Nophoto-130

Haydel's Bakery

New Orleans , LA

LOCATION

4037 Jefferson Highway
New Orleans, LA US 70121 (map)

PHONE

800-442-1342

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Our cake came as part of a package from our vendor but man are we glad it did. The cake turned out so much better than we expected. We absolutely despise fondant so we went with buttercream icing. It was DELICIOUS. Going in for the consultation was fast and easy even without an appointment, but don't forget to grab some treats on the way out.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
After researching and tasting cake samples from various bakeries in the New Orleans area, we chose Haydel's for my wedding cake. You cannot beat their per piece slice and their cakes are delicious. One guest said she could smell the almond goodness from several feet away! Our assigned wedding rep was very flexible and patient and worked with us to ensure I was getting a customized caked, exactly as I envisioned. I also purchased a groom's cake and was able to customize both inside and out. They also let you make changes to your order (quantity served, design, etc.) up to two weeks prior to your wedding date. I was able to bring my cake toppers to them in advance so they would be ready for use. The cakes were delivered on time and in pristine condition. Haydel's is a New Orleans tradition in bakeries and they live up to their promise to help make your big day special!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We got our wedding cake and the groom's cake from Haydel's Bakery and they were both beautiful. Everyone said how beautiful the cake was, and they were able to do hexagon shaped tiers that were very unique. And they put in cake pulls for the girls at the wedding that I had made myself. The groom's cake was so detailed it was amazing! We had sent them pictures of the bar where we met, and they made a cake that looked just like it, down to the iron gate on the door of the bar! Try the praline and strawberry fillings, they are so good! Every time we went to the bakery or called them about anything, they were so professional and friendly and really made you feel relaxed about everything.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Carey
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Great service! Quick responses to my questions and concerns. Amazing cake! Exactly what I wanted on the design and taste! Super nice to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsy
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious - exactly what we wanted - and very affordable. We wanted polka dots that matched the wedding colors and they did that perfectly. They also provided a king cake for our groom's cake that was a big hit. The tasting was quick and easy as was the ordering and confirmation process.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
We sat down & showed a picture of the cake we wanted & the day of our wedding that same if not more beautiful cake was at our reception. BEAUTIFUL, SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL! The cake was so delicious & fresh. I highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful and delicious cakes! Brides and grooms cakes were perfect and they did an amazing job. thank you Haydel's!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
When I discussed what I wanted my cake to look like, I was combining several pictures and ideas and cramming them into one. Haydel's created my perfect cake. I honestly didn't expect it to look as perfect as it did. The same went for my husband's groom's cake. It was pure perfection. Everyone has talked about the cakes nonstop since the wedding! It was money well spent!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted! The cake had a light almond flavoring, and the frosting flavors were a fun addition to the cake. Haydel's was flexible with our design, working well within our budget and allowing us to have more fun with a groom's cake. Our groom's cake ended up outshining our wedding cake a good bit - we took a picture we had found online, and Haydel's brought it to life, creating a delicious confection that was almost too visually interesting to eat! They worked well with last minute changes to the order, rolling with design element changes and calling to check up with me that the details were correct before making the cake. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adr
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Not only was our cake more beautiful than I could ever imagine but - OMG!!! - the buttercream icing was TO DIE FOR!!!! They took really great care of all of the details surrounding the wedding and the groom's cake - which was equally as beautiful and delicious! We loved Haydel's and were really impressed with the results!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cree
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Haydel's Bakery exceeded my expectations! I presented a picture of the cake design I wanted and they created it exactly like the cake in the photo...they even added some New Orleans flair (fleur de lis designs) to it as I requested. I highly recommend Haydel's. The individualized attention I received was commendable, the cake was absolutely beautiful and totally delicious!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1343269480450-nola
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.9/5.0
My one teeny, tiny gripe about our cake was that all of the pulls that we gave them were supposed to be under the cake, they were placed beautifully on the bottom tier under small fondant chips. Otherwise, it was made exactly how we wanted it, it looked beautiful, and everyone loved the leftovers. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bayley
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious!!!! Haydel's never lets me down!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was moist, beautifully decorated exactly as designed, and taste impecable. Haydel's is very affordable and could not deliver a better product.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mecca
Wedding:
1/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Always loved Haydel's Bakery. My bridesmaid used you for her wedding, and her cake was awesome too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding and grooms cakes were beautiful and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1332520198762-232323232fp43362nu324744wsnrcg3576843977327nu0mrj
bethlyn
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious, what more could you want!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
My wife and I knew exactly what we wanted our wedding cakes to look like, we found them on pinterest! Haydel's use the pictures we provided them, listened to our tweaks that we wanted to make and made the most picture perfect cakes for us.

Did I mention the cakes were delicious? Plus, they worked with our venue to directly so we didn't have to worry about the details of having the cakes delivered when we were already so busy taking care of other things.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.8/5.0
Instead of having a cake for our wedding, we decided to have petit fours. Lots of them. Haydels worked with us on both flavors and colors, which allowed us to customize the combinations. We ordered lemon, chocolate, and blueberry, and they matched our wedding colors perfectly. They were even able to keep blue icing over lemon cake from turning green. They tasted fantastic, and the icing wasn’t too sugary the way it can sometimes get. They even made a set of petit fours for us a few days before the wedding so we could make sure the combinations worked.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannine
Wedding:
8/22/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was amazing. I created my cake using my Iphone app called Cake doodle and sent it to the bakery and they were able to duplicate my creation perfectly!! Thank you
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
They have a HUGE variety of cakes, flavors, sizes, etc. My cake was amazing and I received MANY compliments on it. My husband's cake was phenomenal also. The wedding cake appointment was easy and they made it very pleasurable for you. My husband loved it!

If you really want to understand how truly tasty our cakes were, here's an idea: My family and I ate it for breakfast for the week after the wedding. Also, when Hurricane Isaac hit, I called my grandpa and said, "Please make sure you save my cake top, it was so yummy!" :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Randy
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Haydel's Bakery did a fabulous job in preparing the wedding and grooms cakes. We had high expectations that were greatly exceeded. The cakes were beautiful and tasted great. We received countless compliments from our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The Cake tasted great and the design was exactly what i wanted for both the wedding cake and the grooms cake. I brought in a picture for both and they nailed it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Suzy
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I was very happy with how my wedding cake turned out. It was very pretty, and both our wedding cake and the groom's cake were delicious. They were easy to work with when we went in to pick out our cake. They were patient with me as I picked out different things from various cakes in their picture book that I wanted for my cake. I really don't think you can go wrong with Haydel's!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
5/19/2012
2.1/5.0
I really hate to write a bad review about haydels, their cake was absolutely delicious but they took such creative liberties with my cake. I gave them a picture of what i wanted the cake to look like, a light grey frosted cake with TINY white dots and the florist was going to place fresh orchids on the cake. My vision was for it to be modern but simple at the same time. i arrived at my reception and they were almost dime sized polka dots, while i know that is not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things, i do believe that when you are paying over $800 for a cake and you provide a picture, you should get what you ask/pay for.
Other than that, the cake was delicious....
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cynsack77
Wedding:
4/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutely perfect - especially the next day when we had our crawfish boil since I didn't eat much of it during the reception!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lcribbs127
Wedding:
4/1/2012
4.8/5.0
I ordered my wedding cake from Haydels bakery along with my grooms cake. They both came out great! they looked amazing. The wedding cake tasted absolutely amazing. I was so pleased with thw taste of the grooms cake. it was suppose to be red velvet,but just tasted like red cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
2/28/2012
4.2/5.0
Hydel's is classic New Orleans. Toyna was wonderful to deal with and was very helpful and accommodating with everything I asked. Our wedding was a week after Mardi Gras, so we were a little disappointed to find out they were closed the week after Mardi Gras, because we wanted to stop by the bakery before the wedding to pick up some danishes and breakfast things for folks to have while getting ready. The response time was a little slower from Jan-Feb but its understandable since its their busy season. The cake showed up and was beautiful and tasted great, so I'm a happy customer.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg8
Alaina
Wedding:
12/17/2011
4.6/5.0
The cake was delicious. The bakery was very easy to work with. We enjoyed the cake tasting. Both the wedding cake and the groom's cake were beautiful and just what we ordered.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BRANDY
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
delicious cake and reasonable pricing
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1274758849503-menjason
Andrea
Wedding:
11/13/2011
5.0/5.0
this was the easiest part of all....my fiance and I went in one day to pick our cake. The Haydel's team greeted us and showed us tons of books and photos of other wedding cakes. They gave us samples of different cakes. We chose our cake, design and flavors. I was able to change a minor detail a few weeks before the wedding and had no trouble.

Since my wedding was on a Sunday, Haydel's couldnt deliver our cake on the day of but coordinated with The Balcony and delivered it late Saturday night. The cake was everything we wanted and more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
boliva
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Haydel's for both the wedding cake and the groom's cake. The wedding cake was your typical 3 tier white cake with praline filling, and it was delicious. However, the groom's cake was anything but typical. My husband is a naval officer, so I wanted his cake to be his dress blues cover with the officer's crest on it and everything. Let me tell you that it was impecable! He was so shocked at how accurate the cake was, and it was delicious as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1280432693165-tandramsterdam
Laura
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.7/5.0
Delicious and beautiful. It was exactly what we wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
Haydel's was able to accommodate my rather last minute order for my wedding cake. And it was delicious! Everyone raved about it. All the different flavors we sampled were delicious - although in the end we chose a simple buttercream filling. They were also extremely reasonably priced (and didn't charge us for a cake tasting appointment like some places wanted to!) and I would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ania
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.1/5.0
Cake was very tasty. It was very easy to communicate with the vendor. I designed the cake and email them my drawing with color samples. Unfortunatelly in the middle layer our initials were missing..... just a plane white space :(
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BPWoods
Wedding:
10/8/2011
3.9/5.0
I absolutely LOVED my wedding cake! It came out exactly as I had envisioned, and we all know Haydel's cakes taste the BEST of the ENTIRE city!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1308251247540-valnwill
Valerie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
this is the place to order cake.. very beautiful cakes with great rates.. we were on a tight budget and we had haydels do our cake and deliever it to our reception venue.. they were so nice and everything was done right over the phone since I live in florida and our wedding was in new orleans. talk about a peace of mind..
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
josey
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.9/5.0
Cakes were absolutely delicious!. Some of the girls are extremely helpful in helping you stay within your desired price range! Plenty of cake and flavors to choose from! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Everyone loved the cake. They all said it was fantastic taking and one of the most beautiful cakes they had ever seen. Our grooms cake was tiger stadium and everyone thought it was amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krcadkins
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.8/5.0
I loved my non-traditional wedding cake! Haydel's made us a traditional, 4 tier king cake. Our guests raved that they had never had a wedding cake this good. Even our NOLA guests raved about how fresh the cake tasted. I loved Haydel's already, but now I really love them. The website and phone service were super easy too. They also coordinated with my vendor for all the details. No stress on me!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NikkiM
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Haydel's bakery was very professional. They have tastings all of the time, and have someone sit with you to work out and price out your dream cake. Any problems were promptly fixed, and there were not too many to fix. They went the extra step and called me a few days before the wedding, because they saw the ribbon I had bought in and tested it because they thought it might turn out a color other than the one I wanted, and instead wanted to do a buttercream ribbon for me. The cake was gorgeous, and was the BEST and most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted! The service and product at Haydel's is really above all others.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
natalie56
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Haydel's Bakery provided our beautiful & delicious wedding cake. Great price, & an even better cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
In all of my observation and research I can't believe what people pay for wedding cake! You will not have that problem here. I would definitely recommend Haydel's for any bride, but especially the budget bride who wants good cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gia
Wedding:
5/7/2011
2.0/5.0
I selected Haydel’s because their wedding cake was included with the catering package at City Park. The first time I tried their cake was at the City Park food tasting; the cake they served was pretty and delicious. My husband and I went to Haydel’s for a tasting appointment soon after that event. The tasting went well, they brought out several slices of white cake with different fillings and our sales rep was friendly and helpful.
A month before the wedding, I made an appointment (a new policy they have) to change my cake order. I arrived on time and had to wait 30 minutes before someone helped me. Walk-ins were served before me because they had been waiting so long! When I was finally helped, I completely scratched my initial cake design and selected a cake that was in their display case. I had to pay additional fees for the cake I decided on. I was nervous because the girl helping me scratched out the previous order and wrote my new one on the same ticket. She said that she would re-write the ticket though.
Two weeks before the wedding, I went back to drop off the cake pulls. While I was there, I confirmed my changed cake order, because I was nervous about the scribbled changes that were all over my ticket. The person helping me said that they could clearly understand the changes (a new ticket was written) and that I was requesting a cake that was in their display case. Fast forward to the wedding reception – when my husband and I made our grand entrance into the reception, the first thing I saw was our large unfinished cake. I was so taken aback and upset, but I decided not to let that get me down. However, the cake was so plain; it really looked like they forgot what they were working on, packed the cake up and delivered it unfinished. I don’t understand how hard it is to recreate a cake that you have in your display case. It was only ivory butter cream icing and pearl dust, nothing out of the ordinary.
I called two weeks after the wedding to request a refund and was on hold for an hour, although I was “next in line” the entire wait. I called back again and was able to speak with a friendly manager who apologized for the error. She said that my ticket was correct and that the person decorating my cake misread the ticket. They credited me the full amount that I paid for the upgraded cake, but it took over a week for the credit to appear to my account. Needless to say, I would not recommend getting a cake from Haydel’s and will never purchase anything from them again. I’m still shocked that they were unable to recreate a cake that they have on display. I think they’re too busy trying to decorate over-the-top cakes and are neglecting the clients that are included in catering packages. Looking back, I wish that I had selected a different bakery but I trusted Haydel’s to do a good job since City Park selected them as their exclusive wedding cake vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aisha
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Haydel's made us a beautiful wedding cake at a great value. Also, they were very flexible and made a custom groom's cake for my husband's favorite baseball team. The most important aspect was...both cakes were absolutely delicious!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1299090694862-davejonesatthewedding
Victoria
Wedding:
2/26/2011
3.6/5.0
I ordered a tiered cake and was very disappointed when I was told that the biggest layer, the base, HAD to be almond-flavored--blah! Cake was extremely dry, especially the top layer, which just fell apart when plated. Fondant bow tasted nasty, but I was told by a guest that fondant generally does. I was grossly disappointed in how this cake tasted, but never got a cake tasting due to being from Chicago. Cake at least LOOKED pretty!
On the whole, Tanya was extremely responsive, professional and helpful with selection, pricing and other details. If I were to do it again, I'd do a tasting first and find out about options like cake pulls--does Haydel's even offer them? They should!
As I said, the cake looked wonderful, but I'm wondering if for more than $300 I could have gotten a more moist and flavorful cake for 35 people somewhere else, like Albertson's or Wal-mart.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Kelly
Wedding:
11/27/2010
4.9/5.0
Haydel\'s Bakery is the best! My cake came out perfect. They were fantastic to work with. Highly reccomend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
11/19/2010
5.0/5.0
They made us the most beautiful and delicious wedding cake--I was hesitant about using this bakery because I am from New Orleans, and I was not impressed with the tasting. However, the cake on the day of was absolutely delicious--moist--and they got creative per our instructions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.6/5.0
Haydel's bakery provided professional, organized services that made this portion of wedding planning very easy and stress-free. The cake was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
10/15/2010
4.8/5.0
Our wedding cake was provided by Haydel's. This was included as part of our catering contract at the St. Louis Hotel. We had a three tier cake, each one with a different filling flavor. Everyone commented on how great the cake was and even though it was pretty basic, I thought it was very pretty. The staff were very nice when we went out to taste cake and choose our design as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacie
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Our cake was as beautiful as it was delicious.
We received SO many compliments on both the taste and the design.
I couldn't have been more happy with the end results!!!

They were very easy to work with, responsive and everything went perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg1
Nish
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
HAYDEL'S DID JUST WHAT I ASKED AND THE CAKE WAS GREAT
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julie
Wedding:
6/11/2010
4.6/5.0
Delicious cake and good service! The only problem was that the cake was slightly different than what I asked for. I wanted fleur de lis' and dots all over the cake with yellow roses but they somehow forgot the fleur de lis'. It wasn't a big deal to me but I would check with them right before the event if you're set on something. They did a really nice job on the groom's cake, though, based on a picture we submitted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bbrunet2000
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.7/5.0
The cake was not the first thing on our list, but Haydel's made it beautiful and worry-free.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1246302990006-p5060461
wphipps
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Haydel's has a variety of cakes on their website and pictured in their shop. However, We had unique ideas for both the wedding cake and the groom's cake. We explained our ideas to Haydel's, who took great notes and made sure that they understood what we were picturing. One the day of the wedding, our cakes arrived on time and were everything we had imagined! They also tasted wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kourtney
Wedding:
4/9/2010
4.8/5.0
I got my cake from Haydel's Bakery through the Maison Dupuy Hotel, our ceremony venue, as part of the package. The cake turned out absolutely beautifully, and tasted DELICIOUS!!!! I couldn't have asked for anything better, and would definitely recommend Haydel's for any bakery needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abby
Wedding:
3/22/2010
4.8/5.0
Haydel's was included in our reception package. They were great about add ons that I wanted, which we did pay extra for. I appreciated the patience of the person who helped us when we went in to order. It took me a while to decide. They were also good about completely doing something different for the groom's cake which was not included in our package. They were really good about me changing the fillings I wanted a few months before the wedding and also added fondant details when I couldn't find a ribbon that I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janece
Wedding:
2/6/2010
3.9/5.0
I wanted a very simple cake. I feel their prices were a little expensive for what I wanted but I had little choice as I had to make a cake decision quickly. The cake was beautiful! They gave me exactly what I asked for. That is all a bride wants! :o) I provided them the cake decor and they decorated it perfectly.

Negative: I had a king cake display as I had a lot of out-of-towners. Haydels quoted a price for the king cake display. I paid that price. But, when I went to give them my filing requests, they wanted more money. I felt that if the price for filling was truly higher, they would have told me that before I paid for it. That was shady and a little strange.

Overall, they did a great job and the cake and king cake tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Haydels did an amazing job on our cake. I had a picture of what I wanted and the final outcome was even better than the picture. I was truly pleased with the cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1236708081066-picture038
Juanara
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Haydel's is famous for their cakes in New Orleans. My cake was so good, people was asking for more after the honeymoon. There is a flavor called "White Chocolate".....so good. I loved my cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1235744369625-100_2245
soon2bmrsB
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fantastic! It was so beautiful. We faxed them a pic of what we wanted the cake to look like and it turned out just as we imagined!!!! It was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1247558932239-trippy
kat_noel
Wedding:
8/15/2009
3.7/5.0
These people are the place to go for Louisiana pastries! However, if you're planning a wedding, just stick to the pastries and avoid buying the actual cake. They're good at what they do- king cakes, pralines- but that's about it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Amy
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved my cake from Haydel's. They did everything I asked for and people RAVED about how the cake tasted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1241155911859-vows
Tracy
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We picked out our wedding cake 6 months before the big day, and tried some samples...I wasn't totally impressed, but that all changed on our wedding day. Our cake looked amazing!!!! We even made it on our photog's cake bio thanks to Haydels. The cake was delicious!!!! They really did an wonderful job on it!!!! We also got our Groom's cake from them, they definitely did exactly what we wanted and it looked adorable!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1224728462391-sortplease044
ausner
Wedding:
4/11/2009
1.5/5.0
Although it tasted good, it was not what I asked for. Haydel's charged me extra to make exactly what I wanted (round dots on the cake made to look like pearls----not too difficult), and then they didn't do it. They simply piped some icing on and put flat dots on top of it. I had even given them a picture as an example of what I wanted, but what they gave me looked thrown together and was far from what I had asked for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/11/2009
5.0/5.0
fantastic cake! i wanted a cake that looked good but tasted amazing. i didn't want any of that waxy fondant icing. so i guess my cake was more the traditional route. they can do the fancy modern fondant stuff, but i of course recommend the regular wedding cake with fruit filling and their fluffy buttercream icing. it was to die for! not a slice left! my mother-in-law didn't even get a whole piece! everyone just inhaled it all.

and our groom's cake was so cute! and very very tasty. we had a fudge doberge cake which they decorated with golf items, little clubs and little golf balls, and a guy swinging his club.

they sit down with you when you come in and go over everything, show you pictures, let you taste all the fillings. i had to ask for the icing, but they gave me a big dollop to spread on the cake samples. very professional and patient. and very good value.

they also provide cake pulls that are very nice. they have sterling ones for a reasonable price. i went with cheaper, non-sterling ones that i bought somewhere else, but they would be worth it if you wanted to do the sterling ones.

the only thing i would say is to be careful not to get too small a cake. i wish we had gotten one that was a little bigger. that is of course because the cake is so good that everyone wants some! but they were perhaps a little conservative in how many people the cake would feed. maybe that's because the people cutting it were being too generous though!

best cake in town, wonderful people, great local family owned business. wouldn't buy cake from any other place
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rroseberry
Wedding:
3/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Haydels is Great!! The cost of our wedding cake was included in our reception package so we went there not expecting anything too extraordinary. But we were wrong! The cake tasted so good, I am still getting comments on how great the cake was. They decorated the cake exactly like we discussed at our appointment and we were so pleased!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1212980653715-photo_070107_003
JULIA
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.0/5.0
Beautiful Cake.. delicious. and my fiancee loved the Lakers Groomsmancake. We couldn't get red velvet, though... which was a disappointment.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nylabride
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.5/5.0
After all the horror stories I've heard of other bakeries I knew I had to go to the proven bakery time and time again. Haydel's was great, DH & I went in, tasted about five different flavors, picked three and gave them the photo of the cake I wanted and we were done! The cake didn't come out exactly how I wanted it, I thought some of the decorations looked a little weird but the taste of the cake definitely made up for it. The cake is wonderful! I didn't realize just how round they make their cakes, they look weird when it's only a 3 tier so make sure you know how it's going to look (roundness wise) when you go in for your tasting.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
darling
Wedding:
10/19/2008
5.0/5.0
i recieved many compliments on the taste of the cake, but the design was not exactly as i requested.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake was great and they did everything I asked for. The Grooms cake was perfect also
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
josie.b
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.8/5.0
A cake from selected bakeries was included in the package cost for our wedding, and we chose Haydel's. The cake was wonderful, simple but beautiful and tasty!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg8
kwhendrickson
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Yum!!! I can't wait to have our top during our 1 year anniversary because the cake was great. It looked exactly how we pictured and the groom's cake looked better than we pictured. They needed to make a small last minute change the day before and called to get our approval. We were very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.3/5.0
The wedding and groom's cake were so good that we literally did not have any left over!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tstrayer76
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
The groom's cake and wedding cake were both delicious and beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiff&Kelvin
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
The cakes were fantastic! They did exactly what we wanted for both of them. I don't really like cake, but I ate about 3 pieces of my cake b/c it tasted like heaven! lol
I had cake pulls delivered there after we made the order. I was worried, but they made it into the cake no problem! We also e-mailed picutres to them for them to use on the grooms cake. It all came out wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brandilou12
Wedding:
1/25/2008
4.2/5.0
Did a great job on my cake, looked beautiful. The only thing is they forgot to put the chocolate guitars I had made on the groom's cake so I was pretty upset with that, but they did a good job so just make sure they put everything on them
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
poops2223
Wedding:
12/22/2007
4.7/5.0
Haydel's Bakery was one of my original first choices to go with for my wedding. I looked at a few others, but Haydel's was the best for the money. The location is convenient and easy to locate, and the people are friendly and helpful. There is a wide variety of cakes (shapes, flavors, decorations, etc) to choose from, and the workers have plenty of advice to offer the future brides and grooms when choosing a cake (or cakes) for the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
12/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Haydel's was the bakery that was assigned to us by the reception hall. they were very helpful to give us exactly what we asked for. the cake was beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
12/1/2007
4.4/5.0
The only complaint I have for this company is that my cake was late for delivery and delayed everyone from getting dressed. They were late because they went to the wrong address. However, the cake was beautiful and just what I wanted. I had gone to a few bakeries to find one that would make me a red velvet cake and Haydel's Bakery was the only one that said yes. They make the impossible, possible! It was an all around great experience dealing with this company.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jstanton0876
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
I have never tasted a wedding cake like the one we had. I honestly pigged out on my wedding cake. I think I had at least 3 pieces at the wedding alone! Then we got to take about 3 - 4 boxes home with us. I was in HEAVEN.

Since we had our wedding at Southern Oaks Plantation, we had a voucher for our wedding cake. When I put in that we spent about 50 dollars, that was for extra things we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janessa
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.2/5.0
Wedding cake was beautiful - lots of choices for filling, shape, tiers, design. Came as a part of our package with the Omni Royal Orleans - only downfall was they were extremely busy so took a while to get an appointment, and fondant would have been an additional $1000+ for a 4-tier square cake - try the poured fondant instead, it's beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
genbugwoohoo
Wedding:
6/23/2007
5.0/5.0
my cake was wonderful. they did exactly what i wanted. i had a 4 tier cake and it was perfect. i had order a cake topper but it was on back order so we called the bakery to see if they could add flowers to the top of the cake to fill it in and they didnt not mind at all.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
4/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Haydel's bakery did a great job on my cake. I have absolutely no complaints. Everything was perfectly as I wanted it and it was delicious too. They also did the groom's cake with delicious chocolate covered strawberries. I heard great reviews from my guests at the reception. It was there on time, just the way I designed it, and delicious! What more could you ask for??
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CPA
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.3/5.0
We got the Grooms cake from here and since it was not king cake season at the time, I was appreciative that they were able to make it for us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
3/10/2007
4.7/5.0
Cake was beautiful!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tdjones1007
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
I absolutely LOVED working with Haydel's. We were able to customize our cake with every detail. The cake topper we chose was too heavy to go on the top tier, so they create space for it at top of the bottom tier. It was even more spectacular once we saw it. Friendly, always welcomed my many questions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauren
Wedding:
6/3/2006
4.9/5.0
They really have the best cakes. It wa sincluded in my reception hall rental.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rebecca
Wedding:
9/30/2005
4.7/5.0
Wonderful. tasty, i go there all the time now because everything is always great
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie102182
Wedding:
4/23/2005
4.2/5.0
Haydels bakery was very helpful. They made me feel comfortable and understood what I wanted. They flavor of the cake was amazing. I wish the design of the cake was alittle neater but for the most part it was exactly what I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
Our wedding cake and groom's cake both came from Haydel's. The cakes--white cake with lemon and amaretto fillings and butter cream icing for the wedding cake and a traditional chocolate on chocolate groom's cake--were fresh, delicious, and beautifully decorated. Overall the staff at Haydel's were easy to work with, but we did have to give a couple of follow-up calls to straighten out some details close to the wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Delicious! And exactly what I wanted! The grooms cake was awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was part of our ceremony package. We met with Haydels one time and looked at their selection in a book. They told us the prices and answered all of our questions.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We all know that their cakes are great period!!! Ima have to post pictures sorry none yet but my cake and grrom cake are still the talk of the town. Since i had a peacock theme i had a teal cake with peacock feathers gorgeous. the grooms ckae was the Saint Champoionship hat fantastic i must say. They did a great job and completed my vision. Tonya was great to work with!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1250802986878-3
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Haydel's is by FAR the best cake and value you can get in New Orleans. Our wedding cake and the red velvet petit fours that served as our groom's cake were seriously the best cake I've ever had. I looked around at a few other places in New Orleans, and Haydel's was MUCH cheaper than Sucre for the same cake, and also they didn't charge a two delivery fees to deliver to the French Quarter like Gambino's. Haydel's is the place to go for a wedding cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
They were great, the cake was really good and very pretty, the only reason they didn't get 5 star was that they dropped our cake at the venue 4 hours early without telling us which cause a little last minute confusion but all and all I would use then again. I got a great cake for a very reasonable price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Their cake is amazing!! I was very happy with the wedding cake decor and value. I priced around other bakeries and although some had better tasting bread...Haydel's had better fillings and the value was unbeatable. I definitely recommend them if you want a beautiful, classic cake with a yummy taste. I will say that for the groom's cake I wasn't happy with the piping (not because of quality just artistic choice) but otherwise it looked amazing. We got tons and tons of compliments. I even have a friend who swears by nothing but Ambrosia in Baton Rouge and she couldn't stop saying how amazing the cake was. Definitely recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Very easy to work with and cakes were very beautiful
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I did not do a cake. We didn't want to cut one or feed it to each other- instead we had an oyster bar and fed eachother oysters. But you still have to have dessert. We did a mini dessert bar instead and everyone raved about the options!! First it was so much cheaper than a cake & if it's not your thing than why blow the money. Next it looked beautiful and fun- my mom put each option on a different platter at differnt levels and it looked so elegant and fun!! They have amazing options for minis- the most out of all the bakery's I lookeds at in the area & they are a New Orleans household name!! My in-laws are foodie people and they kept complimenting our choice on the desserts! I've also heard they do amazing cakes- if that's what you're looking for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were very happy with our cakes. The staff at Haydel's was very nice when we met to make our cake choices. The bride's cake was a regular three tiered cake. It turned out beautiful and was exactly what I wanted. I heard guests commenting on how moist and light it was. The groom's cake was a tiered king cake. We also received many compliments on the king cake. We would definitely recommend Haydel's.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Haydel's were so nice when we came in to pick out our wedding cake and groom's cake. They were very knowledgeable about what they could and could not do. The cake tasted amazing and turned out just as I asked.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
B8
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
We didn't want a super elaborate cake, so we selected a three tier square cake for 150 people with textured buttercream icing. We paid around $325 for it. I felt that the price was very reasonable, and I liked the tasting process. You don't have to pay to do a tasting or even schedule an appointment (though if you show up without one, expect to wait). Our cake tasted even better at the wedding than it did at the tasting. They also made our grooms cake which was spectacular. I'm not sure if this is still the case, but at the time we placed our order, you could choose from a variety of fillings but there was only one flavor option for the actual cake. That was okay with me since we had planned on a white cake anyway, but if you have your heart set on an exotic cake (or anything other than white cake), this may not be the place for you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.5/5.0
I can’t even begin to express how disappointed and utterly mortified I felt at my reception when I saw that the bride and groom’s initials, outlined by a heart on the top tier of our cake, were not our initials. The only solace I felt was that I didn’t choose a huge or dark font. First, this company handled the situation unprofessionally because I found out that they learned about the mistake before I even brought it to their attention, but they didn’t attempt to contact me. They didn’t try to correct it on their own by calling me to apologize or anything. Second, they actually said they didn’t know what to do about it. They didn’t offer us anything in consolation at first. Ultimately, all that they offered us, for a cake that cost $900, was $50. They said that was “all they could do.” I think it’s pretty obvious that I’ll be taking my business to another baker in the future. I’m not really sure what this company’s thought process was, but I felt like insult had been added to injury, as their offer was less than a 6% discount for a colossal error. Even if they honestly misinterpreted the order, that's their error; I wasn't responsible for making the cake. The situation is kind of a shame because my decision to seek another baker has more to do with how I was treated as a customer than the actual product.
They may be able to make you a beautiful cake; our groom’s cake was, in fact, very cool. Yet, in my opinion, this company failed to take ownership of a problem that occurred with their product that we purchased, and I didn’t feel at all satisfied with the customer service I received from the top or their offer to remedy a bad situation. I should have been contacted by management, who should have given me a formal apology, and who should have extended a better offer to me to show that they actually cared about my business. However, that is not what I received. Had that been what I received, then maybe this review would have been written a little bit differently.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.4/5.0
Haydels made my wedding and grooms cake. The wedding cake was simple and basic however the grooms cake was supposed to be a replica of a boat. We sent them numerous pictures of the boat and kept in contact to make sure everything would be as we wanted it. The grooms cake looked like a 4th graders clay project. It looked nothing like the boat other than the colors. It was pieces of fondont (or whatever they use to make cake decorations) rolled up and slapped on half way falling off. It looked horrible!! This cake was embarrassing & I would have rather had no cake at all! I don't know who decorated this cake but they should find a new job.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1327727732492-img952954
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake was simply delicious and beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1310782115627-078jessengeur6451
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
Although the final product tasted great, they seem a little everywhere with no scheduling and the taste test is not a great preview of the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1347853052834-us
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Couldnt have been happier with my cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenia
Wedding:
7/3/2004
3.9/5.0
The cake was not exactly as I requested, but it was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shanlynn79
Wedding:
10/25/2003
5.0/5.0
THEY DID AND EXCELLENT JOB WITH MY CAKE AND MY GROOMS CAKE! I LOVED IT!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
McNewMom
Wedding:
5/23/2003
5.0/5.0
Our cake was perfect. We showed them a picture from a magazine & they did it exactly!! And our groom's cake was excellent. We provided the WWE toy wrestling ring & they made the perfect grooms cake out of it -- bride against groom!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
4037 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70121 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Haydel's Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220