Nophoto-130

Helen Bohn Bridals

Washington Twn

LOCATION

washington twn, US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Absolutely loved Helen Bohn! Unfortunately, the owner retired and closed the store - but the entire staff was amazing! They were recommended to me by an old friend. The first time I went in, I didn't fall in love with anything. The second time I went in, I had a different view of what I wanted my dress to be. My consultant pulled out a dress and my jaw dropped! This was in February and the store was closing in a few months. By April, I had my dress sized, altered and hanging in my closet for my October wedding! They moved a little quickly during the final fitting, but I just spoke up and asked questions to make sure the dress would fit exactly how I wanted it to.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.2/5.0
DO NOT GO THERE!!! I BOUGH MY DRESS RECENTLY AND JUST GOT A NOTICE THAT THEY ARE CLOSING THEIR DOORS. NOT FLEXIBLE WITH RETURNING MONEY. WARNING THEY ARE STILL ADVERTISING AS RUNNING ON NORMAL HOURS. OWNER VERY NASTY OLD LADY FROM THE VERY BEGINNING. I REGRET NOT LISTENING TO PRIOR NEGATIVE REVIEWS
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Loved them! No high pressure sales they are so nice and ALL alterations are included in the price so there are zero surprises later.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.2/5.0
I had a great experience with one of the younger sales employees of Helen Bohn Bridals, she was very patient and showed me the exact dresses I was looking for when choosing. The fittings went pretty well, although I would have appreciated a bit more flexibility from some of the staff, namely the older lady that works in the office. My family had been in the process of moving out of state, and suffered two sudden deaths in the family, so our small final payment had to be made over the phone, and the woman was actually rude to my mother about it and insisted it be made in cash. I find this a bit excessive and inappropriate. But I'm happy with my dress, it came out beautifully and fit perfectly. With alterations included you won't find a better deal in the area!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.6/5.0
I absolutely loved my dress and feel that Helen Bohn did a great job at altering my dress. I searched around and they seemed to be the best deal seeing that alterations were included in the price. My only complaint is that I had to go for my fittings at times that caused me to leave work early and were difficult for my bridesmaids to make. Overall I was very happy though!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeanrtco
Wedding:
11/18/2011
3.8/5.0
Loved my daughters bridal gown, alterations on her gown went perfect, but my MOB gown was a problem. Loved the gown, however on first fitting 1 month before wedding, I needed about 1/4 inch hem that is all, returned 2 weeks later (final fitting), and my daughter's was perfect, my seamtress(different one from my daughter) cut 2-3 inches from the bottom, you could see my ankles, even on the hanger you could see the netting hanging out and it was crooked. I wasn't gonna make a big deal, as did not want to upset my daughter so I said I would wear flat shoes, she was going to trim the netting. On the way out my daughter told the owner and my sales person, they immediately wanted to see, and said it was unacceptable and they would fix it. So went back 1 week before wedding, now it was too long, they had removed pleatting to lengthen, seamstress came in to repleat, scheduled pickup only 6 days later one day before wedding, with daughter in tow and a bridesmaid, i tried it on, still too long, so we had to wait in the shop an hour, on one of our busiest days, my daughter was very unhappy, but eventually it all worked out and we were on our way. So they would get a 5 for my daughter's gown, but significantly lower for mine. i will say yes to recommending as long as you make sure your alterations are done earlier.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
11/13/2011
3.4/5.0
The older lady was very rude. The other 2 employees, I think her daughters, were awesome. I wanted this experience to have good memories and the older lady skewed my review. She was very cold, like I was wasting her time. She was even rude to my mother! My dress was beautiful and the price was right also!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mellybean36
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.3/5.0
I got my dress and veil at Helen Bohn, and my bridesmaids got their dresses and my mom got her dress here as well. We were very happy with our service and the alterations. My only complaint was that 3 days before the wedding when I went for my final fitting, the dress's hem was not complete! There were still pins at the bottom. I was stressed to start, so this wasn't so helpful. But they fixed it right away and I was able to pick it up the day before the wedding. Otherwise, they are a great little bridal salon. They carry Le-ann Belter dresses - one of the few stores in the area to do so - which is a great designer with beautiful dresses. They also gave us a discount on our bridesmaid dresses because we got my dress there. Definitely recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsfitz
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
When I went back to try my dress on a year after I bought it, I felt a bit uncomfortable with the strapless, sweetheart neckline. The women at Helen Bohn worked me with once a week (!) every week up until the wedding until I was perfectly comfortable, and I felt beautiful on my wedding day.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1282407061785-robnmecincodemayo2006
Jamie
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Couldn't have picked a better store. Helen Bohn found me the perfect dress and then when I found out I was pregnant 5 months later they continually altered it to fit my growing belly perfectly. They were so nice and I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelly115
Wedding:
1/15/2011
0.0/5.0
Hated my experience with these people. I came from Florida to look at dresses with my family, and we had our first appointment here. They told me over the phone that they had the dresses I was looking for (a specific Maggie Sottero) but they didn't. Okay, I tried on other dresses that were similar and fell in love with one. We said that we had other places we had appointments at, but would probably come back and get this dress the next day. The woman said no problem and gave us the price of the dress, which would be the sample dress. We didn't find anything better and went back to purchase the dress... and they were charging us $300 more! We asked why it was more expensive and they told us we were never told the original price of the dress. Well, I called everyone that was there that day and asked them how much she said the dress would be and they all said the cheaper price. They called us "liars!"!!! I was astounded!! They weren't willing to work with us at all. They could have just thrown in the bustle and we would have paid the extra money... but instead they called us liars!! We tried to get the dress name but the woman refused to give it to us. Because of their HIDEOUS customer service, we refused to buy the dress from them and went elsewhere. I highly recommend that you do NOT shop at this place and find somewhere with better customer service, that will NOT call you a liar after 5 different people confirm that you are NOT lying. Hated every minute of my experience with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1291660404507-0472
Meredyth
Wedding:
1/8/2011
4.9/5.0
Alice and Leena at Helen Bohn were wonderful to work with!! Alice's expertise was invaluable--she helped me choose a dress that worked perfectly for me. Then Leena did some alterations--once she was done, the fit was amazing!! She also added some extra touches such as a loop with which to carry the train and tiny bits of colored thread to help match up the buttons to the proper loops for bustling. The dress arrived earlier than promised and the alterations were completed quickly. A++++
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noemi
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I do not know where to even start. Helen Bohn's ENTIRE team are all just truly great people to work with. When I went for my first appointment to look at dresses, I had brought pictures. I met with Alice who knew right away what I was looking for and brought me a dress that I didn't even bring a picture of. She just knew that this dress would work for me and when I saw the tears in my mother-in-law's eyes and my sister-in-law's eyes, I knew it was my dress. From the ordering, to alterations and bustling... everything was just perfect. I plan to go back to them in the next week or so to have them preserve my dress.

I wish I could give Helen Bohn more stars if the website allowed. Their quality = Great, Selection = Outstanding, Service = SUPERB!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TBSWedding
Wedding:
7/3/2010
3.9/5.0
I found my dream dress at Helen Bohn and was quite pleased with the alterations that I had made. Service depends on who you deal with, as there are very different personalities presented. The main woman I worked with was absolutely lovely, but there were others who were downright nasty.

My bridesmaids had varying experiences, but in the end, all was well and everyone looked beautiful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1229561363656-facebook2
imLissy
Wedding:
1/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I found my dress elsewhere, but ordered from Helen Bohn because they were just so awesome the three times I went there to look at dresses and the alterations are included with the price of the dress.
They'll really spend a lot of time with you and help you find the perfect dress.
The seamstress was awesome and did an amazing job with the alterations.
My mom ordered her dress from them as well and was happy with the results.
You need to make an appointment to try on dresses and they only take cash or certified check for the final payment.
Only negative is that they don't allow you to take pictures.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
11/27/2009
3.4/5.0
I had both a positive and negative experience with Helen Bohn Bridals.

My positive experience was with my bridesmaids dresses. I went with my mom and my 2 maids of honors to pick out dresses for all the girls. We were there from 630-closing and the woman who helped us was amazing. She stayed with us the entire night, helped us pick out styles and even showed us the color swatches and gave us the website to look it up on our phones to see how each color would look. We ended up ordering 7 bridesmaids dresses and 2 flower girl dresses from them and gave them a ton of business. They were excellent with supplying me with the swatches to match the tuxes to them and they came in well in advance from when the wedding was.

My negative experience was with my gown and the fitting of the bridesmaids dresses. I thought since they did such an amazing job helping my girls with their dresses that I should give them my business for my gown. After I tried on a ton of dresses, I thought I found the dress for me. It was beautiful and it fit me perfectly. So I asked to try it on 1 last time to make my final decision… well she told me no! How do you tell a customer, a bride, no! She said it was time to close and they didn’t have enough time to have me try it on one last time (even though I probably would have bought it right there). She told me to make another appt so I told her I would call once I knew my schedule. When I got outside to leave I looked at the time and they still had 20 minutes left before they closed, so it wasn’t closing time yet, plus there was NO ONE in the place at all so it wasn’t like they were busy. This completely shocked me because she was so amazing with the girls dresses the week before. Even though I loved that dress, I refused to get my gown there since I was treated that way.

The 2nd negative experience was with some of the dress fittings for my girls. I would say it was a 50/50 pos/neg experience with each one of them. A few of them had no problems but the other half had major problems with how they were fitted. I’m not sure if 2 different people were doing the fittings or what it was. I saw both my maids of honor get measured for their dresses. The consultant insisted that they get the higher size bc the dress would fit them better that way based on the material. When they got their dresses in and we all went to the fitting, the dresses were literally 2 sizes too big. I made sure they wouldn’t be charged extra for the fitting since it was the consultants fault that they ordered the bigger size. Luckily no one had to pay extra. My 2nd maid of honors dress got fitted wayyy too small for her, it wouldn’t even zipper up when she went for the final fitting and it was only 2 weeks later so she didn’t gain that much weight, but luckily they fixed it. The last issue was with 1 of my flower girls. Because children grow a lot more than we do they suggested we order a bigger size for the girls, which I understood but turns out they ordered 2 sizes too big for 1 of the flower girls and the dress wouldn’t have looked right on her with all the alterations they had to do. I do not know the entire story about this because I wasn’t told this happened until after the wedding just so I wouldn’t freak out. Turns out they ended up ordering an entirely new dress because the mother of the flower girl refused to pay that much in alterations because they made the mistake so they ordered a brand new dress free of charge.

Overall I was happy with the way the bridesmaids dresses came out in the end. The customer service wasn't that bad but at points but i was dissapointed with a few things. We were told to use this place by a friend of my mother’s but I wish I had read reviews on this place before going there because a lot of reviews stated they were rude and have made lots of mistakes before and I did find that to be the case sometimes but not all.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ally22
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.5/5.0
My dress was beautiful and they did a wonderful job altering it. I had lost alot of weight from when I purchased the dress and they had no problem altering the dress for free.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Helen Bohn by a friend and had a wonderful experience working with their team. From my initial visit working with Alice, I sincerely appreciated her patience and honest feedback. Within 2 dresses, she completely understood what I was looking for (a class deep v neck and back in a sea of strapless!) and found me my perfect dress. The dress (Paloma Blanca) is truly beautiful and Alice took me (and my Mom, my Aunt and Cousin) through the special details of the dress to explain to us (honestly without a sales pitch) what made the dress so beautiful in terms of craftsmanship.

The entire team at Helen Bohn was extremely professional and courteous in assisting my Mom and me through finding beautiful dresses. They were attentive and responsive to any question that developed. My fittings went flawlessly and any alterations were included in the price (which I have heard is not "the norm"). My wedding dress was fitted perfectly for my body and there was no indication it had been altered at all.

One of the best compliments I received on my wedding day was that my dress "looked like me" and "reflected my style and personality." What could have been an overwhelming process was enjoyable and exciting in working with Helen Bohn. I am extremely pleased and happy I followed up on that referral! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Helen Bohn Bridals
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220