130x130_sq_1361998433277-10052201

His Bakery

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6011 SE 72nd Avenue
Portland, OR US 97206 (map)

PHONE

503-775-0731

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1390693079-3345a1f032ab017e-484890_10151526843697423_426284015_n
Andrea
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.8/5.0
I love His Bakery! Their wedding cake is phenomenal, and the tasting/selection process is easy and tasty. Their cakes are by far the tastiest I have ever had, and worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
6/22/2014
5.0/5.0
His Bakery is the way to go! These people are so friendly and easy to work with! They were very flexible and willing to work with me! They are very reasonably priced! We had over 300 guests at our wedding and we decided to go with their cupcakes and small cutting cake for the top of our tower. The cupcakes were delicious and guests raved about them! His Bakery delivered on time and set everything up for us! Great people! Great choice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/1/2014
5.0/5.0
The cake was gorgeous and tasted so amazing! And the grooms cake they made was better than we could have imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Xiaoyu
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
The cake was moist, the filling and frosting were creamy but not too sweet. Everybody at the wedding loved the wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
* Delicious cake
* Beautiful cake
* Great to work with
* Great communicators
* Flexible
* Prompt
Thank you, His Bakery, for your very important role in our daughter's wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Super affordable, understood my how I was envisioning my cake, oh, and every flavor was wonderful! So difficult to pick.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
our wedding cake was so delicious and Beautiful. His bakery did such an amazing job with everything. they made our cake just as i imagined it. they were on time and the prices were pretty good also. i would recommend this bakery to anyone. THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Jack at his bakery was amazing! Our cake was gorgeous and by far the best cake I've ever had! We got tons of compliments!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Toni
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We had cupcakes for our "wedding cake" 120 of them in two flavors, they were GONE! We also had a 6" cutting cake and a 1/2 sheet cake to celebrate some family birthdays at our reception. All of it was delicious and got rave reviews. They were great to work with, flexible and had some good ideas and suggestions.

They were the best priced bakery for cupcakes in the Portland area, very affordable and the didn't skimp on any of it.

I would highly recommend them for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1335723531038-tiffton118of272
Tiffany
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We ordered a small cake and 4 types of cupcakes from His Bakery. All 5 flavors were delicious- the flavor was great and the cake was moist. The Bakery has a wonderful setup for tasting, allowing you to try many types of cake, fillings and frosting. The price compared to other Portland bakeries is literally half the cost of many bakeries for cupcakes, and their cakes are well-priced as well. The cost for delivery is reasonable, and they delivered during the 1 hour timeframe they gave. The cupcakes arrived fresh and decorated beautifully.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
8/4/2013
4.8/5.0
The cake was so delicious. Oh my gosh. Everything we expected it to be and more. Beautiful, decadent, flavorful and huge. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
We had gorgeous cupcakes of various flavors and a small cake to cut into. The decorations were gorgeous, exactly how I asked and they tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Delicious beautiful cake!!!! His Bakery was great to work with. They were flexible and totally incorporated my daughter's cake design. We received many compliments on the delicious cake. I highly recommend His Bakery
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.3/5.0
I really loved our cake! We had pink champagne with Bavarian cream filling on two layers and then chocolate with chocolate mousse on the other. Not a huge chocolate fan, but the pink champagne cake was awesome! And it looked really pretty too. I love that they don’t use fondant, because I think that stuff tastes like plastic. It looks pretty, but I am only concerned about taste when it comes to cake. They were even able to arrange some flowers on top of the cake (though they were very clear they were not florists), and it turned out so cute with the flowers, ribbon, and little dots of frosting all over. But most importantly, it tasted delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was delicious and looked beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1357586685622-me5
Mrs. Anderson
Wedding:
9/30/2012
4.9/5.0
I would highly recommend His Bakery to everyone! Our cake was simple but beautiful and tasted amazing. We got tons of compliments and numerous people said it was the best wedding cake they ever had. They were very reasonably priced and were easy to work with. The location of the bakery isn't the nicest area but don't let that deter you from getting your cake there. I will definitely be going back!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1332213301157-004
Rachel
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I am very satisfied with the job HIS Bakery did for our wedding. The wedding cake was beautiful and so delicious! Many of our friends and family that attended the wedding would agree, the cake was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Amazingly good cake for the price!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.4/5.0
Don't let the old neighborhood and eldery clientele fool you. The cake that we had from His Bakery was fantastic.
We were set on having a Cheesecake for our wedding cake, which they were the only bakery in town, besides Portland Cheesecake that agreed to make it. We didn't care for their cheesecake, however...
We asked for samples of their other cakes and were promplty given 6 different choices, all which were wonderful.
We ended up going with a Pink Champagne cake with Raspberry and cream cheese filling. This cake is moist, not crumbly. The Raspberry filling is made with real berries, like what you would find in a jelly donut, not your typical store bought cake. To get the cheesecake effect, the staff suggested we add a layer of cream cheese.
The cake was a hit and it was decorated beautifully.
They delivered the cake without an extra fee, even though it was a mile or so outside their free delivery range.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
8/10/2012
4.7/5.0
Cake was amazingly tasty and beautifully done! I highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OCBride
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was so beautiful. Very tasty. It was so moist. It melted in your mouth. They did exactly what I wanted (Frosting / Design wise)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1302257900724-img0022
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Delicious cake, wonderful service. Jack is amazing. I wouldn't go to anyone else. Was willing to add personal touches and my mother's flowers to the cake at no extra charge!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1300297533979-dsc00526
rachel
Wedding:
9/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I love this bakery they don't do fondant but the quality and artistry of the icing work is amazing, the cake is pure perfection, they use real buttercream frosting and the cake is flavorful and moist. We use this bakery for all cakes now.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mom of the Bride
Wedding:
7/31/2011
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and tasted wonderful!!!! We had a design in mind and they did an excellent job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. S.
Wedding:
12/5/2010
5.0/5.0
If you haven't tried their cake then you're missing out. Our cake was delicious. We had a white cake with marionberry filling with a buttercream frosting. They did a wonderful job and were so easy to work with. They really master the art of cake. Not too much frosting and you can really taste the flavor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DND2010
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed working with His Bakery. Jack, the baker and owner sat down with us and helped us choose our fillings and flavors!! He was so accommodating (I am allergic to chocolate). I brought a picture of the cake I wanted. The cake turned out absolutely beautiful and we received so many compliments on how good it was!!! We took the top layer of the cake with us to eat that night and it was so delicious....the cake was everything I hoped it would be!!! Jack also did pecan tarts for us and they were a huge hit!! I can't thank him enough for his advice on how many I needed to order!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1262057315068-usdriving
Emma
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
My cake was a complete dream come true!! I couldn't have imagined a more beautiful cake. Jack and his whole team of amazing people became like family to me and my family as we stopped in and ordered cakes for several of our wedding events. They took such pride in my cake and made my day so special. Jack personally walked the cake out to my sister's car!!! The cake itself was a completely masterpiece and people were so astonished that it looked so amazing even after we drove the cake down to the coast from Portland. It was absolutely delicious that people were going back for seconds and thirds! Thank you so much His Bakery for everything! You helped make my wedding absolutely perfect and I can't recommend them enough.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
82410Bride
Wedding:
8/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We used His Bakery for our wedding. It is such a cute bakery and they are the nicest people ever! Jill was so kind and helpful when we picked out our flavors and the style of our cake. It was the only place we went for a cake tasting because we knew after we tried their cake that they were the ones we wanted to make our wedding cake.

The first time I saw our cake on our wedding day I couldn't believe my eyes. It was EXACTLY the way I had pictured it. It was so beautiful I almost didn't want to cut into it. The cake was sooo moist and seriously the best cake that I have ever had. Our guests loved it and we didn't have too much left over afterward. It was also very affordable for a wedding cake. Couldn't be happier with His Bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
francie
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
The first thing I can say about the staff at His Bakery is that they are extremely nice people. They're the kind of old style small, family-run business that I love being able to support. We asked them to make us an un-iced cake, so that my mom could ice and decorate it (she'd taken a class). A couple places I had contacted weren't even willing to do this at all, but His Bakery offered to do it at a generously affordable price.

Usually I hate icing, but when we went to taste the cake at His Bakery the buttercream icing was so good that we ended up buying the cake iced after all, and just had my mom add decorations. The price was still extremely affordable, and we had guests tell us it was the best wedding cake they had ever eaten. We wanted to make sure we had plenty of cake so people could eat as much as they liked, and even though they'd just eaten a full dinner, I saw a number of people going back for seconds and coming back with great big slices of cake. Of all the great vendors we had, my husband especially noted that he wanted to make sure we submitted a rave review of the cake: it was definitely a highlight. -- By the way, we chose a white cake with marionberry mousse filling. Yum!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
libs
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Jack is amazing! people are STILL talking about the wedding cake, i love that he doesn't even mess with the fondant, buttercream delicious! after the wedding we brought some of the leftover cake upstairs for some of the stragglers and the wedding party, i've never seen grown adults, dressed so well, completely lose all notion of decorum in order to get some more of that delicious cake. it was beautiful, tasted amazing, i want to find an excuse once a year at least to get his cakes... hmmm the bride and grooms birthday and anniversary, perfect! and his prices are so reasonable! i had an amazing experience at His Bakery, he was so easy to talk to about ideas, it was one of the easiest processes in the wedding planning hands down
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leche1
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Amazing! They had the best taste and new me by name every time I went in their for various things! I told them an idea and they made my cake beautiful! One of the best parts of my wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MissyBru
Wedding:
8/5/2006
5.0/5.0
I've grown up with His Bakery pastries and they are EXCELLENT! I ordered a 4-tier cake (with the top layer saved for my husband and I). The cake was so moist and guests raved about it! Everyone liked it so much we had NO leftovers!
You can make an appointment to do a taste-test of the cakes and fillings you'd like! His prices are very reasonable; you definitely get your dollars worth! I highly recommend His Bakery for not only wedding cakes, but birthday cakes and pies as well! You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MaryRose
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
Jack absolutely was wonderful. He helped me out of a really tight jam, he was honest , he was absolutely the fairest price I could get, and he was extremely flexible. I made my own cake (because very few vendors do red velvet), and had my cake decorator bail on me when the bottom tier of the cake split. I called Jack to find out what he could do, and he wasn't the least bit concerned about the split. I provided the frosting (which he actually improved tremendously), and he did the work. He gave me an amazing price, and the cake came out looking gorgeous! It was exactly what I wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
6011 SE 72nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97206 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for His Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo