130x130_sq_1363199215104-13631179653592012060219.41.14

Historic Oakland

Columbia , MD

LOCATION

5430 Vantage Point Road
Columbia, MD US 21045 (map)

PHONE

410-730-4801

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1342636920812-wedding411pic18
130x130_sq_1378389215835-approaching
130x130_sq_1352923852535-carriematt209
130x130_sq_1342637218820-wedding411pic12
130x130_sq_1379518503991-oaklandbridalroombw
130x130_sq_1378389223516-dusk
130x130_sq_1378389302786-oaklandthroughfalltrees
130x130_sq_1363118061704-2012103119.33.33
130x130_sq_1378389226626-pianoinfoyer
130x130_sq_1342637233232-wedding411pic15
130x130_sq_1378389220547-bridalroom2
130x130_sq_1342636836730-historicoakland6
130x130_sq_1342636927178-wedding411pic20
130x130_sq_1352923455308-carriematt064
130x130_sq_1379518423539-img0116
130x130_sq_1379518526062-ceremonyfrontsmall
130x130_sq_1342636781829-historicoakland1
130x130_sq_1352924065926-staciwilliam237
130x130_sq_1352923466545-carriematt248
130x130_sq_1363116611330-2012071318.39.34
130x130_sq_1352923470537-rossworm183
130x130_sq_1379518642129-06102012amanda-and-matt10301
130x130_sq_1363116972000-fb2
130x130_sq_1342636925360-wedding411pic19
130x130_sq_1379518495322-malcolmchrista6
130x130_sq_1342636805000-historicoakland2
130x130_sq_1379518472307-ad-04200pe-large
130x130_sq_1352923842132-0090
130x130_sq_1352923473588-rossworm387
130x130_sq_1363118052417-2012103117.22.13
130x130_sq_1352924025586-carriematt374
130x130_sq_1379518483157-amydavewedding-244-of-557
130x130_sq_1363118022318-2012060219.49.35
130x130_sq_1363117965359-2012060219.41.14
130x130_sq_1379518491227-malcolmchrista3
130x130_sq_1379518498792-malcolmchrista7
130x130_sq_1378388740450-img0156
130x130_sq_1378388667869-img0146
130x130_sq_1379518744252-theknotad6
130x130_sq_1379518459604-img0157
130x130_sq_1342637295603-img4852
130x130_sq_1352923475831-rossworm402
130x130_sq_1363116796252-2012071320.25.33
130x130_sq_1352923586796-staciwilliam479
130x130_sq_1363116907373-2012071323.56.40
130x130_sq_1379518840045-ceremonyfront

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1811
When was your venue last renovated?
2003
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
600
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

When was your venue built?
1811
When was your venue last renovated?
2003
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
600
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1378399674439-avatar
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We had looked at other mansion type locations in order to keep our wedding intimate. Oakland was the perfect place for it. The Bishop's Garden next to the house was the perfect location for a ceremony. Even though it seats about 80, our 160 guests surrounded it and were able to capture the wedding from different angles. The bathrooms are clean, well-lit and inviting. The staff courteous and professional. Nadia was amazing to work with and the price was affordable. The tent in the backyard was the perfect spot to hold our reception dinner and dancing while the inside of the house was used for our photo booth and cocktail hour. Our guests felt at home. If you are looking for a place that feels inviting, relaxed and a bit like home, I highly reccommend Historic Oakland. If we ever renew our vows- this place would be it!
We had looked at other mansion type locations in order to keep our wedding intimate. Oakland was the perfect place for it. Read more...
We had looked at other mansion type locations in order to keep our wedding intimate. Oakland was the perfect place for it. The Bishop's Garden next to the house was the perfect location for a ceremony. Even though it seats about 80, our 160 guests surrounded it and were able to capture the wedding from different angles. The bathrooms are clean, well-lit and inviting. The staff courteous and professional. Nadia was amazing to work with and the price was affordable. The tent in the backyard was the perfect spot to hold our reception dinner and dancing while the inside of the house was used for our photo booth and cocktail hour. Our guests felt at home. If you are looking for a place that feels inviting, relaxed and a bit like home, I highly reccommend Historic Oakland. If we ever renew our vows- this place would be it! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryll
Wedding:
4/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Nadia and her staff where very professional throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend the Manor. Nadia met all my needs even up until the end.
Nadia and her staff where very professional throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend the Manor. Nadia Read more...
Nadia and her staff where very professional throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend the Manor. Nadia met all my needs even up until the end. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
When selecting a wedding venue, make certain the venue representative truly understands the importance of creating a beautiful memory for the bride, groom and guests that will last forever. Nadia of Historic Oakland is that person. Oakland Manor is the perfect setting for your wedding day. The caterer, Rouge, delivers great food, drink and professional attention to every guest. Michael, the DJ with Entertainment With Class DJ's, had the dance floor packed all night. We will never forget how Historic Oakland made my daughter's wedding more than an event: it will be a day that will live in our heart's forever.
father of the bride
When selecting a wedding venue, make certain the venue representative truly understands the importance of creating a Read more...
When selecting a wedding venue, make certain the venue representative truly understands the importance of creating a beautiful memory for the bride, groom and guests that will last forever. Nadia of Historic Oakland is that person. Oakland Manor is the perfect setting for your wedding day. The caterer, Rouge, delivers great food, drink and professional attention to every guest. Michael, the DJ with Entertainment With Class DJ's, had the dance floor packed all night. We will never forget how Historic Oakland made my daughter's wedding more than an event: it will be a day that will live in our heart's forever.
father of the bride Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosie
Wedding:
1/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Historic Oakland is a beautiful romantic mansion. It's small and quaint and personal. The lighting in the ceremony room is a golden glow around dusk. STUNNING.
Historic Oakland is a beautiful romantic mansion. It's small and quaint and personal. The lighting in the ceremony room is Read more...
Historic Oakland is a beautiful romantic mansion. It's small and quaint and personal. The lighting in the ceremony room is a golden glow around dusk. STUNNING. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous place to get married in or to just have a reunion or other family get together.
Gorgeous place to get married in or to just have a reunion or other family get together.
Gorgeous place to get married in or to just have a reunion or other family get together. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1307219957627-1000464
Mrs.B-Baby!!
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony at Historic Oakland Mansion. This venue was so beautiful and the room we rented was so intimate. We rented one of the upstairs rooms , "The Sterrett Room". The staff at the venue was so helpful and accomodating. Our family was impressed with the venue as well. We took some pictures outside in the front and that provided for a great background. I would recommend others to use this venue, and can't wait to go to a wedding there and see the whole place.
We had our ceremony at Historic Oakland Mansion. This venue was so beautiful and the room we rented was so intimate. We Read more...
We had our ceremony at Historic Oakland Mansion. This venue was so beautiful and the room we rented was so intimate. We rented one of the upstairs rooms , "The Sterrett Room". The staff at the venue was so helpful and accomodating. Our family was impressed with the venue as well. We took some pictures outside in the front and that provided for a great background. I would recommend others to use this venue, and can't wait to go to a wedding there and see the whole place. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
I agree with all the other reviews. I visited several times and spoke with Ellen a myriad of times. She was always friendly and helpful. I had the ceremony in the yard in the back behind the tree, next to the tent, the cocktail hour on the Verandah and the reception in the banquet hall. I had my makeup and hair done and dressed in the bridal room. Everyone loved the place! Oh and it has plentiful free parking.
I agree with all the other reviews. I visited several times and spoke with Ellen a myriad of times. She was always Read more...
I agree with all the other reviews. I visited several times and spoke with Ellen a myriad of times. She was always friendly and helpful. I had the ceremony in the yard in the back behind the tree, next to the tent, the cocktail hour on the Verandah and the reception in the banquet hall. I had my makeup and hair done and dressed in the bridal room. Everyone loved the place! Oh and it has plentiful free parking. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue! They were a great help and so tentative during our wedding and reception. I have even gone back and done some other events at this location and have had nothing but positive dealing with the Historic Oaklands !!!! THANK YOU!
I loved this venue! They were a great help and so tentative during our wedding and reception. I have even gone back and Read more...
I loved this venue! They were a great help and so tentative during our wedding and reception. I have even gone back and done some other events at this location and have had nothing but positive dealing with the Historic Oaklands !!!! THANK YOU! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311636743707-dsc0060
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/21/2012
4.9/5.0
This venue was beautiful and did not take alot of decoration to make it special for my day. The staff was ver friendly and worked with e to personalize my wedding and reception. I was able to bring in my own catering. It was a great experience with the Historic Oakland. I also recieved my deposit back within days of my wedding.
This venue was beautiful and did not take alot of decoration to make it special for my day. The staff was ver friendly and Read more...
This venue was beautiful and did not take alot of decoration to make it special for my day. The staff was ver friendly and worked with e to personalize my wedding and reception. I was able to bring in my own catering. It was a great experience with the Historic Oakland. I also recieved my deposit back within days of my wedding. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.8/5.0
THE STAFF THEY HAD ON DUTY WAS GREAT AT ASSISTING ME WITH ALL MY NEEDS.
THE STAFF THEY HAD ON DUTY WAS GREAT AT ASSISTING ME WITH ALL MY NEEDS.
THE STAFF THEY HAD ON DUTY WAS GREAT AT ASSISTING ME WITH ALL MY NEEDS. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Polly
Wedding:
5/26/2013
4.7/5.0
We were thrilled with Historic Oakland. It was beautiful and our family is still talking about how nice it was. The staff is great to work with, beforehand and on the day of. It is still a great price comparatively, but just be sure you realize all the extras you will have to pay, it's somewhat of a DIY venue and you have to pay the tent vendor separately. It is a great venue and we had the perfect day there.
We were thrilled with Historic Oakland. It was beautiful and our family is still talking about how nice it was. The staff Read more...
We were thrilled with Historic Oakland. It was beautiful and our family is still talking about how nice it was. The staff is great to work with, beforehand and on the day of. It is still a great price comparatively, but just be sure you realize all the extras you will have to pay, it's somewhat of a DIY venue and you have to pay the tent vendor separately. It is a great venue and we had the perfect day there. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Historic Oakland responded with the following comments:

Polly,

We are so pleased you had a great experience at Oakland! You were a joy to work with. Best wishes!

Oakland Staff
130x130_sq_1256790596305-lorde228
Teems
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.7/5.0
Great venue to work with. Lots of space. You will never share your day with another bride no matter how many hours you have blocked off. Affordable for the area....even more on Fridays and Sundays! I lived a distance from the venue so I would always pop up when I was in town or call with questions. Ellen always welcomed me and returned my calls in a timely fashion. Since this is an Historic Site, they do not allow red wine. They do however, allow you to use their outside tent for a fee with Loanbrothers. They also have room as an African Art Museum you can rent by the hour.
Great venue to work with. Lots of space. You will never share your day with another bride no matter how many hours you Read more...
Great venue to work with. Lots of space. You will never share your day with another bride no matter how many hours you have blocked off. Affordable for the area....even more on Fridays and Sundays! I lived a distance from the venue so I would always pop up when I was in town or call with questions. Ellen always welcomed me and returned my calls in a timely fashion. Since this is an Historic Site, they do not allow red wine. They do however, allow you to use their outside tent for a fee with Loanbrothers. They also have room as an African Art Museum you can rent by the hour. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1185926669078-picture062
Tosh
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.7/5.0
Historic Oakland was great. We had the reception in the bishop garden and the reception indoors. It was very nice . You even have the option to rent the African Art Musuem which is upstairs in the Mansion for 100 dollars for 2 hours which added to the lovely occasion. Ellen( Historic Oakland Director) was very professional, she worked with me when it came to seating arrangements etc until I got it the way I wanted it. The great thing also about Historic is they even remove furniture that you find unneccesary to be in the building on your day. My decorators had the liberty of taking away vases adding their own pics. Everything was great. I booked my wedding on a Sunday so the other perk was I got 7 hrs any consecutive 7 I wanted and I did not have to share the day with anyone ! You pay a security deposit of 250 but you get that back promptly (a week after the wedding!) Total for Sunday was 1600 + security deposit of 250 + african art Musuem of 100= 1950 you get the 250 back which brings the toal to 1700! When you call Historic Oakland ask for Ellen and she will take care of you!
Historic Oakland was great. We had the reception in the bishop garden and the reception indoors. It was very nice . You Read more...
Historic Oakland was great. We had the reception in the bishop garden and the reception indoors. It was very nice . You even have the option to rent the African Art Musuem which is upstairs in the Mansion for 100 dollars for 2 hours which added to the lovely occasion. Ellen( Historic Oakland Director) was very professional, she worked with me when it came to seating arrangements etc until I got it the way I wanted it. The great thing also about Historic is they even remove furniture that you find unneccesary to be in the building on your day. My decorators had the liberty of taking away vases adding their own pics. Everything was great. I booked my wedding on a Sunday so the other perk was I got 7 hrs any consecutive 7 I wanted and I did not have to share the day with anyone ! You pay a security deposit of 250 but you get that back promptly (a week after the wedding!) Total for Sunday was 1600 + security deposit of 250 + african art Musuem of 100= 1950 you get the 250 back which brings the toal to 1700! When you call Historic Oakland ask for Ellen and she will take care of you! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lolita
Wedding:
9/29/2006
4.7/5.0
Historic Oakland is a wonderful venue for outside wedding ceremony. My husband and I felt like a King and Queen on our wedding day. The Mansion in the back of out photos was AMAZING. Our reception was held inside and the ambiance was perfect. We would highly recommend this venue!
Historic Oakland is a wonderful venue for outside wedding ceremony. My husband and I felt like a King and Queen on our Read more...
Historic Oakland is a wonderful venue for outside wedding ceremony. My husband and I felt like a King and Queen on our wedding day. The Mansion in the back of out photos was AMAZING. Our reception was held inside and the ambiance was perfect. We would highly recommend this venue! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.6/5.0
We had our wedding at Historic Oakland on October 12, 2013. Nadia was a pleasure to work with throughout the process and the day couldn't have turned out better. The entire venue is beautiful, we had our reception set up on the veranda and in the ballroom, and our ceremony was set up under the tent in the back. We had about 85 people, and this allowed plenty of room to move around, though the rooms aren't incredibly large. We were also able to get ready in the upstairs room, making the morning relaxed and easy.

The people at Oakland were accomodating and easy to work with, answering any questions we had and allowing us to stop by anytime to take a look at things or ask questions. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a beautiful, unique location with everything in the same place.
We had our wedding at Historic Oakland on October 12, 2013. Nadia was a pleasure to work with throughout the process and Read more...
We had our wedding at Historic Oakland on October 12, 2013. Nadia was a pleasure to work with throughout the process and the day couldn't have turned out better. The entire venue is beautiful, we had our reception set up on the veranda and in the ballroom, and our ceremony was set up under the tent in the back. We had about 85 people, and this allowed plenty of room to move around, though the rooms aren't incredibly large. We were also able to get ready in the upstairs room, making the morning relaxed and easy.

The people at Oakland were accomodating and easy to work with, answering any questions we had and allowing us to stop by anytime to take a look at things or ask questions. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a beautiful, unique location with everything in the same place. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yen
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.5/5.0
This was a highly sought location that offers discount if you live in Columbia. The staff at historic oakland manor were great. They let me visit as many times as I wanted, unless there was a wedding going on. They were flexible with taking down decor that I wanted to replace with my own. Most importantly, someone from their staff noticed one of my bridesmaids had a wrinkle in her dress on my big day, and whipped out an ironing board and iron so we could fix it. I didn't even have to ask. It is also a beautiful location and already nicely decorated so the transition to the wedding was very easy.
This was a highly sought location that offers discount if you live in Columbia. The staff at historic oakland manor were Read more...
This was a highly sought location that offers discount if you live in Columbia. The staff at historic oakland manor were great. They let me visit as many times as I wanted, unless there was a wedding going on. They were flexible with taking down decor that I wanted to replace with my own. Most importantly, someone from their staff noticed one of my bridesmaids had a wrinkle in her dress on my big day, and whipped out an ironing board and iron so we could fix it. I didn't even have to ask. It is also a beautiful location and already nicely decorated so the transition to the wedding was very easy. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1213919324605-hpim0254
yummyyami
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.2/5.0
Beautiful Location. Not very organized.
Beautiful Location. Not very organized.
Beautiful Location. Not very organized. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
Historic Oakland is beautiful and very affordable! I loved having the space all to ourselves and being able to customize every detail.

I had no complaints with the venue itself, but I found the staff less than helpful. Between the time I signed the contract and had my wedding they had fire marshalls come in and reevaluate their fire policies. They made several changes, including significantly decreasing the number of people that are allowed in the upstairs at one time. I understand that it wasn't the fault of the staff at Historic Oakland and that nothing could be done BUT I think it was unprofessional for them not to tell people about the changes. I found out on my own about 4 months after, and I had already done my seating chart, etc. So I had to redo the seating chart, programs (I put a map of the house on the programs), extend my time with my vendors so I could have a rearrangement in between the ceremony and reception, etc.

If the staff had been more responsive and professional and had told me when they found out instead of letting me find out on my own, everything would have been perfect!

Overall, I loved the venue.
Historic Oakland is beautiful and very affordable! I loved having the space all to ourselves and being able to customize Read more...
Historic Oakland is beautiful and very affordable! I loved having the space all to ourselves and being able to customize every detail.

I had no complaints with the venue itself, but I found the staff less than helpful. Between the time I signed the contract and had my wedding they had fire marshalls come in and reevaluate their fire policies. They made several changes, including significantly decreasing the number of people that are allowed in the upstairs at one time. I understand that it wasn't the fault of the staff at Historic Oakland and that nothing could be done BUT I think it was unprofessional for them not to tell people about the changes. I found out on my own about 4 months after, and I had already done my seating chart, etc. So I had to redo the seating chart, programs (I put a map of the house on the programs), extend my time with my vendors so I could have a rearrangement in between the ceremony and reception, etc.

If the staff had been more responsive and professional and had told me when they found out instead of letting me find out on my own, everything would have been perfect!

Overall, I loved the venue. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Historic Oakland responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review of Historic Oakland! It’s nice to hear that you were pleased with our venue. Although, I am sorry to hear that you considered our staff to be unresponsive and unprofessional. As soon as new regulations were passed down by county government, we informed all of our customers. I apologize if the communication did not reach you. To help you expedite a successful event, we extended your event an hour and provided additional staff support as a courtesy. It was our pleasure to help you create a memorable event. We do hope that you share photos of your affair! Best wishes to you...Oakland Staff
Default-vendor-profile-pic
irishgem79
Wedding:
4/28/2007
3.9/5.0
This venue can be altered to fit many different event scenarios. Beware the noise ordinance, which goes into effect at 11pm, but it shouldn't interfere too much with your celebration, as you can move the music inside!! A beautiful place with very attentive day-of staff, who work seamlessly with your other vendors. Highly recommended, particularly for the price, which is obscenely low for the DC area!!
This venue can be altered to fit many different event scenarios. Beware the noise ordinance, which goes into effect at Read more...
This venue can be altered to fit many different event scenarios. Beware the noise ordinance, which goes into effect at 11pm, but it shouldn't interfere too much with your celebration, as you can move the music inside!! A beautiful place with very attentive day-of staff, who work seamlessly with your other vendors. Highly recommended, particularly for the price, which is obscenely low for the DC area!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
10/9/2005
3.5/5.0
The staff at Oakland were helpful and kind. They were very clear on expectations and it was the least difficult vendor to deal with during the planning process.
The staff at Oakland were helpful and kind. They were very clear on expectations and it was the least difficult vendor to Read more...
The staff at Oakland were helpful and kind. They were very clear on expectations and it was the least difficult vendor to deal with during the planning process. Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tonja
Wedding:
6/29/2013
0.5/5.0
This is an absolutely beautiful venue, however the customer service is disappointing to say the least. The staff if very inflexible and often make promises they are unable to deliver on.

I was promised access to an air conditioned tent and a minimum of two hours to set up for our wedding and reception. Instead, only pedestal fans were available to us. Our caterer was given only one hour to set up for both a wedding ceremony and reception. As a result, our guests were not served dinner until 9 p.m. following a 6 p.m. ceremony.

I wish I could say the beautiful grounds made up for this poor experience, but no one wants to see their guests leave before dinner is served!!
This is an absolutely beautiful venue, however the customer service is disappointing to say the least. The staff if very Read more...
This is an absolutely beautiful venue, however the customer service is disappointing to say the least. The staff if very inflexible and often make promises they are unable to deliver on.

I was promised access to an air conditioned tent and a minimum of two hours to set up for our wedding and reception. Instead, only pedestal fans were available to us. Our caterer was given only one hour to set up for both a wedding ceremony and reception. As a result, our guests were not served dinner until 9 p.m. following a 6 p.m. ceremony.

I wish I could say the beautiful grounds made up for this poor experience, but no one wants to see their guests leave before dinner is served!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Historic Oakland responded with the following comments:

Hello Tonja,

We were happy that you hosted your special day at Historic Oakland! From the very beginning, we happily worked with your fiancé to book the property. It was great when we met with you later on in the process to show you around and go over the details.

So, we are sorry to hear that you found our customer service to be disappointing, inflexible, and untrustworthy. We take pride in providing an elegant venue, setup, access to the property and onsite staff during your contracted time.

Beyond access to the property, your caterer assumes the management of your event. All caterers, especially those on our resource list, are advised to work closely with Oakland to ensure proper time management. They must work with within the contracted time to properly prepare for your ceremony and reception.

Regarding the fans and any issues with the tent, we hope that you speak with a representative at Tented and Equipped to voice your concerns (301-979-9646).

Thank you for sharing your review. Best wishes to you and all your future endeavors!

Oakland Staff

DEALS

Seasonal Discount
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $600 Value
Book your next event for a weekend in January, February & March and receive 30% off the room rental.
Deal #WW582e0cbecf13e411
220x220_1363199215104-13631179653592012060219.41.14

MAP

 
5430 Vantage Point Road, Columbia, MD 21045 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Historic Oakland
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1363199215104-13631179653592012060219.41.14