130x130_sq_1316811676488-fronthouse

Highgrove

Fuquay Varina , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1613 S. Main St.
Fuquay Varina, NC US 27526 (map)

PHONE

919-552-6154

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A magnificent Southern estate awaits you at Highgrove. This romantic oasis nestled among six acres of grand oaks and magnolias, offering breathtaking hilltop views overlooking Laurel... Read more
A magnificent Southern estate awaits you at Highgrove. This romantic oasis nestled among six acres of grand oaks and magnolias, offering breathtaking hilltop views overlooking Laurel Lake, surround your ceremony and reception. The stately entrance onto the grounds, antique crystal chandeliers, a spiral foyer staircase, and verandas all create the elegant, timeless atmosphere for your day. Come experience Highgrove, only 20 minutes from Raleigh.

Contact: 919-552-6154 or angela@highgrove-nc.com Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1360169079406-highgrove13
130x130_sq_1360169080944-highgrove2
130x130_sq_1360169077023-highgrove9
130x130_sq_1360169082957-highgrove7
130x130_sq_1360169082136-highgrove5
130x130_sq_1360169077990-highgrove10
130x130_sq_1360169079968-highgrove14
130x130_sq_1360169080430-highgrove
130x130_sq_1360169081305-highgrove3
130x130_sq_1360169081779-highgrove4
130x130_sq_1360169083594-highgrove8
130x130_sq_1360169084322-highgrove12
130x130_sq_1360169078922-highgrove11
130x130_sq_1360169085152-highgrove13

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1956
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
185
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3600
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
35
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Highgrove is a wonderful place to have a wedding reception! It is just beautiful and the people that work there are wonderful and so helpful!! :) The food was outstanding! It was just all a dream come true to us! We highly recommend Highgrove!! It was all wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Awesome staff and awesome venue. We could not have asked for a better night. They did a fantastic job running the night smoothly. They were so helpful the entire time, I would definitely recommend to a friend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Across the board, Highgrove was outstanding. My wedding was an incredibly memorable event. Amber, my wedding coordinator, was absolutely fantastic and went above and beyond to help, not only me, but the guests at my wedding. The food was fantastic and the event went very smoothly. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
11/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I couldn't be happier that I picked Highgrove as my ceremony and reception venue. First of all, the staff is amazing. Susan did an excellent job with making sure all my contracts, food, etc.. was taken care of and Amber, the wedding coordinator, was a life-saver throughout the whole process. She made sure everything went well and did her best to make sure everyone followed my wishes. Also, they are very organized and can deal with unforseen issues. As we had to get married in the reception hall, as it poured, Highgrove made sure everything was taken care of, down to having umbrellas for the guests! Lastly, the food is amazing. It is not your typical rubber chicken that you get at weddings. It is AMAZING! If they had a resturaunt, I'd be their number one customer. It is well worth the money. The tasting that you are invited to attend is a great experience!!

I couldn't imagine having my wedding any where else and I cannot say how thankful I am to all of the staff for making sure everything was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taryn
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I have said over and over again after our wedding that I could not have asked for the day to run any smoother or be any more perfect. The team at Highgrove made that possible!

Highgrove was the first venue we looked at, and I fell in love immediately. The grounds and house are so beautiful, and the decor is so tastefully done that no matter what your colors or theme are, it will match perfectly. My husband and I also loved the 'all-inclusive' aspect of the venue with the food, linens, and cake being incorporated into the price. We didn't have to worry about managing/communicating with a lot of vendors, and that made the wedding planning process a lot less stressful. We were told who to meet with for each part of the wedding, picked out what we wanted, and 'voila'...check it off the list!

I loved being able to come to the food tasting they have a few times a year, and we were able to try out some of our food options for the wedding. I was also able to meet my planner. One of the best things about Highgrove is their team. They are certainly PROS at this, and are so patient! Working with stressed out brides is indeed a stressful thing, but everyone I worked with was so understanding. They made me feel much more at ease about the whole process. I loved being able to speak with my planner anytime, and they were so flexible with me coming to the venue to check out something, or set something up. Their responsiveness and flexibility made me feel much more relaxed in the build-up to the big day.

During the wedding day, my coordinator, Amber was so on top of everything. Her communication was excellent, and she made sure everything went so smoothly. She spoke with all the vendors about the timeline and what was needed from them...I really can't name one thing that went wrong! The food was delicious, and everyone kept commenting about how beautiful everything was.

All in all, it was an amazing day, and we can't say thank you enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We knew this was the place to have our wedding as soon as we walked into the ballroom. You have to see it! So beautiful. The package is pricey (although they all are...) but so worth it. Susan and my coordinator Whitney were both very responsive over email to lots and lots of questions. And the flow on the day of the wedding couldn't have been more smooth. Whitney made sure everything happened exactly as I had planned it, and it was just perfect! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1377028470098-avatar
Cortney
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
The rain tried to put a damper on our day at the Highgrove, but the staff flawlessly flipped our ceremony into their beautiful ballroom and made a romantic and beautiful setting for our ceremony and reception. The whole Highgrove team was wonderful to work with through our entire wedding process!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginger
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Highgrove was the perfect choice for my daughter's wedding. From the initial meeting and tour of the property with Susan, my daughter and I fell in love with the venue. The grounds are beautiful and the ballroom is romantic and enchanting. It was great working with Susan. Amber was awesome also! She made sure every detail was perfect and the "big day" was flawless. She was very professional and made sure the bride was stress free! If you haven't toured the venue, I highly recommend you consider scheduling a tour with Susan! You won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I just had an amazing wedding at the Highgrove. You have to visit it to see how special this venue is. I loved the garden area and the new bar with the pergola is beautiful. Our guests enjoyed this area all through the night. The food turned out great and I'm extremely picky about food quality. Our coordinator, Amber was the sweetest. She handled everything the day of like a pro. This venue also makes wedding planning stress free since you don't have to rent anything. People often commented about how stress free I was during my planning. Also, the cake provided in the package by Sweet Memories was such an added bonus. It was beautiful and delicious. We can't say enough good things about Highgrove.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynne
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Perfect venue; amazing service
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue!! Omg I got married at Highgrove on laurel lake and it was just beautiful!! I got married under the pergola and it was the perfect fall day! I have never seen the leaves so beautifully colored!

If you are looking for a great place to get married you need to check out Highgrove!! The staff is wonderful and really cares about your wedding! They take care of everything there! A lot of brides don't realize that with other venues you need to rent plates, glasses, linens, etc, well at Highgrove they have it all!! The grounds are gorgeous as well!

Thanks Vicki and Ann!! I had a fabulous wedding and will tell everyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I recently had my wedding at Highgrove Estate in Fuquay-Varinia and to say the very least, it was nothing but magic. For those brides out there who are looking for something different in her venue, Highgove is the place to go. My fiancé and I had nothing but the best service, on all levels, from every staff member. After we became engaged in 2011 we began searching for our perfect venue. Like most ladies, I had already secretly poked around on-line at wedding venues prior to him popping the question! When I came across Highgrove Estate I just knew I had to see it. The second we got there we knew instantly that it was the place for us! The home is beautiful, the service is exceptional and the memories that were created for us are beyond measure. When I began planning I knew I wanted an outdoor Southern Wedding, but what I received was so much more. Every person that attended our wedding was blown away by how beautiful Highgrove was and by how kind and generous the staff was. I would be remiss if I did not mention how truly wonderful Ann Eberle and Susan Blakesley are. They are the coordinators at Highgrove that helped us with every detail. Susan took care of all of our contracts and food and Ann was there for all the logistics – set up, rehearsal or just general magic maker! If you decide to go to Highgrove for your big day, rest assured Ann and Susan have EVERYTHING totally under control and you are there to just enjoy your day. I could truly go on forever about how magical Highgrove was to us, but nothing I could say would do it justice. It’s just a place you have to see and experience for yourself.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
9/30/2012
5.0/5.0
They made my wedding day everything I could have imagined. All I had to do was show up and look pretty. They made me feel very confident they everything would be perfect. Everyone loved the food. I'm still talking about the chicken I had that night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Highgrove is the perfect venue for a wedding. The wedding coordinator Susan, helped Diana plan the wedding of her dreams. The day of the wedding the atmosphere was relaxed and went off like a charm. The wedding coordinator helped to add little details that made the wedding special. The quests thought the food was delicious and not the same old wedding fare. The grounds were emaculate. The weather was ideal so the outdoor wedding by the lake was a perfect setting. We looked at several places and when we came to Highgrove we knew it was the perfect place for an outdoor wedding. They provided a tasting and display of several foods which made you feel you had chosen the right place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
While our wedding was at the Highgrove we did the the lucky chance to work with the owner for our catering. Everything was absolutely wonderful and exactly what we wanted! Vicky really listens and works hard to make sure your menu is exactly what you want. We could not be more thrilled with her work!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JennRN
Wedding:
5/11/2012
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I planned and payed for our wedding ourselves. We've been together for many years and really wanted to have something really special! Highgrove exceeded every expectation that we had! Everything was absolutely amazing! The grounds and the house were beautiful and the food was delicious! Our guests raved about the entire evening! I would especially like to mention Ann the wedding coordinator. I can't say enough about this lady! She said that she would be our "wedding day fairy godmother"-- and that she was! She was constantly working behind the scenes to make sure that everything went smoothly. She made us feel like we were the only wedding that weekend! And she truly cared that we had the wedding of our dreams! We really didn't have to worry about anything. We simply were able to enjoy our day! Thank you Ann and Highgrove for a day we will never forget!

-Jennifer and Nathan
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/6/2012
5.0/5.0
The venue is breathtaking and had everything we envisioned for our special day. Susan made everything so easy when it came to organizing everything. Ann was so great in pulling everything together and helping to make our day run smoothly. The food was delicious. Thank you so much.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
martamartin
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The people at Highgrove were really flexible with us and our change of date due to my husband's new orders. We were able to postpone the wedding for the following year when he was able to come back.
The place is gorgeous, and the food really good.
All the guests enjoyed and said that it had been the most elegant wedding they had been to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Avyana54
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding at Highgrove in March 2012 was absolutely perfect. The venue was gorgeous, the garden and lake were beautiful, and it was just beginning to be lovely spring. The ballroom has beautiful crystal lights and mirrors. All my guests raved at how delicious the food was (hand breaded coconut shrimp, crab cakes, beef tenderloin, scallops and melt in your mouth risotto, dessert crepes). Ann, one of Highgrove's coordinators, was such a sweetheart. At various points of the night, I could see her working furiously making sure everything went smoothly behind the scenes. She fluffed my dressed, cut my cake, set up my tables and candy bar, and was an absolute joy to work with. Highgrove does everything for you. They have their own tables, chairs and linens, their own catering staff and servers. It was fabulous not having to worry about if there would be chairs arriving on time. I highly recommend Highgrove. Years from now, I will always remember how perfect my wedding was thanks to them!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I do not know where to start! Michelle and Joe’s wedding was like a fairy tale in your own back yard. It was the most amazing time of our lives. Susan, from the beginning you were an absolute amazement! Angela, I don’t know how you kept your cool with all our crazy family and friends. Ann, your support and always smiling face could not have been any better…..and to Vicky, all I can say is she is one tremendous chef. Not one person complained, all we heard all night and after the wedding was it was the most amazing wedding with the best food and entertainment they had ever been to.

Thank Y’all so much for all the time, attention and help you gave our daughter; and for making it truly a dream come true for her. Much love, and huge hugs, and many blessings to all the staff at Highgrove on Laurel Lake, we will never forget you!

Peg Meredith (Mother of the Bride)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reesie'sMom
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Highgrove on Laurel Lake is absolutley an incredible venue for your Wedding Ceremony and Reception! Our wedding was beautiful and Highgrove made it happen! We were very pleased with the food, service and attention to detail that was given. All of our guests had a great time and gave Highgrove rave reviews!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
We just got married at the Highgrove and I must say it was the wedding of our dreams!! Ann and Susan helped up so much and made sure everything was perfect for our special day. People couldn't believe how gorgeous the venue was and I have not one bad thing to say about our day! The moment I walked in the Highgrove for the first time I knew I could see myself getting married there. I would recommend getting married at the Highgrove to anyone who may be interested!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our son's wedding rehearsal dinner at Highgrove and found the coordinators (Susan and Ann) to be very professional and accommodating for all our special requests. They allowed us to do our own floral and set-up designs, since my daughter is a professional event planner and wanted to put her special touch on the decor for her brother and his bride. Sensing my frustration with the place cards, Susan stepped right in, solved my problem, and quietly walked away. The venue is absolutely beautiful and I can't say enough about the food. The chef personally carved the beef and the pecan encrusted chicken w/bourban sauce was to die for. This was an event for less than 20 people and I can't say anything more than that our experience at Highgrove was fabulous!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
West
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Highgrove was nothing less than perfect! Everyone raved about the food, the setting is gorgeous and the grounds are well maintained with awesome plants and flowers! The new reception building is beautiful as well! Our coordinator (Ann) was very helpful and took care of every detail on the wedding day. We were able to relax and enjoy our friends and family without worrying about anything! Outstanding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ldgray3
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
The most amazing wedding experience anyone could ever have. The people at Highgrove did a FANTASTIC job in turning the tented reception to a 'garden ballroom' setting. Every detail was taken care of (by my adorable day of wedding coordinator Ann Eberle). She not only made me feel comfortable the days leading up to the wedding, but every step along the way. The food was tremendous, service was impeccable and the setting was more beautiful than I could have imagined. The bridal suite was amazing, food delicious, and overall setting and atmosphere was just perfect. Thanks to Highgrove for giving me my fairy tale ending to my Cinderella story. :)
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at Highgrove in July. Everything was perfect. i couldn't have asked for more. Ann, Susan, and the rest of the staff were wonderful to work with offering extra help and ideas for a stress free day. The food was exceptional, and the surrounding perfect for my daughter's garden wedding. i would recommend this venue to anyone.
Donna Saylor
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was at Highgrove in July. The entire experience was simply wonderful, a grand memory. I could not have asked for more. Ann and Susan were super to work with. Every detail was covered. The day of the wedding was perfect. I didn't have to worry about anything. The family style meal was glorious; the ball room looked like a picture out of a magazine. Ann co-ordinated both the wedding rehearsal and the wedding itself to a "t.". My friends are still commenting about how wonderful and elegant everything turned out at the wedding. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenJasion
Wedding:
5/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Highgrove went above and beyond for my wedding. The whole venue is amazing and everyone was wonderful to work with.

The ambiance, food, and location were all to die for!


A special thanks to Ann who was our wedding planner - she calmed all of my nerves and helped make our wedding day an unforgettable experience!!!! THANK YOU
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eab0218
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
The Highgrove was an amazing site to have our wedding! We were one of the first weddings in the new Garden Ballroom and it was simply stunning! All of our guests complimented on how wonderful and beautiful the site was.

Angela was my wedding coordinator and she did an amazing job. She was helpful in answering all of my questions and ensured that everything ran smoothly! If anything went wrong during my wedding, I have yet to hear about it!

The food was amazing and our guests are talking about how delicious everything was. We had several guests with food allergies and vegetarian guests and Vicky was MORE than happy to prepare food to accommodate them.

Overall, I could have not asked for a better experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lynda
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
What a wonderful experience. talk about a venue that is amazing to work with! They delivered what they said and when they promised it. They went above and beyond to meet the needs of our quests. My daughter's wedding was amazing. such a professional group of individuals.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
TacoRevolution
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I have nothing negative to say about Highgrove. I visited several venues in the area and after doing a lot of calculations and talking to some people, I decided to go with Highgrove. I don't regret it for a moment.

Angela was our coordinator and she was fantastically helpful. She answered my questions in a timely manner and was always so patient with me. She worked with me so that I would have the day I had envisioned in my head. Everything went so smoothly, one event right into the next with Angela providing gentle reminders that we needed to move along.

The food was delicious. People have been talking about it. Vicki was so helpful. I am a vegetarian, as are some other members of my family and my bridal party. My maid of honor and her boyfriend are both vegans. Vicki was willing to work with us, to make some of her usual recipes vegan by changing a few ingredients (say, from butter to earth balance butter substitute). We ended up with an absolutely delicious menu and I didn't have to worry about my friends with unusual diets going hungry or not being sure what was safe for them to eat.

I would highly recommend selecting Highgrove for your venue, they definitely helped to ease my anxieties and it was so great knowing that if something came up on the wedding day, there would be somebody else to take care of it for me!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hahopkins
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue!!! It was perfect for our wedding. Ann did a wonderful job as the wedding coordinator and Vicky did a wonderful job with the food!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EMFelling
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Highgrove is a beautiful place to get married! The grounds and house are so pretty. The catering was delicious--everyone complimented us on the food and how beautiful the whole wedding was! I couldn't have asked for a better place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlin
Wedding:
5/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I would not change ANYTHING about my wedding day, and Highgrove is a lot of the reason why! I loved Angela, our coordinator, the food was FABULOUS. Everyone loved the location, the ceremony overlooking the lake was perfect, the reception in the tent was so much fun.
All of the staff was so nice and friendly to all the guests.

Vicky was wonderful to work with, and I am so glad I chose this to have my wedding at.

Thanks so much, Highgrove!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbie
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I want to say thank you to the wonderful staff at The Highgrove, they were the best I could have worked with, a special thanks to Angela for helping withe wedding planning, and Vicki for the amazing food absolutely wonderful, guests are still talking about it. The Higgrove is so relaxing and beautiful, I could not have imagined my wedding at any other location, you made my day the most memorable. I will definetly recommend!....Great Job!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TheMrs
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
They made our wedding day absolutely perfect. We had a brunch hour wedding with an amazing menu. Everything here is one stop shopping for a reasonable price. We were provided a personal wedding coordinator who worked with us step by step. We decorated a lot on our own and all we had to do was tell them what we wanted and they set it all up! The venue is beautiful with natural scenery and very clean. They made our wedding day one that we will never forget and one that our guests continue to rave about to this day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
greyowner
Wedding:
4/21/2006
5.0/5.0
Highgrove is the most beautiful wedding facility i have seen in this area! Everything was perfect and the staff was amazing! I would HIGHLY reccomend this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
6/6/2014
4.9/5.0
The Highgrove is outstanding! The Staff is easy to work with, very professional and very attentive. From the planning to the "big day", everything was perfect! The food was excellent, the outside vendors were great and even the weather cooperated! My Daughter and her Fiancee had the Wedding they always wanted and we could not be happier with the whole experience! We are ready to do it all over again :) Thanks to Susan and Angela and all the Staff at Highgrove for making it a WONDERFUL memory!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
From the planning, to the end of the event, excellent experience. Beautiful surroundings and ballroom, exquisite food and prime service. We had an unforgettable time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adcocks
Wedding:
7/15/2011
4.9/5.0
Wow! Our wedding at Highgrove exceeded my expectations! Angela and Susan were WONDERFUL to work with. They answered all of our questions and were extremely helpful. The venue is just BEAUTIFUL. We had a Southern wedding, even though we are from up North, and our guests had never seen anything like Highgrove. They take GREAT care of the grounds, which makes it a FANTASTIC place for pictures. The food was yummy, the guests are still talking about it. We started our reception late because our mass ran over, and Angela helped us to make up the time. It did feel a little rushed, but that wasn't Highgrove's fault.

I would highly recommend this venue!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ejudd2446
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.9/5.0
The Highgrove was the perfect spot for a small intimate wedding with complete wedding coverage which included a knowledgeable event coordinator, ceremony site, and reception/catering site. This venue was slightly more than what I wanted to spend on a venue, but considering all the services they provided it ended up being worth the expense to have a relaxing and memorable day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
6/8/2014
4.8/5.0
Beautiful venue and excellent service but corresponding emails to vendor often takes a couple of days to receive a reply. Other than that everything else is excellent.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
10/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Working with the staff at Highgrove was such a wonderful experience! The new bar set up was beautiful! The food was INCREDIBLE! I can't say enough good things about this place!They really did a fabulous job with everything. As an example, I brought in a bunch of pictures for a memory table with no specific instructions on how to set them up. The display they set up was so wonderful, complete with a sign saying something close to "We would've been there if Heaven wasn't so far away," that it brought tears to all that viewed it. Susan and Amber were so sweet with me working through last minute additions, etc. Rave reviews for the venue from all that attended. My minor negatives were email issues with some of the staff and an item that has been lost. And when I say minor, i mean MINOR!! I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this venue to all future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carole
Wedding:
12/30/2011
4.7/5.0
Highgrove Estate at Laurel Lake was absolutely beautiful! I only had my reception there but it was stunning. They have recently added a permanent structure for the reception area and it was ideal. The food was amazing and the service was great. The owners and managers are amazing, they make sure everything is perfect for you and so you don't have to stress about anything. They took care of everything: setting up, taking things down, catering, and anything else you can think of. The only con I have is they are a bit pricey.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mwells
Wedding:
9/3/2010
4.7/5.0
Highgrove is an incredible facility. It is gorgeous and the staff is great! The coordinators work with you through every stage of the wedding process and offer amazing support and advice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leslie9814
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.7/5.0
Highgrove was wonderful! My wedding day was completely stress free. Angela (our coordinator) was awesome. she kept everything on schedule, we never had to ask her for a thing. The food was fantastic. Everything was yummy. I didnt hear a complaint about the day from anyone at all. Would highly recommend using highgrove.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
I looked at many different venues before coming across Highgrove. It was the perfect fit for our style and theme for the wedding. Everything was beautiful, flow went well and food was delicious. The staff was nice and easy to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
9/14/2012
4.5/5.0
We loved our beautiful Highgrove wedding! The ballroom and grounds are gorgeous, the food is great, and the staff is amazing. We loved working with Susan both initially to book our date and later to create our menu. She is very responsive and patient with questions and so much fun to work with. Ann was our day of coordinator, and you could not ask for a sweeter person to take care of you on your day! She makes sure everybody is happy and your day stays on schedule as much as possible. She was kind enough to deliver food to us at our hotel the night of the wedding, and even brought me something after the honeymoon that I’d left behind to make sure it wasn’t lost in the mail. I’d worried a little bit early on because Ann was not as quick to respond to email as I’d prefer and seemed sometimes to be a bit disorganized, but she was an absolute rockstar the week of the wedding. When she says you can hand all of your stress to her, she really means it! A few tips for future brides: tie some balloons to the mailbox so your guests don’t sail by, plan your exit strategy since you need to take everything out of the house that night, and bring some bug spray – the gnats were in full effect for our rehearsal and ceremony. We also highly recommend the flaming donut station. It was amazing and everybody who had some raved. Our one regret was that our time at Highgrove wasn’t long enough. We never wanted our night to end! Thank you Ann, Susan, and everybody else at Highgrove for taking such good care of us and giving us such a perfect day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Highgrove responded with the following comments:

What a great couple to work with-- tons of fun! We are so sorry that you and your guests had to deal with the gnats. They are truly pests at that time of the year and unfortunately are out of our control to get rid of. We do have a professional to come in and take care of mosquitos throughout the year, but gnats are almost impossible to stop.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
The Highgrove on Laurel Lake fit all of my wish list in one venue. Everything was great and my wedding wishes came true at the Highgrove. Both the inside and the outside areas are well kept and great for any wedding theme. The staff was always very helpful and food was delicious! It was also nice that with the venue, the meal is prepared on location and the cake is included the contract.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FutureMrsHyatt
Wedding:
9/18/2011
4.4/5.0
The Highgrove is a beautiful location for a wedding- we got married there last month and received a ton of compliments on how gorgeous the venue is! We had Ann as our coordinator & she was great to work with- so sweet... we love her! The food was good, but we were a little nervous beforehand because we weren't allowed to try some things on the menu before ordering- but everything was great! They definitely know how to put on a wedding- they have the details down & that helped calm our nerves beforehand knowing that they had it covered. One thing I would recommend is to ask about the rain plan- we weren't super excited about it, but luckily it didnt rain for us! At the end of the day, the guests had a great time and the pictures will be beautiful :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.4/5.0
Our wedding did turn out beautiful and we were very pleased. Thank you Highgrove.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anne.frycz
Wedding:
4/15/2012
4.1/5.0
Highgrove is absolutely Beautiful. We had an amazing time and everyone was very happy with the beauty of the venue and the food was amazing!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.1/5.0
We really loved that Highgrove did everything for us. It was a beautiful setting and everyone had a great time and said how beautiful everything was. My only complaints were that we had to leave at 11 despite the party still going on because of the noise ordinances (not really their fault) and also we could have used more direction from the Coordinator who is also covered in the price. Oh, and Fuquay isn't the best location in the world. Overall though, great venue and I would certainly recommend it to others.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lefnc82
Wedding:
9/17/2011
3.9/5.0
The location of Highgrove is gorgeous, a beautiful outdoor ceremony area along with their newly finished ballroom is stunning. The food is also amazing, got numerous compliments on how great it was, and everyone got enough to eat! The service is quite good, although since I had my own person wedding planner I did not take full advantage of their on-site coordinator so my experience with them was limited. However, what interactions I did have was pleasant. I fell in love with the location on site and was pleased with how perfect our big day turned out to be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stacie
Wedding:
11/14/2008
3.8/5.0
Overall, we were very happy with our wedding at Highgrove. Our biggest issue was with the caterer/co-owner (Vicky). She is very set in her ways and doesn't like to budge to allow couples to design the kind of day they want (unless you pay extra, of course!) Keep in mind that the 4 hour reception they offer starts ticking down *the second* the ceremony ends, which means you're lucky if you and your husband get to enjoy 3 hours of it after doing the receiving line and taking pictures. After we put our foot down in the planning stage (it was our big day after all), the other co-owner (Maria) accommodated quite graciously our request to adapt the schedule to our needs and desires. However, Vicky either "forgot" about this or wasn't informed because we had to remind her about this after our meeting (through the coordinator) and again when we got our invoice. In the end, the food came out pretty well (guests raved), although we were missing au jus sauce for the tenderloin that we had specifically requested. Everything else went pretty well, our coordinator Ann was professional and helpful and did a good job of setting up our rain plan, the pew bows and the centerpieces.
One glitch was she (or someone else on staff) did "misplace" our programs, place cards and boutonnieres before the ceremony started (which caused a bit of stress!). My mom had to go looking and eventually found these things. But I guess all in all it wasn't a big deal since everything went off pretty well.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.1/5.0
I got married in the fall and the wedding day itself was beautiful! Everyone said the venue was perfect and the food was excellent. The venue includes a lot of amenities so that was nice. Leading up to the wedding day was a nightmare though. My coordinator was pleasant and she tried to work with me and my Mom. However, Susan was unpleasant to work with was very unprofessional. My suggestion is to read the contract carefully! If you want a long reception don't have your wedding here. You only get 4 hours and the clock ticks during the cocktail hour. You also should pay attention to the bar contract. If you choose consumption bar then you have to pay a steep bar set up fee! Also, you can only get to the venue 3 hours before your wedding...not enough time to get ready and take pictures. Overall, the wedding was a success but I wouldn't get married here again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Highgrove responded with the following comments:

We are so happy that your wedding was a success and that your guests enjoyed themselves. We do try and make clear in our contract everything that is included in your wedding day, especially the amount of time prior to and during the event so that there are no surprises to you. We also try and make clear our menu and bar pricing so that you are able to determine what your cost will be before payment is required. We apologize if things were not as clear as they needed to be for you and also for any unprofessionalism on our part from any of our staff. It is our goal to leave every bride with the feeling that she is in the best hands and her wedding day is a beautiful success.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.1/5.0
In our daughter's eyes, her wedding day was next to perfect - as it should be for every bride, so I hesitated to name the date on this review. HER problems were in dealing with her wedding coordinator (set up by the venue) who missed appointments, did not respond to phone calls, and appeared very distracted when contact was attempted. This made our daughter nervous as the day approached because of the lack of interest on the coordinator's part. Our problem was with Highgrove. The day was extremely warm - when guests sat down at their table, there was no water. Only empty glasses. I had to ask for the water to be poured and when I did, the coordinator said, "there are pitchers over there, the guests will need to grab their own water". To which I replied, "It's 100 degrees outside and you didn't pour water for the tables"? I began passing the water pitchers around myself. Ice tea was at the serving table but they forgot to set up the soda. When it came time for cake, I had implicitly asked that guests be given a choice of the 3 cake options on their trays. Many guests said they wanted a different type cake and only got the type on the servers tray. I did speak to the owner about these issues the next week when I arrived to pick up the candles and vases from the tables (which they had LOST) The owner did appologize but it didn't seem genuine and she didn't say she would make sure certain policies were changed so others didn't have to deal with these issues. These are all little things I know, the Weddiing vows and guests were wonderful and that's what we'll choose to remember. We never told my daughter about all the issues we had because we didn't want to cloud an otherwise beautiful event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Highgrove responded with the following comments:

Dear Anonymous,
We are so sorry that your daughter's wedding day was not the perfect day that you envisioned. Our goal with any client is to make not only the bride and groom, but also their families, feel like Highgrove made their event as perfect as possible.
We do wish that you would have contacted us sooner to notify us of your dissatisfaction with your event. Because we do not know who you or your daughter are, nor the wedding date (as they are not included in your post)-- we are unable to look into your complaints in a more satisfactory manner. We do want to inform you, that because your event was over 1 year ago, we are almost positive that the wedding coordinator that you worked with, as well as the previous owner that you are referring to are actually no longer with us.
Again, we are so sorry for your negative experience with us and we apologize on behalf of the entire staff (former and present) here at Highgrove.
Bg19
SocialSheek
Wedding:
9/5/2009
1.3/5.0
This venue was nothing but a waste of time for me. I should have known better after the first time I spoke with them.

During my first call with their sales consultant, I told her my schedule was extremely packed with travel for work over the next couple weeks but I needed to nail something down quickly. She asked when the best time for me to meet with her would be and I told her I could do any weekday after work. She offered me Saturday morning.

After I expressed that Saturday would not work, she told me she didn't like to do evening showings because it was dark. I said, that was fine, my plan was to get married at night anyway - I'd prefer to see what the place looked like all lit up instead of during the day time. To that, she said she'd have to check her appointment book. When she called me back, I was offered a Saturday, 10:30 AM appointment.

I again expressed that this Saturday wouldn't work but I could do the following Saturday. To that, she told me she might be out of town next weekend. Only when I expressed a second time my desire to get my venue locked down quickly, did she offer me an after work appointment.

So when it was finally time for my appointment (3 weeks later!) I rushed from work to get across town in time and she wasn't even there. After waiting 20 minutes, I finally called the sales consultant and what did she say? She had a headache. Yes, a headache. And because of this headache, my appointment completely slipped her mind. Well that was the last straw.

I was already weary based on other reviews noting their inflexiblitiy, the ridiculously high prices and my own past conversations with this sales consultant. I would never trust my wedding day to these people.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
10/25/2013
0.6/5.0
The Highgrove was a huge disappointment. They charged us DOUBLE what was agreed upon for our bar services, they were rude and unpleasant to work with ,which explains why we were assigned 3 different wedding coordinators over the course of 1 year...they kept quitting! A message to all brides, save yourself the stress, money, and aggravation...do not get married at this place! Biggest mistake I've ever made.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Highgrove responded with the following comments:

Dear Jennifer,
We are deeply sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your experience at Highgrove. We always strive to provide each couple with the most memorable wedding day and pride ourselves on our professionalism. Due to circumstances beyond our control, we did have to reassign your coordinator. In each instance, additional meetings were arranged to help eliminate any "doubt” you may have been experiencing, including the week of the wedding, and all left feeling confidant and excited for the wedding day. The bar was not charged double, but only what had been consumed for the evening as per the pricing in your final contract. Our owner did reach out to you in order to discuss your concerns following the wedding, but the call was never returned. Again, we are sorry for your negative experience—it is never our intention for our brides to feel disappointed with their wedding experience with us.

MAP

 
1613 S. Main St., Fuquay Varina, NC 27526 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Highgrove
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1316811676488-fronthouse