Nophoto-130

Hickory Street Annex

Dallas , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

501 Second Ave, Suite B-200
Dallas, TX US 75226 (map)

PHONE

214-828-1414

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I sincerely enjoyed every single moment of the wedding planning process. Amanda and Michelle made everything so simple and stress-free. They were incredibly accommodating, helpful and creative!

Our wedding day was flawless and we didn't have to worry about a single detail. Everything was taken care of without even having to ask. We couldn't have asked for a better ceremony and reception.

I applaud this venue on their uniqueness, creativity and professionalism. Amanda and Michelle are truly innovative and delightful to work with. I highly recommend Hickory Street Annex.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/19/2014
4.8/5.0
Last month I had my wedding at Hickory Street Annex and it couldn't have been more perfect! The venue is so unique and perfectly laid out. Its so nice to be able to have your ceremony and reception at the same venue, but in different areas. The staff (Amanda and Michelle) are incredibly sweet and very easy to work with. They have A LOT of experience and will help you along the way. The venue is a bit on the pricey side and the lighting is essential (which is extra cost to you) but I promise its so worth it! It gives the place such a romantic feel! Seriously in LOVE with this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Hickory Street was a really neat venue, my husband and I loved it the minute we went to see it. We love unique vintage spaces so we loved the set up and the beautiful view of downtown. All of our guest loved the venue and we had plenty of room to work with. Michelle and Amanda were extremely helpful and really nice. My bridesmaids and I used the room downstairs to get ready in and it was plenty of space and great for pictures!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ciearra
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a phenomenal experience with Hickory Street Annex and working with Michelle and Amanda. The help from Michelle and Amanda throughout my whole planning process was amazing. Their quick responses or solutions to questions I presented made planning smooth, easy and I slept well knowing everything was taken care of! Hickory Street is a unique venue like none other around! My guests raved about how neat and beautiful it was. I do not have the words to express my gratitude to HSA, Michhelle and Amanda for making my special day perfect! :) - Ciearra and Garrett
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
8/10/2013
3.2/5.0
Overall we are glad we had our wedding at Hickory Street. The space was unique and we received many compliments on it from our guests. If we were starting from square one again though, we probably would go in a different direction.
The space is not the most expensive option we looked at but it certainly wasn't inexpensive and it did not include very much in the price. They are very interested in adding items to upsell their clients.
They also didn't seem to do anything to go above and beyond for their clients. For example, we had to ask them on the day of the wedding to clean the bathrooms. It did not seem like they took pride in offering a spotless, fantastic space for clients. It was as though we should feel lucky that we are getting to use their venue.
Our biggest complaint was regarding our final run through one month before the wedding. My groom and I live out of state and we both work full time. Michele's availability for this final run through was minimal and during the week she would only do it during hours we were at work. Our wedding coordinator asked her to accommodate a bride and groom in a different time zone who work full time and she would not do it. I ended up having to miss the meeting and they attempted to Skype with my groom but the internet connection at Hickory Street was too poor and it barely worked. Obviously this is the time when stress levels were running high and it was very aggravating that Michelle didn't seem concerned at all about ensuring we felt comfortable with our upcoming wedding.
I might recommend Hickory Street to a friend because it was a cool space, but I would definitely warn them of their lack of flexibility, poor value and lower quality of service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Hickory Street was the perfect place to have our wedding. It's such a beautiful and different venue, and Michelle was great to work with. Everything went perfectly and we had a wonderful night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1336230118340-paesanos
Laura
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.7/5.0
My husband and I adored Hickory Street Annex the moment we walked in! It was exactly our style and the look we were going for for our wedding. Amanda and Michelle were great to work with from the very beginning. We were able to tour the venue several times and they were both quick on responding to emails and questions. There are so many things that you can do with the space, it's a little overwhelming! They do have a list of approved caterers, but we were able to find one that fit our taste and budget that we really liked (Eddie Deen's). You're able to choose your own florist, DJ, etc. Something that was a little shocking right off the bat was the price of renting the venue, plus some extras (cleaning, security, etc.) that really added up. We bit the bullet because we loved the space, but we definitely had to scale back on other aspects of the wedding. It was definitely worth it though :)

I can't wait to see our pictures from our ceremony and reception, they are bound to be stunning in such a beautiful venue. There are also several really unique places outside of the venue to take pictures as well! I think hands down the best money that we spent though was hiring the wedding coordinator, Amanda Taylor, through the venue. She was AMAZING. She contacted all of my vendors to arrange arrivals and details and made sure that my wedding day was perfect. She responded to late night emails and answered all of my questions, big or small. Great venue (and coordinator!) and I would highly recommend this unique space for a wedding or any other event!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
The space is absolutely beautiful if you like the rustic, exposed old warehouse building, which we did. The building is located on a site that has very neat photo opportunities. The management is very friendly, willing to work with you on anything, and very responsive. It is also a very flexible space. They will work with you on any set up you like, you can have both the ceremony and reception there. You can even have the ceremony or reception outside. The views of downtown are decent - partially blocked by an older building. However at night, the windows really just reflect the light you have inside, which is gorgeous in pictures.

Value is the only thing I didn't rate high. It is very expensive for what you get. We obviously felt it was worth it, but at $6,000 you just get the space and tables and chairs. There are other much nicer places that are much less, however those places usually have one caterer who is very expensive. HSA has a lot of caterers on their list at all price ranges. The one we chose happened to be awesome and affordable.

They offer services on lighting and decorations, even a wedding coordinator.

I would use this place again in a heartbeat if we did it all over again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
10/28/2012
4.7/5.0
Michelle and Amanda at Hickory Street were incredible. From the moment we booked our wedding/reception, they were on top of everything. We met a few times to go over the layout and timeline of the event and when the wedding day arrived, I knew it would run smoothly. Hickory Street is a beautiful location and was the perfect size for our wedding of 100. Our wedding was on a Sunday so that kept the price down, but the price for a Saturday wedding here is pretty high. Michelle and Amanda double as coordinators and are very professional. I would definitely recommend Hickory Street to anyone considering it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elidellio
Wedding:
3/30/2012
5.0/5.0
We got married at Hickory Street Annex on March 30, 2012 and are so happy we choose this venue. Michelle was so great to work with the whole time and we got nothing but compliments on the amazing space and decor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sueplo
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
This is an amazing place....absolutely over the top cool. Our guest raved the entire night about how unique and fabulous Hickory Street Annex is. The coordinators, Michelle and Amanda, were extremely professional and helpful in all phases of the wedding planning. I highly recommend Hickory Street Annex if you want a unique, fabulous place to have a reception. You will be hard pressed to find a wedding venue that offers so much character and charm. Your guest will be mesmerized! Thank you Michelle and Amanda for making our wedding the best!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.8/5.0
LOVED the venue. Perfect for what we were looking for! And to top it off, the management team is awesome - great to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1320990549723-download
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at HSA. It was absolutely perfect! Michelle was so easy to work with. She was also a great resource because she helped us find many of our other vendors who were also amazing. The space is so unique. Many of our guests have commented on how unique and beautiful the venue was. We liked that all tables and chairs were included in the rental fee and we could bring in our own alcohol, which saved us some money.
If I had to do it all over again, I would not change a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1321977743586-whitneypreview0003
Whitney
Wedding:
11/5/2011
4.7/5.0
I searched and searched and could not find a place that I really wanted to have my wedding reception until I came to Hickory Street Annex. I actually changed my wedding date so that I could have my reception here. It is unique and has the vintage vibe to it. Michelle is the person that I worked with for everything and she was wonderful. She always responded the same day I sent an email out, and let me come down and look at the space whenever I needed to. She was very helpful with decorating suggestions and tips, and also working with my wedding planner. She is awesome!!! Hickory Street Annex is a great and fun place to have your wedding recption. I highly recommend using it for any bride that is looking for a different and fun place to celebrate there marriage.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1298672981050-dscn1655
Shannon
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
For the laid-back, artsy bride! Not only is the venue itself beautiful with a modern, industrial twist. The staff was very helpful, had great communication throughout the process and was great to work with. Everyone still raves to me about how much they loved my wedding venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hatpak
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
HSA was the perfect, unique kind of place we were looking for and turned out great. The staff was wonderful. Our guests were amazed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maxslkallie
Wedding:
11/12/2010
4.7/5.0
We had a wonderful time at Hickory Street Annex!!!! Michelle did a wonderful job accomodating us. Beautiful venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DeLaCruz&Akin
Wedding:
10/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Having my wedding reception at HSA was by far one of the best decisions I made when it came to my BIG Day. It truly is an amazing place and Michelle is great to work with!! Something about that place just comes alive at night! My guests could not believe how beautiful the place was, nor how they had never heard of it! Their floorplan gives way for so many options when it comes to any wedding-take advantage of it, I did!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.8/5.0
BEautiful venue! We loved it and so did all our guests. It was pricy but ended up being worth it since we loved it. Michelle was excellent to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sumoh
Wedding:
7/16/2010
4.2/5.0
You wouldn't know it from the outside, but this place is incredible on the inside with great downtown views from it's many loft-style windows. Michelle (the event coordinator) is great and is always willing to help. The only complaint I have is that you are limited to using one of their approved caterers. I even offered to pay a higher security deposit so I could use a friend's mom (who owns a restaurant), but they are pretty strict with that policy (which is why I gave only 3 stars for Flexibility). Other than that, my wedding was beautiful and perfect, thanks to Hickory Street.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KJones
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.8/5.0
My guest were FLOORED by how beautiful the venue was. Its an amazing place and Michelle is great to work with. The cost of the venue is pretty steep considering very little is included beyond tables and chairs, but I fell in love with the place the moment I saw it. I made amends with my budget by using their sound system with my iPod instead of getting a DJ and it worked fabulously. Plus they are very clearly using the money to make it even more amazing. They just added a huge patio and redid the floor. It looks great. My only suggestion to Hickory would be for them to find a solution to their stairs. It was very difficult for the older folks, the handicapped, and honestly the dunk guests to navigate the stairs and none of them wanted to use the freight elevator. Otherwise gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ajsmith
Wedding:
1/15/2010
3.2/5.0
Unlike a lot of venues we visited, HSA didn't have any decoration options (outside of the paper lanterns that are always hung up). So don't be fooled by the website - each of those events did all that themselves or paid someone to do it. We also had to provide all of our own linens, which was an expense we weren't originally counting on given that everywhere else provided them. However, they worked well with letting us come in early to set everything up. They had a lot of ideas for room set-up as well. HSA also charges additional rates for the rehearsal and anything needing to be put up with a ladder.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
txtechgal
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.6/5.0
I had just my reception at Hickory Street. Michelle was great to work with and very responsive within a day or two of contact. All of our personal meetings with her went smoothly and our guests loved the venue!

The area is up and coming near Deep Elm, so it's not for everyone. But its a great modern lofty feel, while still being very warm and old school. Wouldn't hesitate to host another large scale event here.

We knew going in we'd have to provide all our own vendors (i.e. caterer, linens, alcohol, etc.) So if you're up to the challenge it's worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krob09
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue...just our style. Michelle was easy to work with from day one. We have zero complaints and are so very thrilled to have had our wedding and reception at such a unique venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
7/24/2009
4.7/5.0
The Annex was a great place to have our wedding and reception! We love the look and feel, and Michelle was really great to work with! All of our guests were very impressed with the location, but it was also one of the cheaper places we looked at. It was a really great experience and created a great atmosphere for us to make our vows to each other!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1248238546343-willandrashida1
Shida
Wedding:
7/12/2009
5.0/5.0
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE HSA! I couldn't have dreamed of a more perfect place for our wedding ceremony and reception. Michelle is by far the best to work with. If you are looking to do an eco friendly wedding and/or reception this is your place! I highly recommend Hickory Street Annex, especially if you are not having children at your event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
berrych
Wedding:
6/12/2009
4.8/5.0
We used this site as our reception venue, and it was perfect! Beautiful windows all around, and the lady that owns it is absolutely wonderful. She is very easy to work with and will help you with anything. Reasonably priced, it includes the wooden chairs and tables. It has an urban, loft-like feel, but can be made very traditional if desired. Only downside is the location and the lack of coordinating help on the actual wedding day. It is in a shady part of town, so you might want to consider getting the valet services, and no one on site will help coordinate the actual reception activities, so plan on having someone else announce when to cut the cake and such. All in all, it was beautiful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LAB
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.8/5.0
Hickory Street is a great space for a reception (or ceremony, but we just have our reception here). Even if you do nothing else to decorate, it's elegant and has personality. And it has all the nice amenities for a wedding reception (flat screen TV for a slideshow, dressing room for the bride and the girls, chill-out room for the groom and the guys, etc.). We also really liked that it's a green venue. Michelle, the manager, is soo nice and helpful and has a great sense of style (she's an architect). She helped us figure out our layout and decoration beautifully. She's also incredibly flexible, and was willing meet with us according to our schedule multiple times, and coordinate with our other vendors. She was great about patiently answering all my questions and emails. The place can feel a little bit hidden in the Fair Park area, so your guests will need good maps. It's located in a very cute, artsy complex that makes for great photos, as an added bonus.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blake
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Hickory Street Annex provided the unique and fun venue that my husband and I were looking for. It has its own personality with brick walls, exposed beams, and industrial elevator, yet is a beautiful blank backdrop for you to style in any way. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful and went out of their way to assist me on creating the wedding I imagined. I am so grateful that I found such a memorable venue with such wonderful staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizmariezta
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
This is a great venue for a reception. Very urban and unique and very helpful with the planning
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leigh
Wedding:
2/9/2008
5.0/5.0
The coolest place in Dallas to have a wedding! I was one of the first brides to book the venue, and got the pleasure of surprising my guests with such a cool and 'never before' seen place before.

It feels like you are in a NYC loft in downtown Dallas! There are beautiful windows that lookout to downtown, with really neat lights that line the roof top. Additionally, the bride and groom suites are amazing and accomidating. Not to mention the entire complex creates an awesome feel that is unlike many venues in town.

I get about a call a month from a guest or friend that wants to know the name of Hickory Street so they can recommend it to one of their friends who is getting married. This place is truely a diamond in the rough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
501 Second Ave, Suite B-200, Dallas, TX 75226 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hickory Street Annex
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220