Nophoto-130
(8)

Grand Piazza

Chicago , IL

LOCATION

1431 W. Taylor Street
Chicago, IL US 60607 (map)

PHONE

312-226-5566

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Desiree
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Grand Piazza is one of those pleasant little secrets you are unaware of if not for the posting prowess of other Yelpers.

My (now) husband proposed to me on February 14, 2013. That started a grand cycle of comparing and contrasting potential venues in the city of Chicago to host the moderate affair that would become our wedding ceremony and reception.

I did not have a wedding planner as my budget would not allow for one. A lot of the footwork on venues and such was done the old fashioned way: calling, stalking, and scouring webpages. The initial plan was to have a wedding and ceremony in Chicago Parks. No way, Jose, all of the hidden fees and extra planning was just too much for a broke ass bride in training. We still wanted an outdoor ceremony, though.

On a whim, we googled 'rooftop lounge' and 'rooftop venue.' Grand Piazza pops up. The pictures on the website do not do this venue any justice - however we booked the venue sight unseen. The idea was novel enough - marrying with the city as our backdrop.

This venue is very affordable. I emailed Shannon at least a thousand times before sending in a deposit just to make sure things were up to par. Everything about this venue is amazing. It is clean, easily accessible, and employs staff that are helpful (Dan, the engineer, omg, he also is a DJ and just the most HELPFUL guy I ever met).

Catering was done by Biagio Catering - also affordable and delicious. I opted for a buffet meal and honestly, the waitstaff was so helpful I could not tell it was not a plated dinner reception.

There are not enough good things for me to say about Grand Piazza except I truly and highly recommend it for any special occasion you can imagine, but especially for wedding ceremonies and receptions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1328158625015-fbavatar2210032
Becca
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The Grand Piazza is a beautiful and unique wedding venue that provided excellent food (people keep mentioning how delicious everything was!) and a great staff at an exceptional value for the city of Chicago. Christine Picerno was an excellent event coordinator for Levy Events (their exclusive caterer) and was SOO easy to contact with changes and with all of our odd requests! Would recommend this venue to ANYONE looking to get married with a beautiful view of the Chicago skyline!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.7/5.0
I had my wedding at Grand Piazza on June 23, 2012. I was very pleased with everything. Christine (with Levy, the caterer) and Shannon (with NIASHF) were both great to work with and replied to all of my questions very quickly throughout the last year of planning.

Our guests LOVED the venue from the Sports Museum on the ground floor to the rooftop desk where we had our cocktail hour to the ballroom where we had the dinner and dancing. We were lucky that the weather was perfect for our date. I agree with the other reviews that this venue is reasonably priced for a Chicago wedding venue and it is very unique. It can also fit a good amount of people, we had about 240 guests although I wouldn't recommend squeezing in much more than that or it could get too cramped in the ballroom.

I would definitely recommend Grand Piazza for a summer Chicago wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The_Egans
Wedding:
9/16/2011
5.0/5.0
5 Stars all around! My husband found this venue. After a month of searching and feeling as though we were about to settle he came across this place in Little Italy of Chicago. Absolutely perfect! It captured everything about us and what we wanted. We had just under 100 attend. We had the rooftop which was beautiful and the ballroom. Photos do not due justice for this venue. The staircase was one of our favorite attributes as it's a popular place for photos. Shannon was such a joy to speak with and then to meet the week of our wedding. Her response was almost immediate when I had questions or updates for her. The staff during our event was A-MAzING! My family is still talking about this just a month later. Everyone was so gracious to us and was there for us every step of the way. Christine with Levy Events did a fantastic job. I brought in all my decor, favors and centerpieces for the reception. She and her team placed everything out just the way I had imagined. That was alot of work and it was very much appreciated. Thank you Christine! The Grand Piazza was romantic and very much grand... Lynette & Sean
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Christina
Wedding:
9/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about our wedding at Grand Piazza. We kept our guest list small enough to hold the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception on the rooftop. Thank God it didn't rain! Our guests were so impressed by this hidden gem. The view was breathtaking. Service was impeccable. Everyone complimented the helpful and professional staff. Gina was always very responsive during the entire planning process.

My only quibble is that we had our own table names, & we told them that we wouldn't need their table numbers, but they still put them out. As a result it totally clashed with our centerpieces and created some confusion. I would also recommend getting additional lighting for future events and consider heat lamps if it is going to be less than 65 degrees.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meleech11
Wedding:
7/25/2009
4.6/5.0
Grand Piazza was perfect for our July 2009 wedding. Our guest were blown away by the cocktail hour we had on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Chicago skyline. The ballroom was a great place to have the reception and the dancefloor was filled the entire night. The staff was great and so attentive the entire night. All of the requests I had given to Natalie were handled perfectly as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roxanne
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Grand Piazza Chicago is THE perfect place to hold your wedding ceremony and reception! My guests couldn't believe
the space, the views and the adorable neighborhood. We were so lucky to have the chance to work with Kristina Perez from Levy Events who now serves as the full time sales manager for Grand Piazza. She really made our wedding day PERFECT!!!

She coordinated all of the great details of the space---and helped us find a florist, band and more. I would have been lost with out her assistance, patience and friendship.

Grand Piazza is so much better than a hotel ballroom--yet it provides still all of the china, tables, glassware and more. We just rented linens through Kristina--and the room was beautiful. The location has three levels of wedding space--so we were able to really get our money's worth.

When you step out onto the rooftop terrace---you will be amazed. Our photographer was so excited that we could capture the city skyline with us in front of it! My guests were taking so many shots with their own cameras---it was so neat!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jshanleigh
Wedding:
5/9/2008
4.3/5.0
The view here is absolutely amazing. I do recommend reserving both the terrace and ballroom for weather issues and just ease of set up. The value for what you pay has got to be one of the highest in the city.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1431 W. Taylor Street, Chicago, IL 60607 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Grand Piazza
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo