130x130_sq_1279729856656-untitled3

Hacienda Siesta Alegre

Rio Grande , PR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Road 186 Km 23.9, El Verde
Rio Grande, PR US 00745 (map)

PHONE

787-887-7500

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Contact us: eventspr@hsa-email.com

"The most spectacular and unique venue in Puerto Rico, reflecting the spirit and traditions of the island" ...

Nestled away at... Read more
Contact us: eventspr@hsa-email.com

"The most spectacular and unique venue in Puerto Rico, reflecting the spirit and traditions of the island" ...

Nestled away at the end of a long white picket fence, in the foothills of El Yunque rainforest, looking down on the lights of the city you will find a jewel of a place. Hacienda Siesta Alegre is a beautiful Spanish Colonial, rustic-style residence located just 35 minutes east of San Juan. Offering elegant open terraces, the spectacular setting and continuous easterly trade winds, Hacienda Siesta Alegre is an enchanting and magical dinner option.

A true residence, the living room has a fireplace and a side room has a pool table, which many guests enjoy before dinner. It has a giant gazebo style effect, all open on the sides, with great wood deck patios and a Spanish Colonial style roof of unusual Teja tiles. The modern open-air kitchen was used by Martha Stewart on a television special featuring Puerto Rico’s most celebrated chefs and has been used as the site for many movies.


The Facts:
• Capacity to seat 340 people under the roof; the green areas around the Hacienda have the capacity to seat another 250 people
• Series of intimate terraces, lawns and rooms - the entire mansion is open to your guests
• There are 5 bathrooms, plus one in the service area.
• There is a large air conditioned service area for the caterers – the bar and music area are under a roof, yet in an open area
• The AC conference room seats 50 theater style or 25-30 at tables.
Recent Feedback:
"My incentive group had a wonderful time at the Hacienda! The owners truly made us feel at home.
Hacienda is a unique venue and one that will truly make you feel that you are experiencing Puerto Rico. The owners and management team are wonderful to deal with -- flexible and creative. It seems as though it would be a perfect place for almost any sized group for reception, buffet, or seated dinner. Truly, a night to remember..." Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1269438175261-23962
130x130_sq_1269438230105-cflamcouple22
130x130_sq_1269438291933-pooltable
130x130_sq_1269438337636-keilajason006
130x130_sq_1269438560933-keilajason009
130x130_sq_1269438605777-dsc00788
130x130_sq_1269438635496-245277238058ae2836d8
130x130_sq_1269438703761-wally12
130x130_sq_1269439047152-fromsmallcamera080172
130x130_sq_1269439105917-uptoapr081292
130x130_sq_1269439140621-lastroll3

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1970
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Inn / Bed & Breakfast
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Tropical
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
600
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
9
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
8
Number of suites
2
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/3/2014
3.9/5.0
Hacienda Siesta Alegre (HSA) is truley an earth shattering magical venue to have your wedding. Your wedding pictures will be priceless and it will keep people reminiscing for a long time afterward. Planning with them...well...we were assigned to Larissa Perez and I just figured this is how Puerto Rico rolls (poor delayed responses etc.), but in actuality this was our ONLY vendor we had this issue with. If you send an email you might get one back in 3 days with possibly not having all your questions answered. You may have to call the office a couple of times to finally reach your contact person. Once it was crunch time, 2 weeks before the wedding the lines of communication were 100% more clear. The actual day of the wedding my husband did have to approach our HSA coordinator as our personal day of coordinator (Sorry, didn't fully trust HSA) was not getting much feedback or help in setting up, but once they were aware of the problem they quickly jumped into place. Communication is key, don't stay quiet. I would 100% get married here again, the lack of prompt emails not hearing from my contact person for about a month in the beginning of the planning etc. is TOTALLY worth it!!! During the wedding the staff was AMAZING, very attentive to our guests. Bar staff was quick , never a line at the bar (our family can drink!) We really had a wedding of a lifetime!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1336666402639-iloveyouforever
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.9/5.0
There are no words to accurately describe HSA. Beautifully stunning is the first thing that comes to mind! I first found HSA a year prior to getting engaged - I knew I wanted to get married in a hacienda and we already knew it would be in PR. When I did a google search, HSA was the first one on the list and I fell in love at first sight! We visited in person a year later, once we were engaged, and the house was exactly like the pictures! I was done and knew that it would be the place where we'd get married. Not only is the house gorgeous but Norma, the general manager, is such a pleasure to work with. She is so positive and upbeat that you can't help but fall in love with the place even more. We were on a strict budget and HSA was great at working with us so that we could get everything we wanted for our guests. Our guests LOVED HSA and everyone is still talking about how amazing the place is - it's really like something out of a dream and I'm so happy we chose it for our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
4/13/2014
5.0/5.0
This place is a dream! Honestly our guests could not stop talking about how absolutely gorgeous the Hacienda is. Best weekend of our lives in one of the beautiful places in Puerto Rico! Also the staff to include Marta (venue coordinator) are extremely attentive, kind and caring. We love you Marta!
And the bridal suite is so gorgeous! We are definitely going back for our 1 year anniversary! Thank you Hacienda Siesta Alegre for allowing us to host the wedding of our dreams in the most beautiful wedding venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/15/2014
4.0/5.0
What a WONDERFUL and MAGICAL wedding me and my husband had at Hacienda Siesta Alegre. We and our family LOOOOOOVED our wedding day so amazingly much. Hacienda Siesta Alegre is the place to choose if you want a gorgeous, vintage, familiar, breezy, cozy and rustic feel for your day. The contact they assigned to us to work with was Larissa Perez. I found the service not as professional, as responsive and of the quality I was hoping for. They have not standardized they wedding services and coordination they offer and that makes them not as easy as one would like to work with for a day as your wedding day.

Anyway... the place was so perfect for me that at the end of the day it did not matter. All of my guests were fascinated with our choice and really enjoyed the day-night.

You will love the place too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
YogaMom
Wedding:
2/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Norma and the Hacienda Siesta Alegre. Norma was very patient and answered all my questions promptly. She was extremely kind, patient and helpful throughout my wedding planning process. While we were planning a destination wedding, we needed to change our plans to due to death in the family. Although I did not have the opportunity to get married at HSA as planned, I still highly recommend Norma and HSA and am leaving my review based on her responsiveness, kindness and attention to detail. I hope to visit HSA sometime n the future.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
2/9/2014
4.1/5.0
My husband and I recently got married at HSA and had an absolutely magical time. The venue was stunning and blew away all of our guests - there is truly nothing like it! The wedding itself went wonderfully, and there is backup space in case of rain, which thankfully we did not need to use. We met the owners, Linda and Greg, who are fantastic people. If you stay overnight as a guest, you will be woken up fairly early by the roosters, but it's ok, cause you are greeted by a delicious breakfast. My only suggestion would be to ask for Norma as your event contact, not Larissa. Larissa was very nice and a super cool girl, so I hate to leave a negative review about her. But being an event professional myself, I expected better/clearer communication. Her responses were delayed, extremely unclear and confusing and led to a lot of repeated questions and unnecessary stress. I met Norma on my second morning there, and I only wish I had asked for her from the beginning. That said, everything will still come together beautifully no matter who your contact is, and I could not recommend the venue more strongly for those looking for a special wedding experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1382233881462-kisses2
Xiomara
Wedding:
1/9/2014
5.0/5.0
This place is AMAZING, STUNNING and MAGICAL. I found this place by accident and had to have it. I had never seen the place in person only through pictures online. My sister-in-law arrived before I did to the venue and she couldn't believe her eyes how amazing this place was. My wedding was so romantic and perfect and that is purely because it was at Hacienda Siesta Alegre. Norma who is the manger for the property is amazing to deal with and truly a great asset to the Hacienda. Most of my wedding guest stayed on the property for 2 nights and we all did not want to leave this magical gem. My husband and I have promised to go back every year for our anniversary as there isn't another place that compares. HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Litza
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had out wedding at the Hacienda and even do it rain all day our wedding was unique and every part of the place is beautiful. Norma is awesome. If you are looking for a vintage/rustic place this is it. Records for rain broke that day in Puerto Rico but it was still magical, I look at the picture and Im still speechless and I haven't look at the photographer yet.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
We paid a deposit on the Hacienda Siesta Alegre based on internet photos and reviews in order to hold our wedding date before we saw it. We are very glad that we did that. The photos understate the beauty of this place. It is so unique and every part of the place is beautiful. Norma Perez, the event planner at the Hacienda, is just awesome. She is so warm and worked so hard to make sure that we had the wedding we envisioned. Our guests were so impressed with the Hacienda, and, while we have visited a few times, on the day of our wedding we were also overwhelmed with the beauty of the place! Everything went very smoothly on the day of the wedding, including our somewhat last minute changes to the schedule. Linda, one of the owners, is very welcoming as well. She encouraged us to walk around the grounds of her home and helped us locate documents that we had left there! We highly recommend the Hacienda Siesta Alegre for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1350613338650-weddingwebsite2
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
This is the most beautiful venue in Puerto Rico. I am so glad that I had the honor of getting married here. Unfortunately, it rained during my ceremony. I was definitely disappointed that we had to move the ceremony under the awning, but the back-up ceremony sight worked out great. My guests were wowed from start to finish. They have told me that my wedding was the most beautiful and unique wedding that they have ever been to. I know that a lot of this has to do with this venue!! The bartender was awesome- no guest was ever without a drink in hand. Norma is a very sweet and accommodating manager. We shared countless emails throughout the planning process and she was always quick to reply. Thank you Norma!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1358387126568-1
Jaritza
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
After visiting many different wedding venues in San Juan and on East side of the island, we came across the Hacienda Siesta Alegre. As soon as we walked up the stairs and into the house, we knew this was the place! This venue is unique and amazing in so many ways. We loved the beautiful architecture, many different areas (and options for wedding layout), and all of the natural beauty. The pictures do not do it justice during the day or night. Norma and others told us many times “wait until you see it at night with all the lights on”. They were right! The first time we saw the Hacienda after the sun went down, was our wedding night. The place becomes absolutely magical! The compliments from our guests were endless …from what we can tell, everybody loved it!
Norma was great to work with. She was very helpful with recommending vendors and layouts. She was also very accommodating and made sure we were always well informed, and feeling relaxed and at home. Everyone at the Hacienda was very friendly and helpful. We were even able to meet the owners of this wonderful house and enjoyed spending some time learning more about them and the Hacienda.
If you are looking for a unique venue with tons of natural beauty & a helpful staff, we highly recommend the Hacienda Siesta Alegre. Many thanks to Norma and the rest of the HSA staff! We’ll be back to visit!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Val
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our destination wedding here and it is now referred by numerous friends and family as "the best wedding ever". The pictures of this venue do not do it justice. It is an amazingly beautiful and romantic place to get married. It is an open air, spanish style hacienda with beautiful woodwork and tiles everywhere. There is a gorgeousl view and backdrop from every angle that you see.

We held our ceremony on the property as well as our reception. The staff was very helpful and accommodating to our requests. We hired all of our own outside vendors, except for the bar and the tables/chairs were through HSA. We had a regular bar and the mojito bar, and both were amazing. All of the drinks were wonderful and the bartenders were friendly.

We had a few of the rooms to use for the wedding party prior to the event and they were also gorgeous. I can not say enough about how amazing this place is.

We hired our own wedding planner but also received help form HSA, event coordinator, she was responsive, helpful, friendly and made sure our day ran smoothly. We were so glad that it did not rain the night of our wedding but there is back up plans in case of rain.

If you want to have a wedding like none of your friends and family have every had before, have it at HSA, they won't stop talking about it for years to come!
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The place is gorgeous, magical, speechless. Everyone raved about it. They said how did you find such a place. I found this place by chance. While looking for something else in the Internet. This place popped up. I looked at it and realized it was less then 10 mins from our vacation home. We went to see it and fell in love with it. It was the perfect venue for our vintage, rustic, romantic theme wedding. I would definitely recommend it. We stood there for our first night as newlyweds and it was awesome. They had a table for two set up in the gazebo for our first breakfast as husband & wife. Delicious. We were spoiled there. Norma you r the best and sweetest person. The bartender was great. Thank you for your hospitality & God bless. Love You, Norma.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chad
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.7/5.0
Couldn't say enough about the Hacienda Siesta Alegre. Norma manages the property and is the absolute best, setting us up with great vendors, resolving issues, and making planning a wedding from Los Angeles easy. The venue is simply stunning, our guests were BLOWN AWAY with the location, property and views. Getting married so far from home couldnt have been more worth it... The Hacienda and the team there (led by Norma) were a big reason for it. The pictures dont do the place justice, you have to see it to believe it. We looked at 10 other locations in and around San Juan but fell in love instantly with the Hacienda. The indoor outdoor location requires minimal decoration because its seriously doesnt need much. Really flexible location as well.

Only downside is that its 30 minutes from san juan but we took everyone by bus which worked out perfectly. Its worth every cent... HIGHLY recommended. Tell a local where you are getting married and they will be jealous, that says it all.

Happily Married in PR, Chad and Caitlin Patterson
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1344006287495-mia1
Melissa
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
The place is magical and takes you to another time and place...it is unique and the staff is courteous and extremely professional. We are so happy to have celebrated our special day in such a special venue! A delight from start to finish!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1320186881989-nickandlauren
Lauren
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
It still perplexes me that more people dont know about this place!! When I told people I was getting married down in Puerto Rico, they all asked me the same thing "What hotel"? I couldn't help but laugh and be a bit snotty about it...this place is on another level and is far from the typical hotel wedding. It is hands down the most romantic, beautiful and rustic place I've ever been to and I was so lucky to be able to get married there. I went to HSA last summer and couldn't wait to go back to get married this past June. There are tons of pictures all over the internet of this place but none of them do it justice...you have to go and see it for yourself. My recommendation is go visit the house and stay the night in one of the 5 rooms they have available. Once you fall asleep to the Coqui frogs and wake up to Maria's amazing breakfasts....you'll never want to leave this beautiful house in the foothills of the El Yunque rainforest. We live in south Florida, so we plan to go back every year to celebrate our anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maureen
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Hacienda Siesta Alegre and Ashley Barks in particular were a huge part of helping make our wedding day absolutely perfect. We were really blown away by how everything came together even more beautifully than we could have imagined. We couldn't be happier, and the HSA staff were a dream to work with. They have a really special thing there... even our own pastor and family members who live in Puerto Rico couldn't believe how stunning Siesta Alegre was. We can't wait to go back to enjoy the venue for our anniversaries and other special occasions. The owners Norma and Greg have a true gem, are so gracious and generous, and we are so grateful they are willing to share it with the world.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Bg19
Miosotis
Wedding:
4/13/2012
1.2/5.0
this is a tough review to write because the Hacienda in itself is an absolutely beautiful place. If you love the outdoors and are looking for something romantic and unique then yes I recommend the Hacienda.

However, their work ethic is terrible. I'm not sure if it was the person I was dealing with or what but without exaggeration every email I sent out took 4 days to respond and that was after a follow up email. If I asked 3 questions only 2 would get answered and not accurately. My wedding was a destination so I really couldn't just show up at the venue email and phone was the only way to communicate (per everything else these days).

1 1/2 week before my wedding I spoke with my 'go to' person at the Hacienda to give her my final headcount and explained that I would be in PR a week prior to the wedding and needed my final bill before I flew out as I wouldn't have access to all my files and didn't want to deal with wedding stuff leading up to the day...again I heard CRICKETS, no response. Even my coordinator in Puerto Rico was having problems communicating with them.

On the day of my wedding as I'm getting my hair and make up done I'm being asked for my final payment meanwhile I had no idea what my final costs were or given a breakdown/invoice to review.

We'd requested months and months before that we get a second room for my fiancee and his groomsmen to get ready at, when they got there the rooms were occupied by someone else. Luckily the guests were so kind that let the boys use the room to get ready - so embarrassing. We were never greeted by anyone from the Hacienda. At one point I'd asked a worker to call my 'contact person' and she'd left her phone on the counter so nobody could get a hold of her for at least an hour. They were all rolling their eyes as if they knew she was a piece of work.

My room was picked up but the bathroom was a bit dirty, several small bugs in the tub and dead cockroaches - big ones too. Obviously it was never cleaned, there was no way I was going to stay overnight YUCK! We had to ask for water several times. It was a really hot and humid day!!!

I later noticed that they'd charged me an extra $500. Once in the US I emailed her about the discrepancy - once again no response so I called spoke with Norma she was so nice, apologetic and asked that I forward my invoice and receipt to her. Meanwhile my 'go to' was responding saying that I was wrong - Quickly after that (I'm sure it was because I'd involved someone else) she retracted the email saying that they would send me a check. I got the check less than a week later that was probably the quickest response I got from them.

All in the venue in itself is absolutely beautiful and your pictures will look amazing. But for the money you're paying the service should be on point, at the least responsive. Maybe it was just my luck dealing with the wrong person. Best of Luck.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aimee
Wedding:
3/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We LOVED Hacienda Siesta Alegre. It was magically beautiful, and I will always be so very glad we chose it for our wedding venue. It's surrounded by a farm-like atmosphere, but is elegant and classy and lovely. I would chose it again in a heartbeat. One word of caution. We decided to stay there on our wedding night (seemed appealing to not have to travel, etc). There were dead bugs in the mosquito netting around the bed and only very thin curtains over the wall of windows separating us from the outdoors. My husband felt very exposed. It didn't bother me until the morning, when at 7:30 am there were men walking around and moving equipment right outside. It was impossible to sleep and we both felt like we had no privacy. I was probably already on edge from the 20+ cockroaches I found scurrying around the bathroom when I got up in the middle of the night and the cobwebs in the corner of the shower. Norma was very apologetic about the men (we didn't even mention the cockroaches). She felt bad that we didn't stay for breakfast. We couldn't wait to get out of there and get some sleep. Definitely have your wedding there. You won't regret it. Definitely do NOT stay overnight.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristina
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.6/5.0
For some reason there seem to be two listings on weddingwire for HSA, so adding my review to this listing as well.

This place is an absolute hidden gem. As soon as you visit the venue you will realize that a magical place it truly is, a place you and your guests will never forget. We had around 100 of our nearest and dearest travel from New York to Puerto Rico for our destination wedding. We were VERY picky with all aspects of our wedding, we always knew we wanted a destination wedding, but finding the perfect location & venue took a lot of searching. We settled on Puerto Rico because of it's ease of travel from the east coast, and we really loved the old-world spanish culture. We were convinced we were going to have the wedding at El Convento in Old San Juan. But then, by chance, I had found HSA on tripadvisor and was curious as I explored their website. It's about 45 mins outside of San Juan, and at first we weren't sure if that would really work for us since we would have to transport so many guests, but as soon as we set foot on the property we were in awe. It is 100% worth it to rent some buses and spend your wedding at HSA. The house is so unique & beautiful, its hard to even describe in words. I cannot tell you how many of my guests have asked me how I ever found this place. We brought in our own outside coordinator who also handled the decor which worked out great. While at times communication with HSA was a bit of a struggle, in the end everything came together perfectly. I highly recommend to all brides to please not have a typical hotel conference room wedding. Try something different, something memorable, check out HSA. You'll save on your flower costs, get some amazing pictures, and your guests will never forget it
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1310142099930-2011061103022
Lorena
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.0/5.0
The place is beautiful - Hoping that you are lucky and it doesn't rain! Otherwise, it truly is a magical place. Pictures do not do it justice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The most gorgeous venue to hold a wedding, bar none! The staff is very flexible and helpful.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny Bridges
Wedding:
12/19/2010
5.0/5.0
I got engaged in August and scheduled a wedding at HSA in December. Most people thought I was crazy to plan a wedding within such a short amount of time especially DURING nursing school...and if this place wasn't anything less than heaven on earth, I'm sure I would have had a wedding that was full of great disappointment.

BUT ITS IMPOSSIBLE to have anything short of the most amazing wedding here.
1st - the place is unlike any place I've ever been to. Its romantic, rustic, exotic, scenic, inspirational, and beyond any architect and interior designer's wildest imagination. This is because its nestled in the rainforest and filled with beauty and wonder. There's simply not enough words I have to express how remarkable this place is.

2nd - I loved that IF IT DID HAPPEN TO RAIN ON OUR WEDDING DAY (since it could, its in a rainforest) I'm confident that we'd still have had amazing time because the space is laid out so that you have cover over you. There are many many spaces that have cover and we would have been protected during the ceremony and reception without getting wet. It would have actually added to the ambience since the place highlights the rain factor - but of course we were happy it didn't rain!

3rd - Norma the event planner and Wally the wedding coordinator did an excellent job and kept all our guests happy - which was important for me because they all traveled from mainland US and I wanted to make sure they were having a great time throughout the wedding. Norma and Wally encouraged my husband and I to have fun and play around - we even threw our bouquet and garter belt off the roof, slide down this pole, and jumped in the pool at the end of the night, surprising our guests left and right!

3rd - the value was unbelieveable! We got amazing deals on the HSA wedding package and though looking at how gorgeous the place is and because we didn't cut costs or skimp on anything, you'd swear we spent a fortune, but that was FAR from the case.

4th - we spend our wedding night in the most romantic of places I could have imagined on the HSA property. It felt like we were at home (our dream home) and it felt so cozy and intimate. Where you spend your first night as a newly married couple is SO IMPORTANT and HSA knows how to surround you in a romantic environment.

5th - I have been a vegetarian for 17years...until I had a taste of our honeymoon breakfast the next morning. Maria can cook!!! No one would have believed me that I ate food with ground beef and bacon...but I did! More than the amazing food and the marvelous atmosphere and breathtaking views from all around the property, my husband and I really felt like we were in an amazing dream home and we honestly didn't want to leave.

When we first announced to all our friends and family we were getting married in PR, they asked, "Why PR?" After our wedding weekend, we just heard, "When can we come back?" Also, our guests kept telling us our was the best wedding they had ever been to. One of my guests had been to over 50 weddings and she was the first to say that (and she didn't even stay long enough to see us jump in the pool!)

I recommend anyone to just come to HSA - even for a bed and breakfast weekend getaway, or any kind of event you want to throw. Now that our wedding is over, we're hoping we can have an excuse to go back for another reason very soon!
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.8/5.0
I LOVE Hacienda Siesta Alegre! It is the most amazing venue I have ever seen and my wedding was beyond my expectations because of the Hacienda. The pictures don't even give it justice.

HSA is a hidden gem near the El Yunque Rainforest in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. Norma is the contact for the Hacienda, and I knew from the minute I talked with her that this was exactly the sort of venue for which I was searching. It is family-owned and spectacular without decorations - the property, the hacienda, the open air living spaces, the fireplace with candles all over, the villas, the view of the mountains, the outdoor dance floor, the fountain, the covered outdoor spaces, the natural beauty of the land....WOW!

The hacienda was built in 1988 by a couple from Kentucky. The Hacienda is connected with a horse farm, so your guests will get a rural experience in traveling to the property! I am from a farm so this was icing on the cake for my family. We had 27 passenger buses transport our 60 guests to the hacienda and every single one of them were amazed by the property - even our most well-traveled and affluent guests said it was the best venue they had ever seen. It is romantic, authentic, and can be more casual with minimal decoration, which is the vibe we were going for, or totally glamorous with normal decoration. Our guests were busy taking pictures of the hacienda as they were awaiting the start of the ceremony.

Norma is so warm and wonderful. She speaks English and Spanish, and works with you to make sure you are pleased with everything. THere was a mix up with our original date that we had discussed, and Norma tried to get the other bride to change dates by offering her a discount (since the date was my grandparents' wedding date as well), and when the other bride wasn't able to switch, she extended the discount to me. That is great service!

I love the ceremony location on the lawn, but it is located in the rainforest and was pouring the afternoon of our wedding, so we had to use plan b, which was a covered patio. I actually think this space created a more intimate setting for our small, simple, and short ceremony. The hacienda rounded up flowers to accent the new location, and it looked great. There were already 6 long benches in there, so those benches were arranged for seating and then guests stood around the benches as well. While it was no longer raining, the lawn was too wet, but this location was perfect for 60.

As our guests arrived, they were served the signature welcome drink, the Blue Hacienda. It was delicious! I was treated like royalty and these blue drinks were delivered to me and the bridal party as each of us arrived. The bridal suite is AMAZING and the most romantic space. It is included with the rental of the property for the bride and groom, and six additional rooms are available. The suite was fully outfitted with fresh tropical flowers picked from the property. The next morning, we were treated to a luxurious authentic Puerto Rican breakfast (with enough food for 6 people I think!). We had our breakfast at a table facing the lawn and the view of the rainforest that morning was stunning. And more gorgeous flowers adorned the table!

They have recently changed their liquor options, and it is definitely for the better. We had great service and I was pleased with all the choices the guests had. The house wines aren't that great, and champagne is not included, but you can pay a small corkage fee to bring in your own bottles.

I would give a 5.0, but as an American who is too connected to my technology at all times, I had to give a 4.0 for responsiveness as it does sometimes take longer to get a response. But then again, that seems to be the norm in Puerto Rico, so I don't think that is a fault specific to this venue. There always seems to be a holiday in Puerto Rico too, which delays business! :)

The ambiance is just amazing. If you want an intimate and romantic feel to your wedding and don't want to spend a lot on decor, this is the venue for you. The buzz of the Co-qui frogs just adds to the experience. I can't say enough about Hacienda Siesta Alegre!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mgh
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
This was such a beautiful place to get married. It was really intimate - we had the ceremony on the lawn and cocktails in the main house and then the reception on the covered patio - it flowed really well. Norma was fantastic- so helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Road 186 Km 23.9, El Verde, Rio Grande, PR 00745 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hacienda Siesta Alegre
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo