130x130 sq 1389819052984 d

Hesson Entertainment

Bowie , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

12510 Swirl Ln
Bowie, MD 20715 US (map)

PHONE

240-460-8583

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let's start planning your dream Wedding!

We know that Your Wedding Day will be one of the most exciting days of your life. Rest assured you came to the right place, we'll make... Read more
Let's start planning your dream Wedding!

We know that Your Wedding Day will be one of the most exciting days of your life. Rest assured you came to the right place, we'll make certain that you enjoy every minute of it!

Over 10 years' experience and hundreds of happy couples under our belt, we understand the quality of service you'd expect.

We have an exceptional reputation of strong communication, and will develop a well-choreographed schedule of events for your entertainment – down to the smallest detail.

We will:

- Take the necessary time to plan the event BEFORE the event
- Follow a timeline to keep everything on time
- Meet with our clients whenever it's possible
- Entertain your guests
- Have backup equipment and personnel on hand at all times
- Keep an up to date ever expanding professional Music collection

…and so much more! Read less
DJ , Lighting & Decor

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
We know that all weddings are unique in their own way, We always look for your input because you know your guests better than us.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
We ask that you provide a list of "Must Play " songs. This is YOUR Wedding and we will taylor it to YOUR likes. We don't push any particular style, we play tasteful music with a professional approach.
What is your usual attire?
Unless otherwise stated by the client our DJ's wear a Sleek: Black Tux - Black Shirt - Black Tie
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
We hash out all details pertaining to: Music - Timeline - Events at out meeting the week before the wedding. At this meeting we will actually play the song so you can hear it to make certain that it is the correct version etc. Any music requests that are unusual or hard to find are worked out BEFORE the day of your Wedding.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We only have several DJ's about 3 - 6 we work with regularly, we keep it small to insure that we have the proper amount of attention focused on your event.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Our packages are priced "Up to" a certain amount of time. There are no discounts for shorter than the typical package. Reason: We will likely be turning down another event.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
We WANT to meet you before the Wedding. We don't want to be "That Guy" who played the wrong song or messed up the introductions. At this meeting we go over EVERY little detail including phonetic spelling of introductions, music that will be played, Timeline of Events, and anything else that may come up. We don't like surprises :-)
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We typically do American style weddings but if you would like to provide a little guidance as to how you would like things to go for your special event we would be happy to accomodate you.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
On our questionnaire, you will have a part to fill in with: MUST PLAY - WILL PLAY IF THERE IS TIME - DO NOT PLAY.
Do you bring your own equipment?
We always use our own equipment it is all owned by "Hesson Entertainment" and not necessarily the "DJ" we set it up so there is uniformity and consistency. We only use very high quality equipment and are very focused on the sound quality.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We have dance lights which looks great and are included in most of our packages. We also offer decorative uplighting which have an incredibly good impact for a very modest price when compared to other lighting companies.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
It takes about 45min to setup a basic system including load in but we strive to be there 2 to 3 hours before the first guest arrive.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
We have been in pretty tight areas, we can work under most conditions provided by the venue. If we could have a minimum of 7' by 15' are for the DJ and Equipment that would be ideal.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
We don't promote ourselves at your event, (No Banners) we are there for you and your event only. We may have a card on hand if someone asks.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
We keep it as simple as you like, we don't want to interfere with the way thing are going. We train our DJ's to be professional when on the mic, and to not talk too much but only when it is important.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
From experience I can say that some weddings people dance to anything you play and others are more difficult no matter what you play. Every wedding is unique and there is no "One" answer to this question. First I would make sure everyone is having a good time. Maybe they are eating or talking; just because people aren't dancing doesn't mean they aren't having a good time. Weddings are much more fun for the DJ when people dance so we always strive to keep the dancefloor packed :-)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We stay nearby at all times; if there is a meal provided we typically consume it near the DJ booth so we can monitor background music levels at all times.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
We provide continuous music throughout your entire event in the room we are working including Dinner.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We have a great network of professionals we work with on a regular basis who could fill in last minute. Luckily this has NEVER happened before but in the unlikely event that it does we will make certain that we will do everything in our power to cover your wedding.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Sometimes, not always.
What is your overtime rate?
$90.00 per hour per professional
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We work in the greater Washington DC and Baltimore area. 
 Call if you have an event more than an hour from either city for a quote: 
 240-460-8583
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50% deposit to lock in your date. (Check or PayPal)
 Refunds are given on a case by case basis. To be considered for a refund you must cancel in a time greater than 90 days of the contracted date.

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What type of events do you produce?
Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Which of the following services do you provide?
Audiovisuals, Entertainment, Event Lighting

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kristen and Ryan
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Hesson Entertainment was one of the best decisions I made when planning our wedding. Mike (the owner) met with my husband and I in person twice to go over every small detail pertaining to our day. His services and prices could not be beat. Our DJ, David, was also impeccable. We had a large, party crowd and David kept the dancing going while also maintaining control of the group. He was fun and lively without stealing the show. The up-lighting and personal Go-BO light also added a fun touch! I highly recommend!!
Hesson Entertainment was one of the best decisions I made when planning our wedding. Mike (the owner) met with my husband Read more...
Hesson Entertainment was one of the best decisions I made when planning our wedding. Mike (the owner) met with my husband and I in person twice to go over every small detail pertaining to our day. His services and prices could not be beat. Our DJ, David, was also impeccable. We had a large, party crowd and David kept the dancing going while also maintaining control of the group. He was fun and lively without stealing the show. The up-lighting and personal Go-BO light also added a fun touch! I highly recommend!! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Hesson Entertainment is the only way to go. The service was perfect, the professionalism was refreshing and the price was very affordable. Mike from Hesson truly cares about his business and was very reliable. Hesson was the only vendor I did not have to send follow-up emails to and the client planning forms made planning a breeze. The day of the event our DJ Dave was awesome he as personable, got the crowd going and even helped-out with other areas of the wedding too. If I had to do my day over I would book Hesson again in a heart-beat.
Hesson Entertainment is the only way to go. The service was perfect, the professionalism was refreshing and the price was Read more...
Hesson Entertainment is the only way to go. The service was perfect, the professionalism was refreshing and the price was very affordable. Mike from Hesson truly cares about his business and was very reliable. Hesson was the only vendor I did not have to send follow-up emails to and the client planning forms made planning a breeze. The day of the event our DJ Dave was awesome he as personable, got the crowd going and even helped-out with other areas of the wedding too. If I had to do my day over I would book Hesson again in a heart-beat. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Mike Hesson handled my wedding and he was great. They made the room look amazing with their up lighting, spot lights on my centerpieces, and the gobo on the dance floor. The wedding hall looked like a scene out of a movie and it looked even better in photos. The DJ worked well with a lot of strong personalities and stuck to the timeline well. Mike met with me multiple times to review the wedding and is very responsive via email. I suggest not making too many suggestions and just letting the DJs handle it. Our emcee was also fabulous. We had a great time and danced all night!

If you are looking for a full service DJ Company, Hesson is it. Other companies cannot provide you with a one-stop-shop of all your entertainment and decor needs.
Mike Hesson handled my wedding and he was great. They made the room look amazing with their up lighting, spot lights on my Read more...
Mike Hesson handled my wedding and he was great. They made the room look amazing with their up lighting, spot lights on my centerpieces, and the gobo on the dance floor. The wedding hall looked like a scene out of a movie and it looked even better in photos. The DJ worked well with a lot of strong personalities and stuck to the timeline well. Mike met with me multiple times to review the wedding and is very responsive via email. I suggest not making too many suggestions and just letting the DJs handle it. Our emcee was also fabulous. We had a great time and danced all night!

If you are looking for a full service DJ Company, Hesson is it. Other companies cannot provide you with a one-stop-shop of all your entertainment and decor needs. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely great! I had so much fun with them and my dj was amazing.
Absolutely great! I had so much fun with them and my dj was amazing.
Absolutely great! I had so much fun with them and my dj was amazing. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Michael and Hesson Entertainment. We used Hesson Entertainment for our uplighting and DJ. The uplighting was AMAZING. Michael helped us select the exact color we wanted. Uplighting from Hesson was 90% (yes-90%!) cheaper than what our venue would have charged us and 50% less than what a florist (who we did not go with) was going to charge us. The uplighting really made the room pop and look so beautiful and elegant. We also decided to go with the pin lighting - we had spotlights on all of our floral centerpieces. This looked so cool! Many guests commented on how they loved that the centerpieces were highlighted.

Our DJ was outstanding. He played every song we told him to - for both dancing and background music. I have never seen so many people dancing at a wedding before - which is exactly what we wanted to happen at ours! We had such an amazing time and so did our guests. We really had the best wedding ever and the DJ and uplighting was a huge part of that.

Hesson Entertainment was very reasonably priced and easy to work with. Michael never pushed us into anything we didn't need or wanted. He was professional, on time, and had great communication. I cannot recommend him enough to anyone who is looking for uplighting and/or DJ services. 10 stars for sure!
I cannot say enough good things about Michael and Hesson Entertainment. We used Hesson Entertainment for our uplighting Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about Michael and Hesson Entertainment. We used Hesson Entertainment for our uplighting and DJ. The uplighting was AMAZING. Michael helped us select the exact color we wanted. Uplighting from Hesson was 90% (yes-90%!) cheaper than what our venue would have charged us and 50% less than what a florist (who we did not go with) was going to charge us. The uplighting really made the room pop and look so beautiful and elegant. We also decided to go with the pin lighting - we had spotlights on all of our floral centerpieces. This looked so cool! Many guests commented on how they loved that the centerpieces were highlighted.

Our DJ was outstanding. He played every song we told him to - for both dancing and background music. I have never seen so many people dancing at a wedding before - which is exactly what we wanted to happen at ours! We had such an amazing time and so did our guests. We really had the best wedding ever and the DJ and uplighting was a huge part of that.

Hesson Entertainment was very reasonably priced and easy to work with. Michael never pushed us into anything we didn't need or wanted. He was professional, on time, and had great communication. I cannot recommend him enough to anyone who is looking for uplighting and/or DJ services. 10 stars for sure! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
carolyn
Wedding:
7/27/2014
5.0/5.0
I attended a wedding last year where Mike was the DJ...Knew from that moment he would be the DJ at my daughter's wedding. He was great to work with. He helped us with the big and small details. From the evening's timeline to great suggestions for the music. The Bride and Groom picked half of the songs played... We left it up for Mike to pick the other half. The Wait Staff at the Venue share with me that this was the best wedding music they had ever heard at a wedding... and the staff was caught dancing back in the kitchen. Wish I had more daughters getting married....I would hire him again.
I attended a wedding last year where Mike was the DJ...Knew from that moment he would be the DJ at my daughter's wedding. Read more...
I attended a wedding last year where Mike was the DJ...Knew from that moment he would be the DJ at my daughter's wedding. He was great to work with. He helped us with the big and small details. From the evening's timeline to great suggestions for the music. The Bride and Groom picked half of the songs played... We left it up for Mike to pick the other half. The Wait Staff at the Venue share with me that this was the best wedding music they had ever heard at a wedding... and the staff was caught dancing back in the kitchen. Wish I had more daughters getting married....I would hire him again. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Shanae
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Mike provided the uplighting for our wedding. He also designed a gobo with our name and wedding date which we loved! He was very professional.
Mike provided the uplighting for our wedding. He also designed a gobo with our name and wedding date which we loved! He Read more...
Mike provided the uplighting for our wedding. He also designed a gobo with our name and wedding date which we loved! He was very professional. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
gabriele
Wedding:
6/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Very professional and courteous DJ. DID A GREAT JOB WHILE also showing flexibility. I would go back to this DJ for any future events.
Very professional and courteous DJ. DID A GREAT JOB WHILE also showing flexibility. I would go back to this DJ for any Read more...
Very professional and courteous DJ. DID A GREAT JOB WHILE also showing flexibility. I would go back to this DJ for any future events. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Jazzmon
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with Michael at Hesson Entertainment was GREAT! We had an initial meeting so he can get a good idea of what I wanted and provided exactly what I was looking for. He is very professional and responsive. I would definitely recommend Hesson Entertainment for your uplighting decor!
Working with Michael at Hesson Entertainment was GREAT! We had an initial meeting so he can get a good idea of what I Read more...
Working with Michael at Hesson Entertainment was GREAT! We had an initial meeting so he can get a good idea of what I wanted and provided exactly what I was looking for. He is very professional and responsive. I would definitely recommend Hesson Entertainment for your uplighting decor! Read less
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Best DJ/Entertainment Company!

Michael Hesson is Organized and very Personable to work with. We met with him twice before our Wedding to go over coordination. He also had a Great website where you can plan and pick songs for your Event! Makes things very easy!

Michael Hesson ROCKED the entire day of our Wedding, from the Ceremony Music, Cocktail Hour, the Reception, doing a Awesome Job as the MC, everything was PERFECT!

We loved Cocktail Hour and every minute of the music that he played. (We asked him to play Caribbean themed music; something a little different for the Summer weather.) The up lighting that was included and provided was Beautiful!

Some of my most memorable moments from that night are Dancing with my Husband to Lionel Richie and Dancing with our Families to Sweet Caroline. He even got my 93 Year Old Grandmother to dance!

Thank you again so much for making our day so memorable. We will be sure to recommend your services to other Couples we know getting married.
Best DJ/Entertainment Company!

Michael Hesson is Organized and very Personable to work with. We met with him Read more...
Best DJ/Entertainment Company!

Michael Hesson is Organized and very Personable to work with. We met with him twice before our Wedding to go over coordination. He also had a Great website where you can plan and pick songs for your Event! Makes things very easy!

Michael Hesson ROCKED the entire day of our Wedding, from the Ceremony Music, Cocktail Hour, the Reception, doing a Awesome Job as the MC, everything was PERFECT!

We loved Cocktail Hour and every minute of the music that he played. (We asked him to play Caribbean themed music; something a little different for the Summer weather.) The up lighting that was included and provided was Beautiful!

Some of my most memorable moments from that night are Dancing with my Husband to Lionel Richie and Dancing with our Families to Sweet Caroline. He even got my 93 Year Old Grandmother to dance!

Thank you again so much for making our day so memorable. We will be sure to recommend your services to other Couples we know getting married. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor

MAP

 
12510 Swirl Ln, Bowie, MD 20715 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hesson Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1389819052984 d