been able to experience and enjoy every moment without her help along the way. I am so glad that she was able to keep me on track and support me while planning our Maryland wedding from 3,000 miles away in California in only five months! Her enthusiasm, organization and calming spirit was a blessing. From suggesting vendors, helping me figure out logistics, corresponding with our families, making timelines and guides, setting up, breaking down, wrangling dogs, and taking care of me in the days leading up to our wedding, she was there for every step! The list goes on and on! Every time I had a worry about whether something was done, I would turn around and Lauren had already taken care of it. She even stayed late after our rehearsal dinner to make sure everything was tidied before the big day, and came back early to morning after the wedding to collect all the rentals. She truly went above and beyond what we expected in every way. She was always two steps ahead of what needed to happen, and everything went so smoothly as a result. Thank you a million times over, Lauren!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.8/5.0
I was at first skeptical of my need for a day of coordinator, so when my mom decided to hire a DOC as a gift I thought she was just being ridiculous and spending money for no reason. Excuse my caps, but: I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG. LET ME BE CLEAR – YOU NEED A DAY OF COORDINATOR – SPECIFICALLY YOU NEED GRACEFUL WEDDINGS. Just imagine for a moment, you running around like a headless chicken on your wedding day as you decorate, coordinate vendor arrivals, ensure that services are delivered per contracts, corralling the bridal party and then also getting yourself ready. That sounds stressful and terrible, right? Well that’s what life would be like without a day of coordinator. Hiring Anne and Lauren was probably the best decision I made during the wedding planning process.

I interviewed three DOCs, and Anne was the first one who asked me to describe my wedding and what I wanted it to be like before I asked her questions, which helped me to feel like she would be able to make the day run smoothly which she did, and then some. While Graceful Weddings was more expensive than the other DC DOC I spoke to, Graceful weddings’ price was competitive considering I was guaranteed two people to coordinate (rather than one), and the other day of coordinators who cost less also had full-time jobs doing other things. Once hired, she met with me and my husband and sent us checklists to keep us on track with our planning, without making me feel overwhelmed by everything that had to be done or as if I was way behind schedule or disorganized. If I had a question she answered it promptly, so even though I know she was working with other brides, I always felt as if my wedding was a priority to her.

I had a mild wedding emergency (needing a new makeup artist and hair stylist 3 weeks before the wedding), so I contacted Anne and within 72 hours the problem was solved as she sent me the contact information of several good vendors she recommended. Anne also did a good job of handling the awkward politics of being paid by my mother, but working with me – I don’t think either my mother or I ever felt left out of any communication or detail of the wedding in which Anne was involved. My husband and I do not live in DC, and were traveling the week before the wedding, so Anne took over all vendor communication in that final week which was incredibly helpful.

The day of the wedding Anne and Lauren set up all the tables and DIY projects that had been made for the wedding, and shepherded my husband and I to make sure that the wedding stayed on schedule without making us feel rushed or bothered. She also addressed any concern I had promptly – including setting up an after party for our guests during dinner.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
4/10/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I hired Graceful Weddings for our April 2011 wedding at the Black Horse Inn. And thank goodness we did! The owner of our ceremony and reception venue turned out to a nightmare and the day would have been incredibly stressful if not for the boundaries set by Anne and Anna to 'protect' us from the unprofessionalism of Black Horse Inn. (Anne is the 'lead' for most of their weddings, with Anna there at the rehearsal dinner and wedding day.)

I am a detail oriented, organizationally obsessed, perfectionist person. I was actually worried I'd scare Anne off with my emails. Being a good sport, she stuck around. From our first meeting eight months before the wedding, Anne and Anna were incredibly professional, prepared and personable. They took notes, remembered details and were proactive in communication. Graceful Weddings was extremely helpful with their advice and recommendations in a way that allowed me to benefit from their knowledge while planning a wedding that fit my (obsessively detail oriented) vision. They were great for bouncing ideas around and giving me a good sense of the possible. When it came to decisions where I truly could not have cared less, Anne and Anna were great at presenting easy options.

Two days before my wedding, I spent my day driving nearly 200 miles of DC beltway traffic in the rain dropping off liquor and dresses and color coordinated M&Ms, running to Michael's for a fishbowl and all sorts of other little things. When I realized I hadn't gotten around to table numbers, I wanted to elope. Anne jumped in and saved the day with a smile. When I got home and my fiance couldn't find his ascot or bow-tie, Anne had a plan to replace them within fifteen minutes. When my bridesmaids pointed out they'd want lunch at some point on the wedding day, Anne and Anna arrived with subs and chips.

My husband, our wedding party and our families all commented on how wonderful Anne and Anna were day-of. They were unobtrusive and effective, yet always within eye contact. I'd hire them again in a heartbeat. If you're looking for down-to-earth, real people to help make your wedding run a little bit smoother (and remember the details you didn't even think of in the first place!), Anne and Anna are your girls.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mickeypotter
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Is there a 6.0 because Anne and Anna of Graceful Weddings were more amazing, helpful, thoughtful, considerate etc than anything we expected. If you are looking for a short-term or day of planner, do not look further than Graceful Weddings.

After our first meeting with them, my fiance said "I like them. They seem really nice." Let me say that my fiance does not dole out compliments freely.

We hired GW for the 3 month package and it was so worth it. Due to the complexity of our wedding in three locations we truly needed the extra assistance. Their email responsiveness was amazing and always helpful. We looked to them, in addition, for recommendations for a make-up artist and transportation company. Their recommendations were wonderful.

In addition, what we liked was it was a true partnership with GW. We sought out their advice often to help make our day wonderful. But when we were set on a particular aspect of the wedding, they didn't try to change our minds.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
First, let me speak to those of you who haven’t yet decided if you need the services of a day-of coordinator. I, too, was on the fence about it. Then I started to create a wedding day timeline, and it became quickly apparent that the vendors would all be arriving and set-up would all be happening during the very same stretch of time that I was away, getting my hair and makeup done. I considered imposing on my friends or family to “receive” the rentals, caterers, cake, florist, etc., and creating a million little signs that said, “put this here.” But after a heart-to-heart with my mom and a friend who had recently gotten married, it became clear: with all the money we were spending on this wedding, the cost of hiring Anne and Anna was a small amount to pay in exchange for the reassurance that everything would be ready, as planned, on time, and without me (or my mom or aunt or sister-in-law) having to worry about it!

They did do an excellent job of following through on all the set-up instructions I gave them—how to set up the guestbook table, which chairs needed “reserved” signs, how to decorate the room where dinner was being served, etc. And with their help, we were able to keep the flow of activities (ceremony, cocktails, first dance, dinner) moving along on schedule. But what I am most thankful for was their quick action on items we never could have seen coming. We were short two boutonnieres? No problem; Anne and Anna pulled some flowers from a centerpiece and manufactured two on the spot. Somewhat major wardrobe malfunction minutes before I was supposed to walk down the aisle? Anne and Anna made sure the officiant and musicians quickly got the word that they needed to stall a bit while one of my bridesmaids miraculously repaired my dress. And when the greatest drama of the evening took place—a guest of honor having to unexpectedly leave the reception in an ambulance—Anne and Anna took care of re-adjusting the evening’s schedule and keeping things on course while my family and I were busy dealing with the situation.

I just can’t say enough about how grateful I am that Anne and Anna were there, and that they were quick and responsive and thoughtful and level-headed—exactly what we needed! The cost of hiring them for the day seems negligible in comparison to the sense of certainty and relief that I felt throughout the day. Thank you guys so much!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1257905220698-willchristinarehearsalkate
Christina
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Anne and Anna were extremely helpful throughout both the planning and execution of my wedding. They helped finalize timelines, work out details, and took a lot of stress off of my mom and me. They made sure we were all where we needed to be on time and even took all of our gifts, leftover decorations, and wedding cake back to our condo the night of our wedding. Talk about service!

Their prices are also great. Highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
margoz
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so grateful that Anna and Anne were my day-of-coordinators. Thanks to their help my husband and I didn't have to worry at all on our wedding day. They are a great team and really kept us organized in our last month of planning. We had done the planning on our own, but it was incredibly helpful to have Anna and Anne for questions and help with the day-of-logistics. Our wedding was perfect and I am so glad that they were there to take care of everything.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JLStinebiser
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Anne and Anna did a great job managing the details of our wedding day. My goal in hiring day-of coordinators was to hand off all my worries to them as of the rehearsal dinner the night before. But they were diligent and attentive from the moment we contracted with them, more than 6 months before the event. As a result, I was organized enough to actually hand it all off about 24 hours ahead of the rehearsal dinner! Their checklists, check-ins, vendor recommendations, and reassurance really made my entire planning process so much easier.

When it came to on site management, everything came out exactly as I pictured, from the favors to the gift table to the ceremony decorations. I couldn't have asked for anything more. They kept us on a tight schedule so we were sure to get in all of our "events" during the reception, but were polite and had good judgment of where to be fllexible also so we had time to talk to all of our guests--a major goal for us.

They had great instincts about how best to work with our on site hotel coordinator. We had some venue issues prior to our event, so our hotel contact was pretty hands on around the wedding. Anne and Anna did an awesome job of knowing when to hang back and knowing when to advocate on our behalf in the days leading up to and on the big day. It was a huge relief to know that they were on site and on top of everything--we were able to have a beautiful, worry-free day, because they really understood my vision and I could trust them to make it happen. My guests are still talking about the event as the most beautiful and seamless event they've attended!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg11
mrsAmanda
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.9/5.0
I mostly worked with Anne, and she was so sweet and offered to help with anything I needed. The day of the wedding both Anne and Anna were there, and they did a great job keeping correcting the few "issues" or "problems" I had all while keeping me in the dark about them!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Hiring Graceful Weddings was the best thing we did!!! We signed on less than a month before the wedding and it was well worth it. Graceful Weddings helped us organize the ceremony and the wedding coordinator was invaluable on the day of the wedding!!! It was great to just ask the coordinator to find something out and she could answer any question!!! I highly recommend hiring Graceful Weddings if you as the bride want to actually ENJOY your wedding day. The coordinator did all the little things for us and it made ALL THE DIFFERENCE!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
5/30/2010
1.8/5.0
I recently hired Anne of Graceful Wedding for extended planning services for my wedding. So I actually paid more that their typical rates as the services went beyond "day of " coordination. First of all, their website suggests that Anne and Anna work together at all weddings. Thats not the case. Anne worked alone on my wedding and informed me that they no longer work together on weddings. In any case, to say that I was unhappy with her services is a gross understatement. She was completely unprepared at the wedding rehearsal. She lost control of the whole rehearsal and our whole bridal party, minister included, were totally confused about what to do. It really made the rehearsal stressful for me, the bride. So, I let that slide hoping she would pull through the next day. She made some huge mistakes, though, on the big day. I felt like she again lost control over the timing/chronology of events planned for the reception. She did not cue the best man and my bridesmaid to make their speeches on time. I don't know why but at the reception she just decided to change the timing of things we had previously discussed in great detail and agreed upon. She also forgot to have me change into my Indian outfit for a garlanding ceremony. She remembered after the garlanding was over! I couldn't believe it as I had gone over this with her several times before the wedding. Also, at the time of the garlanding, no one knew where the garlands were when it was time to produce them and Anne was nowhere to be found. Overall, my family and bridal party thought she was very inexperienced and unprofessional. I was very thorough in researching my other vendors and I should have researched her better before hiring. I would not recommend to anyone unless you are planning a very small and very conventional wedding. I am highly skeptical of all these 5/5 reviews- as you know, anyone can write a positive review on this website. I don't like to review vendors poorly except when I feel like I wouldn't want another unsuspecting bride to come along and encounter what I did.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Graceful Weddings responded with the following comments:

Catherine,

I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with my partial planning services for your wedding. I want to reassure you that Anna and I are still very much in business together — in fact, we just officially signed on a third coordinator to the Graceful Weddings team, which you can read more about on our website (http://www.graceful-weddings.com/about/). While Anna was not available on your wedding date, I offered you a second coordinator, and you declined that option.

I have a very different recollection of your events, in that I feel I led your rehearsal efficiently once your officiant declined to do so at the last minute and that your wedding day also played out beautifully. The reception's elements were delayed by about 15-20 minutes, which is quite respectable considering your officiant arrived almost one hour late, despite my confirmation the day before. In fact, such a delay is not uncommon even when a ceremony begins on time.

I stand by my work both leading up to your wedding and on the day of. I certainly would not have asked you to leave a Wedding Wire review for me if I was unsure of my performance in any way. The other reviews left for Graceful Weddings on Wedding Wire were unsolicited; and all of the couples we have worked with over the past three-plus years have been happy to recommend me, as well as Anna and Lauren.

I wish you and Charles all the best,

--Anne Charboneau
Bg17
spamela
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Anna and Anne did an excellent job for day of coordination. I would say that I am a highly organized, detail-oriented bride and they were just as detailed and organized. I really appreciated that I never had to say anything more than once and any notes or details that I emailed them were immediately made note of and handled on the day of our wedding. They kept our wedding on schedule (in fact we ran 15 minutes early) and were they visible and helpful to us and our wedding party. In addition, they did a great job setting up and making sure everything was in order the day of our wedding, accounting for all of the vendors, readers, etc. All of our wedding items were returned to us the night of the wedding. They are definitely well worth their very reasonable prices. Their presence truly allowed us to enjoy the day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rbg
Wedding:
6/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so glad that I saw a recommendation on the Knot a while ago for Graceful Weddings. We were extremely pleased with Graceful Weddings. Anne and Anna are friendly, professional, and very responsive with email and phone calls, etc. Their packages and a la carte services were extremely reasonably priced, especially because you get two DOCs for less than one from other companies! (Anne had her baby early so was unable to be at our wedding, but Anna gave me plenty of notice about this change and found a great back-up so it was a seamless transition.)

We did a walk through of both the ceremony and reception locations about 1.5 months ahead of time and Anna took careful notes about everything we said. She also provided some helpful feedback and ideas to improve our planning and timeline, etc. She even impressed and relieved my mom – a very hard feat to accomplish as she can be a tough one to please. But after meeting Anna at our walk through, my mom said she went home and breathed a sigh of relief that Graceful Weddings would be there to help. After the walk through, Anna created 2 helpful documents for our wedding – a timeline and vendor/wedding party contact info, and a checklist outlining all of Graceful Wedding’s responsibilities. These became works in progress as we thought of more things for them to do, set up, check on, etc. We were in regular contact from that point on with my sending them contracts, vendor info, planning details, lists and more lists. She always responded to say she received the info I had sent and if it made sense or she needed more info. Everytime I sent an email, I also breathed a sigh of relief knowing I would not have to worry about that detail anymore.

Graceful Weddings was the primary contact for our vendors the last week before the wedding. They called to confirm all final details and arrival times. Again, this was a huge relief so I didn’t have to think about any planning details in the final week and could be calm and get myself ready. In the last week, we changed our shuttle plan to only have one shuttle based on how few guests were at one of our hotel blocks and wanted our family friends to pick up those few people, but did not have time to deal with matching people up. I asked them to handle this last minute task of coordinating riders and drivers and they were very willing to handle that request.

Anna and her back-up, Lauren, led our rehearsal in a professional and friendly manner and handed out the timeline/contact info sheet to our wedding party. On the day of, they were extremely helpful. Most of what they did I actually can’t comment on because they did it all behind the scenes and were not intrusive or obvious about it! Everything went smoothly and as we had planned in terms of what needed to be set up, moved from ceremony to reception site, put back in my mom’s car at the end of the night, etc.

I think the greatest testament to how well they did was that I didn’t think once about ANY of the details we had discussed or things they were responsible for that last week – I just felt confident that they would all be fine. This allowed me to be calm and focus on what really mattered and get myself ready for the big day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1218347152219-n6201925_38596419_5162
Misono
Wedding:
7/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Anna and Anne from Graceful Weddings were an absolute dream to work with! They were extremely responsive and amazing in their communication (which was super helpful, as I was planning the wedding from the West Coast), and were always on top of things. I feel that even the most in-control brides need a little help the day of the wedding, and being one of the more clueless of brides, I found Graceful Weddings' services to be invaluable! We went with their Extended Day-of Package, and they did a wonderful job from coordinating the rehearsal and getting in touch with all our vendors, to making sure everything was set up (and cleaned up afterwards) in time. They worked with us in organizing a timeline for our reception, taking into account all our unique needs and concerns.

On top of their incredible organization skills and quality of service, both Anna and Anne are very friendly and personable, and they were really great ladies to work with! They are both 2007 brides so they know exactly what it feels like to be in your shoes, and have extensive experience to draw from when offering advice and input. Graceful Weddings comes with our highest recommendation.

Anna and Anne, thank you so much for helping to make our wedding day so beautiful and memorable; it was everything we'd dreamed it would be!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
9/1/1982
5.0/5.0
Anne and Anna are not only a great value they give you top notch coordination, with very calm and controlled presence. I have a crazy family and our wedding had a ton of moving parts. Anne and Anna just took care of it, and we didn't have to think about a thing. Also on the day of at my house while we got ready Anna also was playing many other last minute roles--even hairdresser fixing roses in my flower girl's hair! They will just get it done. It's a great relief and let's you just enjoy. Fun, nice, organized.
Services Used: Wedding Planning

DEALS

Free Name Change Kit!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Brides and grooms who book our services via Wedding Wire will receive a free comprehensive name change kit, tailored to your place of residence! Offer valid when booking our Basic or Extended day-of coordinating packages only.
Deal #WWbd8f30fca9addb88
220x220_1221235309573-istock_000004173003small

MAP

 
Washington, DC 20006 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Graceful Weddings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1221235309573-istock_000004173003small