130x130_sq_1370844121510-dj-lee-dyson

Hey Mister DJ

Los Angeles , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Los Angeles, CA US 90034 (map)

PHONE

310-591-0988

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hey Mister DJ consists of a very talented group of Disc Jockeys and entertainers that have many years of experience with weddings, corporate events, private parties and nightclubs. We... Read more
Hey Mister DJ consists of a very talented group of Disc Jockeys and entertainers that have many years of experience with weddings, corporate events, private parties and nightclubs. We specialize in bridging the gap between the “club DJ” & the “mobile DJ” experience.
Weather you are a professional event coordinator or someone that is planning your own party for the first time, we know it can be difficult to select entertainment for a big event and that’s why we are dedicated to making the selection process a very smooth, comfortable and stress-free experience for you. All of our DJs and entertainers are seasoned professionals and highly skilled in their craft. Their ability to read a crowd and respond accordingly is second to none Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1257805746791-675
130x130_sq_1257805748025-1
130x130_sq_1257805748526-766
130x130_sq_1257805751416-aa1142
130x130_sq_1257805752042-aa1149
130x130_sq_1257805766340-edewards0901b
130x130_sq_1257805770215-guto1546
130x130_sq_1257805772450-hah20080501035
130x130_sq_1257805774606-dsc01615
130x130_sq_1257805775106-hah20080501037
130x130_sq_1257805777482-img1450
130x130_sq_1257805782951-newpics027
130x130_sq_1257805831112-p1000198
130x130_sq_1257805839504-p1010270
130x130_sq_1257805845379-p1010389
130x130_sq_1257805848770-saxdrums
130x130_sq_1257805850302-casey
130x130_sq_1257805852052-chris
130x130_sq_1257805853427-gianna
130x130_sq_1257805854490-lee
130x130_sq_1257805858256-patrick
130x130_sq_1257805933357-i0609

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Classic Rock, Classical, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
The concept of our style & company is to bridge the best attributes of the Club DJ & the Mobile DJ. We bring the savvy style & aesthetics of a Club DJ (without the attitude or flake factor) and match it with the professionalism and etiquette of a Mobile DJ. (Without the cheesy factor) We have a chameleon-like ability to adapt to just about any situation and create the perfect vibe!
What is your usual attire?
Depends on the style of the event. Usually black on black, business attire or "LA CHIC"
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
There are very few songs we don't have or can't find but if this becomes an issue we are always happy to integrate any music provided by the client into our set.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We have about 6-8 very talented DJs on our team. We prefer to stay small and focus on quality over quantity when it comes to weddings and events.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
2 Hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes! In fact we prefer it. We believe chemistry is important between you and your vendors. It allows you to relax on the day of the event and usually translates to a much more smooth performance for us too.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We have a variety of lighting and effects availible as well as additional entertainment options
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We always arrive at least 1-2 hours prior to the event start time to setup and soundcheck. We usually only require a 6 foot table.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Yes but only when needed. We believe less is more when it comes to microphone presence. If we are reading the room properly and programing our music accordingly then the energy will be right and there is little need for extra mic chatter beyoned the traditional elements of the wedding. (Grand Ent, Toast, Cake Cutting etc....)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Always nice to have but not needed.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
N/A
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes we always have replacement Djs and equipment should a circumstance arise that is out of our control.
What is your overtime rate?
$200 per hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Depends on location

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fred
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
My same-sex husband and I were so pleased that we chose Hey Mister DJ for our wedding on a yacht. Both Lee and Chris were easy to work with and answered all our questions in a timely manner. DJ Chris provided the music and lights for the ceremony and reception. He worked very well with the ceremony singer, whom we decided to use after we had already met with Chris. He also didn't play songs that we asked him not to play (even though guests requested them--Chris totally understood that this was OUR wedding, not our guests'). People stayed on the dance floor throughout the reception! The songs that needed to be cued were done perfectly. Chris came early to set up the equipment and was dressed professionally during the event. He was outgoing and very personable with the guests, as well as, us. I would highly recommend using Hey Mister DJ and specifically, DJ Chris.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Lee was incredibly easy to work with and did a great job at our wedding. He played everything we asked and put together a great playlist. We received lots of compliments on the wedding, from both older and younger guests, including that he managed to play something for everyone. He had a full dance floor all the way until the end of the night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zareen
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
BLOWN AWAY and expectations exceeded. I am super particular about music and I wanted to create a SPECIAL day for myself (my groom let me run the reception music for the most part! Mostly 80s, yeah! My groom got his beach vibes for the ceremony.) And Chris from Hey Mister DJ handled it with such professionalism. He more than catered to my needs but ALSO, totally felt the vibes of the room and filled the gaps and was just...beyond amazing. Every turn, every corner I took- I was in love with how EVERYTHING he did turned out!!!! The music was VERY important to me and I was blown away by his talent, skill, and ability to read the room. And to also work SO SEAMLESSLY with my wedding timeline.
The lights, the AV also went off without a hitch too- major thanks to Chris at Hey Mister DJ for helping to coordinate everything. I am telling you- this is the best DJ experience EVER. Would recommend 100 times over and over.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are so happy that Lee Dyson was the DJ at our wedding! He was great with communication, from the first time we contacted him many months before the wedding, all the way through the big day. When we talked to him on the phone and in person, he was very friendly and made us feel comfortable right away. To top it all off, he is an awesome DJ! My husband and I both love to dance, as do most of our family and friends, so it was very important to us that our reception be a super fun dance party. It definitely was! The music during dinner created just the mood we wanted, and after dinner the dance floor was immediately packed. It stayed that way until the last song of the night. We also had several specific requests for different moments during the night, and Lee made it all happen with ease, exactly the way we envisioned. He is a total professional. All of our guests kept telling us how much fun they were having, and we felt the same way. We highly recommend Lee and Hey Mr DJ!! Many thanks to Lee for helping us make memories that we will cherish forever!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jami
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Lee was absolutely great to work with. My partner and I are a same-sex couple and it was very important to us to find vendors who were supportive of the LGBT communitiy and who understood that our ceremony/reception would be different than other weddings. He was totally supportive, and really helped us to create an unforgetable day. He really knows music and did a great job of helping us shape the reception so everyone had a great time. Many guests remarked at how great the music was. Lee helped us with the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. I didn't have to worry about a thing. He was very professional, super easy to work with, and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend him to anybody (LGBT or not) looking for a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Lee at Hey Mr. DJ was so fantastic at our wedding! He's extremely friendly and personable when you meet him, and so helpful with working through your wants and needs for the big day. We worked on a small list of must play/don't play/optional songs and he made sure to take everything we wanted into consideration, and then learned from our tastes to craft the perfect mix for us. He's flexible on your day and can easily roll with any changes or last minute needs, and so many of our guests came up to me to compliment me on the music - coming from a huge family that goes to a ton of weddings and all love to dance (until they practically kick us out) that's a big compliment! Lee was able to handle both the ceremony and receptipn which made things a million times less complicated since we didn't have to coordinate musicions, and we could customize everything to a T. He's is professional and just a really nice guy to put you at ease on your wedding day. Can't recommend him enough!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Lee Dyson was the absolute perfect DJ for our wedding! He followed our very specific music instructions to a T and made sure that the party went well into the night and that everyone had a blast. He was so easy to work with and I highly recommend him to anyone in need of a DJ for their wedding, party, fundraising event etc. He's super professional, very easy going, pays attention to detail and spends the time with you that you need. I highly, highly recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sean
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Lee was absolutely amazing from the very beginning. We loved him at our cousin's wedding so much that we asked him to be the DJ at our wedding. Lee's choices in music are second to none. He really understands you and works really well to make the night/day perfect. Lee helped us with our timeline and had a lot of great insight throughout the whole process. We even had guests approach us to tell us how great the music was at the venue. We highly recommend Lee!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Violeta
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Hey Mister DJ is a great company! We had Lee at our wedding on September 22nd at calamigos ranch- he did SUCH a great job! We had a pretty eclectic group of people, my family is from Argentina and my husband's family is from Boston! So you can only imagine how hard it would be to play music that everyone can relate to. He really made it so that everyone at one point had music they felt comfortable dancing to, and at one point even played a song that was huge in Argentina and all my cousins were so excited! I didn't even know the song and it wasn't on my list, this just shows how good he is at reading a crowd. He is also really skilled at last minute changes, during the wedding I told him I didn't want people to join in on our first dance, but last minute I got nervous and did a hand motion and he totally got it, it was so seamless and made me feel so relaxed. I would recommend Hey Mister DJ to anyone planning a wedding or event! It's obvious he knows what he is doing and is a very pleasant and professional person to do business with. Thank you Lee!!

Violeta & Andrew
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
9/8/2013
5.0/5.0
When looking for a DJ for our intimate wedding we didn't have to search for long once we saw Lee perform at another function we attended. That function was a lot larger than our intimate wedding but he seems to have a unique gift of making every room feel the right size for the occasion.

From the very first point of contact to the follow ups after the wedding he was extremely professional. A lot of our other vendors were hard to track down sometimes or just difficult to deal with but Lee was a pleasure to work with. We had to explain once what we were looking for and he was able to use his experience to interpret our requirements correctly.

The day of the event he showed up as planned and everything went off without a hitch. He had people dancing and kept everything moving smoothly throughout the night. He was able to dig up all of the weird and unusual songs we requested and was a fantastic help for all our worries about our first dance and anything else music wise.

I really could not recommend Hey Mr DJ enough to anyone in the market to hire musical entertainment for any type of event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phyllis
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee is absolutely amazing and I recommend to all brides who want to have a GREAT, carefree/stressfree wedding. From the initial consultation to the actual day of the wedding, Lee has been very responsive and professional. He had good recommendations and kept the party going. He also worked with my coordinator and best friend on creating the BEST flashmob/rave ever. Can't say enough good things about Lee...!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Lee was great! He listened to everything we wanted and it all came out great! We let him take the lead on some things and it was just perfect! Sound, lights, songs...all fantastic! Could not have picked a better Dj and MC!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leane
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I met with Lee for our initial consultation ad loved him! He is young and hip yet very, very professional. Lee was always accessible for any questions I had and understood the I just wanted everyone to have fun on the wedding day. Our guests didn't stop dancing until the very last song at midnight and enjoyed all of the tunes. Lee really knew how to read the room and I couldn't have asked for a better party! Lee was wonderful!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeff
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Top marks for Hey Mister DJ and Lee! Lee was recommended by both friends and the people working on our wedding and they were right. We didn't want to put a lot of time into detailed playlists, so we gave Lee just a handful of inspiration songs and let him run with it. And he did, the music was on point all night! He worked with a circus troop we used providing background music for their performance. He took a special mix we created for first dance and worked with us to get everyone on the floor for an impromptu flash mob that was a highlight of the night. In short, Lee was amazing to work with and we look forward to the next event he DJs. Jeff & Eric
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carla
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Hiring Hey Mister DJ was one of THE BEST decisions we made for our wedding day. We cannot recommend DJ Chris enough – he did a great job of taking our song direction list (see list at bottom of review) and creating a playlist that fit the mood and atmosphere perfectly throughout the entire night. My husband and I envisioned our beachside wedding as a romantic, relaxed ceremony/cocktail hour with a kickass reception/party for everyone to enjoy. We hired Hey Mister DJ to provide music for the dinner and reception and DJ Chris truly delivered. For weeks after the wedding we had guests of all ages telling us how great the reception music was – everyone was dancing the entire night (including my grandmothers) due to DJ Chris’ great job of reading the crowd. Out of all of the DJs I have heard/seen at weddings, I honestly think DJ Chris is the best. I would not exaggerate about this – I usually don’t review vendors, but we were so happy with DJ Chris we wanted to provide feedback so others may enjoy the same experience.

On top of everything, DJ Chris went out of his way to meet us in person before the wedding to ensure we were all on the same page. Additionally, Hey Mister DJ is affordable and well worth the money.

Dinner Song Direction List:
-Billy Joel - “Miami 2017”
-REO Speedwagon - “Blame it on the Changes”
-David Bowie - “Time”
-James Taylor - “Fire and Rain”
-Stevie Wonder - “Sir Duke”
-Bruce Springsteen - “I’m on Fire”
-Steppenwolf - “Magic Carpet Ride”
-Eddie Money - “Take me Home Tonight”
-Go West - “We Close Our Eyes”
-Queen - “Somebody to Love”

Wedding Song Direction List:
-Earth Wind & Fire - “September”
-Warren G - “Regulators”
-Jackson 5 - “Blame it on the Boogie”
-The 1975 - “Chocolate”
-Michael Jackson - “PYT”
-Icona Pop - “I Love It”
-Calvin Harris & Florence Welch - “Sweet Nothing”
-Swedish House Mafia - “Don’t You Worry Child”
-A$AP Rocky - “Wild for the Night”
-Carly Rae Jepsen - “Call me Maybe”
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
2/24/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee of "Hey Mister DJ" did such an AMAZING job on our
wedding day! He by far exceeded our expectations and was very affordable. We had a very unique theme last minute for our wedding. Since our wedding was the same night as the oscars, we incorporated an oscar theme. I feel in love with a movie soundtrack that I wanted to use for the entire processional and was told by our coordinator that it wouldn't work because it was too short, but lee found a way to loop the song and inserted the grand entrance part of the song (that I loved most) for my entrance seamlessly. We also introduced our wedding party oscar style. Everyone was introduced with an award. For example, "and for best actor in a supporting role, best man: Jason....!" And Lee played a movie soundtrack as each person collected their award. Lee was so great at meeting with us to make it all work and even added to it by playing movie soundtracks throughout dinner --GENIUS!! He kept the party going after dinner too, there were always people dancing and everyone kept telling me how it was the best wedding that they had ever been too. I was told before the wedding that I should
expect at least one thing to go wrong--that could not have been further from the truth. My wedding was beyond perfect!! I was blown away and it truly was the best night of my life.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Chris' knowledge of music spans many different genres.
He was able to put together a varied play list from ceremony to reception, based on our specific requests, tastes and exclusions.
His music mixing was superb.
He kept the crowd engaged, happy and on the dance floor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee is the "DJ without the cheese!!" Very efficient and thorough. I'm very meticulous, he performed perfectly. He delivered everything on point, no hassle, no complaint, and extremely professional. You will not be disappointed. I was hesitant at first to use a DJ and not a band, I'm glad I chose Lee. He made choosing music easy, gave us lots of recommendations and this thoughts and experience, which he has plenty of. The music background is well-versed, he knows a lot of genres out there, huge collection of music. We couldn't find enough songs to complete our time for cocktail and reception hour, he was able to do that for us and change the genre or theme. He's not your normal DJ, he's a professional music master that performs at events. He doesn't miss a beat when it comes to your wedding!!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammi
Wedding:
9/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Lee Dyson is simply the best! He really set the tone for our entire wedding, and we couldn't be happier. He was professional and really understood what we wanted. Every song he played was perfect.

Our families do not dance at all, but everyone still came up to me and complimented Lee. He just reads the crowd so well. Thank you Lee for being a part of our special day. We really hope that we can work with you again in the future!! :)
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jovi
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Hey Mister DJ was absoulty the best move we made in makling our wedding just that much more special. Richard was our DJ and he had everyone dancing from start to finish!! He made our wedding a fun and unforgetable night!! I also got my lighting done with them and it gave my reception the exact feel I was going for, and just added a beautiful touch to everything. I am so thankful to him and Lee for making our wedding a night we will always remember!!

I highly recommend them to anyone looking for great music, service, and quality!!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1313442390964-yes
Emery
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Lee/Hey Mister DJ was all-pro and kept our reception on track and movin on the dance floor. Our actual wedding planner let us down - Lee stepped in and coordinated the night better than she did, and played great music to boot. Thanks so much Lee for a job well done! We hope to get the opportunity to hire Lee again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We hired DJ Richard for our wedding, and he did an amazing job! The night went smoothly and there were always people out on the dance floor. He did a great job making sure that night flowed and that all the music that we requested was played. We could not have asked for a better DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
7/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I have to admit that when looking for a DJ for my wedding, the biggest deciding factor to choosing Hey Mister DJ was their amazing professionalism. From the start, Lee was super helpful and made sure we had any resources necessary for choosing a good DJ. Our wedding venue was excited that we we had chosen them as well and had nothing but additional great things to say. DJ Chris was our DJ for the wedding and from the first meeting was very nice, professional and responsive. He did an amazing job with the music selections. Especially the ceremony. My guests were blown away that there was an instrumental version of Sweet Child of Mine and loved it! It fit in so perfectly. He played a great selection of music all night and had everyone on the dance floor during at least one point in the night. He was also REALLY great at not playing the songs that I didn't want to hear even though he was bugged about it quite a lot by some of my bridesmaids. I would definitely recommend DJ Chris and Lee to anyone looking for a wedding DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
So happy with the service and experience! Had several guests comment on how much they liked the DJ and I imagine it had a lot to do with the mix of music and ability to keep the party going. Very pleased and would absolutely recommend him to others getting married! Fantastic!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ Chris of Hey Mister DJ played a huge role in making sure everyone had a fantastic time at our wedding. His musical selections, timing, professionalism, and warm and personable approach to our friends, families, and other vendors made for a wonderful night of good times that completely exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1315239831852-28832138223328896716260167958921301440914n
Kelley
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We knew we wanted a DJ for our wedding and our number one thing is we did not want anyone 'cheesy' or someone who wouldn't connect well with our guests. We met with Lee about 7 months before the wedding and he was so great, totally understood what we wanted for our music, really listened to us and provided us with great ideas for our ceremony and reception. We communicated throughout those months and in several telephone conferences before the big day. The day of could not have gone better! We provided him with a list of songs that were 'must play' and he hit all of those, and most of our 'try to play' list. We also had both American and Persian music at our wedding and he was so agreeable to helping us with playing both and really read the crowd and knew when to play what. We have had so many people tell us that ours was the best wedding they had ever been to, and the music by far made that happen. We danced all night long! I would HIGHLY recommend Lee for your event with no hesitation. Thanks again for such a great night!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Libby
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Lee took the mood of the room and combined it with my husband and my love of music.... Lee found the perfect balance for the room and to keep the dance floor going! During our dinner he provided the best "cool" lounge feel and I heard many compliments for the feeling of the room! Music no doubt provided a big part in that! Lee was great at listening to our guests requests but using his discretion for what to actually play! I would highly recommend Lee to anyone looking for a professional, quality DJ service. I am already planning to book him for our next event!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
goldmo
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I picked Hey Mister DJ after reading reviews online. I'm so glad I hired them! Our DJ was Chris, who was awesome. They are super easy to work with and Chris was just great. We aren't that into music, so he really did all the work for us after we gave him on a few songs for guidance. I absolutely recommend them if you want to have a blast at your wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Working with Lee from Hey Mister DJ was a wonderful experience. I didn’t think I would dance so much at my wedding. But I enjoyed the music he played so much, my friends and I had a blast on the dance floor! I would recommend him 100%!
1)He is prompt, efficient, polite, patient, experienced, professional, and friendly.
2)His prices are reasonable.
3)He understands what music to play to fit your wedding style.
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Lee was superb. I would recommend him to anyone with any type of musical tastes/preferences!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MikeyO
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Just fantastic. Having a solid DJ who can help set the pace for the wedding is essential & Lee knocked it out of the park.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
2/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Lee and Chris were very professional from start to finish. Chris met with us the day before the wedding to run through our dos/donts, playlist, etc., one last time giving us a piece of mind that we did not need to worry about him. The day of we couldn't have asked for a better MC and DJ. Chris came dressed professionally and ran through all ofthe proper cues without rehearsal or promoting. We never had a concern. Dinner music was great, first dance was perfectly timed (as requested) and he kept the dance floor going all night and then some.

Thanks guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SDanna
Wedding:
1/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Perfect! Lee from Hey Mister DJ is the best!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1304311674485-img1984
Katie
Wedding:
12/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Lee Dyson at Hey Mister DJ was an absolute pleasure to work with on our New Year's Eve wedding at Cicada.

Before the wedding, he was very accessible for my many questions and he was very timely in his responses - both email and phone. He provided great recommendations on lighting (he even provided video links of other weddings, both at our location and others, so that we could really visualize his recommendations) and music for all parts of the wedding.

Lee also worked well with our day-of coordinator. Our coordinator had put together a timeline for us, but after Lee saw it, he had some suggestions that made the flow of the evening much better.

At the wedding, Lee was awesome. We had given him a general idea of what types of music we wanted, and he knocked it out of the park! We got so many compliments on our music! People even asked for our play list! And we had people up and dancing all night long - just what we wanted! And his MC'ing was perfect. He facilitated the evening, he wasn't the star of it.

Since this was a New Year's Eve wedding, I had a vision of showing the ball drop from Times Square at midnight. Lee had never done anything like this before, but he was willing to work with us. We did most of the legwork (set up a slingbox from our Dish network subscription to run on our laptop, and project on his screen), but he certainly facilated it happening at the right time (can't be 5 minutes late for this!) while we were off on the dance partying with our guests. We didn't want the TV's cheesy count-down audio (not a huge Ryan Seacrest fan), so Lee did the countdown and it was fun, and cheese-free, just like I imagined!

I cannot recommend Lee highly enough!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Lee of Hey Mister DJ did an awesome job at our wedding! He kept everyone on the dance floor (the entire wedding reception even broke out into a group kick line at one point- I'm talking ALL the guests :-) and he even had incredibly helpful suggestions when it came to lighting, etc. One of the things that I most appreciated was that he called me several days before the wedding and spent quite a bit of time reviewing the timeline with me, clarifying a few points, and answering any questions that I had. When you're a bride, this is HUGE. You want to feel like your vendors have everything covered and we definitely felt incredibly confident with Lee and Hey Mister DJ. We wish we had another huge celebration coming up so that we could hire him all over again. (Until then, we'll just keep recommending him to everyone we know that wants to throw a fabulous party!).
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jpark139
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Lee Dyson (Hey Mister DJ) was awesome. Lee is incredibly professional, talented and accommodating. He had a great understanding of what we were looking for in terms of music and matched it perfectly for the event and our guests. We also liked how he was able to be make the music a big part of the wedding/reception without having the DJ be the focal point.

Lee carries a wide, deep spectrum of music and is able to play to any type of setting or crowd. In addition to the vast library of music he has online on his website, he also capable of getting a hold of the hard to find songs as well.

We are so pleased that we found Lee to be our wedding DJ. We really couldnt have made a better choice.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hara
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Chris was great. He was the perfect DJ for my event at Shutters on the Beach. He played an awesome collection of songs off of my requested list, he followed the itinerary my planner provided him with perfectly and his energy was great. He was the perfect amount of presence at the wedding too. My husband and I are both really happy with him and the company. We got responses immediately to all emails and questions leading up. Thank you guys so much for helping make the wedding wonderful.
Best,
Hara and Jeff
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
norzano
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Used Lee for our wedding --- listened to us and played exactly what we wanted. Would definitely recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a Dj who can rock the dance floor, read the crowd, and help coordinate the evening, look no further. Lee Dyson, Hey Mister DJ was fantastic. My husband and I were specific about the type of music we wanted him to play and to not play, and the moment we met him, we had no more concerns. We knew from his vibe that he would be PERFECT for our wedding! Our guests are still talking about how awesome our party was, because the dance floor was packed from the first song to the final notes of the last song. Lee was great to work with from the start. He was professional, understanding and he helped keep us to our timeline, which was really important to us. We highly recommend him!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrskleiny
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved everything about DJ Lee Dyson. Prior to the event, he was very responsive to emails-responding within 24 hours or sooner. He is every bit a professional and strives to give you the experience you want at your event-which he delivered and THEN some at our wedding. Our guests were all talking about the music selection, the DJ and how fantastic it all was. Truly, I am not exaggerating when I say the dance floor was packed all night-we even extended the party we were having so much fun thanks to Lee!
Services Used: DJ
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Hiring Lee was one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning process. He was so easy to work with and very responsive. He delivered exactly what we wanted, and exactly what he advertised, great music without the "cheese." So many of our wedding guests gave us compliments on the music and raved about how great he was. He had our guests dancing all night, he played all of the right songs - it was like he read my mind. I would highly recommend Hey Mr. DJ to anyone planning a wedding or party. Thank you Lee!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1312477223983-fbavatar639985423
Shaby
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
When looking for a DJ, the most important thing was finding one with personality, but one who didn't go over the top with announcements and exaggerations. Basically, no CHEESE! From the moment we met Lee, we knew we found the right guy. Not only was he professional, he knew his music. He walked us through his processes and how he gets people to dance.

Needless to say, he delivered! Lee had us dancing the whole night, and seemed to know exactly when to play the right songs! He is definitely worth every penny paid, and definitely one of the highlights of the night. Thank you Lee!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarahslater
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was July 16th, 2011 at the Oviatt Building Penthouse and it was amazing for so many reasons. Especially the terrific DJ we hired (Chris Armenta), who was so organized and had our favorite jams! He played every single song I asked him to! He was very responsive through the process of planning the wedding and easy to talk to. I would highly recommend Hey Mister DJ for any type of event! They Rock!
Sincerely,
Sarah Slater
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The New Mrs. Goodman
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Not only was Lee a great DJ during our wedding, but he invested a lot of time into our event. Our wedding was held at the Natural History Museum in Los Angeles, and he went out of his way several times--whether it was for a vendor meeting or to scope out the scene. He has good taste in music and knows what it takes to get the party started (and to make it last all night). I also appreciated that he kept the ceremony and reception flowing, but wasn't ever intrusive on the mic like other DJs can be. Thanks, Hey Mister DJ!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1301248024345-allsmiles
HOWARD
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Hey Mister DJ found the perfect DJ for our wedding celebration. They listened carefully to our needs and identified a DJ who delivered just what we needed! Why would you use anyone else!?!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ssh
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Richard DJ'd our wedding in June 2011 and we thought he and Lee did an amazing job. They were very professional, timely and very helpful with us choosing music to best fit our meticulous wedding theme. Richard played an amazing set before our band began playing and really got the party mood started. He also played an elegant music selection during dinner and maintained the high energy later in the night. We were very pleased with our experience and we highly recommend Richard and Lee.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Lee just did my wedding in June, and I couldn't have been happier with the results. We liked Lee from the beginning. His easy-going style matched with ours, and he knew right away what kind of vibe we wanted at the wedding. He was super responsive and easy to get a hold of, plus we liked being able to pay with credit card via his website. On the actual wedding day, Lee was well-prepared and organized, and did an amazing job with the music. We had a ton of compliments on his work, and my friends are pretty tough critics! We danced the night way, and only left the dance floor after they turned the lights back on. I highly recommend Lee and his services.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
All we can say is that Dj Lee knows his music and has a keen eye for room tone and really made sure that all our guests kept the dance floor hopping. We gave him a list of genres to play during the cocktail hour and reception and everything ran smoothly. Our families complimented on how he played music that all ages could adapt to. He also checked in periodically to let us know what events were coming up during the reception. He's very organized. A week before our wedding day we didn't think about having any lighting package. He recommended a basic lighting package (which he provided) just to give the reception area some ambience and he was totally right! The lights did create more energy. He is awesome to work with and we would recommend him to anyone that wants to hire an awesome DJ, not just for weddings, but for any occasion! --DJ Lee Dyson, you're awesome!! Thank you so much for making our special day a night that everyone will remember!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SHARON
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired DJ Lee for our wedding and could not be more pleased. DJ Lee was professional, responsive, and a great MC as well. He is detail oriented and really listened to what we wanted for our wedding,and provided great suggestions. He did an excellent job at reading the room, and our dance floor was packed all night. We were surprised to see many of our "non dancer" friends on the dance floor! I definitely recommend DJ Lee!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichole
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Before we booked our DJ, we had consulted with a few different vendors. Lee was the only person who responded to e-mails and questions in a timely manner. However, what I most appreciated was how straight forward he was, there were not any hidden costs or "oh I forgot to tell you." Take it or leave it, you had all the information upfront to make the decision to suit your needs and budget. And then the wedding....
Just as fabulous. He provided all aspects of sound and music for our ceremony & reception. Kept the party moving, but was never pushy or made anyone feel like they "had" to do anything. Great personality, and willing to be flexible depending on the environment. Can't say enough great things about Lee, really great attitude and true professional!!
Sean & Nichole
3/26/11
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Kelly
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee Dyson was amazing! He followed our worksheet to a tee and was open to any suggestions or recommendations my husband and I had during the wedding itself. He is also a great emcee and keeps the energy going! He has the outstanding skill of feeling out the crowd and playing or changing music types accordingly should the dance floor need a bigger crowd. Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
He was great - all of our guests were on the dance floor almost the entire reception!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin Sites
Wedding:
2/6/2011
5.0/5.0
This was the second wedding for both of us--and we wanted a very chill and relaxed atmosphere--that would allow everyone to talk, but with an energetic background sound that both soothed and stimulated. Lee, delivered on all counts. And even though we didn't ask this of him--he became a kind of de-facto master of ceremonies, helping us to stay on track with our ceremony and celebration. It was like having a ringmaster and dj all in one. He's a consumate professional.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Lee was an awesome DJ, he played great music all night and even managed to play some random songs we asked him to include, and they all worked and fit the mood perfectly! I know everyone had a good time and there slogan is right on, no cheese! Thank you Lee!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly R
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Brett Walkow was perfect for our Bat Mitzvah. He was fun and personable but not cheesy at all. He kept the party going and really had the kids on the dance floor. He kept to the schedule and even remembered things that I would have forgotten as the busy hostess. He played the perfect music for 13 year olds. He was awesome!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carynkol
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I threw ourselves a 40th birthday party and DJ Alan helped set the tone with great mixes of 80s music. He was right on time and organized with a great playlist and did a fantastic job. He made the party terrific!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaurenG
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee, you rock! I truly feel that you made our wedding memorable to both me, my husband as well as all my family and friends. You were by far one of the best aspects of the wedding & we are so glad we hired you :) You knew exactly what kind of musice we were into & made our night "ours"....no cheesy macarena, chicken dance or conga lines! I will for sure be recommending you to anyone I know needing an awesome DJ....thanks so much!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1281057858285-rebeccadavid086
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Lee was wonderful to work with; he is flexible and professional. He accommodated last minute requests and made sure all the transitions went smoothly. These days, many with just an ipod may think they can be a DJ, but it's important to have a professional who can gauge the ambiance and provide appropriate music. Thanks to Lee, we had a successful reception that was elegant and fun!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Hey Mister DJ was quite possibly our BEST decision in this whole wedding process. Lee was so amazingly awesome to work with. We can't stop receiving compliments on all the music! We were determined to find an amazing DJ who 'got' what kind of music we wanted...and even more determined to find a DJ who didn't come with all that wedding 'cheese'. We found that in Lee of Hey Mister DJ.

Lee understood exactly what we were looking for and took our taste in music and ran with it. He was also so helpful in suggesting tips for our wedding, suggestions and recommendations on other vendors, and never ONCE pressured us into saying 'yes' to his services. We wish we could throw a party every month just to have Lee DJ the party! You just CANNOT be disappointed by Hey Mister DJ...truly one in a million. Thanks for such an amazing wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denita
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I must admit that I was not planning on having a DJ for our wedding at first. However, two months prior to my June wedding, I saw a video of a real life wedding where the iPod thing went horribly wrong. So, I had to look and find someone fast. Fortunately, I saw all the great reviews about Lee and his company here on yelp.

When I heard Lee's music samples on his website, I was hooked. I didn't care how much it cost. I wanted him to DJ my wedding. I'm so happy with that choice. Lee went above and beyond for us. He is a true professional.

I am still amazed that Lee was able to get everyone up on the dance-floor, including my dad. I was shocked, in my 33 years I have NEVER EVER seen my dad dance! The music was that great!

He also kept the two small children entertained. It was great. They spent a lot of time trying to catch the red light. They enjoyed chasing it. I will always call on Lee from now on when I need a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Elvira
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I have to say when I first started looking for DJ I was very disappointed with the wedding DJs out there. They were either super cocky, super cheesy or not the right fit for us. I contacted my coordinator and she put me in touch with Lee and I couldn't of been happier with the ending result. He listened and worked with our concerns. He is a true DJ that can actually mix songs and can mix anything from Lady Gaga with David Bowie and have everyone on there feet. Lee was an amazing DJ at our wedding and kept the dance party flowing!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chrisb
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Chris did a fantastic job taking care of us for our wedding. Lee was great to work with.
Highly recommended.
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Marisa
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Lee was our DJ and he is incredible. He was very responsive to everything we asked for. He provided both music and lighting. Not only did he do lighting for the dance floor but he was able to shine a light on our cake which made it look fantastic. The music was great, there were people on the dance floor the entire night which made it soo much fun. We only gave him a small list of must plays and from there he was able to keep the party going all night. He is definately one of the best DJ's in the city. Lee also helped me tremendously with the timeline and it made everyhing flow so smoothly. I would definitly recommend him to everyone I know.
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sdvora
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Chris was amazing at our wedding! He was really laid back, which suit our style perfectly. He played a great mix of the stuff we listed, as well as taking care to take into account what music would work at the moment, and what the other guests may have wanted to hear. According to our preferences, he successfully denied all guest attempts to request horrible songs that we didn't want to hear, like the Conga or the Chicken Dance. And he totally went with the flow, making some impromptu announcements that we had forgotten to let him know about ahead of time. He arrived promptly, and was absolutely professional, and a warm presence at our wedding. Everyone loved him, and I couldn't recommend him enough. Thanks, Chris!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaibaby
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Hey Mister DJ and DJ Lee helped to make our wedding day the most fun-filled and dance-filled day of our lives. Our guests still talk about what a great DJ company we had at our wedding. We suppose it was evident how much everyone enjoyed the DJ by the overpopulation of the dance floor for the entire reception! DJ Lee really has a knack for keeping the party grooving and feeling out the energy level of the crowd. If we are ever in need of a DJ in the future or know someone else who is, we won't hesitate to call on Hey Mister DJ. They're like magic!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Love Rocks
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
My brother had Lee as his DJ for his wedding a couple years ago, and when the time came for my now husband and I to choose ours for our wedding, it was a no brainer. We remembered his professionalism and talent from my brothers wedding and knew right away that we would want to have him DJ our wedding too. The insight and knowledge that Lee brings to the table is unmatched. His ability to cater to the specific needs and wants of the couple is amazing. He is the DJ and the Master of Ceremonies, very comfortable and secure in what he does which for the bride and groom, makes all the difference in the world. We will definitely keep him in mind for future referrals and would like to express our deepest gratitude to Lee for making our wedding so memorable!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1262121012653-0144sararyan
Sara H
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
DJ Lee Dyson is an amazing find! I got married November 2009 and let me tell you the DJ I haev learned is the MOST important vendor of a wedding with a larger reception, they can either set the right vibe want or...not and kill the party.

Lee was a dream to work with...extremely communicative, evaluated my event hall and gave me guidance what would work best, worked with me to integrate the extremely wide variety of music I wanted to include, helped me get a great timeline together and then on the big day put the whole thing together perfectly! He transitioned from events to music with no interruption at all and kept the party going beyond smoothly. People were up and dancing the whole time from my grandmother to my friends and co-workers. I would highly recommend DJ Lee Dyson to anyone looking for a great DJ. I will definetly high his services again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FinleyTheGreat
Wedding:
11/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Lee was a true professional. He established a party-going mood with ease and did a better job of keeping the events of the evening on schedule than the "party captain" assigned to us by the reception hall.

It's too bad you're only supposed to get married once. We'd hire him for all our weddings! =)
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Our DJ Patrick was absolutely fantastic. We had a multi-cultural wedding and needed music to make everyone happy. Patrick was responsive and available and offered some great suggestions. We both felt that it was very important to us to be surrounded by positive people during our wedding and during our planning process. Patrick was our guy!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darren
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Lee was fantastic at our wedding! I can recommend him without any reservation. He was always nice and professional, and we both felt we could contact him as much as we needed to in planning the music for our wedding.
As far as the music played, we just gave him a list of must plays, and a general style of what we wanted. That's it. And he nailed it!

During the ceremony and reception Lee was wonderful as well. He kept the party moving perfectly. He was so helpful with the timeline of things. We did not have a day of coordinator or party planner. But every once in a while Lee would tap me on the shoulder and let me know he was going to do this or that because it was that time to do so. Honestly, it would not have been a perfectly smooth and hassle free wedding without him.

I highly recommend him for your wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Bg15
Molly
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
My now-husband actually found Lee Dyson of Hey Mister DJ and I was SO happy that he did! From the beginning of the process to the end, Lee was professional, knowledgeable, responsive, and accommodating. We definitely leaned on him for more than just music. Several of the highlights were: First, we wanted music OUR way, and Lee was more than happy to be the humble DJ who probably knows more music than we do, but obliged our tastes. Second, Lee helped us to create the timeline for the night because we have never done it before and you can believe he has! It was great - flexible to maximize people's enjoyment and sense of relaxation. Third, on the wedding night, he did exactly what he said he would - was professional, connected with us inconspicuously about timing of things and how it was going, smiled, and basically led the show without taking it over. Fourth, there was a situation involving an unwanted guest and Lee immediately handled it so that nobody noticed. I would recommend his services to anyone and will hire him again when the time comes!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DG
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We used DJ Lee (Hey Mister DJ) for our wedding on 9/5/2009. Right from the start he was always professional and provided many useful suggestions as far as layout and the order of events. We had a wedding coordinator but Lee's advice was a great supplement to our coordinator.

I think I should go into what we were looking for in a DJ and then you can see how that stacks up against your expectations. I think this is important since I may rate something higher/lower than you do and you end up unhappy (which I don't want to do to happen).

First of all we wanted a DJ who was not an aspiring artist or a Wedding singer reject. I know this sounds harsh but there are plenty of them out there. I don't know if you have had the opportunity to go to any wedding expos, if you have you know what I'm talking about when I say there are a lot of "characters" out there. We definitely did not want someone who would sing behind a keyboard in between songs. I know some people who absolutely love that; we definitely did not want that.

Another thing that was important for us was for the DJ to have a hip vibe. I know this is quiet subjective, but basically we did not want a guy who simply played music off of his computer. We wanted someone who knew music really well (all genres) and had the ability to naturally blend music from one theme to the next. Don't overlook the music knowledge factor. I think it is important for the DJ to be able to suggest songs that a guest may request but does not fit in with your vision. For example, my wife and I had a wide spectrum of music on our list. We grew up listening to anything from Spanish to Rock and all types in between. We also like Hip Hop but knew some songs were not appropriate for our big day. It was imperative for our DJ to be able to get a request say from a teenage cousin and suggest something softer yet still hip.

Obviously being timely, dependable and professional were high on our criteria list. The last thing we wanted was for our DJ to ruin our wedding by not showing up, or worse yet, embarrassing us.

Let me say that in every single item I noted Lee could not have been a better fit. He was early for every meeting we had (initial, follow ups and at the venue). He kept his interaction to a minimum (only doing the things we asked of him) and definitely knew music. He was the MC for our wedding and kept the events going with a natural flow without them feeling rushed. When there was a change to our timeline (requested by us) he was able to handle the change flawlessly. Lee was dressed properly for our wedding yet still had a hip vibe to him. I definitely would recommend him and will use him again for any future event that requires a DJ.

Most important, Lee was always honest with us. He was straight forward if he felt that we didn't need items that would cost extra (and also on items that we should add). I met with several DJ's and all stated what I needed prior to even looking at the venue (in all cases over-selling). Lee and I walked the grounds together before getting into specifics such as extra speakers and lighting. I liked the fact that he even did a sound check prior to any guests arriving to confirm the sound was nothing less than perfect (sounds simple but I have heard horror stories of this step being skipped).

As I said, I would highly recommend Hey Mister DJ for any wedding. I hope that my experience/opinion paints a better picture for anyone looking for a high quality and professional DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ADolle
Wedding:
9/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Lee is just awesome! I worked with him years ago at a club and just loved him. Then about a year and a half ago I ran into him at a wedding that he was DJ-ing. I loved what he was doing so much, that when I got engaged, I sought him out to do my wedding. I got so many people at my wedding saying how they loved the DJ. The most important thing to me in my wedding, was that our friends and family had a good time and Lee was in the center of making that happen.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa G.
Wedding:
8/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was a few weeks ago and Lee was our DJ. Over the past few months Lee was very professional. He came highly recommended from a friend and from the moment we were in contact with him we knew we were in good hands. We met with Lee a few weeks before the wedding and exchanged our ideas. Lee had wonderful suggestions and was very helpful in helping us choose songs for the events ( bride groom entrance, cake cutting, etc.). From the moment the music started at the cocktail hour people were enjoying the music. The songs flowed smoothly throughout the night and Lee was particularly good at reading the crowd and playing music accordingly. After the dinner people of all ages began to hit the dance floor. By the end of the night we asked Lee if we could extend the party because everyone was enjoying dancing. People of all age groups commented on how much they enjoyed the songs that were being played. Lee was more than willing to accommodate our needs and he was able to stay the extra hour which allowed our wedding night to end perfectly. We have never been to a wedding where almost everyone stayed until the end of the wedding and were dancing at the end of the night. I credit Lee for bringing a fun lively atmosphere to the room. I know that our friends will use him in the future for their weddings. Lee is by far the best DJ on the west coast. He will make any party come alive for all age groups and meet every listener's needs. He is very down to earth and extremely easy to work with. We were overwhelmingly happy with the results.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DavidC
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Richard was the DJ and MC for my wedding. He also provided lighting for the dance floor. From first contact he was always friendly and very professional. He was great at keeping track of what he was responsible for (e.g. what songs to play, announcements, etc.) as well as providing appropriate suggestions with the reception timeline and flow. Even when I was lagging in providing him the music and info he needed during the planning period, he was very patient and accommodating and never neglectful. Not only that, on the actual reception day we made a number of changes to the timeline and he adapted seamlessly in real time. Any number of things could have gone wrong but he kept the flow of events running beautifully. As an MC he did a great job of maintaining a vibrant atmosphere. Working with Hey Mr. DJ in general was a very good experience and I recommend working with them for your wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brett
Wedding:
5/3/2014
4.9/5.0
Jason was amazing. So glad we ended up with him as our DJ. He was super responsive, full of ideas, and very accommodating to our needs. Day of the wedding he was there early setting up (for 4 different set-ups!) and did so with a smile. He was very professional throughout the entire process. Jason helped us create the environment that we wanted for our wedding and we had one heck of a party! Hey Mr. DJ (the company he works for) was actually the most expensive of all the DJ's I interviewed, but I felt confident that everything would be taken care of.....and it was. Thanks a bunch Jason and whoever gets you should consider themselves lucky, because they got nothing to worry about!

Brett & Julie
Services Used: DJ
Bg20
Carrie and Lee
Wedding:
1/27/2013
4.9/5.0
DJ Lee was the best DJ for our wedding that my husband and I could've wished for! My husband and I came up with a few songs for the songlist, but Lee took care of the rest...He was really good at reading our crowd and determining what music would get people out of their seats and on the dance floor. His music selection was perfect! Guests were pretty much dancing up until the very last song and everyone looked like they were having such a great time at the wedding! Many of my friends and coworkers kept on raving about what a wonderful and fun time they had at the wedding!

Lee was also a great vendor to work with. He was always responsive to his emails....He came to the venue early to set up his equipment and lighting....He worked very well with my wedding planner to coordinate those special moments....Amazing!! DJ Lee was great!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.9/5.0
Jason from Hey Mr DJ did a great job and helped to make our wedding a fun and memorable event. He was especially good at making adjustments on the fly based on the vibe of the party while also ensuring he played the songs we originally requested. We'd recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
DJ Tito did a fantastic job at our wedding even though we didn't give him much to work with in terms of song choices. He read the crowd perfectly and everyone had a great time. I would highly recommend him for any wedding event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
arsenic08
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.9/5.0
I can't say enough about Lee. He brings such a wealth of experience, which was invaluable in both planning our wedding and the execution of it. He was also extremely accommodating with the music selection--both playing everything we requested and giving us suggestions when we needed them.
The wedding was everything my wife and I had planned and wished for. And we got so many compliments from our guests on everything, especially the music. I'd also add that Lee played a huge role in making the flow of our wedding perfect.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Al&Sam
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.9/5.0
Hey Chris
Just wanted to check in to say thank you so much for doing such a great job at our wedding reception on 4/14. We had a great time on the dance floor, and continue to get feedback from friends and family that they loved the music and danced the night away! I especially loved the reggae segment of the night.

Also, the slideshow was perfect! Thanks for working with us to get it the way we had 'pictured' it to be! Appreciate your hard work!

Thanks again,
Al and Sam
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlw005
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.9/5.0
My husband and I got married at Smog Shoppe, and we chose Lee as our DJ. What initially impressed us the most was his professionalism and responsiveness. It was clear that he was not only a DJ, but somewhat of a dance psychologist. He had a lot of input on the timeline of the night in order to best facilitate the mood and dancing.

On our wedding day, Lee was great on the mic. He didn't try to take over the reception and just said exactly what was needed. Unfortunately, the cake was served a bit late which deterred some people from dancing (they were waiting for their cake), but we got so many compliments on the music! While the music was great, I was a little disappointed that he didn't play the mash-up mixes I fell in love with on his website. To be honest though, it wasn't a big deal because I didn't even realize this until after the wedding!

In terms of value, Lee was great because he threw in ceremony music for free. His timing of music was perfect for the ceremony!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/14/2011
4.9/5.0
Lee was probably one of the best decisions we made. A DJ is so important to a reception and basically runs the show. We could not have been happier. He is definitely money well spent!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzie
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
I am very happy and pleased to have Lee as my wedding DJ. I really appreciate him taking his time to go to the venue to see what we will need for lighting and music set up. He understands what type of music I was looking for without any negative feed backs on what I wanted for my wedding. He is definitely well worth the money. He is not only good looking to the ladies, but knows how to get the crowd going. Excellent person to work with and looking forward to booking him for future events. I recommend him to all the wedding parties out there.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
geoff
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.9/5.0
Saullo-Koboldt wedding - 9/10/11, Hotel Figueroa in Los Angeles

After personally meeting with over 3 different DJ's and emails with about another 5, we decided to spend the extra money on Hey Mister DJ. What was most important was they were personally recommended by a trusted friend who had also used them at their wedding and equally important was the integrity the owner of the company displayed throughout our search process of finding the right DJ with our budget. We were reluctant at first to spend the extra money but then realized that truly entertainment should be at the top of the list for a wedding reception and we don't regret it one bit. We used their DJ Gianna who personally met with us and discussed things. We emailed back and forth a dozen times and made sure the flow of everything would maximize the audience experience...from the choice of songs, the perfect time to do toasts or cake cutting, etc. Despite us being 25 minutes late to our own reception, DJ Gianna improvised and kept the music and ambience moving. The minute we got there, she was right on cue with being flexible and rearranging things to keep the night fully entertaining. When I wanted a specific song played, she was right there on it and mix-beated it right in from the current song with ease. We had Layla and the Lotus dancers bellydance group perform a half hour set - DJ Gianna had the music ready to go and coordinated everything needed with them. Most DJ's don't go to that level of helping to coordinate everything and making sure its less stress for the bride and groom, so it was awesome to have this level of professionalism. Many blessings to all who read this review.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.9/5.0
Lee is amazing! if you have the chance to work with him, i strongly suggest it. I had heard so many horror stories about wedding dj's. We were really nervous because we have such picky music tastes and having the music our way was really the most important part of the reception. When we talked to Lee and he actually had the same taste in music as us, we knew it was an easy choice. So many dj's go on and on about not offending your grandparents with your modern music, but ours have specifically said that they liked every song. He kept everyone happy. We didn't not expect to be as pleased as we were. The music was so perfect, we will brag about how well it went for years to come:)

He was also incredibly professional. We planned this wedding from across the country and I had my cousin meet with the vendors. He was the only that showed up on time. And he wasn't just the DJ, he was like a day of wedding planner as well. We had been under the impression that our wedding consultant at the hotel would take care of that until he offered us the services of a day of planner for $600 a week before the wedding. It was too last minute for us to have the money for that, and it turned out that we didn't need one. Lee made the whole day go by smoothly. His experience and willingness to work made the day go by perfectly. He was very pleasant to talk to[even with all of our odd requests] and very pleasant to work with.

His services may be a little more expensive than competing dj's, but he is definitely worth the money[but his lighting is cheaper, so if you are doing both it evens out in the end]! Having him act as a planner as well even saved us money in the end. If music is an important part of the wedding for you, go with Lee. If you are picky about the music being played, or just want someone who will actually listen to what you want, he is perfect. We couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Seth
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.9/5.0
Lee was fantastic! His music selection was great and he got our crown dancing at just the right times. We didn't have a day-of coordinator but we didn't need one. Between our friends before the reception and Lee during it, everything went off without a hitch. He kept us on schedule and everyone else enjoying themselves. And despite me bugging him a few times, he always had a perfect reason for what was going on (unbeknownst to me). He was professional, punctual, and went out of his way to make sure we had what we wanted and we were comfortable. I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regina
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.9/5.0
awesome DJ. our guests danced the entire reception. so fun.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dylan
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.8/5.0
Hi Lee. Valerie and I wanted to thank you again for dj'ing our wedding. It was perfect and exactly what we were looking for. We appreciate that you incorporated our personal interests and tastes in music and made it feel like our own, while keeping the night moving forward and people on the dance floor! We received lots of compliments on the music and flow, including the fact that people could easily talk with each other at the tables while the music was playing! The balance between music and direction from you to the guests was perfect. Everyone described our wedding as very fun, and you were a big part of that.

Thanks again. Please let us know if there are any specific websites that you would like us to review you on, and if you have anyone that would like a referral, please send them our way.

Dylan and Valerie
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
2/9/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I were originally going to hire a band for our wedding but decided against it since we wanted to play American music, Persian music and Mexican music. We decided a DJ would be the best route and I'm so glad we picked DJ Lee. He has just the right mix of being able to work a mic (without being obnoxious) and getting the dance floor rockin which is how it stayed all night. Literally, he had the dance floor packed for the entire party. He was even flexible enough to go over time when a group of the diehards didn't think a 1:30am end time was enough. Great mix of all of the music we were looking for and just all around on point. Two thumbs up!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.8/5.0
Lee at Hey Mister DJ did a great job with our wedding reception music. He kept everyone on the dance floor all night and really knew how to read the crowd. We needed a wide variety of music and Lee delivered and knew exactly when to play what. He did not just follow a playlist of stereo-typical wedding music. Even the dinnertime music was great and unique!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beverly
Wedding:
8/7/2011
4.8/5.0
Hey Mister DJ recently played the music for my wedding and they we're GREAT! they accommodated all our wishes, got everyone dancing, and really helped to make the day fun and special. I would definitely use them again for any future events
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kinger
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.8/5.0
DJ Lee Dyson helped to make our evening a success! He was responsive, courteous, professional, and most important, he was VERY in tune with our guests. Our guest list spanned all ages, from early 20's all the way through late 70's, and Lee had them all on their feet dancing the night away. He was able to create an energy in the room that kept them on the dance floor until last call! I would highly recommend him for any of your future events!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.8/5.0
One of the highlights of a friends wedding was the fantastic DJ who had the crowd up and dancing from the moment the reception started. When it came time to choose a DJ for our wedding we checked out the options including our friend's, who was DJ Lee, and after comparing style, price and professionalism made him our choice. Your in good hands with DJ Lee - his experience helped us to make sure that all details were covered for music beginning with ceremony timing and selections - he collaborated with us to create the Lounge sound we desired for the dinner portion and an accessible to all of our guests yet very contemporary dance floor vibe for the rest of the evening. He is NOT the cheesy 'wedding DJ' -
He IS the DJ you want if you care about your celebration pulsing with energy and fun!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/1/2013
4.7/5.0
DJ Lee made some really helpful suggestions after he saw our timeline. Our crowd of friends don't really dance much, but he kept a great mix of music that everyone chilled to.

He was open to suggestions for music and was totally professional and not cheesy which was just what we wanted. He was also flexible with last minute changes. Great DJ, could not recommend enough!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsty Payne
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.7/5.0
They're great. Our reception started at 7 p.m. and went non stop until midnight!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Niki
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.7/5.0
DJ Lee was fantastic and professional! Not only did he play the perfect ceremony and dance music, he helped coordinate many specific events throughout the night. During the night, several of my friends and family made positive comments about his music style. I would highly recommend hiring Lee for any upcoming events. I am very pleased that I chose Lee as our DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tarawow
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.7/5.0
Very good. Responsive to what we wanted and did not play what we didn’t want. Were a little worried that the procession announcements were hitting on the cheesy side, but this definitely subsided as the evening progresses. Great mixing of dance tunes later in the evening, and my coordinator raved about his thoughtfulness and organization.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Georgie
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.6/5.0
I knew that Lee would do an amazing job! We hired him for our wedding after I got a taste of his work when he DJ'd at my best friend's wedding. He arrived way ahead of time, provided a great sound system and lighting (which he whipped up last minute to make the night perfect!), hosted and mc'd an amazing celebration, and the guests danced the night away! He was fantastic and we appreciated his professionalism throughout the night. (and even when planning the event). We were in constant communication throughout the event- I specifically remembered him finding both of us (bride & groom) to check in with details, ensure we were okay with certain decisions, and even caring so much as to learn correct pronunciation of names. He was a perfect MC, never too much- and certainly provided a classy wedding. I even remembered specific songs he played throughout the night, which catered to the guests and hosts requests. (and made them HAPPY!) He ensured the order of the went smoothly, he worked great with all of the vendors, and overall was worth every penny. The DJ can make or break the night and Lee definitely was wonderful. I would recommend spending the extra money to have him DJ your wedding- he is a little bit more pricey than most DJ's, but we didn't want to risk hiring someone we didn't trust. If you're looking for someone who will do a professional job, has a lot of experience and advice to ensure your event goes smoothly, and will overall provide a classy and fun event- hire Lee. Great music- all of our guests were dancing the night away! Thanks Lee for making our wedding fun and memorable!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.6/5.0
Lee was so great to work with. Helped a lot with the music and came up with great ideas. He was always professional. He was SO well priced and really understood the flow of the guests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Javier
Wedding:
10/18/2013
4.5/5.0
A true professional master of the craft.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jjackson
Wedding:
11/22/2009
4.5/5.0
Lee provided a number of helpful services that contributed to making our wedding day run smoothly and sound great. To begin, he worked with us throughout the planning process to find the right groove and feel for our reception. He helped us build a playlist that included both songs we liked and songs that our guests would enjoy. There wasn't a single song that I didn't like! (and I'm a picky listener).

Secondly, Lee helped us keep the ceremony running and on time without being intrusive or invasive. When the food for the reception came out 30 minutes early, he quickly adjusted the schedule, confirmed with us what he recommended, and kept the reception going without a hitch. It was so wonderful to have someone like Lee running the show so we didn't have to worry about the schedule.

He was willing to meet with us in person before the wedding day to work out details, he found all the music we requested, he provided lighting, and, most importantly, he was professional the entire time.

You would not be disappointed to have him DJ for your event and I would be more than willing to hire him again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
Lee did a great job, and was easy to work with. we used him for both DJ and lighting services.
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bigjimslade
Wedding:
9/2/2011
4.4/5.0
Lee DJ'd and emcee'd my wedding on 9/2/11. The whole night is a blur to me but my guests had nothing but the best things to say about the event and the music. Lee is able to get people to move from one room to another without coming off pushy and their tagline of "DJs that please without the cheese" is right on. Hopefully I'll never get married again, but if I do, Lee is #1 on my list.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Groom
Wedding:
8/5/2011
4.2/5.0
There are a lot of goofy DJs out there with cheesy mustaches, but my wife and I were looking for a cool DJ and Lee fit the bill. He has an eclectic taste in music and did a solid job also helping to emcee the evening.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Los Angeles, CA 90034 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hey Mister DJ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1370844121510-dj-lee-dyson