130x130_sq_1346424032118-low1200620hamby019770

Hamby Catering & Events

Charleston , SC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

925 Saint Andrews Blvd.
Charleston, SC US 29407 (map)

PHONE

843-571-3103

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hamby Catering & Events, Charleston’s original caterer, has been serving the Lowcountry since 1979 as a family-owned & operated business. A full-service caterer, Hamby provides all food... Read more
Hamby Catering & Events, Charleston’s original caterer, has been serving the Lowcountry since 1979 as a family-owned & operated business. A full-service caterer, Hamby provides all food & beverage services, floor plan and timeline creation, rental coordination, and streamlined advice on all event logistics. The Hamby team customizes every menu to suit the palate and budgetary needs of each client, making every event unique and personalized. Hamby is your catering partner for life’s most memorable events. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1337007153189-greenbeanbundles
130x130_sq_1346423770084-low1200620hamby019814
130x130_sq_1346423743393-low1200620hamby019711
130x130_sq_1346423748168-low1200620hamby019738
130x130_sq_1346423761433-low1200620hamby019781
130x130_sq_1346423774566-low1200620hamby019830
130x130_sq_1346423756286-low1200620hamby019770
130x130_sq_1346423752138-low1200620hamby019763
130x130_sq_1337020390781-tarletcloseup
130x130_sq_1346423765582-low1200620hamby019789
130x130_sq_1337007031359-cheesecloseup
130x130_sq_1337009878187-mooregarabinorichardbellphotographymoore05512
130x130_sq_1337007166288-napkin
130x130_sq_1337007059952-drinksareserved
130x130_sq_1337007192748-window
130x130_sq_1316806474850-touchedupshrimp
130x130_sq_1337007090609-friedoysters
130x130_sq_1319228252163-5061mowlajkoantinori
130x130_sq_1316806699616-overview
130x130_sq_1319214403496-caketopper
130x130_sq_1319216831984-9198mowlajkoantinori
130x130_sq_1316806700335-empanadas
130x130_sq_1319216806213-2076mowlajkoantinori

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Caribbean, Creole, French, German, Indian, Italian, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Polynesian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
5000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzi
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Hamby not only served delicious food at our wedding, but they provided rustic serving decor (white crates, burlap, etc) to match along with our wedding theme! Their staff is very professional and served our guests with class! We would totally recommend them for a catering event in the future for potential clients. They serve the best food in town and really cater to eat clients needs and desires! Thanks Hamby for a delicious and beautiful wedding reception :-)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
H A
Wedding:
6/13/2014
5.0/5.0
I interviewed 3 caterers before choosing Hamby's for our wedding rehearsal on a boat. Ryan McKenzie's honest recommendations, timely communication, and assistance with food choices ( as well as some my quirky suggestions!) put me at ease especially since I was out of town.
The food quality and presentation was spectacular and their staff quietly moved through the event replenishing ( those shrimp salad sandwiches kept disappearing), cleaning, and even packed up leftovers for the hungry groomsmen to eat later.
It was a grand slam event and Ryan made this happen - Hamby's is the best - don't miss the opportunity to use them!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
I do not have enough good words to say about Hamby Catering and the amazing job that Monica did with our wedding. It was the most perfect day! We chose to use Hamby's day-of coordination package as well, and it was worth it! Monica was amazing and worked so hard to make our dreams come true that day. I would highly recommend her within Hamby for anyone looking for a little extra service and care. She is absolutely amazing.

The food was absolutely delicious and we had numerous people tell us that it was the best they'd had at a wedding. Our bartenders and serving staff were very helpful and friendly and always there to make sure our guests had full drinks and plenty of food.

Thanks again to Hamby for all that they did for us!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Cheral at Hamby was easy to work with during the whole process of planning our wedding. She quickly responded to any questions we had and helped us create a low country themed feast for our guests. The food was amazing, and many of our guests said it was the best wedding food they had ever had. The event staff kept everything looking nice during the reception. I cannot say enough how great this company and their food is.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
So being in Food and Beverage for over 15 years, catering was a big deal for my now husband. Rarely can we dine out without him mentioning a little thing here or there that would have made it worth the time and money. I must say, we were both blown away by Hamby. Not only was the food awesome (which is so easy to mess up in a buffet), but the servers were amazing. And Ryan, our rep, was fantastic. Like with all weddings, things are constantly changing and as a bride you feel like ripping your hair out. One conversation with Ryan and you no longer fear going bald. Rarely did he use the word no, and his quick thinking made major day of problems into even better solutions. Highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
This is the second time that Hamby Catering & Events catered a wedding for us - first for our son & daughter-in-law and now again for our daughter & son-in-law. In both instances everything was wonderful. Because of the service at the first wedding, we did not even want to consider another vendor for our daughter's wedding.

Both the food and the service was perfect. This was an outside wedding at a site that only had water and electrical hook-up. The challenge did not even cause them to bat an eye! The displays of food were beautiful and our guests thoroughly enjoyed it all. Several asked who did the catering.

We would definitely recommend Hamby to anyone!

Warm regards,
Caroline
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
There is a reason that certain companies, like Hamby Catering, remain so successful over so many years. They provide the best service, the most professional staff and the highest quality food. I realize that Hamby Catering works many events, but they made our event (rehearsal dinner and party) beautiful and one that we will always remember as absolutely perfect. I will use them again and again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LIz
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing at our reception:) Ryan worked so hard with me to make sure that we could get the food that we wanted with the budget that we had. The setup at the reception was beautiful and all of the guests went on about how much they loved the catering!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired Hamby to cater our December wedding and could not have been more pleased. The food was extremely important to us, as we are huge foodies, and they took our food "dream" and made it a reality. They customized everything for what we wanted as well as offering additional suggestions which was a huge help. They truly thought of everything! The food was beautifully presented, tasted delicious, and the service staff was excellent. We could not have been more happy with how everything turned out. And they were even kind enough to pack us a HUGE basket of food to take with us which we happily ate in our honeymoon suite :) Megan, Candice, and Wes did an incredible job and we could not have had such an amazing day without their organized pre-planning and hard work. We would definitely recommend Hamby to anyone for our catering needs and cannot wait to eat some of their delicious food again!
Services Used: Catering
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Jenny, it was a pleasure working with you and your family. Thank you for trusting us to be part of your wedding. Cheers!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Megan was the best wedding planner we could ask for
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Hamby provided delicious, beautifully presented food for the reception. Our guests loved it! The service, including servers, bar staff, kitchen staff, was excellent. Our Hamby sales rep also functioned as the day of wedding planner and supervised everything for us on the day of the event, which meant no glitches for the bride or her parents to deal with on the big day. The timing and flow of the event was smooth and seamless. As part of the Design package our Hamby rep also assisted with choosing the florist, cake baker, transportation for wedding party, both DJ and ceremony musicians (string chamber music), and program designer. This made the whole process a lot easier from start to finish. We could not have been happier and would choose to work with Hamby and our sales rep on future occasions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathie
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter was married on 9-28-13. We had Hamby Catering do the food and Ryan McKenzie was the person we dealt with all through the planning. Ryan was wonderful through the whole planning process. From the first day we met him until the day of the wedding. He always answered my calls and emails right away and gave wonderful suggestions on food and decor. We could not have asked for a better person to help us.
We knew we wanted Hamby's to do the food from the beginning because of their reputation. The food was wonderful and the decor they used to present the food was perfect for our outside wedding. People are still asking me who catered this event. The staff at the wedding were so helpful and professional. After the wedding you would have never known they were there.
Everything was perfect for our daughter's special day.

Kathie Wehman
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a lowcountry wedding on September 1st and could not have been more pleased with Hamby's! Ryan is awesome, he helped us from day one all the way until the day of. The food was amazing and all of our guests raved about it and are still talking about it! The way they included our theme on their food tables was awesome as well, and they even packed us a to go basked for our room when we got back! All of our guests said it was the best wedding food they have ever had and we surely feel that way too! And we all ate our weight in oysters! Thank you so much to Hamby's and Ryan for their wonderful job, and making our wedding one to remember!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karan
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Since my daughter Aimee, nor myself are not from the Charleston or Lowland area, I needed a caterer that we could work with long distance. I did contact several other caterers in the area, but, NONE gave me the security of Hamby. From the very first phone call, I knew that I had contacted the perfect caterer that could give myself and my daughter "piece of mind". After reading many reviews, I asked for Ryan McKenzie...he could not have been more supportive and easy to work with. He was spot on with suggestions, ideas and great with answering questions, give feedback and quick to make call backs. The food selections were perfect as we were looking for a Southern style menu to compliment the style of wedding Aimee desired. Ryan suggested Sherry Ferguson as "a person of the day". Sherry was a dream come true...she knew right away what my daughter wanted for her day...and Sherry delivered. She worked hard for Aimee, and, it was exactly what Aimee had envisioned. I highly recommend Hamby and in particular Ryan for any event that you may be planning!

side note: the wedding date was actually Aug. 25th, 2012, I tried to edit the date, but the site would not let me
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful, delicious food and wonderful service. I had wedding guests compliment me on the shrimp salad sandwiches months after the wedding. And I love the caprese skewers. I could live off of them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Mrs. Hamby's.

My family has always used Hamby Catering for all of our catering needs, from graduation parties to special anniversaries. When I dove into wedding planning, it was a no-brainer that Hamby's was top of my list to approach.

Event producer Ryan McKenzie worked with us along the way to turn our vision into a flawless event. He gave me good leads during my vendor search, laid out our floor plan options for our venue, laid out rental options and ordered the rentals, helped me design the order of events based on what had worked in the past, and helped us design a very balance and delicious menu. Ryan also found me a phenomenal day-of assistant who made an enormous difference.

On the day-of, Ryan coordinated with all of the vendors to make sure everyone arrived on time and everything was in place. He supervised set-up and break-down, and was waiting by our car at the end of the night to hand us a picnic basket of goodies and champagne to take with us to our hotel.

As a planner and a producer, Ryan was outstanding.

Now the food and service. Oh my goodness.

Chef-attended shrimp and grits station. Vichyssoise and cucumber gazpacho shooters. Their Southern Butcher block. All of the above. The service was excellent. A waitress discreetly approached my husband and me during formal portraits and passed us some hors d'oeuvres when we had a break, recognizing that we probably wouldn't get to eat anything until the end.

Everyone had a great time. Lots of compliments on the food from guests. Hamby's rocks it again!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

What a generous review of our services, Alice! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. It was such a pleasure working with you!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kassy
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Hamby's Catering was referred to me by my wedding coordinator. I worked closely with, Ryan McKenzie, who helped me plan my menu, bar, and the entire floor layout with rentals as well. Ryan was very professional and helpful. Planning a dinner for 160 people is not an easy task, but Ryan walked me through it easily. The food was amazing and just what we were looking for. We did food stations and the food was fresh! They have a wide variety of different options (sit down dinner, buffet, stations, etc...). Their pricing is very reasonable and the food is excellent quality. Their bar packages are even more affordable!!!! They arrived on time and will arrange the displays according to your theme. We had a lot of rustic decor, therefore the food stations had a lot of dark wooden bowels, wooden serving trays and milk crates. They did an excellent job on presentation. They also provide a departure basket for the bride and groom of to-go packages of all the food in addition to champagne! Ryan is also coordinated with Synder rentals and therefore, also took care of all of our rentals, which was a huge help because he knew exactly the number of glasses, forks, plates, etc... to order. You are in very good hands in you are working with Ryan McKenzie. Hamby's catering and Ryan McKenzie are exceptional to have as your caterers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We were extremely pleased with the service, food and presentation. I have been an event planner and a director of catering so I know what it takes to do the job. Cheral McCombs was the best to work with and when a little issue arose for our family she quickly responded with help and a kind attitude. I could not have been more pleased. Kudos to Hamby Catering! Anne
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
5/7/2013
5.0/5.0
The food is very affordable for the level of quality that is provided. They do a wonderful job preparing low country classics, like shrimp and grits and ham biscuits. in addition, the wait staff was very professional both in appearance and manner.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Our supper was the best I have ever had. The tenderlion was cooked perfectly for 75 people. You could cut it with a fork. The service was over the top!!! Hamby's was easy and comforting to work with. It could not have gone any better.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tia
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
From booking to wedding day, Hamby was fantastic! Our coordinator Cheral was responsive and quick to make any changes to meet our needs. Everything was perfect for our special day, and the food was delicious! I recommend Hamby to anyone planning a wedding or event.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
The entire staff at Hamby Catering & Events are wonderful. When we decided to have a destination wedding, we were concerned with whom to contact; but Meghan and the entire staff were very professional and made sure that all of our needs and questions were taken care of. If I had a question or concern about who to contact for entertainment, officiant, etc., Meghan was there to help point us in the right direction. During our event, Amy also made sure that the kids had their meals. You will not go wrong with Hamby's Catering & Event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
What a wonderful experience to have Hamby's cater my daughter's wedding. Everyone in Charleston knows the great quality of Hamby's food, but the planning and service that goes along with it were exceptional. Ryan MacKenzie with Hamby's was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was even able to have a tent delivered unexpectedly 4 hours before the event started! Talk about peace of mind--I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We have used Hamby's Catering for years, and will continue to use them in the future. They have such a varied menu selection, and everything is delicious. Recently they catered my daughter's wedding reception, and the food, service, and value were exceptional. They come highly recommended!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
4/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not thank Ryan McKenzie of Hamby Catering enough for all the care and attention to detail that he gave our event. Ryan was always prompt to reply to any questions that we had and loves to think outside the box. His attention to detail is like no one I have ever worked with before. Being from out of state, we felt we needed to surround ourselves with the best and that is what we did when we chose them. We interviewed many people, but the minute I sat down with Ryan I knew we had found our perfect match.
The food was nothing short of amazing and the presentation was far above my expectations. Everyone on the staff that I worked with the night of the event was great. They all gave me 200% and made our event perfect! Nothing was left to chance and everything was well planned and thought out well in advance.
When the bride and groom walked in to see the room they were overjoyed and they both had tears in their eyes. It looked magical and was exactly what we were looking for. You made their night one they will never forget.
I can not find the right words to express my gratitude to Ryan and Hambys for providing us with the perfect evening and one the children will never forget. You are the best!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
4/5/2013
5.0/5.0
This event was the rehearsal dinner and Megan, our coordinator, could not have been more helpful, pleasant, responsive and professional. Her calming manner soothed frazzled nerves and anxious customers. I especially appreciate her timely way of returning calls and emails. We were very pleased with the quality and the service.
Services Used: Catering
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your kind words, and more importantly, thank you for choosing Hamby as part of your event team!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R.
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Ryan and the crew at Hamby were on top of every last detail! They really made the planning easy, and we didn't have to worry about a single thing for the entirety of the wedding weekend. The lighting and decor was beautiful and people still talk about how good the food was at the reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Ask for Ryan!!! We worked with him and had such a great experience! No emails were left unanswered, no request was too small. He was very honest in his opinions, which was refreshing. Ryan did whatever he could to make our day as special as possible, and had wonderful suggestions that really made things run smoothly. The entire evening went off without a hitch, and we have gotten rave reviews on the food! Particularly the shrimp and grits - both from shrimp & grits officionados and foreigners that were in attendance who tried it for the first time! All of the staff were extremely helpful and really took care of my husband and me. We were asked multiple times if we needed any food, a refill on a drink, etc. Have recommended them to other brides planning their weddings in Charleston and will continue to! Amazing!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanne
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Hamby's was amazing! Not only was the food wonderful but the set-up was gorgeous! Our Event Coordinator, Cheral McCombs, somehow managed to make the SC aquarium, an already beautiful venue, even more beautiful! The food was delicious and and was exactly the southern style I was going for. I didn't get to try all the food because I was a little busy haha, but all the guests repeatedly complemented about how much they loved the food! Also, Cheral patiently answered all my questions, gave me advice and helped me choose my reception decor. And I have to admit, I went pretty overboard! But Cheral entertained all my ideas and answered all my emails. I highly recommend Hamby's and Cheral!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything was PERFECT! I have had nothing but rave reviews about how delicious the food was. Cheral was our event planner and made our part easy, even made sure special dietary request were met for someone who has a gluten allergy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I couldn't say enough about how great Hamby was! Ryan, our event coordinator was fantastic as well as all the staff that served our wedding. Everyone was so sweet not to mention incredibly efficient. The food was incredible! I couldn't imagine it being any better than it was, thank you, Hamby!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicky
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Leah and Megan were great to work and your entire staff were very good.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Hamby Catering was a joy for my daughter's Wedding Eve Dinner at the SC Aquarium. The food, beverages, service, and decor were all excellent. Cheryl coordinated everything perfectly and with great flexibility. The evening could not have been better.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow! is the best way to sum up Hamby's Catering and Events in Charleston, SC. From the beginning, our event planner, Ryan McKenzie, went above and beyond the call of duty. He was so personable and full of helpful advice. Their food was outstanding! We had so many compliments. And the staff... was incredible- friendly and polite. They all worked like a well oiled machine. I would not hesitate to recommend them for any event.


Mary, mother of the bride
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susan
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Hamby. I had several experiences with their catering and knew that we would use Hamby for my daughter's wedding. I was so impressed with their flexibility in adding more ceremony chairs at the last minute. They showed up on time to set up for the reception catering and transformed the venue in less than 3 hours. The food was delicious and the display was something you would see in a magazine. They had a beautiful basket to go with the bride and groom and had our leftovers wrapped and ready for us to take after the ceremony. I was so pleased and so many guests had wonderful things to say as well. Would definitely use them again.

Susan
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristine
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing food!!! Everyone loved the food and they made a basket for us to take with us. They make sure you get to taste your food after because I didn't even see the food at the reception. Everything was perfect!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1337176763019-mattandem199
Emily
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Ryan Mckenzie.... Fabulous. Now for the food and service...the best tasting food and presentation that I have ever had. I have planned over 100 events in my career and even events for a celebrity with an unlimited budget, and I have never had food presented and taste like Hamby's did. We had planned to use another caterer, and someone suggested that I contact Hamby. We scheduled a tasting and quite honestly doubted that they could recreate the flavor and presentation we experienced on a larger scale, because it was that good.. But it was so good, that even if it wasn't as good and fresh as what we tasted, it was still going to be hands down the best food we tried, and priced better than our original caterer.. What was delivered to the reception was just as good as we what we had experienced on a small scale, and the presentation and service was better than we had expected. The reviews that we received after the wedding said it all. "Best food that I have ever had at a function", Best wedding I have ever been to" Best service I have ever had..." You can't ask for anything better than that. Now,for Ryan McKenzie... He was the glue that held me together. Planning a wedding long distance is a challange. It was hard to stay focused and Ryan kept me on task. He was the most accommodating and commited that I felt that this wedding was his only focus. He made me feel so important and convinced me that he had everything under control... and he did. He was hands on, directing and creating my vision. When he saw me in tears, he was so concerned until I told him, my tears were because what he had created was even better than I had envisioned. He went the extra mile, his attention to detail was unbelievable. The service that I received really took me by surprise. He allowed me to enjoy the day. I was so proud of this wedding. My daughter told me her wedding was everything and more than she could have ever asked for, THAT SAYS IT ALL.You did it! Thank you!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Autumn
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The food was so good. The shrimp and grits was amazing. Ryan at Hamby was so helpfull.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
5/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Hamby's was awesome to work with in planning our wedding!! Ryan was our rep, and he was fantastic! He was always available via phone or email, and he was very easy to work with. He helped plan the perfect menu, and worked with me to get the total cost in our budget. We have been told time and again how wonderful the food was...and we couldn't agree more! In addition, the set-up for the food was very tasteful (pun intended!) and went with our wedding "theme". I would recommend Hamby's for any event, but for a Charleston wedding, it's a must! (and yes....the chicken salad sandwiches were to die for!!)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gdiddy62
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Ryan McKenzie at Hamby provided our room design and decorating in addition to the catering. NO WORRIES! We dropped some things off to him that morning and didn't see Ryan again until we arrived at the beautiful reception! He took all the stress, work and worry out of our day! We were at first concerned that it was costing a little extra, but getting to that day we were relieved that we put out confidence in Ryan. Our guests are still telling us how beautiful it was and better than other weddings they've attended recently (YAY!) We did it! Thank you SOOOOO much Hamby & Ryan! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annelee
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Hamby was fantastic to work with pre-wedding and were amazing at the wedding. The food was fantastic and the staff was great. They sent my husband and I away with a great basket of food for the wedding night. I would definitely use them again for other events I would need catered.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A very happy bride
Wedding:
12/18/2011
5.0/5.0
The food at our wedding was AMAZING!! We have received so many wonderful comments from family & friends about the food and service that Hamby's provided for our reception. Many folks have told us that the shrimp & grits were the best they had ever had!! Everyone we worked with at Hamby's was friendly and professional. We loved our tasting experience at Hamby's and knew our guests would love all of the food we selected. I would highly recommend Hamby's to anyone wanting fantastic food at a great price. You will not be disappointed!!
Services Used: Catering
Bg21
Kate
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough great things about Hamby's! Our entire family is still talking about the food at our wedding! We absolutely loved working with Ryan and his team. They were so professional and very friendly and helpful in the entire process. The tasting was out of this world and the food at the wedding was even better. The best surprise at the end of the night was the gigantic basket of food waiting for us in the limo for the ride home. The price was right in line with our budget and the service was outstanding. Thank you Hamby's for making our Wedding Delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Kate. We so enjoyed your Magnolia Veranda wedding. Best wishes for the future.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky C
Wedding:
10/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Hamby came very highly recommended and did not disappoint. Since we live in the UK, organising our wedding in Charleston was often challenging. However, Hamby made the experience of selecting and working with our caterer a pleasure. Candice, Ryan and all the staff were so willing and responsive and really helped us to put together a perfect selection for the day. They arranged and coordinated everything and were so personable at the same time. Nothing was too much. Our UK guests were so impresses by the food, a perfect balance between elegant tradition and a taste of the South. I loved working with Hamby and would recommend them to anyone who was looking for excellent, personal, friendly service and value with no compromise on the exceptional quality. Thank you Hamby for helping to make our day so memorable. Kieron and Becky Collins
Services Used: Catering
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Cheers, Becky! It was a pleasure working with you!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Planning this Rehearsal Dinner party in Charleston from Maryland was difficult. But with Ryan as my Event Planner, things went as smooth as I could ever hope for. His recommendations and follow up were wonderful. The decorating that I wanted and worked with him on was gorgeous. He saw my vision and carried it out. The food was incredible.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your kind words. The Hamby Catering & Events team truly enjoyed working with you!
130x130_sq_1277816838684-101241223619240289152324356830620743884488n
Mrs.
Wedding:
5/8/2011
5.0/5.0
First off I love Ryan. He is so full of life and is honestly genuine and enthusiastic about helping you make your day special. Not only is Ryan the BEST, Hamby's food is incredible the Shrimp n Grits are outstanding. Brides you will leave with such a happy glow after hiring Hamby. They will take care of you. Promise
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Cheral was a delight to work with - very efficient and got everything right! The food was delicious and beautifully presented. This was one vendor we didn't have to worry about - they have been in business for a long time and just KNOW how to do a wedding reception! You can't go wrong with Hamby's!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emily0424
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
After trying several caterers, Hamby by far has the best food. They have the true Charleston cuisine, which is what I was looking for at my wedding since I had many out of town guests. Our planner was amazing and he made sure every detail was talked about. At my wedding he made sure everything looked perfect and he even showed up at my wedding to see how everything was going, which was a nice personal touch. Definitely the best catering company in the lowcountry! :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
2/12/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was delicious and blew all my guests away. My officiant even said it was the best food he'd ever eaten at any wedding!! We had a plated dinner, and the staff served everyone at the table the same time, and acted very professional. All my guests complimented us and were so impressed with the taste and presentation.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richard
Wedding:
1/7/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was delicious and blew all my guests away. My officiant even said it was the best food he'd ever eaten at any wedding!! We had a plated dinner, and the staff served everyone at the table the same time, and acted very professional. All my guests complimented us and were so impressed with the taste and presentation.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aakery
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Hamby's and Erin Vogul specifically were so helpful and great to work with! The food was great, they were very professional and I would recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashton
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Hamby catering was absoultely GREAT! Everyone raved about our food after the wedding. They provided a superior level of service and excellence.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
haratsay
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
People went on and on about the food!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashton
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Fabulous! Everyone raved about our food! And - the service was outstanding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
k
Wedding:
1/26/2008
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about Elaine and the staff at Hamby catering. Elaine was AMAZING to work with. And the food was excellent. They really went above and beyond for our wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debbie
Wedding:
5/25/2007
5.0/5.0
So many people have told me that our food was the best they'd ever had!! Hambys did such an amazing job and were so flexible!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
4/21/2013
4.9/5.0
Ryan did just an excellent job with design and coordination, the reception came off exceedingly well, with many, many nice compliments.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.9/5.0
Ryan and Hamby was excellent. They took care of everything; I knew I could count on Ryan and his team to make all the needed decisions so I didn't have to worry about the details. I would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CMButtaci
Wedding:
11/21/2009
4.9/5.0
I cannot believe how wonderful Hamby's was at our wedding. The food was delicious (we've heard many good things from our guests) and the people there were amazing. When you book them, definitely ask for Ryan - he was amazing. Our catering manager was also very good. We had a pretty low-budget wedding but we wanted to make sure that the food was good. Hamby's worked so well with us to ensure that the food, linens and rentals were all within our budget without sacrificing an inch of quality. I cannot say enough good things about this company.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.8/5.0
We had heard so many wonderful thing about Hamby Catering & Events prior to booking them for our wedding, and they certainly did not disappoint. Working with Ryan McKenzie up until the morning of our wedding was wonderful. He is a great asset to Hamby and made us feel comfortable and in good hands from the very start. The food was excellent and everything went very smoothly!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/15/2013
4.8/5.0
Ryan at Hamby Catering is amazing. He sold me on his services from our first phone call when we spoke about the menu and my vision! Our first meeting with Ryan we had our tasting which was awesome. We loved every single moment of it. Ryan was great about making sure that we were staying in budget, as well as making sure that we were keeping the important stuff. Ryan was also our event coordinator for our reception which was no simple task with all my Pinterest decorations and 10 page list of directions. Ryan also was great at recommending other vendors as well.
The day of the event Ryan was so attentive making sure that I always had a drink in my hand and that I was eating. At the end of the night Hamby sent us home with a bottle of bubbly and samples of all of our food for us to taste. It was such a nice touch for an amazing day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanette
Wedding:
5/5/2013
4.8/5.0
We had an outdoor wedding planned and it rained the day of the wedding. Ryan and his staff did whatever they could to accommodate our change of plans. They were friendly, flexible and helpful. The food was excellent!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peggy
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Hamby's handled the catering and coordination package for my daughter's wedding. Initially, Leah got the ball rolling and Megan hit the hole in one. Everything was wonderful. Guests were saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding and Megan made sure everything ran smoothly from contacting vendors about arrival times to being the last one at the venue. I strongly recommend them for any event. Everyone said we had the perfect wedding and reception and we did. Thank you Megan for your southern hospitality and always being there with a smile to get things done.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Peggy, thank you for allowing us to be part of such a special occasion!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurenb
Wedding:
2/11/2012
4.8/5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed working with Hamby Catering. They were hands down the best price in town and they were honest about costs. It was wonderful to work with them. People at the wedding could not stop talking about the food!! They made me exactly what I wanted, yet also anticipated the needs of the guests. Don't skimp on giving them the number of guests attending- they will eat this food like crazy! There was plenty to go around, and go around the guests did! The service was excellent, the food displays were exceptional, and best of all, they did everything I needed them to and I trusted them- so I didn't worry about a thing that day. Ryan had it in good hands. I'd recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Miranda
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.8/5.0
WOW is all I have to say about Hamby!!!! The food that I had at our wedding was some of the best food I've ever had in my life. Their shrimp and grits are to die for... I have seriously had dreams about them and wish they had a restaurant so that I could have them again!!!

We worked with Ryan and he was very helpful. He helped us plan, put a menu together, and suggested decorations, layout for the reception, etc. Even though he worked for the catering company, he suggested some folks to work with and since they all knew each other it was like we had 3 wedding planners which was great because we didn't have to do much!

I would HIGHLY suggest them!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aubre
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.8/5.0
I changed a lot of stuff at the last minute and we had a few univited guest show up and Hamby was great working with us so there was no stress!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
10/25/2013
4.7/5.0
Hamby's was great!! The food was outstanding, everyone raved about it. They also took care of our bar which was wonderful as well. The staff was professional, attentive, and great.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.7/5.0
I have heard nothing but rave reviews from friends, family members, and coworkers about the quality of food, the fabulous presentation of everything, and the professionalism on the wait staff. The only criticism is the slow response to e-mails, but I'm sure the company gets sooo many that it's hard to be very quick in responding to questions or concerns. I have already recommended Hamby's and will continue to do so!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chrisnkelli
Wedding:
4/20/2012
4.7/5.0
I am from Jacksonville and planned a destination wedding in Charleston. the venue I planned on backed out at the last minute. Leah dropped everything and met us, called everyone from event sites to realtors to get us a new reception site. I cannot say enough good things about her. She cared about the details as much as if it were her own wedding. The food, service, and decor were amazing!!!! Leah and the staff at Hamby's ensured our wedding was a fairytale come true!! There is no question I would recommend them to anyonefor any event. They tailored everything to the vision we had from the garnishes to having that certain shade of flower flown in when it wasnt available in Charleston! T
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

We are thrilled that you had such a great experience with Leah and the Hamby team. Best wishes & congratulations to you both!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
11/9/2008
4.6/5.0
Hamby Catering and Cheral McCombs (their wedding and special occasion coordinator) were absolutely amazing! For days after the wedding I heard nothing but glowing reviews about the salads, soups, entrees and side dishes at the wedding. Cheral was a joy to work with: professional, accommodating, knowledgeable. The serving staff at the wedding was great and made the whole event effortless and elegant. Wonderful!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ellen
Wedding:
4/22/2006
4.6/5.0
Hamby Catering is the best around. I knew there were a reputable company, and now I see why. Their food is fantastic, and prices are very reasonable. The only downside to working with such a well-respected company is that they book up very quickly. I had to book them over a year in advance.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.3/5.0
Hamby's is great! I come from a big Italian family from Detroit MI where weddings are nothing but FOOD FOOD AND MORE FOOD! My mom was super worried about there not being enough food or enough choices for my family. It was a wonderful experience to be able to feed my family in the south because of Hamby's! They had something for everyone and I was very fortunate for that. Everyone says Ryan's the best and they're RIGHT! He IS the best!! I'm sure everyone else on staff is fantastic but he is truly one of a kind. Delicious! Thanks for the Wedding Night basket and champagne, too!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.1/5.0
The food was great and all of our guests enjoyed the food. I worked with Cheral from hamby's. Her staff who worked my event, some were very professional, however some of them were not. The staff memeber who was the lead for the night, kept coming and asking me questions. when he had a copy of the timeline for the night. I found that to be obnoxious and unprofessional, when I trying to enjoy my night. Other than two of their staff member, overall they did a great job. The displays of food looked good. A nice touch was getting a basket of food and a bottle of champage for me and my husband to enjoy on our honeymoon.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/17/2012
3.5/5.0
The Pros: We were really pleased with everything on the actual day of the wedding. People raved about the food and everything looked beautiful. We loved having a basket of food for the night of the wedding (It's so hard to find time to eat at the reception!) They boxed up the rest of the leftovers and we had a family brunch the next day. They are expensive but it's worth it for the quality of the food. We had 2 vegans at the wedding who told us that they were pleasantly surprised at the options for them. They usually expect to starve at these things!


The Cons:They forgot to put out the napkins we bought so now we are set for napkins for the next ten years! That was not a big deal though. My one big complaint about Hambys was communication. Cheral told us she would email us "by the end of the week" several times with different information (pictures of different options, price quotes etc) and we wouldn't hear from her for 3+ weeks. It was really frustrating sometimes.
Services Used: Catering
Hamby Catering & Events responded with the following comments:

Ashley, congratulations on your special day! The Hamby team wishes you the best of everything as your begin this new phase of your life. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as this helps us to improve for the future.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.7/5.0
I've used Hamby catering for a Christmas party for work and the food was good. I hired them to cater for my wedding, even though they were not the prefered vendor for the venu. The initial "tasting" was fine, but the sales agent was too push abut picking what we wanted instead of listening to us. When the final bill came in with adjustments an added fee of almost $800 was tacked on to the bill, yet there were no explanations on what $800 was to cover. Response from Hamby after a phone call, "We don't usually give a list of the charges". Duh!!! Needless to say, they were trying to charge me for items THEY needed to set up. These were removed. On the wedding day, the chairs were not set up properly, nor to the sketch made by our salesperson. Not only did I have to insist they be set up correctly; but the salesperson/set up person wanted to argue with me and tried to make me accept his design instead of mine. The food was mostly good, but the display was NOT what they had shown us pictures of. They also used three of our guest tables for the set up instead of bringing their own; and there wasn't lighting offered at the tables so one of the tables was in the dark and hard to see what it was. I would recommend the salad and chicken skewers, crab cakes were so so, but the rest was average or below. I was disappointed. Not one person from Hamby has even bothered to check with us to see how things were. Best part of Hamby - the young lady overseeing the food tables. Ran out of salad items; ran very low on chicken and crab - lots of other items. I do not recommend them and will not use
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
925 Saint Andrews Blvd., Charleston, SC 29407 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hamby Catering & Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo