130x130_sq_1347375359138-goughbeegle

Historic Inns of Annapolis

Annapolis , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

58 State Circle
Annapolis, MD US 21401 (map)

PHONE

410-216-6326

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Imagine your wedding in the heart of the Maryland State capital, Annapolis, within walking distance of the glorious Chesapeake Bay waterfront and the stirring sites and sounds of the... Read more
Imagine your wedding in the heart of the Maryland State capital, Annapolis, within walking distance of the glorious Chesapeake Bay waterfront and the stirring sites and sounds of the United States Naval Academy. Long known as the perfect wedding location, Annapolis is poised to make your special day a joyful occasion, with memories that will last a lifetime. In the heart of it all are the elegantly charming facilities of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Begin YOUR history where brides have been coming for over 250 years, at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1347375646327-annapoliswedding25
130x130_sq_1347375562037-erinrobbiewedding0078
130x130_sq_1347375616277-annapoliswedding27
130x130_sq_1347375604608-annapoliswedding8
130x130_sq_1279042258641-calverthouseporch
130x130_sq_1347375828165-annapolisdowntown
130x130_sq_1347375832271-govcalverthouse
130x130_sq_1347375614084-erinrobbiewedding1296
130x130_sq_1274898058614-atriummuralbg
130x130_sq_1347375825767-terrace
130x130_sq_1347375830461-ballroom
130x130_sq_1274898076395-bf5
130x130_sq_1279042160282-bf3
130x130_sq_1274898076536-dukeofgloucester
130x130_sq_1279042228907-bf12
130x130_sq_1347375535335-0061
130x130_sq_1347375600652-annapoliswedding12
130x130_sq_1347375615536-annapoliswedding26
130x130_sq_1347375660986-agpblakewedding511
130x130_sq_1274898071645-atriummural
130x130_sq_1347375834550-marylandinn

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1727
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Vintage, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
124
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
99
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had our July wedding at the Governor Calvert House and would highly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a venue with lots of historical charm and character! We had many out of town guests that stayed at the Historic Inns and they all loved the venue and the town of Annapolis.

We held almost all wedding weekend events at the Inns: we held a Friday night dessert reception at the Maryland Inn; held our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at the Gov. Calvert House; and also a farewell Sunday breakfast at the Gov. Calvert House -- it was the perfect wedding weekend! Michelle and her staff at the Inns were such a pleasure to work with. The weekend ran so smoothly and went off without a hitch. I had so many vendors tell me that I was in good hands with Michelle, and they were right! She was super responsive throughout the planning process, handled the rehearsal and day of coordination with ease, and was also super helpful during the planning stages by recommending many great local vendors that we ultimately ended up booking. If you go with the venue, would also recommend renting the cafe lights - makes for great photos and many guests told us they felt like they were "in a movie." We could not be happier with our venue selection!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liberty
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding and reception at The Historic Inns of Annapolis at The Governor Calvert House. This venue was absolutely perfect for our small wedding ceremony and reception (55 people in attendance). We had a Friday evening wedding and the cost was very affordable compared to other locations we considered. The venue itself is beautiful and requires very little extra decoration although we did decide to go with stringing some overhead lights. The food was fantastic (heavy hors d'oeuvres), the setting was gorgeous, and the event staff were so easy to work with. Overall, it was absolutely lovely. I would highly recommend it as a wedding and/or reception location.

I also have to mention that Michelle, the Events Coordinator, was responsive, flexible, professional and helpful. I enjoyed working with her. She made sure everything was organized. I did not have to worry about a thing. As a bride, that is invaluable.

The only difficulty I ran into had nothing to do with the event planning side of things. Rather it occurred in securing the room block and making sure the reservation process went smoothly for my guests. Everything worked out just fine but you may want to be sure you are clear about the terms and conditions up front (especially about the two night minimum on weekends). Make sure you get your questions answered upfront even if it takes a little extra leg work. Overall, with extra communication, it all worked out and they did work with me.

It is also important to note that several of my guests were unable to make it due to cancelled travel. The front desk/managerial staff were accommodating and understanding. They made an effort to work with me and my guests regarding cancelled reservations. In addition, they were extremely helpful the day of the event.

Again, I would highly recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis as a venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
First off, we looked at multiple venues in Annapolis. We live in North Carolina and my husbands family was from Annapolis. So I thought planning a wedding from out of state was going to be super stressful and difficult.

Michelle made my wedding planning SO easy. Talk about being on her game, she was awesome. Professional, caring, and a good resource for information. She was fast to respond to all emails and get my answers for any questions that myself or my family had during the planning.

This is THE prettiest venue in Annapolis. It needs the least amount of flowers to make the space stunning, because it already it.
The prices per plate were actually reasonable as well. (about $95-100)
I will forever be thankful to Michelle for making my wedding day and planning run so smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We held our wedding reception at Governor Calvert House in April, and it was everything we could have dreamed of, and more. My husband and I knew GCH was the venue for us during our first visit! We looked at each other and said, "this is the one!" The venue is in an amazing location in downtown Annapolis, and has the most wonderful classic atmosphere. Michelle is their coordinator, and she is the best! She is extremely responsive and organized; she was always exceeding our expectations. The rest of the staff is just as wonderful - every person we interacted with was so helpful and friendly. Our guests had a wonderful time, and the guests that stayed overnight had a great experience with the hotel as well. The food is so delicious! Our guests were raving about it, and the hors d'oeuvres in particular. Every part of the night was so amazing, and we were able to enjoy every minute of it because Michelle and the staff had everything under control. We highly recommend this venue! We wish we could do our wedding there all over again. :)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wes
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
10 out of 10 A+++. Michelle and her staff at the Governor Calvert House and historic inns of Annapolis are an exceptional crew that can accommodate any of your wedding needs. The staff was flexible and responsive, and we surely out them to the test, with a wedding of 200+ guests, and nearly all of their hotel rooms booked by our wedding guests. They ordered all custom tables, chairs, and place settings for our reception dinner, facilitated a decadent food tasting prior to the reception, and we're consummately flexibility to our every desire. During the weekend, we had full access to the facility and the resources of Michelle and her staff, and she truly goes above and beyond to make your wedding worry free. Would recommend again and again, and my only complain is that our reception seemed to go by too quickly as every detail was perfectly executed. -Ria and Wes
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding at the the Governor Calvert House last month, and I cannot say enough positive things about the venue, and the wonderful Director, Michelle Vellon. Michelle was so detail oriented and patient and made every last small detail we requested happen, from linens, to string lights on the porch, to cocktail hour food, special drink requests, picture and chalkboard layouts. She made us feel like family, and we always loved visiting her to get ideas for the wedding. At the end of the day it was such a beautiful looking event with a special charming feel. Our guests said the food and drinks were wonderful (slider bar and risotto stations were a hit!) and they loved the Inn's coziness and apple cider! It was all that we could want and more, and we will definitely be back to visit, stay and would reccommend this venue to anyone looking for charm, delicious food and special touches!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at the Calvert House on September 7, 2013, and it was absolutely perfect! It definitely helped that it was in the upper 70s and sunny, but I think it would have been great in less-than-perfect circumstances, too.

We had cocktail hour on the gorgeous back patio area, which everyone loved. For dinner, we chose the rockfish, chicken with white wine leek sauce, and the filet. During the tasting, my husband and I thought that the food was overcooked, and I felt the same way on the wedding day, but we got great feedback from our guests, so who knows. My husband and I didn't get to partake in the cocktail hour food, but the crab balls especially got rave reviews.

The dancing area was big enough to hold our 8-piece band, and I appreciated that the bars were in the same room as the dance floor so that people weren't taken away from the dancing when they wanted a drink. Our guests also appreciated that they could find quiet places to talk (the back patio or the dining room) if they didn't want to dance. So, the layout of the venue is really perfect.

Michelle deserves all the praise that she's received from the other reviewers. She's very helpful and responsive and did so much work to make our day special. For instance, we wanted to upgrade some of the alcohol and needed props for the reception decorations, and Michelle took care of everything. It's amazing that her services are included in the venue fee! What's nice about Michelle is that she puts on weddings at this venue ALL THE TIME. So, she knows what works best and doesn't have to get acquainted with the space. It makes for a seamless event.

I highly recommend the Calvert House for your wedding. It's a great value and a great location. You and your guests will love it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1366177817369-p1020376
Melissa
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff are wonderful and the location is picturesque. The filet mignon and other dinner selections were perfectly prepared. Our guests truly enjoyed the weekend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We just had our ceremony and reception at the Governor Calvert House at Historic Inns. It was everything we could have asked for and more. The atrium was absolutely beautiful. It made for a great backdrop of our ceremony and had plenty of space for dancing and cocktails. The food was great, I'd definitely suggest the crab crakes! Michelle was such a helpful coordinator. She worked with our every request and was quick to answer emails and phone calls. On the day of, she handled all of the details and made sure everything ran smoothly. The night went off without a hitch. Michelle, the catering staff and the valets were so kind and helpful, and our guests definitely noticed the hard work they put in. While I love this venue and would recommend it to anyone, my one reservation is with the room reservations. The majority of our guests were staying in the Inns, and we did have some trouble with some miscommunication - guests were falsely told our block was booked or there were two night minimums. They were very quick to correct any mistakes and were always very kind and apologetic. As with any hotel, I'd recommend staying on top of your room block and making sure you get the important details out to your guests yourself.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I recently had our wedding at the Gov. Calvert House and it was spectacular. We knew the moment we walked in to the building that this was the venue for us. Truthfully I didn't expect to choose this venue, only because I did not think I wanted a historic site. Was i wrong! I had a couple other venues in Baltimore already in my head, but after seeing the atrium of the Calvert House, i was sold! It is a beautiful room and doesn't require a lot of decoration to be breathtaking. It was the best decision.
Michelle, the event planner, is a joy to work with, as well as Tara from catering. Michelle is extremely responsive, not to mention friendly, and a true professional. She understood my vision and the day of the wedding, i was amazed at just how beautiful everything looked. She is there for every step of the planning and the day of. She ensures that everything goes smooth, she is a dream!
Everyone at the hotel is extremely accommodating. If you don't like something, they will change it, no problem. They will make sure you get your dream wedding. Not only is Michelle fantastic, but so is the hotel manager. He made a point to understand exactly what we wanted and any issues we were having in the planning stage. Any issues were quickly resolved. The wait staff and bartenders are also fantastic. They moved things along swiftly and were so friendly with our guests.
Also, for the bride, there is a nice big room in the back of the atrium to get ready the day of. It's really spacious and comfortable and has a nice huge bathroom with lots of mirrors.
All in all, I highly recommend the Gov Calvert House. If I needed to plan another wedding, i would choose it all over again! The venue, the staff, the price, the location, everything is wonderful!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1356007521369-engagement174
Sarah Jane
Wedding:
2/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I hosted both my ceremony and reception at the Governor Calvert House. Michelle, their catering and event manager, is amazing and did such a wonderful job helping to make my wedding perfect. The food at the Calvert House is wonderful, and as someone who is gluten intolerant, they did a perfect job putting together a menu that I could eat (without scaring off guests!). There ceremony was beautiful and the coordination of the wedding itself was perfect. I couldn't be happier with my decision to host my event at the Governor Calvert House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married 2/9/13 and it couldn't have turned out my perfect! I cannot not say enough good things about The Historical Inns of Annapolis and Michelle Vellon! They really do whatever they can to make sure that if you want something it happens. I was nervous about having to plan the wedding from another state (and me not being very good at things like this) and I can say having my reception there made it a lot less stressful. Michelle was very responsive and really did an amazing job of putting everything together. The venue is also just perfect. You really don't have to do too much as far as decorations becuase the place itself is such a unique space. Everyone that came to our wedding raved about the location and how great everything turned out. If you are not sure where to do your wedding/reception trust me just do it here and it will be amazing (and so much less stressful)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Randall
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
"I never really understood the hype. Now I know why people get so excited about weddings." This comment from our friend summed up our wedding at the Governor Calvert House. We wanted something simple and fun; we got the most incredible weekend of our lives! And it was all so effortless, thanks to the professionalism and tenacity of our wedding liaison Michelle and her staff. After just one meeting, it seemed like Michelle knew us completely and moreover, knew everything we wanted. From the candlelight on the back patio, to the fried chicken and waffles, to our grand exit, Michelle and her team nailed it! We think about our wedding almost every day. And when we do, our only regret is that we can't do it again. We love the Calvert House! - Randy and Hadley Leonard
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sue
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
It was such a pleasure to work with Michelle. She handled every detail from our first meeting to the day of our wedding. She was always available to answer any questions that we had. We were so thrilled with how great our wedding was at The Maryland Inn. It was a dream come true thanks to Michelle and her wonderful staff...I would highly recommend having a wedding at The Historic Inns of Annapolis.... we want to do it all over again!!

Sincerely,

Eric & Susan Reichard
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
1/9/2013
5.0/5.0
The Historic Inns of Annapolis is the ideal wedding venue. All my guests raved for days about how perfect the location, food, and service was! Michelle Vellon is amazing and very easy to work with- she will make your days run smoothly and exactly how you planned it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue, great value and extremely responsive, professional service in planning the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The Historic Inns of Annapolis (Governor Calvert House) was the ultimate venue for our wedding in Annapolis. We were having all of our guests come in from out of town and wanted a venue that could host our wedding and all of our guests along with providing our guests with a feel of Annapolis. We looked at the other hotels in downtown Annapolis and none could offer us the charming, historic feel of Annapolis until we visited the Governor Calvert House. The inside of this Historic Inn is just charming. The wedding reception takes place in the Atrium which provides such a cute historic feeling. There are hotel rooms that even overlook the Atrium. Talking about the hotel rooms - they also provide a cute, historic feel HOWEVER they also come furnished with new, soft, comfy beds and sheetings as well as flat screen televisions. We loved how they were updated yet historic!

Michelle Vellon (the wedding coordinator) is THE BEST!!! There is no question about it. She made the wedding planning process SIMPLE. She was extremely responsive throughout the entire process and kept us updated with what we needed to provide her. She will do anything to help make your day special. Words can not express how AMAZING she is.

Now lets talk about the food! We our foodies and wanted to make sure that we had great food at our wedding. We have been to many weddings where the food is okay. We actually took a gamble on the Historic Inns based on reviews and recommendations from people that have attended a wedding there in the past. When we went to the food tasting, we were certainly not disappointed! The food was AMAZING. Allison, the head chef, took time to meet with us - she is a great chef. She will also do anything for you. Our guests especially raved about the appetizers. I would strongly suggest that you try the crab cakes and beef wellington at your tasting. YUM!!!

Our wedding was everything that we hoped it would be and ALL of our guests had a wonderful time!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our reception at Governor Calvert House on July 28, 2012. It was absolutely perfect! We worked with Michelle to set everything up, and she was so easy to work with. She always answered any questions we had prior to the wedding very quickly, and set everything for our reception up beautifully. The food for dinner was absolutely amazing, and a ton of our guests commented on it. Everyone on the staff was so friendly as well. They constantly checked throughout the night to see if we needed anything. We recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis to anyone looking for a reception venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Very convenient spot for a reception if you're getting married at the US Naval Academy. I recommend the Crab Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely gorgeous and unique. We hosted a lot of out-of-town NYers, mostly from Long Island, who are used to big beautiful weddings! I can't even tell you how many people came up to me and said it was the most beautiful wedding venue they had ever seen.

We opted to have our ceremony on-site in the atrium of the Calvert House and it was perfect. I am thrilled we were able to give our out-of-town guests a real taste of Annapolis, for a surprisingly reasonable cost compared to some other venues in the area. There is a ton of space for the bridal party to get ready and relax, before and during the wedding. Our photos are amazing, most of them taken on the terrace or across the street at the State House. The food was EXCELLENT! (Get the lamb!) I was happy to have 3 entree options to offer our guests, as many venues in the area only offer 2.

Given our wedding size (120 guests) we only looked at the Calvert House so I can't speak for the other spaces offered by the Historic Inns of Annapolis, but do not judge this hotel by the outside. Once you walk inside you will be amazed at the space, character, and beauty of it!! I have lived in Annapolis and worked downtown for 8 years and never even knew this place existed.

Michelle is awesome and a pleasure to work with. She answers emails almost immediately and made everything seamless, easy, and stress-free! Very flexible to last-minute changes and really helpful beyond words.

I could not be happier that we chose to get married here!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1293468080833-lf8c52dfc30958f9bb46f2bf3e3b63332
MSH
Wedding:
4/27/2012
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Historic Inns of Annapolis was fantastic. They helped make sure the day went smoothly and everything was perfect. The food was terrific and we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. They even helped us out the next night with a card table delivered to one of the rooms, so that some of the guests could play a few games. Michelle was delightful to work with and was very quick to respond to all of my emails and questions. I would definitely recommend the Historic Inns to future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
schmickle
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our reception in the Duke of Gloucester Ballroom at The Maryland Inn. With just 26 total people at the wedding, we were able to have one large table for everyone for dinner. It added an intimacy and closeness that I have never experienced before. Add in the holiday decorations, the active fireplace, and a wonderful history and it was just an exceptional evening. The catering by the Treaty of Paris restaurant was excellent and having a menu for guests to choose from was a great option instead of worrying before hand about collecting RSVP choices. And the suite we had for two nights had a huge room for the bride to use to get ready and the privacy desired for a good night's sleep.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Michelle Vellon, and she was fantasic about helping us keep on budget, meet our needs, and find the right balance of individuality and tradition. They were such a great all-in-one find, in beautiful downtown Annapolis. Since we had a small reception, we were at the Maryland Inn which was perfect for our 45 person reception. We also hosted our rehearsal dinner at the Treaty of Paris restaurant. We received so much positive feedback at both the reception and the rehearsal. We had to do very little the day of the wedding itself and the staff were professional, courteous, and responsive.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Avery
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Michelle at Historic Inns of Annapolis is amazing! She is on the ball and takes care of everything before you can even think to ask about it. She is the reason our wedding day ran as smoothly as it did. My only complaint is that during our wedding dinner, a banquet manager that I had never spoken with before came over to me and my husband and gave us attitude about a mistake in the dinner order. However, Michelle swooped in and remedied the situation right away. She is 100% trustworthy and I would hold another event there in a second.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Historic Inns of Annapolis was a great wedding venue for our reception. We looked at many facilities around the Annapolis area, and quickly picked HIA/Governor Calvert House. Michelle was great to work with, very personable, responsive and organized. The food was great and the reception went off without any problems. One of my favorite things about the venue is that it has three seperate areas - which really accomodated different guests interests and facilitiated mingling, dancing and for those who wanted to hang outside. 90% of our guests stayed at the hotel, and loved it and it's great location. The front desk was easy to work with and helped to organized our room block, they were very accomodating to all of our guests. Made for a great weekend for everyone. Would def. recommend it to anyone else in the area looking for a wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Port719
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with our choice of the Historic Inns of Annapolis for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding ceremony/reception. The location itself is perfect, situated right in the heart of the brick-lined, colonial streets of historic downtown Annapolis. The Inns are absolutely exquisite, filled with colonial charm and elegance. We also enjoyed working with the staff of the Historic Inns. The catering and events staff, including Michelle Vellon, the director of catering, were professional, knowledgeable, organized and responsive. I am not from the Annapolis area, and Michelle was tremendously helpful with her referrals to other wedding services. Also, she was very attentive and certainly made our wedding day flow absolutely perfectly! Moreover, the food and food service was excellent. Our guests at our rehearsal dinner at the Maryland Inn and our wedding brunch at the Governor Calvert House raved about the food and ambience. Our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect and we were so pleased with choosing the Historical Inns of Annapolis as the hub of our festivities. I would recommend their wedding services with confidence!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
The Maryland Inn went above and beyond the call of duty for our event. Michelle Vellon and Kim Rooney were absolutely amazing on every level. Our wedding had some unique challenges due to the fact that it was very DIY and we did the cake and flowers ourselves. The Maryland Inn was very receptive to our wishes, easy to work with, and handled all the challenges we could throw at them with absolute grace. We could not get over the reception quality that we had for the price we paid! Michelle was easy to coordinate and correspond with and was always on top of her game. Our wedding coordinator for the day, Kim Rooney was FANTASTIC! She, while covered in cake icing, still managed to give me a hug and call the salon to tell them I was running late. She also did a remarkable job in decorating the room and setting up everything to our vision. She always made us feel comfortable and confident in her abilities. The wait staff also as well was extremely well mannered and pleasant. Our wedding reception went above our expectations and would highly recommend Historic Inns of Annapolis for any event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Where do I start!!!! Michelle Vellon and the staff at the Gov. Calvert House were awesome! Michelle was a great help right from the beginning! My guests are still talking about how perfect everything was! Michelle gave awesome advice on DJ, photographer, etc! I would highly recommend this venue! They made our wedding perfect! The Gov. Calvert House is the perfect Annapolis spot!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Michelle Vellon (Catering manager and who you work with regarding the details and the planning of your reception) was amazing! Professional, courteous, and I didn't have to worry about one detail regarding my reception because Michelle was excellent!! I knew I was in good hands! I still made sure I got some references and asked recent brides who had had their reception there and they were also highly impressed and satisfied with choosing this venue for the reception.

I couldn't have asked for a better reception! You won't regret it if you pick Governor Calvert House!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1291996818656-jakeandmeredith
Meredith
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely breathtaking! If you're getting married in Annapolis, there's really no place like the Historic Inns. We had our reception there, and all of our guests stayed there. It was so beautiful, classy, and had real character (very unlike a cookie-cutter hotel). Charming!

The catering staff was fantastic. They were so friendly and helpful, and the FOOD was AMAZING! They have such great chefs.

Make sure your wedding party knows which building they're staying in... there are three different buildings. They are very close together, but it can get confusing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aheim
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Michelle Vellon at the Governor Calvert House (one of the Historic Inns of Annapolis) was wonderful. She was extremely quick with her responses to emails and phone calls and very helpful with all of my questions. She was very flexible to set up meeting times. Michelle was also very helpful when it came time to make decisions. I would highly recommend planning a wedding (or other event) at one of the Historic Inns of Annapolis!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joan
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved the venue as it provided charm, interest, great location and intimacy. The venue can be transformed into a lavish affair or understated. Since we felt the venue was perfect as is, we didn't have the need to add too much else.

We did not know anything about the quality of the food prior to the wedding. We were pleasantly surprised at how delicious everything was. We had many compliments on the food.

We had a wonderful experience at Historic Inns of Annapolis and would certainly recommend this venue for a wedding or event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JSamson82
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
This was such a beautiful location right in the heart of downtown Annapolis which made it convenient for out of town guests to enjoy the town before and after our event. The coordinator, Michelle, was an absolute dream---so helpful and always quick to respond to any questions I had. She and the entire Historic Inns of Annapolis team made my wedding more than I could have imagined!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kashlun
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff was so great to work with! Everyone was so helpful, accommodating and understanding of what we wanted our day to be. They worked with outside vendors to make sure all the details fell perfectly into place. We had a special request hor d'oeuvre that they were more than happy to create. The Rockfish Oscar was scrumptious! The venue space was a beautiful backdrop and not many extras were needed. Our guests cannot stop telling us how lovely the day was. Thank you so much HIA!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
4/30/2010
5.0/5.0
As soon as I walked into the Governor Calvert House I literally thought “this is the place!” And it truly was perfect. Looking back, I can’t imagine having my wedding at any other venue. First of all the location is amazing. Being in downtown Annapolis directly across from the State House allows for incredible pictures. The location also made our guests even more excited to attend, especially out-of-towners who had never been to Annapolis. Once you walk inside and see the exposed brick and beautiful wood floors you just smile. And having a huge terrace as a place for guests to mingle really makes the space open up. Secondly the staff at the Governor Calvert House is awesome, especially Michelle Vellon!!! She was very open and responsive to questions, suggestions, and was just willing to help us out in any way to make the day so special. Michelle told us not to worry about anything she was there to set things up and coordinate with vendors and that’s exactly what she did…and then some! I was sure she was going to laugh when I showed up with a huge pile of things (pictures, time capsule, favors, programs, pens, etc…) to be set up on the wedding day, but she didn’t even blink an eye. Michelle made my wedding day stress and worry free. I am so thankful to have had her there! And the food is awesome! Kudos to the chef! One problem we did have was with some of our guests who booked to stay at the Governor Calvert House were bumped to the Maryland Inn. It’s not a huge deal since the Maryland Inn is right around the corner, but it was a little annoying. Overall, The Governor Calvert House was the perfect setting for my wedding, if you haven’t checked it out yet I really suggest that you do!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I feel that every single person that we worked with at the Historic Inns was 100% professional, and went above and beyond at every opportunity from the first time I contacted them. We had been looking at various venue options throughout the area, and also had a size issue that ruled out a lot of smaller venues in the area. Some of the things that drew us to the Calvert House were how unique and quaint the facility was, the location, and the price compared to other options in the vicinity. You really get a lot of value for your dollar there. Our wedding was at the Naval Academy, and we loved that our guests would be able to walk from the hotel to the wedding and then to the reception. Also, they were right downtown when the reception ended. It worked out so well!
We ended up taking the Calvert House to the very brink of their capacity for a sit-down dinner in the end, but they made it work. We had invited 300 people to the wedding, and the capacity for a sit-down was 200 in the ballroom with overflow to the atrium. However, Michelle was so great at showing us all of our options no matter what the number was. Leading up to the wedding we were going between doing a sit-down with assigned seating in one room and a cocktail style with open seating throughout the two rooms and outside. It was only when we got to our magic number a week before our wedding that we decided to do a sit-down. It was completely seamless to make the transition, and they made it work perfectly. They were able to accommodate every request that we made. It felt so great not to have to worry about anything. They made the bridal room that is off the atrium available for my bridesmaids and I to get ready on the day of the wedding including having our hairdressers there. We were able to have a lot of people in that room and had space to bring in some snacks for the bridesmaids and my family, which made it very fun and cozy. There were couches and a TV that kept the little ones occupied and happy!
The food was absolutely incredible! The chef was awesome too. The hardest part of the food tasting was deciding what to choose. Since we could not try the pork entree, we asked if we could at least sample the glaze and they were glad to do that. The glaze sold us on the pork entree. We wanted to eat whatever it was put on! One of our other entrees was the crab cakes, which our guests are still raving about.
The hotel rooms were very nice, and the staff was great. It was so neat that some of the hotel rooms overlooked the atrium, where all of the dancing was going on. One of the highlights for many was my dad playing the air guitar from the window of my parents' hotel room during the reception.
I honestly do not have any complaints except that I was sick and could hardly eat any of the delicious food! All in all, it was such an amazing setting for a reception. I felt so unbelievably taken care of by the spectacular people there, and I recommend the Historic Inns to anyone. They are incredible!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ragsy
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
The Maryland Inn Duke of Gloucester room was the site for our wedding. Michelle Vellon was a pleasure to deal with and the chef and catering staff delivered an event that all of our friends and family have been raving about ever since. It truly exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis for your wedding. We booked a block of rooms and most of our friends and family traveled in for the big event and the rooms were comfortable, quiet despite being located in the middle of Annapolis and there were no complaints!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eastcoastbride
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Great prices, great service. This reception venue is wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1207084981586-hollijason002
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Governor Calvert House was a fantastic wedding location. It's beautiful with a historic feel and an area that allows flexibility for the layout and flow for the entire day. They were extremely helpful in suggesting vendors and working with everyone. The supplied all the table, orders the upgraded chairs we wanted and even offered two linen choices if you wanted to use them. The team at the Gov. Calvert House was amazing. The inn was full due to a Navy game but they helped us find rooms for all of our out of town guest. And the event was catered by The Treaty of Paris restaurant which was phenomenal and the their were plenty of options for the cocktail hour and dinners. They also provide champagne for toast and a chocolate covered strawberry with every piece of cake. I would recommend the Governor Calvert House without any hesitation, we loved it and all our guest loved it too. Michelle the wedding coordinator was a huge help during the planning process and on the big day. I have a very detail oriented bride and she was always available and on top of everything. If i had it all to do again, i won't look anywhere else. This location is perfect and that id what you want on your special day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
1/12/2008
5.0/5.0
We really enjoyed the quaintness of our reception at the Governor Calvert House. It was large enough to hold 165 guests comfortably. Our coordinator was also readily available to ask questions to, set up food tasting and even meet our servers and chef. We had a wonderful reception with foods that were specific to our requests, plenty of servers to keep our food on time and a extremely tasty menu. Our guests raved about the site and food!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
8/28/2004
5.0/5.0
Great venue for both ceremony and reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
12/28/2013
4.9/5.0
Michelle and Renee made my life so much easier. They left decisions up to me but otherwise they handled everything without questioning me 24/7. I got to focus on the more important details.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1295214693260-danandi
Lisa
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.9/5.0
Me, my husband, family, and friends we very pleased with the service, food, and everything about the Governor Calvert House! They set everything up how I had envisioned for our wedding and was very flexible when I kept changing my mind! Michelle the event coordinator responded to all my emails very promptly!!! This venue was the top of our budget but was worth every penny. Michelle was there to set everything up the day of our wedding and there during to make sure everything went as planned. I have only wonderful memories about this night :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison & Doug
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband and I got married at the Governor Calvert House on September 10th 2011 and had a wonderful wedding! The venue is beautiful and has so much character! The set up really lends to a smooth and flowing wedding. The food was very good and the bar service was prompt. The staff was seamless in their transition between the different parts of our event, and did not mess up on any details they were responsible for. Some staff of the Gov. Calvert House even went to pick up my cake that had been dropped off at the wrong location close by, by my baker! The one thing I can say that is not so great, one (out of 2) bartender would not serve alcohol with out an ID to one of the members of our bridal party. She was the only guest out of 134 people who encountered this. She was obviously bridal party and obviously of age (she is in her mid-twenties and looks it.) She was obviously upset and had to go to her room to retrieve her ID. It was ridiculous and inconvenient for her. I am all for not serving to those under age, but this was a hassle. I would recommend to tell all your guests and bridal party to have their ID and have it handy. Besides that it was great. Michelle Vellon the wedding coordinator was truly wonderful to work with. She was so prompt in responding to every email. She took the time to answer all my questions, no matter how repetitive. She really helped this whole thing go smoothly. Thanks again to the venue and to Michelle! I would recommend to others.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annapolis Bride
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.9/5.0
Having a wedding at the Calvert house was very easy! Michelle, the events coordinator, is extremely responsive and easy to work with. The space can be set up in all sorts of ways, so you can design your event yourself, but have all of the catering, chairs, etc. taken care of and not need to coordinate with lots of people. On the day of, the space looked gorgeous and the service was great. We were very happy with this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
6/6/2014
4.8/5.0
Historic Inns was the perfect place for my vintage themed wedding! Michelle was amazing! She was very responsive. She replied to all my emails promptly and never seemed annoyed or gave the impression I was bothering her. She was very professional and great to work with. She handled all my requests. There wasn't anything she said no to. Historic Inns was very flexible and worked great with all our vendors. Michelle was also great at handling my last minute requests. The venue was perfect! It was beautiful and spacious! The flow was great between ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner. Parking can be a little tough for your guests but if you plan ahead this isn't to much of an issue since there are several parking garages and a local shuttle. I recommend Historic Inns for your big day or any other event!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.8/5.0
After searching all over Annapolis for the perfect reception site, we finally found the one that had everything we imagined and more! The atrium was the perfect place for dancing and we loved how there were areas for our guests to go outside in the courtyard and the dining room was separate which was a bonus. Michelle was by far the best and most professional out of all the wedding coordinators we met with. She always had a smile on her face and ensured that everything was perfect for the day of our wedding. They have the best location and the historic charm of Annapolis can't be beat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LMZolk
Wedding:
12/11/2010
4.8/5.0
Michelle is amazing! Everything went very smoothly, the food was wonderful (our guests are still talking about it) and the food and bar service was impecable. The bartenders were very professional and efficient with getting the drinks out fast so the guests didn't have to wait. Michelle ran things like a true professional and kept me calm throughout all of the planning. She was open to different suggestions and ideas and helped us create an amazing day.

The only tiny issue was with our block of rooms, the guests all wanted to stay in the Calvert House, but all of the rooms in the Calvert House weren't available in our block so some stayed at the affiliated hotels a couple of blocks away. But it was no big deal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/12/2007
4.8/5.0
Doris, my contact for the reception venue at The Maryland Inn, was a delight both professionally and personally. She made the evening a success; but even more importantly dealt with a long-distance nervous bride with grace and reassurance. She made it all very very easy. The food service and staff at the Inn was also excellent. Who doesnt like crab cakes at their reception???? :)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/1/2013
4.7/5.0
It will be hard to keep this review short -- the Historic Inns of Annapolis was absolutely everything I had dreamed of for my wedding. Michelle -- the coordinator with the Historic Inns -- was absolutely fantastic to work with. Throughout the entire wedding process, she answered every single stupid question that I had, and was helpful to make recommendations and accommodation. Once we got down to Annapolis the weekend of the wedding, she was on top of absolutely everything -- even with having another wedding the handle the day before. She helped coordinate all the decorations I had brought, and even re-alphabetized my seating cards when we realized there was a problem with what we had originally planned. She walked us through every part of rehearsal and helped us come up with solutions to getting my unique party down the aisle. By the time the "day-of" came, Michelle had a handle on absolutely everything that was going on, and even spent some of her time putting rose petals up and down the aisle for us. I don't think there is any way to thank her for all of the things that she did for us, and I cannot imagine having planned this wedding without her. Historic Inns of Annapolis truly know what they are doing. Also - I just want to quickly mention that absolutely every single one of our guests were enthralled with the wedding venue and the quaint beauty of the Governor Calvert House. Most had never seen a venue like that before and everybody complimented us on it -- as well as the food! Nobody likes bad wedding food, but the Historic Inns provided the exact opposite -- so wonderful. If there is anything that I felt even a hair of doubt about, it was that we did feel as if we were completely rushed out as soon as the 11:00 PM bell hit. However, with that being said, I do understand the need to get people out, we could have definitely hung around all night. Michelle did a great job of helping getting us everything that we had left - just A++!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noel
Wedding:
7/26/2013
4.7/5.0
Our wedding reception was beautiful at the Governor Calvert House. The food was incredible and our guests have been complimenting it since the wedding!
The only downside is that we bought the open bar package, but they will not pour shots because of their liquor license...so be warned.
With all the taxes, it ended up being about $150-$160 a head, which was a little up there, but again, the food was great and the service was as well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.7/5.0
For a whole year before the wedding Michelle made us feel as though the wedding was next weekend and we were the only ones on her schedule. She was the most responsive and flexible vendor we dealt with. Michelle and the chef helped us (and by us I mean my husband and two sets of parents!!) adjust the menu to exactly what we wanted. The kitchen made some some special spaghetti and chicken tenders for my nephews and niece just moments after making the request. Michelle even arranged a "to go" plate for my friends who had to go to the hospital that day and stopped by in their street clothes to congratulate us. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you, Michelle!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JuneBride2011
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.7/5.0
I could not be more thrilled with the exceptional attention and service provided by Michelle and her team with the Historic Inns of Annapolis for my wedding reception on June 11, 2011 at the Governor Calvert House.

They were more than willing to accommodate my budget and were always a pleasure to do business with, whether in person, over the phone or through emails. Michelle is a very capable wedding coordinator and would answer any questions I had about any aspect of the event. Every detail of my reception was noted and perfectly executed. There was absolutely nothing I had to worry about with Michelle in charge.

I am so happy that they were willing to provide the most beautiful venue and exceptional service for my afternoon heavy hors d'oeuvres reception. The space was so beautifully decorated as it was that any decoration on my part would have been completely unnecessary. The food was all delicious and fresh, and the servers were all wonderful. My husband and I even had a gorgeous complimentary Honeymoon Suite included in our package.

I highly recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis to anyone who needs a beautiful, classic yet unique venue. I only gave a rating of 3.5 stars for Value because of their unfortunate lack of convenient parking, however, they do offer a valet service.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.7/5.0
The Historic Inns of Annapolis was the perfect spot for our wedding day! Specifically, our reception was in the Governor Calvert House. It is a beautiful place with a unique set providing a sense of charm that our guests truly loved! They thought the Atrium was amazing. More than the outward appearance of the Governor Calvert House and reception space, we are thoroughly pleased with our on site coordinator, Michelle Vellon. From our initial meeting, to signing the contract, and planning all the last minute details before and during the wedding day, she was a pleasure to work with and very helpful to us! She answered all of our questions promptly and explained every last detail well. We had no worries! Plus, the food is incredible! The chef worked with the menu to provide choices that fit our tastes. After the menu tasting, we had a tough final decision to narrow down the choices! Our guests raved about the food. The bartenders were excellent. I cannot recall anyone waiting for drinks and Marty always had my drink ready to go. We highly recommend the Historic Inns for a reception venue!

All our guests loved staying at the hotels. Everyone was very accommodating and it is much appreciated as my husband’s family stayed for 7 nights! In fact, many of our other guests stayed for several nights. (we did too). The valets and front desk staff were truly remarkable.

On the other hand, working with them for planning our hotel block was a bit frustrating at times. We were given conflicting information regarding the ease of adding rooms to the block. Of course we wanted as many as possible in the Governor Calvert House. The first time we tried to add rooms, they gave us more rooms in the other hotels instead. We had to constantly ask that our guests be put in the hotel with the reception. At times, our guests were told there were no rooms left in our block when we did have availability. Another time we added rooms to the block, we were told the rates may increase. Just be sure to ask questions and gather information. Their General Manager was very helpful to clarify things for us when necessary. We are happy he was able to help and in the end, things worked out in our favor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/22/2014
4.6/5.0
I loved having my reception at the duke of Gloucester within the Maryland Inn. We had an intimate wedding of 40 people, and the place was perfect. The only complaint was the slightly small dance floor. Most everyone stayed at the hotels in this group of three hotels. I was slightly upset mr he coordinator, Michelle, never offered to meet with me to say hello. I know she is busy and I was busy, but to call and check in after someone spends a lot of money with your business is thoughtful. Otherwise, GREAT experience!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1363648390899-fbavatar3140949
Beth
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.6/5.0
Wonderful, wonderful place to have a wedding. Michelle V is incredibly responsive and helpful. We felt very comfortable knowing that she would take care of everything. All of our "personal touches" like photo table numbers, wedding favors and guest noes/cards were displayed exactly as we wanted and we didn't have to worry about a thing. The evening went like clockwork and everyone had a great. Not cheap but worth every penny!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Excellent place for a wedding and reception! We had a great experience working with Michelle Vellon, the event coordinator there. She clearly enjoys her job and she's very good at it. She was very responsive to every single email and phone call. We were able to plan everything the way we wanted it and she offered great suggestions when we asked for them. We were able to drop off all of our decorations the day before the wedding and go through everything with Michelle so she knew how we wanted everything to be set up. My uncle raved about how smoothly the event unfolded and how attentive the staff was. Having worked in the catering/event planning industry before, he can be very critical of these events so receiving his praise says a lot! My only complaint was about one hiccup in the food service. We chose to have food stations and at one point they ran out of crab cakes. I was LIVID and approached a staff member telling her that I wanted a crab cake. She said there was another batch coming out in 2 minutes. They did come out in less than 2 minutes, but I was still disappointed in this interruption in service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
10/30/2010
4.6/5.0
This review will take two parts - the catering/reception bit, and the hotel rooms.

Michelle Vellon and the catering and banquet planning team were AMAZING. I can't have enough positive things to say about Michelle. She was easy to work with, incredibly flexible, accommodating of all our strange requests. The food was delicious, the service was excellent, the bartenders were quick and every ran incredibly smoothly. Not to mention the space (we were at Gov. Calvert House) is downright gorgeous.

Sadly, Historic Inns can't get a 5 star review out of me because the rooms - and more importantly - the front desk were absolutely atrocious. When securing a block of rooms, they wanted me to financially guarantee the rooms (90% of total if not filled) AND release the block a month before the wedding. I booked a block 6 months in advance to be told there were only 15 rooms left. On the weekend of, guests were checking in well after check-in time to find that their rooms weren't ready. Valets took 45 minutes to get cars around. ALL OF THE CLOCKS in the hotel reset on Saturday night so everyone was an hour behind on Sunday morning (they programmed daylight savings incorrectly). More than that, the front desk staff was generally unhelpful and occasionally just rude.

So, 6 stars (on a scale of 5) for the banquet people, but 2 for the rooms and front desk. I'd definitely recommend hosting an event here, without hesitation, but it's worth the hassle to suggest that guests stay elsewhere.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annapolis30
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.6/5.0
Michelle was amazing to work with. She answered all of our questions quickly and ran the day of the wedding without a single problem. I will note that the one time I spoke to the general manager Joe about a concern (the new mural that was put up without telling any of the brides) he was completely unresponsive and dismissive.

However, over all the experience was fantastic, and I credit most of that to the high level of service provided by Michelle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marymac
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.6/5.0
The maryland Inn was the perfect place for our wedding---it provided the charm, ambiance and serenity we were looking for. Our guests enjoyed it as much as we did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lana
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.6/5.0
We had our wedding at the Governor Calvert House and could not have been any happier. It was a beautiful historic inn, and didn't feel like a hotel ballroom at all. The food was absolutely amazing and so many of our guests commented that it was the best wedding food they had ever had. The venue was great to work with and the location was beautiful. There is a great back patio and a beautiful exposed brick wall in the atrium. I looked at so many venues in Annapolis, and this is the only one that was perfect for my 150 guests. I would highly recommend this location!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
5/30/2014
4.5/5.0
Michelle and the staff were incredible! They made our day even more special with all their help. Amazing venue and team!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
We had a fabulous wedding at the Calvert House! Michelle, our coordinator, really listened to us and brought our unique vision for the event to life. Our guests had a wonderful time and raved about the event. The only hiccups in our experience were a couple of delayed responses and mix-ups during the process, though everything was ultimately resolved to our satisfaction. Also, some of our guests were frustrated that the hotel valet could only be used by hotel guests. Overall, we would absolutely recommend the Calvert House to other couples.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aislinn
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.5/5.0
Michelle from the hotel is awesome! She try's to work with you, to make it feel like it is truly your day! The space is so unique and with a bit of creativity you can really make the room feel like your own! Most people seem to love the food (I never got to eat) ...
The hotel charges your 22% on everything and 13% tax of the hotel rooms (our guest were not happy)... I did not have a problem with the front desk but that was the only complaints from my guests.
Everything seem to run smoothly and the pictures are turning out awesome. The extra space outdoors on the patio REALLY helps!
And you probably will need or want to rent chairs...
Best overall the night/day of my wedding was the best WEEKEND of my life, having it in Annapolis was the best decision I made! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mfm30
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.0/5.0
We had both our ceremony and reception here. They did a nice job with the set up of everything. The space in the atirum is beautiful. The patio area in the back is somewhat narrow and long - so not a large square or retangular space - but it's covered with magnolia tree branches, so it's quite beautiful.

Parking here is a bit of a pain. They have limited space for valet, so you're going to have to have the guests who aren't staying at the Inns park their cars at a local garage. NOTE: this garage is for government works only on the weekdays - so don't expect people to be able to park there if they arrive for your wedding on Friday. Annapolis Trolley is great for a fun and interesting way to shuttle everyone back and forth.

They lost points for professionalism because *during* our ceremony, the wait staff was opening and closing the door that was right by where we were standing. They were actually *walking into the room* and looking around and then walking back out. This happened about twice, but that's already two times too many.

When calculating cost - watch out for the extras for chair covers & napkins in your colors. And don't ignore the 8% tax and the 22% gratuity.

Extra points for Michelle, their wedding coordinator. She was very helpful through the process and answered all of our questions quickly. She recommended some great vendors (do NOT go with Facades draping...you'll have more of a hassel than it's worth) She even dealt with a very last-minute breakfast delivery change the night before the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carey
Wedding:
12/19/2009
4.0/5.0
The Calvert house was stunning during the blizzard in December---which is when my husband and I were married. The staff were wonderful, there weren't lines at the bars (and there were definitely people drinking.....) the food was delicious, and the setting is unmatchable. The planning process was difficult in the beginning. We blocked off rooms, but the woman that was in charge of it was completely incompetent. I believe during our planning process she was fired, and someone a lot better took over. It was smooth sailing after that. The Calvert House is the perfect place for an Annapolis wedding, and is the perfect size as well! Guests will love staying in the hotel, and the Bride and Groom will remember their wedding forever.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MissSarahE
Wedding:
4/18/2009
3.9/5.0
I had my wedding reception at the Governor Calvert House. Michelle is great to work with here. The food was fantastic! We had a summer spinach salad with strawberries, followed with a choice of beef filets or crab stuffed rockfish. We had chocolate covered strawberries served with our cake (from Fiona's). The food was seriously the best wedding food I've ever had. It didn't taste like "banquet" food at all. The Historic Inns of Annapolis owns the Governor Calvert House. They redid part of the space a few years ago. The bathrooms need to be updated, and it would be nice if the main dining area looked a little nicer (low ceiling, blank walls). We brought in a lighting company to pin spot the flower arrangements, which made a world of difference. We also paid to have the kitchen entrance draped to make that area look nicer.

When choosing this space, I looked at the USNA Officers Club, the Annapolis Westin, Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, and Maryland Inn. The Governor Calvert House gave me the best of what I wanted: a historic location, accommodations for approximately 150 attendees, great food, and a nice ambiance.

While some improvements would be nice, this is a great location for a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nutmeg41
Wedding:
7/19/2008
2.5/5.0
I was dealing with Doris for the first couple months, but then one day I called and she never called back. So I kept calling and found out that "she no longer works here." So from then on I dealt with the Director of Catering. She was very helpful but one big complaint I had was that I had ordered one vegetarian meal and was promised grilled veggies in puff pastry. What my guest got was cold plain spaghetti. Needless to say she was disappointed and asked what happened and the wait staff just said that was all they had. Also, the kitchen ran out of salmon even though I had given them exact numbers as to how much we would need. When the night was over at 11pm they immediately turned on all the lights and told everyone to leave. Almost everyone was staying at the hotel so most were just mingling but I thought the staff was rather brusque about the way they did it. There were also some problems with reserving the rooms at a special rate for our guests. We were promised 15 rooms but when our guests called to reserve them they were told that we only had 10 rooms so the grooms grandparents had to stay at another hotel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.8/5.0
From the first day I looked at the Governor Calvert House they fixed up a lot but I struggled through most of the wedding planning process. If you want to do easy wedding planning then don't go here BUT it is a very different look and feel so you can make it work. Just note that you have to stay ontop of every little detail to make it work.

I hired Weddings of Romance to coordinate my day. They have worked at this location before and know how to deal with them. If you are looking to hold your wedding here to save yourself I would also hire Weddings of Romance (www.WeddingsofRomance.com). I hope this information helps you.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trish42781
Wedding:
5/30/2009
1.6/5.0
The Historic Inns of Annapolis owns 3 hotels in Annapolis, The Governor Calvert House, The Robert Johnson House, and The Maryland Inn. Back in January we made reservations for a suite in The Governor Calvert House. We were notified a short while later that they messed up our reservation and double booked. We were given the option of a two story townhouse which was part of The Robert Johnson House. We ended up liking this better, so we were fine with the switch. I went to look at it and it was very spacious, with two full baths and a downstairs for getting ready, and the bedroom upstairs. Since Hair and Makeup were coming to us space was definitely needed.

Friday evening (around 7 or 8) after the rehearsal dinner my husband and I went to check in. I was spending Friday night with my sisters and figured it would just be easier to check in now, and then my sisters and I could bring our stuff from the Doubletree over later. I was told that our reservations had been canceled and the place had been given to someone else. They stated that it was canceled that afternoon and the woman that canceled it was on a plane and couldn't be reached. The only note in their computer system was change of plans.

I find it hard to believe that someone just happened to need a two story townhouse and asked about it the day that it was randomly canceled. I still don?t know what happened, but either way, they messed up and they informed us that legally they couldn't kick out the individuals staying there. I fought, cried and asked them to talk to the individuals in the room. They said they did, and they wouldn't leave. They gave us a room at The Maryland Inn, a nice suite, about 1/3 of the size and they gave it to us for free. Yes it was nice to save the money, but I had to call all my vendors (hair/makeup, florist, photographer and limo) all after 8 at this point and give them a new address. Plus I had less space for my girls and I to get ready. It still pisses me off when I think about it.
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Historic Inns of Annapolis
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1347375359138-goughbeegle