130x130_sq_1343156015660-hhlogomotif

Hawthorne House Fine Paper

Occoquan , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

404 Mill Street
Occoquan, VA US 22125 (map)

PHONE

703-491-5775

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our Fine Invitation Companies

Crane & Co.
William Arthur
Julie Holcomb Letterpress
Envelopments
Carlson Craft
Birchcraft
Dauphine Press
... Read more
Our Fine Invitation Companies

Crane & Co.
William Arthur
Julie Holcomb Letterpress
Envelopments
Carlson Craft
Birchcraft
Dauphine Press
Embossed Graphics
Haute Papier
Caspari
Midori Ribbon



It takes careful planning to make your wedding

perfect

We can help with our complete line of wedding
invitations and accessories.

We can also address your invitations using machine calligraphy.


Let us help you with...

Engagement Announcements & Party Invitations, Save the Dates, Wedding Invitations, Direction & Accommodation Cards, Wedding Programs, Shower Invitations, Rehearsal Dinner Invitations, Menu Cards, Place Cards & Escort Cards, Table Numbers, Napkins, Engraved Attendant Gifts, Stationery & Thank You Notes, Monogrammed Notes, and Calling Cards

See a selection of invitations on our website www.hawthornehousefinepaper.com

STORE HOURS
Tuesday 10:30-5:00 • Wednesday 10:30-5:00 • Thursday 10:30-7:00 • Friday 10:30-5:00 Saturday 10:30-5:00 • Sunday 12:00-5:00
CLOSED MONDAY No appointments are necessary. Please visit us during regular business hours for bridal invitation planning. Read less
Invitations

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1328727604448-invites1
130x130_sq_1328727855980-invites3
130x130_sq_1343156325263-invitation6
130x130_sq_1343156343920-invitation1
130x130_sq_1343156360090-invitation2
130x130_sq_1343156377246-invitation3
130x130_sq_1343156394105-invitation4
130x130_sq_1343156413486-invitation5

INFO FOR INVITATIONS

Do you offer a catalog of products or custom products?
Catalog Products, Custom Products
Do you handle design, printing, and assembly?
Assembly, Design, Printing
What specialty products do you provide?
Color Matching Proofs, Embossed, Engraving, Letterpress, Recycled Paper
Describe the types of invitations that you offer:
Anywhere from classic and traditional to chic and modern, simply engraved or layered pockets - there's an invitation for every kind of bride.
What is your average turnaround time, from initial contact to shipment?
Our turn around time is approximately 3 to 4 weeks. We usually suggest that brides come to us at least 3 months before their big day. This allows 3 weeks for printing and shipping and 1 week for addressing, in order for the invitations to be sent out 2 months before the wedding.
Are you able to meet clients in person to showcase your product?
Absolutely! There is nothing like being able to look at and feel paper in person. Stop by, at your convenience, during regular business hours for personal consultation for all your wedding paper needs.
Is there a minimum order requirement?
For most catalog orders, the minimum is 25, but there is no minimum for custom work.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience working with the Hawthorne House. They have a wide selection of invitations, and they worked with you to narrow down your choices and made great recommendations. I would highly recommend them, and will use them again in the future!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding invitations (and save the dates, and stickers, and pencils, and name cards, and table cards...) were absolutely beautiful! Diane and Fred are both wonderful to work with and have been working with my family for years doing various personalized work. I was thrilled with their flexibility and creativity to help design a cute travel-themed package for my wedding. You cannot get this kind of personalization with online companies! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Invitations
Hawthorne House Fine Paper responded with the following comments:

Thanks Kristen! It was a delight to work with you. We loved designing something personal for you.
The Hawthorne House team
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janice
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
The ladies at Hawthorne House were fantastic! I didn't find them until it was almost too late, but they worked with me on helping me pick out exactly what I was looking for in the old classic style formal wedding invitations. They rushed the order through for me, gave me the opportunity to proof it, and got the invitations to me within a week. Then they helped me with the place cards for the tables just a week away from the event and when there was one typo (my fault!), they reprinted for me the day before the wedding! They were an absolute delight to work with and they were tremendously knowledgeable and able to provide guidance on the proper etiquette of addressing the envelopes!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have done it without Nancy. She guided us through the whole process from invitations to favors. They were great about getting things in quickly and keeping us up to date about programs and favors. I would recommend Hawthorne House to anyone getting married. I will go back to them for other paper needs.
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive about Diane and Hawthorne House. Hawthorne House has been a place I've been going to since a child, so of course I would have Diane do my wedding invitations. Every year as a young girl my mother used to take me to Hawthorne House to get personalized pencils to "start the school year off right". My mother always went to see Diane when she was looking for the perfect stationary for her Christmas party invitations. When my older sister got married, she went to Hawthorne House for her invitations. They turned out beautifully! A year later and now I am getting married. So of course I had to go to Hawthorne House to get my invitations. I thought my sister's invitations were beautiful, but I don't believe I've seen more beautiful invitations than mine (I just picked them up last Sunday!).

Diane has so many fonts, ink colors, and wording choices, not to mention all the books of different papers. It may seem overwhelming to come into the shop and see all the options in front of you, but never fear! Diane and her trusty staff will effortlessly guide you through the process painlessly. You can be sure that the invitations you end up with are one of a kind, beautiful, personal, and within your budget.

It is amazing work they do at Hawthorne House. I cannot say enough good things about them. I hope they are in business for many years to come so one day I can take my children there to get their very own "special" pencils to start the school year, and so I have a reliable place for all my invitations, thank-yous and personal stationary.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridgette
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Hawthorne House for our July 6, 2013 wedding invitations. They were absolutely great to work with. They carry invites from the super expensive to the really nice but not expensive. We got nice quality invitations for a very, very reasonable price. They are not pushy at all and get back to you very quickly. We were able to do all proofs via email and our invites came in very quickly. My mother-in-law also got our rehearsal dinner invites from here and they came out great. Support your local businesses and use Hawthorne House, you won't be disappointed!!
Services Used: Invitations
Hawthorne House Fine Paper responded with the following comments:

Thank you for nice review, Bridgette, we enjoyed working with you.
The Hawthorne House Team
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katie
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding invitations were so nice. I was very happy with them. MY
family used this vendor for Baby shower invitations and Bridal Showers also. We are
very happy with the service they provide. They really are very professional
and they are very easy to work with. Thank you!!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shay & Trav
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I went to Hawthorne House to pick out paper for invitations to print myself. I was so grateful to have a local shop to go to so that I could SEE and FEEL the paper (online is just not the same!). The staff at Hawthorne House was extremely knowledgeable and helpful when picking out colors and products that went well together. They understood I was on a budget and did not push the more expensive papers. I would absolutely recommend them to any bride, whether you are getting the works custom done or looking for DIY friendly products and advice.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MARIA
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent customer service. Very knowledgeable of what they do. I started with my invitations, then my tables names and now they will be doing my programs. Great prices and the experience to work with someone personally, instead of going online, it was fabulous.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cammy
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House is such a lovely store. The people who work there are friendly and helpful, and their products are high quality at decent prices. They have a wide variety of options and are flexible to making changes to fit what you want and to fit your budget. The woman who assisted us was very knowledgeable and helped us every step of the way. We got beautiful invitations that fit my fiance's and my vision of our wedding. My mom, who was hoping for very fancy invitations, was pleased too! I cannot stress enough how high quality this place is. I can't imagine getting invitations anywhere else. We had such a fantastic experience!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1338856469163-600585499471598522940786n
Kaylin
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I worked with Hawthorne House from start to finish with all of my wedding needs, including invitations, Table numbers, programs and Thank you notes. They were so helpful with everything and even designed a custom invitation for me that they later used to design my programs and thank you notes. I would recommend them to any of my friends and family getting married and will most certainly be back!! Knowing how efficient and kind there are will make me a repeat costumer for years to come! Thank you to the Hawthorne House team!
Services Used: Invitations
Bg5
Jessica
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House was recommended to me by a friend and I am so glad I used them for my wedding! My husband and I were able to completely customize the invitation and we had so many compliments on them from all of our wedding guests. The people at Hawthorne House make the experience fun and were always happy to answer any questions, they even took the time to show my Grandparents and Mom the invite when they stopped in one afternoon without any appointment. I also really wanted to keep the invitations elegant, but after handwriting 150 addresses on Save The Dates was not interested in doing all of the envelops. Hawthrone House worked with me to find the perfect font and printed all of the addresses, they looked so much like Calligraphy that many of our guests thought they had been done by hand. Hawthrone House was the perfect choice for my wedding invites as well as one of my bridal showers and the rehearsal dinner!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We used Hawthorne House Fine Paper for both our Wedding and Rehearsal Luncheon invitations. They had a wide variety of samples to choose from. They used many of the same printing companies that the other vendors do as well as making invitations in-house. I found them to be very helpful and respectful of my budget and did not push any one idea or style. This was not always the case when I was shopping at the other paper goods vendors. Hawthorne House offered helpful advice on how to stay within budget and on amounts of invitations to print (ie: extra envelopes, etc.) along with the proper way to address the invitations. I received my proofs when promised and they were happy to make edits and adjustments as needed. I never felt rushed or overlooked. When I picked up the invitations they took the time to show me how to assemble the different cards within the invitation. It was a pleasure to work with them!
Services Used: Invitations
Bg11
Theresa
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House was hands down one of my favorite vendors to work with! They did a fantastic job on my save the dates, wedding invitations, and table place cards. Their professionalism and knowledge of their job is top notch, and they were so patient while we sat and looked through books and books of save the dates and invitations. Their advice was so great, and they really helped me find the perfect pieces for my wedding. You definitely get what you pay for here...the quality is unbeatable. And I really like the fact that I could support a local business instead of purchasing these items online or from a major retailer. Overall, they're fantastic!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennam1121
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
I used to work in Occoquan, so I had seen Hawthorne House many times. I went in the shop once to look around with my mom and the staff was very friendly. One of my best friends recently got married and I loved her invitations! I found out she had them done at Hawthorne House and I decided I just had to go check them out. As soon as I walked in with my mom, I just had a feeling that this was the place we were looking for! The staff was very patient with me when I was deciding on everything - obviously I had never been through the process before! I don't live in the area anymore, but I kept in touch with them by e-mail while they were doing my invitations and they were always very responsive. My mom loved them so much, she had my bridal shower invitations done there, too! I can't say enough good things about Hawthorne House! I will be using their service again very soon for my wedding programs! Thanks for everything, Hawthorne House :) You really made this part of planning my special day fun, easy and affordable!!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House created a unique invitation for our wedding. It went perfectly with the decorative theme of bright colors and zinnias. The owners are so friendly and helpful!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House did a fantastic job with our wedding invitations, placecards, menus, etc.! We worked with both Nancy, Shayla, and Miriam and they were all fantastic. They gave us some great ideas and were extremely patient as we decided what we wanted. Shayla was flexible in showing us different fonts when we wanted to change them based on the proofs, and made sure that we were happy with the end result. I received so many compliments on our invitations - so many people told me they were the most beautiful they had seen. The quality was very high and the turnaround time was quick. I couldn't have been more pleased and will be sure to head to Hawthorne House for all of my future stationary needs!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House was very easy to work with and very prompt on getting my invitations done. They were easy to get in touch with and responded very quickly to emails. We did not intend to have our envelopes addressed, but decided to have it done at the last minute and they were quick and precise with them and made the whole process VERY easy!!! :) April and Roger
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1325606190848-klein120311wprocopiophotographyartistfavorites02
kakl12311
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Love this little shop located in the quaint town of Occoquan, Va. Being a native of the area, this shop has been in business for a number of years. I personally had never shopped there since I never had a reason to, but I did once it came to ordering my wedding invitations. I highly recommend them as they are fairly priced, responsive to your time schedule and very knowledgeable! Any kind of question I had from how to properly address my guests to the wording on my invitations, they had the answers to it all. With access to the internet it seems you can do anything yourself; however, when it comes to ordering invitations, I totally recommend ordering through the experts if you want to have them done right. Had I ordered them on my own, I can assure you I would have messed something up and had to re-order them. Many thanks to the Hawthorne House ladies for your expertise and the many compliments I received on my invitations!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1298745793300-img0749
Tony
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I found Hawtorne House on the Wedding Wire...what a GREAT find. They were able to find the invitation motif that we wanted and was able to duplicate the motif with our programs and menus. Our table # cards were a big hit since we did our favorite football players as table numbers. The cards actually looked liked the numbers on a players jersey and the guest loved them as well as we did. I will use them again for sure!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1312290562553-amyjustin317
Amy
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I used Hawthorne for my invitations and was thrilled with the end product. After pricing several other stores in the greater DC area, I can say that Hawthorne was a better value and honestly, they were far more helpful with creating my vision while staying within a budget. The proof was perfect and the invitations were delivered ahead of schedule. They were also a great help to my mom...who knows how many etiquette questions they answered for her while she was addressing the invitations. They are worth the trip!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I loved Hawthorne House! They had an amazing selection. Can make anything you want in house and you can have one of the kind, personalized invitations and they were so helpful. I have found that one of the hardest parts about weddings is addressing the invitations and even though we had the company do it officially for us, we still have to everything ready for them and the staff at Hawthorne House went through our entire guest list several times to make sure we had everything correct! I have already been recommending them to friends! They're amazing!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I used to assist brides with their wedding and stationery needs in Memphis, Tennessee years ago, so I do have some knowledge on the subject of wedding invitations. I give Hawthorne House 5 stars in all categories! They did a beautiful job with my daughter's wedding invitations, save the date cards, ceremony programs, menu cards, and bridal notes, etc. My daughter was so impressed with the knowledgeable, caring staff and the quality products at Hawthorne House that she is flying here from South Africa to visit and to order additional stationery! Kindest regards, Cynthia Roberts
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rfitzgerald
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Hawthorne House was, by far, the best vendor I worked with for planning my wedding. Absolutely incredible professionals, with a shop that's very homey and relaxed. They are more than kind --- just the sweetest people, like family! They got my order exactly right, addressed my envelopes weeks ahead of schedule, and answered all of my questions with lightning speed. There is a good range of prices and we found lovely, very affordable invitations. They even added a pearly backing to my selection because I wanted a little extra shimmer. I wouldn't go with anyone else and recommend them to every bride!!!! Wonderful husband and wife team who actually care about brides and want them to be happy. They told me, don't stress, we'll take care of everything, this should be the happiest time in your life! Bravo Hawthorne House.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
The entire staff of Hawthorne House was wonderful and provided the ultimate in service and patience. My wedding was September 18 and they were able to complete my order to include calligraphy of place cards, menu cards, wedding invitations, rehearsal invitations, table numbers and programs with no errors. Even with 2 days left before the wedding, the staff completed my place cards and programs in an effortless manner. Each member of the staff was professional and provided excellent advice on the wording or what should be changed to ensure I obtained the look I wanted. I would highly recommend Hawthorne House for your wedding needs.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KM
Wedding:
5/6/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff at Hawthorne House - Nancy, Diane, and Fred were wonderful to both my Mom and I throughout the entire stationary and invitation process. Not only did they spend countless hours with us to understand our hopes and wishes when it came to the invitation, but their experience and expertise were invaluable when designing and sending the invitation. They worked within our budget, always aware of it and striving to design the most elegant and beautiful piece within it - yet always being clear about where we could make decisions that would have an impact on the prices. Nancy and Diane offered their thoughts and recommendations, and creativity in the design process. Fred was wonderful and incredibly responsive when it came to printing the envelopes.

The invitations turned out beautifully and were well worth every penny. The Hawthorne House made what could have been a daunting experience wonderful and enjoyable. Any bride would be lucky to have invitations printed by the Hawthorne House.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shedward
Wedding:
4/1/2010
5.0/5.0
They are wonderful!! Diane and her staff are extremely helpful in providing personalized service and outstanding at suggesting wonderfully creative ideas. They are prompt, professional, smart, courteous and super friendly. I will continue to use them for gifts and other favors - thanks!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzielou
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
The Hawthorne House made picking my invitations so simple. They matched my colors with my theme. It was absolutely perfect. I chose Anna Griffith invitations that were just stunning! The ladies of the Hawthorne House helped in everyway from choosing the right invite to addressing them. They were quick and responsive to all my requests. I would definitely reccomend them to any bride!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
The ladies (and Fred) of Hawthorne House were so fabulous! We saw them so much they started to feel like family. We ordered everything from them - Save the Dates, Wedding Invitations, Wedding Program, Thank you Notes and they even helped the Father-of-the-Bride with his "personal FOB cards" that he handed out at the wedding. Everything was perfect. Of all the things that went into the wedding I got the most compliments from the stationary. It is the first thing people see and really sets the tone of the wedding. I HIGHLY recommend using Hawthorne House. They were wonderful!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride2010
Wedding:
6/4/2009
5.0/5.0
There needs to be a rating higher than five (5) stars to fully describe the quality of service you get from working with Hawthorne House. They have the expertise and experience to assist any bride in creating the perfect invitation that will reflect the couple's style. Their attention to detail in matching the exact color from my invitation for the addressing of my envelopes is unsurpassed. I highly recommend that any bride look no further than Hawthrone House for all their wedding invitation needs.
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1237494632179-img0380
Kena
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
The Hawthorne House helped me with envelopments, reply cards, and direction cards in a pinch. I waited until the last minute to talk with them and they got it all done in a reasonable amount of time. There were a couple formatting issues with the direction cards, but like I said I needed them done in a hurry. Everyone there is extremely friendly and they offer great ideas.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
2008bride
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
We worked with Nancy on our invitations. We told her what we were looking for and she would pull our books of invites to look out. We liked one type and were price quoted above what we thought we wanted to pay. When we went back the second time we found a simpler invite and had them customize it with ribbon and it turned out so great and original. If you can't find anything that is exactly what you want, they will make anything for you! They helped us work everything exactly how it should be worded and when something was wrong with our proof they had it fixed in no time. Their little shop in Occoquan is so cute and they are truely professionals. We had a great time in there picking out our invites and looking around in their shop.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We have used Hawthorne House over the years for all of our stationary needs. When it came down to invitations and menus, there was no question. They have an extensive collection to choose from and the professionals there will work with you to create what ever vision you have. Our William Arthur invitations are still receiving compliments on their classic and timelessness.

I also ordered stationary for my thank yous and am beyond pleased with the outcome. I would recommend Hawthorne House to any bride who desires elegance.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
I got to design my own invitation and they were very easy to work with! Very professional!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1202319375697-picture078
Sessa
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
Custom made invitations!! Wonderful staff!!!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rlinnea
Wedding:
5/5/2007
5.0/5.0
The Hawthorn House designed beautiful invitation, programs and favors for my wedding at a very reasonable price. It was so nice to have everything taken care of and know that it is in good hands. I got many compliments on my programs from other wedding professions saying "these are the most beautiful programs I have ever seen", and I couldn't aggree more!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1366940283242-kp16542
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.9/5.0
I recommend using the Hawthorne House when purchasing wedding invitations. These are very easy to mes up and are best left to the professionals, aka the Hawthorne House. They have been in business for years and can work with you if you are looking to save some money. They are more expensive then ordering online yourself, but its worth having there help. Invitations are probably the biggest jobs to do in planning a wedding and you should seek help. Don't forget about the assembling and the addressing, those are all part of this process. Good Luck Ladies!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marshanda
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.9/5.0
Friendly, efficient, costly effective and great quality. They were amazing. I told them what I wanted and they designed the perfect invitation to fit my budget!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
This stationery store is an exceptional one for all party needs, especially weddings. Their knowledge and experience is beyond compare. They can answer any all questions, offer suggestions, new design ideas, most anything to accommodate the needs of their clients. From the smallest parties to the biggest celebrations, this is the "go to" store!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
Hawthorne House made my wedding planning a breeze. They were very professional and reliable through every step of the way. The staff even tried to help me save money on invitations, place cards, and table numbers. They designed a wedding program that was very beautiful. I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tania
Wedding:
3/26/2011
4.9/5.0
I shopped around online and went to a couple of well known vendors when I was trying to select an invitation and I found the folks at HH to be the most helpful. Ultimately, I decided to get custom invitations made. I did not like the first design provided and when I expressed my displeasure, HH immediately responded with a new design that was simply perfect. More than half of our guests sent us messages about how beautiful and elegant our invitations were upon receipt. I think I worked with everyone at HH at one time or another through the design process and they were all simply wonderful.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirstin
Wedding:
1/3/2004
4.9/5.0
This company is great at personal service. You can sit down in the back of the store and talk for hours and the location, Occoquan, is quaint and claming.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.8/5.0
I ordered my wedding invitations from Hawthorne House and then had them address them for me! When I was trying to pick out which invitation I wanted they sat patiently with me while I looked through books of invitations and then they helped me find an easy way to narrow down my favorites!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nharr015
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.8/5.0
I designed my own wedding invitations with the staff at The Hawthorne House. I highly suggest using them if you are in the DC/Northern VA area and planning your wedding. They sat with me for hours looking at ideas and I was thrilled to design my own. They have amazing ribbon (Midori Ribbon) that they use on their invitations. For a larger wedding I suggest using their services to address the invitations wtih their printer. You just simply place all contact information in an excel sheet and they print beautifully in a number of fonts to choose from.
Services Used: Invitations
Bg3
Monnette
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.8/5.0
They did a great job in making the labels and creating exactly what I have in mind. They were very nice and easy to work with.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jdm5lughatch
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.8/5.0
If you are looking for a very unique invitation look no further and give the people at Hawthorne House a call. Our invitations were unlike anything we had ever seen before. The initial mock-up was very impressive and we couldn't wait to get our final versions. The price wasn't bad but definitely more than I had anticipated for invitations. However, in the end they were absolutely worth every penny and we received a lot of positive feedback on them. The people at the Hawthorne house were very pleasant and easy to work with. They also, have a lot of samples that you can actually hold and look over versus trying to find something in a book that in the end you might be disappointed with.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovelife4ever
Wedding:
8/16/2008
4.8/5.0
All the ladies at Hawthorne House are very very knowledge. They helped me multiple times as I tried to find that perfect invitation, which I did!! They also did my program and seating cards. Great selection to choose from.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/27/2007
4.7/5.0
Exceptional service! Create unique & personalized invitations...just how I wanted them!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
11/13/2011
4.5/5.0
Overall, I really loved Hawthorne House. They were professional for the most part, very responsive and most of all they were incredibly flexible and I was able to essentially design my own invitations. This was not an endeavor for those looking to save money, but I got exactly what I wanted.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
10/9/2011
1.9/5.0
My biggest regret of my entire wedding experience. They were referred to me by my friend. At first, they seemed really great and helpful. They helped me pick out invitations I really loved. I gave them all my information but was unsure of how many to get. I wanted to check when I got home, but they insisted on telling me to guess and it would be fine. Little did I know, ordering more would cost me another arm and a leg. I didn't know the etiquette rules on when to send someone separate invitations. I really wish they had advised me on this better. So, now I'm short invitations and need them rushed to make more. Well, me asking for them as soon as possible, I now know, meant rush them and make them look like sh*t. That's exactly what happened. The bows they added were not pulled taut, were crooked, the mounted paper wasn't straight. I was pissed. When I called to tell them and see what could be done, they told me they were sure this was not possible (though I had pictures) and that they weren't rushed because the owner did them. So basically, I'm lying, and the owner can't mess up. Anyway, nothing was done..no money back or new ones. I had no time to wait for more. Oh and then, how can I forget, the major typo on my invitation. The day was wrong. Granted, I accepted the proof, so bottom line, it was my fault. But, I will say that the information I gave that was then put into the proof was completely wrong. Whoever was making the proof, clearly had their head somewhere else. They got my name wrong, date wrong, with tons of spelling errors. With all this, I don't really blame myself for not catching the fact that my wedding day was Sunday not saturday. After this was all said and done, they did make me cards to send out for the correction. THey charged me for it but finally after complaining, gave them to me for free. After all the complaints, don't you think a business would try to make it right after the fact in anyway they could? I would to prevent reviews like this and repeat business. Oh well!
Services Used: Invitations
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.5/5.0
I would not use this company! They were extremely disorganized and unprofessional. They confused my order with someone else, emailed me asking for information we had already sent multiple times, and disregarded that their mistakes made me order double in price.

The first day I asked for pricing for the invitations and agreed to purchase invitations from them. I was emailed the price breakdown, but when I went to pay the final bill, the prices had doubled...even though I had the emails and quotes they sent me, they didnt care.
Services Used: Invitations

MAP

 
404 Mill Street, Occoquan, VA 22125 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hawthorne House Fine Paper
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1343156015660-hhlogomotif