130x130_sq_1371672382728-groovetown-12

GrooveTown Band

Raleigh , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Raleigh, NC US 27616 (map)

PHONE

919-721-8242

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

GrooveTown is a refreshing take on event entertainment ! Everything from the largest and most varied song list to the best musicians in the US . GrooveTown is miles ahead of other event... Read more
GrooveTown is a refreshing take on event entertainment ! Everything from the largest and most varied song list to the best musicians in the US . GrooveTown is miles ahead of other event bands . Voted 2013 Wedding Wire”Brides Choice” and The Knot 2013 “Best Of” coupled with hundreds of rave reviews make GrooveTown the most sought after band on the east coast . Its not just the music that makes GrooveTown stand out , customer service is a huge priority with the band . Every detail is discussed and accommodated to make your event exactly what you dreamed ! If you are looking for a talented , motivated , amazing band to help your dream event come true then look no farther ! Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1371582062510-groovetown-12
130x130_sq_1371582085703-groovetown-13
130x130_sq_1371582186830-groovetown-michael-1
130x130_sq_1371582163621-groovetown-lee1
130x130_sq_1371582136408-groovetown-great-1
130x130_sq_1371582107833-groovetown-24-lee
130x130_sq_1371582037516-devin-1
130x130_sq_1371582216329-groovetown

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Holy smokes!!! Groovetown made our wedding in more ways than one. They did not take one break the entire evening -- I have guests from out of the country who were so impressed they want to have Groovetown play at their weddings!! This speaks volumes for their talent.

Our guests loved them and I am so grateful for their willingness to learn our first dance song and keep the energy going all night long. Music can make or break a wedding, and I was incredibly picky in choosing the band for our wedding and I am SO glad I chose Groovetown.

THANKS Guys!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very professional and followed all of our request. Nice to work with.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Groovetown was amazing. They knew when to play what and how to keep the party going. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
GrooveTown was absolutely amazing! They made our wedding so much fun and played music based on the mood of the wedding guests (read: our guests came to party!) They played all kinds of songs from beach music to current popular songs. To put it in my husband's words whenever we reminisce on our wedding night: "GrooveTown absolutely killed it." I could not be happier with their service and performance during our wedding reception and only wish we could do it all over again. Groovetown, thank you so much!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pearce
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Love love love this band! They made my wedding so much fun. The variety of music that they played was unreal, from beach music that my parents loved to "new music" that got the crowd going. We had a lot of town guest that live in GA, and they asked my in-laws the name of the band after the wedding in case they needed them in the future--they enjoyed them that much!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier - GrooveTown made our wedding a true party. They were easy to work with, professional, and responsive, and sounded great! We had the best time dancing the night away!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with GrooveTown. They made our wedding reception very fun and a night to remember. They were professional and did a great job reading the crowd.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with A Southern Soiree wedding planners and they had many suggestions for bands from the Raleigh area. My husband and I must have listened to 100 bands before finding Groovetown. We listed to Groovetown and absolutely loved their sound! They also played a large variety of songs and were willing to learn a few new ones for us.

Groovetown was so easy to work with. They stayed in touch during the planning process to make sure they had all the information they needed. Our guests are absolutely raving about the band! They knew exactly what kind of song to play based on the mood, and had us dancing all night long. I cannot say enough good things about this band! I would absolutely recommend this band to any brides looking for quality entertainment!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KAREN
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
The Groovetown Band was a smashing success at my daughter's wedding reception. They arrived on time, played beautifully and were well dressed and responsive to the crowd. I would hire them again for any event. I cannot tell you how many people that attended the reception asked about the band and said they thought they were fabulous. The horns were great, the vocals were great, I could go on and on. The energy in the room never slowed down, They did an amazing job of reading the crowd and keeping everyone on the dance floor. They were also very polite and had a great work ethic. I would recommend them to anyone having any event as they are head and shoulders above alot of bands that we thought about but decided against because we wanted a band with dignity. We did not want a band that dressed in a skimpy fashion or played inappropriate music. This band has dignity and it showed. I wish I had another event, I would call them again, LOVE GROOVETOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Groovetown provided a wonderful show. The dance floor was never empty. All ages enjoyed their music selection . The band arrived on time was easy to work with . I recommend them highly
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I fancy myself as a musician and can be critical. These guys blew me and everyone away. People from Wisconsin were calculating how much it would cost to bring them out there for weddings. I looked at the reviews and only found one thing that wasn't a 5, some confusion over a song. Okay. I litterally went up to them several times during the night and told each individual band member that they were XXXXXXX fabulous. I stayed around afterwards to do so also. Just a wow.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Groovetown is wonderful in every way!! From the first informational phone call to the end of the reception it was smooth sailing. They met our expectations and more. One guest called the music "epic". Many told us it was the most fun they have had at a wedding. Our daughter and son-in-law chose the music and Groovetown played them in the order they thought most appropriate; it was awesome. They are a very professional group and easy and fun to work with. We only have the one daughter, but if we had ten we would have Groovetown perform at every wedding!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
6/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Our guests were dancing all night long! Friends and family keep telling us how much fun they had at our wedding. They enjoyed the selection of songs and various genes that Groovetown sung and played.
When we were putting together a selection of songs for the band to play, we had two songs that were not on their roster. We sent the band the MP3’s of the songs we wanted for the First Dance and Father/Daughter Dance in hopes that maybe they could learn at least one of the songs for that night. To our delight, they learned both songs! My husband and I are very thankful that they took the time to learn those tunes in order for us to make those moments extra special!
The band is extremely professional, efficient and great to work with! I highly recommend Groovetown for all of your party needs—your guests will not be able to stay off of the dance floor!
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1339030315709-22894661943000054139004254334620587452485n
Abby
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Great entertainers! Our guests loved them as much as us!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
GrooveTown Band surpassed my expectations! They were able to "read the crowd" and eased into the night with Beach tunes and oldies then ended the night with amped up Top 40 songs. Lee Johnson put my anxieties to rest the week before my wedding day by speaking with me at length on the phone. Thanks GrooveTown for helping to make our wedding everyone's favorite event this year!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
everyone wanted to know where we got the band. The band kept the crowd dancing and took care of all our special requests. They were professional and very easy to work with. I would very highly recommend them.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Groovetown was fantastic! The dance floor was packed the entire night of my wedding and Groovetown did a great job keeping the crowd going. I highly recommend them for any wedding or other event!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Excellent band! They were great fun and very responsive to crowd. Took small breaks and never let party loose energy. Only comment is that we wanted to pick up music energy earlier since we had already had background music during cocktail hour and band was a little slow to transition. Otherwise they were great. I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittan
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I would definitely pick groove town again for our wedding. The dance floor was full and everyone had a great time!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
GrooveTown was an absolutely amazing band. Upon previewing their website, we knew that GrooveTown was the band for us. The vocalists and instrumentalists were outstanding and kept the party going the entire night! Our guests had such a wonderful time singing and dancing that no one wanted to leave. That truly is a sign of a phenomenal band. My family was so impressed that my mother is convinced that GrooveTown should be the band to play for my little sister's wedding if and when the time comes! In addition, the event staff at our venue said GrooveTown was one of the nicest bands they had ever worked with for an event. Thank you so much for making our special day so wonderful!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
After a lot of research we decided to go with GrooveTown. About a month before the wedding we emailed back and forth about what music we wanted and did not want. They listened to every request we had and actually sang every song we had requested. My husband and I both thought they would have to play a few from their computers but they proved us wrong and sang them all. Everyone made comments after the wedding about how great the band was and how much fun they had. We highly recommend GrooveTown! Hurry and book them because they book up fast!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
GrooveTown was AMAZING!! They made my wedding reception a huge hit. You know those weddings where most people just sit and listen while a few people dance, well GrooveTown had every guest at my wedding on their feet dancing! My main goal for the reception, was to make sure my guests had a fun time, and GrooveTown made that happen. The guys in the band were so fun to work with. They were all very talented and even allowed my husband, bridesmaids, and I dance and sing with them on stage. Thank you guys for "dealing" with us:) They play a great range of music so every guest will enjoy the music selection. I would highly recommend GrooveTown Band to future bride's!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Groovetown was an absolute hit at our wedding! Even though it was an afternoon wedding, the dance floor was packed for the entire time! They have an amazing selection of music and are wonderful emcees. They are very responsive to your wishes in terms of music and how you would like the event to flow. I couldn't have been happier with the music they provided! I was also very happy with the background music they provided during our reception when lunch was served. It was some light jazz that created a celebratory atmosphere but still allowed guests to converse (I've been to weddings where I was literally shouting across the table, so this was a definite plus). Our friends and family had a blast! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Highly recommended. We could not have been more pleased with GrooveTown. They were great to work with ahead of time (I emailed with Lee Johnson several times) and on the day of. They sounded great and played a good variety of music within the guidelines of genres that I asked for. They really kept everyone dancing the entire time, and several people complimented them or asked me who they were during the reception. I was impressed that they only required one break during the evening, which helped to keep the dance floor full. We really have only positive things to say about GrooveTown -- they made our reception a success.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JDoup98
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Groovetown was worth every penny! I actually changed my wedding date to accomodate Groovetown's schedule and I am sooooo happy that I did! The band was amazing! My guests and I spent most of the night on the dance floor. The band was generous enough to take some outlandish requests and did it with smiles on their faces! I had an absolute blast. One of our guests who is getting married next year contacted the band the night after our wedding to book them for hers! Hands down greatest wedding band ever!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Groovetown is awesome! They are so talented and kept our guests dancing all night long! They play it all and know how to feel out the crowd for what to play next. They started out the evening with Jazz/Sinatra and moved on to Oldies, 70's, 80's 90's and hits that are on the radio today. They took one break during cake cutting toasts. They are extremely talented, professional and reliable.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Proud MOB
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Everyone loved GrooveTown. The dancing never stopped. Really fun!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
9.10.11 wedding celebration
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
This band played for our daughter's wedding September 10, 2011, and they were absolutely fantastic!!! We randomly picked this band with the help of our wedding planners suggested this band so we really didn't know what to expect. They surpassed all expectations. Everyone danced for 3 straight hours....NO intermission....and it was so much fun. I would highly recommend this band for weddings and other occasions. Not only was the music terrific, the vocalists and musicians were so entertaining and definitely played to the crowd offering a wide range of music. They accepted requests and played them which really impressed me and the young people loved it. They were worth every dime and would definitely have them again.
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1266944733801-abacos068
CarolAnn
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
A great band with a variety of music to choose from!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
GrooveTown met or exceeded all of our expectations. Many guests said it was the best band they had ever heard at a wedding reception. They played for four hours with only one short break. They slide from one song right into another and had literally everyone, young and old, on their feet and dancing. Ninety percent of our guests stayed until the last song was played. These guys are great musicians, they all sing and they are very professional. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tom
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.8/5.0
Groovetown kept up an excellent pace throughout the night, and as a result, we had an experience just like we wanted, everyone on the floor the whole night, smiles all around!

The only disappointment for me was that I wanted them to learn one more song, a medley of music that had great meaning for the wedding couple, but was told that they could only do so many requests, and that we had reached out limit. I understand that they have to draw the line somewhere, but it was important to me, and I am still unhappy about that. Perhaps they can amend their policy to where they at least examine how hard the song would be to put together before they say no.

Otherwise I recommend them to everyone who asks, they were great!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tom
Wedding:
6/1/2014
4.6/5.0
GrooveTown gave an amazing performance all night, and kept the party going! We received numerous comments from our guests on how great the band was. They were also very accommodating to our timeline and song requests.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.6/5.0
I thought GrooveTown did a wonderful job. They made the reception fun and really got the guests dancing! I gave them a list of songs I wanted them to play (about 4 songs) and they didn't play all of them, that was the only negative thing about the band. Otherwise, I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
GrooveTown's performance was BEYOND what we could have imagined!! Everyone at our wedding said they were the BEST WEDDING BAND they had EVER heard--and they truly ARE! Each member of the band is extremely talented and they can play ANYTHING! My only critical feedback is that they did not return emails or phone calls promptly. I only spoke with them several days before my wedding, and there was some confusion about a song they were supposed to play that caused stress during my reception that I wish had not. Still, they were the best wedding band we could have possibly hired, and I am so grateful we hired them! :)
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/7/2013
2.3/5.0
The band provided a great show that our guests enjoyed. However, the band members especially Lee acted like Divas and were not easy to work with. The show was great, but their personalities behind the scenes have me a headache. I would have chosen a different band if I would have known that they acted in this manner. In addition, I requested that they end with a particular song (which I submitted three months in advance), and when they failed to do so they stated "everyone seemed to enjoy it... We are not a DJ service." Wow.
Services Used: Band
GrooveTown Band responded with the following comments:

GrooveTown had an amazing time playing at Nicoles wedding and as she stated rocked the party as usual . Please allow me to address her other statements . I did receive her song list a few months in advance which included upward of 50 songs that were not on our current song list . At that time through multiple emails and phone calls i expressed my concerns about her belief that we would or could learn 50 plus songs for her event .I explained in detail that it is impossible for any band to learn 50 songs for 1 event but we would try our best to learn a few . We were able to actually learn and play 10 songs from her list including 2 salsa songs in spanish ! We played those tunes along with throwing a great party with our current songlist . Nicole approached the band to request a song off of her request list towards the end of the night , one that we did not know . When I informed her that we did not know that song her response was "I gave you all these songs 3 months ago" that was when I responded with "Im sorry Nicole but we are not a Dj we cant just learn 50 songs" ! I was told by her mother when I initially expressed my concerns about her song requests "dont worry about it just do what you do" . GrooveTowns reputation and reviews speak for themselves . We are and will always be very humble easy to work with guys who love to play music . I can also provide another review of this party from a guest who was there if interested !

MAP

 
Raleigh, NC 27616 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for GrooveTown Band
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1371672382728-groovetown-12