130x130_sq_1391816217831-boxpre

Heritage Garment Preservation

Benicia , CA

LOCATION

4592 E 2nd St Ste N
Benicia, CA US 94510 (map)

PHONE

800-543-4435

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our expert staff will return your gown to pristine condition & preserve with museum quality materials. Hand cleaned and pressed, you will not find this quality at such an affordable... Read more
Our expert staff will return your gown to pristine condition & preserve with museum quality materials. Hand cleaned and pressed, you will not find this quality at such an affordable price anywhere else. Nationwide service with Free shipping included.

Read our Free Wedding gown cleaning and preservation guide

Get your free online estimate at heritagegown.com/wedding-dress-cleaning-preservation-estimate/

We also restore yellowed, vintage heirloom wedding gowns so they can be worn again, and clean and preserve christening gowns, military uniforms, and other heirloom garments.

We also offer do-it-yourself preservation products: 100% Cotton Garment Bags, 100% Cotton Padded Hangers, Acid Free Tissue, 100% Cotton Gloves, Preservation Boxes, Museum Method Preservation Kits, Christening Gown Kits Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1351892122109-megshortlabel
130x130_sq_1351892134515-hollyboxlabel
130x130_sq_1352002934928-beforeafter
130x130_sq_1352003258011-before2
130x130_sq_1352003704221-after2
130x130_sq_1351892480562-aboutussquarelabel

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Mother of the Bride
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
We prefer appointments but you can drop in during regular business hours. Our regular hours are Mon - Fri 9am - 4pm. Saturdays and evenings by appointment. Call us at 866-268-4696 to set up appointments.
What is the typical turn-around time for a dress?
4 - 12 weeks depending on how busy we are. We hand clean most of our wedding gowns one at a time. When a dress arrives it is put at the back of the line and moves forward. We do offer a priority service for $50 where we rush your gown to the front of the line.
Do you provide any guarantees/warrantees of any kind?
30 Day Money-back Guarantee - 
 If you are not satisfied with the cleaning and preservation of your treasured garment after your garment has been returned to you, you may have it re-cleaned and preserved or you may return the preservation materials to us for a refund. 
 
 Full Value Replacement Insurance -
 Your treasured garments are fully insured while in our care for their full replacement value. Before utilizing insurance, our expert seamstresses will repair or replace any beadwork, lace, or fabric damages caused to your gown while in our care. Our goal is to return your garment to the best condition possible.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danilyn
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't say enough about the help and the quality of work I received from Heritage Garments. I had a very tight timeline, 6 weeks tight, and they not only had to clean my 25+ year old dress & remove all the stains from years of improper storage but they customers s tailored it as well. I had the sleeves removed and very large holes fixed. I couldn't be happier with my product I wish I could show pictures. My mother's dress was everything I could have hoped for on my special day. They got all of this done in 2 weeks and a weeks a shipping. I was so impressed with their customer service and quality of work. I would defiantly recommend them to everyone. It's awesome work, customer service, & value!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Excellent post-wedding cleaning of my designer gown, which had some spray tan on the straps and bodice, and was fairly dirty on the hem since it was a rainy day, but Heritage did a fantastic job removing all the stains and preserving my gown -- it looks brand new again, just like the day I bought it! I love their museum technique of placing my gown in a muslin bag too, rather than a sealed box. The Atlanta bridal shop where I bought the gown recommended a cleaner in Atlanta, but after talking with Kathy and viewing Heritage's excellent website and video, I was very comfortable shipping my gown from Atlanta to California. They called me 2-3 times to respond to my questions, and the FedEx delivery was very secure both ways. The gown was returned to me packed beautifully and well-protected. It was well worth the cost, and I highly recommend Heritage Garment Preservation for your beautiful once-in-a-lifetime gown!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I did a lot of research on wedding gown cleaning and preservation before deciding to go with Heritage. I had a couple suggestions from different friends and vendors, but ultimately, after reading an article from the Wall Street Journal, and comparing many options, I felt the most comfortable with Heritage. For me, it was important to be able to see that my gown was clean and properly preserved. I also heard a horror story from my best friend and Matron of Honor regarding her "box company" experience.

I chose the Heritage Select Museum Method for an Average-sized gown. I ordered a shipping kit, extra insurance, a Custom Preservation Label, and a Bouquet Preservation Box. I also discovered their Payment Plan and a discount/promo, both of which helped a lot financially!

I was very pleased with the end result. The gown was very well packaged, and the cotton preservation bag itself was wrapped nicely in another vinyl garment bag (for protection). The cotton preservation bag is great--clean and sturdy, and I feel comfortable storing my dress in it. The Custom Preservation Label is a great touch, and they included white gloves to be worn when handling the gown. When I opened the cotton preservation bag, I was happy and relieved to see my gown there, clean, and pristine. I checked the skirts, which were packed in acid-free tissue, and was ecstatic to see that they were clean. When my seamstress made the bustle for my dress, she added a small blue flower in the skirts which had gotten very dirty by the end of my wedding night. The small blue flower was all clean!

I would say the cost is in the mid-price range when comparing all the options. You can check their Current Discounts or Facebook pages for ongoing promotions. Overall, I will say it was well worth the price. They did a fantastic job, and their customer service is great! They even wrote a blog post about my wedding dress story, which was very sweet.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Heritage Garment Preservation responded with the following comments:

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate our customers so much.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Heritage Garment Preservation is outstanding. I recommend them to any bride that wants to ensure their dress is preserved the right way. I had a lot of dirt on my dress and it honestly looks as good as new! Thank you Heritage Garment Preservation :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
janice
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my hand made wedding dress which included my mothers lace from her wedding dress preserved by Heritage and I would highly recommend them
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My Mom found Heritage Garment Preservation and decided to use them even though they are all the way on the other side of the country...they are amazing. My dress arrived very quickly and it looks fabulous! They are meticulous as to how to best preserve and handle the dress and have included a wide variety of personal and detailed touches. I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The service here was great! They took excellent care of my gown, got out all of the stains, and provided a beautiful bag for the dress. I received emails every step of the way so I would know where the dress was in the process. They also called me to let me know they were local and I could drop off my gown to them and save money on shipping. And they were accommodating with their hours since I had to come after regular business hours. I was very happy with both the customer service and the end product.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I was totally satisfied with the work done by Heritage Garment Preservation. My wedding dress, which is lace, had a red tinge at the hemline after our outdoor wedding in the red clay of Virginia. When I got it back from Heritage, the dress what spotless! They provided a great storage box labeled with our names and wedding date, and gave clear instructions on how to care for the dress over the years (and provided the white gloves needed to handle it!)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We were very impressed with the personalized service. Our handmade gown was treated according to its fabric and degree of damage. Any loose beads and gems were reattached and the stains completely disappeared. They even found damage inside the gown I was unaware of. The lining was torn and reattached. There was not an extra charge for any of these repairs. I love the cloth bag storage concept, as we can check the gown anytime we want. The shipping both ways was professionally handled. All monies spent on this talented company has never been regretted. By the way, my daughter's gown looks like new.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maya
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
The service I received was amazing. My dress was clean and preserved beautifully. I sent my dress in with the hanger and garment bag from the bridal salon. When my dress arrived, the original hanger and garment bag had not been included; however, before I even had a chance to notice, I was contacted and told that the two items would be shipped to me. Heritage Garment Preservation is truly customer-oriented and professional. I would whole-heartedly recommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
More than I could EVER have expected or hoped! What an amazing company with amazing people. Like so many brides, I have great emotions connected to my wedding dress. I co-designed it and justified the cost to myself with the hope that one day a daughter (or cross-dressing son, who knows, lol!) would want to wear it at her wedding. But after we returned from our honeymoon, my husband and I were met with serious crisis upon crisis; some even life threatening. I had purchased the package from Heritage Garment Preservation for Museum Preservation, but I had to keep postponing my shipment of the dress. I couldn't even print the handy shipping label file they promptly emailed me because our printer broke! The people at Heritage were so generous with their time and energy, they were more than understanding, more than flexible, in allowing the process to flow based on MY constantly changing needs and timeline. The dress is now beautifully preserved in my closet, where I am free to look at - even touch it, whenever I wish, instead of all sealed into a cake-box-looking package that doesn't even archivally preserve the textiles! I can't say enough to recommend this company and commend its employees for the phenomenal job they did given the most challenging circumstances. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
First heard of Heritage Garment Preservation when reading an article in the Wall Street Journal. The Journal had gone undercover to many business establishments across the United States and rated how well these places cleaned wedding dresses.
Heritage was rated in the top 5 and happened to be less than a 40 minute drive for me. They did a wonderful job on our daughter's gown and were extremely pleasant to deal with. It was a excellent experience. They service anywhere in the states I believe, I just happened to have them close enough to take the dress myself so did not have to mail.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
6/30/2007
5.0/5.0
I as MOB finally had my daughter's gown cleaned and preserved after almost 7 years of stains setting in to a delicate satin. Heritage not only got the most offending stain out which was smack in the abdomen area but also kept the beauty of the fabric, no easy task I've read.
The gown was returned in a box that can be opened and the gown is displayed beautifully right down to displaying somehow the tiny buttons down the back.
Their communication was excellent and the process went smoothly. It does take a while but perfection cannot be done quickly.
Overall, I am extremely glad I used their services! I highly recommend Heritage.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1375915085021-jenosullivan201306160054
Jamie
Wedding:
6/16/2013
4.8/5.0
Very quick feedback every step of the way from pick up to inspection to repairs and delivery. Provided details of initial inspection and what cleaning/repairs were to be made. Photos were emailed of the repairs made for bride's final inspection and approval prior to sending the dress back. Beautifully cleaning and repaired. Looks new again :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.8/5.0
My wedding dress was a dream and I hope it will be a family heirloom. After spending hours searching for "the dress" I wasn't satisfied with any of the options (or the pricing!). Fortunately, my mother is an incredibly talented seamstress. We hand designed the dress and my mother did her magic with mixing patterns and altering designs. We went to a specialty fabric store and selected beautiful materials to use. My mother hand embroidered detailing on my dress. For evenings leading up to the wedding my mother custom fit the dress on my body. These are memories I will treasure forever. The day of my wedding I heard what every bride appreciates: gasps and ahhs over my wedding gown. It really was a dream. And then came pictures. My darling husband wanted to do some artsy shots in the nearby woods. I was terrified of damaging my dress. Though he tried to carry me (quite a picture) my dress still took a small beating. Add that to an outdoors reception, the white at the bottom was looking quite dingy. After an amazing evening, our classic 1930's chauffeured car broke down on the way to the hotel. Another picture. After waiting for a replacement vintage car, the owners did a switcheroo and brought a personal vehicle to pick us up. It was filthy. My husband squoze into the back seat (two door car) and I sat in the front. It was covered in french fries, old stains, and filth. By the time we got to the hotel, the bottom of my dress and the back was a disaster. In tears I worried that my dress would be ruined and not be able to become the family heirloom I had hoped for. Cried too soon! My sister had used Heritage Gown Preservation and assured me that they would be able to help. I sent my dress in.... voila! My dress is back to near perfect condition. The few tears were gone and the hem looks fresh. The appliques on the bodice were fixed and no stains remaining from the day's adventures. I couldn't believe it! It truly looks as good as it did on our wedding day. I am so excited
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Heritage Garment Preservation responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. We love it when we can make a dirty dress look beautiful again.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.8/5.0
After investing months of energy and heart making my daughter's 100% silk duchess satin wedding gown, I made a naive and grievous mistake in trusting our local dry-cleaner to clean the gown which had a great deal of dirt at the hemline. I cannot describe the actual anguish I felt when the dress was returned to me looking like it was 200 years old. The dry cleaner swore that is what happens to all silk gowns when they are dry cleaned. Fortunately, the grief I felt was strong enough to cause me to look for an impossible solution. I found it with Heritage Garment Preservation. Although their analysis of the damage done to the gown proved the local work only unprofessional and ignorant, it was almost permanent. Nonetheless, Carmina outlined a plan to neutralize the residue of solvent left by the previous cleaner and to add sizing/softener and silk oil to minimize the chaffing caused by the solvent. It was an impossible task, but I just received the return shipment of the gown. I can say that I am no longer pained by the appearance of the gown. The touch, the texture, the weight, all is so improved from the original damage. I cannot praise the work of the women at Heritage Garment Preservation enough!
If you are a wedding vendor/retailer of any sort, you MUST recommend the services of HGP; if you are a bride, a relative to a bride or a friend of a bride, please guide them to this outstanding professional service. Do not make my mistake of trusting the locals, it is too great a risk, and the solution is so accessible and satisfying. Thanks again, Heritage Garment Preservation!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
The gown was 52 years old. It had yellowed some and our daughter wanted to have it whitened. We did a lot of research and chose Heritage Garment Preservation. We delivered the gown to them during the Thanksgiving Holiday and they returned it to us in February. Our daughter was very pleased.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
I used Heritage Garment Preservation to clean and preserve both my wedding dress and my sister's wedding dress. Although the price seems high compared to other cleaning services, I believe the quality of service offered by Heritage Garment Preservation is higher, making up for the difference in cost. I had a few questions throughout the process of getting my order submitted and asking about the timelines once the dresses were sent off, and I received prompt email responses to my questions, highly professional. I don't know how busy the business is but my dresses came back clean and preserved after 10 and 12 weeks. Both dresses came back in great condition and I would recommend using this business to any and all of my friends who are looking to have their wedding dress cleaned and preserved.
Services Used: Unique Services
Heritage Garment Preservation responded with the following comments:

We are so glad you were happy with our services. Generally it does not take as long as your service did. Occasionally we do get extra busy or have unexpected delays. Most gowns are processed within 6 weeks. But the most important thing to us is your satisfaction.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
I had decided that I wanted to weary my mother's wedding gown from the 1970's a long time ago. When my fiance and I got engaged I started to research how I could clean it...the lace detail turned a dark yellow and there was staining on the train and bottom of the dress.

I found Heritage Garment Preservation on the internet. I was reluctant to send my dress to CA as I live on the east coast. I was not able to find anything local so I decided to send it.

Im so glad I did! Not only did the restore the color of the dress they maintained the texture of the fabric. They were very professional and kept me up to date on the progress as it took a coupe of weeks.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
Although I waited over a year to have my dress cleaned and preserved, Heritage Garment Preservation was able to restore my wedding gown to its original glory! All yellow sweat stains, the gray dirt at the bottom of the skirt, and even a red wine stain down the front were vanished. The intricate beadwork was unharmed and the full skirt and bodice were wrinkle free. The preservation bag itself is very nice. A great deal for the quality of service and price. It took several weeks to get the dress back, but worth the wait. I'd recommend them to anyone in the area.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.
Wedding:
6/15/2013
3.9/5.0
I had my wedding dress cleaned and preserved in the Heritage Box. They work was done wonderfully, and that is a fact. I chose the box for ease of storage. My dress was a size 2, slim gown, but the box was is quite large. I cannot fit under a bed or on the closet shelf. So, if you're considering a box, double check the measurements before going with that option.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Heritage Garment Preservation responded with the following comments:

If you would prefer to switch your order to a Museum Method (hanging) preservation, just let us know and we will make that happen. Or if your dress can fit in our smaller box (30 x 18 x 6) we will switch it. That box fits under almost every bed.

DEALS

Take our Survey and save $20
Get Deal
Promo Code: enter promo code   $20 Value
Receive a $20 coupon code off your wedding gown cleaning and preservation when you take our brief survey at: http://www.heritagegown.com/IEM/surveys.php?id=9
Deal #WW7d1f4eae8965d6d5
220x220_1391816217831-boxpre

MAP

 
4592 E 2nd St Ste N, Benicia, CA 94510 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Heritage Garment Preservation
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo