130x130_sq_1391430946335-061513-procopio-photography-ryan-wedding-10

Historic London Town and Gardens

Edgewater , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

839 Londontown Road
Edgewater, MD US 21037 (map)

PHONE

410-222-1919

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Magnificent Waterfront Venue

Set on a picturesque bluff overlooking the South River just minutes from Annapolis and The Naval Academy, Historic London Town and Gardens is fast... Read more
Magnificent Waterfront Venue

Set on a picturesque bluff overlooking the South River just minutes from Annapolis and The Naval Academy, Historic London Town and Gardens is fast becoming the premier Annapoplis waterfront venue for weddings and receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal luncheons and showers. The beautiful gardens, the historic charm and the location make this the perfect venue for your reception and ceremony. You are the only wedding here that day, so you and your guests can experience the peace and beauty that is London Town and make this your day to remember.

We offer year round rental options. The Glass Pavilion, covered decks and 40x40 white organdy draped tent from April to November offer vistas of the South River, with tables and chairs for seating up to 160 for dinner and dancing. In winter months, the Glass Pavilion alone can host 85 seated with up to 125 for standing cocktail receptions.

The Riverfront Deck, Ornamental perennial and Woodland gardens and paths, surrounding patios and lawns offer outdoor sites for ceremonies and receptions up to 160 with room for additional tenting to accommodate 185.

Arrive and depart by boat at our 185 ft pier. Ample on site parking for 90 cars with shuttle service to and from local hotels easily arranged for the convenience of your out of town guests. A one hour rehearsal time is included. Caterers on our approved Best of the Best list offer menus, styles and price points to accommodate all tastes.

Photographic opportunities abound, and while you are taking your pictures we can offer your guests a guided tour of the National Historic Landmark William Brown House built in1760.

Call Jean Clare Shea for appointments and more detailed information at 410-222-1919 x 203 or jeanshea@historiclondontown.org Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1319907424035-img8896
130x130_sq_1352315159295-363meganbethrentzlondontownwedding5681
130x130_sq_1352316492677-dscn0789
130x130_sq_1319907140520-p1090683
130x130_sq_1319907184535-hickoklondontown008
130x130_sq_1319907324223-jmcmenaminphotographylondontown028
130x130_sq_1319907399926-img0039
130x130_sq_1319907495441-hickok0564
130x130_sq_1319907538301-hickok0448
130x130_sq_1319907737176-p1080004
130x130_sq_1319907885207-dsc3730
130x130_sq_1319907914504-dsc3345
130x130_sq_1319907948941-dsc4199
130x130_sq_1352315013982-259meganbethrentzlondontownwedding1509
130x130_sq_1352315097469-608meganbethrentzlondontownwedding4751
130x130_sq_1352315227132-224meganbethrentzlondontownwedding56092
130x130_sq_1352315920317-hickok0903110208
130x130_sq_1352316345768-img9869
130x130_sq_1383246516382-turner-
130x130_sq_1383246532109-turner-
130x130_sq_1383246545961-turner-
130x130_sq_1383246559563-turner-1
130x130_sq_1383246570094-turner-1
130x130_sq_1383246581964-turner-1
130x130_sq_1383246501823-turner-
130x130_sq_1383248255871-p109075
130x130_sq_1383247133650-katiejim004
130x130_sq_1383247177239-katiejim025
130x130_sq_1383247141973-katiejim014
130x130_sq_1383248115610-p109073
130x130_sq_1383248944831-p109065
130x130_sq_1383247150920-katiejim015
130x130_sq_1383247163096-katiejim016
130x130_sq_1383247192589-katiejim051
130x130_sq_1383247892936-p109076
130x130_sq_1383247972030-p109072
130x130_sq_1383248000713-p109072
130x130_sq_1383248057545-p109073
130x130_sq_1383248197698-p109074
130x130_sq_1383248270080-p109075
130x130_sq_1383248816167-p109060
130x130_sq_1383248929993-p109060
130x130_sq_1383248958836-p109065
130x130_sq_1383248972571-p109069
130x130_sq_1383248987184-p109071

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1683
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
185
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1750
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
5/11/2014
5.0/5.0
We held our reception at London Town and Gardens. When we went to visit the site the year before we knew right away it was perfect. The gorgeous gardens, the view of the water, the beautiful tent, the pavilion for dancing (and excellent rain plan if needed). Reserve your date early because options were getting limited even a year out. Our wedding day turned out to have perfect weather and the cocktail hour was held in the gardens. It was so gorgeous and I couldn't have asked for a more fun wedding. We had 120 guests and the venue was a great size. Jean Clare Shea, the director of sales was very professional and offered many helpful hints to make everything run smoothly. We opted to rent shuttles to get any guests that didn't want to drive to and from the hotel and we were happy with that decision. Overall, London Town is a wonderful venue for a wedding reception!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue. Helpful and wonderful staff. I can't imagine a better wedding reception venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I visited quite a few venues in and around Annapolis for our wedding last September, and Historic London Town and Gardens was definitely the best "bang for our buck". Once we visited the location we fell in love with the location - you get a fabulous view, an indoor pavilion, draped tent w/ chandelier, ceremony and reception chairs and tables and the dock. When you start budgeting out tents, etc. things get expensive fast, so it was nice to know we were covered at London Town if it rained. The pavilion was great, it was super hot on our wedding day and dancing in the air conditioned pavilion helped keep everyone nice and cool. They also allowed us to leave cars there overnight which was nice.

Leading up to our wedding we worked with Adriana and she was wonderful! She made sure that they had everything the way we wanted it on our big day. She was great for recommendations when I wasn't sure if something was going to work and quick to come up with a solution. She also got along and worked well with my day of coordinator on our wedding day.

The actual day went great! We couldn't have asked for a better space. The gardens and dock made great backdrops for our photos and all of our guests loved the property. The only thing I could complain about was the noise ordinance - you have to shut music off by 10pm so you can't really extend your reception at this venue past then. I will say this is a problem at most outdoor locations around Annapolis. We opted to start our wedding a half hour earlier to allow for the full 5 hour cocktail hour and reception.

I would definitely recommend Historic London Town and Gardens for your wedding. You'll have a great staff, fabulous scenery and a place to keep you dry and cool in case of crazy weather.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I remember in the early stages of wedding planning coming across a wedding photography blog that featured a wedding recently held at London Town. As soon as I saw the pictures I thought- that is where I want to have my wedding! London Town offers every kind of setting a bride would want- you have the gardens, the water, historic charm, and a modern indoor pavilion. Jean and Adriana were an incredible team to work with- they kept me organized, were very responsive to email, and were flexible with me as I had to plan the wedding across the country from Seattle.

The day of my wedding there was a 40% chance of rain. While I'm assuming most venues would just tell me "sorry, you have to move the ceremony inside," Adriana allowed me to risk the chance of rain and have my ceremony outside. Even when it started to rain 5 minutes before the wedding was meant to start, they let us wait it out and we were able to do everything as planned- one of the truly awesome things about this venue and team.

The day of the wedding went so smoothly and the venue was beautiful- I cannot imagine having my wedding anywhere else.

Thank you London Town!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue right on the water with great gardens. Lots of areas for photos. Saved lots of money by getting a one-day liquor license and bringing my own beer/wine. Jean, the director of sales, was wonderful- she had lots of suggestions on trusted caterers and other vendors. She simply managed to make things happen- for instance, she called ~5 days before suggesting that we get heaters and she simply took care of it and the cost came out of our security deposit (with our approval, of course). Thank you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Choosing Historic London Town and Gardens as my wedding reception venue was the best decision I made while planning my wedding. Everything about this venue and its staff made my wedding day like a dream.
My wedding reception hosted 160 people with the cocktail hour in the garden with beautiful weather and scenery overlooking the river. We fit 160 people under the tent provided by London town for a seated dinner with dancing and cake in the pavilion. The day flowed so effortlessly and it was enjoyable for everyone. If there were any snags or problems that day, the wedding party and guests would never have known! Multiple people still tell me (6 months later!) that it was the most elegant, beautiful and enjoyable wedding they had ever attended. So much of that success has to be attributed to London Town and it's staff. This venue is incredibly gorgeous if you are looking for a garden venue by the water.
Jean Shea, the Director of Sales, at London Town is a major reason why this is such a great wedding venue. Her experience in the industry makes her such an asset during the wedding planning process. Jean's knowledge of how to organize the exact itinerary, layout, and equipment required will help any bride plan the perfect event. I called on her on a regular basis during my planning to ask her advice and recommendations. She was so patient with my family and I as we changed our minds constantly and navigated the waters of wedding planning.
I cannot say enough wonderful statements about Historic London Town and Gardens. I could gush over it for days!! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Historic London Town and Gardens responded with the following comments:

Katie dear, you were one of my favorites! Thank you for the kind words. Please keep in touch.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julieta
Wedding:
4/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Perfect place for a ceremony
Wonderful views
Great attention
Lots of details
It was gorgeous
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1365711777695-my-look-2
Susan
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
This was a great venue for a 50-100 person waterfront wedding. The gardens were beautiful even for my early spring (March 30th) wedding. We were blessed by a bald eagle that watched the entire ceremony through the windows of the Pavilion!
The event manager, Jean Shea, is very helpful and is knowledgeable about the best way to set things up. She went above and beyond by following up with my vendors before the wedding to make sure they knew what was expected.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura & Patrick
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
London Town is an absolutely amazing place! We first visited in December after looking at a handful of other venues around Northern VA/DC/MD, and immediately fell in love. It is so beautiful in the gardens looking over the South River. We knew if we loved it in December, July would be even more beautiful with everything blooming. Working with Jean and her staff was a very pleasant experience, she was always there to respond to our every need and question. We had a bit of a destination wedding since we live in Northern, Va, so each trip over to Annapolis we checked off as many things as possible. Day off, of course to every brides concern, it rained...all day. We had not really thought much about a rain plan since our love of the venue was on it's beautiful outside. Without a hitch, Jean's staff arranged everything inside and it was spectacular. The rain and lighting made the evening romantic for all of our guests and perfect for us. We would recommend London Town!!! Thank you, Jean!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richetta
Wedding:
7/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I will never regret having my wedding at London Town. Having it on a Friday definitely made it more affordable for us as we were looking for a waterfront ceremony/reception site. Jean Clare Shea is one of the reasons why this venue is so fantastic. In just over the year I was planning my wedding she made lots of improvements like having the interior of the building repainted and adding additional items that could be used and/or rented on site. This location was just beautiful. On a hot July day, there was just something refreshing about being in a garden saying my vows and then getting to look out over the water during the reception and feel like the temperature went down just a little bit. This venue was just right for the unique style I was after for my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherry
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't tell you how many compliments we had from our guests on how beautiful Londontown was for our wedding venue. We had 125 guests so used the tent for dinner and the indoor room for dancing. It worked out perfect and there was plenty of space for everyone. We had a last minute call on having the cocktail hour inside due to weather and it worked our perfect. The grounds are so beautiful and there are so many unique spots to take wonderful pictures. We even had flowers in March since it had been such a mild winter. The tent was just beautiful, and the indoor room had recent painting and renovations that look amazing. Jean is very responsive and knowledgeable to help with any questions you have as well as recommending vendors that fit best to the venue. We could not have been more happy with our choice of Londontown and highly recommend!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurendc
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
This place is off the beaten path and a total gem....we wanted something the opposite of your typical wedding factory and London Town was perfect. With views of the water and beautiful gardens, not to mention a plantation home....it gives you all kinds of opportunities. And then there is Jean.....she's wonderful to work with and really takes the time to make sure that your day is perfect and exactly the way that you want it to be.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1295277256944-dsc2556
Carol
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
London Town is AMAZING. It is absolutely beautiful. It is a great price for it being on the waater and it is also great that our money goes towards the organization's mission, rather than just some wedding company. Jean is awesome - super friendly, flexible and responsive through e-mail and helpful (my wedding was on a Sunday and she got us some lanterns from the Friday and Saturday wedding for free).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shauna
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We picked Londontown more than a year in advance for our wedding, and I think that is advisable depending on the time of year for the wedding (September seems to be the most popular). For an outdoor venue, I don't think there is a nicer spot for the ceremony and reception than Londontown. The deck looking over the river is great, and the grounds are always very well manicured. If you are aware of the smaller tent size here, then it shouldn't be a problem. Our wedding turned out to be about 75 people which worked fine, there was still space to spare under the tent, but it didn't look bare either.

Jean came on in late 2010 to organize events and sales and she is great. She is super responsive and flexible, within the parameters of the contract and reason of course.

The bottom line is, the venue is great, we got so many compliments on the setting. If you want an outdoor wedding, and are willing to chance it with the weather and some bugs, I can't think of a better place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Starfish33
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
London Town is a GORGEOUS place to get married. The wedding coordinator is terrific, and works so hard to make sure everything is perfect on your wedding day. She is the sweetest person. The gardens, tented area, and pavilion area are just stunning. I LOVED every second of my wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristennilly
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
This was SUCH a unique venue to have our wedding. While we chose to marry at a nearby church, it would have been the perfect setting for the ceremony also. It's so gorgeous that we took all of our photos there too, which makes it very easy on planning logistics, especially for large family photos...
With a guest list of 125, we chose to have cocktail hour outside, which ended up being changed to inside because of the rain. But it ended up being just as beautiful and it still had an outdoor feel. We ate dinner in the tent, and it stopped raining so we didn't have to use the sides to the tent, and guests spent just as much time inside as outside. Dancing was in the ballroom and the bar was on the deck in between the tent and ballroom, making a nice division of space to travel in during the night. There was a quiet refuge for the older folks, a bar for a breather, and a high intensity dance floor all night long. I loved this place. It was everything I could hope for, and never had a cookie-cutter wedding feel to it. It was such a unique place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry423
Wedding:
6/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Historic London Town & Gardens is an amazing wedding venue! At first we were worried that the layout would interrupt the flow of the wedding, but it seemed to have done the opposite. We had lots of compliments that moving from the ceremony site, to the tent, to the pavilion was a great flow. It seemed to have attracted more people to the dance floor, too. Our wedding was a huge dance party, which was what we wanted! There are tons of places to take pictures and different ceremony spots. We lucked out weather wise and had a beautiful day, but I do think if it rained it might have felt squished under just the tent and in the pavilion. It was great that people were able to walk around the grounds and be social. The gardens were beautiful!

Jean was easy to work with, responsive to emails, and flexible with all of my requests. I would suggest having a specific person in charge of the timeline or hiring a wedding coordinator, since this is a venue where you bring EVERYONE in. This responsibility seemed to fall on me at the last minute. It is definitely easier to pick an all-inclusive venue, but I am glad that I put the effort into London Town because I had an absolutely BEAUTIFUL wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Historic London Town and Gardens responded with the following comments:

Thank you Kerry, the weather could not have been more perfect. I am so glad it was beautiful for you, you deserve it. Best wishes to you both!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katie
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
The grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept. Jean was always replied promptly to my questions and was very helpful in general. Our wedding was absolutely prefect and HLT was a key component!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nomaderica22
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.9/5.0
Gorgeous venue! The only reason the value isn't 5 stars is because it snowed on our wedding day and we had to move the ceremony inside and it just wasn't the best/easiest set-up! We worked through it though and had an amazing time! They worked with our caterer to get what we wanted and even allowed our dog to be present which was a must for us! We did have to pay for an extra hour for the caterers to clean up afterwards and they also said there was room for 150 but the caterers said that it would be super tight with no room to walk around if we had the max capacity (Because of the snow and illness we were around 125 and it was perfect, plenty of room!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annap
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.9/5.0
London Town and Gardens is a dream wedding venue - absolutely gorgeous !! We first looked at LT in the winter time and it was breathtaking - and that was in the winter !! And, it is even more beautiful in the Spring/Summer. Everything about LT is amazing.

Be prepared to pay a seriously hefty price, but trust me - it is all worth it! It was the perfect, dream wedding venue !!

LT is not your typical wedding venue - as it does not specifically cater to weddings, it is in fact a historical site, and merely provides the means for a place to have your wedding ceremony and reception at one location. This is fantastic - you can have everything happen at one location and it's very convenient for you and your guests.

You are on your own in terms of a do-it-yourself wedding with the venue. The venue does not provide typical wedding services. It provides the site, a bridal room, gardens, tent, chairs, tables (although, we rented bigger tables). You have to bring in everything yourself. You must follow LT rules and their contract is very specific as to what you can and cannot do (ex. don't expect to play music after 10pm). We had to request several things to be changed on the contract. It adds some extra stress to the wedding planning process when you think about how much stuff you have to do on your own in regards to the venue and following their rules vs. a typical all-inclusive wedding venue. But, if you get an awesome caterer like Ken's Creative Kitchen (see my wedding wire review), then the stress immediately melts away and you are in good hands ! You don't have to worry about any of the stressful things to plan that go hand in hand with the venue. So it really helps to have someone there like Ken's Creative Kitchen that is experienced with the LT venue and knows what works.

Don't get me wrong though - LT is fantastic in terms of communication. Their staff is very helpful and very friendly. And, they do try to work with you for whatever requests you may have.

Unfortunately, on our wedding day, it rained all morning/day and finally cleared up by the time of the ceremony. No worries at all - LT has a backup for the rain. We held the ceremony in the pavilion and we couldn't have been more pleased and happy that we did - it was so intimate and great and turned out even better than having it outside, since it was so cozy and a lot cooler!! The pavilion is just as gorgeous as the outdoor garden ceremony site as well. You won't have to worry about the weather that day, as the pavilion is a great alternative.

Overall, Lt is definitely worth it (and I'm going to have to add one more time it is definitely even more worth it when you have an awesome caterer taking care of everything for you at the venue). It is an absolutely beautiful, breathtaking, well maintained venue. It has great charm and character and is worth every penny. If you have the budget, LT is worth the splurge!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adriana
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Jean Shea was extremely helpful and ensured our event was a success. She was great to work with.She gave great recommendations and advice. I have already recommended others to her venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.8/5.0
Jean and Ariana were really fantastic to work with- very pleasant and professional. There were times that I as the bride was very stressed (as most brides can be right?! :) ), and they took it all in stride and made suggestions as necessary but didn't force opinions on me and my husband at all. The venue itself is right on the water and has beautiful gardens and a wide open space that we set up yard games for the guests. It was perfect. I also loved the fact that it would accomodate any weather that the day would've brought. Thank you for an amazingly perfect day!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
London Town was the first venue we visited and ended up being our pick- after seeing how beautiful it was, other venues just didn't compare! The backdrop was beautiful for our ceremony with the water and boats in the background and all of the trees and flowers in bloom in August. We loved that we had flexibility in picking various vendors so that we could make the day the way we wanted it. We had 150 guests and kept everything outside. We used the tent provided by London Town for dancing and rented a second tent for dinner. Jean was wonderful in helping to coordinate other vendors and made sure everything ran smoothly on the day of. Expensive, yes, but it was worth every penny and I wouldn't change a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LauraTurlington
Wedding:
10/5/2012
4.8/5.0
I had a last minute wedding and they were able to accommodate me and give me a lower rate for a Friday! Gorgeous location. I only had my ceremony there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
London Town is a beautiful location for a wedding and we were really glad to be able to get married there. Thanks!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amypsu97
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.8/5.0
London Town is a beautiful venue with plenty of great places to have pictures taken. The staff is friendly and very easy to work with. The venue is an open slate and can be decorated to match your theme. It was very nice to have our dancing in the indoor pavilion and allow family to talk quietly in the outdoor tent. The pavilion would also make a great indoor ceremony option if it rains.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyBride
Wedding:
6/11/2010
4.8/5.0
Londontown and Gardens is a beautiful place! I was very pleased with this location for my wedding. I found the staff to be helpful and professional to work with. There is a small room you can use to change on the day of and the bathrooms are nice! A++
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mddcbride
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.6/5.0
Historic London Town was a phenomenal location for our wedding - we were able to have our ceremony in the gardens, dinner for 100 under the tent and dancing all night in the pavilion. Patsy, the events director, was incredibly helpful in answering all of my questions as we planned and was quick to respond - I would give her five stars in professionalism. However, the lady they have working evening events was awful. She was simply there to keep an eye on things as we had a day of coordinator (part of our package) but managed to be incredibly rude to several of my vendors and make demands. After speaking to some of my vendors it sounds like she's a regular fixture for evening events there - she shouldn't dissuade you from this great site but I wanted to warn others as I was totally unprepared.

We had an evening wedding allowing guests to see the grounds and us to get some photos before dark. By the time dusk hit we were sitting down to dinner - the tent had ample room for 100 guests and a large buffet and the built in lighting rimming the tent was more than enough to allow everyone to see easily while not being overbearing. The tent itself is draped in a chiffon like fabric, which really adds some elegance and kept a soft romantic feel. The indoor pavilion provided the dance floor and space for our dj to set up, again there was plenty of room for everyone. Our guests are still commenting on the beautiful venue and personally I couldn't have been happier with the space. The price can seem a bit steep at first but since we used it as both a ceremony and reception venue it seemed reasonable especially considering it included several of the items you would traditionally need to rent as well as contracting a day of coordinator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.3/5.0
London Town was a gorgeous setting for our June wedding. We worked with them over the course of a year and a half leading up to the wedding, so a lot changed on both their end and our end since our initial talks. In the end, it all worked out even better than we had initially hoped! Their new event manager, Adriana, was a pleasure to work with and was on-site to ensure everything went smoothly.

The property is truly special. I loved the expansive gardens and the flexibility the property provides. We opted for a cocktail-style reception (opposed to a seated dinner), which allowed us to use the garden and tent space for 95% of the wedding (we only really used the Pavilion for food stations and cake cutting). Cocktail hour was in the garden, dinner was spread through out the gardens, tent, and pavilion deck, and dancing was under the tent (thank goodness for perfect weather!). However, because we chose not to follow the standard set-up (a seated dinner under the tent, dancing in the pavilion) I think we lost a bit of the "value" London Town provides. London Town offers a long list of amenities with the venue fee (tables, chairs, dance floor in the pavilion etc); our layout meant that we had to incur a few extra expenses (dance floor, hightop tables & chairs, etc). To take advantage of the full value (i.e. get your money's worth), it would pay to do a seated dinner in the tent and dancing in the pavilion. However, for me, the flexibility was perfect and let us have exactly the wedding we envisioned.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jg
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.3/5.0
We had our reception at LT in September. The setting is breathtaking. We fell in love with the spot when we first saw it. The staff are very friendly. They actually quite flexible in term of the decoration. We hung small lanterns inside the tree. They start to spray the garden on the week of the wedding. That really made a big difference for the guests. The noise ordinance is a downside, but we still had a wonderful time there. If you are looking for a venue that can be personalize this is the place for it. Thank you Jean for being a part of our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.2/5.0
This venue was a do-it-yourself blank slate which is wonderful if you have a vision for what you are looking for. It was beautiful and Jean was amazing. She had so many great ideas and layouts for the venue. I wouldn't have changed a thing about our wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wondercat007
Wedding:
9/14/2008
4.2/5.0
We booked our venue pretty last minute and I was very familiar with it since it's close to m parents house. Unfortunately, our wedding day was beyond hot......about 95 hot and humid. We moved the cocktail hour inside bu the air conditioning barely worked- can't blame it due to the high heat!

My only complaint would be the bugs, but I know, I know- it is an outdoor venue. I still think they should provide some cotronella or other kind of insect repellant around the perimeters of the tent and indoor pavillion. They also claim that you can sit 150 in the tent which is NOT true! We only had 90 guests, a TINY dance floor and the band barely had any room to play. It was uncomfortable to dance because it was too small and some of the table were literally at the edge of the dance floor. I wish their estimates had been a little bit more accurate because we would have booked another venue.

They are also pretty expensive for what they offer and in comparison to other venues in the area. I would suggest bargaining them down which is what we did. They try to charge you extra for things that are mandatory (like the tent which is up permanently from April to November). try to get that included in the lower price. We also had the bargaining chip of booking at the last minute though!

The staff was very helpful and nice and it was never a problem to get an answer on anything that we needed. Patsy was very flexible with our needs and was a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kjh1026
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.1/5.0
London Town Gardens is absolutely beautiful and perfect for our ceremony and reception. The gardens are very well maintained, as are the Pavilion House and tent. We were pleased to learn that they recently got a new tent and it was fully lined, which made it look much nicer. We loved having everything in one place, to make it easier for our guests and give us a seamless transition between the ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner/dancing. We had 140 guests and it was definitely very full under the tent for dinner - London Town's capacity of 150 is definitely accurate (or even a little bit high).

We used the gardens for the ceremony (which was gorgeous, the deck for the ceremony is perfect and has a great view) and cocktail hour, had dinner under the tent and then all the guests moved into the Pavilion House for dancing. At first we were a little bit concerned that guests would have to move after dinner (especially the elderly guests), but it worked great and everyone spent the rest of the evening dancing or mingling around the deck areas and inside. We lucked out and had beautiful weather, so guests we able to be all over the venue, which was nice for those who didn't want to dance. We did set up some high top cocktail tables around the dance floor which helped with guests who didn't want to dance or wanted to set their drinks down. We also set some smaller round tables with chairs in the back room off the Pavilion room for seating for elderly guests during dancing and that worked great.

The only complaint I had was some miscommunications during the planning process. For the most part, the on-site coordinator was very responsive and always got back to me quickly. About a week before the wedding, we were told that our rehearsal the day before would have to start at 3:30pm, as it would have to end by 4pm or we would get locked in because the staff leaves at that time and locks the gates. Originally I had scheduled the rehearsal for 5:00pm, since our rehearsal dinner was to start at 6pm. I thought 3:30pm was a little bit ridiculous, as that would require all of our bridal party to take off work to make it by that time, as well as giving us a huge lapse of time in between the rehearsal and dinner. I'm not sure where the miscommunication came from, but after my dad spoke with Patsy, the coordinator, he was able to move the rehearsal time back to 4:30pm with the promise that we would be out by 5:00pm. It was a little bit stressful to deal with the week before the wedding!

All in all, it was a wonderful place to hold the wedding and we were so happy we picked it. I would highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrswatts
Wedding:
7/27/2008
3.4/5.0
Couldn't beat the views. Just be prepared if you're getting married in the middle of the summer for a steamy day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nqueen23
Wedding:
7/12/2008
3.3/5.0
Londontown was a beautiful venue for our ceremony and reception. The only complaint that I have is that if you want your reception fully inside, they can only accommodate 80 people. If you have more people, you can still have your reception there but you have to pay an extra $1500 to use their tent outside and they don't provide any lighting or fans for it. There are also a lot of mosquitos there since it's on the water. Also, warning, if you only reserve the place for 8 hours, they DO NOT let you come in early to set up. Also, make sure that you clean up EVERYTHING! If not, you will not get your deposit back. But everyone thought our ceremony and reception were beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
839 Londontown Road, Edgewater, MD 21037 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Historic London Town and Gardens
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1391430946335-061513-procopio-photography-ryan-wedding-10