Nophoto-130

Heller Specialty Cakes

Geneseo , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

16893 N 2250th Ave
Geneseo, IL US 61254 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maddie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Laurie bakes DELICIOUS cakes. We got one decorated white cake with raspberry frosting - my favorite - as well as a chocolate sheet cake and a carrot sheet cake. There were no left overs and we got a ton of compliments on the cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose to go with three flavors of cupcakes with a small topper cake for us to cut instead of a traditional wedding cake. They tasted amazing and looked as good as they tasted. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the flavors
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We were incredibly pleased with Heller Cakes! Laurie truly went above and beyond for our special day, plus the cake tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Delicious!! Very easy to communicate with and had no problems with some adjustments I made a week or so before.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Laurie Heller with Heller Cakes made some deliciously awesome cupcakes for our wedding! The taste testing of the cupcake flavor was my husband's favorite part of planning the whole wedding. We ordered over a hundred cupcakes and they were very reasonable for the price. We will definitely order more cakes and cupcakes from Heller again in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CONNIE
Wedding:
1/21/2012
4.9/5.0
HELLER CAKES DID BOTH OF MY DAUGHTERS WEDDINGS AND THE CAKES WERE BEAUTIFUL AND SO SO DELICIOUS!! ALSO SHE MADE DOZENS OF COOKIES FOR THE MOST RECENT WEDDING IN JAN 2012 THE COOKIES WERE A BIG HIT AND AGAIN SO DELICIOUS SHE DOES A GREAT JOB AND HAD THE MOST DELICIOUS CAKES EVER

HATS OFF TO HER THANK YOU FOR MAKING THE WEDDING A HIT

CONNIE A
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and so tasty!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tiakevinwedding
Wedding:
2/15/2011
0.9/5.0
Buyer Beware!

At first when I read the other reviews for this bakery I was shocked by my poor experience. However, looking at the dates I realize that no one has posted a current review of this bakery. I believe that since Laurie's business has grown she has quit caring about her customers.

I recently became aware of a in home bakery that makes fantastic cakes in Geneseo. My fiancé and I were ecstatic when we went for a taste testing and booked our wedding cakes at Heller Specialty Cakes. We ordered 3 sheet cakes from the bakery. Laurie Haller the owner was a little resistant in our order. She kept trying to convince us to order a big expensive tiered wedding cake, for a reception we were having 5 hours away in St. Louis! Later that evening when I got home I opened an e-mail from her saying that she wasn’t really interested in making sheet cakes for a wedding. She stated they take too much time and are not worth the money. I promptly called my fiancé. He called Laurie Haller and tried to cancel our order since she had stated that she wasn’t interested in making our cakes. We were terrified that our wedding day would come and she would not provide the service we had contracted. Now she is refusing to give us our $50 deposit back or make any kind of cake for us. I think it shows very unethical business practices on her part and I want all future wedding cake shoppers in the Geneseo area to be advised to her unethical practices. Don’t book a cake with this bakery, they will take your money and then refuse to provide services!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Jacquelyn
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.7/5.0
She was very good to work with. She knew how to work within a budget but still create a beautiful cake. And from what I heard it tasted great too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelliejo83
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.7/5.0
Laurie was great to work with and we thought her prices were very reasonable. We had cupcakes instead of a cake (because I've never really liked traditional wedding cake) and it was very cost effective for us. Delivery and set up was included, which was a great deal for us because we wanted 1 cupcake at each place setting. She worked with the reception hall to make sure they were all set up upon delivery.

In calling to confirm about a week before the wedding, she had the wrong number of cupcakes, but it was very easily fixed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.1/5.0
I ordered cupcakes as my centerpieces and a mini tiered cake for my head table. They were amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hterry85
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.2/5.0
Felexibility could not receive a higher rating, because you have to drive to Geneseo to meet with her, but it does end up being worth the drive!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KatieEph
Wedding:
1/12/2008
4.8/5.0
Our cake was REALLY tasty and beatiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/29/2007
4.4/5.0
Laurie was absolutely wonderful to work with. She is very flexible with meeting with you. I went on an evening after work and she was able to accommodate everything for me. I brought in a few pictures of elements I liked from other cakes and she was able to combine them to make a truly unique and gorgeous cake for us. Unfortunately our cake fell!! She set it up at 1:00 and it fell around 4:00. The DJ was the only one who saw it. We aren’t quite sure what happened, but it was done-for. We explained everything to Laurie and she immediately gave us a full refund. She is going to make another cake for us for our photographer to take pictures, and then make another cake topper for our anniversary. She also gave us all our money back. I’m sad I wasn’t able to see it before it fell, but Laurie was extremely gracious and is wonderful to work with!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
16893 N 2250th Ave, Geneseo, IL 61254 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Heller Specialty Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo