130x130_sq_1342205506097-hawthorneflagseagle

Hawthorne Hotel

Salem , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

18 Washington Sq., West
Salem, MA US 01970 (map)

PHONE

978-825-4357

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Wedding receptions have been a tradition at the Hawthorne Hotel for more than three quarters of a century. The Hotel echoes a lost age of grandeur . .. an elegance that is identified... Read more
Wedding receptions have been a tradition at the Hawthorne Hotel for more than three quarters of a century. The Hotel echoes a lost age of grandeur . .. an elegance that is identified only with the Hawthorne. Personal service and attention to detail are our hallmarks. Your wedding will reflect your individual style, in the classic setting of the Hawthorne. A memorable day awaits you and your guests.

Our Grand Ballroom provides an elegance unique to any facility on the North Shore. The magnificent Palladian windows overlooking the Salem Common offer a perfect picture of the four seasons enjoyed in New England. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1230675119576-ceremonygramwindows06
130x130_sq_1342205816367-dsc0070
130x130_sq_1342205848157-dscf1835
130x130_sq_1230675124248-ceremony06
130x130_sq_1230675155592-horsedrawnfullpic
130x130_sq_1342205910138-exterior
130x130_sq_1342205991701-hcdessert
130x130_sq_1342205924714-beefcropped
130x130_sq_1342205956600-roomsheader1
130x130_sq_1230675190264-s.flintsuite2

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1925
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
87
Number of suites
6
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
5/9/2014
0.8/5.0
We worked with no less than a dozen vendors for our wedding. Each was delightful, with one glaring exception: the Hawthorne Hotel.

It was a miserable experience, from the day we booked the room to checkout the day after our wedding.

We wanted to check in at 2:00 to drop off our overnight bags before the wedding. You'd think we had asked for the moon. Eventually, we had to email the general manager of the hotel to beg for a 2:00 check in, and then send another follow up email after the front desk still didn't oblige.

We called the day of to get the suite number. Checking in that night after the wedding, they had given us the wrong number, which means we sent our family to a strangers room to drop off items from our reception. We hung a sign on the door (which the hotel should have offered to do) to make up for their incompetence.

Can I also add that as we were checking in in a wedding dress and tux, they didn't give us so much as a "Congratulations"?

They wouldn't let us block rooms near each other. Then, the night of the wedding, as our family came by the suite to drop off cards, decorations and gifts from the reception, the hotel threatened to call the police (?!) because of our disturbance.

As my poor maid of honor was leaving the hotel and tried to go through the locked door, the front desk man watched her struggle until finally informing her that the OTHER DOOR was open and this one was locked. He was honestly so rude that my poor Southern sister was STARTLED by having a strange man treat her this way.

We had asked for a mini fridge, which, shockingly, wasn't there, so our leftover cheesecake all went bad.

The shower was small. The carpet was dirty. The whole place felt more like a funeral home than an upscale hotel.

After I posted on TripAdvisor, Hawthorne pretended they had no idea I was so unhappy- lies! We emailed complaints before the stay and spoke to desk during and after. Deceitful to the very end.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
5/9/2014
0.8/5.0
We worked with no less than a dozen vendors for our wedding. Each was delightful, with one glaring exception: the Hawthorne Hotel.

It was a miserable experience, from the day we booked the room to checkout the day after our wedding.

We wanted to check in at 2:00 to drop off our overnight bags before the wedding. You'd think we had asked for the moon. Eventually, we had to email the general manager of the hotel to beg for a 2:00 check in, and then send another follow up email after the front desk still didn't oblige.

We called the day of to get the suite number. Checking in that night after the wedding, they had given us the wrong number, which means we sent our family to a strangers room to drop off items from our reception. We hung a sign on the door (which the hotel should have offered to do) to make up for their incompetence.

Can I also add that as we were checking in in a wedding dress and tux, they didn't give us so much as a "Congratulations"?

They wouldn't let us block rooms near each other. Then, the night of the wedding, as our family came by the suite to drop off cards, decorations and gifts from the reception, the hotel threatened to call the police (?!) because of our disturbance.

As my poor maid of honor was leaving the hotel and tried to go through the locked door, the front desk man watched her struggle until finally informing her that the OTHER DOOR was open and this one was locked. He was honestly so rude that my poor Southern sister was STARTLED by having a strange man treat her this way.

We had asked for a mini fridge, which, shockingly, wasn't there, so our leftover cheesecake all went bad.

The shower was small. The carpet was dirty. The whole place felt more like a funeral home than an upscale hotel.

After I posted on TripAdvisor, Hawthorne pretended they had no idea I was so unhappy- lies! We emailed complaints before the stay and spoke to desk during and after. Deceitful to the very end.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shanna
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Well organized and smooth running of a 150+ wedding. I was impressed by the courteous staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
You cannot go wrong at this historic hotel. It is absolutely beautiful and doesn't need a whole lot of extras. Our wedding was perfect and the December decorations really added to it-poinsetta tree, lighted wreaths, overlooking the commons which were also lit up. We were lucky enough to have snow on our wedding night too! The staff is highly experienced and made the day go smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.3/5.0
We had our wedding at the Peabody Essex Museum and used Hawthorne Catering. Lindsay was very easy to work with and responsive/professional. Our day of coordinator Jessica was also great. Overall the food is pretty good and they do a nice job. Would highly recommend doing your wedding at the Peabody Essex, and using Hawthorne to do the catering makes things very easy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kar
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding at the Hawthorne was the best decision we made about our wedding (after the decision to get married, of course :). From the very beginning, I had 100% confidence that they'd take care of everything and that it would all go well - and it did. I loved knowing that they have done so many weddings that they really knew what they were doing, and I wouldn't have to worry about a thing. Though at the same time, I also never felt like we were just running through a "wedding mill". We got very personalized attention and without exception, everyone on staff was professional, reliable, and responsive. Our guests are still raving about how beautiful everything was, and how amazing the food was (it really, really was)! I had high expectations from the Hawthorne going into the wedding planning process, and they met and even exceeded them all.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.9/5.0
I am so happy that I had my wedding at the historic Hawthorne Hotel. It provided a beautiful and natural setting for my romantic wedding. The commons right across the street provided us with a beautiful place for outdoor pictures. The ball room looked gorgeous with the natural lighting and candle light center pieces. I worked with Lindsay, a catering manager, and she was unbelievable! She made the entire process easy, comfortable and stress free. (I planned a wedding in less than 4 months!) I could not have better things to say about hosting a wedding at the HH. The only thing downside was that the HH does not let guest bring any alcohol on the premises and quiet hours are from 12:15-8:15! Hard to keep a rowdy wedding party quiet. I would have tried to stay at a less strict hotel for after the wedding- but it was still a blast!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ELSNMT
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.3/5.0
This review is in two parts: for Hawthorne Catering, and for the other services provided by the Hawthorne as part of our catering package. First, the catering: we got married at the PEM and opted to use Hawthorne as our caterer. This was a great decision: Lindsay and Natalia (at the PEM) work together seamlessly, and the Hawthorne staff is adept at running events at the museum. We were honestly expecting standard wedding food (even after the tasting), but on the day of the wedding we were blown away by how delicious everything was. The sea bass with lobster risotto was better than what I've had in most restaurants, and we got rave reviews from guests. They were also really flexible with the package--for example, dinner was originally 4 courses, but we were able to swap the appetizer for an additional passed hors d'ouevre. The night of the wedding, the Hawthorne staff was just amazing in making sure that my husband and I were well taken care of and that everything ran smoothly.

We were less happy with the actual Hawthorne Hotel. They're pretty disorganized and inflexible; since my husband and I were not staying in the bridal suite that was part of our catering package, we let some friends stay there, and it took four phone calls from us for them to finally get it right. They also sent our makeup/hair artist to the wrong room to set up, setting us back 45 minutes on the day of the wedding, and a few other things that we'd arranged ahead of time didn't materialize. Given our frustrations with them, we were happy that we opted to have the majority of our guests stay elsewhere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Hawthorne Hotel in April 2013 and had a fantastic wedding. The ballroom was beautiful and their setup combined with flower and lighting vendor made event very special. Guests have commented it was the most elegant and classic wedding.

Our wedding package is now a grandfathered package and it included lots of options (cake, flowers, 1 hour full open bar for cocktail hour, limo, champagne toast, wine at dinner table, and more). It also included 5 passed and 2 stationary hors d'oeuvres (cheese and bruschetta) for cocktail hour and 5 food courses - salad, appetizer, entree, intermezzo (sorbet) and dessert for reception! That is a lot! What we liked the best was the flexibility in the package. You can remove unwanted items (we removed intermezzo and dessert - cake was enough we thought) to get money back and you can upgrade other items (we upgraded chairs and added late night snack - fries and tater tots!).

The food was all the rave. We had prime rib and stuffed chicken as our entree options (along with portabella mushrooms for vegan choice). The prime rib was beyond outstanding. It was incredibly large. Guests loved that the waiter would ask before serving how they liked it cooked (I assumed it was all cooked one way unless notified ahead of time). This allowed guest to enjoy the prime rib even more. People still tell us that it was the best prime rib they ever had!

In terms of organization, they are there the entire way to answer questions and help you. They have preferred vendors (but are not mandatory). We used Flowers by Darlene and Montillio's bakery for cake. Both are amazing. They also recommended All Star Uplighting for lighting which were amazing as well. We used friend for photographer. Midway through the process, our coordinator left the hotel and there was some transition to the new one so there was some confusion but it all went well. The day of event coordinator was superb and handled everything well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We worked with Hawthorne Hotel to provide Catering Service at Peabody Essex Museum, the wedding venue of our daughter. We were very pleased with the quality of service, responsiveness, and professionalism exhibited by Lindsay Otis who worked with us to ensure everything was just right for the big day. As we were using an Indian caterer to provide food, there was the added complexity of seamlessly interfacing with yet another party. That was not a problem at all. Several guests mentioned that this was the best wedding they had ever attended, and we believe that the catering service was a significant factor in making it so.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.9/5.0
When my husband and I were first engaged, we had planned on a very small wedding. Once the guest list had been agreed upon, our very small wedding turned out to be about 85 people, and we needed to find a large enough venue to accommodate that many people without being huge. The Hawthorne Hotel is well-known for their ballroom weddings -- which are gorgeous! -- but we didn't have nor want 150-200 people at our wedding. The Hawthorne also books wedding receptions in their Nathanial's and Sophia's rooms (the restaurant area) which can hold up to 90 people. It was perfect for us: a 1920s hotel in a cozy but spacious venue with rich colors and crystal chandeliers! The food was amazing, and from hor d'oeurves to dessert no detail in the presentation was overlooked. The package we booked included the flowers, cake, and a few other odds and ends. Peter Barter Florist provided the table flowers, and everyone raved about them. Montilio's made our cake -- people loved it so much they took home pieces. Everyone on the staff amazed us, planners, day-of coordinators, wait staff, bartenders. My husband and I live 2 hours away from Salem currently, and because of my work and travel schedule, most of the correspondence was through email, and when I could get into town the were completely understanding of my hectic schedule. Everything was efficient and friendly, they are quite the professionals, and the entire affair was easy. Everyone wondered why I was so calm through the entire wedding planning process (I was finishing grad school, teaching a course, and planning a wedding), and it was due to the incredible staff at the Hawthorne and their vendors. So many people have said that this was the best wedding -- and the best party -- they have ever been to, and I would have to enthusiasticaly agree!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanne
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I couldn't be any happier with the Hawthorne Hotel. The grand ballroom was absolutely beautiful! It was the perfect place to hold the ceremony and reception. The food was AMAZING! Everything from the appetizers to the entrees were delicious.

Our wedding coordinator (provided by the hotel) helped make everything run so smoothly. Because of her I was actually able to fully enjoy my night and NOT be stressed it.

The Hawthorne created our dream wedding and we would highly recommend it to any future bride and groom!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
Had an amazing experience here at the Hawthorne. Everything you need is included in there wedding package, flowers, cake, limo, food, cocktail hour, room for th bride ang groom, it's a great value and takes a lot of stress out of planning when everything is through one place. Both Christine's were so helpful and Liz, the wedding coordinator for the evening was there whenever we needed her and directed us when we needed help. The hotel is gorgeous, staff is friendly and helpful. All of our guests have had nothing but nice things to say about their experience at the Hawthorne. One thing to keep in mind is the Hawthorne is an historic hotel and keeping with that the rooms can seem a little small when compared to newer built hotels.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more happy with The Hawthorne Hotel as our wedding venue. We had both the reception and the ceremony indoors in the grand ballroom at the hotel. It did cost a bit extra in order for the staff to "flip" the room during cocktail hour so that it was ready for the reception, but it was worth every penny for the luxury of not having to drive all about between venues on or wedding day. The food was delicious and the "day-of event manager" kept everything running smoothly. We felt like royalty for one day. We would enthusiastically reccomend the Hawthorne Hotel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annemarie
Wedding:
8/4/2012
3.6/5.0
Please note that this review is for the alcohol vendor services of Hawthorne Catering, not for Hawthorne Hotel itself.

We had our wedding at the Peabody Essex Museum, which requires the use of Hawthorne Catering as their alcohol vendor. This was the ONLY vendor that we weren't allowed to choose and the ONLY vendor that we weren't happy with when our wedding was over. Email responsiveness was lacking on the part of Lindsay Otis, who we dealt with. We didn't feel like a priority in our meetings/interactions (i.e. emails) leading up to our wedding and in fact, we got the feeling that we were getting brushed off because they "do this every weekend." To make matters worse, Hawthorne Catering "misplaced" our full deposit for our wedding. They eventually found it, two days prior to our wedding. This is NOT something we should have had to deal with leading up to our wedding. With all this being said, our wedding went off without a hitch and the bartenders who were actually working the event were professional and courteous. However, the alcohol prices we were charged were more in line with downtown Boston prices and our bill was considerably more than we expected for our wedding, due to the high markup of drinks.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ron
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The folks at the Hawthorne made my daughter's wedding perfect. The facility was well set, the cocktail hour was truly happy and the dinner and dance were flawless. All of this was because of our wedding coordinator who kept track of my daughter's every need.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg21
Lana
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, MA on May 12, 2012 and it was the picture perfect evening. The Hawthorne Hotel did all of our food and bar service at the museum. Lindsay Ottis the coordinator at the Hawthorne Hotel was amazing. She was so easy to work with and extremely professional and nice. By the time of my wedding I felt as though I was working with a friend, her personal attention to detail was impressive. Her entire staff, especially Elena and all the bar and wait staff were impeccable. The meal was delivered fast but with personal service that our guest have never encountered at a wedding. Not to mention that the food from the hors d'oeuvres to the entrees were delicious. Coupling the PEM with the Hawthorne Hotel's food and bar service was a winning combination. Both vendors work seamlessly together to put on a flawless event at the museum. I can not thank everyone enough that had a hand in making our day perfect! I highly recommend the Hawthorne Hotel, the food was literally the most delicious wedding food our guests have ever had and the service was hands down flawless!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.6/5.0
We got married at the Hawthorne in April 2012. We had the ceremony in the grand ballroom, had the cocktail hour on the 2nd floor and had the reception again in the grand ballroom. Overall, I thought the Hawthorne was great. It was just what I wanted - everything in one location so no one had to travel, no transportation to worry about, no time to kill in between the ceremony and reception, a great historic location outside of Boston. For the most part everyone at the Hawthorne was very response to all kinds of questions, big or small. I usually had a response back within a few hours, although there were some times when I would have to email two or three times to get a response back. I was impressed when the Hawthorne contacted me to see if I wanted to set up a room block - no thinking on my part, they just called me up to see if I needed one. The food tasting was great and their vendor recommendation list was pretty good too. The wedding was beautiful and everyone said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The food was fabulous and the wedding coordinator Liz was very nice. She generally seemed to be right there when you needed her and would disappear when you didn't need her. The only problem I had was an isolated incident that will probably not happen to most people. Apparently the hotel had experienced some water damage in February. 4 days before my wedding I got a call telling me that I had to move basically my entire hotel block to an entirely different hotel. Only immediate family and the bridal party were able to stay in the Hawthorne. It was extremely stressful, especially 4 days before getting married. The hotel had apparently expected the rooms to be renovated in time for my wedding and they "didn't know" that the rooms hadn't been completed it time, so they didn't contact me earlier. The good thing was that they comped the rooms for all the guests that had to move and paid for transportation to and from both hotels. I feel like they should have offered to compensate us, as the bride and groom, in some way but that was never offered to us. Maybe we should have asked, but to be honest I didn't even think of it at the time since I was so busy. I also wish they had contacted us further in advance that the water damage could be an issue, even if they didn't think it would affect us. I would rather know about these things in advance then have them brought up 4 days before the event! Overall, the Hawthorne was a great place to get married though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/30/2011
4.8/5.0
I thought my wedding was beautiful, well-organized, and affordable. The food was amazing, they allowed me to make as many changes as I wanted, and the staff was extremely accommodating and a pleasure to work with. The food was fantastic - and there was so much of it! There are also many beautiful locations nearby for pictures.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
LizzieLou44
Wedding:
1/9/2011
4.9/5.0
We choose to get married in January and took advantage of the Hawthorne's great winter deals. Even though we chose a budget-friendly package, we didn't feel like were getting anything less than their normal brides and grooms. We didn't have to worry about a thing. The room is gorgeous, so very little decoration is needed. They provided everything and we couldn't have been happier. The hotel's overnight rooms were very nice as well.

My only small complaint...since we booked at an odd time, we missed out on a free tasting (I guess they bunch them together with other couples, which makes sense financially), so they said they would have to charge us $100 to do a tasting. So we booked based on the reviews other people made on their food. Luckily, everything turned out fine.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenerator5000
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
The Hawthorne Hotel is an amazing facility! I love the historic charm and beauty of this place. It's one of my favorite places in Salem!

Our wedding planner was incredible!!! She went over and above what I ever expected. Our wedding was absolutely amazing!

And let me tell you about the food...to die for!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
If I could give The Hawthorne a 100 star review I would! Everyone and everything about the venue, service, food, ambiance, etc. was above and beyond any of my expectations!! they are accomodating to your every need and think of things that you don't! I did not hear one negative thing from any of my guests! I would definately use The Hawthorne for any future events I may need a venue for!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeisenhaur
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.8/5.0
The Hawthorne hotel provides an great package that includes food, flower centerpieces, cake, champage toast, and limo! They take a lot of stress away from you having to find specific vendors and line everything up correctly. The hotel is beautiful and the common is great for outdoor pictures!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suzv
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.0/5.0
While the Hawthorne had a set menu that we could select from for our package and we ran into a few rules for things that we couldn't do that we had come up with.When we made our appointment to see the room, there was an event going on and we couldn't even go inside. A few times when my husband and I emailed then to ask questions, instead of giving us a no, we didn't get a response unless we asked again. We were unable to try the food (but could go to the restaurant in the hotel to do so), which they have resolved now when they book your event, but not until closer to the day. When we got closer to the week of our wedding, the coordinator that we worked with and the staff that served us on our wedding day were very friendly and helpful. When I was getting a little stressed (we were an hour late to our appointment and was unable to bring everything we needed), she stayed calm and patient with both of us. She made time out of her schedule (amid three other events that night) to meet with us again and make sure we had everything again. The staff was quite quick and attentive. The coordinator was present, but didn't seem like she was hovering. She fixed a few things with grace and didn't call attention to them (our cake tower started leaning and she started plating our cupcakes to even it out and nobody noticed it wasn't on purpose).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1282596481754-bighamwedding
Alana
Wedding:
7/23/2010
3.9/5.0
Well the planning went from bad to worse but everything worked out in the end.
First things first, If you get Lindsay as a planner - ask for someone else because she has no clue how to organize and won't give you correct information. But if you get Elizabeth (Lizzie) you are in the best care ever. Don't be afraid to contact Karen the director for any issues because she is great about working things out fairly. Just double check ALL details.

Overall the wedding went great and everything was gorgeous.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tsarkisian
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Ellegant, Amazing food, Beautiful surroundings and a cozy Bride & Groom suite.
I would suggest that anyone getting married consider the Hawthorne Hotel. Laura Abraham was amazing to work with. They helped to make our wedding day one to remember.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1242436061635-dmonican036
Stacey
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
The food was to die for, all of our friends keep complimening how excellent everything was at our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.1/5.0
We did stations and they worked out great. Took some negotiating to get things perfect, but they came through in the end and it was fabulous.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nnf
Wedding:
6/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Quality of Service:
The whole team at the Hawthorne made our day perfect. Every interaction with their staff was a pleasure. They were very invested in enabling the wedding I was envisioning and they knew how to accomplish that. Their wedding packages are all inclusive, so there wasn't a lot of running around, trying to find other vendors. One stop shopping at its very best.

Responsiveness:
I am not a phone person, so I didn't call often. But I always received an email response within 24 hours.

Professionalism:
They are real pros. They do weddings there all the time, so they know the ropes from the engagement through the cake cutting and everything was very organized and run very smoothly. But their expertise NEVER made me feel like my wedding was unimportant. With me, they were always focused and excited.

Value for Cost:
We got married on a Friday night, so the wedding package was literally half of what it would have cost on a Saturday. And it included everything except photo & music. Cake, guest book, honeymoon suite, even centerpieces if I had chosen (no flowers though--I did get an outside vendor for that).

Flexibility:
I was amazed how willing they were to tailor the experience for me. At the tasting, I heard them doing the same for other couples as well. I have a serious allergy in my family and they were very accommodating. The day before the wedding, I handed over all my DIY stuff and they took care of arranging it for me.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KatieOlive
Wedding:
5/1/2009
5.0/5.0
All of the staff at the Hawthorne were extremely professional and helpful. I didn't worry about a thing from the moment I booked with them. Everything they needed from me to make the wedding a success was clear and in writing for me. they have packages that provide you with everything from flowers to linens to the limo. all very good pricing for MA. They were excellent from start to finish.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin
Wedding:
1/24/2009
4.8/5.0
We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Hawthorne Hotel in Salem, MA. Everything went great. The food was amazing, the service was great, and the room looked fantastic. The worked very closely with all of our vendors and the whole thing turned out perfect. We highly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kbsav
Wedding:
9/14/2008
5.0/5.0
The Hawthorne Hotel was a beautiful and elegant setting for our wedding. Everyone was so helpful and the food was absolutely delicious even though it had to be held for more than an hour because we were running late.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtne44
Wedding:
9/13/2008
4.8/5.0
We had a wonderful wedding at the Hawthorne. They coordinated many of the vendors and I did not have to worry about any details on the day of the wedding. The coordinator arrived and handled everything. It was the most amazing day and they handled everything!

Many people commented that it was the best wedding they have ever been to. I highly suggest looking at the Hawthorne for your reception site.


The only thing I would suggest is the hotel sells out soon and we could not get additional rooms under our block because it was sold out. Therefore try to see if you can get more than normal room block if you have a lot of out of state guests.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kalane99
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
We had a FANTASTIC wedding at the Hawthorne. They were very professional and flexible. I have absolutely no complaints. In fact, several people said it was the best wedding that they had ever been to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience with the Hawthorne from start to finish! They really epitomized professionalism and sincerity throughout the entire process. Christine helped us with our wedding and she walked me through everything. When I mentioned an interest in getting married at the PEM library during my first meeting, she phone over to Nathalia to see if I could go over right then. When I showed her a picture of the cake I wanted, I later found out she had sent it to the bakery for me. I can not recommend her enough! Our wedding was beautiful, fun, and exciting. Our guests really enjoyed themselves, as did my husband and I.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissaks
Wedding:
4/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Loved it here! Everything was taken care of for me! I just had to provide some information and they did the rest.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gillian
Wedding:
3/5/2005
4.4/5.0
I loved getting Married at the Hawthorne Hotel. It was beautiful and the Staff could not have been more helpful. Everything went perfectly and i highly recommend the Hawthorne to people who want to get married in Northern Mass. Also the The Hawthorne is a Hotel, so all of my out of town guests were able to stay there and not have to worry about traveling.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susanparks04
Wedding:
1/31/2004
5.0/5.0
The event coordinators at the Hawthorne Hotel are fantastic and they really took great care of us from the moment we signed with them to the moment we checked out of our honeymoon suite. We opted for a cocktail hour during our photo time, and our guests still mention how good the food was (we got married in 2004). The food testing was a lot of fun, and they offer some items that are not your traditional chicken, fish or beef. If you can imagine, it, they're happy to work with you to make it happen. We had a brunch reception in their "book room" on the bottom level of the hotel, and it was fantastic. The food was great and the room looked beautiful. The DJ we chose was on the list of vendors recommended by the hotel, and he did a fantastic job. The hotel itself is really warm and inviting. My husband and I go back every year for our anniversary and meet for tea with our wedding coordinator (we've become friends over the years).
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke and Tim
Wedding:
1/17/2004
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Hawthorne Hotel was amazing! From the planning to the day of our reception, everything went very smoothly and we always felt they were on top of all the details. The venue is beautiful and they coordinated all of the food, including the cake, so we just had to snow up and enjoy ourselves. We had a great experience in every way!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
18 Washington Sq., West, Salem, MA 01970 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hawthorne Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo