130x130_sq_1344549834390-logo

Hilltop Bridal

Barrie , ON

LOCATION

304 dunlop st west
Barrie, ON CA L4N 7L2 (map)

PHONE

705-733-7735

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Undergarments, Veils

REVIEWS

1.7
out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
1.6/5.0
1.6/5.0
2.0/5.0
1.6/5.0
Sort by
Wwnetwork-128
JLWADDLING
Wedding:
9/20/2014
0.7/5.0
Could someone please give me info on how to get hold of someone from hilltop... I have a dress there that I was paying off... and now I got nothing... wtf!! Shouldnt they have called people with orders and lay aways...... I used to be so pleased with them cause they gave me a lay away with no time limit... they just said to let them know once I had my date locked down..... and to my surpize this is what I find!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Nikki
Wedding:
3/15/2013
1.0/5.0
Does anyone have Lisa's phone number? The seamstress that is helping with dresses that were ordered? She called me once and I have lost her number. She has my dress and I NEED it back!!!!! Please help!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jessica
Wedding:
1/5/2013
1.0/5.0
To all those concerned try hilltop bridal Beaverton
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Gerald
Wedding:
1/1/2013
1.0/5.0
To ALL SCREWED OVER by HillTop Bridal!!! Yes they are in fact closed, they must have known too the owner KRISTINA DODDS (for all of you who don't know) obviously took off with all our deposit money and never even placed our orders. We went in just after their move from their old location (which they also left in rent arrears) and there is no sign of the store in the new location (which may have only been open a few weeks at best) when I went by, and no contact information either. I called our dress manufacturer and they said there were no orders placed at Impressions bridal at all from Hilltop.

If you paid by credit card please call the company and work with them to cancel that charge and get your money back, but if you paid cash like me the best route I am taking is to call the Better Business Bureau and the Ontario Ministry of Consumer Services and file complaints with them to try and get this Person!! Who takes peoples hard earned money and look them in the eyes with absolutely no intension of following through, that illegal and called Fraud. It's not right at all! I hope she reads this from RVH and realizes what she's done, and calls all people and returns their money before more serious legal things start happening. Very Shameful!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Peter
Wedding:
12/19/2012
0.0/5.0
I,m triing to find out if anyone knows how to contact the owner or anyone that can help me find out about my brides dress that we paid for and haven't received.Thanks for any help that you can give me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Stacey
Wedding:
12/18/2012
0.0/5.0
It is quite disappointing to find out that a Bridal shop takes peoples money for dresses and DOES NOT order them. I had "ordered" my girls dresses at the end of September only to find out today from the company that my dresses weren't ordered. To the guest who recently posted that she is waiting to find out if hers were ordered I wouldn't count on it..Thankfully I have another bridal shop assisting me with my dilemma and it will all work out.. Karam will come around and find the owner of Hilltop in due time!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
The
Wedding:
12/2/2012
0.4/5.0
Dear Brides:
The Gown Aurora has just learned about the unfortunate news of Hilltop Bridal, in Barrie, closing. We are heart-broken about it and feel for every bride involved.

Sometimes wedding shops go out of business, but typically, all wedding dresses that have been paid for and ordered, are still given to the bride. Usually, they just pick them up at a different location.

We are not familiar with the exact circumstances of this situation. If there are any brides reading this, who are involved and need help, please call me at 289.466.1010. Then we can put you in touch with someone who could be helpful.

If you do need a dress, we have many dresses available “off the rack” at discounted prices. We are so sorry to hear this news. Buying your wedding dress should be a wonderful experience. We wish each and every one of you a quick and happy resolution.

Shannon McColl
Owner
The Gown Aurora
www.thegown.ca
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
jennifer
Wedding:
12/1/2012
0.0/5.0
How do you get hold of Lisa that is helping clients of Hill Top get there stuff. My dress was already paid for, and she also had ALL my other stuff (hair stuff and all jewelery). Could someone please help me get in contact with Lisa.
My name is Jennifer and my number is 705-718-8922
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
lisa
Wedding:
11/11/2012
3.2/5.0
I was treated horrible by some of the employees at hilltop. Lisa was the only one who cared about my dress. Lisa saved my dress and veil. I was told by everyone that the owners daughter was very ill and the owner is dealing with her. I was lied to by a couple employees from the store and Lisa was not one of them. It is very sad how customers were treated including myself. One thing I can say they did have amazing dresses in that Bridal store. I was told that the letter on the door was not true the owner of the building put it there because he was mad that they left. I was also told everyone is getting there belongings. I have been through a lot with Hilltop and if they were still opened I would not go back. The owner was getting the employees to do her job for her. An employee from hilltop gave me 4 different dates to come and get my belongings and they also booked my fitting when they closed down the first store. I was freaking and all I was told that they were moving and we will be opening down town. Then they told me that all my belongings were safe. well I am happy I didn't trust them. I thought the owner didn't know what was going on because every time I asked for her they told me she wasn't there. I even felt bad for the owner because they made it sound very serious. I thought the owner lost the store because of her employees. I don't think the owner of this store should ever open another store again. It was great when I was looking at dresses and trying them on. I had great customer service but as soon as I paid it off everything changed for the worse. When I got my dress and veil they were very rude about it. The owner or the employees never had my right wedding date. It was very poor customer service. I feel so bad for the woman who can't get there belongings because it is stressful enough just trying to plan a wedding. My dress has a ink stain on it but where it is you can't see it thank goodness.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/13/2012
3.0/5.0
Unfortunately I can't give Hilltop a full 5.0 review. The sales person who assisted me when I purchased my dress was very helpful. I was quite particular with what I was looking for, and she was wonderful and very patient as I tried on 5 dresses each two times once for myself and once to show my friend when she arrived. My dress came in in less than 6 weeks, which was awesome. My friend had an experience where her dress from this store took 9 months to arrive (turns out they'd made a mistke on the order), so I realize this doesn't always occur.

My negative experience occured when I returned with one of my bridesmaids when their sales lady that day (a Sunday) made rude comments that she wouldn't let my sister try on dresses because she was "too heavy and would simply rip them and would have to buy them". We got the point, but it was conveyed in an appropriate or polite manner. Beyond this, she spent a great deal of time on the phone on a personal call to her daughter while we were there, and wasn't very helpful at ALL. We wound up purchasing dresses that my bridesmaid tried on in this store, elsewhere because of this sales person's attitude.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1334781692680-31072830704959930991614295425571945213804961110431873n
Alex
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.2/5.0
I loved my dress that I got here! They were all super nice and helpful in finding the dress I was looking for. The only complaint I had was they ran out of the nice cloth bags, which isn't a big deal, but they kept telling me they were getting them in within two weeks. Each time I would go in they would be out of them again. I'm not sure why they never thought to save me one since I stopped in looking for one a total of 5 times. I wish they had been a little more professional about that but overall it was a very good experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Leanna
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.4/5.0
I would just like to say a HUGE thank you to the girls at Hilltop Bridal! I just got married on Saturday and things couldn't have turned out better! I ordered my dress in November/2011 (Allure style 8859). It was one of the MANY dresses I tried on but I absolutely LOVED it. The staff were so helpfull as I tried on almost every dress in the store. They were honest on what was a good style/fit for my body and helped me in and out of every dress. I didn't purchase my dress on the first visit there because I still wanted to shop around and make sure it was "the one". I visited other stores in Barrie and I went to Toronto. I could not get the dress out of my head and had to go back to try it on one more time. When I went in I couldn't believe the staff remembered me, and got the dress for me right away to try on. I knew that was my dress when I put it back on for the second time. I ordered my dress that day!! In April I got the call I had been waiting for, MY DRESS WAS IN!! I probably went in to try it on 100 times before I even had a fitting. I needed a little bit of alterations because I'm petite, the seamstress was very accomidating to me as I have 2 young boys and time is not something I have much of. My dress fit beautifully and I couldnt have asked for a better experiance!I would definitely recommend Hilltop Bridal to anyone looking for exceptional service and beautiful dresses.Again thank you so much to all of the staff, I promise to bring in a picture asap!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Trish
Wedding:
7/14/2012
1.0/5.0
My complaint is about the in-house seamstress at Hilltop Bridal in Barrie. Her name is Lisa West and she is absolutely BRUTAL! She is unprofessional and unorganized and I do NOT recommend any future brides out there to use her. During my first fitting with her she was running back and forth between another client and I. She didn't pay any attention to what I wanted, didn't write any of the measurements down and told me she would be in touch. 3 weeks later at my second fitting, she hadn't cut anything or taken in the sides of my dress, so it was a complete waste of time. My third fitting the sides were taken in, but the length was not cut yet. She promised the dress would be ready on June 29th and called on June 28th to let me know she did not have a big enough table to fit my dress on and had to take it to Toronto and it would be ready July 7th (one week before my wedding). I went in on the 7th to pick my dress up and asked to see it. Good thing I did, because the bottom of the dress was jagged and looked like a child had cut it. She said she couldn't cut it any better than that without using an "industrial cutter". We left with my dress and it took my maid of honour 20 minutes to go around the bottom with scissors to clean up her messy cuts. 20 MINUTES! i'm curently demanding my money back, but I'm sure I won't get it. Just a heads up to all you bride's out there.. Hilltop has nice employees and good selection, but their seamstress is a disastor. Take your dream dresses elsewhere!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jodi
Wedding:
3/23/2012
1.4/5.0
I notice, thankfully, that this store has been closed by the landlord. We had nothing but problems!
I am in the industry, so the excuses they repeatedly made were false, and I know that. One excuse was - my dress was late arriving because the designer received the fabric and it was damaged....I called the designer directly, they informed me that they do not have that problem, they order bolts of fabric...100's of meters, not just for one dress.
When I was shopping, the ladies were sweet and polite, once they got my cash, no phone calls were returned, and they were down right rude.
I picked up my dress, and thankfully looked at it before walking out the door, It had something spilled on it. They were pretty stubborn about it. One lady told me they let someone else try it on!!!!!! KIDDING?? I was furious.
My girlfriend also purchased her dress there. It was an off the rack dress. Looked really great on, hers was damaged when she picked it up. They would not refund her money because it was off the rack...they said it must have been like that when she tried it on. Believe me, we would have noticed a very large pull in the fabric!
The service is unbelievably bad. They have just moved down the street and cannot get their new shop open for some reason. That could be a good thing!!!
I would never recommend this shop. They don't care about the sale after they have your money....there are lots of shops out there ladies...keep shopping!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/6/2011
1.6/5.0
I found the dress of my dreams at Hilltop Bridal, and was so excited to wear it for my August 6th wedding. Everything was going well- I ordered my dress in January and was told that it would arrive to the shop by June. Of course, as June progressed and I hadn't heard anything from the store, I became concerned. I gave them a call to see if it was in, and they told me it would be another 2 weeks. That's fine, I thought. Still plenty of time before the wedding. I called 2 weeks later to see if the dress was in (since they told me it would be). I was told that it would be another week. When I called the next week to see when I could pick up my dress, I was told it would still be another week.... this pattern continued until TWO WEEKS BEFORE MY WEDDING. I started to panic- I still had to get alterations done, and my dress wasn't in yet! At the two week mark I went into the store to discuss with them that this was unacceptable and the clerk was rude to me and told me that there was nothing they could do...!?!? I got a call the next day saying that the reason for the delay was because the fabric for the dress was damaged when it arrived to the designer so they had to order new fabric before they could make my dress... this would have been good to know much earlier. Although this was out of Hilltop's hands, I feel strongly that they should have handled the situation differently. I felt that they weren't advocating for me, and I also felt that they were annoyed by me for calling so often (let's remember it was less than 2 weeks before my wedding and I didn't have a dress!). When the dress finally arrived, the owner "joked" about me being a bridezilla... (I was actually a very laid back bride other than this one incident). How inappropriate! Talk about POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Hilltop has a good selection of dresses, and I easily found several good options that fit into my budget, but the way that they treat their customers is sub-par, and therefore, I don't recommend shopping here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
M
Wedding:
8/6/2011
1.0/5.0
I would not recommend Hilltop Bridal to any friends or acquantices, nor would I make another puchase here myself. I bought a bridesmaid dress and paid a $35 rush charge in order to secure adequate time for alterations. I was told my dress was expected in the first week of July, giving me a month to arrange alterations. The wedding was August 6th and the dress did not arrive early July as expected, it did not arrive until a week before the wedding. When I questioned the rush charge I had paid the staff at Hilltop they said the rush charge had been paid to Alfred Angelo, and they would have to speak to the designer about refunding the fee. The associate who assured me she would contact Alfred Angelo never got back to me.

In my opinion, regardless of who the rush charge was paid to, at the end of the day I was a customer of Hilltop Bridal. Given the high costs and high stress associated with participating in a wedding, it was totally unacceptable that the dress was a month later than expected and was very poor customer service that they would not refund the fee to me, their customer. The cherry on top of the cake was the fact that the associate, who promised to contact me after speaking with the designer, never got back to me.

For an important day, such as a wedding or prom, I would suggesting shopping elsewhere where you can be confident your purchase will arrive on-time and where higher levels of customer service can be expected.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/30/2011
4.8/5.0
I am glad to write a positive review about Hilltop Bridal. I love those ladies. I got married last year and I was completely stressed to the MAX (as all brides know). They managed to calm my nerves when it came to my dress and my bridesmaid dresses. If you live in Barrie, or the surrounding area, please stop in and check it out! Thanks ladies!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
As
Wedding:
8/29/2010
1.0/5.0
I would not recommend this bridal salon to anyone.
First, they have terrible cusotomer service and it takes days for someone to return your call.
Second, they flat out lie to your face about everything.. For example, our bridesmaids dresses should have been in in November, however they did not arrive until the last week of January making it 3 weeks prior to the wedding. They told us numerous times different reasons as to why the dresses were late, however it seems to just be fabricated.
Third, they were supposed to ship a dress overnight to a bridesmaid and they told us and her that it was sent on a Thursday, turns out however that after 4 phone calls to find out where it was, they phoned us back to say they did not know but it should be there shortly. When it arrived the FedEx receipt said picked up at Hilltop Bridal at 4:30 on Tues. (The same day they told us they did not know where it was but that we should have received it).
They obviously do not know how to run a proper business with customer service, and promptness of placing orders (I have no doubt they just never got around to ordering our dresses thinking it not a rush, seeing as the company it was purchased from had a 12 week standard delivery on the dresses). They also will lie to you instead of just apologizing. For the sake of your sanity, do not use this salon, look elsewhere.
There is also a facebook group boycotting this Salon if any of you are interested in more stories.
Good luck!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Heather
Wedding:
11/4/2006
1.0/5.0
ATTENTION LADIES OF HILLTOP!!!


My name is Heather I am one of the owners of The Gown Gallery. I just recently had a girl in my store who is from the Beaverton area (where Hilltop used to be before moving to Barrie) and she says a new Hilltop sign just got put up on Osbourne Street!!! Since this is where Christina is from I'm guessing it's her, but I cannot be sure. Just thought to pass along this information for those of you looking to take legal action, as this may be an opportunity to get into contact with her finally. Good Luck Ladies!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
First of all, Hiltop Bridal is officially CLOSED. Thank the high heavens. I have to say that the employees were great, and Lisa is the seamstress is trying to help out clients get their dress that were already ordered etc.
My issue is with the TERRIBLE owner. The LIES that spew out of her mouth is incredible. At one point she had told us her daughter died thats why she couldnt help us in the way she wanted, then a few weeks later both daughters were in the store with her. That is not something you lie about and it shows what kind of human being you are.
How can I believe anything that comes out of her mouth when she lies about her daughters death?
We are waiting to see if our bridesmaids dresses were even ORDERED by the owner because she was the one to take the last payment to order them. If not she will be paying me back, lawsuits will be filed.
All in all, the business should have been closed a long time ago. She doesnt know how to run a business at all and hopefully she doesnt ever again.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
304 dunlop st west, Barrie, ON L4N 7L2 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hilltop Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1344549834390-logo