130x130_sq_1341265875843-hiltonorrington

Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston

Evanston , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1710 Orrington Avenue
Evanston, IL US 60201 (map)

PHONE

847-866-8700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

All eyes will be on you when you walk down our beautiful and historic grand staircase entering into our ballroom. You will forever remember this day shared with family, friends, and love... Read more
All eyes will be on you when you walk down our beautiful and historic grand staircase entering into our ballroom. You will forever remember this day shared with family, friends, and love ones. Let Hilton Orrington/Evanston be part of that memory.

Our historical Grand Ballroom is the perfect location to celebrate this very special day. With over 70 years of experience, fine cuisine, and a downtown Evanston location just two blocks from Lake Michigan and across the street from Northwestern University, you will have the perfect backdrop settings for your photos.

We feature a variety of wedding packages that let couples enjoy a wedding with distinctive style, grace, lavish taste, and a unique blend of historical and contemporary fashion. Don't forget that our rooms and suites are the perfect choice for your wedding night honeymoon.

Let the Hilton Orrington/Evanston help you create a wedding to remember on Chicago's North Shore. For more information regarding wedding and services please call our Wedding Specialist at 847-556-7909. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1343421567031-201107192
130x130_sq_1343421585884-201107191
130x130_sq_1343424646510-05
130x130_sq_1343424812968-0076furlastudio
130x130_sq_1343424838139-0079furlastudio
130x130_sq_1368818064884-exterior-front
130x130_sq_1368818216938-exterior
130x130_sq_1368818107089-indigo-lounge
130x130_sq_1368818280554-heritage-ballroom
130x130_sq_1368818252489-globe-cafe--bar
130x130_sq_1368818135530-chancellor-suite
130x130_sq_1368818125182-executive-studio
130x130_sq_1368818231220-two-queen-bed-superior
130x130_sq_1368818295009-lobby
130x130_sq_1368818199987-fitness-center

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1923
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
400
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
269
Number of suites
7
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
65
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about having my wedding at the Hilton Orrington. Every employee, from the valet to the front desk, to the event coordinator and hotel manager were nothing but friendly, helpful and professional. Our every need was catered to and service from arrival of the guests, to the last minute of the reception, was exceptional. It has been a week, and I still have had only positive feedback from guests-not even one complaint from the 200 who attended! We looked at many venues downtown and suburbs of Chicago, but I highly recommend this location and the people working there for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maciek
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
After hearing all kinds of stories about wedding disasters, we were expecting something to happen the day of our wedding. Thanks to Melissa, everything went exactly as planned. She took care of everything from day one, always responding very quickly to our requests and never letting anything fall through the cracks. If you're looking for a beautiful venue, where everything you'd want in a wedding is included in the package, and you want to work with someone who will make planning a wedding much less stressful, then look no further than the Orrington. Overall a wonderful experience. Thanks Melissa!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Melissa Powles, the wedding specialist at the Orrington made my wedding perfect. I had a wedding of 180+ people with a ceremony at NU's Millar Chapel and reception at Orrington (when I picked the venue, I thought it would be more like 120) but she was absolutely amazing in helping coordinate everything from deliveries to vendors to menus, etc. She was absolutely awesome. I had a wedding coordinator fall through halfway through the wedding planning process and Melissa made my life so easy, I ended up not even hiring another as she took care of EVERYTHING at the hotel. My husband and I loved our suite and she helped us coordinate staying there for another night at a discounted rate as we can't take our honeymoon for a few months so we had an impromptu "mini moon." All of my guests said the evening was very classy, the timing of everything was perfect and the service was perfect- the waitstaff worked very well together and were extremely attentive. I had a particular kind of wine that I liked and I felt like they were watching me like a hawk to refill my glass when it got anywhere near 1/2 empty. They even had a side of mac and cheese for me and a cesar salad for my husband on special request after the tasting when Melissa picked up on what we liked individually but wanted to offer something else for our guests. I could talk for years about every specific thing they did to make my wedding perfect. I loved having a separate cocktail ball room and reception ballroom- there was no change in setup for the transition. The best part about the Orrington: there is only one big event scheduled- I was the only person using any of the conference/ballrooms (no other wedding going on= no sharing of the gorgeous bathrooms with other parties, etc). Pretty cool. We used the rooms across the hall from the grand ballroom- one was used for a "play room" for the kids in which cribs were supplied so little kids could relax and watch movies while we partied.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Melissa and the whole team at the Orrington made our wedding planning process wonderful! Everyone responded efficiently and answered any questions, no matter how silly I thought they were. Our cake was from a vendor they work with, which we were able to customize ourselves. Our guests loved the food, which was really important to us. The room was beautiful thanks to Melissa and her team. From the catering department to the front desk staff, we could not have asked for a more special and fun wedding weekend. We'll remember that weekend forever!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeffrey
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not have hoped for a better overall experience. The catering staff was extremely helpful, responsive, and flexible to some of our adjustments to the reception schedule in the days preceding the event. Everyone involved, the catering manager, banquet manager, captains, servers, was professional and courteous. Our guests, some of them requiring assistance to avoid stairs, were well taken care of throughout the day, from before the ceremony until well after the reception. The staff assured us that these guests would be taken care and they were, every one of them.

The cocktail reception between the ceremony and dinner reception was wonderful. The room was more than sufficient to accommodate our 140 guests. Brunch the next morning was perfect in every way. Our server for brunch did an outstanding job accommodating our guests and even doing some minor room reconfiguration during a busy period, while not disturbing anyone.

I recommend the Hilton Orrington highly. They say what they will do, then they actually do what they said they would. The process was smooth and on the day of the event neither my wife nor I had to concern ourselves with any event details. I would give at least 7 stars if I could.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
I don't recommend planning a wedding within 2 months, but I am sure this was only possible with Melissa and the staff at the Hilton Orrington. Other than the last minute invites, no one would have been able to tell this was all put together within a relatively short amount of time.

Melissa and the others worked with our budget and were so kind, profession, etc. in ALL their interactions. There was never that moment of panicked distrust or skepticism - so painful for a bride in the planning stages of a wedding. The elegance of the revamped venue (the grand ballroom), catering and the additional services were worth every penny. All the guests loved the food - something I felt was important!

One story I'll never forget about my past wedding is how everyone forgot to get my dad, not a native English speaker, from the hotel to the church. Wasn't a big deal because the hotel staff tracked down my father and sent him to the church in a speedy cab - (phew).

I can't say enough great things about the place. . . if you're planning to have a wedding in the Chicago area - this is definitely a place you should consider.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debbie
Wedding:
12/1/2012
4.9/5.0
I can't say enough about the Orrington in Evanston. The service, food and amenities were wonderful. From the beautiful spacious rooms given to the bride and her maids to get ready during the day on the 9th fl, grroom and groomsmen on another level, to the gorgeous Heritage room for cocktails and the dramatic step down ballroom for the reception... it was all beautiful, calm yet festive! The staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. They looked after us...even the smallest details. Things that were left behind were simply put into safe keeping for us for the next day. Everyone raved about the experience. The Orrington makes it easy to have a beautiful, memorable wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.8/5.0
Big thanks to the staff at the Orrington for making our wedding weekend perfect. From hosting the rehearsal dinner, to accommodating all of our out of town guests, to making sure our ceremony and reception went off smoothly, Melissa, Barney and the entire staff was fantastic. We wanted to make sure our wedding had a lot of personal touches that were important to us and our family, and the staff at the Orrington was very flexible and accommodating to make sure all of our requests were met, promptly and respectfully.Would definitely recommend this venue for your event - great location and even better staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.5/5.0
Great event! Everyone was so nice and really helped us to plan a fantastic day :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
What can I say? Our ceremony and reception at the Hilton Orrington was nothing short of perfection. Melissa, the event coordinator, and the ENTIRE staff of the hotel worked so hard to create a very special day for us. The ceremony and reception were exactly what me and my husband wanted for our special day -- and we could not have been happier with every aspect of the hotel's involvement.

When we first toured at the Orrington, the professionalism of the event coordinator as apparent. At the beginning we felt as though we were given the "royal treatment" as we toured the different ballrooms and rooftop terrace. Even though our budget was not the highest that they've seen (particularly in the Chicago area) and we had a small-ish wedding (100 people), the Orrington did not hesitate to book the INCREDIBLE Grand Ballroom (which has a beautiful staircase), the second smaller ballroom on the same floor, and the entire 9th floor, including the rooftop terrace for our wedding day. This impressed me not only because we could have flexibility with where we wanted our cocktail hour, but also because it ensured that there would not be another event at the hotel the same time as ours.

After booking, the professionalism and high level of quality service continued. The coordinator was available to us at all times - answering questions MANY months before our event (we booked a year before our event). The room block coordinator was very helpful in setting up an online website where we could keep track of our guests room bookings. The tasting was a great experience -- the coordinator, chef, and incredible servers helped us choose the best menu for our wedding.

Melissa P, the event coordinator at the hotel, could NOT have been more helpful for us while planning. Her advice, guidance, and support helped us to really find out how exactly we wanted all the details to be for our special day. Also, she was able to accommodate EVERY request we had - and I felt so comfortable talking to her and discussing the planning with her. As someone who has not been to TOO many weddings, I appreciated her guidance with arranging the timing of events. She answered every email and phone call (I never got her voicemail!), even two weeks before - when my husband and I were contacting her multiple times everyday - WHAT a great sport! The day of - Melissa was there at the ceremony and during the reception making sure everything was going great. I KNEW we would have a perfect day with her in charge.... and I had NO stress on our wedding day -- which is priceless for a bride and groom.

The setup was gorgeous and the Grand Ballroom's staircase made for a beautiful entrance for myself and the bridal party -- YOU HAVE TO GO SEE IT!!!

The wedding itself was more beautiful than I could imagine. The staff was INCREDIBLE to my guests. I received countless comments from our guests on how wonderful the hotel staff was to them during their entire stay! Wine glasses were always filled - smiles on everyone's faces - truly high quality service. I was struck by how professional all of the staff was dressed and behaving during our reception. No one was standing around or lounging at all during the entire event - a constant level of professionalism from every member of the hotel staff. It was a very classy sophisticated atmosphere -- with our added touches of comfort, love, family, friends, and dancing -- and I could not have asked more from the Orrington.

We booked brunch there the next morning. And that was equally beautiful. The staff again was incredibly accommodating to all of our guests. It was a fantastic weekend for us, our family, and friends.

Melissa & the Orrington staff made this a beautiful weekend for my husband and me. I highly recommend that you check them out for your wedding or event. We could not be more pleased with how well everything went!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iveline
Wedding:
7/13/2012
4.8/5.0
Melissa did a fantastic job. She was awesome! She made my wedding fabulous. Melissa paid attention to what I wanted and delivered. The food was delicious. I loved the way she set up the Heritage room according to the very small wedding size. I was very impress with the level of service ans professionalism that was displayed. Even though the wedding was small, Melissa made it still feel like a big wedding and that we were a priority.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at the Orrington Hotel. The service we received from the moment we pulled into the drive was top notch. The valet service and hosts were polite and helpful and remained so throughout the entire weekend. All of the staff were welcoming and extremely willing to help my guests and myself in any way they could. The service that we received during our wedding reception was outstanding. The staff was attentive and professional. They made sure all of our guests received impeccable service.
We worked Event Coordinator, Melissa Powles, who is an assest to this hotel. She worked with us to make sure that our wedding was exactly as we imagined it to be. She coordinated and accommodated the details to ensure that the day and night was on schedule and perfect. She was in contact with our vendors to ensure they were all on the same page and knew exactly what the plan was. Her knowledge and ability are amazing and I am so lucky to have worked with her. She went above and beyond and I knew I had nothing to worry about with Melissa there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FabOne
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We highly recommend the Hilton Orrington as a wedding venue. Our daughter and son-in-law were married in the ballroom, had a cocktail hour and voila, the room was ready and looked amazing! Every detail was covered in an efficient and seemingly easy way. The food was amazingly delicious and all the servers were very attentive to all of us. Robin and the staff at the Orrington are extremely capable and knowledgeable. She helped guide us regarding several questions or ideas that we had to make the whole evening come together. We are still relishing in the afterglow of the wedding and it is 3 months later. Bob and Shelley F
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.4/5.0
Hotel Orrington provided me with a very elegant evening that impressed all of my guests. They went above and beyond to try to accomodate all of our wishes.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.9/5.0
Overall a very good reception spacep; staff was friendly and the food was good.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We were very impressed with how much patience and professional "Smoothness" the staff had with us. We are kind of an excitable couple! LOL
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1710 Orrington Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1341265875843-hiltonorrington