130x130_sq_1320332463552-p.harrys

Harry's Savoy Ballroom

Wilmington , DE
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2020 Naamans Road
Wilmington, DE US 19810 (map)

PHONE

302-475-3000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Harry's Savoy Ballroom fulfills your every need with award-winning cuisine, impeccable service and on-hand personal attention for up to 250 guests. An outdoor courtyard, elegant decor... Read more
Harry's Savoy Ballroom fulfills your every need with award-winning cuisine, impeccable service and on-hand personal attention for up to 250 guests. An outdoor courtyard, elegant decor and a private bridal suite enhance your experience. Rooms also available for on-site ceremonies, small receptions, rehearsal dinners and engagement parties. Or, we can cater at a location of your choice. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1260561534646-harryssavoyballroom
130x130_sq_1405448754663-brides-table-setup
130x130_sq_1320675415625-fondantweddingcake
130x130_sq_1405448763099-jewish-ceremony-lower
130x130_sq_1405529380401-ceremony-with-chair-covers-by-celebrations-design-
130x130_sq_1405529384308-ceremony-with-pipe-and-drape-by-celebrations-desig
130x130_sq_1405448752825-bride-groom-intro
130x130_sq_1405448760068-fountain-night
130x130_sq_1405451252956-courtyard-fountain
130x130_sq_1405529203057-entrance-2013
130x130_sq_1405529856621-ballroom-entrance-smaller
130x130_sq_1405448746822-bride-groom-at-gate
130x130_sq_1405448751206-bride-groom-gate-larger
130x130_sq_1405529377756-bride-and-groom-in-gazebo
130x130_sq_1405448756557-butlered-champagne
130x130_sq_1405448767119-specialty-drink-signs
130x130_sq_1405448749634-bride-groom-courtyard-night-2
130x130_sq_1405448758211-flowers-placecard-table
130x130_sq_1320675479312-privatesuiteforcocktailsforbridalparty
130x130_sq_1320675449390-minidessertdisplay
130x130_sq_1320675430687-harryshotcrabmeatandartichokedip
130x130_sq_1320675492468-specialtycheeseandfruitdisplay
130x130_sq_1320675408156-crabravigotecroustadecanape
130x130_sq_1320675404046-classicantipastidisplay
130x130_sq_1320675414734-displayedhorsdoeuvres
130x130_sq_1405529684311-sos-recpetion-hors-doeuvres
130x130_sq_1320675513234-swissdotandscrollweddingcake
130x130_sq_1320675532078-swissdotoffsetlayers
130x130_sq_1405448877049-cake
130x130_sq_1405530265843-birch-tree-and-bear-cake
130x130_sq_1405530275071-bridal-fair-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1405530301322-cascading-flowers-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1405530332661-pleated-fondant-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1405530350612-two-tier-fondant-wedding-cake
130x130_sq_1405530310063-flyers-grooms-cake
130x130_sq_1405530319672-penn-state-baseball-cap-grooms-cake
130x130_sq_1405529431741-bridal-party-on-terrace-outside-bridal-suite-cu
130x130_sq_1405529440213-grooms-in-the-courtyard
130x130_sq_1405529446675-grooms-introductions-into-savoy-ballroom
130x130_sq_1405529635931-chefs-seasonal-petit-fours
130x130_sq_1405529648779-dessert-display
130x130_sq_1405529664834-dessert-station
130x130_sq_1405529745556-patio-room-fireplace
130x130_sq_1405529751036-patio-room
130x130_sq_1405529759207-prereception-area
130x130_sq_1405529776304-savoy-ballroom-decor-by-cdg
130x130_sq_1405529804078-savoy-ballroom-romantic-decor-by-celebrations-desi
130x130_sq_1405529957216-long-banquet-table
130x130_sq_1405529999104-wedding-dinner-in-patio-room
130x130_sq_1405529969642-lovely-table-overlooking-the-courtyard
130x130_sq_1405529980075-romantic-tablescape-by-celebrations-design-group

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1997
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
216
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
50
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
100
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Harry's over and over and over again. It was so nice to know that almost everything was being taken care of by everyone at Harry's. All of our guests had a fantastic time and couldn't stop raving about the food and the ballrooms. Between Cindy, Barbara, Susan and everyone else at Harry's, I don't think our wedding could have been any better!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Cindy Bene was wonderful and patient. The waite staff was just as nice. The ballroom looked beautiful, the cake was beautifully done, the food was good . I couldn't have been more pleased.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dee
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
The event was my mother's wedding reception. My mom never had a "wedding" and the entire event was orchestrated perfectly. Cindy was professional, honest and quite frankly wonderful to work with. I am planning my mom's 70th Birthday party at Harry's on 10/11/14 because of CIndy and the fabulous job she and the entire Harry's team did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Larry
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more pleased with our wedding. From the moment that we met Cindy until we left Harry's after our ceremony and reception, every aspect of our day was meticulously planned and executed with the utmost professionalism and friendliness. Every member of the staff made us feel welcome and could not have been more helpful. As someone who has been a patron of Harry's Savoy for over two decades, the excellence of service to which I had become accustomed was more than reaffirmed at our wedding. Bravii to all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing wedding and reception at Harry's Savoy! Gloria Talbot is their event planner so she was our built in wedding planner. She is wonderful. She helped us organize the wedding of our dreams!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keller
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Harry's Savoy Ballroom was a beautiful venue and the food was absolutely delicious! Our guests commented for days after the wedding that this was the best celebration they had ever attended. The event planner, Gloria, was invaluable in translating our daughter and son in law's vision for their wedding into a fabulous event. Her attention to detail and the ideas suggested for special touches to go with the couple's theme were so helpful and appreciated! One example would be her work with the chef to have an ice sculpture created that looked like Snoopy's doghouse with Snoopy on top. She had contacts with first class suppliers for transportation, favors, etc. This helped make our planning stress free. Both the venue and the staff provided us with an exemplary wedding and reception experience. We could not be happier and would recommend this venue to any future bride.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Harry's Savoy was the perfect place for our wedding. We were concerned about rain for our April wedding and wanted to get married somewhere outside of a church. The Harry's Savoy Ballroom offered the perfect solution for us. The ballroom and accompanying rooms are spacious & classy, and our guests had lots of space to roam. There was even an outdoor Italian courtyard that was completely closed off for our event - so beautiful! Although there is not much greenery around the grounds, there is a gazebo that we easily decorated and we were very satisfied with our photo opportunities.

The staff was also amazing. Gloria, the in-house wedding consultant, is very calm & organized. She immediately made us feel at ease and responded promptly to every email and phone call. Throughout the entire wedding planning process, we felt cared about. The end result was gorgeous! The food was delicious, the two open bars were great, the setting and decorations were perfect...we couldn't ask for more. An additional bonus is the bridal suite upstairs with a view down into the Italian courtyard - it was fun to secretly watch as guests & the groomsmen arrived!

My husband & I, our families, and our friends would all definitely recommend Harry's Savoy Ballroom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyn
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect!! Gloria Talbot is WONDERFUL and so incredibly easy to work with. Harry's truly made our wedding amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1339078256023-scan1
Heather Y.
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding reception at Harry's Savoy Ballroom in September 2011 was absolutely amazing! The ballroom was beautiful, and the coffered ceiling and ornate chandelier over the dance floor provided great backdrops for my wedding pictures! I also loved the outdoor patio and fountain -- it was very scenic and I know my guests loved mingling there during the cocktail hour. Gloria was great to work with from the initial consultation, to the actual wedding day, and even following the conclusion of all of the wedding festivities. Gloria was also very professional and extremely organized during the entire planning process, and was always very responsive to any of my questions. With the exquisite ballroom, delicious (and plentiful -- there were 4 courses, plus a beautifully-customized wedding cake) food, wonderful service, and an organized and thorough wedding coordinator in Gloria, Harry's Savoy Ballroom is definitely a top venue to hold your wedding reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
After visiting practically every venue in Delaware County, PA and being quite disappointed, we called Harry's. Best. Decision. Ever.

From the initial phone call to leaving my reception, I was never less than extremely happy with the service provided by Harry's...especially Gloria Talbot, who is thier event coordinator. She is extremely helpful and accomodating, and I would recommend Harry's to anyone because of Gloria.

The service didn't stop with Gloria though.

A few days before our event, we had to drop things off (favors, placecards, etc.), and there was a crew of Harry's employees waiting for us. They carried everything up to the bridal suite for us.

The day of the wedding, my entire bridal party and I got ready at Harry's, and it was such a great decision. There were refreshments waiting for us in the room, and Gloria and her staff were close by to help with anything we needed.

The food (all of it) was great. I will say that the food at our taste test was a bit better, but that's to be expected. Cooking for 2 people obviously allows for more attention than cooking for 130-ish. All of our guests loved everything as well.

I could go on for hours, but I think you get the point. You will not be disappointed if you have your wedding at Harry's.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I recently had my wedding reception at Harry's. The guest total was 156 and I was a little worried about space as I was having a 12 piece band and expanded dance floor. The night turned out perfect! There was plenty of room between tables and on the dance floor. Gloria was amazing to work with and attended to every little detail throughout the planning process and on the big day. Everyone raved about the venue and the food. Luckily it was a beautiful day so guests were also able to enjoy the courtyard with the new fountain during cocktail hour. I couldn't have asked for anything more! It was a perfect night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiffany.jester
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Gloria at Harry's was a joy to work with. Everything was personalized and within budget. All of my guests were taken care of and I did not have to worry about a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dellafavev
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Harry's took care of all the details, which is really helpful because after all, there is so much to do while planning for a wedding. The staff were all very professional. I really didn't have to worry about a thing, Gloria, the wedding specialist at Harry's did a great job and made my day so special and worry free. I would definiately recommend Harry's as a reception venue (and the food was GREAT too!).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We had both our ceremony and reception at Harry's. It couldn't have been better. From the start our wedding coordinator Gloria was extremely helpful. Even on our tight budget our wedding was a dream. All of the guests couldn't say enough of how nice it was, how great the food was, and at least one guest said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. I highly recommend any event at Harry's!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.8/5.0
Cindy and Annette were awesome. One complaint- the main course took a long time to come out and really put us behind. Also, we were not given our left-over cake.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
12/5/2013
4.8/5.0
We rented the Patio Room for a small wedding and private dinner. It was absolutely lovely. The Patio room has a fireplace and a wall of glass doors that opens out onto a brick and stone patio with a fountain. As it turned out to be 60 degrees out on this December evening, we kept the doors open so we could hear the fountain and we and our guests could walk in and out at will. The patio was decorated for Christmas with white lights and greenery. It was the perfect venue for our little wedding. We took photos inside and out. The fireplace was lit and we placed candles all around. The white twinkle lights on the patio added just enough ambient light to make the room cozy and romantic. We supplied our own music-just some cds we burned with our favorites played on our laptop with a speaker. The room is small enough so that was all that was necessary. You could fit 3-5 tables, but we only needed one. We set the table near the patio doors and added some additional seating facing the fireplace for the ceremony. Harry's made a lovely cake on a pedestal we supplied. We chose to order directly from the restaurant menu instead of pre-selecting the meal. As for the staff - I worked with Cindy Bene to select and rent the room. She was lovely to work with and always returned my emails and answered all my questions promptly. My mother and I went about a half hour early to set up and upon arrival, our waitstaff, Krista and Wes, introduced themselves and helped us set up the room with the decorations/candles/gifts/computer we had brought. They helped us unwrap, light candles, brought in extra settings, vases & extra small tables as we discovered things we needed - all while serving us drinks and appetizers. Krista and Wes were attentive throughout the evening. They were there with refills/apps/meals/desserts/suggestions at all times, but were never intrusive. Everyone bent over backwards and succeeding in making ours a special evening.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizp
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.8/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception in the ballroom at Harry's. They did a wonderful job transitioning everything during the cocktail hour and it looked stunning for the reception. Everything ran so smoothly and was just perfect on the day of. The staff were friendly, quick and efficient.

Gloria is absolutely amazing to work with and as soon as we met her my husband said "I just know if I have her on the day of our wedding, there will be nothing to worry about and everything will be taken care of"- he couldn't have been more right! Every detail was exactly what we asked for and how we wanted. Gloria was calm cool and collected and just put us right at ease on a day that is typically so stressful, but was just the opposite for us thanks to her!

We got so many compliments on the food--- the BEST wedding food we, and many of our guests, have ever had! The selection was great, appetizers were wonderful and there was enough to go around. The soup, salad and entrees were absolutely delicious. And dessert--- so good my husband and I ate it with our hands because our silverware had disappeared!!!! (We had been looking forward to that dessert since the tasting and did not want to miss out!!!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Newlywed08
Wedding:
8/31/2008
4.7/5.0
We booked Harry's for a Sunday wedding (to which they give 10% off of the entire cost). We still have people raving about the food. They were flexible on letting us cater the package to our needs. Gloria, the DOC, is so great to work with, very kind & accommodating & is there to help on your wedding day! The only downside is that a 5-hr. package only includes a 3-hr. open bar. You can't beat the amazing food for the price though!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
junabiona
Wedding:
12/19/2010
4.4/5.0
We had our reception at Harry's. Their packages include room rental, catering, centerpieces, limo, and various little bits.

Service:
Gloria Talbot does a wonderful job. I hope Harry's appreciates how good she really is. She is always organized, helpful, calming, optimistic and kind. These qualities also make her an excellent saleswoman! But she is not pushy at all. After touring more places than I wanted and coming to terms with not being able to reign my large family into a 'unique' venue and understanding the complexity of long-distance event planning, I was attracted to their 1-stop operation and Gloria's personality.
Throughout planning, the service was stellar. They were flexible and open to adding our personal touches. Gloria was also open to setting up a lot more decor than I had expected.
The service at the event was good, just not as good as we expected. Given Gloria's service and the level of service we've come to expect from fine dining restaurants, the day of service was not exceptional. Just needed to be a touch more professional, more attentive and less intrusive.

Value:
This is mixed. Keeping in mind the positives above, I'll try to highlight some of our disappointments:
*Harry's has a great reputation for food. And the food at our tasting was outstanding. The food the day of was good, just not as good. We did get some complements, and it was definitely good for 'wedding food.' I know they lost a chef in the interim, but am not sure what caused the difference. The cake however was beautiful and tasty, as were the desserts. Also, you get a ton of food (HDs, apps, salad/soup, entree, dessert, cake).

*The packages are designed for 100 guests. And had we met that, it would have been a deal. In the end, we had about 65-70. The packages have a minimum food & beverage, so we had to upgrade items to meet that. The a la carte items, so to speak, were more costly. For instance, a bottle of single-malt scotch retailing at about $50 was $400. To add to this, not having 100 guests means you lose some of the package inclusions, including the limo. Fine for us, since I'm not a fan and had planned to use a classic car, but we still paid as if we had 100 guests.

*Centerpieces. The package includes centerpieces from Celebrations Design Group, but what that entails is unclear. Gloria had told me they did not have to be upgraded, but didn't have photos to share. The florist told me they were unacceptable for my table layout (true, since I had some large square tables). I added $1,000 to the package inclusion and couldn't see how fewer flowers could possibly be used. However included in that cost was upgraded linens. I clashed with the florist early on and if I had to do it again would have either stayed with the package or had my aunt do it.

So, overall, great venue. Stellar service. Ideal if you're certain you'll have 100 guests. You'll have to read my florist review for details, but I think they can do a beautiful job (they decorate Harry's for the holidays beautifully). You just have to keep it simple or invest a lot.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.2/5.0
Harry's was a wonderful wedding venue. The service was excellent.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2020 Naamans Road, Wilmington, DE 19810 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Harry's Savoy Ballroom
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1320332463552-p.harrys