Nophoto-130
(9)

High Cotton BBQ

Kitty Hawk , NC

LOCATION

5230 North Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC US 27949 (map)

PHONE

252-255-2275

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (Traditional)
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
4/18/2014
5.0/5.0
High Cotton was simply.... phenomenal! Since our affair was small and casual, we wanted a meal to reflect that. High Cotton delivered in every way. We ordered a variety of BBQ and am not exaggerating when I say that after the leftovers were warmed the following day, not a bite remained! I thank you for your professional service and delicious dishes!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/19/2013
4.9/5.0
We used High Cotton BBQ for our rehearsal dinner. They were very easy to work with, very affordable, and DELICIOUS!! We opted to have it at our rental house and they dropped everything off and set it all up. Only complaint was that they showed up an hour earlier than expected, but we were able to keep everything hot in the ovens until it was time to eat. Our menu included: Smoked Chicken, St. Louis Cut Ribs, Baked Beans, Chopped Slaw, Cornbread, Sandwich Rolls, Macaroni and Cheese. EVERYTHING was delicious and we had a ton of leftovers, which were gone within a couple of days. We ended up buying a few bottles of their BBQ sauce to bring home with us. I would highly recommend using them for catering. We will visit this restaurant every time we visit the Outer Banks for sure!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maura
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.2/5.0
High Cotton had great reviews when I was looking into them, both on here and on theknot. However, for my wedding a LOT of things were forgotten and overlooked. We asked for fruit trays and veggie trays for our cocktail hour (nothing fancy) and I found out a few days later they were never served!! Of course as the bride I had no idea at the time because we were off taking pictures. So my guests had nothing to eat during cocktail hour. This was embarrassing to me that my guests were sitting there with nothing to eat. Also, we had 2 vegetarian guests so we had asked for 2 vegetarian meals for the reception. Those were never brought either! So my vegetarian guests either didn't eat or were limited to cole slaw and mac and cheese. Oh also a day after the wedding we went in the fridge and found an entire tray of corn bread that had never been put out at the actual reception!! (Again, didn't realize it at the time).

The bartender we paid $150 was nice, but didn't even know how to make a malibu bay breeze. Our friend who is a bartender was telling her how to make drinks. Kind of annoying, to say the least. I also thought we would have 2 servers but we had 1 who didn't actually "serve' or spoon out any food to us. He kind of just stood there and looked like he was about 14 years old. I was honestly, overall really disappointed in High Cotton. It felt like my wedding got forgotten or wasn't important enough for someone to get the details right. When we brought up these issues with them, they offered to refund us $100. Wow, $100 even though we paid about $15 extra per person to have full service catering and didn't receive that.

Lori the lady who manages the catering was really nice in person and responsive in email, but someone dropped the ball for my wedding. Maybe it was a one-time fluke but that shouldn't happen, especially for someone's wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Awesome food and amazing staff! We fell in love with the BBQ during a wedding planning trip to Kitty Hawk. We were looking for a place to hold a get together the night before our wedding and couldn’t have found a better place than High Cotton. Most of our guests were staying at the Hilton Garden Inn so they could easily walk over. Everyone at High Cotton was amazing to work with and the food was DELICIOUS, as always. The owner even made a beer run for us during the event when he noticed we were running low! All of our guests loved the food and atmosphere. Our family was officially hooked on the BBQ as well and kept going throughout the rest of the week after our wedding! We brought sauces home with us and we are quickly running through them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Duane
Wedding:
5/31/2012
5.0/5.0
We had High Cotton cater our wedding reception in an event home. Before deciding on a caterer we stopped in and they comped our meal so we could try their food. We didn't have to try any other places as High Cotton was delicious. They were great about responding to e-mails which was huge as we are from out of state trying to plan an event. We added and changed things a few times with no issues. The day of the event they delivered and set-up everything we needed and the meal was a huge hit. We stopped in to see them a few days after the event and they were so genuinely appreciative of our compliments. We visit OBX as often as possible and High Cotton is always on the list for places to eat.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BenSmith19382
Wedding:
5/8/2011
5.0/5.0
High cotton BBQ was where we had our rehearsal dinner. They were AWESOME! First of all, we had about 80 people and they let us rent out the whole restaurant. They supplied coolers and let us bring in our own beer, which saves SO much money! They had a sound system and all I had to bring was my ipod and they connected it. All we had to pay for was the food. The food itself was honestly the BEST BBQ I have ever had in my life. EVERY single thing we ate was delicious, the sauce itself was amazing. The food at our rehearsal dinner was more talked about then our wedding food! And most important, the people at High Cotton were great. They were friendly, reliable and they went above and beyond in everything that they did. They truly made our rehearsal dinner fantatic and their food is HIGHLY reccomended for any occassion!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1281485209932-image101
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
High Cotton who did our rehersal dinner! It was wonderful, we had so much food!!!! Thanks!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
11/24/2007
5.0/5.0
We worked with High Cotton for our catered rehearsal dinner at the Hampton Inn and it was a huge hit! We had the full service catering with set up, buffet service, and tear down. It was well-worth the few dollars extra per person for the extra help. And, the barbecue was amazing. We had the Carolina pulled pork, southern style ribs, and smoked chicken with traditional sides. The banana pudding was an excellent add-on, and everyone had seconds and thirds of all the food. Great service, great price, and the best barbecue on the beach, for sure!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristie
Wedding:
5/11/2007
5.0/5.0
Food was great. Very easy to work with. Good for quick delivery and easy clean up! Yum.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
5230 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for High Cotton BBQ
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220