Nophoto-130

Hawken House Hearth Room

St. Louis , MO

LOCATION

St. Louis, MO US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Wwnetwork-128
Ellen
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was a wonderful event. The Hearth Room is a warm, friendly place to get married. The inside of the Hearth Room is clean,simple and inviting. The outside patio is beautiful. Best of all is the lady who is in charge of the venue! She is efficient, bright and easy to work with-truly a joy! We are grateful that we found such a great place to celebrate our love!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joy
Wedding:
11/3/2012
1.3/5.0
I would recommend the Garden as a place to get married, it's beautiful, but have the reception somewhere else. The venue was dirty, and we had to clean in advance. It's billed as being able to handle 120 people, but fitting 100 in there was a challenge. They locked up the chairs and tables, and basically left us to fend for ourselves, never checking back to see if things were okay. We paid $125 to have pictures taken at the house, but then were told there would be no sitting, just standing by things. We made the outdoor work, although it was also dirty and filled with trash, cigarette butts, and leaves. The Caretaker assured us it would be cleaned before the wedding, but that never happened, and she never checked back to see that it was. I know they are a non-profit, but they charged us $1125.00, and we felt like that was twice as much as it was worth.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alaina
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.1/5.0
The Hawken Hearth Room holds 120 people max and makes for a perfect vintage/garden/historic wedding locale. The Hearth Room is the building behind the historic home. There is a kitchen and they provide tables and chairs. The dressing room is like a closet. SMALL. But if all you need to do is put on your dress it will be fine. The historic home can be rented and a docent gives tours to your guests. This was great entertainment while the wedding party & family was taking photos. You can bring your own food and drink which in the world of wedding venues is unique and a huge plus for us. The biggest drawback was communication. Ginger, the site manager, doesn't really use email. The phone number usually goes to a voice mail system and she has to call you back. I hate playing phone tag and prefer email, so I found communicating with her to be incredibly frustrating. That said, I still feel very happy with my choice of the Hawken House for our wedding. It was elegant, casual, and had a home-spun feel I was looking for. Also, it was really, really affordable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pezzwitch
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We held our wedding here on 10/10/10 and it was fabulous. It was the perfect size for our 75 person wedding. We held the ceremony outside in between the house and the Hearth Room, and the reception inside the hearth room. We also had the guests take a tour of the house to give them something to do while we were taking pictures. The surrounding grounds provided a beautiful background for pictures. If you are doing a sit-down dinner you probably won't want to go much more than 80 guests, it starts to get cramped; but if it were cocktails you could do upwards of 100-120 I think. Its really quite affordable since you can use it for both reception and ceremony. We loved it and highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1375009690_thumb_45aa30b0e637b526a667abecdda5951b
jindsHtoH
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.0/5.0
I have not had my wedding yet but I am leaning to this site very highly for the ceremony and reception. You can bring your own food/caterer and alcohol. The alcohol has been the biggest problem in finding a venue because i dont want to pay a TON of money for it. The only complaint I have so far is that you pay half of the total to reserve the date and then the other half is due 30 days after that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Jude
Wedding:
9/13/2008
4.9/5.0
This is a beautiful place to have a wedding and a reception. Our wedding was small so the maximum occupancy of 120 was perfect for us. We ended up with about 100 people and really could not have taken more. The flowers outside made a beautiful background for pictures and there was plenty of room in the garden to seat everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/16/2008
4.6/5.0
Hawken House is a great place to have your reception. It holds about 100-120. I had half of my guests inside and half outside under a well lite tent! They allowed me to have any caterer, cake, and DJ. They helped me set up in the morning and took everything down at night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DestinationBride07
Wedding:
5/1/2007
5.0/5.0
We had our reception here. They can also accomodate weddings. Everything about our experience was wonderful! They have a gorgeous outdoor area and free tables and chairs available. The price was very reasonable and you can provide your own catering.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This place was absolutely memorable! Beautiful chandeliers and the place was such a fun atmosphere! The renting process was easy and stress free, all thanks to the friendly manager. She was such a joy to work with and would go out of her way just to make my wedding experience that much better. We danced the night away while enjoying the patio for refreshments and fresh air. Liam and I would love to rent again for our wedding vow renewals!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
Our wedding was small and on a tight budget, the Hawken house suited us perfectly. The price was right, we catered our wedding with a local smokehouse, and hired a great DJ.

The only downside was the lady who runs the show at the Hearth Room. She isn't very flexible and really had a bad attitude towards my family the day of the wedding.

Overall - even with the attitude, we would host another event at the Hawken House. You just can't beat the price!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
We cannot say enough great things about the Hawken House, or Ginger, the manager. Our groom is in the Army, and three changes in his leave meant three changes in the wedding date...and Ginger accommodated us willingly and patiently! She worked with us every step of the way, offering her help and support. She was a blessing! The venue was perfect for our event, with the wedding in the garden, dinner and dancing inside following. Everything was exactly as they bride and groom wanted, and so reasonably priced! Yes, the venue is simple, but easy to decorate to your heart's desire - and we did! It was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hawken House Hearth Room
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220