130x130_sq_1353751455418-kaukachoice21

Hawaii Island Weddings by Kauka

Big Island- Waikoloa, Kamuela, Kona And Hilo , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

POB 2561
Big Island- Waikoloa, Kamuela, Kona and Hilo, HI US 96743 (map)

PHONE

808-747-5531

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kauka Weddings is a full service wedding planning and floral design company on the Big Island of Hawaii, Specializing in you. As destination wedding specialists, we serve couples from... Read more
Kauka Weddings is a full service wedding planning and floral design company on the Big Island of Hawaii, Specializing in you. As destination wedding specialists, we serve couples from all across the globe and throughout the Hawaiian Islands we strive to create personalized celebrations with the understanding that this is the most important day of your life. Our goal is to make every wedding celebration an extraordinary reflection of your unique relationship and timeless love. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1353751709632-floralsprinkledaislegallery1
130x130_sq_1353751721807-frontcover5
130x130_sq_1353751856526-1
130x130_sq_1353751728423-galleryhawaiianweddingskeepsakes
130x130_sq_1353751735657-kaukachoice7
130x130_sq_1353751743158-kaukachoice21
130x130_sq_1353751788302-bubblephoto
130x130_sq_1353751753075-maunalani3
130x130_sq_1353751839962-dsc0547
130x130_sq_1353751885725-frontpage
130x130_sq_1353752277873-gallerycustomdesigns
130x130_sq_1353752289254-4seasonschoice2
130x130_sq_1353752316716-covershot5
130x130_sq_1353752326181-dsc0701
130x130_sq_1353752357052-gallery1
130x130_sq_1353752372692-img4885
130x130_sq_1353752368324-frontpage1
130x130_sq_1353752392005-blowingoftheconchgallery
130x130_sq_1353752400740-kaukachoice22
130x130_sq_1353752438635-reviews2

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reda
Wedding:
5/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and i live in London and have never been in Hawaii before. So at the beginning arranging wedding there seemed like and impossible task. We wanted simple but elegant celebration for two of us and we wanted it on the beach. Planning your wedding from more than 10,000 miles away is not the easiest thing. However, thanks to Kandi, it was quite easy, straight forward and hustle free. Being a local girl Kandi advised on perfect location. Photographer we had, Josh, was amazing, hair and make up stylist - brilliant! Kandi arranged everything and made everything just as we wanted.
With special attention and care, both, Kandi and Dean, made our day very special. They do it from their hearts and that makes it so brilliant!

Thank you both for making our day so memorable for us and being a part of it.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
12/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Kandi to plan a beach wedding on the big island of Hawaii for my son and daughter-in-law, whose very busy work and medical school schedules did not allow them much time to focus on wedding details. As the mother of the groom, I was in an unusual position, making some of the wedding decisions myself, but needing time to run others by the bride and groom before giving Kandi the information she needed. She was always incredibly patient and helpful, explaining all our options and helping us choose the perfect wedding site, photographer, flowers, etc. to match our wedding vision as well as our budget. She was very knowledgeable and experienced, and made me feel confident that everything would go smoothly, even though we were thousands of miles apart!

The wedding itself was absolutely beautiful! The beach site that Kandi suggested was gorgeous and was perfectly suited to the needs of our group. And the ceremony that Dean performed was truly wonderful. He managed to incorporate all the Hawaiian elements that the bride and groom wanted as well as a personalized message tailored just for them. In addition, Kandi organized a beautiful wedding dinner for all of us following the ceremony at a restaurant overlooking the water. Watching the Hawaiian sunset while celebrating my son's wedding was the perfect ending to a magical day!

But Kandi and Dean's help and support did not end there. A few days after the wedding while still on the island, we experienced a family tragedy that left all of us in shock. Both Kandi and Dean came to the hospital to provide comfort and support to all of us. They gave us advice and helped us deal with a situation that was very difficult to handle in an unfamiliar place.

Kandi and Dean are truly wonderful people as well as skilled professionals. I would highly recommend Hawaii Island Weddings by Kauka to anyone planning a wedding in Hawaii.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristine
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Wouldn't have it any other way!! The moment I chose to work with Kandi and staff I knew that I would have the wedding of my life! She helped me keep calm throughout my entire planning process! I enjoyed working with Kandi And Kahu Dean Kauka every step of the way! Not only did they help make our wedding day a perfect reality, we made a friendship that became even more priceless!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We were married by Dean with the coordination services from Kandi in October of 2013. Our wedding was everything we could have ever wanted. Kandi's ability to coordinate services for us was invaluable as it is a challenge to know what you are getting when planning a destination wedding. Dean's ceremony was beautiful, heartfelt, and sincere.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa & Ivan
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Kandi and Dean went above and beyond to give us the wedding of our dreams. From the moment we saw our flower petal aisle to the last song Dean played for us at our reception, it was a day we will never forget! Simply stunning! They are an amazing duo who helped us turn our vision of our special day into something more beautiful and memorable than we could have hoped for! Love them!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
9/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Planning a wedding on the Big Island all the way from Australia seemed like an impossible task until I came in contact with Kauka Weddings. I feel so blessed that I did! Kandi and Dean are a fantastic team and made our wedding such a special day. They are also two of the nicest people you will ever meet in your lifetime.

Kandi went above and beyond to make sure all of the wedding plans were executed perfectly and kept me updated along the way. She is very creative and experienced.

The ceremony Dean performed was absolutely beautiful and could not have been more perfect for my husband and I.

I can't recommend Kauka Weddings enough for your special day!

Dawn & Nick
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, , Officiant, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Dean presented an authentic Hawaiian/English ceremony for my event, complete with traditional drawn heart in the sand, shell blowing, lei giving and blessings. His ceremony was spiritual and meaningful on the most elemental of human conditions. I wholeheartedly recommend him for everyone's ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Having a wedding is stressful enough but to arrange a wedding far away with someone you have never met may seem impossible. Kandi and Dean from Hawaiian Island Weddings by Kauka made our wedding a dream come true. Kandi was easily accessible by email and phone. She thoughtfully put together a plan for us, from private beach ceremony at sunset, to wedding cake, limousine, flowers, leis, and an outstanding dinner venue. She is someone you can trust to create an unparalleled experience. She has access to the best inside sources from photographer to musicians to make an authentic Hawaiian wedding. It was a joy to be treated like family and to have our needs cared for so that we did not have to worry about ceremony and celebration arrangements. Their fees are extremely fair. They are honest and professional. I would highly recommend Hawaiian Island Weddings by Kauka to plan a wedding on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodie
Wedding:
8/21/2013
5.0/5.0
I live on the mainland so it was hard to figure out what venders to use, and where to have it at. They did it all ,it put my mine at ease . Thanks all so much. beautiful wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
teresa
Wedding:
7/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Kauka weddings was wonderful! Kandi was there for me whenever I needed her and Dean presented lovely ideas for our ceremony. The wedding was flawless and it went above and beyond our expectations. It was especially nice the way they incorporated the "Ohana" or family ceremony. It was a memory we'll always cherish. Mahalo!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Kauka Weddings is fantastic! They made my fiancé and I's dream Hawaiian wedding come true. Kandi our wedding coordinator goes out of her way to make things happen within your budget. She is professional and also down to earth. Since she is from and lives the Big Island, she has recommendations for every budget and local contacts. You can tell she has a lot of experience at what she does..

My fiancé and I were blown away with the ceremony site - Hapuna Prince Hotel @ Turtle Point. It was the perfect place, probably one of the best locations in Hawaii, if not the world. So glad Kandi recommended this site.

Dean was the officiant for our wedding as well as our guitarist. We got a lot of compliments on the ceremony. He does a great job. We also loved that he sang and played our wedding song.

Dean and Kandi also ensured our reception was wonderful and picturesque. They set up the table with our favors and also beautiful flowers center pieces to accentuate the already beautiful scenery. We also had the perfect reception site outdoors along the beach for a small group at Brown's Beach House Knoll.

Without ever having visited the Big Island, I was glad to have a local team I could trust and rely on. The day past so fast, I wish I could relive it!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charles
Wedding:
4/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Kandinsky went out of her way to provide the best of services. She used great vendors all were professional and highest quality. I would use her again without hesitation
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Searra
Wedding:
4/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I found Kandi on the internet because my wedding was a destination wedding in Hawaii and I live in Idaho. I was very overwhelmed with the amount of Hawaii wedding websites, but when I called Kandi she talked with me about which ones were just out to make some money and which ones were worth my time. She was very honest and straightforward, as well as welcoming and intuitive to my needs. My request for a black sand beach was unusual but she went out of her way to present me with all my options. The location was breathtaking and more than I could have hoped for. Sea turtles came up onto the shore after our ceremony! The officiant, Dean, was very sweet and really embodied the Hawaiian essence and culture. His narrative was wonderfully romantic.
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/11/2013
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Hawaii Island Weddings by a friend and it was perfect! We wanted a simple elopement and Kandi provided us with all the options. She gave us options for photographers, music and flowers. She made all the arrangements and appointments took care of the permits we needed to take the pressure off of us. It was so easy, she even took care of the leis! Dean was amazing as well, taking the time to listen to us, and work in little bits about us into the ceremony, he also played ukelele. When we got home we received a little packet from the Kauka's with a copy of the ceremony as well as a certificate. It was great to show people back on the mainland. The process was short, just a few weeks, but in the end we got to know each other well and had a great time.

OK, with that said, I have a word of caution to those not from the islands. This is a true story. My friends sister went to Maui to get married, the people that she was talking to, canceled on her at the last minute. Even before that she hadn't been advised on how to go about getting a marriage license, or permits needed for beaches so nothing was in place to even get a replacement minister. She saw one thing after another go wrong. I never had that fear with Kandi, she was always in control and would do whatever we needed to make the day special. Hire a professional to guide you through the process, it will make the whole experience that much better! I promise.

My husband will still tell anyone that will listen how great our experience was and try to convince them to go to Hawaii to get married. That's how awesome they are!
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Dean and Kandi at Hawaii Island Weddings were really wonderful to work with. We planned a last-minute wedding and they were able to pull together an unbelievable day for us, and were really flexible and helpful to work with. They were able to get a great beach location for us too. Dean's ceremony was amazing, and really meant a lot to us, as we were looking to have a lot of Hawaiian influence in the ceremony. We'd recommend them to anyone! -Matt and Jenny
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Kandi and Dean are an incredible duo. If you are getting married on the big island you must have them. It will be the best investment you make for your special day.
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keturah
Wedding:
2/21/2014
4.9/5.0
Kandi was so wonderful to work with, she is super easy and laid back and was always very helpful (and also fun!). We didn't know anything about Hawaii but she seemed to manage to pick the most beautiful spot! She set me up to have my hair/makeup done and it was awesome! They did a great job, I felt so pretty! She also set us up with a photographer who was also very kind and did an absolute fantastic job for my budget. She tried to work within my budget too and was considerate. The day of the wedding was AMAZING. Besides location, the ceremony itself was my number one concern. BUt Dean was AWESOME, he was not only very kind, respectful and serious, but he was also very laid back and funny and even PERSONALIZED our ceremony! The ceremony it self was so very touching- traditional Hawaiian! Those two together put together something so amazing I will be touched by it forever. We both loved it and our immediate family who attended also thought the same. I couldn't have asked for a better way to marry my love of my life!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keturah
Wedding:
2/21/2014
4.9/5.0
Very wonderful job! Beautiful pick for a site, wonderful decorations, awesome recommendations. The ceremony Dean performed was incredibly touching. I will never forget how they made my day so much more wonderful than I could've imagined. Thanks Dean and Kandi
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
3/7/2014
4.8/5.0
Kandi and Dean are an amazing duo, and if you work with them, they will feel like family. Kandi really works hard to make sure the day is perfect, and is incredibly flexible and accommodating. Dean is a renaissance man - he is talented beyond belief as a creative idea guy, officiate, musician, you name it. We could not have accomplished what we did without Kandi and Dean.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lydia
Wedding:
12/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Our Hawaii wedding ceremony with Kandi and Dean Kauka was better than we could have imagined.
The ceremony itself was exactly what we wanted: personal, spiritual, and intimate (and not too long or overly complicated). Dean is a fantastic officiant - creating the authentic Hawaiian experience we wanted.
Kandi is a great and very experienced wedding planner. She had great ideas and knows a great deal about all the wedding details and locations on the Big Island. She's easy going and intuitive, you can trust that she's going to get everything done on time and on budget.
Dealing with Kandi and Dean was very simple and easy. With their help, we were able to plan our wedding long distance from Canada (having never visited the Big Island) without a hitch. Everything was ready to go when we arrived with no hassles or headaches. Compared to booking with a big resort, its a no brainer - better value, and an authentic (non-canned) wedding.
Best wedding planners on the Big Island of Hawaii!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lissette
Wedding:
12/14/2013
4.8/5.0
When my husband and I decided to get married in Hawaii, we thought it couldn't get better than that! Kandi and Dean made it better. We didn't have a huge budget for flowers, DJ and photography but that was never a problem for her. She worked with our budget and made our wedding day not just memorable, it was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Having only 2 weeks to plan for our event Island Weddings by Kauka performed the ceremony we could have only dreamed of. Service went far beyond our expectations. As a same sex couple some venues would not even consider us as clients yet Kandy and Dean were friendly,welcoming and made us feel like family. It was a day we will cherish in our hearts forever. I would recommend them in a heartbeat.

We loved our Wedding Planners!
Amy D. and Kim
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorraine
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I planned our wedding at the Kona Beach House, HI long distance from Zurich, Switzerland which was a little challenging. We chose Reverend Dean as our Officiant as he came highly recommended and he performed a beautiful, traditional ceremony that felt very personal to us. Dean's wife, Kandi, also provide wedding planning services which we used for photography, hair/make-up, archway and florals, centerpieces and our wedding cake. Everything came off without a hitch and our wedding ceremony and reception exceeded our expectations -- it was perfect! Kauka Island Wedding Services is not your traditional big company planning agency; it is more of a "mom and pop shop" with reasonable rates and a local feel. Communicating from Europe wasn't always easy for us but Kandi was responsive and delivered good service. My husband and I would recommend Kauka Wedding Planning Services.
Aloha, Lorraine & Noel
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning

MAP

 
POB 2561, Big Island- Waikoloa, Kamuela, Kona and Hilo, HI 96743 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hawaii Island Weddings by Kauka
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1353751455418-kaukachoice21