130x130 sq 1414532324166 full reso castel rear crop
(9)

Henderson Castle

Kalamazoo , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

100 Monroe St
Kalamazoo, MI 49006 US (map)

PHONE

269-344-1827

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

You have been dreaming all your life about this special moment. You are a princess after all and yes, you deserve the ultimate experience at The Henderson Castle. Your Castle that you... Read more
You have been dreaming all your life about this special moment. You are a princess after all and yes, you deserve the ultimate experience at The Henderson Castle. Your Castle that you may ''own " for a once in a lifetime experience.

Called the Jewel of Kalamazoo, and ranked the top historic bed and breakfast in Michigan by AAA, the grandeur of this 11,000 square foot Queen-Ann style mansion, sitting on 4 acres, offers an intriguing blend of architectural, artistic, antique as well as modern amenities, including wireless access. Heated marble floors, crystal chandeliers, gorgeous leaded and stained glass windows, fiber optic accents, a sauna, steam room and rooftop hot tub make the Castle a haven in the city and a romantic dream come true.

A National historical landmark, we received the Best of Weddings award 2013 from the Knot Magazine and were nominated by WWMT Newschannel 3 as Southwest Michigan’s Most Beloved Romantic Getaway in 2013.

Here at the Castle we take pride in delivering a one of a kind experience for both the Bride and Groom. Our specially designed wedding packages provide an exceptional experience and value for all weddings.


The Henderson Castle B & B is now owned by Master Chef Francois Moyet, acquired in 2011, and operates as a full bed and breakfast with a French restaurant, organic garden, vineyard and day spa. The castle offers 10 distinctive guest rooms. Under Francois’ ownership, the castle is now accessible to the community.

Francois Moyet earned his Master’s Degree in culinary arts in France, where he was born. Moyet was the owner of three restaurants in Paris until he and his family came to Kalamazoo in 1995. He immediately opened a restaurant and due to its success soon opened the second. After selling his enterprises, Moyet earned his naturopathic medicine degree in 2011.

When the opportunity arose he combined both of his unique service-oriented talents when he purchased the 116 year old Victorian home and created the Henderson Castel Bed & Breakfast and Naturopathic Spa.

The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and tours are also available. The castle is a prime location for couples on their wedding day offering elegant atmosphere, superb cuisine and experienced staff. A myriad of events take place at the castle allowing the community to enjoy this majestic place that has been a part of Kalamazoo for decades.


The Henderson Castle is not just a bed and breakfast, it is a royal destination and an experience you will never forget. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1414531982423 full reso castel rear crop
130x130 sq 1334904852065 9
130x130 sq 1414531760035 haunting masquerade 88
130x130 sq 1414531784309 wine cave
130x130 sq 1334904861601 5
130x130 sq 1414531765594 gazebo
130x130 sq 1414531818260 full reso bride
130x130 sq 1334904883133 images
130x130 sq 1366138257802 the henderson castle bed  breakfast
130x130 sq 1334904844744 imagescaaqux0x
130x130 sq 1366138473829 images
130x130 sq 1366138599475 dsc0176ed
130x130 sq 1334904717440 picture189
130x130 sq 1414531774832 stock castle
130x130 sq 1414531794594 01
130x130 sq 1414531797749 25
130x130 sq 1414531829794 dining room
130x130 sq 1414531850332 chandelier
130x130 sq 1414532097066 60
130x130 sq 1366132279381 dsc0176ed 2
130x130 sq 1366132409226 wedding henderson ten 2012 2
130x130 sq 1366132435965 the henderson castle bed  breakfast
130x130 sq 1366137966021 images 4
130x130 sq 1366137974248 images 5
130x130 sq 1366137984432 images 6
130x130 sq 1366137996686 images 8
130x130 sq 1366138013584 images 7
130x130 sq 1366138022289 images
130x130 sq 1414532103520 cake
130x130 sq 1414532189823 gr bride vendor profile
130x130 sq 1414532212346 haunting20masquerade 105
130x130 sq 1414532423317 39
130x130 sq 1414532445336 haunting masquerade 70
130x130 sq 1414532454640 53

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1895
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
Eclectic, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
125
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
10
Number of suites
2
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
5500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

When was your venue built?
1895
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
City, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
10
Number of suites
2
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
5500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here at the castle on Dec 22nd 2013 and I can't say how much we loved it! Everything was gorgeously decorated for the Christmas atmosphere and we didn't have to do much at all to add to it. The staff was also wonderful to work with and always answered all of our questions promptly. They also helped us out so much on the wedding day with set up. We had our ceremony inside on the beautiful staircase, and the staff was able to accommodate all of our 90 guests. Many people said it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they had ever seen!
We then had a cocktail hour and the bartender (who was great and very knowledgeable/experienced) made a specialty candy cane martini just for our event. Guests were also free to look around the castle and loved seeing all of the different rooms and architecture. Dinner was amazing also! We had chicken, pork, or stuffed peppers with creamy tomato soup, rolls, and salad. The cake was custom designed by their pastry chef and made to look like a stack of Christmas gifts, everyone was very impressed and thought it was very unique.
We had the reception upstairs in the ballroom and it was really fun. The DJ that the castle provided was great and took requests and did games with the guests all night long. We also had a photo booth upstairs which the guests loved (provided by studio 616). At the end of the night, my bridesmaids and I went up into the rooftop hot tub with our wine which was a perfect end to the night. Many of our wedding party and family members went down into the "man cave" to enjoy some after party drinks with the bartender which was a great way to wind down after the party.
I had such a great experience at the castle and it honestly exceeded my expectations. I planned this wedding from Virginia since my husband
I had my wedding here at the castle on Dec 22nd 2013 and I can't say how much we loved it! Everything was gorgeously Read more...
I had my wedding here at the castle on Dec 22nd 2013 and I can't say how much we loved it! Everything was gorgeously decorated for the Christmas atmosphere and we didn't have to do much at all to add to it. The staff was also wonderful to work with and always answered all of our questions promptly. They also helped us out so much on the wedding day with set up. We had our ceremony inside on the beautiful staircase, and the staff was able to accommodate all of our 90 guests. Many people said it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they had ever seen!
We then had a cocktail hour and the bartender (who was great and very knowledgeable/experienced) made a specialty candy cane martini just for our event. Guests were also free to look around the castle and loved seeing all of the different rooms and architecture. Dinner was amazing also! We had chicken, pork, or stuffed peppers with creamy tomato soup, rolls, and salad. The cake was custom designed by their pastry chef and made to look like a stack of Christmas gifts, everyone was very impressed and thought it was very unique.
We had the reception upstairs in the ballroom and it was really fun. The DJ that the castle provided was great and took requests and did games with the guests all night long. We also had a photo booth upstairs which the guests loved (provided by studio 616). At the end of the night, my bridesmaids and I went up into the rooftop hot tub with our wine which was a perfect end to the night. Many of our wedding party and family members went down into the "man cave" to enjoy some after party drinks with the bartender which was a great way to wind down after the party.
I had such a great experience at the castle and it honestly exceeded my expectations. I planned this wedding from Virginia since my husband Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Henderson Castle is the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding day. The architecture is stunning and all of our guests raved about the four course dinner. We had the entire castle, grounds and staff to meet all the needs of us and our guests. The spa onsite was a perfect way to prepare for the main event. Every anniversary will now be spent at Henderson Castle!
Henderson Castle is the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding day. The architecture is stunning and all of our guests Read more...
Henderson Castle is the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding day. The architecture is stunning and all of our guests raved about the four course dinner. We had the entire castle, grounds and staff to meet all the needs of us and our guests. The spa onsite was a perfect way to prepare for the main event. Every anniversary will now be spent at Henderson Castle! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130 sq 1328646234120 pioneersfountain
Linda
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We held our reception at Henderson Castle in June and it was perfect from arrival to departure. Our 70 guests were welcomed with a cocktail hour: Champagne, fruit punch and hors d'oeuvres. This was followed by a four course dinner (salad, soup, entree, desert) - all courses were excellent and we received much positive feedback from our guests. The cake cutting was done very professionally by Francois Moyet and his assistant and was served as desert. Francois and his staff were the anchor for the event: Always of help and attentive but in the background (e.g. vase for my bridal bouquet). Francois supported the positive vibrations of our wedding with his friendly and patient character.
The wedding party stayed in the seven guests rooms at Henderson Castle. After our guests had left, we switched to the lounge room and enjoyed talking to everybody before we went to bed late. The rooms are absolutely clean and the quality of the bedsheets made it a comfortable night. We had the "Italian Room" and were woken up by the sun tickling our noses in the morning. Staying in these unique rooms makes you feel like you traveled back in time to a luxurious 19th century! It's a one-of-a-kind experience!
During breakfast we were surprised by a violin player who entertained the guests while we unwrapped our presents.
Five stars because it was a perfect wedding for us in a dream location!
We held our reception at Henderson Castle in June and it was perfect from arrival to departure. Our 70 guests were Read more...
We held our reception at Henderson Castle in June and it was perfect from arrival to departure. Our 70 guests were welcomed with a cocktail hour: Champagne, fruit punch and hors d'oeuvres. This was followed by a four course dinner (salad, soup, entree, desert) - all courses were excellent and we received much positive feedback from our guests. The cake cutting was done very professionally by Francois Moyet and his assistant and was served as desert. Francois and his staff were the anchor for the event: Always of help and attentive but in the background (e.g. vase for my bridal bouquet). Francois supported the positive vibrations of our wedding with his friendly and patient character.
The wedding party stayed in the seven guests rooms at Henderson Castle. After our guests had left, we switched to the lounge room and enjoyed talking to everybody before we went to bed late. The rooms are absolutely clean and the quality of the bedsheets made it a comfortable night. We had the "Italian Room" and were woken up by the sun tickling our noses in the morning. Staying in these unique rooms makes you feel like you traveled back in time to a luxurious 19th century! It's a one-of-a-kind experience!
During breakfast we were surprised by a violin player who entertained the guests while we unwrapped our presents.
Five stars because it was a perfect wedding for us in a dream location! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Nichole
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
we could not have picked a better place to be married than the Henderson castle. The uniqe expiriance of being able to have my family and friends stay the night and have breakfast together in the morning was priceless. The castle and the property are gorgeous and the staff was beyond helpful and inviting. we rented out the whole castle for 24 hours. we were marrided in the court yard outside followed by photos. while we finished our photos our guest went inside for a drink and orderves before we all sat down to a very delicious 7 course dinner. we finshed our evening dancing in the ballroom and migeling on the roof top. It was magical. I would recommend the Henderson Castle to anyone looking to be married or hold an event .
we could not have picked a better place to be married than the Henderson castle. The uniqe expiriance of being able to Read more...
we could not have picked a better place to be married than the Henderson castle. The uniqe expiriance of being able to have my family and friends stay the night and have breakfast together in the morning was priceless. The castle and the property are gorgeous and the staff was beyond helpful and inviting. we rented out the whole castle for 24 hours. we were marrided in the court yard outside followed by photos. while we finished our photos our guest went inside for a drink and orderves before we all sat down to a very delicious 7 course dinner. we finshed our evening dancing in the ballroom and migeling on the roof top. It was magical. I would recommend the Henderson Castle to anyone looking to be married or hold an event . Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, DJ, Photography, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
The Henderson Castle was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding. The wedding planners were so accomodating and helpful throughout the entire process. They provided everything except we used our own photographer. The food was excellent! The entire staff worked very hard to make sure all was taken care of to our satisfaction. I would highly recommend.
The Henderson Castle was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding. The wedding planners were so accomodating and Read more...
The Henderson Castle was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding. The wedding planners were so accomodating and helpful throughout the entire process. They provided everything except we used our own photographer. The food was excellent! The entire staff worked very hard to make sure all was taken care of to our satisfaction. I would highly recommend. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.7/5.0
Know that the staff at the castle are always willing to do or work with you on making your dream wedding come true. This does mean that although you've had conversations with them about your plans it is still always best to put it in writing so everyone knows. Even the simplest details help them accommodate all your needs. This is an old and unique venue so if you're looking for a gorgeous space this is it but don't always expect everything to be perfectly maintained or updated. That's part of its charm. It's a huge place to maintain and keep nice and they do their best but just like any home there's always a list I'm sure. The food is good, and Francois is a great chef. Talk to him and tell him what you do and don't like and he'll work with you. Enjoy the day and the views surrounding you and it'll be a fairy tale like ours was.
Know that the staff at the castle are always willing to do or work with you on making your dream wedding come true. This Read more...
Know that the staff at the castle are always willing to do or work with you on making your dream wedding come true. This does mean that although you've had conversations with them about your plans it is still always best to put it in writing so everyone knows. Even the simplest details help them accommodate all your needs. This is an old and unique venue so if you're looking for a gorgeous space this is it but don't always expect everything to be perfectly maintained or updated. That's part of its charm. It's a huge place to maintain and keep nice and they do their best but just like any home there's always a list I'm sure. The food is good, and Francois is a great chef. Talk to him and tell him what you do and don't like and he'll work with you. Enjoy the day and the views surrounding you and it'll be a fairy tale like ours was. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Evon
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.7/5.0
It is the most beautiful and elegant of Venues, it is a diamond in the ruff, not to mention fit into our budget. The Staff and Event coordinator were amazing, they were a one stop shop. Anything that we did need they were more than helpful to accommodate.
It is the most beautiful and elegant of Venues, it is a diamond in the ruff, not to mention fit into our budget. The Staff Read more...
It is the most beautiful and elegant of Venues, it is a diamond in the ruff, not to mention fit into our budget. The Staff and Event coordinator were amazing, they were a one stop shop. Anything that we did need they were more than helpful to accommodate. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
emma
Wedding:
10/10/2013
4.6/5.0
the Henderson Castle is an elegant, unique venue for any special event or dinner. all the staff, especially the owner Francois, are professional and easy to work with. they have experience so the planning and preparation was not stressful. we simply shared our vision and goals, and they met all of our needs. it´s important to put things in writing though and we recommend you ask about the all the fees upfront (e.g. taxes and gratuity). overall the wedding package is worthwhile because it includes all the elements for the special day.
the Henderson Castle is an elegant, unique venue for any special event or dinner. all the staff, especially the owner Read more...
the Henderson Castle is an elegant, unique venue for any special event or dinner. all the staff, especially the owner Francois, are professional and easy to work with. they have experience so the planning and preparation was not stressful. we simply shared our vision and goals, and they met all of our needs. it´s important to put things in writing though and we recommend you ask about the all the fees upfront (e.g. taxes and gratuity). overall the wedding package is worthwhile because it includes all the elements for the special day. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.0/5.0
I would not recommend this venue to anyone that has a wedding with more than 50people including the wedding party. The current management is not upfront with critical logistics like maximum occupancy of 65 in the third floor ballroom, the downstairs dining room is set up for 44 people, with a separate room that can hold 19 more people. The elevator is broken so if you have any guests with mobility issues they will not be able to get to the third floor ballroom. The parking lot holds approximately 15 cars and since it is on top of a hill your guests will have to walk up the driveway and park on the street if the parking lot is full. We were under the understanding that drinks (coffee/Tea/Soda) came with the dinner but found out during our reception that they were charging our guests for all of the above. The wait staff and the girls that work there are nice, but the man they work for is difficult to work with, he will tell you he owns the castle, but if you look up the state of michigan records, it is owned by a man that runs a car detail shop on westmain street. We were told(and its in the contract) we would have the entire property for 24 hours, but people were coming in for lunch the next day before we were even checked out. The rooftob hottub was a selling point, but it was sealed off with 5 gallon buckets, and the hours of operation in the handbook in the room indicated we couldnt use it after 10pm. Given that the reception lasted until midnight, and we left the next morning, we couldnt use the hot tub at all. The complimentary couples massage was dissapointing, they set up two massage tables in the lounge area that is open to the ballroom, hallway, and rooftop so when they started the massage, people literally walked through. The wedding cake was fabulous, the pastry chef did an exceptional job.
I would not recommend this venue to anyone that has a wedding with more than 50people including the wedding party. The Read more...
I would not recommend this venue to anyone that has a wedding with more than 50people including the wedding party. The current management is not upfront with critical logistics like maximum occupancy of 65 in the third floor ballroom, the downstairs dining room is set up for 44 people, with a separate room that can hold 19 more people. The elevator is broken so if you have any guests with mobility issues they will not be able to get to the third floor ballroom. The parking lot holds approximately 15 cars and since it is on top of a hill your guests will have to walk up the driveway and park on the street if the parking lot is full. We were under the understanding that drinks (coffee/Tea/Soda) came with the dinner but found out during our reception that they were charging our guests for all of the above. The wait staff and the girls that work there are nice, but the man they work for is difficult to work with, he will tell you he owns the castle, but if you look up the state of michigan records, it is owned by a man that runs a car detail shop on westmain street. We were told(and its in the contract) we would have the entire property for 24 hours, but people were coming in for lunch the next day before we were even checked out. The rooftob hottub was a selling point, but it was sealed off with 5 gallon buckets, and the hours of operation in the handbook in the room indicated we couldnt use it after 10pm. Given that the reception lasted until midnight, and we left the next morning, we couldnt use the hot tub at all. The complimentary couples massage was dissapointing, they set up two massage tables in the lounge area that is open to the ballroom, hallway, and rooftop so when they started the massage, people literally walked through. The wedding cake was fabulous, the pastry chef did an exceptional job. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Wedding Venue
Henderson Castle responded with the following comments:

Most of the information you are posting is untrue. Our main dining room has a capacity for 70 people and the private dining room seats 20. Our upstairs ballroom holds another 70 people for dancing or dinner. These capacities are set by the fire department and we do not allow more guests in each room for your safety. These capacities are explained when you book your wedding. There is an elevator on the property (original to the Castle 1895) it has been out of service for over 30 years and we never imply that it will magically be working for your event. All wedding tours are taken up to the 3rd floor, and anyone booking a wedding here is aware that any guests attending events in the ballroom will have to use these stairs. We have 33 parking spots in our lot and ample free parking in the neighborhoods surrounding the Castle. Again anyone booking a wedding is aware of our parking lot size when they first view the Castle. Soda packages ( and any drinks) are in addition to the cost of a meal. They are not listed as included on any menu in print or on-line and you would have been asked at your catering meeting if you wish to include a soda package. Had you declined, we would have charged the guests for the soda they consumed. The roof top closes at 10 pm along with all outdoor activity. It is a city ordinance. We are located in a residential neighborhood. The hot tub is never sealed off. We do have weights on the cover so it does not blow off, again for your safety. We are not open for business to the public during the 24 hours you reserve the castle. We do occasionally have walk-in business that comes in. We respectfully explain that we are closed for a private event and they move on. Our lunch service starts at 12 pm the same time your contracted time ended. The massage area is locked while massages are being conducted. We host weddings of 100+ guests here regularly and have very happy brides and grooms. The amount of disinformation you are posting here has me questioning when you had your wedding here. Henderson Castle Bed & Breakfast is owned by Francois Moyet. We appreciate your kind words for our pastry chef and will pass them on to her.

MAP

 
100 Monroe St, Kalamazoo, MI 49006 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Henderson Castle
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1414532324166 full reso castel rear crop