Nophoto-220
Hel's Kitchen Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
15 Reviews
Address:
3027 Commercial Ave.
Northbrook, IL US 60062 (map)
Phone:
847-205-5125
Categories:
 
 
 
4.8 
(4.9/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.9/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.8/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.8/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.9/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/8/2012
 
4.8 out of 5.0
My husband and I had a WONDERFUL experience with Hel's Kitchen! Amazing food for our cocktail hour and reception. They were extremely flexible with our wants/needs. We wanted a pasta course (a MUST for my Italian family) - DONE no problem. We wanted a signature drink that needed to be a slushy consistency- DONE, they even rented a slushy machine to make sure it stayed this consistency for the entire cocktail hour... whey were a HIT! We wanted late night snacks with a tater-tot bar- DONE!!!! Even when we went in for the tasting and I told them i wanted some type of spinach with our filet, they whipped it up in a matter of minutes for us to try. The quality of the food was top notch and our guests raved about how every piece of food the entire night was warm, prepared and displayed professionally and just plain tastey! I've been to a TON of weddings in my lifetime, and I have to say our food was the best... but i may be a little biased :) Wait staff was polite and professional. We paid a pretty penny for the entire experience, but it was completely worth it. The only complaint I had the entire night was that there was a pretty big gap between the intermezzo course and the main course... our guests were getting a little restless. But overall, we thoroughly enjoyed working with Hel's and their staff. Big two thumbs up!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heine
Wedding:
9/10/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We had our wedding at A New Leaf on 9.10.11. We chose Hel's Kitchen as our caterer and loved every moment of the planning process with them! It all had to do with Nikee.

She was our point person from the beginning and the process couldn't have been smoother! She is so sweet, flexible, and accommodating! She truly 'got' us! She nailed the menu from the start, listened to all of our needs, and perfected every little detail. My husband loved them for the detailed breakdown of the costs and how really worked with our budget!

Nikee never once let her guard down, she was always pleasant, smiling, and positive. Any bride needs a person like Nikee and any catering company needs a person like her! Nikee also had a great partner who was so wonderful to work with as well, Sandy was just as fabulous if Nikee was away!

Our walk through at the venue was wonderful, she really helped me breakdown the set up, she helped me with my ideas, my needs for decor, and really knew the venue to give me advice on how everything would work! It makes any bride feel great to know that she can make things happen and make it look beautiful!

The day of our wedding, I walked in and just LOVED the linens! My ideas and her input made it come to life and look gorgeous! Everything was set up just right and made the venue traffic just flow easily. The food got rave reviews! Our guests said it was the best wedding food ever! Everywhere we went, everyone complimented us on the food! It was such a wonderful feeling to know we chose the right caterer, menu, and our guests were just beaming over the food!

Anyone who needs a fabulous caterer, fantastic food, and the friendliest person to work with need to go to Hel's Kitchen! My husband and I were very satisfied and happy...we had a perfect wedding day thanks in part to Nikee and Hel's!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Firefly
Wedding:
7/9/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hel's Kitchen far exceeded our expectations and our guests are still talking about how good the food was. Nikee was great to work with and did a fantastic job coordinating the food and drinks for our wedding. We knew we wanted a buffet and were able to look through their options on their website. They were very flexible in letting us add or change items to fit what we wanted.
For our cocktail hour we did three different appetizers (bacon-wrapped chorizo-stuffed dates, beef-wrapped asparagus, and parmesan artichoke dip) as well as a Sushi Station which included a sushi chef making rolls for guests on the spot.
Dinner was a buffet with chicken, fish, potatoes and grilled vegetables. We had a plated salad and bread baskets served tableside. They let us bring in our wedding cake. Since we did a buffet we were able to take home the leftovers and they were delicious!
One of the best things Hel's Kitchen did was to make sure my husband and I got a plate of the appetizers (including the sushi) and a pre-made plate at dinner so that we were able to eat some of the food at the wedding. We were very happy with their service and would definitely use them again for another special event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
6/11/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I just got married on June 11th at Promontory Point in Chicago (Hyde Park neighborhood) Hel's Kitchen was our caterer, and they were AWESOME! From the beginning, my husband and I knew we had a pretty strict budget, but also wanted something romantic and picnic-y to go with our reception sight and laidback personalities. Nicolle Fellows was our event coordinator and she was a dream to work with. All the other reviews praising her are completely accurate. Nikee is sweet, knowledgeable, professional and worked with us so that we could fit our budget and have the perfect wedding reception.
The food at our reception was delicious, our tasting was lovely and Hel's kitchen staff was fabulous! During our reception, Sandy was overseeing things and she made sure each little detail went off without a hitch. We did a lot of DIY things for our tables & Hel's allowed us to drop it off the day before and they set up everything prior to our guests arriving. Flowers, candles, favors...they really went above and beyond. One of the servers made sure I had wine every time I ran out. He got me lots of salmon canapes when we first arrived at the reception which was so important because I barely got to eat prior to that. It made me a very happy bride. The bartenders even opened up and set out lots of bottles of beer so the conga line we took by it would not be parched.
I cannot say enough good things about Hel's, Nikee and all the staff who were at my wedding. I highly recommend Hel's Kitchen!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1255634736106-candb
carolynandbrian
Wedding:
10/23/2010
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hel's Kitchen was simply amazing for our wedding on October 23, 2010. I had the greatest time working with Nikee, and she was absolutely as sweet as could be with all of my last minute changes, requests, details, questions, etc. etc. I couldn't say anything that would be "too nice" for the group that was staffing our event, either. The food was prepared impeccably and the front of the house was top notch. Every little detail was taken care of, and we truly felt like guests at our own wedding. I highly suggest anyone who is looking for a caring, creative and unique catering experience to call Nikee, you will be stunned with the results.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hooray for Nikee!!!! The food at our wedding ROCKED. We wanted a vegetarian wedding and, early on, we started to doubt that decision because we were worried our meat-eating friends and family would be faint with iron-deprivation halfway through the cocktail hour. Nikee reassured us that we could have a kick-butt vegetarian buffet that would leave no one missing meat. And oh did Hel's deliver! The food was AWESOME - our guests were raving about it and everyone was stuffed. What we really appreciated, however, was how warm, friendly and flexible Nikee was. She was fun to work with, she was easy with recommendations that would help us save money, and we trusted her 100%. We nevereverever felt like we were being ripped off and Nikee was always quick to get back to us, answer out nutty questions, and all the other vendors she recommended (cake, flowers, liquor) ended up being awesome too. We had a small snafu with our liquor delivery and Nikee went out of her way to work it out for us, even though it was our problem to deal with. Should we need a caterer again, we will DEFINITELY go with Hel's. THANK YOU NIKEE!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/18/2010
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We used Hel's Kitchen as our caterer for our wedding reception at the Redfield Estate at the Grove. It was one of the best decisions we made. Living in Denver, we had to do a lot of our wedding planning over email & the phone. Our coordinator, Nikee, did a fantastic job helping us throughout the planning process. I was even more impressed by how smoothly our reception ran. The food was amazing! The staff was so friendly, helpful and attentive to all our guests. Everything worked out just beautifully! Hel's Kitchen went above and beyond to make sure my husband & I, as well as our guests, were taken care of throughout the whole evening. I cannot express how pleased I was with their services. I would highly recommend them and I will use them again if we ever do another event in Chicago.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ramjrm
Wedding:
6/5/2010
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We had a great experience with Hel's Kitchen. We had our wedding at the Kenilworth Club, where Lisa recommended Hel's Kitchen. Jillian from Hel's Kitchen was WONDERFUL! The food was great, everything was perfect. We used Hel's Kitchen for our linens as well and they were beautiful. I 100% recommend Hel's Kitchen and Jillian, who again was simply a pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/17/2010
 
4.0 out of 5.0
My experience with Hel's was almost fantastic. I used them for my June 2010 outdoor buffet wedding with table served beverages and passed appetizers.

The pre-event service was beyond a 5.0 Star rating. My coordinator was Nikee and she was far more patient than necessary. Between my husband, my mother, and myself, we were more than a handful, and Nikee was really patient, and flexible.

On the other hand, the wait staff, not as great. I used to cater in high school, and I know how tough it is, but you're not supposed to let the clients see it. The crew they sent didn't seem to flow very well together, and I'm not sure if they'd worked together before.

In the end though, the food was fantastic, it was what we needed it to be - casual, fun, and tasty!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1243650012015-n1475634584301592897306091
lunazzurra
Wedding:
5/24/2009
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hel's Kitchen was awesome to work with! Nikee was my coordinator, and she was just great. So friendly and so on top of things (even with a 3 mo. old baby!). I loved her! On the day of, they showed up way early and were well underway setting up by the time I arrived at 2 PM. They all worked quickly and courteously. Our supervisor for the night, Kelly, was just SUCH a gentleman. He really went above and beyond. When it was discovered that Sam's had shorted us all the red wine we ordered, he walked down the street to Treasure Island and bought a bunch of wine for us. He was so sweet and seemed like a great guy to work for. Our bartender was really nice as well, though I can't remember her name. No one complained about the service, and most importantly, EVERYONE LOVED THE FOOD. We had several people tell us that it was the best wedding food they'd ever had, and it was a buffet! Yay for Hel and his kitchen!!
Services Used: Catering
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hel's Kitchen Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo